Customer reviews for Inspiron 1525

Inspiron 1525

Inspiron 1525
4.418 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 3,871 reviews
5 Stars
2,261
4 Stars
1,224
3 Stars
216
2 Stars
81
1 Star
88
4.4
 / 
5
(3871 reviews) 2430
3,552 out of 3,86292%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Inspiron 1525
Review 1 for Inspiron 1525
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Ljohn21752
(Colorado Springs, Colorado)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

ljohn2172

PostedJuly 18, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Our company purchased 12 Inspirons for our Board of Directors who had to access a SharePoint site for Board Materials. These laptops were used in their homes and we didnt have any complaints about the easy ue of the Inspiron.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Inspiron 1525
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MayaRose
Title:

Nothing But Trouble

PostedJuly 30, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
From the time I got my laptop (X-mas 2009) it has caused me nothing but trouble. Windows Vista could be the worst operating system ever developed. My laptop crashed multiple times until it finally just stopped working. I had to pay to get it fixed. Then, after I thought my troubles were over, the left hinge broke. As I found out, the only things holding the hinge together are made of plastic. It is a major design flaw. It's three years later and I am never buying a Dell ever again.
Pros:surfing the web, listening to music, writing papers
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Inspiron 1525
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:applelover2011
Title:

Inspiron 1525 is poor quality...

PostedJune 24, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
I got my Dell Inspiron 1525 for christmas in 2009... I have never stopped haveing problems with it... The windows vista 32 gb operating systems that was on my computer made the computer extremely slow since day one... Most games would not upload on it and if they did they didnt work properly. in may 2010 the left hing broke on the screen so now its had a loose screen... In february of 2011 the disk drive suddently without any falls or drops just stopped working... Also the computers crashed 3 times now. I keep having to factory default it for it to work.. Dont consider buying this computer or for the matter any windows operating system computers... Apples computers and tablets are way more reliable... They are worth the price. I am actually buying a new ipad 2 tonight to replace my 1525..
Pros:facebook, browsing the web
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Inspiron 1525
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:mrmikeofSC
(SC)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Great for the price

PostedFebruary 18, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is my 3rd purchase from outlet, the 2nd 1525
All have worked as well as expected and longer than I thought, we abuse laptops here
Will Buy Again
Pros:daughters fun and homework
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Inspiron 1525
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:OHIOBEST
(OHIO)
Title:

NO OFFICE

PostedNovember 30, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I HATE THE FACT THAT IT DOES NOT HAVE OFFICE. GREAT FOR THE PRICE BUT NO OFFICE.
-35points
4of 43voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Inspiron 1525
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:rachid1982fsb
(chicago il)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good

PostedNovember 29, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:development, video
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Inspiron 1525
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ILMDAVM
(Massachusetts)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Beware of hinges

PostedNovember 8, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased an inspiron 1525 almost 2 years ago. After only a year, with better than normal use, the plastic hinge on the right (that allows the computer to open and close and holds the monitor in an upright position) became jammed in the space between the keyboard and the monitor and had to be pryed loose. I had to use a bull dog clip to hold that side of my laptop together after that. A few weeks ago, the same thing happened with the right hinge and now the monitor is actually falling off of the computer. Very poor quality hardware. Very disappointed to have to purchase another new laptop already. It won't be a Dell.
Pros:word processing, connecting to work, internet, genealogy searches, excel, email
+32points
39of 46voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Inspiron 1525
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Rhiannon
(Port Orchard, WA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Dell Outlet

PostedOctober 29, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
Having been recommended to Dell Outlet by friend, I tried it out when buying a laptop for our son. Dell Outlet delayed the shipping of the product twice, which didn't really make sense to me. If it is a "scratch & dent," in my mind that meant that it was previously made, had some cosmetic blemishes, but otherwise worked fine. And even the thought the quantity online was limited, "due to high demand of the product" it was delayed twice. This was not good, because it was a birthday gift. We do end up getting it the day before the party, which didn't allow us much time to check everything. It turned on, worked fine, tried setting up parental controls, learned we couldn't because they sent Windows Vista Pro as an operating system, which doesn't have that feature... Day of the party, our son goes to turn it on - it does not turn on at all. We charge it, doesn't turn on. Use a different adapter, still doesn't turn on... Dell has to send a technician to our house to replace everything! It is irritating that the first person doing the assembly couldn't do it right the first time, and certify that it worked before mailing it out. I don't support Dell because of the poor oversight they take in the production of their product (my new Inspiron 530S desktop also broke after 3 months of use) and because they ship their jobs overseas.
Pros:school-education
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Inspiron 1525
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MountainmanPhil
(North Central Georgia mountains, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Oops, Quick Ship, Quick Recovery

PostedSeptember 23, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Dell Outlet purchase. Super quick shipping, great value. Hard drive failed in a week, but Dell support was excellent. Using On-Line Chat, did diagnostics and had new hard drive (with image already installed) the next day with pre-paid mailer to return old drive.
Pros:home use around house with wifi
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Inspiron 1525
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Entrylevel
(Georgia)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Solid laptop, but keyboard drives me insane

PostedNovember 12, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
For an entry level machine, it performs well. I can even play a few graphic intensive games at lower detail settings, which is amazing. It is not, however, a substitute for a desktop in either gaming or day to day use. There is a slight delay in screens refreshing and such.
It is solidly built, much better than the HP laptop I had before, which was a joke. However, the Inspiron shares an annoying feature of the HP. There is some function which causes it to go haywire if one accidentally hits the wrong key when touch typing. I cannot figure out what I am hitting, but it will close browers, open up new ones, erase whole pages of text, etc. I will have to break open the manual and see how to stop this. It is easy to have happen on the smaller keyboard of a laptop.
I was concerned about windows Vista but am happy that it seems stable, easy to use, and actually is an improvement in many ways over XP for me. It may slow the system down some, but it's hard to say for sure.
My wife works in the corporate world and they have always used Dells. She's had several over the years and they have always been solid, durable, and reliable. So I am glad I went Dell. I just wish that keyboard wasn't so feature laden that it causes me to lose my work from time to time. But for a laptop I just use when sitting around watching TV or something, it's fine for the price. Much more versatile and easy to use than a netbook, which we also own, btw.
Pros:entertainmment, web browsing
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Inspiron 1525
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:shisat1
(114 N. Bedford Ave., Castle Rock, CO)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

It's a hit!

PostedNovember 11, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
I've wanted a laptop computer for some time and the Inspirion I bought is absolutely great! It's faster than my work computer and does everything I need it to do. My daughter would be lost without it and uses it to keep in touch with friends. It's a toss-up who in my house likes it the most. It's so reliable, we haven't had any need to check out the Dell support yet!
Pros:photos and memory books, myspace, recipe collection!, emails, internet research, internet web sites
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Inspiron 1525
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:RandyT5194
(Home)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Keyboard ergonomics need attention

PostedNovember 10, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
I like the machine overall, at least so far, but the keyboard needs to be redesigned.
The engineers have put a variety of hardware controls on the top row of keys... where the Function keys (F1, F2, etc) would normally be, there are now keys for monitor toggle, wireless on/off, screen brightness, audio level, beginning/end, etc.
The Function keys are now accessed by a combination of a Fn key and the F1 key on the top row.
Putting the hardware control on the top row makes it very easy to turn the wireless function off.... Miss the "2" key and your internet connection is disconnected!
Guys, this really stinks. Put the Function keys back where they belong. Put the hardware controls back below them, as a Fn-key combination.
By the way, my model is an Inspiron 1545, not a 1525. But there was not a selection for the 1545 in your drop down box.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Inspiron 1525
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:CustomDesigned
(Fairfax, VA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Dell provides choice and excellence

PostedNovember 3, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
I buy from Dell because they are one of the few (maybe only) seller of low end computers with OS choice (installing a non-Windows OS on HP/Compaq, for instance, voids your hardware warranty - go figure). Our Inspiron 1525 came pre-installed with Ubuntu 8.04. We normally run Fedora, but the pre-install worked so well, we kept it (and now I have a little experience with Ubuntu). This laptop was for my Daughter's high school graduation present, and she has had no problems with it.
The CPU fan started rattling a few weeks ago (annoying, but also warning of immanent failure). So we called Dell, and they had us ship it back for replacement. I was very, very impressed with the mail-in repair process. They shipped us a very easy to use box with complete instructions. Dell understands that you may not wish to ship your hard drive for a hardware problem elsewhere (because of sensitive information, and because they might need to "re-image" it), and the instructions acknowledge this. The packing instructions, return shipping label, brown tape for sealing the package, were superbly designed. (Unfortunately, the FedEx office immediately covered the elegant packaging with sticky clear tape despite my protests. Whoever has to open the box at the repair depo, please don't blame me!)
The technical support person was also knowledgeable, and not at all one of those annoying and ignorant help desk types.
My only gripe is that fans should be field replaceable, and not integrated with the heat sink!
Pros:college online courses, multimedia, college papers
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Inspiron 1525
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:BudB
(US)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average

PostedOctober 28, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:Finances, consulting business
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Inspiron 1525
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:RitaG
(New York)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a week
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Nice computer for the money

PostedOctober 22, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
Redid my computer so that it has XP instead of Vista. Much better. So far laptop works great. Love having wireless. Now I can work from anywhere in my house.
I would definitely recommend this to someone else. Good buy for the money.
The only con is that it's always got finger prints all over it. Because of the shiny exterior, I find that I'm always polishing it so that it looks clean.
Pros:Connecting with Friends, Finances, work
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Inspiron 1525
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:NewEnglandDianne
(New England)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Good

PostedOctober 21, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
love it!!
Pros:Connecting with Friends, Finances, organizing pictures, games, music, you name it!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Inspiron 1525
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Annie3405
(Moline, IL)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

1545 Inspiron-Great for Basic Use

PostedOctober 14, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
We also own a Studio 17" laptop with alot of extras. This Inspiron is just for e-mail and on-line shopping:), however, I do notice that it is slower and there are "Security" problems that we are trying to figure out so I can view my on-line banking "e-statements". So far, between the bank, myself and my sons' large university we are not able to figure out how to view these statements because of something in the security system. Hopefully, soon this won't be an issue. Otherwise, its' a nice-size (15") to handle and is lightweight and great for basic computer use and simple games & photos. We do love dell products, it's just trying to figure out everything when you first get your laptop. I'll have to call technical support on this.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Inspiron 1525
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MRRIDGE1
(New York)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

My new Inspiron

PostedOctober 7, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
After 6 years I had to replace my Inspiron 5150. Friends and family tried to get me to try a different brand but I'm glad I didn't listen. Very happy with the quality and looks of my new Inspiron and especially the price. Received my new custom built Inspiron in less than 10 days after ordering which I thought was very fast. Spent the extra money and got Windows XP which I would recommend.
Pros:Connecting with Friends, Finances, shopping
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Inspiron 1525
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Bette42
(Vancouver, WA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Love It!

PostedOctober 7, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
I love my new laptop. I have had Dell products for many years, but this is my first laptop. It came in a very timely manner and when I had trouble setting up the Wireless connection (the CD wouldn't work), I was able to get excellent service from Dell Support. It is so nice to be able to take my laptop from room to room, plus my daughter was so happy to be able to put her Sims 2 game on it! I can now still use the desktop while she occupies my new laptop!
I have already recommended this laptop to a friends daughter who is now in college.
Pros:Connecting with Friends, writing whatever i need to write
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Inspiron 1525
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Pinky1234
(England)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Disgraceful Laptop!!!!

PostedSeptember 27, 2009
No, I do not recommend this product.
I would strongly reccomend noone buys an Inspiron 1525!! I purchased mine in the start of February, a month later and it was already sooo slow!!Now I've come to a point where I just use it when I have to which is not like me!!I know for a fact I or my family will never be buying a dell again!!
Pros:for work purposes
-1point
5of 11voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 122