Customer reviews for Inspiron 15R 5521

Inspiron 15R 5521

Inspiron 15R 5521
3.931 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 175 reviews
5 Stars
78
4 Stars
56
3 Stars
12
2 Stars
9
1 Star
20
3.9
 / 
5
(175 reviews) 175
137 out of 17578%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Inspiron 15R 5521
Review 1 for Inspiron 15R 5521
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:raulcool
I use my PC for:Entertainment
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

good experience with this touch pc

PostedJune 18, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
the touch function of this pc is good. running smooth for most of my task. good price for this pc.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Inspiron 15R 5521
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Tokiface
(Toronto, ON, Canada)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Entertainment
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Great Laptop but the battery can't keep up

PostedJune 2, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Ordered the Laptop when I was looking for something to use around the house, whether it's media streaming or gaming. It was to be a mobile system to go along with my desktop and it filled this purpose very well.
The battery life unfortunately doesn't keep up with the rest of the great hardware. With casual streaming and use, the battery lasts just under 3 hours, which is not great. Luckily I rarely use it somewhere not near an outlet, but if anyone plans to use this for travel and such, I warn you that not only is the battery life poor, it is heavy.
If it will be stationary near an outlet, it does its job great.
Pros:performance, look, runs diablo 3, multiple ports and outputs for many options
Cons:battery life, weight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Inspiron 15R 5521
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:CAMike
(CA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

DO NOT BUY!

PostedFebruary 21, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought my computer 2 months ago with Windows 8. From the start the computer would freeze up and I would have to restart it. I found the problem was mainly with the "quick start" so I changed that option to a "regular" start. The problem did not go away, but it did dimish quite a bit. Then I completed a "critical BIOS update" from Dell (I confirmed it was from Dell prior to updating) and now my hard drive and motherboard are fried. When researching the problem, this seems to be a common occurance. I spent over $800 for a computer I could use in my classroom. I had my old Dell with Windows XP for years. Customer service has been nice, but there's still no excuse for a 2 month old computer to fry. Do yourself a favor and do not buy this computer!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Inspiron 15R 5521
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Bhavesh
(San Francisco, CA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Awesome Laptop.

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Awesome performance and sound. I am a software developer and was looking for a laptop that has both - performance for development and features for entertainment. This laptop fits the both. I am using this for over a month now and it's awesome. Happy to own it!
Pros:performance, sound is amazing, love windows 8
Cons:perfect for me!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Inspiron 15R 5521
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:stevenchen
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

good laptop

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought it on December 2013.I like it and the price is reasonable. all features are just like the advertisement.
All in all, this is a great laptop for us.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Inspiron 15R 5521
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ALOG
(Garfield, NJ, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

dell awesomeness!!!

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
The best thing i have ever used! Fast and reliable. Money well spent and used! From the touch screen to the comfort of the key board to the speed! recommend it to any and everyone that wants reliable. Apple got nothing on dell!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Inspiron 15R 5521
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ajjausaf
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

New Touchscreen

PostedFebruary 1, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Great laptop! Love the touchscreen interface with Windows 8. While Windows have a steep learning curve the Inspiron 15R was a breeze to set up.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Inspiron 15R 5521
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:bcso161
(Home office)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:On the go
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

This Laptop is loaded with power and great features.

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I was looking for a affordable and dependable laptop with the ability to multi-task and not freeze up due to small CPU ability or memory size. this laptop fit the bill on what I was looking to do with it, such as the ability to work on the road, and the ability to have all my files with me when needed. It is super fast on the CPU and the installed memory is plenty sufficient for the programs that I am currently using for photography. The battery has so far lasted a good amount of time, usually about 4-6 hours while using several programs, and the CPU has flown through the task that I have asked it to perform. This is a super great computer.
Pros:great power, easy set up, wireless connections and blue tooth
Cons:none that i can think of at this time
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Inspiron 15R 5521
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Operating System 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:loolooloo
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

First time using outlet a success!

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Was nervous about buying through the outlet, but am very happy with the results. Can't tell it's a "used" computer, no flaws, runs smoothly. The only thing I don't like is Windows 8 operating system on this non-touch screen, but hey, no one likes change!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Inspiron 15R 5521
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Gigi63
(Minneapolis, MN, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Love the Touchscreen

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
This was my first experience using a touchscreen, and it took awhile to get used to, but now I love it. Nice to have that option for moving around, along with a great keyboard and mousepad. The fingerprints on the screen wipe off easily and you'll need to do this frequently. The speakers on this computer are exceptional.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Inspiron 15R 5521
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:SamHak
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Great price for Great buy

PostedJanuary 27, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Just knowing that you have a dell product gives you the assurance that you are buying a quality product.
great features.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Inspiron 15R 5521
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:deep16
(madurai)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

can buy this with confident ...seekers

PostedJanuary 27, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I am using my dell inspiron 15r for the past 7 months.no major probs occured for me .But i faced some drivers prob,but that also resolved by "FAST RESPONSE from DELL service".Anb other is due to aluminium finish you have in this lap.there is no scratch formation.BUY THIS WITH CONFIDENT
Pros:fabulous deign, excellent viewing angle of display
Cons:no backlit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Inspiron 15R 5521
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:worhello
(Co. Galway, Ireland)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Great product, once it was fixed

PostedJanuary 26, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
This laptop has given me a lot of grief over the past week, but, now, that's all been resolved. Here's my story:
I bought a 15R with an i7-3537u and 8GB of RAM. It also had an AMD Radeon HD graphics card. When I turned it on for the very first time, it gave me a Blue Screen of Death (BSOD). Eventually, I was able to get it turned on, but it repeatedly crashed, giving me errors to do with video. This led me to believe that the Graphics card was the source of all the issues.
I rang Dell Customer Care on the Monday, and explained my situation to them. After getting me to run a Diagnostic from the Boot menu (which revealed absolutely nothing), the guy booked an engineer to come out to me. The engineer came out on Wednesday, as scheduled, but, for some reason, he had the wrong motherboard. It had the correct motherboard, but only had a Pentium chip...
The engineer was very gracious about it, despite the mix-up, and booked another engineer to come out to me, on either Thursday or Friday. The other guy actually came out to us on Thursday, had the right motherboard, installed it, and the laptop's been running great since. Dell even gave me a call on Friday just to make sure that everything was working fine.
Now that the laptop's running properly, I'm happy to report that I've had no issues, other than slightly slow internet performance (although that's probably more to do with our WiFi than the laptop).
My only issue, and it's really minor, is that the laptop shipped with Windows 8, rather than the newer 8.1. Really, though, I can't complain as I can update it for free anyway.
All in all, I'm a very satisfied customer!
Pros:great performance, solid build quality, excellent customer care
Cons:broken on arrival
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Inspiron 15R 5521
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:lakeaffects
(MI)
I use my PC for:On the go
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

inspiron 15R touch

PostedJanuary 25, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I love the touch screen! So far, I haven't been disappointed. I'm not finding the problems with Windows 8 that others are describing. It's very intuitive.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Inspiron 15R 5521
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Claire34
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
I use my PC for:School
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

hard drive crashed

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I do not recommend this product. I purchased the laptop just before going to spend a year abroad in the UK so that I wouldn't have to worry about my old laptop dying while I was there, and the hard drive crashed less than six months after the purchase, and the "replacement" sometimes has problems booting up. For these reasons, I would characterize this product as unreliable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Inspiron 15R 5521
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Service 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Operating System 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Sean46
(Dayton, OH, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

Hurt & Disappointed in product(Inspiron M5030)

PostedJanuary 23, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have had this laptop for just over 2 years. It has been OK up until about 5 days ago when out of no where it just would not come on at all. It beeps 7 times loudly pauses for about 10 seconds or so & then continues the awful pattern. Through info. via the big retailers, internet, & finally Dell I have been informed that it is probably my motherboard or CPU or whatever. I am extremely disappointed by this and will NEVER buy another Dell computer again. I have purchased 2 others Dell computers in the past but I feel this is completely inexcusable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Inspiron 15R 5521
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Operating System 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Nikki1999
(British Columbia)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:On the go
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

poor internet connection

PostedJanuary 19, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
The computer works fine when undertaking activities such as working in office programs. I find the touch pad way too sensitive (the slightest touch of a finger or thumb and things jump around on the screen) so I use an external mouse.
The biggest problem is with the wifi connection - all the computers in the house work fine but this lap top is constantly losing contact. I have tried to get this issue resolved, spent hours with the support services but the problem continues. This can be very frustrating at times. Tonight, for example, I restarted the computer and modem several times before the connection seemed to hold. It should work fine now until it doesn't - there doesn't seem to be rhyme or reason as to why the wifi works sometimes but not others.
Another issue is the sleep / hibernate mode. There's another that appears to be a coma state - nothing happens at all and I have to press the power button until the computer restarts. It is especially bad if the keyboard light is on, it seems. Something glitchy there.
Pros:excellent screen, good keyboard comfortable, battery good for work (short multimedia life)
Cons:too sensitive touchpad, iffy wifi ability, sometimes enters "coma" state
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Inspiron 15R 5521
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Danese
(Columbus, NE 68601, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Love it

PostedJanuary 15, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Love the key pad on the right - daughter just loves the whole package
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Inspiron 15R 5521
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Laura24
(Texas, USA)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

Hate this laptop

PostedJanuary 9, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
This laptop is a complete waste of money. I had it for four months and the monitor went out. Customer support was no help at all. Now, after slightly less than six months, the hinge has broken! Windows 8 OS is absolutely horrible. I hate everything about this laptop and would not recommend it. I most highly would not recommend Dell.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Inspiron 15R 5521
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Heather8
(Windsor, NY)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Fantastic Laptop!

PostedJanuary 9, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is an incredible laptop; very fast processor, very bright, clear picture. I got the touch screen, and absolutely love it, it is very responsive and so much faster and easier to use than the touch pad or a mouse, but you can use those too, simultaneously. The laptop has a nice sleek appearance and seems very durable and substantial compared to other laptop's I have looked at, but it is not heavy. I don't think you can go wrong with a Dell, and I highly recommend this laptop!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9