Customer reviews for Inspiron 15 (N5030)

Inspiron 15 (N5030)

Inspiron 15 (N5030)
3.341 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 126 reviews
5 Stars
36
4 Stars
38
3 Stars
15
2 Stars
7
1 Star
30
3.3
 / 
5
(126 reviews) 121
77 out of 12661%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Inspiron 15 (N5030)
Review 1 for Inspiron 15 (N5030)
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:GRUGREW
(Jackson, MS, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

A piece of junk

PostedJune 28, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
The Inspirion M5030 is a piece of junk. I am so disappointed with Dell. Cost to repair is better spent on investing in a new computer with someone else.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Inspiron 15 (N5030)
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Kitkat89
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Had problems from the start

PostedFebruary 20, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had this laptop two years and it just recently died on me due to processor failure. I started having issues with it like 6 months after i got it that it started blue screening on me randomly out of no where. I thought maybe it was just something I was doing. Then after a year of having it the screen started turning pink if i moved it. So i had to keep it open and moved a certain way or the screen turned pink. Obviously by then i no longer had a warranty. If i happened to accidentally bump it a little itd turn off automatically. If i played games it'd turn off. Then one day i woke up and turned it on and it just started beeping and stayed black. According to dell this means processor failure and in order to fix it i'd have to replace the mother board. So yea guess I'm getting a new laptop. Now maybe some people think laptops should only last two years but I have a bit higher expectations than that. This laptop was bad from the start. I had a dell before this one and the battery died in a year and also had issues. This time I'm going with a different brand.
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Inspiron 15 (N5030)
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:YoMama
Title:

An excellent computer, with a couple of problems.

PostedFebruary 3, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
First of all I have to say I love this computer for what it does for my needs. Also I received it as a gift.
Pros: It has an amazing screen. Extremely fast PCI wireless card. I use it for an extremely light game called Minecraft. It does that exceptionally and smooth, with little to no lag.
Cons: The battery doesn't last as long as hoped. When gaming without being plugged in it gets very laggy. Also the processor is only something like 1.2 Ghz. (Don't quote me on that!)
Other thoughts: I would recommend this laptop to anyone who does not do any heavy work or video editing.
Pros:light gaming, watching online videos, multitasking
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Inspiron 15 (N5030)
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:RichT123
Title:

nice portable laptop at a good rpice

PostedJanuary 4, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
i purchased this laptop form dell oultet and its been much better than expected.
it has a Reasonable battry life, esecialy if running in a power save mode - even better a second battery is used - together with an (unofficial) external charger - this means that you can leave the battery charging un attended with your laptop somewhere safe.
As for use, ive used my laptop while out and about - its often been with me whilst camping, and other places, so its stood up to some use in some rough conditions.
On the negative side of things - its not exactly slim, but for the price what do you expect.
As for the F keys and the fn button/key you can change this setting in the set up 9 bios) menu, press F2 on start up and theres an option for the F keys to have either multimedia option first of F key use first/
Pros:Travel, mobile web broswing, media streaming, video playback
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Inspiron 15 (N5030)
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:UnhappyDellUser1949
Title:

7 LOUD BEEPS

PostedNovember 25, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Do Not Buy this product. I had my Dell M5030 for 18 months and one day I turned it on and all I got was 7 LOUD BEEPS....Diagnosis? Motherboard Died....after only 18 months (warranty expired after 12 months). Cost to repair?? $400-$500. When I googled 7 LOUD BEEPS, I found at least 6 pages of people complaining about the exact same thing! I have used Dell computers in my working career over a period of years, but they are now inferior products. This is not just my opinion, but feedback from friends and co-workers, also.
Pros:Travel
+12points
14of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Inspiron 15 (N5030)
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:leahjay
(Chicago)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

7Beeps

PostedNovember 18, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had this computer for a year and a half rarely use it. One day turn it on but it didn't come on it just beeped 7 times and I'm seeing that this is a problem for this model. I liked my laptop until it stop working.
Pros:browse the web, listen to music, look at videos, play compatible pc games, study
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Inspiron 15 (N5030)
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:TLindsey
(CT)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Inspiron

PostedOctober 8, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
The inspiron is not durable and not worth the money. The warranty that Dell sold me less than 1 year ago for $275.00 covers nothing. The technician wants another $378 to fix the laptop. Plus the customer service rep (Kajy Singit) was extremely rude and would not let me speak to his boss to log my complaint. It was basically take it or leave it. Not sure Dell is going to get very far with that attitude.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Inspiron 15 (N5030)
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:surfdancer
Title:

Poor Design

PostedSeptember 27, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
While I have enjoyed the price point and some of the other features, the usb connectors don't work well (don't hold well) and the audio connectors, in the front, cause extraordinary wear and tear on headsets.
Pros:work and play at home
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Inspiron 15 (N5030)
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:rvarner
(Nevada)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Good Value

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Purchased this one after my Dell 1501 screen went out. Thought it a bit early for a failure after 4 years but was ready to upgrade anyway. The M5030 has worked well for us since purchased but I would like to see at least one more usb connector and the power cord outlet moved to the back. I just ordered a 570 desktop and it will be my 5th dell pc.
Pros:Travel, internet
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Inspiron 15 (N5030)
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Knightime1
Title:

Great buy for the price

PostedJuly 3, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I've had this computer for over a year, and I've never had any problems with it. I use it mainly to go on the Internet and socialize with friends, and to play games on (not games that require a high level graphics card though). As long as you make sure to burn or purchase restore discs and have a good antivirus, this computer will do what you need it to do. Just don't buy this computer thinking that it can do everything that a computer with a four-core processor can do. All-in-all,I'm very happy with my purchase.
Pros:internet, socializing
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Inspiron 15 (N5030)
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Ted1611
(Now in New Zealand)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Don't buy this!

PostedJune 6, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this refurbished from here. When it arrived the keyboard was sunken a little in the center, I chose to ignore that. Then I realized that there were no function keys, you have to press a seperate function key and then a number. This was bothersome but I got used to it. three months in and the I'm in New Zealand and the hard drive quits. To Dells credit they sent a tech and replaced the drive then I was happy I had purchased from Dell. Now 15 months after purchase the motherboard has given up the ghost. Guess what, I'm not that happy any more. A real bad experience over all, now out of warranty and need to spend $200 for a new motherboard. My old Inspiron 1525 is still running though. I baby my computers, this M5030 only sat on my desk till it died last week.
Pros:business writing, personal correspondence
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Inspiron 15 (N5030)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ChirpyChick94

PostedMay 9, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have had this laptop since the 18th August 2011 and it has never failed to do anything that I have wanted to do. It has been there like a friend to me when I needed one. If you think that I am a little wierd then just stop reading it right here. I don't think that this laptop has ever done something wrong. It broke once because I downloaded something that I souldn't have. Apart from that it has been great.
Pros:homework, playing
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Inspiron 15 (N5030)
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Anonymous
Title:

To much much trouble

PostedApril 27, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I don't know what to say I have had the laptop sense sept 18 2011 and i have had it sent in 3 times for only hard drive replace ment and I have to reinstall the OS around 18 times now the latest time I have sent it in the day i got in back turned it on and the os wasnt even installed correctly and I had to reinstall the os again the laptop is amazing when it actually works and I wish dell could actual give me a good hard drive...
Pros:programing, Gaming, average use, School
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Inspiron 15 (N5030)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Caloy
Title:

dell rocks

PostedApril 26, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Hi. i've been using dell for almost 2 weeks and from the time i started to use it, it really surprise me on it's specs..i got this dell as a present from my sister from Canada. and so far, i am satisfied with my laptop.
Pros:over all usage
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Inspiron 15 (N5030)
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Lisam012
(Virginia)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good

PostedApril 15, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I would recommend it but I would also recommend that as soon as u get the computer to also get the restore discs. Because I can't do anything right now that will fix this computer without the restore disc.
Pros:home for games, hme for writing my books, home for net activity
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Inspiron 15 (N5030)
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:TheCodeWarrior
(Michigan)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Good buy, if it is what you need...

PostedMarch 13, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
First, let me start off by clearing the air. I have read most of the reviews, and it seems that those who are positive about the laptop knew what they wanted before selecting the M5030.
The person who suggested Dell have software warranty...Not going to happen, with anyone. Your OS is easily damaged by you, and if not in front of the computer or a RDC, it is nearly impossible to diagnose all the the possible problems. Second, many times Hardware is bad from the manufacturer. Dell uses the highest quality components that can be assembled at a given price. Last, the M5030 is not a gaming, high output unit. It is designed for the casual user on a budget. I own nothing but Dell and I have never had a problem with any of them. My desktop is a Precision 380 Workstation, it is meant for more invasive processing, games included.
Now, I bought this to get a win 7 64 bit registration key, and to have a machine to run Ubuntu 11.0 (used 10.3) when I got it. It runs perfectly, and because it's Linux, it's very fast. The AMD chipset and CPU in the M5030 are not 'top dog'. AMD processors compared to Intel CPU's is like a Ford Focus to a Porsche. AMD can't handle as much data, not nearly as fast, even at the same core clock speed. The onboard VGA from AMD/ATI is middle of the road, and since it shares conventional memory, you get latency issues. So expect that.
This is a great system for school, internet, and most office related tasks, and you can't beat the price. It comes loaded with all necessary features to make you want it more. Blu-Ray would be nice but DL DVD+/-rw is fine. The webcam, all network hardware, and peripherals made me fall in love with it. I have not had a single problem with it except when I first got it out of the box, I went to WinXP Pro SP3, and it kept resetting. Finally figured what was wrong, and then turned around and put Linux on it instead. Linux rules over Windows, IMHO, and can even beat out that 'other' company's OSX. This is a great laptop for a student, adult who needs a middle tier office machine, or the over indulgent beta-tester like myself. My next laptop is going to be a Dell 17" with an i7 CPU, 1GB Video, Blu-Ray, 64bit OS, 12 GB RAM...so, hint hint Dell, if you're reading, my birthday is coming up.
Pros:linux software testing, online gaming, web design, music recordin
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Inspiron 15 (N5030)
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Team118
(Rochester, NY)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Inspiron M5030

PostedMarch 5, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I needed a backup laptop and a friend gave me this to use.
I used a number of different Dell laptops and a few HP for work. I really do like this model. It's design is very 'spartan'. Everything you need is literally at your finger tips. I can't think of anything that should be added.
I've installed the newest version of MS Office and there were no hiccups. Obviously most of the pleasure of using the laptop is the software and Windows 7, but that certainly helps make the machine worthwhile.
The only drawback is the keyboard. It seems a bit 'squished' for the size of the laptop, but I believe once I get used to it, it will be fine.
The ABSOLUTE one thing that turns me off is the proprietary ownership Dell has on its peripherals. My dog chewed the power cord and until I get a new ac adapter from Dell I'm stuck with no way to recharge the battery. That is frustrating and from what I have read, buying a OEM adapter is fraught with uncertainty...I understand the logic why they do this, but other laptops don't have this issue.
Otherwise great machine and for the price, a great rig for the average user!
Pros:backup for work at home
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Inspiron 15 (N5030)
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Anzac9
Title:

A Good-Value Entry laptop

PostedFebruary 24, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought two of these in 2011 on promotion, the second 6 mths after the first. They're my 5th and 6th dells. Strengths include a good basic design, with great online support. It was delivered inside 48 hours...beat that! It's not a high-end product but well-suited to routine travel, email and net browsing. Graphics and sound handling are fine. The Readyboost option via the spare SD card reader is an outstanding way to double RAM for a few bucks only. Win7 is not greatly improved over XP IMO and ditto Office 2007 vs 2003, but I'll migrate over time. No hardware issues yet save I found it impossible to connect a Bluetooth mouse & keyboard and went back to dongle that works reliably. Fingers crossed we'll have a good 6-7 years service out of these, like the Dell 3000's they're replacing.
Pros:email, powerpoint, Travel, net
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Inspiron 15 (N5030)
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:collegekid15
Title:

Terrible Computer and Costumer Service..

PostedFebruary 23, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I got this laptop as a gift for graduating high school in May 2011. When I first started using it, I liked it because I take a lot of photos and it had a card reader on it. Well, I go to put my SD card in it and it doesn't work. I updated the software and it still didn't work. A while later, I noticed when I moved my computer a certain way, it'd just shut off. The battery is loose even when it's 'locked' into place. This is a terrible flaw as I like to move my computer around some while it's ON. That's the whole point of having a laptop. Another thing I noticed was I was having difficulties with the touch pad. At one point, it stopped working completely and I had to use a wireless mouse until it randomly decided to work again. The last thing is that sometimes when I plug in the laptop to charge, it says it cannot charge because the battery isn't recognized or that it's not the battery that goes with this laptop.
This whole computer is trash. I had a warranty on it, so I sent it in to the company and told them what was wrong, etc. After a few weeks, I finally got it back. NOTHING was fixed!! It's like they took it out of the box I shipped it to them in, stuck it and a paper saying they fixed everything into a new box, and sent it back to me. The customer service was a joke when I tried calling about it. I do not recommend this laptop to anyone. It's honestly the worst computer I have ever had. I will never own a Dell computer or product of any type again.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Inspiron 15 (N5030)
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Xeareux
(Wisconsin)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Dissapointing

PostedFebruary 11, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I recieved my dell on the last christmas and since then have gone through three hard drives, 7 crashes requiring a full reboot, and countless hours spending time staring at a blue screen. The computer itself is poorly designed with the power cable port in the middle of the left side and the usb ports right next to it. The computer is slow overall and the graphics arent great. It struggles to not lag on anything even with visual settings as low as they can be. And the battery life leaves a lot to be desired. I love dell but this model was by far a total failure
Pros:Gaming, internet, basic processing
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7