Customer reviews for Inspiron 15R 5520

Inspiron 15R 5520

Inspiron 15R 5520
3.709 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 430 reviews
5 Stars
146
4 Stars
145
3 Stars
60
2 Stars
26
1 Star
53
3.7
 / 
5
(430 reviews) 263
192 out of 26971%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Inspiron 15R 5520
Review 21 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

Many Issues

PostedDecember 16, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros - love the keyboard, layout.
Hate: Windows 8 - I wish I would have known I would have looked for a windows 7 or vista instead.
I had assistance with my laptop already and now find the DVD player won't open - when I go to the Cyberlink media player, I finally was able to open the dvd drawer. I inserted a dvd and the message I received was that there was no media in the DVD drive. I am ready to throw this machine in the garbage. To top it off Windows 8 does not function with my web based programs for my industry and my sole purpose for buying this machine was for work.
Very disappointed to say the least. This is my third dell purchase and the first one I am disgusted with.
Pros:work
Response from Dell.comBy JohnBforDellCustomer ReviewsDecember 17, 2012
Khf2012,

We are very sorry to hear about your issues with your Dell system, Use the information below to contact us. The team members below will get you taken care of.
Please reach out to our Dell Support Team at:

• Dell Community Forums – New to the Community:
http://dell.to/GY65Xz
• You can contact our Dell Cares Team on Twitter (@DellCares):
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ
• If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ
A Facebook account is not required to use this form. You will be asked to provide your Name, service tag, email address and a brief description of the issue.

Thank you. JGB
+10points
15of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

New laptop touch pad not working

PostedDecember 12, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I just received this laptop today and the touch pad doesn't work. After 2 hours call with the call center in India and several rounds of fixing the "new" laptop over phone they finally agreed to send me another laptop. I don't know how many stars to give as I have not used the laptop yet other than restarting it a couple of times. I hope I get a good working laptop as a replacement so that I can write a positive review about the laptop. Also wish Dell should do a thorough quality check before sending out laptops.
Response from Dell.comBy SaraTforDellCustomer ReviewsDecember 13, 2012
Hello Abhi33,

I am sorry that your system was not perfect out of the box. I know this can be frustrating. Since you have an exchange set up, I hope that the new system will prove to be a great one for you. If you have any questions on your exchange or need assistance with anything else, our support agents are available through many channels including the Dell Support Forums (
http://dell.to/NjitjY), Twitter: @DellCares (http://dell.to/Tgt5D7), and Dell’s Facebook Support Form (http://dell.to/OO2MDG).

-SaraT
+15points
16of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Colorado)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Unhappy

PostedDecember 10, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have owned this system for a month now and have been able to use it for a total of about 2 weeks. First had a hard drive failure, not it is going to depot repair for another unknown issue (most likely a memory problem. Hopefuly it will be returned without any problems so maybe I can finaly get rid of my old laptop.
Pros:Travel
Response from Dell.comBy AnthonyAforDellCustomer ReviewsDecember 12, 2012
Hey Thedero,

Thank you for your feedback. I apologize that you have not had a great experience with the Dell Inspiron 15R so far.

I sincerely hope that your system is returned and functioning correctly.

If you have any further technical concerns or questions, I encourage you to reach out to one of our Online Support Teams.

• Dell Community Forums – New to the Community:
http://dell.to/GY65Xz
• You can contact our Dell Cares Team on Twitter (@DellCares):
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ
• If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ
A Facebook account is not required to use this form. You will be asked to provide your Name, service tag, email address and a brief description of the issue.

Thank you for your feedback, and thanks for choosing Dell.
+8points
10of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Wasted my savings for this failure machine my god

PostedDecember 10, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
The first time I use this laptop I thought it would be very satisfying because it is Dell, the world renowned brand I guess I was disappointed by 90% on this laptop;
#The screen flashes after left idle
#The sound quality really disappointing where it have this wave like effect when I was watching movies
#The MOST disappointing thing is the WEBCAM! I tried many solutions including re-format the whole thing, still problem persist. The webcam stuck and give warning that there may be another program using my webcam besides SKYPE(which I use it everyday).
#After using for more than 5 - 7 hours, every program crash, internet crash, Skype crash, every plug-ins crashes and needed to be restarted again.
This problems happens ALL THE TIME. I didn't recommend this laptop to everyone. Dell should stop manufacture this model and focus on r&d for improving better quality products. No wonder Asus always stays no.1 in Malaysia.
Pros:web surfing, cad modelling, movies, software development, ip calls
Response from Dell.comBy GinaVforDellCustomer ReviewsDecember 11, 2012
Hello Sam,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Inspiron 15R 5520 laptop. We are sorry to hear that this product did not meet your expectations. . It sounds like you are having some very specific hardware concerns, which are not typical for this model.

I would highly advise that you reach out to our Online Support Teams. They have the same capabilities as our Phone Support, but through social media outlets. We recommend their services because of their success in resolving customer issues. Please reach out to them when you get a chance so that they can gather more details and look into this matter on your behalf.

• Online Support Teams Contact: Twitter - @DellCares (
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ); Dell Community Forum (http://dell.to/GY65Xz); Dell Facebook (http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ)

Again, thank you for your feedback and I hope we can turn this around for you and restore your faith in our products. Have a great day – Gina.
+4points
11of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

Consider Another Model

PostedDecember 7, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros
Attractive appearance, physically well build computer.
Cons
Screen goes black then reappears. Slow in loading and changing screens. Overall operational performance poor. Consider getting another model computer over the Inspiron 15R.
Pros:general web surfing / ms programs
Response from Dell.comBy JohnBforDellCustomer ReviewsDecember 10, 2012
GeneralUser,

Sorry to hear that the 15R laptop isn't meeting expectations. Use the information below to contact us. The team members below will get you taken care of.
Please reach out to our Dell Support Team at:

• Dell Community Forums – New to the Community:
http://dell.to/GY65Xz
• You can contact our Dell Cares Team on Twitter (@DellCares):
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ
• If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ
A Facebook account is not required to use this form. You will be asked to provide your Name, service tag, email address and a brief description of the issue.

Thank you. JGB
+9points
14of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Orlando, FL)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Inspiron 15R Laptop with Windows 8

PostedDecember 4, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I should have ordered the laptop with Windows 7. This was a gift for my wife and she can not stand Windows 8 and I can't blame her. Maybe for a system with a touch screen but I just don't like this new OS.
I now have been on hold over an hour trying to speak to someone so I can return this laptop but so far nothing. Thanks Dell for not taking my call though I have been a good customer for many years. You'll take my order with ease but returning something appears next to impossible.
Pros:home use
Response from Dell.comBy VikramNforDellCustomer ReviewsDecember 6, 2012
MikeInOrlando,

We apologize that your out of box experience with the Inspiron 15R was not perfect. We value your feedback and would like the opportunity to try and correct the issues. Do remember, we are listening and always on stand by to help you. Apart from regular phone support there are other ways to get in touch with us. I encourage you to reach out to one of our Online Support Teams because they can troubleshoot and identify the best solution for you.

• Dell Community Forums – New to the Community:
http://dell.to/GY65Xz
• You can contact our Dell Cares Team on Twitter (@DellCares):
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ
• If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ
A Facebook account is not required to use this form. You will be asked to provide your Name, service tag, email address and a brief description of the issue.

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience!
+19points
21of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Hawaii)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Clunky Navigating

PostedNovember 30, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
The touch pad is clunky and very unresponsive unless hit very hard. This making using it clumsy. There is no scroll function on touch pad which requires you to always go to right side bar to slide page up and down. Although sometimes using the up-down keys work, but not always. And don't make mistake I did and order it with Windows 8. What a terrible, unintuitive operating system. Stick with Windows 7. 8 work okay with touchscreen, but it's terrible with mouse or touch pad. If I had to do all over, I would have stuck with an HP that I've always had before.
Response from Dell.comBy AnthonyAforDellCustomer ReviewsDecember 3, 2012
Hey JohnDH,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with the Dell Inspiron 15R 5520.

Indeed, Windows 8 is designed for the use of touchscreen and we understand that it can be a difficult transition to a new operating system. Our Online Support Teams have setup some great tutorials on operating Windows 8. I encourage you to view them here:
dell.to/YHE7GH

I am sorry to hear that you found your touchpad clunky and unresponsive, but this is not typical behavior. I recommend that you reach out to one of our Online Support Teams so that we may further investigate, and find a best solution for you.

I hope you find this information helpful and we can improve your experience.

Again, thank you for your feedback and thanks for choosing Dell.
+10points
12of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Montana)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Hate it!

PostedNovember 26, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Not worth the $800 I spent! It is terribly slow & always has one thing wrong with it or another. Very disappointed and would not recommend a dell to anyone.
Pros:work, music streaming, video streaming
Response from Dell.comBy SaraTforDellCustomer ReviewsNovember 28, 2012
Hello sibsen,

I am so sorry to hear that this system is having issues for you. If you haven't already done so, I recommend you reach out to our technical support team. We have a variety of ways to contact our technical support for your convenience including the Dell Tech Support Forums (
http://dell.to/NjitjY), Twitter: @DellCares (http://dell.to/Tgt5D7), and Dell’s Facebook Support Form (http://dell.to/OO2MDG). They may be able to help.

-SaraT
+12points
16of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Kansas)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

8 GB

PostedNovember 25, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Slow for 8gb. Lots of problems compared to all my HP's.
Pros:business home
Response from Dell.comBy SaraTforDellCustomer ReviewsNovember 27, 2012
Hello macmegdad,

I am sorry to hear that this system did not meet your expectations. Speed of your system will vary depending on all your internal components and what you are using it for. If you continue to have concerns about your speed, you can reach out to our Dell Community Forums
http://dell.to/NjitjY. Here we have technicians and other customers that may have tips or be able to assist further.

-SaraT
+7points
10of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(chennai-India)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

problem with display

PostedNovember 23, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have got my New Inspiron 15R with i5,6GB RAM.
I am feeling good with the performance.
But I am greatly disappointed with the display.
I see white spot for about 3mm dia in the display.
Pros:home user
Response from Dell.comBy SilangchiSforDellCustomer ReviewsNovember 25, 2012
Hi Yasimo,

Sorry to hear about the issue with your laptop display .

Indeed it is disappointing for the new system to start with an issues, however I would suggest you to have a check with our Dell support team for the further assistance on this .They will be able to troubleshoot, keep a follow up on the same.

You can reach us through:-

Facebook -
http://www.facebook.com/dellindia
Twitter@DellCares -
http://bitly.com/P5W1OT

I hope this will help.
Thank you for choosing Dell !
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

Terrible speed

PostedNovember 23, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have just recieved the Inspiron 15R 5520 and I am completely dissapointed. It is painfully slow even for basic surfing. I have a 10 year old entry level dell laptop and to be honest this new one does not appear to be any faster. Not sure if it can't handle the windows 8 software or what the problem is. I have ran diagnostics as i thought there must be a problem. No problem detected. I can't understand why this machine is so slow. I have contact Dell and will be returning it.
Response from Dell.comBy DonaldDforDellCustomer ReviewsNovember 26, 2012
Hello Jamesdissapointed,

Terribly sorry to hear you are dissapointed with the web surfing speed of your new Inspiron 15R (5520). You do know, you can put the fastest system possible on a slow network connection and it will run as slow as your 10 year old system. The bottle neck appears to be your router or your connection speed with the information given. Before returning a system, checkout your router speed and possibly update your home router to a faster one. This should help save you time and increase your expected speed.

Hope that helps!
+12points
16of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

Power Cord is Loose!

PostedNovember 21, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I thought this was a great computer, at first, but despite reviews that I had read that the power cord was wiggly and loose, I continued on and made the purchase anyways. To my dismay, the power cord was as described. It fell out very easily, sometimes even just sitting there it was loosen and fall out. Still under my warranty I had sent it back to be fixed, received it again about a month later, and it was as if they looked at my computer and just sent it back. Nothing was different, the cord still fell out from the slightest movement. Sadly, my warranty was up so now I am stuck with a laptop that i practically have to hold the power cord in, in order for it to charge. VERY DISAPPOINTED.
Response from Dell.comBy VikramNforDellCustomer ReviewsNovember 23, 2012
everlong13,

We apologize that your experience with the Inspiron 15R was not perfect. We value your feedback and would like the opportunity to try and correct the issues. Apart from regular phone support there are other ways to get in touch with us.

I encourage you to reach out to one of our Online Social Media Support Teams because they can troubleshoot and identify the best solution for you.
• Dell Community Forums – New to the Community:
http://dell.to/GY65Xz
• You can contact our Dell Cares Team on Twitter (@DellCares):
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ
• If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ
A Facebook account is not required to use this form. You will be asked to provide your Name, service tag, email address and a brief description of the issue.

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience!
+37points
39of 41voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Iceland)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Don't buy

PostedNovember 17, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Computer is really slow, slight improvement when uninstalling all the Dell "gadgets" that they installed. Timed start-up time and it was up and running after 5 minutes. Battery life is poor (expected more). Mouse pad is very sensitive and sometimes the cursor moves without any apparent reason (have adjusted the sensitivity and speed and slight improvement but very annoying). First time buying Dell and was expecting much better product. You will be disappointed if buying this model, I am.
Pros:Travel, streaming, photos
Response from Dell.comBy SilangchiSforDellCustomer ReviewsNovember 20, 2012
Hi bumpywater,

Sorry about your bad experience with this machine .

Your feedback is valuable for us to make a better products in the future .
So, if you are still experiencing this issues, I would suggest you to check with our Dell Support team in Twitter @DellCares –
http://bitly.com/P5W1OT
Facebook –
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ
Or join in the conversation with the Dell community forum-
http://dell.to/GY65Xz

I’m sure they will be able to check and see what is the best we can do to help you. Thank you for choosing Dell


+11points
14of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Reading)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Would not recommend

PostedNovember 10, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I received my Dell last week. It is heavy and cumbersome compared to my son's Sony. I could not travel with it. I am not a computer expert but the volume doesn't work and the keypad is unresponsive - it also keeps freezing. There are no instructions on windows 8 and no clear instructions on where to get technical help. This computer will be going back!!
Response from Dell.comBy GinaVforDellCustomer ReviewsNovember 12, 2012
Hello Mandy100,

Thank you for providing your feedback on the New Inspiron 15R 5520. Sorry to hear that your experience was not a positive one. I understand that it can be frustrating to have a system that is not working right out of the box, especially when you are also using a new user experience in Windows.
Regarding the concerns you are having with the touchpad, you can adjust the Touch Sensitivity and TouchCheck settings to help with it misreading gestures (which may also help if it is freezing). To do this you will want to click the Windows key + I to open the settings menu, then select the Control Panel. From the Control Panel, select the Dell Touchpad app.

Most actions that were available in Windows 7 are still available in Windows 8, just through a different avenue. You may find the below links helpful when learning more about troubleshooting in Windows 8 and various Windows 8 hotkeys/commands:

• Windows 8 Tutorial Videos
http://dell.to/PSe0Kw
• Windows 8 FAQ's:
http://dell.to/QiJLMF

In addition, we do have a group of experts that can assist you with any concerns you are having and help you resolve them in a professional and timely manner.

You can reach our Social Support Team directly via the Dell Community Forums (
http://dell.to/GY65Xz); the Support tab on Facebook (http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ); or on Twitter @DellCares (http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ).

We are here to listen and respond to our customers’ needs and I hope that we can turn this around for you. Again, thank you for your feedback, and have a great day – Gina.
+6points
23of 40voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

ROCK AND CHISEL WOULD BE FASTER

PostedOctober 16, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Laptop is of good build and quality but when it comes to the internet it is horribly SLOW. I shouldn't have to wait 20-30 seconds for pages to load. I should be able to watch a video clip uninterrupted. My WiFi setting is very strong and I haven't added anything to the system. And the keyboard does screwy stuff. And yes, I've troubleshooted and changed mouse and trackpad settings. SO FRUSTRATING!
Pros:home use
Response from Dell.comBy AnthonyAforDellCustomer ReviewsOctober 18, 2012
Hey REGRETFULBUYER,

I am sorry to hear that your Internet speed has been lacking on your Dell Inspiron 15R. I understand how frustrating that can be!

It may be necessary for you to apply any updates available to this system. There are several updates available at the Dell Drivers and Downloads page for this system. I highly recommend you visit the link I have provided, enter your Service Tag, and apply any updates- especially those relating to networking.

Here is the link:
http://dell.to/Qnizfs

If you need any further assistance, please reach out to one of our Online Support Teams. I am confident that we can find a best solution for your Internet connection and your keyboard.

• Dell Community Forums – New to the Community:
http://dell.to/GY65Xz
• You can contact our Dell Cares Team on Twitter (@DellCares):
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ
• If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ
A Facebook account is not required to use this form. You will be asked to provide your Name, service tag, email address and a brief description of the issue.

Thank very much for sharing your feedback, and thank you for choosing Dell.
+14points
21of 28voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

dennis

PostedOctober 12, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
This has been a very frustrating experience:
1) The 15R has not worked properly from the beginning: Error messages continually pop up that programs have stopped working and the laptop occasionally freezes up completely.
2) The people I have been in contact with at Dell do not seem interested in solving the problem, only selling me additional products or levels of support.
Response from Dell.comBy DonaldDforDellCustomer ReviewsOctober 15, 2012
Hello unrecommended,

I am sorry to hear you are having so many issues with your 15R. Let me re-assure you, we want nothing more than you to be happy with your Dell product. We are here to resolve your issues as quickly and as accurately as possible. If you feel you are not receiving the proper level of support, there are other avenues.

You could check out the Dell Forums at
http://en.community.dell.com/ . We have support professionals, on there, in addition to other users who may be having the same software type issues you are experiencing, like error messages and freezes.

If you prefer a more direct route, you can visit our Dellcares team on Twitter @Dellcares. If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ (A Facebook account is not required to use this form. You will be asked to provide your Name, service tag, email address and a brief description of the issue. )

Social Support Team Contact:-
Twitter - @DellCares (
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ)
Dell Community Forum (
http://dell.to/GY65Xz)
Dell Facebook (
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ)

I hope that one of these methods gives you the support you deserve!
+44points
52of 60voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(North Carolina)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Didn't work

PostedSeptember 11, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Would love to give a positive review but computer crashed 30 minutes out of the box. Called support and was told the hard drive had to be replaced with a two business day time frame. Now a week later, no hard drive,no usable computer, no contact with technician. Ready to send back and forget about it.
Response from Dell.comBy AnthonyAforDellCustomer ReviewsSeptember 12, 2012
Hey Tover,

I am sorry to hear that your new Inspiron 15R had a failed motherboard. Unfortunately, this is a random occurrence that can happen with any system from any manufacturer. I definitely understand your frustration though.

Typically, our Technical Support teams are very responsive to these issues. Depending on the type of warranty you have, either a technician will come replace your motherboard or you will have to send your system in to be replaced.

Please send this question to DELL-Terry B on our DCF (Dell Community Forum) who covers all laptop lines except for Alienware. You will need to log into the Forum. Provide to him your service tag number and the issue.
http://dell.to/wVqZ4T

Again, I apologize that you did not have an exceptional experience, but I am confident that we can turn this around for you.

Thank you for choosing Dell.
+32points
39of 46voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

Lame Purchase

PostedSeptember 4, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought 3 of these laptops (2 for my kids for school & 1 for my personal use) in February. After spending hours transferring information and set up school curriculum on the computers, I found that these laptops don't pick up wireless internet well or at all. Dell now says that I need to have windows re-installed??? Meaning that I need to transfer all my info (I have too much). I shouldn't have to do this... it's not like I bought them used or refurbished.
I'm so disappointed with my experience and would've never downloaded all my info if I had known I'd have to go through all this. A bunch of wasted time and money. Don't waste yours.
Response from Dell.comBy VikramNforDellCustomer ReviewsSeptember 5, 2012
Hello,

We apologize that your Inspiron 15R out of box experience was not perfect. Without your inputs we will not be able to improve! Our engineering teams read customer reviews everyday to make improvements on our products. We value your feedback and would like the opportunity to try and correct the issues. Apart from regular phone support, there are other ways to get in touch with us, please contact any of Dell's Support Teams at:

• Dell Community Forums – New to the Community:
http://dell.to/GY65Xz
• You can contact our Dell Cares Team on Twitter (@DellCares):
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ
• If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ
A Facebook account is not required to use this form. You will be asked to provide your Name, service tag, email address and a brief description of the issue.

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience!
+19points
26of 33voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Charleston, SC)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Now on 3rd Exchange

PostedSeptember 1, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I can see how this might be a good computer. It certainly is priced right. But I cannot say because I have not been able to use it fully. The first one had problems with the keyboard; some of them would not appear when hit once, then appear twice when hit twice. After performing extensive and time consuming online diagnostic tests, sending out technicians to unsuccessfully replace the keyboard, then replace the motherboard, Dell decided to send me another Inspiron 5520. This second one has the exact same problem with the keyboard, but also shuts down completely in the middle of a work session, without any kind of notice. Also, the sound does not work on this second one. After literally hours of talking on the phone with many technicians and customer service agents who were not familiar with English, I finally got an agent who quickly decided to send me a third one after they receive the first one. I am told the third one will get here in 2 weeks. Meanwhile, I must make the best of this second defective Inspiron 5520. I drove the first one to FedEx for return today. All I did was pay Dell for a new computer. This experience has been a nightmare, and it is still weeks before potentially ending.
Pros:business, writing, bookkeeping, music, reservations input
Response from Dell.comBy JohnBforDellCustomer ReviewsSeptember 4, 2012
Jane1746,

Sorry that you had a terrible experience with our customer service. Use the information below if you need to contact us for anything. The team members below will get you taken care of.
Please reach out to our Dell Support Team at:

• Dell Community Forums – New to the Community:
http://dell.to/GY65Xz
• You can contact our Dell Cares Team on Twitter (@DellCares):
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ
• If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ
A Facebook account is not required to use this form. You will be asked to provide your Name, service tag, email address and a brief description of the issue.

+35points
39of 43voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(phoenix)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

new inspiron 15R with 3rd gen I5

PostedAugust 30, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this in early August. I got all my files transferred and software installed OK. Everything worked fine for about 2 weeks and then I got what looked like the 'old' blue screen of death. After 3 hours on the phone with dell support, it was determined that my hard drive crashed (they couldn't even get windows to start...) They were willing to send out a new hard drive to me and have someone install it, however, they wanted to charge me $239 for that technician to install all the windows software/drivers that came with the laptop. They said it would then be warranteed for 1 year if anything else happened. For a new computer to crash within 1 month I was not willing to take a chance that something else was also wrong so I returned it. I did some other reading and found out that I may not be the only one to have this problem. I like dell products but am now considering buying another brand that might be more reliable.
Response from Dell.comBy SaraTforDellCustomer ReviewsSeptember 4, 2012
Hello Phxmike,

I am sorry that your experience has not been exceptional. I hope that tech support was able to ge tyou taken care of with the new hard drive. If you still have any concerns, please feel free to reach out to our Social Media Technical Support department at your earliest convenience so that we can help with your system:

• Twitter (@DellCares):
http://dell.to/Tgt5D7
• Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
http://dell.to/OO2MDG
• Tech support Forums:
http://dell.to/NjitjY

Again, I am sorry that you have not had the best experience.

-SaraT
+44points
47of 50voted this as helpful.
  1 2 3 4 5 ... 14