Customer reviews for Inspiron 15R 5537

Inspiron 15R 5537

Inspiron 15R 5537
3.547 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 106 reviews
5 Stars
37
4 Stars
28
3 Stars
11
2 Stars
16
1 Star
14
3.5
 / 
5
(106 reviews) 104
70 out of 10666%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Inspiron 15R 5537
Review 1 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Azard
Title:

Overall performance

PostedJune 20, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
The overall performance of this computer is amazing. Had a few issues after updating to the new OS updates. Managed to fix them with some help from the internet. Good for rough users and very reliable machine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Wise
Title:

Inspiron 5537

PostedJune 20, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
I am satisfied 100% with this PC...I am planning to pass this on to my sons and purchase a 17" Touch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:nivash
Title:

good experience

PostedJune 13, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
my 5537 its amazing in gaming and graphics i love to game with my dell inspiron 5537
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:vaju
Title:

Working

PostedJune 13, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Actually the system crashed i had to revert the updates, bad pool header is always coming up and restarting in middle of work
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:gmov58r
Title:

pretty cool

PostedJune 11, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
my Dell arrive a week ago, so still learning about it. never though i would own a Dell, so happy!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Vairy
Title:

Good cutomer service

PostedJune 11, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
My hard drive failed and when i consulted Dell they replaced my hard drive with in 3 business days. I would recommend Dell to many of my friends and family..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:sawangpong
Title:

Dell 5537

PostedJune 8, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
the computer sometime not response or very late response and dell website for download driver very diffical to use
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Dap
(Singapore)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Casual Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Processor (2.6 GHz) but my laptop info show @1.60GHZ?

PostedOctober 23, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Show that is 4th Generation Intel® Core™ i5-4200U processor (3M Cache, up to 2.6 GHz)
But my system info show only have Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-4200U CPU @ 1.60GHz??
As feel that my systems is getting slow processing, give a check on update then realize my laptop is only @1.60GHZ?
How come is not 2.6GHz as stated?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:joev14400
(Orland Park, IL, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

One GREAT laptop

PostedJuly 28, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
This 15R 5537 has got almost everything you could ask for. The only thing that would be nice is if there was an option for a SSD and a back lite keyboard. Other that, this thing ROCKS. A wireless mouse is a must have. Also external speakers for home use, if you want great sound.
Pros:value, weight
Cons:no ssd option, no backlite keyboard option
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:wolfski
(Colorado)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

Chronic Connectivity Issues

PostedJuly 26, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
From the beginning my Inspiron 15R (Win 8.1, i7 Processor, 8GB, 1TB) has had constant connectivity issues. I have spent countless hours on line with service reps who attempt to fix it, and then it just drops off again. My fix has been to disconnect and reconnect when it drops off (about 1x every hour to two hours), which is ridiculous, but faster than spending any more time with Dell for a inherent problem that does not appear to be repairable. No it is not my internet provider as all the other computers, phones, and pads in the house are not exhibiting this issue. I spent close to $900 and expected a working product. I cannot recommend this product. It is my first and last Dell.
Pros:touch screen
Cons:chronic connectivity issues, keyboard is not lit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Lynwood
(Raleigh, NC, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

This product is well designed

PostedJuly 24, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
The laptop is more than I had expected. Since I have been using a desktop for many years, have found it fairly easy to adjust to.
So far have had limited use, but in process of converting.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Oldgieser
(West Palm Beach, FL, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Performes great for business or pleasure

PostedJuly 17, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I got an Inspiron 15R as a replacement computer mainly for business. It performs very well with all my programs including QuickBooks. Everything was easy to load. The best thing I can mention is the ease of setting up on an existing private network. It did most of the work itself! The only negative I found might not even be the computer or chip's fault: It runs Excell noticeably slower than normal and I work a lot in that program (it is a newer version than I used before.)
What few games I play, both loaded and played fine and the graphics are all you would want. I was even able to load a game made for xp, while it would not load on windows 7. (I have windows 8.1 on this computer).
I recommend this computer!
Pros:network setup
Cons:excell runs a little slow
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:agreatchoice
(New York, NY)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Inspiron 15R - A Great Laptop - Solid Performance

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have owned my Inspiron 15R for about a month and am very satisfied. Exterior case is very well done, the cover is secure when closed and opens solidly and no flimsy hinge issues. The wrist pad area is well thought out and the touch pad is responsive without being spotty or jerky - very fluid. I prefer to use a cordless mouse and there are ample of USB ports. I love the keyboard - perfect soft touch quiet keys with plenty of room - my medium to large hands are not cramped. The touch screen is very responsive and the screen doesn't show finger prints that badly. The screen brightness level could be a little brighter for my taste but is not a deal breaker. The OS is fast and can handle multiple programs at once. My only real con is a lack of a back lit keyboard especially in this price range. The over all weight of the 15R is hefty and feels solidly built but wish it did weight closer to three or three and.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Aleksey
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Common AC charger problem

PostedJuly 3, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
The product was working fine for two years, for the price, except for a few minor hardware problems in Windows 7, e.g. headphones wouldn't work unless they're plugged in at the moment when system loads, BT buggy behavior was also observed.
The real disappointment came, when this infamous charger problem appeared (it turned out this is very frequent for this laptop) - the AC adapter isn't recognized, and therefore the battery won't charge, although one could still work with the adapter constantly plugged in.
I realize, that electronics does fail sometimes, but the other similar Dell Laptop (Inspiron 14R) which our family has, failed in exactly the same way, and it was 1 year older model, so Dell had at least one year to fix this design flaw, which they, unfortunately, didn't.
In conclusion, I would not recommend to buy this otherwise great laptop, unless you are sure, that the charging system design flaw, causing this very frequent malfunctioning (100% in my experience), is fixed in a new generation.
Pros:good performance for the price
Cons:widespread ac charger problem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ThanujThilanka
(Colombo, Sri Lanka)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Excellent in everything !!!

PostedJune 22, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought this product 6 months ago,for hardcore programming stuff and gaming, and what you know !!! this machine is really does the things I've never expected !! for an example I've played Splinter cell blacklist, NFS rivals, COD ghosts .... like games with high end graphics in ULTRA setting without lagging !!! and I've played watch dogs in high settings :) :) .Sound performance are also pretty good. :)
but there are some minor problems like, display reflection problem (bad in outdoor using), and space key problems (sometimes i have to push it hard),
But this laptop is valuable for it's cost.
Pros:battery life, gaming performance, premium look
Cons:reflective display, drivers problem (minor)
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ashfleet
(Nottinghamshire, UK)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

It won't work.

PostedJune 15, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have had this laptop for four months now and it simply doesn't work. After max 30 mins of being turned on, it shuts down and some of the apps simply won't open or function. Dell refuses to help with these issues without charging me and this laptop is not cheap for what you get.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Service 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Operating System 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Ash20
(Edmonton, AB, Canada)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Okay

PostedJune 7, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought the 15R with 500GB Hard Drive, 6GB Memory, i5 processor. The performance is good, not as fast as I would like and takes a while to start up or come out of sleep. The design is nice and sleek but it's a bit heavy and gets hot quickly. The worst thing is that this laptop has a TERRIBLE battery life. When it's not plugged in it only lasts about 20-30 minutes from a full charge before it turns off!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:VRSS
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

great and ever seen until today with cheapest price

PostedJune 4, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Every option excellent and touch screen is great and worth
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:daffyb55
(Boggstown, IN, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Not what I have come to expect from Dell

PostedMay 22, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I am quite disappointed with my 115R 5337. I don't know if the problems stem from Windows 8.1 or the hardware. The touch pad is not responsive and the touch screen goes wonkers when I try it instead. It's not like my IPhone or Kindle, just tapping the screen makes things go bigger, smaller. Arrrggg! It's hard to view anything with the size jumping around. I work extensively with machine embroidery files, down loading, extracting, sorting and moving to different folders and it gets really bogged down and slow. My old Vista os with Pentium II is faster than this Inspiron with a V processor. Using this on the internet is extremely slow also. I wish I could exchange this lemon for a model without the touch screen capability. It's like it cannot decide which way it wants to work.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:jean42
(Santa Rosa, CA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

If I could give it less than 1 star I would

PostedMay 20, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
This computer was the biggest mistake I have made when buying a computer. I've bought Dells in the past and never had a problem so I thought this would be no different. Boy was I wrong. It likes to update and then never stop forcing you to manually shut it off. Sometimes it comes back on, sometimes it doesn't. When turning it on it often does not load Windows properly and will tell you this with no way of getting it going back again without turning it on and off several times for it to start again. It has deleted my Windows Picture gallery for no reason and I've lost many photos because of this. I am trying to install software that the computer says is not there but the new program says is so I can't use something that I have purchased. The touch screen also works when it feels like it which is not all the time. All in all a nightmare computer.
Pros:none
Cons:everything
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6