Customer reviews for Inspiron 15R 5521

Inspiron 15R 5521

Inspiron 15R 5521
3.913 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 310 reviews
5 Stars
131
4 Stars
99
3 Stars
33
2 Stars
16
1 Star
31
3.9
 / 
5
(310 reviews) 310
235 out of 31076%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Inspiron 15R 5521
Review 1 for Inspiron 15R 5521
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

battery slot

PostedMay 3, 2016
No, I do not recommend this product.
It sometimes shutdown automatically without any intimation. battery slot seems to be loose. please increase the built quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Inspiron 15R 5521
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

battery and screen fails in 15 month

PostedApril 1, 2016
No, I do not recommend this product.
no perfect answer by dell care and support
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Inspiron 15R 5521
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

Hate this computer

PostedDecember 2, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Have always liked Dells before but feel that this is the worst laptop we've ever had. It's slow and cumbersome, and consistently frustrates with the time taken to load software and websites. Looking forward to replacing it when we can afford!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Inspiron 15R 5521
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

yes

PostedDecember 2, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
its very too muchh slowwwwwwwwwwwww
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Inspiron 15R 5521
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

performance is poor

PostedSeptember 7, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
my experience with dell is very poor . i am not satisfied by the product's performance
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Inspiron 15R 5521
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

Worst performance

PostedAugust 23, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
System is very slow, bad performance even using browsing... Its not at all suit for developers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Inspiron 15R 5521
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(New York, NY, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:School
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

This product is possibly the worst computer I've ever owned

PostedAugust 18, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
According to my security software (Three different types), I have no viruses, so I assume the hardware is to blame for all of these issues.
When plugged in, the cursor shakes violently on the screen
Internet connectivity almost never fails on my xbox, phone, other computers or tablets, yet the computer disconnects several times a day - note that this happens even when the computer is the only thing connected.
The built in speakers fail for no apparent reason at least once a week, which requires me to restore the computer from a prior point, which renders the computer useless for sometimes several hours and removes some of the files on my computer each time.
Freezes regularly, downloaded software (eg. flash, java) will appear to be not downloaded for no apparent reason, and requires all tabs to close for it to fix - an error which doesn't happen on my other computers
Volume control fails and increases/decreases for no apparent reason (rarely)
Pros:good for about a year, still better than using my phone
Cons:bad for anything after a year, extremely inconvenient especially for a student, not reliable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Inspiron 15R 5521
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

touch screen and graphic card not proper

PostedAugust 10, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
THE WORST LAPTOP I HAVE EVER HAD
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Inspiron 15R 5521
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

hardware problems

PostedJuly 29, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Have issues of network adapter and touchpad within 3 years
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Inspiron 15R 5521
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

i don't know what is up with my dell!

PostedJuly 15, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
my laptop keeps on making noises and the screen freezes on its own......also sometimes it doesn't start......
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Inspiron 15R 5521
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

Poor

PostedJune 19, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
low quality materials used to build the device, also it is impossible to work with slow computer >> TRUE it is i7 but it so so slow >> I had to install LINUX to have at least more speed to work dual with windows
and why there is hard disk failure and need to change in this device only >> so many people have this problem only inspiron 1520
when any one think of a dell devices the first thing came to the mind is "best choice" .. but i don't know what is wrong.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Inspiron 15R 5521
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(CA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

DO NOT BUY!

PostedFebruary 21, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought my computer 2 months ago with Windows 8. From the start the computer would freeze up and I would have to restart it. I found the problem was mainly with the "quick start" so I changed that option to a "regular" start. The problem did not go away, but it did dimish quite a bit. Then I completed a "critical BIOS update" from Dell (I confirmed it was from Dell prior to updating) and now my hard drive and motherboard are fried. When researching the problem, this seems to be a common occurance. I spent over $800 for a computer I could use in my classroom. I had my old Dell with Windows XP for years. Customer service has been nice, but there's still no excuse for a 2 month old computer to fry. Do yourself a favor and do not buy this computer!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Inspiron 15R 5521
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
I use my PC for:School
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

hard drive crashed

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I do not recommend this product. I purchased the laptop just before going to spend a year abroad in the UK so that I wouldn't have to worry about my old laptop dying while I was there, and the hard drive crashed less than six months after the purchase, and the "replacement" sometimes has problems booting up. For these reasons, I would characterize this product as unreliable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Inspiron 15R 5521
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Service 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Operating System 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Dayton, OH, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

Hurt & Disappointed in product(Inspiron M5030)

PostedJanuary 23, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have had this laptop for just over 2 years. It has been OK up until about 5 days ago when out of no where it just would not come on at all. It beeps 7 times loudly pauses for about 10 seconds or so & then continues the awful pattern. Through info. via the big retailers, internet, & finally Dell I have been informed that it is probably my motherboard or CPU or whatever. I am extremely disappointed by this and will NEVER buy another Dell computer again. I have purchased 2 others Dell computers in the past but I feel this is completely inexcusable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Inspiron 15R 5521
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Texas, USA)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

Hate this laptop

PostedJanuary 9, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
This laptop is a complete waste of money. I had it for four months and the monitor went out. Customer support was no help at all. Now, after slightly less than six months, the hinge has broken! Windows 8 OS is absolutely horrible. I hate everything about this laptop and would not recommend it. I most highly would not recommend Dell.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Inspiron 15R 5521
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Biggest waste of money EVER

PostedJanuary 3, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have been working on my laptop for over 3 years and now it won't turn on or anything. In the years I have been using it, it has crashed six times, requiring many new hard drives, batteries and repairs. It is very likely to get a virus and stop working at random times. I would NEVER recommend this product, even to my worst enemy.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Inspiron 15R 5521
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

A HUGE MISTAKE

PostedDecember 11, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased my dell for obvious reasons... low price. For the year ive owned it, I have had nothing but problems and headaches. Ive spent many, many hours on hold with tech support. I only use my laptop for school and occasional Netflix. A tech guy broke my USB ports and LED lights when fixing my broken touchpad. Because I didn't notice it at the time, they say I broke it and I have to pay. Its just the cherry on top. The list of con's about a dell laptop is too long to even mention. It is not worth saving a few hundred bucks by purchasing a dell. Just save up money and get a computer that works... trust me
Pros:now i know not to get a dell
Cons:i wasted money cuz i need a new computer
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Inspiron 15R 5521
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Service 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Goa India)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Unsatisfied

PostedDecember 1, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased Dell inspiron 15R on 10th March 12,initially i had problem with booting,when i took it to nearby showroom they formatted laptop but still the problem persisted.
But few days back laptop did not boot n when i took it to showroom they said that hdd has crashed n even keyboard is not working and i have to pay Rs.8000/-to replace both.
I am very much disappointed with this because i hardly used this laptop in the past one & half year and i did not expect this problem so soon,i feel like i have wasted my money by purchasing this product,its like i purchased this by paying 8K extra then market price.
My experience has been bad since i have purchased this product.
Response from Dell.comBy JonathanNforDellCustomer ReviewsDecember 11, 2013
Hello sham13,

Thanks for sharing your experience with your Inspiron 15R (5521) laptop! I do not know the details of your particular case but Dell laptops come with at least a 1-Year Limited Parts and Labor warranty. I recommend contacting our @DellCares team with the details of your case so they can review it and decide how best to help.

@DellCares on Twitter -
http://dell.to/1f81nkZ
@DellCares on Facebook -
http://dell.to/1czSRP0
Dell Customer Care Forums -
http://dell.to/GHSc0p

Keep in touch!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Inspiron 15R 5521
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(New York, NY, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Terrible

PostedNovember 25, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Windows 8 is awful. Dell is worse. Constant interruptions with Downloads and Upgrades signifying nothing, hard to use, no instructions worth talking about. I'm finished with Dell and Windows and am junking this machine and getting the other kind--the one I'm not supposed to mention. A really bad experience...goodbye Dell.
Response from Dell.comBy JohnBforDellCustomer ReviewsDecember 16, 2013
Matthew12345,

I am sorry to hear about your issues with your Inspiron 15R laptop.

Give us a chance to help you out, please use the information below to contact us. The team members below will get you taken care of.
Please reach out to our Dell Support Team at:

• Dell Community Forums – Laptops-
http://dell.to/1bGj9uO
• You can contact our Dell Cares Team on Twitter (@DellCares):
http://dell.to/16KU93m
• If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
http://bit.ly/15zzg95
A Facebook account is required to use this option. Please use the message button and provide your Name, service tag, email address and a brief description of the issue.”

Thank you. JGB
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Inspiron 15R 5521
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Just does not work

PostedNovember 3, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is the third Dell I have owned and have been very happy with the previous ones. This laptop however has not worked since purchased.
Windows freezes causing the laptop to require powering off and back on, nothing else responds.
Frequently fails to even boot into windows. Several times has atempted to do a system repair (and failed!) Will then go all day without booting then suddenly decide to work again. Wi-Fi keeps loosing the internet even though says it is connected, requires the wi-fi turning off and on to reconnect.
Recently fails to boot with "media check fail" message.
Really did not expect this poor standard of product from Dell.
Not a happy customer.
Response from Dell.comBy JonathanNforDellCustomer ReviewsNovember 7, 2013
Hello JulesD,

I want to thank you for taking your time and posting here about your recent experience with the Inspiron 5521 laptop! I do apologize about your disappointing out-of-box experience with the system. I recommend reaching out to our @DellCares team on Twitter, Facebook or the Dell Customer Care forum and see if they can help resolve your issues in a timely and professional manner. Thank you for being a frequent purchaser of Dell computers and I hope that they will go out of their way to win you back as a satisfied customer of Dell!

@DellCares on Twitter -
http://dell.to/1f81nkZ
@DellCares on Facebook -
http://dell.to/1czSRP0
Dell Customer Care Forums -
http://dell.to/GHSc0p

Hope this helps!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 16