Customer reviews for Inspiron 15R 5520

Inspiron 15R 5520

Inspiron 15R 5520
3.606 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 193 reviews
5 Stars
67
4 Stars
58
3 Stars
24
2 Stars
13
1 Star
31
3.6
 / 
5
(193 reviews) 185
137 out of 19371%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Inspiron 15R 5520
Review 1 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:logansama
(California)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

I seriously despise this unit.

PostedSeptember 1, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've always purchased Dell laptops and other than a few little design flaws, have loved them. This one...its big, clunky, the keyboard is awkward, its slow. In fact, I rarely use it. I've gone back to my 3 year old unit.
When I write, my hand brushes "Something" and I get knocked out of Word and into the big menu on the side. Now I accidently disabled the touchpad and there's no apparent way to restore it, so I'm effectively locked out of the computer. I've searched for help on how to turn it back on...to no avail. Now I'm going to have to call in, sit on hold and try to get it figured out.
I've given this unit nearly a year and between Windows 8 and this laptop's poor design, I'm ready to give it up. 1
Response from Dell.comBy JonathanNforDellCustomer ReviewsSeptember 3, 2013
Hello logansama,

I want to thank you for taking your time and posting here about your experiences with your Inspiron 15R. I apologize about some of the frustrations that you have been experiencing. The easiest way to enable/disable your Touchpad is to press the FN + F3 keys. More options can be found in the Dell Touchpad app, within the Control Panels section. Access this by going to Search, typing in "Control Panel", then going to Hardware and Sound>Dell Touchpad. Here you can play with the sensitivity and palm tracking settings and help eliminate any unwanted touches.

I recommend reaching out to our @DellCares team on Twitter and see if they can help you resolve these or other issues in a timely and professional manner.

http://dell.to/1f81nkZ

If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell’s Facebook Support Form and reach us there:

http://dell.to/18PGSrH

Hope this helps!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Danny152
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Disappointing in relation to brand

PostedJune 18, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this laptop in last december and after a month the hard drive statred to make sounds and had to be replaced, around the same time my right side usb ports also had to be replaced and this was the second time that my laptop was dismanteld. last week a burn pixle had appred on the screen and now my screen will be replaced.
Pros:very fast, good looking, very powerful
Cons:many faults, not very reliable ןn terms of hardware
Response from Dell.comBy SaraTforDellCustomer ReviewsJune 19, 2013
Hello Danny152,

I am really sorry to hear that you have had some issues with your system. I know having repairs is never a good thing, but I hope we were able to get you all taken care of quickly. If you do have any questions or concerns, please don't hesitate to reach out to us. If it is ever more convenient, we have support available online:

• Twitter (@DellCares):
http://dell.to/Tgt5D7
• Facebook Support:
http://dell.to/10icdPW
• Dell Community Forums:
http://dell.to/pwws14

-SaraT
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:A3B08
(Mangalore, Karnataka, India)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

good product

PostedMay 8, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
user frendly. it has good speakers.... love working on it
Pros:speakers system is good, display is great
Cons:battery back up must have been better, keyboard must have contained numpad
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Davej57butch
(East Providence, RI, USA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

Great value

PostedApril 30, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Bought this as a demo model and am very pleased with it.
Response from Dell.comBy SaraTforDellCustomer ReviewsMay 1, 2013
Hello Davej57butch,

Thank you for your review. It is always great to hear that you got a system that works well for you.

Thank you for choosing Dell!

-SaraT
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:k9i6m9
(California, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Great laptop

PostedApril 7, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
The speed and ease of use of this product are phenomenal. It's like having a desk top computer, except you are using a laptop.
I decided to upgrade my computer to a wireless mouse, since the mouse was forever moving away from me and I would lose it. I strongly recommend, this laptop, from surfing the internet to using word to create documents is seamless and I am so happy I got this computer. The price was very affordable for the general laptop computer. If you are new to Windows 8, as I am, there is a book I got from Staples, called "Windows 8 for Dummies", that I highly recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:gaurav007
(Jaisalmer, Rajasthan 345001, India)
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

amazing product!!!!!1

PostedMarch 23, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
this is a very nice laptop!!!!!! it is nice in everyday computing!!!!!!!!!!!
Pros:superb picture quality
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Lynda1
(Maryland, USA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Nothing but problems with this laptop!

PostedMarch 20, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Nothing but problems!! windows is a nightmare...I would not purchase the product again
Response from Dell.comBy DonaldDforDellCustomer ReviewsMarch 21, 2013
Hello Lynda1,

Sorry to hear about your problems with the Inspiron 15R (5520). You did not provide any details as to what you are experiencing. If you could take a moment and contact our Dellcares team, they may be able to help you out. Check them out at:

Social Support Team Contact:-
Twitter - @DellCares (
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ)
Dell Community Forum (
http://dell.to/GY65Xz)
Dell Facebook (
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ)

I know they can help!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MohitVerma019
(Jammu)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Best product i ever had of dell

PostedMarch 6, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Really... i must recommend this product highly... Adorable performance with great features in cost efficient manner... i just like this product very much .. One thing that attracted me more is the awsum battery backup upto 4:5 hrs along with 1 gb AMD graphics performance seen on windows 8.. Thanx.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Tumnus
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Difficult to buy

PostedMarch 4, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
A good laptop. Windows 8 takes getting used to but that's standard now. Pretty fast and easy to use.
Phoned to buy as there was a problem with my original order. Spent £40 on phone bills being passed from department to department. Tedious.
Response from Dell.comBy SaraTforDellCustomer ReviewsMarch 26, 2013
Hello Tumnus,

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you had some troubles when placing your order. It is great to hear that you seem to be liking the laptop itself. Windows 8 definitely can take some getting use to. If you do need any extra information or tips on Windows 8, check out the support information we have available:

• Windows 8 Tutorial Videos:
http://dell.to/PSe0Kw
• Windows 8 FAQ's:
http://dell.to/10Sd6Qk

Thanks again!

-SaraT
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:mashudu
(Northam)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:School
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

it has a great features

PostedMarch 4, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
i bought the laptop , it was perfect but whithin 3 days it did not want to run a statr up. since i sent it back to the shop .its not back yet. that was my first Dell laptop
Response from Dell.comBy JohnBforDellCustomer ReviewsMarch 28, 2013
Hey Mashudu,

Sorry to hear about the problems with your inspiron 15R. If theres anything we can do, Use the information below to contact us. The team members below will get you taken care of.
Please reach out to our Dell Support Team at:

• Dell Community Forums – New to the Community:
http://dell.to/GY65Xz
• You can contact our Dell Cares Team on Twitter (@DellCares):
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ
• If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ
A Facebook account is not required to use this form. You will be asked to provide your Name, service tag, email address and a brief description of the issue.

Thank you. JGB
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:rs1229
(Texas)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

I love it!

PostedMarch 3, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I'm extremely pleased with both the features and the performance. The Dell Inspiron does what I hoped it would and more. I would definitely recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:OcalaJo
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Design/graphics
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Great slim, lightweight laptop

PostedMarch 1, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Nice little laptop, so easy to cart around. Windows 8 was a lot easier to get used to than I thought it would. The only disadvantage I can see is that I'm used to used the ten-key pad to type numbers, but that was a choice I made to get the wonderful features, speed and power of this model. I think this laptop will be in my life for a long time (well, in tech years).
Have had absolutely no problems with this Dell 15R. I love the help features that are right at my fingertips. I lived with that help the first few days, and now just refer to it when I want to learn something new about my magic machine.
Just a great little computer for the price. I believe I couldn't have done better without spending twice the money.
Pros:lightweight, slim easy to carry like a book
Cons:no 10-key pad, no other cons--great design!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JeremyPC
(TN)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

Works ok

PostedMarch 1, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
We bought this Oct 2012. In January we started having issues with the wireless disabling itself. Last week (Feb) the wireless totally stopped working and we had to buy a wireless adapter since we were a month out of our Parts Warranty. After some Googling, it looks like others have had the same issue. It would be nice to be able to get this replaced since it's only 4 months old. Otherwise, the computer works fine.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Frustrated12
(Austin, TX, USA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Buyer Beware

PostedFebruary 21, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Although the processor performance on this machine is impressive, I have several complaints with the features installed on it.
1. The USB ports. Product descriptions and Dell support have stated numerous times that all 4 USB ports on this machine are USB 3.0 ports. However, only the ports on the left hand side actually appear to be USB 3.0. The 2 ports on the right side do not recognize my USB 3.0 Western Digital portable hard drive. After sending someone out to replace my motherboard, and the USB ports on the right side still did not recognize my USB 3.0 drive, the technician concluded that the problem must be software related. To date, no software of firmware update has been released to correct the issue. The USB ports on the right side still do not recognize my USB 3.0 drive.
2. The DVD drive. Sometimes it opens when you push the external button to open it, sometimes it doesn't. To get the drive to open when it's being finicky, you have to either do a software eject or reboot the system. The above-mentioned motherboard replacement did not correct the issue.
3. The wireless network card. Every other device I own, from both of my cell phones, to my Xbox, to my smart TV, have dual band wireless capability. This machine has only single-band capability, which, in this day and age, is pretty poor.
Most of my other complaints relate to the installed Windows 8 (which works like a beta version) and Dell's support site, especially as it relates to downloading an updating the drivers on the machine. Either the site won't allow me to download the drivers at all, or I'll get an error once the software finally downloads, forcing me to download the software again.
Pros:processor speed
Cons:usb ports, dvd drive, wireless network card, dell support site, windows 8
Response from Dell.comBy SaraTforDellCustomer ReviewsFebruary 26, 2013
Hello Frustrated12,

I am sorry to hear about your frustrations with this machine. If you haven't already done so, I would advise that you get in contact with technical support for a follow up in the USB 3.0 concerns and the DVD drive. They may be able help you isolate the issue and trouble shoot the root cause. Please feel free to contact our technical support experts using the following options:

• Twitter (@DellCares):
http://dell.to/Tgt5D7
• Dell Community Forum Laptop Board:
http://dell.to/pwws14

-SaraT
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Leslie63
(Fond du Lac, WI, USA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

My Inspirin 15R has all of the features I need and works great

PostedFebruary 21, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I love it. I had Dell include Student Office 2010 software and all is working great. The only problem that I have is that my wife and daughter are using it that I don't always get a chance to use it. Les
Pros:windows 8 is great
Cons:none
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:william70
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Meets most standard demands, hardware is upto date.

PostedFebruary 20, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought to hook up pc based scan tool for automotive needs as I am a mechanic, and its works very well. Do everything from facebook to watching movies and banking no complaints. HDMI is very nice since I sometimes use 32inch lg flatscreen as monitor.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MaureenO
(Fredericksburg, VA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:School
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Laptop lasted 3 months

PostedFebruary 19, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is the fifth DELL laptop that we have purchased and after only three months, it has turned into a technical nightmare. It started making a loud beeping sound when turned on that could only be stopped by taking out the battery. First we were told it needed a new motherboard, now it might be a processor. This is a hardly used three month old laptop. It looks nice on my desk, but I can't do anything with it.
Response from Dell.comBy SaraTforDellCustomer ReviewsFebruary 25, 2013
Hello MaureenO,

I am sorry to hear that you experienced issues concerning your new laptop. I pulled your service records and see that you were working with one of our technical support agents, and they were trying to get a hold of you to see if your issue was resolved. I hope everything is up and running. If you have any further questions or concerns, you can respond to the technical service agent you were working with, or you can reach out to us via Twitter- @DellCares (
http://dell.to/Tgt5D7) or through the Dell Community Forums (http://dell.to/pwws14), whatever is most convenient for you. They would be happy to assist.

-SaraT
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Dominozz
(NJ)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Great laptop for its value

PostedFebruary 18, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought the 15R as a laptop for my dorm. I wasn't looking for anything special with the strong Dell desktop that I already owned so I bought this for its value, decent specifications, and its good reviews. This is my first laptop (being a desktop person) and I actually enjoy using it! The design is slick and sturdy, but an issue I have is the power button feeling kind of spongy - I fear it will break over time. Another issue is that the speakers are small and located on the bottom side of the laptop, so make sure they're uncovered when in use. The Intel i5 turbo boost is great on the battery life - using more of the processor when needed.
Pros:great value, nice design
Cons:power button spongy, small speakers on the bottom front side
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Benvolio72
(Bunbury WA 6230, Australia)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Awesome Laptop!

PostedFebruary 17, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I love the design and the cutting edge technology this PC has been equipped with, it is really user friendly and very easy to use!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Inspiron 15R 5520
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Irish877
(Northern Ireland)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

A bit disappointed and annoyed

PostedFebruary 16, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Don't get me wrong, I purchased my inspiron 15R just 17 months ago and within the first week it had to be returned to the shop as it would not boot up for me. It was send off and I got it back 10 days later with a new motherboard fitted. 16 months down the line, the laptop again would not boot up and on inspection I was informed that yet again the motherboard would need replacing and as the cost would be more than the laptop cost, I would have my original purchase price refunded which I hope to receive anyday now. It still has costs me further as I have paid the usual price of Home Office and security software to be added to the laptop. I am now in the market again for another new laptop and although I still have my heart on another 15R model, I am hesitating in the event that this model might let me down again. I also bought the same model for my daughter and so far so good (using it now as a gap model)
Pros:great little laptop (when working), looks good, great onscreen picture
Cons:needs to be fitted with i15 for good performance
Response from Dell.comBy AnthonyAforDellCustomer ReviewsFebruary 22, 2013
Hey Irish877,

I am sorry to hear that your Dell Inspiron 15R has been experiencing some hardware difficulties. Unfortunately, hardware failures are possible and unpredictable. It is always recommended that you purchase additional hardware warranty.

You can learn more about Dell's warrant options here: dell.to/YIwSL1

Also, a great resource for technical support is our Online Support Teams. Feel free to reach out to us here:

• Dell Community Forums – New to the Community:
http://dell.to/GY65Xz
• You can contact our Dell Cares Team on Twitter (@DellCares):
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ
• If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ
A Facebook account is not required to use this form. You will be asked to provide your Name, service tag, email address and a brief description of the issue.

Thank you for choosing Dell.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 10