Customer reviews for Inspiron 15 Intel N5050

Inspiron 15 Intel N5050

Inspiron 15 Intel N5050
3.793 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 58 reviews
5 Stars
28
4 Stars
14
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
2
1 Star
11
3.8
 / 
5
(58 reviews) 57
46 out of 5879%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Inspiron 15 Intel N5050
Review 1 for Inspiron 15 Intel N5050
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Bartek
(New York)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

The laptop died after 8 weeks of use

PostedNovember 23, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have only used this laptop for Skype, and internet browsing. The hard drive died after 8 weeks of lite use.
Response from Dell.comBy SilangchiSforDellCustomer ReviewsNovember 25, 2012
Hi Bartek,

It is surprising for me to know that this machine died within 8 weeks and am very sorry for that.

So I would suggest you to check with our Dell Support team.They will be able to check and see and keep a follow up for the same.You can reach them in :-

Twitter @DellCares –
http://bitly.com/P5W1OT
Facebook -
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ

I hope this helps.
Thank you for choosing Dell !
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Inspiron 15 Intel N5050
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:venkatesan
Title:

Brand new laptop get stuck

PostedSeptember 24, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Hi,
Bought new laptop 3 weeks before. Getting stuck in every 15 minutes. I have to switch off and restart again. I never experienced like this before with my previous laptop.
+9points
24of 39voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Inspiron 15 Intel N5050
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:bonnie0510
Title:

Would not buy again, very frustrating!

PostedSeptember 20, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this because my last two laptops were HPs and I wanted to try a different brand. I generally use my laptops to search the internet and download/display photos. I have only had this computer for a few months and have already had problems with it crashing/freezing. I don't download files from the internet and have always used Norton Antivirus. For the most part the computer works fast enough and is similar to the other laptops I have bought in the same price range. My biggest complaint is that I have not been able to connect my Panasonic camcorder (that I use for videos and photos). Every time I try to plug it in to any of the USB ports I get an error message 43 (windows will not open because it has detected problems with the device.) I have researched this problem online and it seems to be very common. I have tried all the remedies and nothing works. I never had any problems connecting it to my other laptops (that also used windows 7)and it connects fine to the desktop we own. The whole reason I bought this laptop was to download/display pictures and I can't. I will not be purchasing a new camera as this one has all my kids photos/videos on it and it cost over $1000. I feel like my only option is to buy a new computer, which makes this purchase (just a few months ago) a complete waste of money. This is my first Dell and it has been such a frustrating experience.
Pros:photos, searching the internet
+6points
18of 30voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Inspiron 15 Intel N5050
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:angryandannoyed
Title:

I will not be buying another Dell

PostedSeptember 17, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I will not be buying another Dell I had my Dell Inspiron 15 for 6 days and it crashed, all the way down to a blue screen 7 times. When I called customer support, they were no help they just kept calling me back, just to tell me the problem is being investigated. They never fixed it or offered to replace it. NO computer should EVER crash, even once in the first week a person has it. Also the wireless is HORRIBLE, I have to troubleshoot EVERYTIME is change sites. I am extremely unhappy.
Pros:personal/school
+24points
27of 30voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Inspiron 15 Intel N5050
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:airgwar15
(Alexandria VA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Poor quality, Flimsy base, no webcam installed.

PostedSeptember 16, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought Inspiron 15 less than 2 years ago. Never had webcam installed as paid for. Called a very nice tech support, but I couldn't hang on for the marthon attempted resolution process. Now, same laptop has a white horizontal line running across it. Since then, monitor has blurred and is unusable. I am a father and husband and don't have the time to spend to resolve.
Pros:work
+2points
7of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Inspiron 15 Intel N5050
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Shashwat
(Lucknow)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Extremely Disappointed

PostedAugust 3, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I am extremely disappointed with the system when I found that my system does not have Bluetooth.
Now, Every computer has Bluetooth in built. Unfortunately mine does not have.
No one tells me about that at the time of purchasing. I know should ask for that.
Person at Dell exclusive store handed over me a price list with tech-summary of each system. They have not specified either a system has Bluetooth in built of not in that price list.
Pros:music, software development, internet, business
-18points
25of 68voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Inspiron 15 Intel N5050
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:PB00
(Harrisburg, PA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

I can't believe it

PostedJuly 28, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
We have 5 Dell Insperion Laptops - this is the first one that doesn't have the number pad.
INCREDIBLY DISAPPOINTED...
Tried to return it but informed they don’t make a 15” with a numeric key pad for anything smaller than the 17”. 17” is too big for my use…
New one is sitting in the box – can’t decide whether to send it back or not. I like my Dells, but not sure I can deal with a keyboard that doesn’t have the numeric keypad. My old (other mfg laptop) doesn’t have one and I’ve always hated that about that one. I think I will have to send it back and try some other laptop brand…
...not happy...
-12points
38of 88voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Inspiron 15 Intel N5050
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Anonymous
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Dell Inspiron 15 N5050 is not worth it

PostedJune 29, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Crashes once and never boots to the log in screen. Just recently purchased Dell Inspiron 15 N5050 and all i had so far were problems
Pros:audio production, vidoe production
+21points
35of 49voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Inspiron 15 Intel N5050
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:poppy20
(preston)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

They don't make them like they used to

PostedJune 27, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought about a month ago. I chose to buy a dell laptop due to my previous one being a dell and working brilliantly with no probems for 3 years. Unfotuantly it broke through an accident therefore I was happy to purchace another dell laptop.
Since recieving it it has crashed twice; the second time having to have its complete hard drive replaced. Since then there has been several problems with the software. As a university student I cannot afford or have the time for such problems.
A plus is the dell technical support team are very helpful who I have spoken to several times.
Pros:university, general
+32points
34of 36voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Inspiron 15 Intel N5050
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Amit81
(Vadodara, Gujarat, India)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Dell(TM) Studio 15 Laptop (S541019IN8)

PostedApril 9, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this laptop Studio 1557 with i7 processor and waited for it impatiently till I successfully got it in about 2 weeks. No problems with Dell ordering and delivery via Blue dart.
This is my 7th Dell Laptop in past 12 years and the 1st I bought in India. All previous ones were bought online in US while I was living there.
But the good news ends there. Once I started using it the battery gradually got bad in a years time requiring a five thousand rupees battery replacement.
The worst part about this Laptop and most in these series nowadays is that they heat up like a Bajaj heater. They emit so much heat that your environment around you itself will become hot and uncomfortable to sit around this laptop. Once it gets hot enough it of course shuts down on its own and then after you have waited an hour for it to cool down it will show a blue screen.
In winters it is great though because the laptop doubles as a Bajaj room heater and will keep your environment around the work desk nice and snugly.
I have bought at least 3 cooling pads in past 2 years and even the best ones of cooler master with 3 dedicated fans have failed to cool this laptop.
This is perhaps the worst laptop I have ever used and have decided never ever to buy a dell again.
Be very very careful before you make this purchase.
+27points
55of 83voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Inspiron 15 Intel N5050
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:davisclanx4
Title:

Not as speedy as I hoped for

PostedSeptember 28, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Have had it for 3wks seems to be getting slower everytime I use it. Said battery life was 7hrs I might get 3 1/2hrs if lucky.
Pros:home internet
+7points
12of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Inspiron 15 Intel N5050
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:SKAMA
(Mumbai)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Very Fidgety Keyboard

PostedMarch 29, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I recently purchased the N5050. It is a good product for this price point.
However the Keyboard is very fidgety and the cursor keeps jumping from place to place for no apparent reason.
I land up using 25% of my editing time to see where the mouse is and rectifying errors due to the sudden jump.
This is quite painful. The keys do not look strong and the entire casing is very plastic.
The make is so bad that I can see the led lights glowing from cracks in the joints which shouls have been sealed.
Greatly disaapointed. I would not recommend this product considering the pain I am facing with the keyboard and touchpad. Imagine trying to find where the cursor is and realizing that you have been typing at some wrong location.
Pros:development
+16points
22of 28voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Inspiron 15 Intel N5050
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:cobra347

PostedJanuary 31, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
A good computer I give it 6 out of 10 good price
Pros:personal
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Inspiron 15 Intel N5050
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DellMfane
(Hong Kong)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Inspiron 1540

PostedNovember 1, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
This machine is robust if a little heavy as a daily portable but ok if this is your budget.
I downloaded Windows 8 to it and PERSONALLY I am a little lost now and I think the machine is too. guess it still has to learn.
Wishes:
I wish that it had a back lit keyboard, and 2nd function keys were easier to operate with one hand. I struggle to maintain a connection with my work wifi but that's about it.
Pros:for work, for web searches, for social media
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Inspiron 15 Intel N5050
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Taygo45
(Jacksonville, Fl)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Webcam never working

PostedJune 25, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have always used Dell, but with my new Inspiron N505 I am not pleased with the webcam. I can never get it to work, sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't. I have called the Dell number, and spent a total of 5 hours on the phone with representatives, and had a Dell technician come to my house. I'm at the point where I have to go and RETURN my computer and purchase a new one, all because my webcam never works. I am pleased with the computer, otherwise.
Pros:personal, School
+18points
20of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Inspiron 15 Intel N5050
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:urseeingdouble
Title:

Practical

PostedJanuary 2, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
The Dell INSPIRON is everything i expected it to be. When shopping for a laptop for my needs The Dell INSPIRON was a perfect fit. From pricing to function i didn't have look any further.
Pros:business, documents, internet, business email
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Inspiron 15 Intel N5050
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:jazzloversince1960
(Tampa,Florida)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Newbie
Title:

5 stars for service, 3 stars for laptop

PostedDecember 23, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I like this computer, but the hard drive went bad 4 months after I purchased it. Dell paid shipping for me to send it back to them. It was returned and works OK so far, but it was missing some of the software that came with it when I purchased it, such as Microsoft office and Roxio. I contacted support, and had to go through 2 marathon 3 hours sessions where they reinstalled the missing software.
So why am I giving this 4 stars? THE SERVICE IS EXCELLENT. I have seldom had a company respond to my complaints so quickly and thoroughly. They actually called me back when they said they would. I have had so many companies take my phone #, but never call back. They kept me informed. In this day and age that is fantastic. So I would probably buy another Dell . I have had HP laptops, and service was so-so.
Regarding this computer, it is a budget model, so I don't expect it to be perfect. I notice a couple of the other reviewers here have had hard drives go bad. So much can go wrong with such a complicated device. Hope it works for another few years.
Pros:email burn cdsurf net.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Inspiron 15 Intel N5050
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:broadway47
(Arkansas)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Dell Inspiron

PostedNovember 22, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I love the versatility it has and of course the speed, reliability, and the cool sleek black design. Tried it on our flat screen using the HDMI port and we love it. If we want to look at pictures of family and/or friends on Facebook we simply plug it in the T.V. and there it is...AWSOME...
The only thing is wish it had a little better graphics card. However, the one supplied is sufficient for home/office users.
If your looking for a dependable low priced laptop this is the one, you will not be disappointed.
Pros:personal use, office use
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Inspiron 15 Intel N5050
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:image6
Title:

best labtop

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
i love my dell i can do lot of things like get on the inerent,playgames,take picture,and lots more things
Pros:software development, buniess, Travel, chat
-6points
1of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Inspiron 15 Intel N5050
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:jspriggs111
(Lake Charles, LA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

I love my first laptop!

PostedOctober 14, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is my first Dell and my first laptop. So far I love it! It's a cert. referb. but seems brand new. I was a little nervous when I first opened the box and there was no user guide. However I turned it on and setup was quick and easy. A real bonus for someone like me who needs a very user friendly computer. So most things about this laptop fall under the pros category for me. Excellent picture quality, super fast, nice feel to keyboard and I like the look. The two cons I've noticed, 1. The battery seems to run down quicker than I expected, but I've mostly watched movies or been on the Internet. Maybe that takes more power. 2. The sound quality isn't great for music if your not pretty close to it. That being said, for what I wanted out of this computer, I got it and more. Haven't tried the web can yet. I would recommend this laptop, and a cert. referb. Makes it an amazing deal. Thanks
Pros:web browsing, research, streaming video, pictures and music
+23points
24of 25voted this as helpful.
1 2 3