Customer reviews for Inspiron 15R 5520

Inspiron 15R 5520

Inspiron 15R 5520
3.606 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 193 reviews
5 Stars
67
4 Stars
58
3 Stars
24
2 Stars
13
1 Star
31
3.6
 / 
5
(193 reviews) 185
137 out of 19371%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Inspiron 15R 5520
Review 81 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:RebeccaS
(Ohio)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Get Rid of Your Old Laptop and Buy a Dell Inspiron

PostedDecember 5, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I was pleasantly surprised to discover how fast the Dell Inspiron 5520 is. I would have given the laptop 5-stars, but I had to take into consideration Dell's customer service. I was told that I could call a phone number and have someone come out and transfer my data from my old laptop to my new Dell. Sadly, this didn't happen. I was given four different phone numbers and decided to transfer the data myself. Other than that, I'm satisfied with the Dell. Although, I wish the keyboard was a backlit keyboard.
Pros:freelance writing, writing, adobe photoshop, music
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 82 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Dellowner56

PostedDecember 5, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I received my Dell 15R a couple weeks ago. I love this computer. Windows 8 was a little different at first, but easy to learn. If you are thinking about this computer, don't hesitate, it is a great computer. This is my third computer from Dell. I have never had any problems with any of them. I would recommend this one to anyone looking for a fast portable computer. I have no regrets.
Pros:personal use
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 83 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:inspironmn
(minnesota)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

great laptop

PostedDecember 5, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Got this laptop because I'm going back to school and needed something more versatile. Love everything about it. The only trouble I had was getting used to windows 8 and that just took some time. Love that you can change out the covers too. Only problem is there aren't any really cool ones to go with this model. All the really interesting ones were for different laptops. This one really just had different solid colors available. Performance wise though, we are very happy with it.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 84 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MikeInOrlando
(Orlando, FL)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Inspiron 15R Laptop with Windows 8

PostedDecember 4, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I should have ordered the laptop with Windows 7. This was a gift for my wife and she can not stand Windows 8 and I can't blame her. Maybe for a system with a touch screen but I just don't like this new OS.
I now have been on hold over an hour trying to speak to someone so I can return this laptop but so far nothing. Thanks Dell for not taking my call though I have been a good customer for many years. You'll take my order with ease but returning something appears next to impossible.
Pros:home use
Response from Dell.comBy VikramNforDellCustomer ReviewsDecember 6, 2012
MikeInOrlando,

We apologize that your out of box experience with the Inspiron 15R was not perfect. We value your feedback and would like the opportunity to try and correct the issues. Do remember, we are listening and always on stand by to help you. Apart from regular phone support there are other ways to get in touch with us. I encourage you to reach out to one of our Online Support Teams because they can troubleshoot and identify the best solution for you.

• Dell Community Forums – New to the Community:
http://dell.to/GY65Xz
• You can contact our Dell Cares Team on Twitter (@DellCares):
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ
• If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ
A Facebook account is not required to use this form. You will be asked to provide your Name, service tag, email address and a brief description of the issue.

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience!
+19points
21of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 85 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:setti028
Title:

great laptop but 4major cons

PostedDecember 2, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
dell perfect for a middle class indian people
support+quality+design perfectly build by dell
every laptop have sm issues my lap is inspiron 5520 -
pros:-better performance,
4:15 min battery life,
comfortable keyboard and mouse,
4 usb slots,good sound,perfect for long time browsing(at low res battery performance can improve to 4:15hr to 4:50hr)
games(<300mb) work perfectly
comfortable for business and engineering students(for good merit students)
cons:-
1)boot:-fan make noise at booting time
2)gaming:-if u r playing >500games like euro truck simulator 2,nfs ms 2010,,, laptop getting heat
3)after 2.30hrs at fan making small noise u can hear in silient room
4)plastic design sry to say but it is budget friendly
5)i dont like screen compare with aoc 19led
6)im IT student what ever software problems in my laptop i can solve but is new laptop so i take help form technical support center but their are professional engineers they dont no how to solve small problems
1)i loss 135gb hard disk space(due to reinstalling os) but technical supporter says plz reinstall ur system or click in manage on my computer option we can see disk management but that 135gb memory change to oem partion their is no option to change oem to normol drive so cannot solve my problem sol:-i just download partion software from internet
overall laptop is good for soft users but gamers u can goto inspiron turbo and long time users u can go for ultrabooks
thanks dell
dear readers in india almost people 1st go for dell its like nokia mobile
if u want best build quality high performance better service go for dell
if u want better design worst service go for sony
if u want low weight better battery go for hp and lenovo
and for very very rich persons they almost select apple
90% i recommend this laptop
Pros:browsing, presentations, photo editing, reading, playing angrybird
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 86 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:newdog
(Houston)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Didn't see option for 750G hard drive

PostedDecember 1, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Bought for a my wife as a surprize. Set up was easy and can't wait to see what all it will do (just set up basics until Christmas morning). One concern was the 500G drive. Didn't see an option for the 750 when I was personalizing...just a week or so ago. Not sure how much trouble it would be or if worth the hassle to upgrade (already).
Pros:personal small business, connecting with kids, surfing
Response from Dell.comBy DonaldDforDellCustomer ReviewsDecember 4, 2012
Hello Newdog,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your wife's new Inspiron 15R (5520). She is going to be very excited I am sure! For the average user 500Gb should be plenty. If there are tons o'multi media files like many movies and 5 years of photos, you may need the 750Gb model. Most people will not exceed the need for 500.

Thank you for sharing,
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 87 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Doobomb
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

It's a very decent laptop

PostedDecember 1, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is a very decent laptop. I picked up one of these bad boys on Black Friday with high hopes. After all, this is my first laptop. I mainly got it for video editing and some occasional gaming on the side. Nothing serious though. The most demanding game I would play would be minecraft or LOL. The laptop is fast and it looks nice. The design is a bit ugly, but I guess it just matches my face. If you're a gamer, don't get this. It has integrated graphics, and the trackpad doesn't work when you're pressing keys. So if you're holding the "w"key to go forward you can not use the trackpad in conjunction to look around. It's very frustrating if you're trying to game on the go and don't have a mouse. And anyway, if you're that serious about gaming, pick up a lenovo or something.
Pros:Gaming, Video Editing
Response from Dell.comBy JohnBforDellCustomer ReviewsDecember 5, 2012
Doobomb,

Thanks for your review. Sorry to hear about your issues with this system. Use the information below to reach out to us.
Use the information below to contact us. The team members below will get you taken care of.
Please reach out to our Dell Support Team at:

• Dell Community Forums – New to the Community:
http://dell.to/GY65Xz
• You can contact our Dell Cares Team on Twitter (@DellCares):
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ
• If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ
A Facebook account is not required to use this form. You will be asked to provide your Name, service tag, email address and a brief description of the issue.

Thanks. JGB
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 88 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:greg1967
(New Jersey)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Excellent, very sturdy body, fast, loaded

PostedDecember 1, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I got it on Black Friday for under $500 ( 8G, 1T, i5 3210m).
This is a big improvement from previous model ( still Inspiron 15R ), this new model DOES NOT HAVE CHEAP PLASTICS where your palm rests. This new model is completely redesigned ( older model has inputs in back and feels hollow), has 4 X 3.0 USBs (!!!), does not get warm at all (the older did a little), frame around screen is solid ( does not bent), keyboard is still petty much the same (still excellent), touchpad works fine, mouse has dedicated left and right buttons that can barely be heard (this is probably the best mouse I have found).
Very bright screen and above average sound.
I actually rated the new Inspiron 15R higher than my Lenovo Z580 when it came to screen brightness, speakers, mouse, frame around the screen. I believe DELL noticed the bad quality of plastics on the previous model and when redesigned it in 2012 it made sure it built it solid.
This laptop continous to be a little heavier than most, on battery I get 3 hours in high performance which is actually very good, still has the speakers on the bottom ( you do get more bass this way - very good sound), plays fine on TV via HDMI with lid open or closed, and you can still change lid covers if you like . Even at tha part of the laptop where you remove the cover I was not able to notice any squeaks or plastic movement. I honestly cannot find anything wrong with this laptop. Thank you DELL.
Pros:internet, personal use
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 89 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JS1297
(Geneva, Switzerland)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Several problems with new Dell

PostedDecember 1, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
The laptop was delivered in early Oct 2012. After a few days, the keyboard was not working. It was changed quickly. Again, after a day, the keyboard was not working once again. It was changed again and the motherboard was also replaced. A few days later, the built-in touchpad stopped working! It was changed by Dell. Now the laptop seems to be working fine (I have not discovered any other problems so far, but who knows). Disappointed with this particular laptop, though I have bought several products from Dell in the past, without any problems. I would give Dell another chance for my next laptop (which I intend to buy before Christmas, if there are good deals).
Pros:home use
Response from Dell.comBy DonaldDforDellCustomer ReviewsDecember 4, 2012
Hello JS1297,

Thank you for taking time to provide your experiences with your new Inspiron 15R (5520). I am sorry to hear you had issues with it. Electronic devices do have issues from time to time. This is why we have such quick response time for service and offer extended service contracts. I am glad this experience will not keep you from trying another Dell soon.

Thank you again for sharing,
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 90 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JohnDH
(Hawaii)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Clunky Navigating

PostedNovember 30, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
The touch pad is clunky and very unresponsive unless hit very hard. This making using it clumsy. There is no scroll function on touch pad which requires you to always go to right side bar to slide page up and down. Although sometimes using the up-down keys work, but not always. And don't make mistake I did and order it with Windows 8. What a terrible, unintuitive operating system. Stick with Windows 7. 8 work okay with touchscreen, but it's terrible with mouse or touch pad. If I had to do all over, I would have stuck with an HP that I've always had before.
Response from Dell.comBy AnthonyAforDellCustomer ReviewsDecember 3, 2012
Hey JohnDH,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with the Dell Inspiron 15R 5520.

Indeed, Windows 8 is designed for the use of touchscreen and we understand that it can be a difficult transition to a new operating system. Our Online Support Teams have setup some great tutorials on operating Windows 8. I encourage you to view them here:
dell.to/YHE7GH

I am sorry to hear that you found your touchpad clunky and unresponsive, but this is not typical behavior. I recommend that you reach out to one of our Online Support Teams so that we may further investigate, and find a best solution for you.

I hope you find this information helpful and we can improve your experience.

Again, thank you for your feedback and thanks for choosing Dell.
+10points
12of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 91 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Leavitt1982
(St Stephen N.B)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

#1 Computer

PostedNovember 29, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Well I don't really know what to say because I'm not really knowledgeable with computers, but I do know out of all the computers I have used this one is the best, the only thing I would change is the size of the hard drive, I would make it 1TB instead of 500GB but that is just the matter of an upgrade so really I love this computer.
Pros:watching movies, playing on the net
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 92 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:lifeis42
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Title:

Overall, a good buy

PostedNovember 29, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I recently bought the Inspiron 15R with 6 gb memory, 500 gb hard drive, and i3 3rd generation core processor. It came with Windows 8, which is kinda funky, obviously designed for a touch screen, and way different from windows 7, but it's also kinda cool. The laptop has well suited my needs. It's fast enough for i3, and can support the millions of tabs I have open at any given time. It doesn't get too hot, isn't too heavy, and has a pretty good battery life. Overall, I'm pleased with the purchase!
Pros:homework, Gaming, streaming video
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 93 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Dom1da
(London,UK)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Fantastic Laptop

PostedNovember 29, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is a fantastic Laptop
best I have had I stick with Dell after my last laptop lasted and is still running after 6 years
I like Dell's because of reliability and flexibility the inspiron 15R is great thank you Dell
Pros:Gaming, e-mail and sufing the web, skyping
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 94 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:SOURABHZUNKE
(nagpur)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

15r wifi not good, slow working

PostedNovember 28, 2012
User submitted photo
Yes, I would recommend this product
very good at sound and has good video quality.
gaming is also good and battery is satisfying.
What I didn't liked about this is the wifi reception is not good.I live in hostel my friends download all stuff available online at 10 times the download speed on my laptop, the wifi also looses signal frequently, real shame also most of the times laptop hangs or responds very slowly. now I think if only I could exchange it for 15r turbo.
Pros:Gaming, streaming video, wifi download movies, autocad c++ python, media files
Response from Dell.comBy VikramNforDellCustomer ReviewsNovember 30, 2012
SOURABHZUNKE,

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with the Inspiron 15R!

We value your feedback and will use it to improve our products and services in the future. I encourage you to reach out to one of our Online Support Teams because they can troubleshoot and identify the best solution for you.
• Dell Community Forums – New to the Community:
http://dell.to/GY65Xz
• You can contact our Dell Cares Team on Twitter (@DellCares):
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ
• If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ
A Facebook account is not required to use this form. You will be asked to provide your Name, service tag, email address and a brief description of the issue.

Thanks again!
+7points
10of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 95 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Senise
Title:

Love my Dell

PostedNovember 27, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Love the graphics capabilities and the speed at which this system converts streamed mp3 and 4 to HD. For a laptop, the Inspiron 5520 with Windows 7, gives me more than enough speed and power to perform the conversions without glitches.
I'm also learning a new graphics program Adobe Painter12 and have had no problem at all with hangups due to an overloaded clipboard, which can be a real problem when working with large files and loading up the clipboard.
The audio on this system is also exceptional, and allows for quick and easy manipulation of audio files.
All in all I have yet to find any cons to this system.
Pros:graphics design, Gaming, vedio and audio conversion
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 96 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:EhsanOnyx
Title:

LCD is extremely week

PostedNovember 27, 2012
User submitted photo
No, I do not recommend this product.
I am a real Dell FAN, using DELL LapTops since almost 5 years, My first Dell was Vostro 1500, then Inspiron 5110 and third one I bought previous month is Inspiron 5520. But this 5520 LCD is extremely week, its dead on 35th Day of purchase I lost my $775, I bought a brand new from an Authorized dealer and when I asked for warranty they redirected me to a service center where they are demanding to pay $140 + 7 days time for LCD replacement. Pretty disappointed
Pros:application development
Response from Dell.comBy SilangchiSforDellCustomer ReviewsNovember 30, 2012
Hi EhsanOnyx,

Sorry about the issue with your machine, however appreciate for being our honest Dell customer .

I understand that your system LCD is dead but the system which is purchased for the distributor will probably have their own warranty . Here is the link for the distributor that you may want to check -
http://dell.to/lZiGFd

And if you need further assistance , we will be able to check and see if we can do anything to help you . You can reach out to our Dell support in Twitter @DellCares -
http://bitly.com/P5W1OT or Facebook - http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ



I hope that helps. Thank you for choosing Dell !
+13points
15of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 97 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:TravisRobinson24
(Grand Rapids, Michigan)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

So Much Power for the Price

PostedNovember 27, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I got this computer as a graduation gift this summer before heading off to college. It shipped with Windows 7 and I downloaded Windows 8 on the release date--the computer is very snappy with either OS (I HIGHLY recommend updating all your divers if you get 8). I should also mention that I opted for the 1TB hard drive and 8GB of RAM.
Honestly, I think I was a little overzealous when settling on this computer in terms of power. I use my computer to browse the web, stream HD video, video chat in HD, create and edit documents, and edit photographs included Adobe software. This PC does all of these things without so much as a choke. The battery life is also satisfactory (more so running 8 than 7).
I do find this PC a little bulky to carry in a backpack along with some of my heaver science textbooks. However, I don't travel with my computer all that much. The speakers what you'd expect for a laptop. I recommend getting external ones if you want to use it for music. I also don't know about how this computer stacks up for gaming.
Overall, I would say that I'm a slightly above average computer user in terms of power-hunger (probably typical among the college crowd) and am yet to drive this computer to its limit with the work load I demand from it.
Pros:steaming video, web surfing, video chat, photography
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 98 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:sibsen
(Montana)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Hate it!

PostedNovember 26, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Not worth the $800 I spent! It is terribly slow & always has one thing wrong with it or another. Very disappointed and would not recommend a dell to anyone.
Pros:work, music streaming, video streaming
Response from Dell.comBy SaraTforDellCustomer ReviewsNovember 28, 2012
Hello sibsen,

I am so sorry to hear that this system is having issues for you. If you haven't already done so, I recommend you reach out to our technical support team. We have a variety of ways to contact our technical support for your convenience including the Dell Tech Support Forums (
http://dell.to/NjitjY), Twitter: @DellCares (http://dell.to/Tgt5D7), and Dell’s Facebook Support Form (http://dell.to/OO2MDG). They may be able to help.

-SaraT
+12points
16of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 99 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:macmegdad
(Kansas)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

8 GB

PostedNovember 25, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Slow for 8gb. Lots of problems compared to all my HP's.
Pros:business home
Response from Dell.comBy SaraTforDellCustomer ReviewsNovember 27, 2012
Hello macmegdad,

I am sorry to hear that this system did not meet your expectations. Speed of your system will vary depending on all your internal components and what you are using it for. If you continue to have concerns about your speed, you can reach out to our Dell Community Forums
http://dell.to/NjitjY. Here we have technicians and other customers that may have tips or be able to assist further.

-SaraT
+7points
10of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 100 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ROCKY007
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Inspiron 15R Good Everyday Lappy!

PostedNovember 24, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Wanted to purchase something in budget to replace my 4 year old Laptop.Had purchase this laptop for myself after searching in the market, My First Dell Laptop! Wanted something fast, reliable and in budget compatible with latest technology. Here I found Dell Inspiron 15R which is great quick laptop on the go for entertainment, movies,music and more. Pictures in HD and sound quality are truly amazing compare to my old laptop. Would recommend to anyone who is not techsevvy and need something for everyday use. Though would like to mention that there's a issue with the wireless network connectivity if I will go bit far from router then its drops while my old laptop still can maintain good connectivity at the same distance!!
Albeit its not good for travel cause of its weight its really good sturdy for home to replace any desktop or old laptop!
So far happy with the Purchase!
Pros:home everyday use, entertainment
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
  1 ... 3 4 5 6 7 ... 10