Customer reviews for Inspiron 15R 5520

Inspiron 15R 5520

Inspiron 15R 5520
3.63 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 254 reviews
5 Stars
90
4 Stars
76
3 Stars
32
2 Stars
16
1 Star
40
3.6
 / 
5
(254 reviews) 246
182 out of 25472%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Inspiron 15R 5520
Review 81 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Northern Ireland)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

A bit disappointed and annoyed

PostedFebruary 16, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Don't get me wrong, I purchased my inspiron 15R just 17 months ago and within the first week it had to be returned to the shop as it would not boot up for me. It was send off and I got it back 10 days later with a new motherboard fitted. 16 months down the line, the laptop again would not boot up and on inspection I was informed that yet again the motherboard would need replacing and as the cost would be more than the laptop cost, I would have my original purchase price refunded which I hope to receive anyday now. It still has costs me further as I have paid the usual price of Home Office and security software to be added to the laptop. I am now in the market again for another new laptop and although I still have my heart on another 15R model, I am hesitating in the event that this model might let me down again. I also bought the same model for my daughter and so far so good (using it now as a gap model)
Pros:great little laptop (when working), looks good, great onscreen picture
Cons:needs to be fitted with i15 for good performance
Response from Dell.comBy AnthonyAforDellCustomer ReviewsFebruary 22, 2013
Hey Irish877,

I am sorry to hear that your Dell Inspiron 15R has been experiencing some hardware difficulties. Unfortunately, hardware failures are possible and unpredictable. It is always recommended that you purchase additional hardware warranty.

You can learn more about Dell's warrant options here: dell.to/YIwSL1

Also, a great resource for technical support is our Online Support Teams. Feel free to reach out to us here:

• Dell Community Forums – New to the Community:
http://dell.to/GY65Xz
• You can contact our Dell Cares Team on Twitter (@DellCares):
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ
• If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ
A Facebook account is not required to use this form. You will be asked to provide your Name, service tag, email address and a brief description of the issue.

Thank you for choosing Dell.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 82 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Navarre, OH, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Great Laotop

PostedFebruary 14, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I love this laptop. The only thing I don't like is the way you have to go to a few different sites to get all the update downloads you need for it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 83 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Neola, IA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

Inspiron 15R

PostedFebruary 10, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I am very happy with my recent purchase of the Inspiron 15R. Windows 8 has been a "peach" to learn. Not crazy about it but, change is never without it's challenges.
I have not had any problems with the laptop as of yet and would recommend it to others. Thumbs up.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 84 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

this laptop is nice

PostedFebruary 10, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
like owning a combination tablet/computer. nice features and very easy to operate once you read the manual. i would recommend this as a nice way to combine the benefit of a tablet and computer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 85 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Northern Virginia)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

15R 5520

PostedJanuary 30, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have enjoyed this Dell. It is efficient and very stable. I would not recommend switching to Windows 8 but that is just my preference especially since I bought this Dell and the next month everything was offered with touchscreens. It has a very wide wrist area, typically I like very small computers because I am petite. However, this has amazing storage capacity and a great processor which is what I was looking for. Besides the issues with Window 8 I have had no issues with the computer.
Pros:work - military, school - phd program, personal
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 86 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(denver)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

slow

PostedJanuary 30, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
I got a great deal on this computer- the computer itself is so slow. When it turns on it gives me a black screen for a while. My hard drive crashed only after having it for 2 months. It was barely used. When other people are on their computer in my home it is slow and the internet will not connect
Pros:School, homework, Travel
Response from Dell.comBy JohnBforDellCustomer ReviewsMarch 11, 2013
Teenager,

Sorry to hear about the issues with your Inspiron 15R. Use the information below to contact us. The team members below will get you taken care of.
Please reach out to our Dell Support Team at:

• Dell Community Forums – New to the Community:
http://dell.to/GY65Xz
• You can contact our Dell Cares Team on Twitter (@DellCares):
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ
• If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ
A Facebook account is not required to use this form. You will be asked to provide your Name, service tag, email address and a brief description of the issue.

Thank you. JGB
-3points
3of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 87 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Henderson, NV)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Great Laptop for Budget Price

PostedJanuary 30, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
-i7 Processor
-8GB RAM
-1TB HD
Pros
1. I can play Skyrim on it in medium settings but with 4 samples on each and high shadows. It doesn't lag unless I have something else running significantly in the background. It gets warm but not unbearable. I play for 3 hours maximum and let it rest for half an hour then continue playing if it strikes me. Though, a mouse is a must. It can't be played with the touchpad. The mouse is better for gaming, anyway.
2. Very fast. Booting up from a shut down takes seconds and coming back from sleep is even faster. Windows updates are also quick.
3. Wifi is great and only disconnected once in the beginning. I chose a different port and it hasn't disconnected since. Meanwhile, my mom who uses a Macbook is complaining that her internet is slow. But it couldn't be because of our ISP or router because mine is working just fine. Downloads 30mbps.
4. Drawing in A4 size and 350dpi resolution is effortless. I can even record my drawing without lagging.
5. Liking the simple design of Windows 8. The lines are crisp and the lock screen is neat.
6. Got this for a bargained price. I'm very happy.
7. Shipping was ultra fast. I ordered during midnight of January 16 and received it at noon of January 17. I live in Henderson, NV.
Cons
1. Windows 8 start screen. I much preferred the start menu. But this is an easy fix. Just download ViStart or Start8 or etc. I use Start8 and it even matches the design of Windows 8.
2. I couldn't work the HDMI. Just a blank screen. Called Dell and troubleshooted for 2 hours. Updated the drivers and checked BIOS. A technician was even sent to my house to replace the motherboard for trial and error. It didn't help - a reason to believe it might be a software problem. Maybe a Windows 8 bug.
3. I use a Wacom Intuos 4 tablet to draw. Had to troubleshoot for 30 minutes to remove annoying ripple effects and such. But this has little to do with the laptop itself. Just Wacom compatibility with Windows 8.
Thanks Dell. I don't understand how anyone can hate you. People should know when to blame the PC's operator and not the computer.
Pros:light gaming, Video Editing, drawing, School
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 88 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

hard drive crash

PostedJanuary 27, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Have owned Dells for the past 10yrs with good performance in the past. However, I purchased my new laptop 11/2012 and today 2months later the hard drive has crashed. I am in my final year of nursing school and now have lost ALL my work in this last semester. The ONLY pro I see in this horrible situation is that the service appears to be efficient.
Pros:School
Response from Dell.comBy SaraTforDellCustomer ReviewsMarch 21, 2013
Hello stressedtothemax,

I am terribly sorry to hear that you encountered issues with your system. I know especially while in school, this can be stressful. I hope that our support team was able to get you completely taken care of and back up and running as your were. Good luck in your studies and please let us know if you have any other questions or concerns.

-SaraT
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 89 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Great,but not enough disk space

PostedJanuary 27, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is a wonderful laptop. I can run programs on this laptop that I couldn't on others. The only problem is that it comes with all of these programs that are supposed to give you more space, when they take up more space. On my old laptop I'm able to create backup files and save them to the computer for later use on this one I can not.
Pros:games, creating and recording videos, projects
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 90 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

great computer

PostedJanuary 25, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is truly a amazing computer,this thing is a beast! I'm very happy with the i7,it handles all my astronomy programs with ease. Dell thank you for making me a fine computer!
Pros:astronomy, surfing the web, netflix
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 91 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Mamou, La.)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Good Computer

PostedJanuary 24, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is an upgrade to my Inspiron 1500 w/Vista. My 1500 although it still runs well, I knew it was time for an upgrade. I ordered this computer. It's fast, I have a total reboot time of roughly 15 seconds, compared to about 2 minutes with the 1500. This is a very good computer with plenty of storage space (1Tb), 8 gig's of memory with a 2.2 Mhz. Core i7 Intel.
Pros:
Everything
Cons:
None
Pros:home
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 92 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Is not what i was expecting of a Dell product.

PostedJanuary 22, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Inspiron 15R is not really what I was expecting for a Dell product. Some keyboard s seems to get stuck when you use them a lot, the space bar also get stuck and keep "making spaces" by itself... It's almost new and now the computer is slow and gets hot in a couple of hours of being using it. My work is in the computer so I can't be turning of and making brakes every couple of hours. And Windows 8 is a nightmare.
Pros:work
Response from Dell.comBy SaraTforDellCustomer ReviewsMarch 18, 2013
Hello MelO77,

I am sorry that this system has not lived up to your expectations. If you are experiencing system heat, check out this link for some tips to reduce heat:
http://dell.to/RPNbpV.

I know Windows 8 is a big change. If you want, you might want to check out the Support information that we have on Windows 8 for more information. You can find helpful videos (
http://dell.to/PSe0Kw), tutorials (http://dell.to/10Sd6Qk) and even a "Free Windows 8 for Dummies E-Book" that you can download to help you with the new User Experience with Windows 8. This way, your transition to the new Windows operating system can be as seamless as possible.

If you have stuck key, I recommend reaching out to our technical support team. They will be able to troubleshoot with you and determine the root cause and the best resolution. You can reach them in a variety of ways, including online through:
• Dell Community Forums:
http://dell.to/pwws14
• Twitter (@DellCares):
http://dell.to/Tgt5D7
• Facebook Support Form:
http://dell.to/VFvcjv

Hope this can help.

-Sara
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 93 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

Dream Machine

PostedJanuary 21, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought this ultimate Intel Core I5 Inspiron 15r 5520 lappywith 6 Gb Ram & 1Tb HDD.
Its boots in seconds & gives me battery backup of nearly 3 hours.
I am a Dell Addict.
Pros:stocks trading, surfing, remote monitoring
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 94 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

Dell 15R

PostedJanuary 17, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this laptop (Dell 15R) with a great spec and after always having Dell's had high expectations. The good points are dell service, and hardware pretty good. The touchpad on the 15R is ok unless you rest on the front of the laptop with your hand, which seems to bend the touchpad and it locks up.So unusually flimsy. This laptop in the US is available with a touchscreen for windows 8. If the UK version had it I would not have returned mine. I found windows 8 to be far too much work on this laptop. i ended up arriving at different screens/apps etc by swiping too quickly or in the wrong direction. Even after completely understanding the tutorials and matering windows 8 commands, you end up resorting to windows 3.1 keystrokes to close windows or indeed print. I returned it until it comes with a touchscreen when I will buy one.
Response from Dell.comBy SaraTforDellCustomer ReviewsJanuary 21, 2013
Hello Rich400,

Thank you for submitting your feedback. I can definitely understand how Windows 8 can be a little easier to use with a touch screen. As it turns out, the 15R 5520 is not currently available with a touchscreen in the US or UK. I believe you might have been looking at the new Inspiron 15z Ultrabook (5523). There are touch and non-touch options available on this system in both the US and UK. Feel free to check it out here:
http://dell.to/WmhvqV.

I hope this helps. -SaraT
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 95 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

15R I5

PostedJanuary 17, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
i must have received a defective unit. only had for a week and have been unable to use it do to the fact it wont connect to internet wirelessly. been on phone as well as have technical support take over computer. very frustrating. my old 1501 runs circles around this thing. have iniated a return. 15R not a good buy.
Pros:storage for itunes, browsing
Response from Dell.comBy JohnBforDellCustomer ReviewsJanuary 18, 2013
Fliz,

Very sorry to hear about your issues with the Inspiron 15R. Give us a chance to help you out. Use the information below to contact us. The team members below will get you taken care of.
Please reach out to our Dell Support Team at:

• Dell Community Forums – New to the Community:
http://dell.to/GY65Xz
• You can contact our Dell Cares Team on Twitter (@DellCares):
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ
• If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ
A Facebook account is not required to use this form. You will be asked to provide your Name, service tag, email address and a brief description of the issue.

Thank you. JGB
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 96 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(India)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Sensational Device

PostedJanuary 16, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros
the new windows 8 starts up in like 10 seconds. Fantastic design. Excellent for medium level gamers.
Cons
the bluetooth driver seems to be having some problems but otherwise nothing much.
Review
Sensational computer with great value. never fails to disapoint
Pros:studies, Gaming
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 97 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Estonia/Norway)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Connecting laptop wireless to LED TV

PostedJanuary 15, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Intel® Core™ i7-3632QM
Windows 8, 64-bit, English
8GB2 Dual Channel DDR3 SDRAM at 1600MHz
1TB 5400 RPM SATA Hard Drive
Intel® HD Graphics 4000
I bought this supreme laptop mostly for its capability of connecting laptop and tv wireless using WiDi.
I didnt have these programs preinstalled on my laptop, but after a few hours of hassle and reading on forums, I managed to download and install all the drivers needed.
I still dont have the tv-receiver, but it seems all programs on laptop are working and its safe to buy it.
Plus side:
Very good display
No heat what so ever
Good webcam
Good keyboard
Win8
WiDi capable
Very good value for money, great specs
Minus side:
Maybe little too bulcky, sharp edges, MISSING BACKLIT KEYBOARD OPTION!
Overall I really like this computer, very happy!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 98 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Ireland)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Touchpad soooo annyoying

PostedJanuary 15, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is my second dell but not impressed with it at all, firstly the hard drive broke after 6 months and although dell replaced it very quickly they refused to let me keep it so I had to pay someone to recover the information on it anyway! but the main problem I find is the keyboard, even typing this it will constantly jump lines, go back to previous typing, I think its to do with the touch pad being so sensitive so that if you slightly touch it it moves the curser, so annoying, in fact I give up using it and use my google tablet more than anything now. Also the sound and picture quality on this is rubbish. Do not buy it if you want to to lots of typing or watch stuff, its terrible. (typing this the curser has jumped five times)
Pros:work
Response from Dell.comBy DonaldDforDellCustomer ReviewsJanuary 16, 2013
Hello Emnov74,

I am sorry to hear you are having issues. There is a simple cure. Open the Dell Touchpad control center. Here you can adjust the sensitivity to your liking. Our customers were saying the touchpad was not sensitive enough, so we turn it up before shipping. If you need help with doing this, contact our support department, or checkout the tech forums. They have already been talking about this.

For Tech Support Virtual Agent, Chat, Phone, Email:-

http://dell.to/nKRY0q

Social Support Team Contact:-
Twitter - @DellCares (
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ)
Dell Community Forum (
http://dell.to/GY65Xz)
Dell Facebook (
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ)

You could also try our Tech Forums at:
http://en.community.dell.com/

Hope that helps!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 99 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(india)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

best

PostedJanuary 14, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
best product
Pros:personal
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 100 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(MA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Best Value for Money

PostedJanuary 11, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros
1. Good Value for Money
2. Good processer speed, Ram & Disk space
3. Good screen size
4. Recommend for Home use
Cons
1. Bit heavier
Pros:education, video conference, mails social networking
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
  1 ... 3 4 5 6 7 ... 13