Customer reviews for Inspiron 15R 5520

Inspiron 15R 5520

Inspiron 15R 5520
3.606 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 193 reviews
5 Stars
67
4 Stars
58
3 Stars
24
2 Stars
13
1 Star
31
3.6
 / 
5
(193 reviews) 185
137 out of 19371%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Inspiron 15R 5520
Review 21 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:everlong13
Title:

Power Cord is Loose!

PostedNovember 21, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I thought this was a great computer, at first, but despite reviews that I had read that the power cord was wiggly and loose, I continued on and made the purchase anyways. To my dismay, the power cord was as described. It fell out very easily, sometimes even just sitting there it was loosen and fall out. Still under my warranty I had sent it back to be fixed, received it again about a month later, and it was as if they looked at my computer and just sent it back. Nothing was different, the cord still fell out from the slightest movement. Sadly, my warranty was up so now I am stuck with a laptop that i practically have to hold the power cord in, in order for it to charge. VERY DISAPPOINTED.
Response from Dell.comBy VikramNforDellCustomer ReviewsNovember 23, 2012
everlong13,

We apologize that your experience with the Inspiron 15R was not perfect. We value your feedback and would like the opportunity to try and correct the issues. Apart from regular phone support there are other ways to get in touch with us.

I encourage you to reach out to one of our Online Social Media Support Teams because they can troubleshoot and identify the best solution for you.
• Dell Community Forums – New to the Community:
http://dell.to/GY65Xz
• You can contact our Dell Cares Team on Twitter (@DellCares):
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ
• If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ
A Facebook account is not required to use this form. You will be asked to provide your Name, service tag, email address and a brief description of the issue.

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience!
+37points
39of 41voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:bumpywater
(Iceland)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Don't buy

PostedNovember 17, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Computer is really slow, slight improvement when uninstalling all the Dell "gadgets" that they installed. Timed start-up time and it was up and running after 5 minutes. Battery life is poor (expected more). Mouse pad is very sensitive and sometimes the cursor moves without any apparent reason (have adjusted the sensitivity and speed and slight improvement but very annoying). First time buying Dell and was expecting much better product. You will be disappointed if buying this model, I am.
Pros:Travel, streaming, photos
Response from Dell.comBy SilangchiSforDellCustomer ReviewsNovember 20, 2012
Hi bumpywater,

Sorry about your bad experience with this machine .

Your feedback is valuable for us to make a better products in the future .
So, if you are still experiencing this issues, I would suggest you to check with our Dell Support team in Twitter @DellCares –
http://bitly.com/P5W1OT
Facebook –
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ
Or join in the conversation with the Dell community forum-
http://dell.to/GY65Xz

I’m sure they will be able to check and see what is the best we can do to help you. Thank you for choosing Dell


+11points
14of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Mandy100
(Reading)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Would not recommend

PostedNovember 10, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I received my Dell last week. It is heavy and cumbersome compared to my son's Sony. I could not travel with it. I am not a computer expert but the volume doesn't work and the keypad is unresponsive - it also keeps freezing. There are no instructions on windows 8 and no clear instructions on where to get technical help. This computer will be going back!!
Response from Dell.comBy GinaVforDellCustomer ReviewsNovember 12, 2012
Hello Mandy100,

Thank you for providing your feedback on the New Inspiron 15R 5520. Sorry to hear that your experience was not a positive one. I understand that it can be frustrating to have a system that is not working right out of the box, especially when you are also using a new user experience in Windows.
Regarding the concerns you are having with the touchpad, you can adjust the Touch Sensitivity and TouchCheck settings to help with it misreading gestures (which may also help if it is freezing). To do this you will want to click the Windows key + I to open the settings menu, then select the Control Panel. From the Control Panel, select the Dell Touchpad app.

Most actions that were available in Windows 7 are still available in Windows 8, just through a different avenue. You may find the below links helpful when learning more about troubleshooting in Windows 8 and various Windows 8 hotkeys/commands:

• Windows 8 Tutorial Videos
http://dell.to/PSe0Kw
• Windows 8 FAQ's:
http://dell.to/QiJLMF

In addition, we do have a group of experts that can assist you with any concerns you are having and help you resolve them in a professional and timely manner.

You can reach our Social Support Team directly via the Dell Community Forums (
http://dell.to/GY65Xz); the Support tab on Facebook (http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ); or on Twitter @DellCares (http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ).

We are here to listen and respond to our customers’ needs and I hope that we can turn this around for you. Again, thank you for your feedback, and have a great day – Gina.
+6points
23of 40voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:REGRETFULBUYER
Title:

ROCK AND CHISEL WOULD BE FASTER

PostedOctober 16, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Laptop is of good build and quality but when it comes to the internet it is horribly SLOW. I shouldn't have to wait 20-30 seconds for pages to load. I should be able to watch a video clip uninterrupted. My WiFi setting is very strong and I haven't added anything to the system. And the keyboard does screwy stuff. And yes, I've troubleshooted and changed mouse and trackpad settings. SO FRUSTRATING!
Pros:home use
Response from Dell.comBy AnthonyAforDellCustomer ReviewsOctober 18, 2012
Hey REGRETFULBUYER,

I am sorry to hear that your Internet speed has been lacking on your Dell Inspiron 15R. I understand how frustrating that can be!

It may be necessary for you to apply any updates available to this system. There are several updates available at the Dell Drivers and Downloads page for this system. I highly recommend you visit the link I have provided, enter your Service Tag, and apply any updates- especially those relating to networking.

Here is the link:
http://dell.to/Qnizfs

If you need any further assistance, please reach out to one of our Online Support Teams. I am confident that we can find a best solution for your Internet connection and your keyboard.

• Dell Community Forums – New to the Community:
http://dell.to/GY65Xz
• You can contact our Dell Cares Team on Twitter (@DellCares):
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ
• If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ
A Facebook account is not required to use this form. You will be asked to provide your Name, service tag, email address and a brief description of the issue.

Thank very much for sharing your feedback, and thank you for choosing Dell.
+14points
21of 28voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:unrecommended
Title:

dennis

PostedOctober 12, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
This has been a very frustrating experience:
1) The 15R has not worked properly from the beginning: Error messages continually pop up that programs have stopped working and the laptop occasionally freezes up completely.
2) The people I have been in contact with at Dell do not seem interested in solving the problem, only selling me additional products or levels of support.
Response from Dell.comBy DonaldDforDellCustomer ReviewsOctober 15, 2012
Hello unrecommended,

I am sorry to hear you are having so many issues with your 15R. Let me re-assure you, we want nothing more than you to be happy with your Dell product. We are here to resolve your issues as quickly and as accurately as possible. If you feel you are not receiving the proper level of support, there are other avenues.

You could check out the Dell Forums at
http://en.community.dell.com/ . We have support professionals, on there, in addition to other users who may be having the same software type issues you are experiencing, like error messages and freezes.

If you prefer a more direct route, you can visit our Dellcares team on Twitter @Dellcares. If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ (A Facebook account is not required to use this form. You will be asked to provide your Name, service tag, email address and a brief description of the issue. )

Social Support Team Contact:-
Twitter - @DellCares (
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ)
Dell Community Forum (
http://dell.to/GY65Xz)
Dell Facebook (
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ)

I hope that one of these methods gives you the support you deserve!
+44points
52of 60voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Tover
(North Carolina)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Didn't work

PostedSeptember 11, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Would love to give a positive review but computer crashed 30 minutes out of the box. Called support and was told the hard drive had to be replaced with a two business day time frame. Now a week later, no hard drive,no usable computer, no contact with technician. Ready to send back and forget about it.
Response from Dell.comBy AnthonyAforDellCustomer ReviewsSeptember 12, 2012
Hey Tover,

I am sorry to hear that your new Inspiron 15R had a failed motherboard. Unfortunately, this is a random occurrence that can happen with any system from any manufacturer. I definitely understand your frustration though.

Typically, our Technical Support teams are very responsive to these issues. Depending on the type of warranty you have, either a technician will come replace your motherboard or you will have to send your system in to be replaced.

Please send this question to DELL-Terry B on our DCF (Dell Community Forum) who covers all laptop lines except for Alienware. You will need to log into the Forum. Provide to him your service tag number and the issue.
http://dell.to/wVqZ4T

Again, I apologize that you did not have an exceptional experience, but I am confident that we can turn this around for you.

Thank you for choosing Dell.
+32points
39of 46voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:OneUnhappyCustomer
Title:

Lame Purchase

PostedSeptember 4, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought 3 of these laptops (2 for my kids for school & 1 for my personal use) in February. After spending hours transferring information and set up school curriculum on the computers, I found that these laptops don't pick up wireless internet well or at all. Dell now says that I need to have windows re-installed??? Meaning that I need to transfer all my info (I have too much). I shouldn't have to do this... it's not like I bought them used or refurbished.
I'm so disappointed with my experience and would've never downloaded all my info if I had known I'd have to go through all this. A bunch of wasted time and money. Don't waste yours.
Response from Dell.comBy VikramNforDellCustomer ReviewsSeptember 5, 2012
Hello,

We apologize that your Inspiron 15R out of box experience was not perfect. Without your inputs we will not be able to improve! Our engineering teams read customer reviews everyday to make improvements on our products. We value your feedback and would like the opportunity to try and correct the issues. Apart from regular phone support, there are other ways to get in touch with us, please contact any of Dell's Support Teams at:

• Dell Community Forums – New to the Community:
http://dell.to/GY65Xz
• You can contact our Dell Cares Team on Twitter (@DellCares):
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ
• If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ
A Facebook account is not required to use this form. You will be asked to provide your Name, service tag, email address and a brief description of the issue.

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience!
+19points
26of 33voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Jane1746
(Charleston, SC)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Now on 3rd Exchange

PostedSeptember 1, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I can see how this might be a good computer. It certainly is priced right. But I cannot say because I have not been able to use it fully. The first one had problems with the keyboard; some of them would not appear when hit once, then appear twice when hit twice. After performing extensive and time consuming online diagnostic tests, sending out technicians to unsuccessfully replace the keyboard, then replace the motherboard, Dell decided to send me another Inspiron 5520. This second one has the exact same problem with the keyboard, but also shuts down completely in the middle of a work session, without any kind of notice. Also, the sound does not work on this second one. After literally hours of talking on the phone with many technicians and customer service agents who were not familiar with English, I finally got an agent who quickly decided to send me a third one after they receive the first one. I am told the third one will get here in 2 weeks. Meanwhile, I must make the best of this second defective Inspiron 5520. I drove the first one to FedEx for return today. All I did was pay Dell for a new computer. This experience has been a nightmare, and it is still weeks before potentially ending.
Pros:business, writing, bookkeeping, music, reservations input
Response from Dell.comBy JohnBforDellCustomer ReviewsSeptember 4, 2012
Jane1746,

Sorry that you had a terrible experience with our customer service. Use the information below if you need to contact us for anything. The team members below will get you taken care of.
Please reach out to our Dell Support Team at:

• Dell Community Forums – New to the Community:
http://dell.to/GY65Xz
• You can contact our Dell Cares Team on Twitter (@DellCares):
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ
• If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ
A Facebook account is not required to use this form. You will be asked to provide your Name, service tag, email address and a brief description of the issue.

+35points
39of 43voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:phxmike
(phoenix)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

new inspiron 15R with 3rd gen I5

PostedAugust 30, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this in early August. I got all my files transferred and software installed OK. Everything worked fine for about 2 weeks and then I got what looked like the 'old' blue screen of death. After 3 hours on the phone with dell support, it was determined that my hard drive crashed (they couldn't even get windows to start...) They were willing to send out a new hard drive to me and have someone install it, however, they wanted to charge me $239 for that technician to install all the windows software/drivers that came with the laptop. They said it would then be warranteed for 1 year if anything else happened. For a new computer to crash within 1 month I was not willing to take a chance that something else was also wrong so I returned it. I did some other reading and found out that I may not be the only one to have this problem. I like dell products but am now considering buying another brand that might be more reliable.
Response from Dell.comBy SaraTforDellCustomer ReviewsSeptember 4, 2012
Hello Phxmike,

I am sorry that your experience has not been exceptional. I hope that tech support was able to ge tyou taken care of with the new hard drive. If you still have any concerns, please feel free to reach out to our Social Media Technical Support department at your earliest convenience so that we can help with your system:

• Twitter (@DellCares):
http://dell.to/Tgt5D7
• Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
http://dell.to/OO2MDG
• Tech support Forums:
http://dell.to/NjitjY

Again, I am sorry that you have not had the best experience.

-SaraT
+44points
47of 50voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:wmsvenu
(Dublin, OH)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Poor ergonomics and Worst return team

PostedAugust 3, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought it for my son. Not happy with the ergonomics.
Very bad return experience with Dell return team.
I guess they havee lost few customers for life.
Pros:home work
Response from Dell.comBy VikramNforDellCustomer ReviewsAugust 6, 2012
wmsvenu,

Sorry to hear about your experience with this computer and we would like another chance to try and fix this for you. We are listening, please contact any of Dell's Support Teams as soon as possible, at:-

• Dell Community Forums – New to the Community:
http://dell.to/GY65Xz
• You can contact our Dell Cares Team on Twitter (@DellCares):
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ
• If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ
A Facebook account is not required to use this form. You will be asked to provide your Name, service tag, email address and a brief description of the issue.

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience!
+1point
13of 25voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Danny152
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Disappointing in relation to brand

PostedJune 18, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this laptop in last december and after a month the hard drive statred to make sounds and had to be replaced, around the same time my right side usb ports also had to be replaced and this was the second time that my laptop was dismanteld. last week a burn pixle had appred on the screen and now my screen will be replaced.
Pros:very fast, good looking, very powerful
Cons:many faults, not very reliable ןn terms of hardware
Response from Dell.comBy SaraTforDellCustomer ReviewsJune 19, 2013
Hello Danny152,

I am really sorry to hear that you have had some issues with your system. I know having repairs is never a good thing, but I hope we were able to get you all taken care of quickly. If you do have any questions or concerns, please don't hesitate to reach out to us. If it is ever more convenient, we have support available online:

• Twitter (@DellCares):
http://dell.to/Tgt5D7
• Facebook Support:
http://dell.to/10icdPW
• Dell Community Forums:
http://dell.to/pwws14

-SaraT
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Frustrated12
(Austin, TX, USA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Buyer Beware

PostedFebruary 21, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Although the processor performance on this machine is impressive, I have several complaints with the features installed on it.
1. The USB ports. Product descriptions and Dell support have stated numerous times that all 4 USB ports on this machine are USB 3.0 ports. However, only the ports on the left hand side actually appear to be USB 3.0. The 2 ports on the right side do not recognize my USB 3.0 Western Digital portable hard drive. After sending someone out to replace my motherboard, and the USB ports on the right side still did not recognize my USB 3.0 drive, the technician concluded that the problem must be software related. To date, no software of firmware update has been released to correct the issue. The USB ports on the right side still do not recognize my USB 3.0 drive.
2. The DVD drive. Sometimes it opens when you push the external button to open it, sometimes it doesn't. To get the drive to open when it's being finicky, you have to either do a software eject or reboot the system. The above-mentioned motherboard replacement did not correct the issue.
3. The wireless network card. Every other device I own, from both of my cell phones, to my Xbox, to my smart TV, have dual band wireless capability. This machine has only single-band capability, which, in this day and age, is pretty poor.
Most of my other complaints relate to the installed Windows 8 (which works like a beta version) and Dell's support site, especially as it relates to downloading an updating the drivers on the machine. Either the site won't allow me to download the drivers at all, or I'll get an error once the software finally downloads, forcing me to download the software again.
Pros:processor speed
Cons:usb ports, dvd drive, wireless network card, dell support site, windows 8
Response from Dell.comBy SaraTforDellCustomer ReviewsFebruary 26, 2013
Hello Frustrated12,

I am sorry to hear about your frustrations with this machine. If you haven't already done so, I would advise that you get in contact with technical support for a follow up in the USB 3.0 concerns and the DVD drive. They may be able help you isolate the issue and trouble shoot the root cause. Please feel free to contact our technical support experts using the following options:

• Twitter (@DellCares):
http://dell.to/Tgt5D7
• Dell Community Forum Laptop Board:
http://dell.to/pwws14

-SaraT
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Teenager
(denver)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

slow

PostedJanuary 30, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
I got a great deal on this computer- the computer itself is so slow. When it turns on it gives me a black screen for a while. My hard drive crashed only after having it for 2 months. It was barely used. When other people are on their computer in my home it is slow and the internet will not connect
Pros:School, homework, Travel
Response from Dell.comBy JohnBforDellCustomer ReviewsMarch 11, 2013
Teenager,

Sorry to hear about the issues with your Inspiron 15R. Use the information below to contact us. The team members below will get you taken care of.
Please reach out to our Dell Support Team at:

• Dell Community Forums – New to the Community:
http://dell.to/GY65Xz
• You can contact our Dell Cares Team on Twitter (@DellCares):
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ
• If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ
A Facebook account is not required to use this form. You will be asked to provide your Name, service tag, email address and a brief description of the issue.

Thank you. JGB
-3points
3of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MelO77
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Is not what i was expecting of a Dell product.

PostedJanuary 22, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Inspiron 15R is not really what I was expecting for a Dell product. Some keyboard s seems to get stuck when you use them a lot, the space bar also get stuck and keep "making spaces" by itself... It's almost new and now the computer is slow and gets hot in a couple of hours of being using it. My work is in the computer so I can't be turning of and making brakes every couple of hours. And Windows 8 is a nightmare.
Pros:work
Response from Dell.comBy SaraTforDellCustomer ReviewsMarch 18, 2013
Hello MelO77,

I am sorry that this system has not lived up to your expectations. If you are experiencing system heat, check out this link for some tips to reduce heat:
http://dell.to/RPNbpV.

I know Windows 8 is a big change. If you want, you might want to check out the Support information that we have on Windows 8 for more information. You can find helpful videos (
http://dell.to/PSe0Kw), tutorials (http://dell.to/10Sd6Qk) and even a "Free Windows 8 for Dummies E-Book" that you can download to help you with the new User Experience with Windows 8. This way, your transition to the new Windows operating system can be as seamless as possible.

If you have stuck key, I recommend reaching out to our technical support team. They will be able to troubleshoot with you and determine the root cause and the best resolution. You can reach them in a variety of ways, including online through:
• Dell Community Forums:
http://dell.to/pwws14
• Twitter (@DellCares):
http://dell.to/Tgt5D7
• Facebook Support Form:
http://dell.to/VFvcjv

Hope this can help.

-Sara
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Rich400
Title:

Dell 15R

PostedJanuary 17, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this laptop (Dell 15R) with a great spec and after always having Dell's had high expectations. The good points are dell service, and hardware pretty good. The touchpad on the 15R is ok unless you rest on the front of the laptop with your hand, which seems to bend the touchpad and it locks up.So unusually flimsy. This laptop in the US is available with a touchscreen for windows 8. If the UK version had it I would not have returned mine. I found windows 8 to be far too much work on this laptop. i ended up arriving at different screens/apps etc by swiping too quickly or in the wrong direction. Even after completely understanding the tutorials and matering windows 8 commands, you end up resorting to windows 3.1 keystrokes to close windows or indeed print. I returned it until it comes with a touchscreen when I will buy one.
Response from Dell.comBy SaraTforDellCustomer ReviewsJanuary 21, 2013
Hello Rich400,

Thank you for submitting your feedback. I can definitely understand how Windows 8 can be a little easier to use with a touch screen. As it turns out, the 15R 5520 is not currently available with a touchscreen in the US or UK. I believe you might have been looking at the new Inspiron 15z Ultrabook (5523). There are touch and non-touch options available on this system in both the US and UK. Feel free to check it out here:
http://dell.to/WmhvqV.

I hope this helps. -SaraT
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Emnov74
(Ireland)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Touchpad soooo annyoying

PostedJanuary 15, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is my second dell but not impressed with it at all, firstly the hard drive broke after 6 months and although dell replaced it very quickly they refused to let me keep it so I had to pay someone to recover the information on it anyway! but the main problem I find is the keyboard, even typing this it will constantly jump lines, go back to previous typing, I think its to do with the touch pad being so sensitive so that if you slightly touch it it moves the curser, so annoying, in fact I give up using it and use my google tablet more than anything now. Also the sound and picture quality on this is rubbish. Do not buy it if you want to to lots of typing or watch stuff, its terrible. (typing this the curser has jumped five times)
Pros:work
Response from Dell.comBy DonaldDforDellCustomer ReviewsJanuary 16, 2013
Hello Emnov74,

I am sorry to hear you are having issues. There is a simple cure. Open the Dell Touchpad control center. Here you can adjust the sensitivity to your liking. Our customers were saying the touchpad was not sensitive enough, so we turn it up before shipping. If you need help with doing this, contact our support department, or checkout the tech forums. They have already been talking about this.

For Tech Support Virtual Agent, Chat, Phone, Email:-

http://dell.to/nKRY0q

Social Support Team Contact:-
Twitter - @DellCares (
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ)
Dell Community Forum (
http://dell.to/GY65Xz)
Dell Facebook (
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ)

You could also try our Tech Forums at:
http://en.community.dell.com/

Hope that helps!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:EhsanOnyx
Title:

LCD is extremely week

PostedNovember 27, 2012
User submitted photo
No, I do not recommend this product.
I am a real Dell FAN, using DELL LapTops since almost 5 years, My first Dell was Vostro 1500, then Inspiron 5110 and third one I bought previous month is Inspiron 5520. But this 5520 LCD is extremely week, its dead on 35th Day of purchase I lost my $775, I bought a brand new from an Authorized dealer and when I asked for warranty they redirected me to a service center where they are demanding to pay $140 + 7 days time for LCD replacement. Pretty disappointed
Pros:application development
Response from Dell.comBy SilangchiSforDellCustomer ReviewsNovember 30, 2012
Hi EhsanOnyx,

Sorry about the issue with your machine, however appreciate for being our honest Dell customer .

I understand that your system LCD is dead but the system which is purchased for the distributor will probably have their own warranty . Here is the link for the distributor that you may want to check -
http://dell.to/lZiGFd

And if you need further assistance , we will be able to check and see if we can do anything to help you . You can reach out to our Dell support in Twitter @DellCares -
http://bitly.com/P5W1OT or Facebook - http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ



I hope that helps. Thank you for choosing Dell !
+13points
15of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:GiveUp
Title:

Inspiron 15R

PostedOctober 28, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased a new Inspiron to replace my current Dell laptop and so far I am very disappointed.
Everything about the new one is inferior to my current one. The laptop keeps locking up and the i7 core with 8gb of ram is slower than my old i5 with 4gb of ram.
I upgraded to windows 8 and spent a day dealing with error after error. (I have 20 years experience in IT). Windows 8 now loads JUST but I still have many errors to deal with also Mcafee does create many issues firstly to get Windows 8 loaded then windows thinks that you do not have anti virus even when mcafee claims all is ok. SO unless you have skills in IT I would avoid the upgrade to windows 8 for now,
Response from Dell.comBy GinaVforDellCustomer ReviewsOctober 30, 2012
Hello GiveUp,

Thank you for providing your feedback on the Inspiron 15R (5520). Sorry to hear that your experience has not been a positive one.

In regards to the concerns you are having with your OS upgrade. This system has been tested and verified to run Windows 8 (
http://dell.to/OtexfG). Microsoft is providing support for 90-days from registration for those who upgraded to the new Window 8 OS. You can use this link to view their online support community as well as enter in your error codes to find knowledge based articles to assist you: http://bit.ly/RsTZHc

We do have a group of experts that are available to look the concerns you are having with your hardware. They will be able to assess, diagnose and resolve your concerns in a professional and timely manner!

Please reach out to our Social Support Team directly via the Dell Community Forums (
http://dell.to/GY65Xz); the Support tab on Facebook (http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ); or on Twitter @DellCares (http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ).

Again, thank you for your feedback, and have a great day – Gina.
+36points
43of 50voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Anonymous
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Problem

PostedOctober 5, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
There is no option for backlit keys. That's not really a big deal, though. The island keys feel plastic-y and cheap. Also, not the biggest deal. Windows 7 is the dealbreaker. Windows 7 came out in, what-2009? There is some bug that causes it to drop internet connection intermittently. This problem is discussed in forums all over, there are a few offers of how to fix it. Most of them are too complicated to understand if you don't have very much background in technical/network issues. If the customer is expected to fix a known software issue themselves, the laptop should have been shipped with clear instructions on how to do so.
Response from Dell.comBy VikramNforDellCustomer ReviewsOctober 8, 2012
NatashaWoods,

Sorry to hear that you are facing issues with your Inspiron 15R. Your inputs are valuable to us and definitely plays a big role in understanding the issue. Yes, we have had our customers tell us about the Wireless issue. Our engineering teams are looking into it and will provide a fix for it soon.

Also, for any technical assistance that you may require with your system, I would suggest you get in touch with one of our Social Media Support teams and they will be able to answer all your queries. I have attached the links below.

• Dell Community Forums – New to the Community:
http://dell.to/GY65Xz
• You can contact our Dell Cares Team on Twitter (@DellCares):
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ
• If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ
A Facebook account is not required to use this form. You will be asked to provide your Name, service tag, email address and a brief description of the issue.

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience!
+16points
22of 28voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:jc33769
Title:

horribly slow

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have this model with the i5 processor. This unit is a complete joke. Practically every page has to be refreshed/reloaded, and I cant even stream anything on it (which was my main reason for getting it).I have a 3 year old Hp with less of everything that just blows this one out of the water. Definitely the last Dell purchase I will be making (as Ive had another bad experience with their products, and twice is my limit for something that costs as much as a computer).
Pros:very slowly, personal
Response from Dell.comBy VikramNforDellCustomer ReviewsSeptember 19, 2012
jc33769,

Sorry to hear that you are facing problems with the Inspiron 15R. We would like to take the opportunity to help fix these issues. I do understand how frustrating it could be when the system is slow, especially when its being powered by an i5 processor. Do remember, we are listening. Please contact any of Dell's Support Teams at:

• Dell Community Forums – New to the Community:
http://dell.to/GY65Xz
• You can contact our Dell Cares Team on Twitter (@DellCares):
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ
• If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ
A Facebook account is not required to use this form. You will be asked to provide your Name, service tag, email address and a brief description of the issue.

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience!
+8points
17of 26voted this as helpful.
  1 2 3 4 5 ... 10