Customer reviews for Inspiron 15R 5537

Inspiron 15R 5537

Inspiron 15R 5537
3.527 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 93 reviews
5 Stars
32
4 Stars
25
3 Stars
9
2 Stars
14
1 Star
13
3.5
 / 
5
(93 reviews) 93
62 out of 9367%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Inspiron 15R 5537
Review 1 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ThanujThilanka
(Colombo, Sri Lanka)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Excellent in everything !!!

PostedJune 22, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought this product 6 months ago,for hardcore programming stuff and gaming, and what you know !!! this machine is really does the things I've never expected !! for an example I've played Splinter cell blacklist, NFS rivals, COD ghosts .... like games with high end graphics in ULTRA setting without lagging !!! and I've played watch dogs in high settings :) :) .Sound performance are also pretty good. :)
but there are some minor problems like, display reflection problem (bad in outdoor using), and space key problems (sometimes i have to push it hard),
But this laptop is valuable for it's cost.
Pros:battery life, gaming performance, premium look
Cons:reflective display, drivers problem (minor)
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Ivan01
(United States)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

An excellent laptop

PostedMay 18, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
This laptop has great performance and nice features.
Pros:nice feature, heat dissipation, performance
Cons:windows 8
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Oldgieser
(West Palm Beach, FL, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Performes great for business or pleasure

PostedJuly 17, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I got an Inspiron 15R as a replacement computer mainly for business. It performs very well with all my programs including QuickBooks. Everything was easy to load. The best thing I can mention is the ease of setting up on an existing private network. It did most of the work itself! The only negative I found might not even be the computer or chip's fault: It runs Excell noticeably slower than normal and I work a lot in that program (it is a newer version than I used before.)
What few games I play, both loaded and played fine and the graphics are all you would want. I was even able to load a game made for xp, while it would not load on windows 7. (I have windows 8.1 on this computer).
I recommend this computer!
Pros:network setup
Cons:excell runs a little slow
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:agreatchoice
(New York, NY)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Inspiron 15R - A Great Laptop - Solid Performance

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have owned my Inspiron 15R for about a month and am very satisfied. Exterior case is very well done, the cover is secure when closed and opens solidly and no flimsy hinge issues. The wrist pad area is well thought out and the touch pad is responsive without being spotty or jerky - very fluid. I prefer to use a cordless mouse and there are ample of USB ports. I love the keyboard - perfect soft touch quiet keys with plenty of room - my medium to large hands are not cramped. The touch screen is very responsive and the screen doesn't show finger prints that badly. The screen brightness level could be a little brighter for my taste but is not a deal breaker. The OS is fast and can handle multiple programs at once. My only real con is a lack of a back lit keyboard especially in this price range. The over all weight of the 15R is hefty and feels solidly built but wish it did weight closer to three or three and.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Aleksey
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Common AC charger problem

PostedJuly 3, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
The product was working fine for two years, for the price, except for a few minor hardware problems in Windows 7, e.g. headphones wouldn't work unless they're plugged in at the moment when system loads, BT buggy behavior was also observed.
The real disappointment came, when this infamous charger problem appeared (it turned out this is very frequent for this laptop) - the AC adapter isn't recognized, and therefore the battery won't charge, although one could still work with the adapter constantly plugged in.
I realize, that electronics does fail sometimes, but the other similar Dell Laptop (Inspiron 14R) which our family has, failed in exactly the same way, and it was 1 year older model, so Dell had at least one year to fix this design flaw, which they, unfortunately, didn't.
In conclusion, I would not recommend to buy this otherwise great laptop, unless you are sure, that the charging system design flaw, causing this very frequent malfunctioning (100% in my experience), is fixed in a new generation.
Pros:good performance for the price
Cons:widespread ac charger problem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ashfleet
(Nottinghamshire, UK)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

It won't work.

PostedJune 15, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have had this laptop for four months now and it simply doesn't work. After max 30 mins of being turned on, it shuts down and some of the apps simply won't open or function. Dell refuses to help with these issues without charging me and this laptop is not cheap for what you get.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Service 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Operating System 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Ash20
(Edmonton, AB, Canada)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Okay

PostedJune 7, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought the 15R with 500GB Hard Drive, 6GB Memory, i5 processor. The performance is good, not as fast as I would like and takes a while to start up or come out of sleep. The design is nice and sleek but it's a bit heavy and gets hot quickly. The worst thing is that this laptop has a TERRIBLE battery life. When it's not plugged in it only lasts about 20-30 minutes from a full charge before it turns off!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:VRSS
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

great and ever seen until today with cheapest price

PostedJune 4, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Every option excellent and touch screen is great and worth
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:daffyb55
(Boggstown, IN, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Not what I have come to expect from Dell

PostedMay 22, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I am quite disappointed with my 115R 5337. I don't know if the problems stem from Windows 8.1 or the hardware. The touch pad is not responsive and the touch screen goes wonkers when I try it instead. It's not like my IPhone or Kindle, just tapping the screen makes things go bigger, smaller. Arrrggg! It's hard to view anything with the size jumping around. I work extensively with machine embroidery files, down loading, extracting, sorting and moving to different folders and it gets really bogged down and slow. My old Vista os with Pentium II is faster than this Inspiron with a V processor. Using this on the internet is extremely slow also. I wish I could exchange this lemon for a model without the touch screen capability. It's like it cannot decide which way it wants to work.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:jean42
(Santa Rosa, CA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

If I could give it less than 1 star I would

PostedMay 20, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
This computer was the biggest mistake I have made when buying a computer. I've bought Dells in the past and never had a problem so I thought this would be no different. Boy was I wrong. It likes to update and then never stop forcing you to manually shut it off. Sometimes it comes back on, sometimes it doesn't. When turning it on it often does not load Windows properly and will tell you this with no way of getting it going back again without turning it on and off several times for it to start again. It has deleted my Windows Picture gallery for no reason and I've lost many photos because of this. I am trying to install software that the computer says is not there but the new program says is so I can't use something that I have purchased. The touch screen also works when it feels like it which is not all the time. All in all a nightmare computer.
Pros:none
Cons:everything
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:HarryG12345
(MD)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

First Ever Dell Product is not as expected.

PostedMay 19, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Insiron 15 Ra
Issues:
Hard Key Board, Not well fitted and physically loose as type.
Space Key is not working as expected.
Sticker are coming off withing 4 months.
Operating system is very bad to use.
Power is key is really bad bad bad, Over all material being used is very cheap.
Need to Rethink about again buying dell again.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:FlintDonnel
(Flint, MI, USA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
I use my PC for:School
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Biased for a reason

PostedMay 17, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I am returning to school after being out for 10 years. I am slightly biased to Dell. Years ago, I asked one of the faculty at school and another at work why they purchased Dells and they both responded that the cost were all competitive but that the Dells were much easier to deal with when they had to get inside for something. Maintainence was just easier with the Dell machines. From that point, my experience is that the Dells are more robust and tend to last longer. I tend to buy a little better than average so that they can be used a little longer, and now we have 4 Dells working in our house and 2 other machines that have not survived over the same time period. The 5 year old machine that I replaced, my wife is using instead of the new one she got at Christmas(HP).
This unit is doing everything I ask. I am taking engineering courses and run Office everyday and also Creo CADD. It doesn't even hesitate. This guy goes with me to school and I do my work at school while sitting at a desktop station in class. it is just easier for me to do. The battery also last while I am on campus all day. I haven't had to look for a plug yet.
Pros:speed, graphics, usability, connectivity, durability, value
Cons:wasn't the cheapest
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Operating System 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:lgc102
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Good Enough

PostedMay 16, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Owned this for a month, and pleased so far, although some things were disappointing.
Use it for basic home email/web/light photo editing, and it works better than my ailing XP machine did.
Annoyances:
• Screen is very glossy, lots of glare/reflections
• Screen shows fingerprints badly, annoying with touch screen
• Screen vertical viewing angle is limited, I'm 6' and my wife is 5'4", always tilting the screen up and down to keep it from looking washed out
• No upper buttons on touch pad
• No 5G wireless (!!? My e-readers have 5G but not this? Shame on me for not seeing this in the specs.)
Overall, good enough for home use. Not nearly as nice as my touch screen convertible tablet work laptop, but then this was half the price, and not for work.
Oh, and don't bother with the high speed wired "dock", it's not worth it. Doesn't dock, doesn't provide power, and puts an unnecessary layer of drivers between your external monitor and the computer. Basically an overpriced USB hub.
Pros:works well, good for home basic use, bluetooth works, touchscreen is useful
Cons:no 5g wireless, glossy screen shows fingerprints, screen vertical viewing angle limited, glossy screen has glare/reflections
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:RandomDUde
(EU)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
I use my PC for:Casual Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Sweet Laptop

PostedApril 18, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I really like this laptop. It has high performance. Perfect for gaming. Lite in weight. Good webcam.
But they sent me the wrong graphics card! Instead of the good AMD one they sent me a bad Intel graphics card. And now its not great for gaming anymore. And thats why I bought it.
Pros:windows 8.1, processor, ram, webcam, long battery life
Cons:sound is horrible, they sent me the wrong graphics card
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:dellowner15
(Medina, TN, USA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:School
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Very Good Computer

PostedApril 16, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I received this computer as a Christmas gift back in 2013. In the four months that I've owned it, it has been great. I use it primarily for school work, and it runs office and other products that I need exceptionally well. I would definitely recommend this laptop to a friend.
Pros:great ram, great hard drive, great battery life for my purposes
Cons:none to speak of yet
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Sean86
(Saint Louis)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Great laptop, with a few issues

PostedApril 16, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
This will focus on the laptop itself, agnostic of the OS. I think Windows 8.1 is fantastic, however I'm not reviewing Windows, I'm reviewing the hardware Dell sold me.
Start with the cons:
Speaker placement is horrid. When sitting on a desk, sound just seems off, when sitting in lap, sound is drowned out into your lap.
Requires a lot of tinkering to get audio to differ between headphones and speakers automatically. Before, plugging in headphones would be painfully loud even with Windows volume set to 1 (out of 100). This is not hyperbole. Coming off a Toshiba Win 7 laptop that kept separate volume settings saved for headphones and speakers, this was a pretty annoying retrograde.
S-L-O-W boot due to Dell software. Even stripping it all down to just the touchpad, I wait ages to get the touchpad software up. A stripped down touchpad driver from the manufacturer (that I've always used vs the OEM version) doesn't work here.
Failed repeatedly to make recovery software. Dell turned this into a plus, however, by rush shipping me recovery disks free of charge.
HDMI has no audio output.
No VGA adapter. Considering the lack of VGA and lack of audio on HDMI, unless your TV expects a headphone jack to provide audio to an HDMI port (as most laptops don't output sound over HDMI) you cannot plug in to your television *AND* route sound. Most TVs with a PC-Mode expect the 3.5mm headphone jack to only be for audio through the VGA adapter.
Sleep mode is useless to me. When plugged in, the system completely shuts off with an error in Windows (behaves as if the computer was removed from a power source, not shut down properly). Every time, without fail. Due to this I cannot use sleep unless I'm on battery life only, once I plug in I have to wake up the computer and shut it down normally.
Try as I might this bug has not been resolved. My wife's doesn't do it, but it's not worth the hassle of making a warranty claim on it.
Pros:
Fantastic battery life. I get in the neighborhood of 7 hours of normal usage on battery between charges.
Typically snappy after initial bootup.
Intel's Haswell graphical power actually impresses me. For built in, it runs a lot of (mainstream, less demanding) games quite well.
Metal screen backing and keyboard trim is a nice touch.
Feels quite durable.
*VERY* firm monitor hinges. This may be a neg for some people (my wife is agnostic to it) but I like the fact that the monitor *NEVER* wobbles.
Ample USB ports, including a 3.0.
Comfortable keyboard.
Large touchpad with firm, metal buttons.
When I bought this laptop is was the best priced Haswell on the market with a touchscreen. I actually got it with an i5-4200u in August '13 for less than the i3 model is selling for now. We paid (nearly) full price for an i3 model for my wife because I was so happy with this one.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JimVaughn
(Arlington, TX, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Fantastic Laptop

PostedApril 12, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is a great laptop and a great value. Light weight and very well built. My configuration includes I7 Intel processor and is very fast with 8MB of memory. Windows 8.1 is very easy to use and touch screen on this laptop is perfect for Window 8.1. The keyboard has a great layout and the look of the laptop is very stylish.
The only negative is the lack of a back lit keyboard. Battery usually lasts 4 hours with moderate heavy usage Highly recommend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Service 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Unabletostart
(St. Charles, MO, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

This product is too slow

PostedApril 12, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Have A Inspiron 15R 5537. It takes about 20 to 25min to start up.
This the slowest computer I've ever had. All other features seem to be OK.
Pros:looks good
Cons:too slow
Response from Dell.comBy JohnBforDellCustomer ReviewsApril 23, 2014
Hey Unabletostart,

We want to thank you for taking some time to post about your experiences with your Inspiron 15R-5537 laptop. We apologize for the frustration you have been experiencing with your boot time. Below are a number of helpful tips for you to improve the response and speed of your system.

1. Install More and/or Faster RAM

The more RAM (memory) you have, the better your performance can be up to a point. Usually 3 GB (32-bit) or 4 GB (64-bit) will be the sweet spot and plenty unless you do memory intensive actions such as video editing or a lot of multitasking.

Memory performance will depend on fast the bandwidth MHZ rating (higher the better) is, and if you are using DDR3 memory in triple channel mode instead of just one or a mix of RAM sticks in only single channel mode. It's best to have all of your RAM sticks with the exact same specs.

You will need to check your motherboard specs to see how much and what type of RAM it supports.

2. Use a SSD (Solid State Drive) instead of HDD (Hard Disk Drive)

Installing Windows 8 on a SSD will give you a dramatic increase in performance over a HDD.

3. Install the Latest BIOS and Device Drivers

Make sure that you have the latest available drivers installed for all of your devices, and BIOS version for your motherboard. These will often have updates that correct new bugs, bugs from the previous versions, and may add new features, and increase performance. You can get them at your device manufacturer's website. The release notes (if available) of the driver or BIOS version will tell you what changes have been made since the last version to see if you wish to install it or not. Be sure to have the correct versions for your 32 bit or 64 bit Windows 8.

4. Check for and Install Windows Updates

Microsoft usually releases important updates on the second Tuesday once a month. However, updates could be released at any time. You should check for and install available Windows Updates that could include bug fixes, security patches, Windows Defender definitions, etc.... that could help keep stable and/or improve the performance of Windows.

5. Use the "High Performance" Power Plan

The "High performance" power plan maximizes system performance and responsiveness. However, if you use a mobile PC running on battery power, then you will notice that your battery doesn't last as long while using this plan. You can adjust your power plan settings to fit your needs.

6. Put your PC to Sleep or Hibernate instead of a Full Shut Down

If your PC does not run primarily off of a battery, then using sleep mode will allow your PC to wake up almost instantly compared to a starting up from a full shutdown.

If your PC does run on battery, then using hibernate, or fast startup below, will allow your PC to resume quicker compared to starting up from a full shutdown. Don't use hibernate if you are going to keep your PC in a bag for very long since it could cause the PC to overheat.

7. Turn On Fast Startup for a Hybrid Boot/Shutdown

Fast Startup (aka: hybrid boot or hybrid Shutdown) is a new feature in Windows 8 to help your PC start up faster after shutting down. When turned on, Windows 8 does this by using a hybrid shutdown (a partial hibernate) method that saves only the kernal session and device drivers (system information) to the hibernate (hiberfil.sys) file on disk instead of closing it when you shut down your PC. This also makes the hiberfil.sys file to be much smaller than what hibernate would use (often 4GB or more). When you start your PC again, Windows 8 uses that saved system information to resume your system instead of having to do a cold boot to fully restart it. Using this technique with boot gives a significant advantage for boot times, since reading the hiberfile in and reinitializing drivers is much faster on most systems (30-70% faster on most systems tested). If you have a motherboard with UEFI, then fast startup will be even faster.

8. Disable Hibernate if Not Used

If you do not use hibernate or Fast Startup, then disabling hibernate will save you a GB+ size file from being saved on your hard drive when you hibernate the PC. When hibernate is disabled, the shut down time will also be shorter by not having to wait on memory being saved to the hiberfil.sys file.

9. Turn Off Unneeded Visual Effects

You can optimize performance by changing how menus and windows appear. Uncheck the visual effect options that you do not want or need, or select the Adjust for best performance option, to help performance. The most common visual effects to uncheck are:
• Animate windows when minimizing and maximizing
• Animations in the taskbar
• Fade or slide menus into view
• Fade or slide ToolTips into view
• Fade out menu items after clicking
• Show shadows under windows
• Slide open combo boxes

10. Speed Up Windows Shut Down Time

You can set and adjust the AutoEndTasks, HungAppTimeout, WaitToKillAppTimeout, and/or WaitToKillServiceTimeout values for how long Windows waits for hung programs and other programs to save data and close before shutting down.

11. Reduce Time to Display "Choose and operating system" at Boot

If you have more than one operating system installed along with Windows 8 for a dual or multi boot system, then you could change the amount of time you wait before the default operating system runs automatically at startup, or until you select an OS to run.

12. Enable Write Caching for Storage Devices

This option is usually the best choice to use for storage devices that must provide the highest possible performance, and that you intend to not remove from the system frequently, such as internal hard disk drives.

13. Move Page File to Separate Hard Disk

Moving the page file to a second physical hard drive instead of the same C: drive that Windows is on can help improve the performance of Windows if the other hard drive is at least as fast or faster than the Windows drive. Doing this allows Windows to use the page file on one drive while not having to interrupt reads or writes on the Windows drive. Be sure to let the page file be System Managed. Windows does a great job of keeping your page file in peak condition and performance.

14. Uninstall Unneeded Programs

Most OEM computers that you buy at a retail outlet have a ton of bloatware and trial software installed on it. Some of these can take up a lot of resources. Uninstall the programs that you do not use from Programs and Features.

15. Disable or Delete Unneeded Startup Items

Startup items are the programs, shortcuts, folders, drivers, etc... that are set to run automatically at startup when a user signs in to Windows 8. Disabling or deleting them from running at startup can improve startup time and reduce the amount of system resources being be used by them. It is also a good idea to check your startup items every once in awhile to help make sure that some unknown program or malware has not placed itself to run at the startup of Windows.

16. Reduce the Startup Delay Time for Desktop Apps

When Windows 8 starts up and/or you sign in, any desktop apps that have been set to run at startup are delayed by a few (5-10) seconds before they actually run by default now. Previous Windows did not have this delay for startup programs.

While you cannot completely eliminate this startup delay, you can reduce the delay time to help.

17. Set Unused Services to Manual or Disabled

Services use processes that run in the background using part of your computer's resources. Check through your services with the help of the guide provided in this link, and stop and set to manual the services that affects features that you do not use or need to gain a tiny bit more performance.

WARNING: Disabling the wrong service could hurt performance, or even cripple Windows. If you do not truly know what you are doing, then it's highly recommended to not do this.

18. Set to Go to Desktop or Start when You Sign in or Close Apps

To save yourself a click, you could set to have Windows go directly to either your desktop or Start screen by default when you sign in to Windows or close modern apps.

19. Automatically Sign in to User Account at Startup

If you are the only one that uses your home PC, then you could set Windows to automatically sign in to your user account at startup to save you time from having to manually sign in.

You may also wish to do this:
• How to Require a Password after Display is Off for Specified Time in Windows 8.1
• How to Enable or Disable Password Protection on Wakeup in Windows 8 and 8.1

WARNING: Doing this will also allow anyone with access to your PC to be automatically signed in to your user account if they startup Windows.

20. Disable or Uninstall Internet Explorer Add-ons and Toolbars

Disabling or uninstalling any unneeded installed add-ons in Internet Explorer will help the performance of Internet Explorer.

21. Disable First Sign-in Animation for New Users

While the first sign-in animation may be helpful to new users to see when they sign-in for the first time, disabling the first sign-in animation will give a faster new account preparation time.

22. Disable Help Tips for New Users

In Windows 8.1 and Windows RT 8.1, new users will now see pop-up help tips when they first move the pointer near the hidden Charms, Start, and Switcher access points to help ID what they are for and how to open them. By default, Windows will show these help tips until the user has successfully completed the scenarios to open the UI. If you do not want these help tips, then disabling will save the user's time by not having to go through them.

23. Change Automatic Maintenance Settings and Time

Maintenance activity in Windows is designed to run in the background with limited user interaction and minimal impact to performance and energy efficiency. You should change the Automatic Maintenance to what time you want to run the daily maintenance tasks, and if to allow the scheduled maintenance to wake the computer to run at the scheduled time. It's best to set the time to when you will not be using the computer, but when the computer is still turned on or asleep if set to wake up.

You might also:
• Change "Optimize Drives" Schedule Settings
• Turn Automatic Windows Updates On or Off

24. Use Optimize Drives to TRIM SSDs and Defrag HDDs

By default, Optimize Drives runsautomatically on a weekly schedule (if turned on) during the time you have set for automatic maintenance. However, you should check and optimize your drives at least once a week to keep them from being defragmented and performing well.

25. Speed Up the Menu Show Time

This reduce the amount of time it takes for a menu in Windows to pop, fade, or slide open when you run the mouse pointer over it.

26. Speed Up Mouse Hover Time

You can change the delay time, in milliseconds, that the mouse pointer has to stay hovered on a item before it is selected or opens a pop-up in Windows.

27. Keep your Index Enabled and Updated, or Disable the Index

Your needs for the index, searches, and libraries will determine what will be best for you. The indexing service helps to make the search function in Windows 8 run much faster. However, it can also drain your computer’s hardware resources, particularly on older machines.

By default the index is enabled in Windows. If you do a lot of searches in specific locations or for specific file types, then searching using the index with these locations and file types added to be included in the index could help give you faster search results than doing non index searches. If you find that the index search results are not accurate, then rebuilding the index will update the index for accurate search results afterwards.

If you like to only do non index searches to always have accurate search results, then you could either disable the index or set your Search options to not use the index when searching in file folders for system files. Non index searches will take a bit longer to give search results. If you disable the index, then this will help your hard drive not run as much while the index (if enabled) automatically updates itself in the background when your computer is idle. If you disable the index, you will also no longer be able to search within libraries.

28. Set "Turn off hard disk after" to Never or Increase Time

While having your HDDs turn off after set x amount of idle minutes can help save energy, it can also cause your PC to pause while waiting for the HDD to spin back up when needed. You could either set this to never turn off the HDDs, or increase the amount of idle minutes before turning off the HDDs to avoid it being turned off while you may still need it and have to wait for it to spin back up as often.

29. Disable Program Compatibility Assistant

The Program Compatibility Assistant (PCA) runs in the background and monitors user initiated programs for known compatibility issues at run time. Whenever a potential issue with an application is detected, the PCA will prompt the user with pointers to recommended solutions. Disabling the PCA will stop it from running in the background and using system resources.

30. Clean Your Computer

Keeping the fans and inside of your computer clean and dust free can help prevent performance issues. Dust acts as an insulator, making it harder for your hardware to dissipate the buildup of heat. When this problem becomes significant enough for your computer to overheat, certain components such as your processor or graphics card may temporarily throttle back their clock speeds in order to prevent damage to your hardware.

31. Set CPU Priority Level of a Process

By default, Windows shares the processor time between all running processes based upon their priority level. If a process has a higher priority, it gets more processor time compared to a process having a lower priority.

You could set priority of an application or process to run with a Realtime, High, Above Normal, Normal, Below Normal, or Low processor priority level. You could have a task from an application or process finish faster by giving it a higher priority level, or by setting a non urgent task to a lower priority level to allow other tasks to have more priority.

32. Change Maximum Download Connections per Server Limit in Internet Explorer

Internet Explorer has a limit for the amount of simultaneously downloads per website or server.
• Internet Explorer 7 and earlier versions limit the number of files that you can download at one time to two by default.
• Internet Explorer 8 and Internet Explorer 9 limit the number of files that you can download at one time to six by default.
• Internet Explorer 10 and Internet Explorer 11 limit the number of files that you can download at one time to eight by default.

In addition, if you visit a website with lots of images (and supporting files like CSS styles and Javascript), then you could have a slower browsing experience. On average, your browser could have to make several requests to the site's server before it can finish loading the page. Requesting all the files needed to download with the default 8 (ex: IE11) at a time is going to be slower than requesting say 16 files at a time.

As internet connection speeds increase, the default number of simultaneous downloads to a single website or server may be to restrictive and not meet your needs.

Our engineers are always listening to our customers for feedback on our products. This allows us to be proactive in providing prompt solutions and updates to enhance the user’s experience.

Thank you for choosing Dell.

JGB

-4points
3of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:beachie11
(Colorado, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Wi-Fi problems immediately

PostedApril 10, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've had the 15R (5537) non-touch 6GB 500 for a week and the Wi-Fi is erratic, cutting off constantly; it's extremely inconvenient and frustrating. I do not have time to call for help right now, but I shouldn't have to call for help on a new machine anyways. Otherwise, it's fast and I like everything else - but what's the point of having a computer that won't stay connected online? It even disconnected before I could send this review. :(
Pros:fast
Cons:erratic wi-fi
Response from Dell.comBy JohnBforDellCustomer ReviewsApril 22, 2014
Hello Beachie11,

We want to thank you for taking some time to post about your experiences with your Inspiron 15R-5537 laptop. We apologize for the frustration you have been experiencing with your network connection. As a general rule when encountering issues, we always recommend updating the latest system’s drivers from Dell’s Support website. Updating the Network driver should help alleviate any issues you are currently having.

Dell Drivers – support.dell.com

Please enter your System Service Tag. When the application shows your system, click on the “Get Drivers and Downloads” tab which is located on the left of the page. When your system drivers are shown, page down to the “Network”. Select the Version 16.6.0.8, A02.

Our engineers are always listening to our customers for feedback on our products. This allows us to be proactive in providing prompt solutions and updates to enhance the user’s experience.

Thank you for choosing Dell.

JGB
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Ron1812
(Canada)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:School
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Screen glare is terrible, but overall laptop is alright

PostedApril 7, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
If I had known Dell sold the Latitude series laptops I probably would not have bought this one. That being said I had no idea of the terrible screen glare coming from the screen, it is almost like looking into a mirror even at full brightness. That being said some pros are that is has a good processor and is overall seems to be built well.
Response from Dell.comBy JohnBforDellCustomer ReviewsApril 22, 2014
Hello Ron1812,

We want to thank you for taking some time to post about your experience with your Inspiron 15R-5537 laptop. We apologize for the frustration you have been experiencing with the glare from your display.

Our engineers are always listening to our customers for feedback on our products. This allows us to be proactive in providing prompt solutions and updates to enhance the user’s experience. To help with the glare from your display, you might want to check out the anti-glare and privacy filters we offer as these would be a helpful solution to your issue.

Anti Glare/Privacy Filters-
http://dell.to/1gQ0VZP

Thank you for choosing Dell.

JGB
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5