Customer reviews for Inspiron 15R 5520

Inspiron 15R 5520

Inspiron 15R 5520
3.62 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 200 reviews
5 Stars
70
4 Stars
61
3 Stars
24
2 Stars
13
1 Star
32
3.6
 / 
5
(200 reviews) 192
143 out of 20072%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Inspiron 15R 5520
Review 1 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Nomi
Title:

Best Piece For Gaming plus Professional Work

PostedJuly 1, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
Its simply an owsome machine and its perfomance is better than 4th generation machines
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:kishan
Title:

speaker problem.

PostedJuly 1, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
there is some problem in speaker.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Mo'nes
Title:

Good

PostedJune 26, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
works fine .. great for gaming and working .. seems to be heavy a little bit .. sometimes it has issues with the 2 graphics cards
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Ali
Title:

Wifi Problem

PostedJune 26, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
I'm using laptop since 2 years. There is problem with wifi. Most of the time it is reconnection disconnecting and sometimes signal are too short that internet connectivity disturb. Available driver are on dell website are not useful for wifi. Please update or change driver for wifi to use laptop in better way.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:praveen kumar
Title:

Performance Issue

PostedJune 20, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
I brought Inspiron 5520 laptop on dec 19th 2012, It is good experience to brought through online , Every thing inbuilt feature came with Image.But take care they make image but not properly , it is not useful for futher installation , check this, else every thing good
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Anirudh
Title:

durable, Stable

PostedJune 20, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
four years of usage and i have nothing to complain. thank you dell!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Valentin
Title:

Good performance for good price.

PostedJune 19, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought i7 version with 750gb ram and GPU hd 7670m.Good performance for good price.Now, I replaced HDD with 240gb SSD, and upgraded RAM to 16gb. This notebook is not good enough to run lastest games like Assassin's Creed Unity, but you can play BF4 ~20 FPS on high settings. But it's not gaming notebook, it's really good for working (and not to hot).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:logansama
(California)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

I seriously despise this unit.

PostedSeptember 1, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've always purchased Dell laptops and other than a few little design flaws, have loved them. This one...its big, clunky, the keyboard is awkward, its slow. In fact, I rarely use it. I've gone back to my 3 year old unit.
When I write, my hand brushes "Something" and I get knocked out of Word and into the big menu on the side. Now I accidently disabled the touchpad and there's no apparent way to restore it, so I'm effectively locked out of the computer. I've searched for help on how to turn it back on...to no avail. Now I'm going to have to call in, sit on hold and try to get it figured out.
I've given this unit nearly a year and between Windows 8 and this laptop's poor design, I'm ready to give it up. 1
Response from Dell.comBy JonathanNforDellCustomer ReviewsSeptember 3, 2013
Hello logansama,

I want to thank you for taking your time and posting here about your experiences with your Inspiron 15R. I apologize about some of the frustrations that you have been experiencing. The easiest way to enable/disable your Touchpad is to press the FN + F3 keys. More options can be found in the Dell Touchpad app, within the Control Panels section. Access this by going to Search, typing in "Control Panel", then going to Hardware and Sound>Dell Touchpad. Here you can play with the sensitivity and palm tracking settings and help eliminate any unwanted touches.

I recommend reaching out to our @DellCares team on Twitter and see if they can help you resolve these or other issues in a timely and professional manner.

http://dell.to/1f81nkZ

If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell’s Facebook Support Form and reach us there:

http://dell.to/18PGSrH

Hope this helps!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Danny152
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Disappointing in relation to brand

PostedJune 18, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this laptop in last december and after a month the hard drive statred to make sounds and had to be replaced, around the same time my right side usb ports also had to be replaced and this was the second time that my laptop was dismanteld. last week a burn pixle had appred on the screen and now my screen will be replaced.
Pros:very fast, good looking, very powerful
Cons:many faults, not very reliable ןn terms of hardware
Response from Dell.comBy SaraTforDellCustomer ReviewsJune 19, 2013
Hello Danny152,

I am really sorry to hear that you have had some issues with your system. I know having repairs is never a good thing, but I hope we were able to get you all taken care of quickly. If you do have any questions or concerns, please don't hesitate to reach out to us. If it is ever more convenient, we have support available online:

• Twitter (@DellCares):
http://dell.to/Tgt5D7
• Facebook Support:
http://dell.to/10icdPW
• Dell Community Forums:
http://dell.to/pwws14

-SaraT
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:A3B08
(Mangalore, Karnataka, India)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

good product

PostedMay 8, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
user frendly. it has good speakers.... love working on it
Pros:speakers system is good, display is great
Cons:battery back up must have been better, keyboard must have contained numpad
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Davej57butch
(East Providence, RI, USA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

Great value

PostedApril 30, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Bought this as a demo model and am very pleased with it.
Response from Dell.comBy SaraTforDellCustomer ReviewsMay 1, 2013
Hello Davej57butch,

Thank you for your review. It is always great to hear that you got a system that works well for you.

Thank you for choosing Dell!

-SaraT
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:k9i6m9
(California, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Great laptop

PostedApril 7, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
The speed and ease of use of this product are phenomenal. It's like having a desk top computer, except you are using a laptop.
I decided to upgrade my computer to a wireless mouse, since the mouse was forever moving away from me and I would lose it. I strongly recommend, this laptop, from surfing the internet to using word to create documents is seamless and I am so happy I got this computer. The price was very affordable for the general laptop computer. If you are new to Windows 8, as I am, there is a book I got from Staples, called "Windows 8 for Dummies", that I highly recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:gaurav007
(Jaisalmer, Rajasthan 345001, India)
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

amazing product!!!!!1

PostedMarch 23, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
this is a very nice laptop!!!!!! it is nice in everyday computing!!!!!!!!!!!
Pros:superb picture quality
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Lynda1
(Maryland, USA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Nothing but problems with this laptop!

PostedMarch 20, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Nothing but problems!! windows is a nightmare...I would not purchase the product again
Response from Dell.comBy DonaldDforDellCustomer ReviewsMarch 21, 2013
Hello Lynda1,

Sorry to hear about your problems with the Inspiron 15R (5520). You did not provide any details as to what you are experiencing. If you could take a moment and contact our Dellcares team, they may be able to help you out. Check them out at:

Social Support Team Contact:-
Twitter - @DellCares (
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ)
Dell Community Forum (
http://dell.to/GY65Xz)
Dell Facebook (
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ)

I know they can help!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MohitVerma019
(Jammu)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Best product i ever had of dell

PostedMarch 6, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Really... i must recommend this product highly... Adorable performance with great features in cost efficient manner... i just like this product very much .. One thing that attracted me more is the awsum battery backup upto 4:5 hrs along with 1 gb AMD graphics performance seen on windows 8.. Thanx.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Tumnus
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Difficult to buy

PostedMarch 4, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
A good laptop. Windows 8 takes getting used to but that's standard now. Pretty fast and easy to use.
Phoned to buy as there was a problem with my original order. Spent £40 on phone bills being passed from department to department. Tedious.
Response from Dell.comBy SaraTforDellCustomer ReviewsMarch 26, 2013
Hello Tumnus,

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you had some troubles when placing your order. It is great to hear that you seem to be liking the laptop itself. Windows 8 definitely can take some getting use to. If you do need any extra information or tips on Windows 8, check out the support information we have available:

• Windows 8 Tutorial Videos:
http://dell.to/PSe0Kw
• Windows 8 FAQ's:
http://dell.to/10Sd6Qk

Thanks again!

-SaraT
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:mashudu
(Northam)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:School
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

it has a great features

PostedMarch 4, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
i bought the laptop , it was perfect but whithin 3 days it did not want to run a statr up. since i sent it back to the shop .its not back yet. that was my first Dell laptop
Response from Dell.comBy JohnBforDellCustomer ReviewsMarch 28, 2013
Hey Mashudu,

Sorry to hear about the problems with your inspiron 15R. If theres anything we can do, Use the information below to contact us. The team members below will get you taken care of.
Please reach out to our Dell Support Team at:

• Dell Community Forums – New to the Community:
http://dell.to/GY65Xz
• You can contact our Dell Cares Team on Twitter (@DellCares):
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ
• If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ
A Facebook account is not required to use this form. You will be asked to provide your Name, service tag, email address and a brief description of the issue.

Thank you. JGB
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:rs1229
(Texas)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

I love it!

PostedMarch 3, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I'm extremely pleased with both the features and the performance. The Dell Inspiron does what I hoped it would and more. I would definitely recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:OcalaJo
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Design/graphics
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Great slim, lightweight laptop

PostedMarch 1, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Nice little laptop, so easy to cart around. Windows 8 was a lot easier to get used to than I thought it would. The only disadvantage I can see is that I'm used to used the ten-key pad to type numbers, but that was a choice I made to get the wonderful features, speed and power of this model. I think this laptop will be in my life for a long time (well, in tech years).
Have had absolutely no problems with this Dell 15R. I love the help features that are right at my fingertips. I lived with that help the first few days, and now just refer to it when I want to learn something new about my magic machine.
Just a great little computer for the price. I believe I couldn't have done better without spending twice the money.
Pros:lightweight, slim easy to carry like a book
Cons:no 10-key pad, no other cons--great design!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JeremyPC
(TN)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

Works ok

PostedMarch 1, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
We bought this Oct 2012. In January we started having issues with the wireless disabling itself. Last week (Feb) the wireless totally stopped working and we had to buy a wireless adapter since we were a month out of our Parts Warranty. After some Googling, it looks like others have had the same issue. It would be nice to be able to get this replaced since it's only 4 months old. Otherwise, the computer works fine.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 10