Customer reviews for Inspiron 15R 5537

Inspiron 15R 5537

Inspiron 15R 5537
3.542 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 96 reviews
5 Stars
34
4 Stars
25
3 Stars
9
2 Stars
15
1 Star
13
3.5
 / 
5
(96 reviews) 96
64 out of 9667%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Inspiron 15R 5537
Review 1 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ThanujThilanka
(Colombo, Sri Lanka)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Excellent in everything !!!

PostedJune 22, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought this product 6 months ago,for hardcore programming stuff and gaming, and what you know !!! this machine is really does the things I've never expected !! for an example I've played Splinter cell blacklist, NFS rivals, COD ghosts .... like games with high end graphics in ULTRA setting without lagging !!! and I've played watch dogs in high settings :) :) .Sound performance are also pretty good. :)
but there are some minor problems like, display reflection problem (bad in outdoor using), and space key problems (sometimes i have to push it hard),
But this laptop is valuable for it's cost.
Pros:battery life, gaming performance, premium look
Cons:reflective display, drivers problem (minor)
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Ivan01
(United States)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

An excellent laptop

PostedMay 18, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
This laptop has great performance and nice features.
Pros:nice feature, heat dissipation, performance
Cons:windows 8
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:joev14400
(Orland Park, IL, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

One GREAT laptop

PostedJuly 28, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
This 15R 5537 has got almost everything you could ask for. The only thing that would be nice is if there was an option for a SSD and a back lite keyboard. Other that, this thing ROCKS. A wireless mouse is a must have. Also external speakers for home use, if you want great sound.
Pros:value, weight
Cons:no ssd option, no backlite keyboard option
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:wolfski
(Colorado)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

Chronic Connectivity Issues

PostedJuly 26, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
From the beginning my Inspiron 15R (Win 8.1, i7 Processor, 8GB, 1TB) has had constant connectivity issues. I have spent countless hours on line with service reps who attempt to fix it, and then it just drops off again. My fix has been to disconnect and reconnect when it drops off (about 1x every hour to two hours), which is ridiculous, but faster than spending any more time with Dell for a inherent problem that does not appear to be repairable. No it is not my internet provider as all the other computers, phones, and pads in the house are not exhibiting this issue. I spent close to $900 and expected a working product. I cannot recommend this product. It is my first and last Dell.
Pros:touch screen
Cons:chronic connectivity issues, keyboard is not lit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Lynwood
(Raleigh, NC, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

This product is well designed

PostedJuly 24, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
The laptop is more than I had expected. Since I have been using a desktop for many years, have found it fairly easy to adjust to.
So far have had limited use, but in process of converting.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Oldgieser
(West Palm Beach, FL, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Performes great for business or pleasure

PostedJuly 17, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I got an Inspiron 15R as a replacement computer mainly for business. It performs very well with all my programs including QuickBooks. Everything was easy to load. The best thing I can mention is the ease of setting up on an existing private network. It did most of the work itself! The only negative I found might not even be the computer or chip's fault: It runs Excell noticeably slower than normal and I work a lot in that program (it is a newer version than I used before.)
What few games I play, both loaded and played fine and the graphics are all you would want. I was even able to load a game made for xp, while it would not load on windows 7. (I have windows 8.1 on this computer).
I recommend this computer!
Pros:network setup
Cons:excell runs a little slow
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:agreatchoice
(New York, NY)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Inspiron 15R - A Great Laptop - Solid Performance

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have owned my Inspiron 15R for about a month and am very satisfied. Exterior case is very well done, the cover is secure when closed and opens solidly and no flimsy hinge issues. The wrist pad area is well thought out and the touch pad is responsive without being spotty or jerky - very fluid. I prefer to use a cordless mouse and there are ample of USB ports. I love the keyboard - perfect soft touch quiet keys with plenty of room - my medium to large hands are not cramped. The touch screen is very responsive and the screen doesn't show finger prints that badly. The screen brightness level could be a little brighter for my taste but is not a deal breaker. The OS is fast and can handle multiple programs at once. My only real con is a lack of a back lit keyboard especially in this price range. The over all weight of the 15R is hefty and feels solidly built but wish it did weight closer to three or three and.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Aleksey
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Common AC charger problem

PostedJuly 3, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
The product was working fine for two years, for the price, except for a few minor hardware problems in Windows 7, e.g. headphones wouldn't work unless they're plugged in at the moment when system loads, BT buggy behavior was also observed.
The real disappointment came, when this infamous charger problem appeared (it turned out this is very frequent for this laptop) - the AC adapter isn't recognized, and therefore the battery won't charge, although one could still work with the adapter constantly plugged in.
I realize, that electronics does fail sometimes, but the other similar Dell Laptop (Inspiron 14R) which our family has, failed in exactly the same way, and it was 1 year older model, so Dell had at least one year to fix this design flaw, which they, unfortunately, didn't.
In conclusion, I would not recommend to buy this otherwise great laptop, unless you are sure, that the charging system design flaw, causing this very frequent malfunctioning (100% in my experience), is fixed in a new generation.
Pros:good performance for the price
Cons:widespread ac charger problem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ashfleet
(Nottinghamshire, UK)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

It won't work.

PostedJune 15, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have had this laptop for four months now and it simply doesn't work. After max 30 mins of being turned on, it shuts down and some of the apps simply won't open or function. Dell refuses to help with these issues without charging me and this laptop is not cheap for what you get.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Service 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Operating System 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Ash20
(Edmonton, AB, Canada)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Okay

PostedJune 7, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought the 15R with 500GB Hard Drive, 6GB Memory, i5 processor. The performance is good, not as fast as I would like and takes a while to start up or come out of sleep. The design is nice and sleek but it's a bit heavy and gets hot quickly. The worst thing is that this laptop has a TERRIBLE battery life. When it's not plugged in it only lasts about 20-30 minutes from a full charge before it turns off!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:VRSS
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

great and ever seen until today with cheapest price

PostedJune 4, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Every option excellent and touch screen is great and worth
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:daffyb55
(Boggstown, IN, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Not what I have come to expect from Dell

PostedMay 22, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I am quite disappointed with my 115R 5337. I don't know if the problems stem from Windows 8.1 or the hardware. The touch pad is not responsive and the touch screen goes wonkers when I try it instead. It's not like my IPhone or Kindle, just tapping the screen makes things go bigger, smaller. Arrrggg! It's hard to view anything with the size jumping around. I work extensively with machine embroidery files, down loading, extracting, sorting and moving to different folders and it gets really bogged down and slow. My old Vista os with Pentium II is faster than this Inspiron with a V processor. Using this on the internet is extremely slow also. I wish I could exchange this lemon for a model without the touch screen capability. It's like it cannot decide which way it wants to work.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:jean42
(Santa Rosa, CA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

If I could give it less than 1 star I would

PostedMay 20, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
This computer was the biggest mistake I have made when buying a computer. I've bought Dells in the past and never had a problem so I thought this would be no different. Boy was I wrong. It likes to update and then never stop forcing you to manually shut it off. Sometimes it comes back on, sometimes it doesn't. When turning it on it often does not load Windows properly and will tell you this with no way of getting it going back again without turning it on and off several times for it to start again. It has deleted my Windows Picture gallery for no reason and I've lost many photos because of this. I am trying to install software that the computer says is not there but the new program says is so I can't use something that I have purchased. The touch screen also works when it feels like it which is not all the time. All in all a nightmare computer.
Pros:none
Cons:everything
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:HarryG12345
(MD)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

First Ever Dell Product is not as expected.

PostedMay 19, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Insiron 15 Ra
Issues:
Hard Key Board, Not well fitted and physically loose as type.
Space Key is not working as expected.
Sticker are coming off withing 4 months.
Operating system is very bad to use.
Power is key is really bad bad bad, Over all material being used is very cheap.
Need to Rethink about again buying dell again.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:FlintDonnel
(Flint, MI, USA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
I use my PC for:School
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Biased for a reason

PostedMay 17, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I am returning to school after being out for 10 years. I am slightly biased to Dell. Years ago, I asked one of the faculty at school and another at work why they purchased Dells and they both responded that the cost were all competitive but that the Dells were much easier to deal with when they had to get inside for something. Maintainence was just easier with the Dell machines. From that point, my experience is that the Dells are more robust and tend to last longer. I tend to buy a little better than average so that they can be used a little longer, and now we have 4 Dells working in our house and 2 other machines that have not survived over the same time period. The 5 year old machine that I replaced, my wife is using instead of the new one she got at Christmas(HP).
This unit is doing everything I ask. I am taking engineering courses and run Office everyday and also Creo CADD. It doesn't even hesitate. This guy goes with me to school and I do my work at school while sitting at a desktop station in class. it is just easier for me to do. The battery also last while I am on campus all day. I haven't had to look for a plug yet.
Pros:speed, graphics, usability, connectivity, durability, value
Cons:wasn't the cheapest
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Operating System 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:lgc102
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Good Enough

PostedMay 16, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Owned this for a month, and pleased so far, although some things were disappointing.
Use it for basic home email/web/light photo editing, and it works better than my ailing XP machine did.
Annoyances:
• Screen is very glossy, lots of glare/reflections
• Screen shows fingerprints badly, annoying with touch screen
• Screen vertical viewing angle is limited, I'm 6' and my wife is 5'4", always tilting the screen up and down to keep it from looking washed out
• No upper buttons on touch pad
• No 5G wireless (!!? My e-readers have 5G but not this? Shame on me for not seeing this in the specs.)
Overall, good enough for home use. Not nearly as nice as my touch screen convertible tablet work laptop, but then this was half the price, and not for work.
Oh, and don't bother with the high speed wired "dock", it's not worth it. Doesn't dock, doesn't provide power, and puts an unnecessary layer of drivers between your external monitor and the computer. Basically an overpriced USB hub.
Pros:works well, good for home basic use, bluetooth works, touchscreen is useful
Cons:no 5g wireless, glossy screen shows fingerprints, screen vertical viewing angle limited, glossy screen has glare/reflections
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:RandomDUde
(EU)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
I use my PC for:Casual Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Sweet Laptop

PostedApril 18, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I really like this laptop. It has high performance. Perfect for gaming. Lite in weight. Good webcam.
But they sent me the wrong graphics card! Instead of the good AMD one they sent me a bad Intel graphics card. And now its not great for gaming anymore. And thats why I bought it.
Pros:windows 8.1, processor, ram, webcam, long battery life
Cons:sound is horrible, they sent me the wrong graphics card
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:dellowner15
(Medina, TN, USA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:School
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Very Good Computer

PostedApril 16, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I received this computer as a Christmas gift back in 2013. In the four months that I've owned it, it has been great. I use it primarily for school work, and it runs office and other products that I need exceptionally well. I would definitely recommend this laptop to a friend.
Pros:great ram, great hard drive, great battery life for my purposes
Cons:none to speak of yet
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Sean86
(Saint Louis)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Great laptop, with a few issues

PostedApril 16, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
This will focus on the laptop itself, agnostic of the OS. I think Windows 8.1 is fantastic, however I'm not reviewing Windows, I'm reviewing the hardware Dell sold me.
Start with the cons:
Speaker placement is horrid. When sitting on a desk, sound just seems off, when sitting in lap, sound is drowned out into your lap.
Requires a lot of tinkering to get audio to differ between headphones and speakers automatically. Before, plugging in headphones would be painfully loud even with Windows volume set to 1 (out of 100). This is not hyperbole. Coming off a Toshiba Win 7 laptop that kept separate volume settings saved for headphones and speakers, this was a pretty annoying retrograde.
S-L-O-W boot due to Dell software. Even stripping it all down to just the touchpad, I wait ages to get the touchpad software up. A stripped down touchpad driver from the manufacturer (that I've always used vs the OEM version) doesn't work here.
Failed repeatedly to make recovery software. Dell turned this into a plus, however, by rush shipping me recovery disks free of charge.
HDMI has no audio output.
No VGA adapter. Considering the lack of VGA and lack of audio on HDMI, unless your TV expects a headphone jack to provide audio to an HDMI port (as most laptops don't output sound over HDMI) you cannot plug in to your television *AND* route sound. Most TVs with a PC-Mode expect the 3.5mm headphone jack to only be for audio through the VGA adapter.
Sleep mode is useless to me. When plugged in, the system completely shuts off with an error in Windows (behaves as if the computer was removed from a power source, not shut down properly). Every time, without fail. Due to this I cannot use sleep unless I'm on battery life only, once I plug in I have to wake up the computer and shut it down normally.
Try as I might this bug has not been resolved. My wife's doesn't do it, but it's not worth the hassle of making a warranty claim on it.
Pros:
Fantastic battery life. I get in the neighborhood of 7 hours of normal usage on battery between charges.
Typically snappy after initial bootup.
Intel's Haswell graphical power actually impresses me. For built in, it runs a lot of (mainstream, less demanding) games quite well.
Metal screen backing and keyboard trim is a nice touch.
Feels quite durable.
*VERY* firm monitor hinges. This may be a neg for some people (my wife is agnostic to it) but I like the fact that the monitor *NEVER* wobbles.
Ample USB ports, including a 3.0.
Comfortable keyboard.
Large touchpad with firm, metal buttons.
When I bought this laptop is was the best priced Haswell on the market with a touchscreen. I actually got it with an i5-4200u in August '13 for less than the i3 model is selling for now. We paid (nearly) full price for an i3 model for my wife because I was so happy with this one.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JimVaughn
(Arlington, TX, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Fantastic Laptop

PostedApril 12, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is a great laptop and a great value. Light weight and very well built. My configuration includes I7 Intel processor and is very fast with 8MB of memory. Windows 8.1 is very easy to use and touch screen on this laptop is perfect for Window 8.1. The keyboard has a great layout and the look of the laptop is very stylish.
The only negative is the lack of a back lit keyboard. Battery usually lasts 4 hours with moderate heavy usage Highly recommend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5