Customer reviews for Inspiron 15R 5521

Inspiron 15R 5521

Inspiron 15R 5521
3.931 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 175 reviews
5 Stars
78
4 Stars
56
3 Stars
12
2 Stars
9
1 Star
20
3.9
 / 
5
(175 reviews) 175
137 out of 17578%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Inspiron 15R 5521
Review 1 for Inspiron 15R 5521
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Fsproule
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Hardcore Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Wow.

PostedMarch 15, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have had this laptop for, maybe, 3 months. WOW. If you are a gamer, looking to play games, don't go any farther. Minimal lag and great graphics reside in this laptop, making it any gamer's dream. I play DayZ, Arma II/III, Minecraft, and Call of Duty, experiencing little noticeable lag. When I bought a laptop at this price, I thought it was going to be a load of Trash, but it runs smoother than my desktop. The keys work great, and windows 8 blew my mind. If you are considering making the switch, think no more. The "Desktop" tile on the windows 8 screen replicates windows 7, so windows 7 will be there, along with the great features of windows 8. The number pad is awesome, but it needs a light like the caps lock. The dell store is a bit skimpy, but I'm sure more apps and games will appear there. If you like to listen to music, the music store has lots of FREE music available for you to download, but some artists do not appear, and some songs are paid. The trackpad is decent, but a mouse is recommended, as the trackpad locks up sometimes. I like the keys, because they are nice and thin, but not too thin(Such as the touch cover for the MS Surface) and are very responsive, but I think they should be backlit. Any program you had on windows 7 can be downloaded, and so can the apps on the dell store. The battery life seems as if it will last until the day I die(abt. 4-5 hrs. of heavy gaming) and I haven't got to test the durability, and I don't plan to. In conclusion, this is an amazing laptop with a price that almost seems unfair. Nice job Dell.
Pros:keyboard, display, almost no lag, great price, battery life, windows 8
Cons:i cant find enough pros
+46points
46of 46voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Inspiron 15R 5521
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:tkalfaoglu
(Izmir, Turkey)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Great laptop, but technical issues

PostedApril 26, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is the best looking laptop I have ever owned, and the fastest one. However, on day 6 of its life, its LCD backlight stopped working.
That is, you can only read the screen if you shine a VERY bright light to it -- making the machine unusable.
Somewhere I read that "if the backlight goes, that means a bad design, and it will go again soon". I hope that's not true, and I hope Dell replaces this machine soon..
Pros:good looking, fast, cool-running
Cons:technical problems
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Inspiron 15R 5521
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:sandipkc7
(Nepal)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Great value Laptop

PostedMay 11, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
This laptop is great in such a price. It has good battery life and all the features are great as seen in specifications.
However I am getting two main problems with this laptop, I don't know if this is model specific.
My DVD player doesnot function fully, the eject button on dvd tray don't work and I have to eject from right click menu.
The WiFi don't work as good as other laptops. Sometimes I can't even switch on Wifi, then I have to open device manager disable and re-enable again. I had windows 8 drivers, then I downloaded drivers from intel's website but the situation was worse, the driver corrupted several times and laptop restarted several times. I removed those drivers of intel, downloaded from dell's site and but the problem still exists, WiFi cannot be switched on easily from keyboard button.
Pros:good battery, good speed, high performance
Cons:bad wifi, bad dvd
Response from Dell.comBy JonathanNforDellCustomer ReviewsMay 14, 2013
Hey sandipkc7,

Thank you for taking the time to post this review of our Inspiron 15R laptop! The issue with the optical drive does seem like an alignment or hardware issue, so I would definitely get that looked at while under warranty. The Wi-Fi power is also something that I would get looked at by a Dell Technician as well. I apologize that you are having this trouble with these features. I am not sure where you purchased your laptop, so please use the links below as a guide to finding the correct support solution for you.

Dell Home Support –
http://dell.to/8rIkGe
Twitter @DellCares -
http://dell.to/Tgt5D8
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Inspiron 15R 5521
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DellMcCoury
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Good Laptop with a few things needed to be great

PostedMarch 20, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
We really like our new Inspiron. The important factors like speed, performance, memory, etc is great. There are a few little things that I'd like to see in the next model. A volume control (so you don't have to press Func+Fkey everytime you want to turn up/down the music/media), a backlit keyboard (its hard to work on at night), and it is too heavy. Its as beefy as they come, but there are lots of ports and a CD/DVD drive.
+12points
13of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Inspiron 15R 5521
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:slj7777
(Syracuse, NY, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:On the go
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Works flawlessley out of the box.

PostedJuly 11, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I've had my 15R for a few days now and have used it extensively. No problems at all. I have all my programs loaded and there were no problems loading any older programs written for XP and Win 7 and they all work fine.
The DVD drive works fine and opens and closes as it should. All ports work and hook up to my wireless and wired network were automatic with nothing to do on my part except enter passwords.
The screen is great and movies from DVD or streaming from Netflix look and sound good. The touch screen and track pad work flawlessly. I added a wireless mouse which also works fine. You can navigate using the touch screen, keyboard, track pad, or a mouse.
It took me a little while to figure out Windows 8 but if you are familiar with XP and 7 you should have no problem with 8. Things are moved around a little so it takes a little to figure them out but there are plenty of quick tutorials available if you really need instructions. Next version (Win 8.1) is a free upgrade this fall so there is no need to wait.
If you don't want to operate in the Windows 8 touchscreen mode the familiar desktop like Windows XP and 7 is there at the touch of a key.
The case is nice and professional looking with all ports easy to get at and the battery lasts longer (several hours even running wireless) than anything I've had before.
Really not a deterrent but the only thing I'd suggest changing is the SD card slot on the front. When you insert a SD card it sticks out a little. I'd like to leave one in there like I do on my netbook as a second hard drive drive but since it sticks out it's not an option.
I am extremely happy with the quality look and feel of this laptop.
Pros:no problems loading older programs, boots in 12 sedonds!, long battery life even on wireless., nice feel to the keyboard.
Cons:none really
+17points
23of 29voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Inspiron 15R 5521
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Rhaenys
(Croatia)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Entertainment
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Great desing and really good performance

PostedMay 25, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought this laptop a month ago. I love the desing and colour, it's so good loking, very slim and I have a really nice feeling while using it. The performance so far has been really good, I had no problems with it.
Only cons are the sound, sometimes I wish it would be a little bit more louder, and the price - here in my country the Dell products are a bit pricey and competition has about the same specs for a bit lower price, but I choosed Dell because of it reliability and durability.
I'm realy satisfied with my new Dell laptop, and I would definitey recommend it.
Pros:desing, screen, fast performance
Cons:price, sound
+15points
22of 29voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Inspiron 15R 5521
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:kapilm
(mumbai, india)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

The product is worth the money

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Its lil bit bulkier but has the best in features. Te computing is at its best.
+15points
22of 29voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Inspiron 15R 5521
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:glence
(Kannur, Kerala, India)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

great value for money

PostedFebruary 25, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
i got 3ed gen i7 with 1t hd 2gb amd and 8 gb ram
fast processing
good graphics
less noisy
good sound
good storage 1T
very good battery life
and windows 8 is bit crazy sometime but has got great features and is super fast
bit heavy
keyboards okay(u may need an additional one for gaming)
decent net speed and WiFi
i/o options are okay
perfect for the value of money
but unfortunately i got a slight display problem
on top right corner of the screen few pixels are missing
its disappointing that i got to do the monitor change in two weeks time of purchase////////
+15points
25of 35voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Inspiron 15R 5521
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:1954Doug
(Casa Grande, AZ, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Inspiron 5521

PostedJune 5, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I had a Dell laptop that I used to love and one of my cats tipped my soda over into the keyboard and shorted out the laptop. I decided I would go with the Inspiron 15R (5521) with the i7 processor, 6gb memory and a 1TB hard drive. I have had this a month or 2 and I LOVE this machine. The sound is great and the HD display is gorgeous! Battery life is longer than I expected. The only thing that I can't figure out is which 2 USB ports are the 3.0. There are 4 USB ports on this machine and it is very easy to use. I opted to get Windows 7 instead of 8, and have had no problems so far. I had a problem with the display software and the techs fixed it in short order. This is why I go back to Dell. I have had not problems like other reviews I have read here.
Pros:fast, great display clarity (hd), long battery life with appropriate settings
Cons:ie crashes occasionally
+11points
16of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Inspiron 15R 5521
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MarkDell15R
(Ireland)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Instant Response and great value

PostedMay 12, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I'm delighted with this laptop especially the stainless steal effect what also ensures durability. Make sure to get the 15r with the i5 Processor because it is so much faster. With the i5 my 15r turns on in 25 seconds and is then ready to go. I really love the battery and the numeric pad in the keyboard. I genuinely would recommend this laptop to anyone and be wise and get the i5 as it makes a huge difference. Hope ye enjoy this laptop as much as me. Thanks.
Pros:durable, reliable, professional, robust
+11points
16of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Inspiron 15R 5521
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Linnetta
(Snellville,GA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

wonderful power and output, however lacking a few things

PostedMay 7, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I just ordered my 2nd Dell after having my other Inspiron for 9 years. I love this one, and love the speed and performance. I am just sorry that a camera and microphone are not part of the package. It should be added. Other than that, I am happy!
Pros:speed
Cons:no camera, no built in microphone
+11points
16of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Inspiron 15R 5521
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Dellinspiron15Rbuyer
(Australia)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:School
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Great Value for High Performance

PostedApril 5, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
This Laptop is great value for money for money, I chose to get Intel i7 and 8GB RAM, that along with Windows 8 makes an extremely quick start up and quick general running. And when running power draining programs the fan may start up but it is fairly quiet.
Keyboard is good, not as good as Dell's Alienware keyboards (different style as well) but good enough for general use and casual gaming. The extra keypad is great for my schooling (doing lots of maths).
I didn't get the touchscreen so I can't comment on that, but the standard screen is great for viewing everything from general work, gaming and watching TV (using USB TV Tuner bought separately). Viewing on a horizontal angle doesn't seem to effect the picture until you get to extreme angles and I can't complain about vertical viewing angles.
Number of USB ports is great, especially the 3.0's, lacking a VGA connection which is a bit of trouble if you want to using in conjunction with older monitors but nowadays most monitors have HDMI which the laptop has and it is better anyway if you can use it.
Only trouble has been that after one day I got a message saying that the driver for the Radeon graphics card was not installed, although I believe it was still working but the message was annoying so I quickly and easily found the driver on Dells website and downloaded and installed it, which has fixed that thus far. Anyone with a good computer knowledge would be able to handle this and for those who can't I'm sure the customer service and support would be able to help.
Overall a great laptop and a great price, perfect for students and casual-to-mid gamers
Pros:performance, +price, =great value for money
+10points
14of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Inspiron 15R 5521
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Vincent5209
I use my PC for:Casual Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Why my laptop does not come with any programs installation CD?

PostedMarch 30, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Overall, good performance with good battery life of an approximate 6 hours. However, i do not receive any programs installation CD (eg. Window 8 CD) which can be troublesome if i want to reformat my pc.
Pros:smooth nice audio good battery life
Cons:yet to find out
+10points
14of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Inspiron 15R 5521
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:a1star
(Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Great - But facing some H/W & features problems.

PostedSeptember 29, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Great Laptop to have... but feel bad with a keyboard problem. Besides this i have 2 queries.
1. Problem:
Right from the day one, i have a problem of the keyboard (which is too delicate), keeps protruding upwards/outwards each time i open the lid. Especially from the region of F4 to F12 keys horizontally & same region continuous below 3 rows of the keyboard portion. Please suggest me what to do...?
2. Query:
I want to know how to turn-off/disable the Touch feature of the Touchscreen display (any shortcut feature like touchpad Fn+F3), as while working with some important document or alike if by mistakenly pointed to screen (touching the screen during discussion) or playful teasing by friends cause mistake/closes the file/app.
So to avoid problem, any option available to enable/disable touch instantly??? (As like Fn+F2 for Wifi, fn+F3 for touchpad, etc...)
And moreover F6 & F7 keys lay vacant without any combination with "Fn" key. I suggest to provide this feature.
3. Is Touchscreen of Gorilla Glass ??:
Ever Before i purchase & till date i'm with no correct information from the Dell customer support people.
I purchased my laptop at Dell Store in my region. Where i was said its Gorilla Glass Touchscreen. But when i tried to know from the Dell customer/support people theres no proper information pertaining to this.
So please is there any way to confirm what the Touchscreen Glass Type is ???
Thank you...
+9points
12of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Inspiron 15R 5521
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Flyboys99
(Minneapolis, MN, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Nice laptop but don't get Windows 8

PostedMarch 28, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is a great laptop! I use it for business as an insurance agent. It came with Windows 8. Windows 8 is NOT functional in my business. I downgraded to Windows 7! Much better. Don't get Windows 8 unless you want to touch the screen like it's an iPad.
I got the Core i5. It is fast but I wished I spent a bit more and ogt the Core i7. Never underestimate the need for speed.
+9points
12of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Inspiron 15R 5521
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:monu
(India)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
I use my PC for:Hardcore Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

N5521

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I love my new laptop. It is very good. The main reason behind my purchase was to play hardcore gaming and I did not get disappointed. The graphics are really good and I really enjoy playing some hardcore games.
Pros:good performance overall, excellent graphics, good keyboard to type
Cons:space bar is not flexible, no option for shutdown as its windows 8
+9points
12of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Inspiron 15R 5521
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:5521User
(Bangalore, Karnataka, India)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
I use my PC for:Casual Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Value for money , Choose based on need !!

PostedFebruary 28, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I got my 5521 last week been using for a week, Its just good lappy to have.I missed that antiglare FHD display coz after i received my laptop Dell published a lot a option on processors and display to choose with,
Battery life ( 4.5 Hrs) is just great, ( some tweaks on full recharge capabilities) , its Light weight(2.22kg) slim design is cool , 2 gb is sufficient for gaming need, windows 8 expereice isn't that great still exploration is needed. dell should release some more color is this model coz US version has a lot of color option.
Keyboard, webcam and speakers are very avg on feature.
Overall a good laptop under 50K
+9points
12of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Inspiron 15R 5521
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:stevenbenson89
(Frazier Park, CA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Title:

New Inspiron 15r a great computer

PostedFebruary 27, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I love this computer the only thing that I found that is giving me head pain is when I go on to an app it closes down and goes to desktop mode. It only happens when I go on it the first time. But besides that it a amazing computer.
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Inspiron 15R 5521
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Akshat2793
(Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Good !!

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Just got this laptop today. It looks great, the speakers are loud enough but it isn't so clear. The display is good too. I've encountered a problem with the keyboard. When I press shift and 2 instead of '@' I get this " and vice versa. The touchpad doesn't respond all the time. Overall it's good...!!
Pros:display quality, zero lag, windows 8, great price, battery life
Cons:keyboard, touch pad
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Inspiron 15R 5521
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:lrivera0421
(Ozone Park, Queens, NY, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

15r

PostedFebruary 9, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Let me start by saying that I was not a supporter of Dell in any way. Their past products I thought were flea market quality. After having this laptop for almost a month I have to say that it is the best laptop that I have had since and HP that I owned 5 years ago. Window 8 runs great. The processors are fast. This Laptop is a must buy. Dell really knocked it out of the ballpark with this one.
Thank you for reading.
+12points
21of 30voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9