Customer reviews for Inspiron 1520

Inspiron 1520

Inspiron 1520
4.569 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 605 reviews
5 Stars
401
4 Stars
160
3 Stars
31
2 Stars
10
1 Star
2
4.6
 / 
5
(605 reviews) 565
564 out of 60194%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Inspiron 1520
Review 1 for Inspiron 1520
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ewgino
Title:

Solid enough to do Web Development on

PostedJanuary 2, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I needed something affordable to do web development and this did the trick. Responsive keyboard, decent sound, crisp screen, clear web cam and fast enough performance. I have been using it for over two years and I haven't had any issues with it at all.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Inspiron 1520
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:claperle
Processor:Intel® Core™ 2 Duo Processor T5250 (1.50 GHz, 2 MB L2 cache, 667 MHz FSB)
Title:

Not impressed

PostedApril 29, 2009
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros:A lot of features
Cons:Screen very dark.
-11points
6of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Inspiron 1520
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:unionyes
(Iron Range, MN)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Processor:Intel® Core™ 2 Duo Processor T5450 (1.66 GHz, 2 MB L2 cache, 667 MHz FSB)
Memory:1024MB 667MHz Dual Channel DDR2 SDRAM
Hard Disk:160GB (7.200rpm) SATA Hard Drive
Screen:Anti-glare, widescreen 15.4 inch display (1280x800)
Title:

Great deal

PostedApril 22, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:The price was right, the delivery was quick and the laptop meets all my needs.
Cons:Haven't found any yet
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Inspiron 1520
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:AFordMan66
Processor:Intel® Core™ 2 Duo Processor T7500 (2.20 GHz, 4 MB L2 cache, 800 MHz FSB)
Title:

Great Laptop

PostedMarch 16, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
Keep up the great work.
Pros:I recently purchased an Inspiron 1520 for "going back to school." Me at age 43, Ha Ha.. I have found this laptop to be very versatile for my school needs. Lightweight and powerful, connects easily for wireless use. A great package. Look to Dell cutting edge technology at a great price. Thanks, Steve
Cons:None at this time.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Inspiron 1520
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Anonymous
(Toronto, Ont)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Average
Processor:AMD® Turion 64 X2 Mobile Technology TL56
Memory:2048MB 667MHz Dual Channel DDR2 SDRAM
Hard Disk:80GB (5.400rpm) SATA Hard Drive
Screen:Anti-glare, widescreen 15.4 inch display (1280x800)
Title:

Good

PostedDecember 9, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Great computer. I added more RAM and it works much better
Pros:Great colours. First computer with vista and at the beginning I was a little hesitant, but it has worked out well. Great for everyday things like checking e-mail, listening to music (with attached speakers) and watching a movie.
Cons:A few... The power cable doesn't stay in very well this is annoying if it's sitting on your lap. If it is sitting on your lap for a while your a bound to get a little hot. The fan is nice and quiet but gets quite warm. A problem I seem to be having is when I hibernate the computer sometimes when I go to turn it back on it shuts down right away and I have to start it up again.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Inspiron 1520
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:5hogun
(christopher.ormerod@gmail.com)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Processor:Intel® Core™ 2 Duo Processor T7500 (2.20 GHz, 4 MB L2 cache, 800 MHz FSB)
Memory:2048MB 667MHz Dual Channel DDR2 SDRAM
Hard Disk:160GB (7.200rpm) SATA Hard Drive
Screen:High Resolution, glossy widescreen 15.4 inch display (1440X900)
Title:

High Quality / Price Ratio

PostedJuly 16, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
It might be worth also considering the studio 15. The range of processors is comparable, however, the graphics card, i.e. the ATi 3450 is not as good as the 8600M GT. Overall, it is very difficult to find such value for money.
Pros:The range of processors available on this machine are good. The default processor offers a fair amount of grunt, however, I would recommend a modest to high increase. The T9300 and T8300 options for this model generally outperform E6600 desktop processor for example. That is, for a moderate increase, the processors are competing well against descent desktop CPU's. The 8600M GT is a huge bonus for this machine. It is a great gaming card for the price you pay. The card and this machine is a match made in heaven for the price you pay. Generally, it can run most of the latest games at a good speed with a high level of detail. Fans of Crysis, Enemy Territory : Quake wars and Assassins creed would be very satisfied by the gaming performance. For those not needing the gaming performance, the 8400M GS is ok, but for the extra money, you are getting the 8600M GT which offers more than a substantial increase in gaming and general desktop graphics performance. The screen is great. The natural resolution being 1440x900, which is sufficient for most (including myself). The webcam performance is quite clear, and is superior to some of the standard webcams available for about $60- $90 in the shops.
Cons:The only minor issue worth mentioning is that the graphics card is not compatible with any (easily accessible) drivers except for those available from the dell website. Updates of the drivers for this graphics card are few and far between. However, even without the newest drivers, the performance is still very good. The other issue is that is slightly heavy. That said, it is a good solid laptop build. If weight is a primary concern of yours, perhaps you should look at an XPS. That said, your not going to get the features for the same price on an XPS model.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Inspiron 1520
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:diggems
(TAmpa, Fl)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Good
Processor:AMD® Turion 64 X2 Mobile Technology TL56
Memory:2048MB 667MHz Dual Channel DDR2 SDRAM
Hard Disk:120GB (5.400rpm) SATA Hard Drive
Screen:Glossy, widescreen 15.4 inch display (1280x800)
Title:

slow boot

PostedJuly 15, 2008
No, I do not recommend this product.
price was right for what you get
Pros:price was great deal, colors ideal, screen size great, big button keyboard, good sound in speakers
Cons:very slow powering up, starting windows, sometimes had to power offand on 2-3 times, sometimes ENTER automatically sent mail or messages before the button was clicked
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Inspiron 1520
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:GG
(lgo77808@bigpond.net.au)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Good
Processor:Intel® Core™ 2 Duo Processor T7500 (2.20 GHz, 4 MB L2 cache, 800 MHz FSB)
Memory:4096MB 667MHz Dual Channel DDR2 SDRAM
Title:

Inspiron 1520

PostedJuly 12, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
I specced up the laptop in graphics and ram (4MB).
I run XP Pro instead of Vista.
I use it for business only and it easily runs all the applications that I use.
This is my second Dell (previous one was a Inspiron 6000) and the reliability is consistently good.
I went cheap on the hard drive (250GB) and should have ordered the 7200 rpm drive as it was brilliant on the other Dell, this one seems to take much longer (or I've become too impatient).Ease in online ordering and delivery is excellent
Would I buy another Dell laptop - yes.
Pros:Great screen and resolution (1680 x 1050) Heaps of features make this a great value laptop. Reliability
Cons:Can be heavy to carry (but I use a shoulder bag) so not too cumbersome. Drive seems slower than previous model (see below) CD/DVD Burner sounds clunky when burning
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Inspiron 1520
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Dell's fan
(tantserchin@gmail.com)
Processor:Intel® Core™ 2 Duo Processor T7100 (1.80 GHz, 2 MB L2 cache, 800 MHz FSB)
Title:

great laptop..... with great specs...

PostedJune 25, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:it's certainly better than 1525 with it dedicated video card..... =)
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Inspiron 1520
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:carousel266
(carousel266@hotmail.com)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Processor:Intel® Core™ 2 Duo Processor T7500 (2.20 GHz, 4 MB L2 cache, 800 MHz FSB)
Hard Disk:160GB (7.200rpm) SATA Hard Drive
Title:

Pretty laptop, shame about the noise

PostedJune 17, 2008
No, I do not recommend this product.
This would be the perfect laptop if it wasn't for the noisy hard drive. Unfortunately, despite a replacement hard drive the laptop still makes the same sound.
Pros:Everything else!! Looks great, runs like a dream.
Cons:Noisy hard drive - constant clicking sound is incredibly annoying.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Inspiron 1520
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Fishplate
(prattsmith@bigpond.com)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Average
Processor:Intel® Core™ 2 Duo Processor T7100 (1.80 GHz, 2 MB L2 cache, 800 MHz FSB)
Memory:2048MB 667MHz Dual Channel DDR2 SDRAM
Hard Disk:160GB (5.400rpm) SATA Hard Drive
Screen:Anti-glare, widescreen 15.4 inch display (1280x800)

PostedJune 17, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:AS BELOW!!!!!!
Cons:It is just a great machine.Webcam,Bluetooth & heaps of other features make this a truly great laptop.Vista home premium works fine.A beauty+++
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Inspiron 1520
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:dy
(dokuta_yero@yahoo.com.au)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Processor:Intel® Core™ 2 Duo Processor T7300 (2.00 GHz, 4 MB L2 cache, 800 MHz FSB)
Memory:2048MB 667MHz Dual Channel DDR2 SDRAM
Hard Disk:160GB (7.200rpm) SATA Hard Drive
Screen:Glossy, widescreen 15.4 inch display (1280x800)

PostedJune 16, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Great notebook for the price. However, if you plan on carrying it around, you may be better off with a thinner and lighter model such as the 1525.
Pros:Good specs for price Feels sturdy
Cons:A little thick in places A little heavy Lid clip could be a little tighter Excessive electrical noise on the headphone out jack
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Inspiron 1520
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:meli
(melissakeskin@hotmail.com)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Processor:Intel® Core™ 2 Duo Processor T7100 (1.80 GHz, 2 MB L2 cache, 800 MHz FSB)
Title:

very happy

PostedJune 13, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
great computer. i got mine in pink very happy with it. when i first got it i thought it was too heavy but now i'm used to it and i think its because of the hard drive. i use mine to play world of warcraft all the time and it works great. graphics also great . very happy with it . speed is good. also sound when playing music is great . loud and clear and good quality. i'm very happy i bought this one and i really love buying off dell. everything seems so simple and easy. when i go to buy laptops in shops there is too much to deal with dell make it simple. my husband is probably going to end up getting the same model as mine
Pros:reliable fast good sound good looking sturdy good graphics good battery time
Cons:a bit heavy thick
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Inspiron 1520
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:hello1
Processor:Intel® Core™ 2 Duo Processor T7500 (2.20 GHz, 4 MB L2 cache, 800 MHz FSB)
Title:

ok

PostedJune 11, 2008
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros:glossy screen
Cons:problems registering products through wireless internet conect trouble starting up all of the way wireless thing on side very picky sometimes slow functioning
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Inspiron 1520
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Anonymous
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Good
Processor:Intel® Core™ 2 Duo Processor T7100 (1.80 GHz, 2 MB L2 cache, 800 MHz FSB)
Memory:1024MB 667MHz Dual Channel DDR2 SDRAM
Hard Disk:160GB (5.400rpm) SATA Hard Drive
Screen:Glossy, widescreen 15.4 inch display (1280x800)
Title:

nothing but trouble

PostedJune 10, 2008
No, I do not recommend this product.
if i could trade and be assured the new one had all the current bells and whistle i would trade it for a xps
Pros:the wireless n is nice
Cons:the machine wasnt loaded with the latest software, it did a windows automatic update tried to load ie7 and i have had trouble ever since, also the ac adapter and the bios version had trouble.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Inspiron 1520
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JillC
Processor:Intel® Core™ 2 Duo Processor T5450 (1.66 GHz, 2 MB L2 cache, 667 MHz FSB)
Title:

OK, with one flaw

PostedJune 10, 2008
No, I do not recommend this product.
I'd have no complaints if my keyboard wasn't flawed.
Pros:Not too heavy
Cons:Mine came with the enter button on the keyboard askew. It has gotten worse, and even though I've only had it a week, it is ready to fall off - a brand new machine shouldn't have this problem.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Inspiron 1520
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Tomcat900
(Colorado)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Processor:Intel® Core™ 2 Duo Processor T7500 (2.20 GHz, 4 MB L2 cache, 800 MHz FSB)
Memory:4096MB 667MHz Dual Channel DDR2 SDRAM
Hard Disk:160GB (7.200rpm) SATA Hard Drive
Screen:Glossy, widescreen 15.4 inch display (1280x800)
Title:

A definite buy

PostedJune 10, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Would definitely recommend this product to anyone looking for an affordable yet powerful laptop. I recommend buying this for multiple reasons. The first is it has XP operating system on it. The second is you can customize it to be extremely powerful and not break the bank. I give it 5 stars.
Pros:Fast Windows XP Plenty of upgrades when you are buying it. Easy Xpress card slot good quality large screen
Cons:Glossy screen glares No option to update video card
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Inspiron 1520
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:suds
(sudda89@hotmail.com)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Good
Processor:Intel® Core™ 2 Duo Processor T7500 (2.20 GHz, 4 MB L2 cache, 800 MHz FSB)
Screen:High Resolution, glossy widescreen 15.4 inch display (1440X900)

PostedJune 10, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Very impressed with the value. I got the full top spec with everything except max ram for only $1965. (took me like 3 months looking for the best promos). However, broke down heaps of times (motherboard, HDD, SD card reader, power pack) but i've got the next buisness day insurance so it wasn't too bad.
Able to play current games.
BTW i cant select it on the options below but the stats were:
2.4 C2Duo 800MHz
3GB 667 ram
320gb HDD
2MP webcam
1440X900 Trulife screen
Pros:Screen size & quality Graphics Features Value
Cons:Big & heavy High-pitched whining sound from processor Broke down many times
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Inspiron 1520
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Overkill
(ct)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Processor:Intel® Core™ 2 Duo Processor T7500 (2.20 GHz, 4 MB L2 cache, 800 MHz FSB)
Screen:Anti-glare, widescreen 15.4 inch display (1280x800)
Title:

More then I'll ever need

PostedJune 9, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
There are some bugs in this package that have got to be worked out but over all this computer has plenty of good things to out way that one bad thing.
Pros:More then enough power,speed and memory to last me till I really really see a change in laptops that I've got to have. An I say this because I really don't ever see me having to buy another laptop.
Cons:It dose have a problum in that if you leave the arrow on something your thinking about activating it will just pop up on it's own without you doing anything '' like pressing the mouse'' and that can be a real pain if your arrow is on something your just thinking of opening.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Inspiron 1520
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JamesLT
(Phoenix, AZ)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Good
Processor:Intel® Core™ 2 Duo Processor T7300 (2.00 GHz, 4 MB L2 cache, 800 MHz FSB)
Screen:High Resolution, glossy widescreen 15.4 inch display (1440X900)
Title:

Excellent laptop!

PostedJune 9, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
All Dell laptops should have the option of putting Windows XP on them. At least for the next 4 years or so...
Pros:Excellent quality. I was able to choose "most" of the features that I wanted to add to this laptop. I have been using it for a month now and have had no problems with it.
Cons:In order to get Windows XP on a laptop, I had to choose an older model. I also would have like to upgrade the video card but that was not an option when I was customizing my computer.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 29