Customer reviews for Inspiron 15R 5520

Inspiron 15R 5520

Inspiron 15R 5520
3.583 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 216 reviews
5 Stars
74
4 Stars
63
3 Stars
29
2 Stars
15
1 Star
35
3.6
 / 
5
(216 reviews) 208
152 out of 21670%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Inspiron 15R 5520
Review 81 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Inspirion 15R hampered by Windows 8

PostedDecember 23, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
The Inspirion 15R is a great laptop. I enjoy using. But navigating with Windows 8 is clunky.
Pros:home photos, kids school projects, shopping on internet
Response from Dell.comBy KrishnaForDellCustomer ReviewsDecember 25, 2012
Hello JangoFett,

I am glad that you really like the new Inspirion 15R. Also, Windows 8 is a bit of a learning curve for everyone. However, once you get the hang of it, it's very easy to use.

The link below will give you some information on the basic usage of Windows 8.

http://bit.ly/TiqKsT

Hope this helps.

Thanks again, have a great day and Happy Holidays!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 82 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Newfoundland,Canada)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Satisfied

PostedDecember 22, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I just bought this 15R and I am quite satisfied. I am used to XP. It takes awhile to get use to it ,but when u do u will be quite satisfied
Pros:personal usehome computer
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 83 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Westland)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Nice Starter Laptop

PostedDecember 20, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is a nice laptop for people that just bought there first laptop. Even though I have an alienware laptop a bought this laptop as a secondary for my work at home buisness. The only con I have with this laptop is the fact that windows 8 is very buggy on this laptop so i would stick to using Windows 7.
Pros:work at home buisness
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 84 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

Beware Windows 8!

PostedDecember 18, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
The hardware itself seems fine.
But watch out for Windows 8.
It is very different, and will frustrate you as you try to do things similarly to windows in the past.
And it basically forces you to setup a microsoft account in order to download things like skype, etc.
Worse than that, the account setup is quite buggy. And it's not possible to ask a question on the microsoft forums, because the account isn't properly setup! Yeesh!!!!
Response from Dell.comBy SaraTforDellCustomer ReviewsDecember 19, 2012
Hello Rpduke,

Thank you for taking the time to submit your feedback. I am sorry that you are not happy with the new Windows 8 operating system. I know it is a lot different and can take some time to get used to.

You might want to check out the Support information that we have on Windows 8 to get more information. You can find helpful videos, tutorials and even a "Free Windows 8 for Dummies E-Book" that you can download to help you with the new User Experience with Windows 8.

Windows 8 Tutorial Videos:
http://dell.to/PSe0Kw

I hope this can help. I am glad to hear that you like the computer itself.
-SaraT
+21points
25of 29voted this as helpful.
Review 85 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

Pretty Great

PostedDecember 16, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is a pretty great laptop. I looked at many different laptops on dell and elsewhere and I honestly couldn't find a better deal than this one. This laptop has been able to handle everything that I have thrown at it.
Pros:
-3rd gen intel processor.
-6 gigs of 1600mhz ddr3 ram.
-Extremely bright screen.
-(4) USB 3.0 ports.
-The fan is pretty much silent, even when doing video editing.
-Decent battery life ( I average about 4 hours)
-Nice design for the price.
Cons:
-This thing gets hot...like ridiculously hot. My only guess is that my fan is silent (mentioned above) because it isn't working correctly, and this is causing it to get extremely hot.
-No option for a back-lit keyboard ( I would have gladly paid more money for one).
-Speaking of keyboards, this isn't the best Dell keyboard. They keyboard lacks the feedback that I am used to with my Dell Inspiron 1545.
In all I am definitely satisfied with my purchase and I would recommend this product.
Pros:School, entertainment, light gaming
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 86 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

Many Issues

PostedDecember 16, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros - love the keyboard, layout.
Hate: Windows 8 - I wish I would have known I would have looked for a windows 7 or vista instead.
I had assistance with my laptop already and now find the DVD player won't open - when I go to the Cyberlink media player, I finally was able to open the dvd drawer. I inserted a dvd and the message I received was that there was no media in the DVD drive. I am ready to throw this machine in the garbage. To top it off Windows 8 does not function with my web based programs for my industry and my sole purpose for buying this machine was for work.
Very disappointed to say the least. This is my third dell purchase and the first one I am disgusted with.
Pros:work
Response from Dell.comBy JohnBforDellCustomer ReviewsDecember 17, 2012
Khf2012,

We are very sorry to hear about your issues with your Dell system, Use the information below to contact us. The team members below will get you taken care of.
Please reach out to our Dell Support Team at:

• Dell Community Forums – New to the Community:
http://dell.to/GY65Xz
• You can contact our Dell Cares Team on Twitter (@DellCares):
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ
• If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ
A Facebook account is not required to use this form. You will be asked to provide your Name, service tag, email address and a brief description of the issue.

Thank you. JGB
+10points
15of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 87 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

love my lap top

PostedDecember 15, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Computer froze up after having 3 weeks causing me to be unable to access internet.I had to back up in computer history 2 weeks erasing all usage history after that point.The computer has worked fine ever since.
Pros:internet, paying bills online, shopping online
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 88 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(WI)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Inspiron

PostedDecember 12, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
At first the laptop was a lot larger and bulkier than I expected. I did have a Dell before, but just imagined this one to be a little smaller and different. It did grow on me though. The only problem with the silver is that you can see every fingerprint and smudge which for me is frustrating so I am constantly trying to clean it. It still seems a little too bulky, more than I am used to although I tend to like my laptops a little thicker and not so unstable. The keyboard is good, just hard to get used to.
Pros:college, Travel
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 89 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(UK)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Cheap build with solid functionality

PostedDecember 12, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Bought this as a secondary working laptop as my Alienware M18x R2 is just too bulky to lug around.
Pros:
- One of the cheapest laptops with a proper 35W 3rd-Gen i5 CPU
- 4 USB 3.0 ports (2 left 2 right) allow great freedom in where to plug in your mouse and other USB devices
- Sufficient cooling results in almost no CPU throttling under load
- Easily accessible RAM and HDD allows hassle-free upgrades
Cons:
- Overall cheap build and feel: severe screen flexure when twisted, somewhat loosely installed optical drive, space bar unresponsive unless hit square in the centre
Conclusion: Great value for the price level. Solid specs and performance. Looks and feels like a plastic toy but functionality is highly satisfactory.
Pros:document/report writing, some programming
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 90 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

New laptop touch pad not working

PostedDecember 12, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I just received this laptop today and the touch pad doesn't work. After 2 hours call with the call center in India and several rounds of fixing the "new" laptop over phone they finally agreed to send me another laptop. I don't know how many stars to give as I have not used the laptop yet other than restarting it a couple of times. I hope I get a good working laptop as a replacement so that I can write a positive review about the laptop. Also wish Dell should do a thorough quality check before sending out laptops.
Response from Dell.comBy SaraTforDellCustomer ReviewsDecember 13, 2012
Hello Abhi33,

I am sorry that your system was not perfect out of the box. I know this can be frustrating. Since you have an exchange set up, I hope that the new system will prove to be a great one for you. If you have any questions on your exchange or need assistance with anything else, our support agents are available through many channels including the Dell Support Forums (
http://dell.to/NjitjY), Twitter: @DellCares (http://dell.to/Tgt5D7), and Dell’s Facebook Support Form (http://dell.to/OO2MDG).

-SaraT
+15points
16of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 91 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Tulsa, Ok.)
Title:

Inspiron 15R is great!

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Got this for my birthday in October, and i must say that it hasn't had a flaw yet. I love the 15.6" screen that it comes with, but I should have waited for Windows 8, but 7 is cool. The only problem that I have had with this computer is it will only last for about a day, then it's time to charge, but we do too!
Pros:Travel, advertising my buisness
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 92 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Colorado)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Unhappy

PostedDecember 10, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have owned this system for a month now and have been able to use it for a total of about 2 weeks. First had a hard drive failure, not it is going to depot repair for another unknown issue (most likely a memory problem. Hopefuly it will be returned without any problems so maybe I can finaly get rid of my old laptop.
Pros:Travel
Response from Dell.comBy AnthonyAforDellCustomer ReviewsDecember 12, 2012
Hey Thedero,

Thank you for your feedback. I apologize that you have not had a great experience with the Dell Inspiron 15R so far.

I sincerely hope that your system is returned and functioning correctly.

If you have any further technical concerns or questions, I encourage you to reach out to one of our Online Support Teams.

• Dell Community Forums – New to the Community:
http://dell.to/GY65Xz
• You can contact our Dell Cares Team on Twitter (@DellCares):
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ
• If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ
A Facebook account is not required to use this form. You will be asked to provide your Name, service tag, email address and a brief description of the issue.

Thank you for your feedback, and thanks for choosing Dell.
+8points
10of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 93 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Texas)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Decent laptop but could be better for the price

PostedDecember 10, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Things I loved:
1) The laptop is lighter than I expected and easy to pack for trips.
2) The battery weight is excellent
3) The laptop stays charged for a nice amount of time in case you are not around an outlet.
4) The casing is sturdy and the lids were easy to switch out.
Things that I didn't love so much:
1) Resolution settings are limited and quite frankly to large.
2) The graphics/resolution is horrid! My screen has a constant "glazed over" look and no amount of calibration has fixed that.
3) WiFi (which I think is related to Windows 8 more than hardware) goes into limited connectivity randomly during the day.
Things that are not Dell's fault:
1) Windows 8 is horrid in a non-touch screen environment. I work with servers so I know my way around OS styles pretty well and this one is just not built for "standard" computing.
Overall: For the price this laptop is completely underwhelming.
Pros:personal computing, generall day to day activity, wordpress blogging
Response from Dell.comBy DonaldDforDellCustomer ReviewsDecember 11, 2012
Hello FeliciaS,

Thank you for your insights and opinions on the Inspiron 15R (5520) and Windows 8. Glad to see you are generally pleased with the design. It is quite well built and ultra portable for the traveller. I wished you had included the resolutions you were able to reach so we could have an idea of what you deemed horrid and too big.

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback,
+10points
12of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 94 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Wasted my savings for this failure machine my god

PostedDecember 10, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
The first time I use this laptop I thought it would be very satisfying because it is Dell, the world renowned brand I guess I was disappointed by 90% on this laptop;
#The screen flashes after left idle
#The sound quality really disappointing where it have this wave like effect when I was watching movies
#The MOST disappointing thing is the WEBCAM! I tried many solutions including re-format the whole thing, still problem persist. The webcam stuck and give warning that there may be another program using my webcam besides SKYPE(which I use it everyday).
#After using for more than 5 - 7 hours, every program crash, internet crash, Skype crash, every plug-ins crashes and needed to be restarted again.
This problems happens ALL THE TIME. I didn't recommend this laptop to everyone. Dell should stop manufacture this model and focus on r&d for improving better quality products. No wonder Asus always stays no.1 in Malaysia.
Pros:web surfing, cad modelling, movies, software development, ip calls
Response from Dell.comBy GinaVforDellCustomer ReviewsDecember 11, 2012
Hello Sam,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Inspiron 15R 5520 laptop. We are sorry to hear that this product did not meet your expectations. . It sounds like you are having some very specific hardware concerns, which are not typical for this model.

I would highly advise that you reach out to our Online Support Teams. They have the same capabilities as our Phone Support, but through social media outlets. We recommend their services because of their success in resolving customer issues. Please reach out to them when you get a chance so that they can gather more details and look into this matter on your behalf.

• Online Support Teams Contact: Twitter - @DellCares (
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ); Dell Community Forum (http://dell.to/GY65Xz); Dell Facebook (http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ)

Again, thank you for your feedback and I hope we can turn this around for you and restore your faith in our products. Have a great day – Gina.
+4points
11of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 95 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Halifax, PA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Very Pleased.

PostedDecember 9, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
The new Dell 15R with Windows 8 and the new Intel processor is very quick & snappy. Can get a lot done in a very short time. Great laptop for business or personal use.
Pros:Travel, word processing, quickbooks
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 96 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

DISAPPOINTED WITH DELL SERVICE

PostedDecember 9, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I purchased dell laptop last week. I want partition of drives in laptop for this I used partition software but due to this my Windows 8 was corrupted.
So I demanded Windows 8 CD. first they said u will get CD in 2-3 Days but now they are saying 10-15 or 15-20 sometimes. So in between I installed Windows 7-32Bit starter form original CD but without product key. Now I have problem of drivers mainly of WIFI.So I want to give me drivers url of WIFI Drivers and I want Windows 8 CD asap. Please help me as I was very disappointed with Dell service.
Pros:internet, movies
+6points
9of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 97 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

Certified Inspiron 15R-5520

PostedDecember 8, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Very pleased with this recent purchase. Core I3 processor , large amount of hard drive storage. I got this as a Christmas gift for my wife. Her old laptop could no longer handle internet connections with any speed. The unit is fast and more than required. The gift was purchased at a reasonable price. My wife likes the keyboard. The touchpad is a little sensitive. I connected a wireless mouse. Software supplied is fine , I typically remove most of the unnecessary items to improve speed. McAfee anti-virus is not useful and was eliminated immediately.
Pros:internet e-mails
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 98 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Everything he ever wanted!

PostedDecember 8, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought this computer for my boyfriend after detroying his ole computer in a heated argument (total accident). This computer is absolutley everything he has ever wanted. I'm jealous its so fast and windows 8 looks so cool. I think he thinks his new computer is his new girlfriend he cant stop talking about it and showing it off haha. Thanks Dell, I havent seen him this happy in a long time!
Pros:Gaming, School, social media
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 99 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

Windows 8

PostedDecember 7, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Everything about this Dell is great I have never purchased a computer with everything on it that I use. I have always built my computers and this is a first, it won't be the last. No more plug and pray for me this is too easy.
Pros:work, home user for the fun of it!!!
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 100 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

Consider Another Model

PostedDecember 7, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros
Attractive appearance, physically well build computer.
Cons
Screen goes black then reappears. Slow in loading and changing screens. Overall operational performance poor. Consider getting another model computer over the Inspiron 15R.
Pros:general web surfing / ms programs
Response from Dell.comBy JohnBforDellCustomer ReviewsDecember 10, 2012
GeneralUser,

Sorry to hear that the 15R laptop isn't meeting expectations. Use the information below to contact us. The team members below will get you taken care of.
Please reach out to our Dell Support Team at:

• Dell Community Forums – New to the Community:
http://dell.to/GY65Xz
• You can contact our Dell Cares Team on Twitter (@DellCares):
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ
• If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ
A Facebook account is not required to use this form. You will be asked to provide your Name, service tag, email address and a brief description of the issue.

Thank you. JGB
+9points
14of 19voted this as helpful.
  1 ... 3 4 5 6 7 ... 11