Customer reviews for Inspiron 15R 5521

Inspiron 15R 5521

Inspiron 15R 5521
3.931 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 174 reviews
5 Stars
78
4 Stars
55
3 Stars
12
2 Stars
9
1 Star
20
3.9
 / 
5
(174 reviews) 174
135 out of 17478%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Inspiron 15R 5521
Review 1 for Inspiron 15R 5521
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:CAMike
(CA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

DO NOT BUY!

PostedFebruary 21, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought my computer 2 months ago with Windows 8. From the start the computer would freeze up and I would have to restart it. I found the problem was mainly with the "quick start" so I changed that option to a "regular" start. The problem did not go away, but it did dimish quite a bit. Then I completed a "critical BIOS update" from Dell (I confirmed it was from Dell prior to updating) and now my hard drive and motherboard are fried. When researching the problem, this seems to be a common occurance. I spent over $800 for a computer I could use in my classroom. I had my old Dell with Windows XP for years. Customer service has been nice, but there's still no excuse for a 2 month old computer to fry. Do yourself a favor and do not buy this computer!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Inspiron 15R 5521
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Claire34
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
I use my PC for:School
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

hard drive crashed

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I do not recommend this product. I purchased the laptop just before going to spend a year abroad in the UK so that I wouldn't have to worry about my old laptop dying while I was there, and the hard drive crashed less than six months after the purchase, and the "replacement" sometimes has problems booting up. For these reasons, I would characterize this product as unreliable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Inspiron 15R 5521
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Service 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Operating System 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Sean46
(Dayton, OH, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

Hurt & Disappointed in product(Inspiron M5030)

PostedJanuary 23, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have had this laptop for just over 2 years. It has been OK up until about 5 days ago when out of no where it just would not come on at all. It beeps 7 times loudly pauses for about 10 seconds or so & then continues the awful pattern. Through info. via the big retailers, internet, & finally Dell I have been informed that it is probably my motherboard or CPU or whatever. I am extremely disappointed by this and will NEVER buy another Dell computer again. I have purchased 2 others Dell computers in the past but I feel this is completely inexcusable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Inspiron 15R 5521
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Laura24
(Texas, USA)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

Hate this laptop

PostedJanuary 9, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
This laptop is a complete waste of money. I had it for four months and the monitor went out. Customer support was no help at all. Now, after slightly less than six months, the hinge has broken! Windows 8 OS is absolutely horrible. I hate everything about this laptop and would not recommend it. I most highly would not recommend Dell.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Inspiron 15R 5521
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Ryanne01
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Biggest waste of money EVER

PostedJanuary 3, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have been working on my laptop for over 3 years and now it won't turn on or anything. In the years I have been using it, it has crashed six times, requiring many new hard drives, batteries and repairs. It is very likely to get a virus and stop working at random times. I would NEVER recommend this product, even to my worst enemy.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Inspiron 15R 5521
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Icculus
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

A HUGE MISTAKE

PostedDecember 11, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased my dell for obvious reasons... low price. For the year ive owned it, I have had nothing but problems and headaches. Ive spent many, many hours on hold with tech support. I only use my laptop for school and occasional Netflix. A tech guy broke my USB ports and LED lights when fixing my broken touchpad. Because I didn't notice it at the time, they say I broke it and I have to pay. Its just the cherry on top. The list of con's about a dell laptop is too long to even mention. It is not worth saving a few hundred bucks by purchasing a dell. Just save up money and get a computer that works... trust me
Pros:now i know not to get a dell
Cons:i wasted money cuz i need a new computer
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Inspiron 15R 5521
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Service 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Anonymous
(Goa India)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Unsatisfied

PostedDecember 1, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased Dell inspiron 15R on 10th March 12,initially i had problem with booting,when i took it to nearby showroom they formatted laptop but still the problem persisted.
But few days back laptop did not boot n when i took it to showroom they said that hdd has crashed n even keyboard is not working and i have to pay Rs.8000/-to replace both.
I am very much disappointed with this because i hardly used this laptop in the past one & half year and i did not expect this problem so soon,i feel like i have wasted my money by purchasing this product,its like i purchased this by paying 8K extra then market price.
My experience has been bad since i have purchased this product.
Response from Dell.comBy JonathanNforDellCustomer ReviewsDecember 11, 2013
Hello sham13,

Thanks for sharing your experience with your Inspiron 15R (5521) laptop! I do not know the details of your particular case but Dell laptops come with at least a 1-Year Limited Parts and Labor warranty. I recommend contacting our @DellCares team with the details of your case so they can review it and decide how best to help.

@DellCares on Twitter -
http://dell.to/1f81nkZ
@DellCares on Facebook -
http://dell.to/1czSRP0
Dell Customer Care Forums -
http://dell.to/GHSc0p

Keep in touch!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Inspiron 15R 5521
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Matthew123456
(New York, NY, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Terrible

PostedNovember 25, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Windows 8 is awful. Dell is worse. Constant interruptions with Downloads and Upgrades signifying nothing, hard to use, no instructions worth talking about. I'm finished with Dell and Windows and am junking this machine and getting the other kind--the one I'm not supposed to mention. A really bad experience...goodbye Dell.
Response from Dell.comBy JohnBforDellCustomer ReviewsDecember 16, 2013
Matthew12345,

I am sorry to hear about your issues with your Inspiron 15R laptop.

Give us a chance to help you out, please use the information below to contact us. The team members below will get you taken care of.
Please reach out to our Dell Support Team at:

• Dell Community Forums – Laptops-
http://dell.to/1bGj9uO
• You can contact our Dell Cares Team on Twitter (@DellCares):
http://dell.to/16KU93m
• If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
http://bit.ly/15zzg95
A Facebook account is required to use this option. Please use the message button and provide your Name, service tag, email address and a brief description of the issue.”

Thank you. JGB
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Inspiron 15R 5521
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JulesD
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Just does not work

PostedNovember 3, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is the third Dell I have owned and have been very happy with the previous ones. This laptop however has not worked since purchased.
Windows freezes causing the laptop to require powering off and back on, nothing else responds.
Frequently fails to even boot into windows. Several times has atempted to do a system repair (and failed!) Will then go all day without booting then suddenly decide to work again. Wi-Fi keeps loosing the internet even though says it is connected, requires the wi-fi turning off and on to reconnect.
Recently fails to boot with "media check fail" message.
Really did not expect this poor standard of product from Dell.
Not a happy customer.
Response from Dell.comBy JonathanNforDellCustomer ReviewsNovember 7, 2013
Hello JulesD,

I want to thank you for taking your time and posting here about your recent experience with the Inspiron 5521 laptop! I do apologize about your disappointing out-of-box experience with the system. I recommend reaching out to our @DellCares team on Twitter, Facebook or the Dell Customer Care forum and see if they can help resolve your issues in a timely and professional manner. Thank you for being a frequent purchaser of Dell computers and I hope that they will go out of their way to win you back as a satisfied customer of Dell!

@DellCares on Twitter -
http://dell.to/1f81nkZ
@DellCares on Facebook -
http://dell.to/1czSRP0
Dell Customer Care Forums -
http://dell.to/GHSc0p

Hope this helps!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Inspiron 15R 5521
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Zahir3d
(New York, NY, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Defective Product! Be careful!!

PostedOctober 18, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
I recently purchased and started using this model like a month ago because I needed it urgently for work to complete some projects and was thinking it would be a great investment. This laptop is really superb with its features and performance and I was very happy and satisfied to use it when it arrived.
Only a month been through and I started noticing the laptop was switching off frequently while doing my work. After restarting it like more than 20 times, it stopped switching on for good.
I called technical support to go through troubleshooting and the advice was nonsense until I finally managed to have a technician come over to my place to fix the issue. I waited a week and he came over to replace the motherboard but the laptop still doesn't work. I was told it could be a problem from the motherboard manufacturer and now I am waiting for the technician to come over next week and try another motherboard.
I now believe I made a really bad investment and I'm losing precious time and wasted much money. Fortunately, I have an old laptop that is more reliable. If this new laptop started out with such a problem only after a month and the technician is having so much trouble to fix it, I still believe that I will be experiencing more troubles with it in the near future and I would prefer to have the laptop replaced at once.
I still don't how soon can this problem be fixed and I'm already questioning the quality of all DELL products as a loyal customer.
Pros:performance, features
Cons:hardware defects from manufacturer, delays to replace hardware
Response from Dell.comBy JonathanNforDellCustomer ReviewsOctober 25, 2013
Hello Zahir3d,

I want to thank you for taking your time and posting here about your experiences with the Inspiron 15R laptop. I apologize about some of the frustrations that you have been experiencing with our support services. I recommend reaching out to our @DellCares team on Twitter or the Customer Care forums and see if they can help you in a timely and professional manner.

@DellCares on Twitter -
http://dell.to/1f81nkZ
@DellCares on Facebook -
http://dell.to/1czSRP0
Dell Customer Care Forums -
http://dell.to/GHSc0p

Hope this helps!
+7points
13of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Inspiron 15R 5521
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DSoum
(London, UK)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Really disappointed long-term Dell customer

PostedOctober 16, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
What a disappointing product. Feels cheap - cheap keyboard and not as well laid out as the old Dells. But the most disappointing thing is Windows 8 and the wifi connection. I can't stay online for more than 20 minutes in a row which means I can't use the laptop for work which was why I bought it. Windows 8 and this computer is incompatible with so many different types of software, I can't use VPN on it for work either. There seem to be so many bugs with it. I have had it for 3 months and the screen has started going dark and wont switch on again.
I tried to return it but unfortunately I was 2 days out of the 7 day period you have to return it. My husband had asked me to keep battling on with it to see if it got better and unfortunately by the time we realised things were never going to improve, Dell refused to take it back. The only thing I can praise is the excellent Dell helpline who we have spent hours talking to. Sadly I can't return the machine and wouldn't even give it away to someone, it's so bad.
Back using my old Dell (5 years old) which switches itself off continually but is still working better than this one. How disappointing! DO NOT BUY!!
Response from Dell.comBy JohnBforDellCustomer ReviewsOctober 23, 2013
Hey Dsoum,

I am very sorry to hear about your issues with your Inspiron 15R laptop.

Please, use the information below to contact us. The team members below will get you taken care of.
Please reach out to our Dell Support Team at:

• Dell Community Forums – New to the Community:
http://dell.to/19hQ1Ky
• You can contact our Dell Cares Team on Twitter (@DellCares):
http://dell.to/16KU93m
• If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
http://bit.ly/15zzg95
A Facebook account is required to use this option. Please use the message button and provide your Name, service tag, email address and a brief description of the issue.”

Thank you. JGB
+7points
10of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Inspiron 15R 5521
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:durham123
(England, UK)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

This product fails my needs on every level.

PostedOctober 15, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this machine to replace a previous Dell laptop which sustained accidental damage which made it inoperable.
My principal need was for a machine to store and edit photographs. When I try to access the pictures library I was met with the message "Pictures.library-ms" is no longer working.
Other laptop and desktops I have had used worked on WindowsXP operating system, which I found excellent. The latest Windows8 operating system is a disaster.
If it was possible I would return machine and ask for my money back.
Pros:none
Response from Dell.comBy JohnBforDellCustomer ReviewsOctober 23, 2013
Hey Durham123,

Sorry to hear about the issues you are having with your Inspiron 15R laptop. New Operating System can always be a hassle to get used to and there is always a break in period. Check out the links below to get some help on Windows 8. These can be very helpful.

Windows 8 FAQ's-
http://dell.to/10Sd6Qk
Windows 8 Tutorial Videos-
http://dell.to/X8D4hD

If there is anything else we can help you out with, please use the information below to contact us. The team members below will get you taken care of.
Please reach out to our Dell Support Team at:

• Dell Community Forums – New to the Community:
http://dell.to/19hQ1Ky
• You can contact our Dell Cares Team on Twitter (@DellCares):
http://dell.to/16KU93m
• If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
http://bit.ly/15zzg95
A Facebook account is required to use this option. Please use the message button and provide your Name, service tag, email address and a brief description of the issue.”

Thank you. JGB
-3points
2of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Inspiron 15R 5521
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Cheryl134
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

I hate Windows 8

PostedOctober 14, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Unfortunately, I purchased this oversized paperweight. I have regretted this purchase every day since I bought it a month ago. The operating system is horrific. I purchased this laptop because I liked my last Dell Inspiron, but I despise the new computer. It is difficult to find anything on the new operating system. It is as though someone deliberately thought about the most irritating way to organize files and applications and then implemented that. In planning my next computer purchase, I will work hard to avoid both Dell and especially Microsoft. I simply can't deal with another Microsoft operating system. I know that means I may not be using PC's from now on and I am ok with that.
Response from Dell.comBy JonathanNforDellCustomer ReviewsOctober 16, 2013
Hello Cheryl134,

Thanks for taking the time to post here about your experience with the Inspiron 5521 and Windows 8. It seems that the Windows 8 UI redesign is the root of your dissatisfaction with the laptop. I feel Microsoft decided to be ahead of the curve and design an OS that is optimized for touch, tablets and other mobile devices. These devices are now outselling traditional laptop and desktops and I feel MS did a commendable job in making a single UI for all of these systems. Below are some links to guides from Dell and MS that should help give you some tips and tricks, as well as helping you better navigate within Windows 8. Just a reminder, Windows 8.1 will be out soon (as a free update) and you might find some of the changes to your liking!

Windows 8 Dell Support -
http://dell.to/14bEZE7
Windows 8 (How-To Guides) -
http://dell.to/17DxRlG

Naturally, if you have any questions or need help with your recent order, please reach out to our DellCares team on Twitter, Facebook or the Dell Community Forums.

@DellCares on Twitter -
http://dell.to/1f81nkZ
@DellCares on Facebook -
http://dell.to/1czSRP0
Dell Customer Care Forums -
http://dell.to/GHSc0p

Hope this helps!
-6points
6of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Inspiron 15R 5521
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Inuksuk
(Iqaluit, NU, Canada)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

An unfortunate disappointment

PostedOctober 14, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
The device I received recently is an unfortunate disappointment I will return.
Outside body may be as describe in presentation above, Once open, it's a eyesore:
- Narrowness of the screen height. Measured surface is smaller than the Specification Sheet data. Content displayed needs a lot scrooling up and down to be readable.
- Keyboard surface: waste of polished mirror space between the keys reflects ambiant light and makes long usage eye tiring.
I'll keep my "old" Inspiron-1720 and Vostro-3750 whom are still working fine, and have them refurbished and upgraded with a recent i5 processor.
Working with texts editing, live graphic designs and pivot tables crunching (Astrology charts and mobile ephemerides), I need the high screen of a Inspiron-1720, and the body of a Vostro-3750. The 2 best laptops Dell ever offered.
Response from Dell.comBy JohnBforDellCustomer ReviewsOctober 23, 2013
Hey Inuksuk,

I am very sorry to hear about the issues you have been having with your Inspiron 15R.

Hopefully you haven't sent it back yet and will give us a chance to help you out.

Please, use the information below to contact us. The team members below will get you taken care of.
Please reach out to our Dell Support Team at:

• Dell Community Forums – New to the Community:
http://dell.to/19hQ1Ky
• You can contact our Dell Cares Team on Twitter (@DellCares):
http://dell.to/16KU93m
• If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
http://bit.ly/15zzg95
A Facebook account is required to use this option. Please use the message button and provide your Name, service tag, email address and a brief description of the issue.”

Thank you. JGB
+2points
6of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Inspiron 15R 5521
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Jeff396
(WI)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Unreliable

PostedOctober 14, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have an Inspiron 15R, and it failed just short of 2 years after purchase. I had already replaced the power board, and now the screen drops dead after a short time, and the laptop refuses to power down without pulling the battery. Not very impressive performance. DELL assistance suggested I purchase a new laptop and extend the warrantee. I would much prefer a more durable product in the first place. I'm not a happy customer.
Pros:looks nice
Cons:faulty power supply, faulty screen, warrantee too limited for such a fagile product
Response from Dell.comBy DonaldDforDellCustomer ReviewsOctober 17, 2013
Hello Jeff396,

Thank you for taking the time to review your Inspiron 15R (5521). I am sorry to hear you are not happy with the 5521, for the two years you have used it. While we do offer extended service contracts for just such an ocaision, suggesting a new system does not fix this one. If you are interested in troubleshooting your issue to it's root cause and find out what needs to be done to get it working again, try our Dellcares team. While they may not be able to issue service, they can help you get going in the right direction.

Social Support Team Contact:-
Twitter - @DellCares (
http://dell.to/14T7mnW)
Dell Community Forum (
http://dell.to/1cXzZdN)

They can help!
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Inspiron 15R 5521
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Randy100
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Complete joke

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Just bought this 15R because i wanted a windows 7. I couldn't be more dissapointed. Video play is slow to the point it stops. response time is rediculous. You click on a window, and wait, for it to load. Sound quality is horrible, even after adjusting, Graphics, watching video's are extremley weak. I had a Studio, and a Vostro previously, and i loved them. Compared to those "weaker" laptops. This one is a joke. I feel like i've just been robbed. if i wanted a laptop that performed like this, i would have bought a used one for a tenth of the cost.
Pros:my co-worker said it looked nice
Cons:everything
Response from Dell.comBy JonathanNforDellCustomer ReviewsSeptember 16, 2013
Hi Randy100,

I want to thank you for taking your time and posting here about your experiences with the Inspiron 15R (5521). I apologize about some of the frustrations that you have been experiencing. You mentioned that you wanted a Windows 7 machine but since this one shipped with Windows 8, please check out this guide with tips and tricks about Windows 8! It is indeed strange that you are having sluggish system response time. I recommend updating your Dell software drivers first then running our online P.C. Diagnostics software, to see what it might discover:

Dell Drivers -
http://dell.to/sCpz1d
Dell PC Diagnostics (DCF) -
http://dell.to/1bmLIRA
Windows 8 (How-To Guides) -
http://dell.to/17DxRlG

I recommend reaching out to our @DellCares team on Twitter and see if they can help you resolve your issues in a timely and professional manner.

http://dell.to/1f81nkZ

If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell’s Facebook Support Form and reach us there:
http://dell.to/18PGSrH

Hope this helps!
+3points
9of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Inspiron 15R 5521
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Arimang
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Inspiron 15R works very poor

PostedJune 12, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've recently purchased Inspiron 15R and on the very first day after restarting a couple of times, it started to make beeping sound and didn't turn on at all. Also, the mouse pad isn't working well, either. This is actually my third dell (I really hoped this time would be different) and the same frustration over and over again!!!! (My second dell had a graphic card issue and I had to replace it three times) I usually don't write reviews but this time I had to because I don't want people feel bad about their decisions to go for dell....
Response from Dell.comBy SaraTforDellCustomer ReviewsJune 14, 2013
Hello Arimang,

I am sorry to hear that you have encountered some issues with your new system. This is not the experience we want you to have. If you haven't already, please reach out to our support team. They would be happy to try and isolate the issue and troubleshoot the root cause. In addition to the traditional methods, we also have an online support team, DellCares. You can reach them through any of the following:

• Dell Community Forums:
http://dell.to/pwws14
• Twitter (@DellCares):
http://dell.to/Tgt5D7
• Facebook Support:
http://dell.to/10icdPW

I hope we are able to help resolve your concerns quickly.

-SaraT
-21points
18of 57voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Inspiron 15R 5521
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Bassem70
(Mississauga, ON)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Poor quality

PostedMarch 15, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Dell completely disappointed me with this computer that i just purchased. Quality is really bad, just after 2 months of use computer just stopped working and I called hep they told me this must be the memory card. Technician today came it and replace mother board, memory card as well as cooling pads. Obviously this product has a major issue with cooling system
Response from Dell.comBy DonaldDforDellCustomer ReviewsMarch 18, 2013
Hello Bassem70,

Sounds like the technician "shotgunned" your system. This means they sent out everything that could possibly be wrong with your system, rather than troubleshooting to the root cause. The Inspiron 15R is one of our best selling systems and we are not seeing heat issues as a widespread problem. If the vents on the bottom of the 15R arenot blocked, the venting should be plenty sufficient to cool the system. The best resting place is a hard flat surface. Laying it on a blanket or towel, will surely block the vents and cause tremendous heat under heavy load. I wish we knew what exactly was the issue.

Thank you for sharing,
+4points
16of 28voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Inspiron 15R 5521
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Bassem70
(Mississauga, ON)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

I do not recommend this production Dell 15R to anyone

PostedMarch 13, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product is very poor in quality coming from Dell. I never recommend it to anyone, I hope I am the last customer to buy their product. After using it for 2 months, memory failed the computer not even coming up. I call help support, they try to get me to open the memory card in order for them to get it replaced for me by sending me the part through shipping and for me to install it ( to cost save on the repair). At the end they tell me that a technician will come to replace the memory for me. This is after 60 days of use. I hope this same issue does not happen to you as well. I will never buy Dell again and definitely not recommending it to anyone
Cons:bad quality specially memory
(click to see the video)
Response from Dell.comBy DonaldDforDellCustomer ReviewMarch 19, 2013
Hello Bassem70,

I am sorry to hear you are having issues with your Inspiron 15R. Problems can happen with electronics, especially computers, from time to time. This is regardless of manufacture. This is why the Dell warrantee covers parts for one year with extended service. We also offer extended service contracts. Watching the video, there was also a distinctive click. Make sure you update us after the RAM is installed. If you still have issues, contact our online support. They will be happy to help!

For Tech Support Virtual Agent, Chat, Phone, Email:-

http://dell.to/nKRY0q

Social Support Team Contact:-
Twitter - @DellCares (
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ)
Dell Community Forum (
http://dell.to/GY65Xz)
Dell Facebook (
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ)
+1point
11of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Inspiron 15R 5521
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:expressive
(toronto)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Dissapointed with this model. Hard to turn on!

PostedJanuary 26, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Very DISSAPPOINTED! I have it for two weeks and in both occasions the screen turn black for more than 10 minutes while trying to turn on. I charged the computer for 5 hours the day before, and unplugged the adaptor. To my surprise, the computer did not turn on. My husband went online and found out that this is a common problem with this model. You almost have to keep the adaptor plug at all times. Making it very inconvenient if you are on the go. To solve the problem we found a tip online: unplug adaptor again, hold power key for 20 seconds, plug adaptor again and hit F8. What a waste of time. I would not recommend this product.
Pros:internet, online learning, documents
Response from Dell.comBy DonaldDforDellCustomer ReveiwsFebruary 28, 2013
Hello expressive,

Congrats on your new acquisition in the Inspiron 15R (5521). While you may have found a short term fix foir your black screen, I would recommend contacting Technical Support. They can likely, fix your issue, or at the very least get your issue documented in the system in-case there is an under lying failure.

For Tech Support Virtual Agent, Chat, Phone, Email:-

http://dell.to/nKRY0q

Social Support Team Contact:-
Twitter - @DellCares (
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ)
Dell Community Forum (
http://dell.to/GY65Xz)
Dell Facebook (
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ)

I know they can help!
0points
6of 12voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9