Customer reviews for Inspiron 15R 5537

Inspiron 15R 5537

Inspiron 15R 5537
3.544 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 79 reviews
5 Stars
26
4 Stars
23
3 Stars
9
2 Stars
10
1 Star
11
3.5
 / 
5
(79 reviews) 79
53 out of 7967%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Inspiron 15R 5537
Review 1 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Rene727
(Port Charlotte, FL, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

GREAT LAptop GREAT VALUE

PostedMarch 23, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
It has most everthing you need! I really like it. Windows 8 was a breeze to get use to and organize.
FAST! I5 core... I like the option of having a touch screen, new and different is good!
It has all the ports and usb connections you need.
Pros:fast and nicely laid out, light weight
Cons:touch pad bar click loud like a toy clicker, fingerprints easily lid and touchpad
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:dellowner15
(Medina, TN, USA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:School
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Very Good Computer

PostedApril 16, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I received this computer as a Christmas gift back in 2013. In the four months that I've owned it, it has been great. I use it primarily for school work, and it runs office and other products that I need exceptionally well. I would definitely recommend this laptop to a friend.
Pros:great ram, great hard drive, great battery life for my purposes
Cons:none to speak of yet
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Sean86
(Saint Louis)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Great laptop, with a few issues

PostedApril 16, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
This will focus on the laptop itself, agnostic of the OS. I think Windows 8.1 is fantastic, however I'm not reviewing Windows, I'm reviewing the hardware Dell sold me.
Start with the cons:
Speaker placement is horrid. When sitting on a desk, sound just seems off, when sitting in lap, sound is drowned out into your lap.
Requires a lot of tinkering to get audio to differ between headphones and speakers automatically. Before, plugging in headphones would be painfully loud even with Windows volume set to 1 (out of 100). This is not hyperbole. Coming off a Toshiba Win 7 laptop that kept separate volume settings saved for headphones and speakers, this was a pretty annoying retrograde.
S-L-O-W boot due to Dell software. Even stripping it all down to just the touchpad, I wait ages to get the touchpad software up. A stripped down touchpad driver from the manufacturer (that I've always used vs the OEM version) doesn't work here.
Failed repeatedly to make recovery software. Dell turned this into a plus, however, by rush shipping me recovery disks free of charge.
HDMI has no audio output.
No VGA adapter. Considering the lack of VGA and lack of audio on HDMI, unless your TV expects a headphone jack to provide audio to an HDMI port (as most laptops don't output sound over HDMI) you cannot plug in to your television *AND* route sound. Most TVs with a PC-Mode expect the 3.5mm headphone jack to only be for audio through the VGA adapter.
Sleep mode is useless to me. When plugged in, the system completely shuts off with an error in Windows (behaves as if the computer was removed from a power source, not shut down properly). Every time, without fail. Due to this I cannot use sleep unless I'm on battery life only, once I plug in I have to wake up the computer and shut it down normally.
Try as I might this bug has not been resolved. My wife's doesn't do it, but it's not worth the hassle of making a warranty claim on it.
Pros:
Fantastic battery life. I get in the neighborhood of 7 hours of normal usage on battery between charges.
Typically snappy after initial bootup.
Intel's Haswell graphical power actually impresses me. For built in, it runs a lot of (mainstream, less demanding) games quite well.
Metal screen backing and keyboard trim is a nice touch.
Feels quite durable.
*VERY* firm monitor hinges. This may be a neg for some people (my wife is agnostic to it) but I like the fact that the monitor *NEVER* wobbles.
Ample USB ports, including a 3.0.
Comfortable keyboard.
Large touchpad with firm, metal buttons.
When I bought this laptop is was the best priced Haswell on the market with a touchscreen. I actually got it with an i5-4200u in August '13 for less than the i3 model is selling for now. We paid (nearly) full price for an i3 model for my wife because I was so happy with this one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JimVaughn
(Arlington, TX, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Fantastic Laptop

PostedApril 12, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is a great laptop and a great value. Light weight and very well built. My configuration includes I7 Intel processor and is very fast with 8MB of memory. Windows 8.1 is very easy to use and touch screen on this laptop is perfect for Window 8.1. The keyboard has a great layout and the look of the laptop is very stylish.
The only negative is the lack of a back lit keyboard. Battery usually lasts 4 hours with moderate heavy usage Highly recommend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Service 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Unabletostart
(St. Charles, MO, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

This product is too slow

PostedApril 12, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Have A Inspiron 15R 5537. It takes about 20 to 25min to start up.
This the slowest computer I've ever had. All other features seem to be OK.
Pros:looks good
Cons:too slow
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:beachie11
(Colorado, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Wi-Fi problems immediately

PostedApril 10, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've had the 15R (5537) non-touch 6GB 500 for a week and the Wi-Fi is erratic, cutting off constantly; it's extremely inconvenient and frustrating. I do not have time to call for help right now, but I shouldn't have to call for help on a new machine anyways. Otherwise, it's fast and I like everything else - but what's the point of having a computer that won't stay connected online? It even disconnected before I could send this review. :(
Pros:fast
Cons:erratic wi-fi
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Ron1812
(Canada)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:School
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Screen glare is terrible, but overall laptop is alright

PostedApril 7, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
If I had known Dell sold the Latitude series laptops I probably would not have bought this one. That being said I had no idea of the terrible screen glare coming from the screen, it is almost like looking into a mirror even at full brightness. That being said some pros are that is has a good processor and is overall seems to be built well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ralmey
(Alpena, AR)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Good product

PostedApril 2, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
This laptop seems to be working right along. Windows 8 is a little hard to learn (and I'm still learning) but I'll get it. There are enough programs to help me do everything I need to and more.
Pros:lightweight
Cons:none so far
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:vjsammy
(Chicago, IL)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

worst choice ever to buy Dell Inspiron 15R 5520

PostedApril 1, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have Inspiron 5520 from March 2013, till date I have issues with this system.
1.Wifi doesn't work properly and got it replaced 3 times.. still disconnecting frequently.
2. OS is one of the major issue, windows 8.1 has lot of issues with this system.
3. HDD Issue: All of a sudden my HDD failed and I've lost complete data. Hdd has to be replaced.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:LiveEternal
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Inspiron 15R Laptop with Touch Screen - Great Buy!

PostedMarch 29, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Great hardware, great software, and awesome customer service make this laptop my best purchase of the year!
Specs:
- Inspiron 15R with Touch Screen
- Windows 8, 64 bit (upgraded to 8.1)
- 8GB Ram
- 1TB SATA Hard Drive
- 8X DVD+/-RW Drive
- Office 365 (2013)
Pros:
- Sturdy construction
- Touch screen has been accurate and easy to use with scrolling, swiping, etc..
- Keyboard has a light touch, is quite and comfortable
- Windows 8 works well with the touch screen and laptop in general, coming from Windows XP and 7, I've been enjoying 8's features (specifically search and the user interface)
- Customer service was stellar - I had an issue with configuring dual monitors, and the support rep worked with me to find a resolution
Cons:
- Mouse pad buttons are loud when clicked! I'm sure they could have made these quieter
- The current docking stations that work with this model have terrible reviews, an improved docking station would be appreciated
- The edges of the case are sharp, and could be sealed better to prevent dust from caking up in there
- I would have preferred having Windows 8.1 installed out of the box (rather than having to upgrade)
- Maybe I'm old school, but I didn't get a recovery CD or image (it seems you need to create one on your own with a dedicated external drive...)
Recommendations:
- Upgrade to Windows 8.1 right after you boot up - might as well get this out of the way because it might fix issues you have in Windows 8
- If you need dual monitors, purchase a USB to VGA/DVI/HDMI Adapter (I recommend the Sabrent UGA-2K-195)
It's been 4 or 5 years since I've purchased a home computer. Most of my computing time is spent at work, so I didn't have a need to upgrade my home computer until recently. I was torn between buying a desktop or a laptop. On one side, I've always purchased desktops because they were cheaper, had greater hardware capabilities, and were easy to upgrade. On the other hand, I hadn't upgraded my previous desktop the entire 5 years I owned it, and didn't have a need for a super-computer.
I was surprised to find laptops with 1TB drives, which is more than I will ever fill up (including backups). The specs for the Inspiron 15R were impressive, specifically with touch screen being the same price as non touch screen (via a great monthly deal).
My only concern was configuring 24" widescreen dual monitors I had professionally mounted to a wall in my home office. There is only 1 HDMI out on the laptop, and the reviews for the docking station were horrible. However, after further research and speaking with a Dell Sales Associate, I chose another docking stations that had positive reviews. It turns out I was given bad advice as the docking station wasn't compatible, although that's another story.
I decided to purchase the Inspiron 15R with touchscreen. I received my order within a few days (in retrospect, I should have sent it to my work address since it had to be signed for) and was excited to get the system setup.
I setup my accounts and installed a few applications within the first few hours. I ran into a huge problem with configuring dual monitors. At first I thought it was the HDMI to DVI converter I purchased (since my monitors are DVI), however, I discovered that when I disabled then enabled the video card adapter within device manager, the monitor would work properly (discovered this after in-depth search to uncover the cause).
I decided to Dell and get their advice. I was connected with a nice gentleman who took control of the laptop and went to work. After 1.5 hours, we determined that the issue was a DVI cable. What really impressed me was the length this guy went to get the issues resolved. Afterwhich, I was forwarded to a supervisor who asked we how the call went and verified the issue was resolved-brilliant customer service! 2 days later I get another follow up call asking me how my experience was...nice touch!
Turns out the cable wasn't bad, but there was an issue with the driver. I upgraded to Windows 8.1 and the issue seems to be resolved.
I use the laptop as a desktop (the lid stays shut) and have a wireless keyboard and mouse. I haven't used the touchscreen much as of yet, but can see this becoming the future of computing.
I'm happy with my purchase - the hardware is working well, I like Windows 8/8.1 (with a few caveats), and am deeply impressed with the customer service I received. I hope this laptop lasts me 4 or 5 years!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:shamilynn
(Cape Cod, MA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Great Features

PostedMarch 27, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is my first experience with a Dell computer having had other brands in the past. I chose Dell for its reputation of having a quality product, and I am not disappointed. It is solidly built, has many nice features including touch screen, fast processor, a lot of memory. It is fast. I'm on line within 15 seconds of turning it on.
Dell offered me the free upgrade to Windows 8.1, and although this is my first experience with the new OS, I am used to it and I do like it. I downloaded both the owner's manual for the computer and a Windows 8 instruction book which explains everything. Also, there are many great apps available from the App Store which are very helpful. For those who do not like the Windows 8 or 8.1 format, they can go to their desktop screen and use what looks like the Windows 7 screen instead.
I've owned this computer for 4 months and I did have a problem with the "f" key sticking recently, and there is a glare on the screen during the day if either a light or a window (on a sunny day) is behind you. That is the reason for the 4 stars rather than 5.
Pros:touchscreen, fast processor
Cons:a glare on the screen when used during the day, "f" key sticks
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:mac124
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Awesome performance at an affordable price!

PostedMarch 20, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I had bought another laptop with the same spec of 500 GB Harddrive space with 6 GB RAM through ebay. I eventually sold it and got this new one. I could say that the performance from this laptop is soo much better than my other one with the same specs.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Neil61
(Killyleagh, Downpatrick, Down BT30, UK)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Unable to Connect to Wireless Router

PostedMarch 18, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this laptop to replace my existing Dell Studio having read reviews and using the on-line chat facility.
Have not been able to connect properly to my wireless network since I took it out of the box and made numerous calls to both Dell Tech Support nad my ISP Tech Support.
So frustrated that I have asked Dell to collect it and issue a refund.
Pros:stylish
Cons:windows 8 / 8.1, wireless connection issue
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Siim
(Estonia)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Best Dell laptop what I have ever seen.

PostedMarch 14, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Very good quality for the price (and 3-year warranty speaks in it too) and performance. Also, I'm surprised at the battery life. In idle with the average (or even a little more) brightness and wifi (surfing internet) battery life is ~7-8h (I think that is due to the new Haswell processor).
But I'm little disappointed that there is no backlit keyboard.
However, everything else is great. Today I also noticed Inspiron 7537 model, which is more beautiful for me (and it seems thinner too). May-be I will try that model sometime too.
Pros:good battery life, good quality (and 3-year warranty!!), nice look, new haswell processor, silent cooling (at least in idle)
Cons:no backlit keyboard
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:jerked
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

dissapointed

PostedMarch 12, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
this is the second 15r I purchased, the first didn't last past turning it on, the second one is the cursor seems to do what it wants, if it lands on a program it will open it up, again, again and again. there is hardly any software on it, just lots and lot of apps that lead you to there store , then you have to buy the darn thing. all the support is in India, a land of which they speak very little English or they will just hang up
Response from Dell.comBy JohnBforDellCustomer ReviewsMarch 17, 2014
Hello Jerked,

We want to thank you for taking some time to post about your experiences with your Inspiron 15R laptop. We apologize for the frustrations you have been experiencing. As a general rule when encountering issues, we always recommend updating the latest system’s drivers from Dell’s Support website. Updating the Touch Pad driver should help alleviate any issues you are currently having.

Dell Drivers – support.dell.com

Please enter your System Service Tag. When the application shows your system, click on the “Get Drivers and Downloads” tab which is located on the left of the page. When your system drivers are shown, page down to the “Mouse, Keyboard, and Input Devices”. Select the Version 16.3.13.5, A00.

Our engineers are always listening to our customers for feedback on our products. This allows us to be proactive in providing prompt solutions and updates to enhance the user’s experience.

Thank you for choosing Dell.

JGB
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Sowj111
(Minneapolis, MN, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

Good experience

PostedMarch 12, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
i loved this laptop and bought this for my personal use.
it can support Unix and windows and have a gr8t performance.
it has value for money.
Pros:very good at performance and good for personal use
Cons:it cannot support all the softwares
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Arledge
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Good laptop BUT.....

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Having been a customer of Dell before in both a personal and business capacity, I expected a good quality device that is a good price/performance. This laptop delivers on this, the performance is great and the price is reasonable compared to other vendors.
Build quality is good except (and this is where the BUT comes in) for the strength of the screen. Within three weeks of using this laptop and taking care of it I had a cracked screen. This happened whilst the screen was carefully being lifted up. Having worked in IT for nearly 20 years, I have never seen a screen crack so easily.
Having not got accidental cover (that's my issue), this turns out not to be under the guarantee of the machine, however Dell did agree to not charge for engineer time. The end result is a costly bill for a replacement screen.
I would have given the laptop 4-5 stars as it is a good laptop, however given the type of fault I can only give 2 stars.
Would I buy this again: YES, but with accidental cover.
Pros:good specs, good price
Cons:flimsy screen, touch pad buttons very noisy
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Service 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DairyGoatLady
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Fair product

PostedMarch 9, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I was use to a 17" so hard for me to get use to the smaller screen. Also every time I go to a different network, the connection to the internet works for a bit and then I get disconnected from the internet and the network connection says Limited. So then I have to disconnect and connect again. I get the message to troubleshoot which I click on and then it says it is resetting the wireless something and then it works (until I go to another place). I love having the option of Windows 7 and I don't have to use the Windows 8. Other than the connection problem, I like this laptop. Wish I could have gotten it in 17" though. I've had it for about a month now. It is very light compared to the 17"!
Response from Dell.comBy JohnBforDellCustomer ReviewsMarch 17, 2014
Hello DairyGoatLady,

We want to thank you for taking some time to post about your experiences with your Inspiron 15R laptop. We apologize for the frustrations you have been experiencing. As a general rule when encountering issues, we always recommend updating the latest system’s drivers from Dell’s Support website. Updating the WLAN Card driver should help alleviate any issues you are currently having.

Dell Drivers – support.dell.com

Please enter your System Service Tag. When the application shows your system, click on the “Get Drivers and Downloads” tab which is located on the left of the page. When your system drivers are shown, page down to the “Network”. Select the Version 16.0.5.3, A00, under the Intel Wireless-N 7260 driver.

Our engineers are always listening to our customers for feedback on our products. This allows us to be proactive in providing prompt solutions and updates to enhance the user’s experience!

Thank you for choosing Dell!

JGB
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Dapalencia
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Great Laptop

PostedMarch 8, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought this laptop a few months ago hoping that the it was a great one. It is truely a great laptop it still works perfect. Except for the star key on the dial pad that kind of gets stuck(not that I use it). Aside from that it is a Great laptop
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:shadowrunner099
(Richmond, VA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:School
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Not what I expected for the price

PostedMarch 6, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this laptop because I needed one in a hurry for school. This laptop is uncomfortable to use. The edges on the laptop where your wrists would sit to use the keyboard are sharp. I could use an external keyboard but then what is the point of having a laptop. I will be returning this laptop.
-6points
0of 6voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4