Customer reviews for Inspiron 15 Intel N5040

Inspiron 15 Intel N5040

Inspiron 15 Intel N5040
3.388 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 139 reviews
5 Stars
41
4 Stars
42
3 Stars
15
2 Stars
12
1 Star
29
3.4
 / 
5
(139 reviews) 134
87 out of 13963%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Inspiron 15 Intel N5040
Review 1 for Inspiron 15 Intel N5040
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(New Bedford, MA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Blew a hard drive

PostedMay 3, 2016
Yes, I would recommend this product
After being used every day for about 5 years, it finally blew its hard drive. I've replaced it with an SSD drive, and it now has Windows 10, so it's a great laptop!
Pros:faster with an ssd
Cons:blew a hard drive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Inspiron 15 Intel N5040
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

Inspiron N5040

PostedApril 12, 2016
No, I do not recommend this product.
My Inspiron N5040 worked well the first few years that I had it. It is about 4 years old now and has many problems. It has always been prone to getting viruses but this has gotten worse. It has gotten slower when loading apps and the internet. Since I first got the computer the cursor has the tendency to jump around when typing which is very annoying. This computer has the habit of freezing too. Alot of the time a program will stop responding or the mouse will freeze and cannot be moved. I would not say that this is a very good computer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Inspiron 15 Intel N5040
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

Oldie but Goodie !

PostedMarch 16, 2016
Yes, I would recommend this product
A bit old but fully functionable, easy upgrade to Windows10. Use her daily; wish as lightweight as todays models but still perfect for my needs. Will never hesitate to replace someday with same.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Inspiron 15 Intel N5040
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

inspiron5040

PostedDecember 14, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
windows 10 is a good program compaired to windows 8. It has successfull merged vist,windows 7 and windows 8 together. However, it continuously refress the laptop inpiron5040 leaving us not able to use it or have to do the same process all over again. That is why it is average to my opinion for this laptop
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Inspiron 15 Intel N5040
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Boston, MA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Casual Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Ol' Reliable

PostedAugust 14, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had this laptop for over 4 years and used it almost everyday. I got it when i was just a young teen so I used it a lot for basic things such as web browsing, video watching, and playing casual games such as minecraft. It put up with all of the tasks that I threw at it such as bogus downloads and sketchy torrents. It took me over four years of torture to kill this thing. It was great when it worked, yet struggling from time to time when I tried to multitask too much. In the end, the only thing that gave out was the hard drive.
Pros:lasts a long time, physically tough, affordable, great first computer
Cons:heavy, bulky, got very hot, flimsy screen
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Inspiron 15 Intel N5040
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(UK)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

Good (after i replaced Dell factory fitted RAM)

PostedOctober 6, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Firstly-
After many many BSOD, and Dell Diagnostic checks (which found no issues)i ran a 3rd party memory test programme and found the memory modules that Dell used in the factory build to be majorly corrupt, so i had to replace these as it was 'just' out of standard 12mth Warranty period. Been a solid laptop since then tho.
Secondly-
On the day i received the laptop the Warranty period was shown to already have been about 2-3 months into the 12mths Dell give you as standard. I wasnt very pleased, as i believe the Warranty should begin when product is first WITH customer, not while its still on the retailers shelf.
All that aside, i'm currently awaiting delivery of a new inspiron 15 7000 series which i'm very much looking forward to receiving.
I do hope it gives me no reason to complain like my 1st Dell product has.
Response from Dell.comBy SaraTforDellCustomer ReviewsOctober 8, 2013
Hi M80OSM,

Thank you for providing your feedback on this system. I am sorry to hear that you encountered some problems with the memory but it is good to hear that it has been working well for you since replacing them. I hope you enjoy your new system as well. If you have any questions or concerns, please don't hesitate to reach out to our DellCares team. They would be happy to try and help.

• Dell Community Forums:
http://dell.to/155dMV9
• Twitter (@DellCares):
http://dell.to/1beHgBz
• Facebook Support:
http://dell.to/147YZ7w

-SaraT
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Inspiron 15 Intel N5040
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(NC)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Another HD failure

PostedJuly 1, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have purchased 4 Inspiron laptops (and a desktop) in the past 2 years. I have had TWO hard drive failures, both at 13 months- just out of warranty. Likely my last Dell. Otherwise, (honestly) I really like the computers-ice displays, good features, etc.
Pros:great display
Cons:hd failure(s)
Response from Dell.comBy SaraTforDellCustomer ReviewsJuly 2, 2013
Hello Capndar,

I am sorry to hear that your experience has not been the best one. This is not the experience we want you to have. Please reach out to our DellCares team through any of the methods below. They may be able to help.

• Twitter (@DellCares):
http://dell.to/Tgt5D7
• Dell Community Forums:
http://dell.to/pwws14
• Facebook Support:
http://dell.to/10icdPW

-SaraT
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Inspiron 15 Intel N5040
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(West Texas)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Great for everyday use

PostedApril 9, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought this laptop a year ago in 2012 with my tax return. Since I've bought it I have constantly used it every day for basic internet and email. I used to play some older Real Time Strategy games, and they ran just fine.
The hard drive space is more than enough for media storage like movies and music. I had hundreds of songs, and a dozen movies to keep me entertained while I was away from home at work. I still have plenty of space left for even more movies and music.
The RAM is more than enough for this computer. But I'd rather have it and not need it, than need it and not have it. In fact, software is still reaching the point of trying to utilize all 4GB of RAM that this laptop packs.
The screen is a very decent size, although the resolution makes it hard to find a good desktop wallpaper, that's not really any issue. What matters is that it's just enough to keep me happy with over a year of day-to-day use.
The only issue I've ever had was about 5 months ago, late 2012. I had been watching youtube videos all day on 720p, when the screen messed up. I don't believe the constant video watching is what caused the problem, but it most likely didn't help. I called Dell and they offered to fix it at no charge, as it was still under warranty. They paid for everything, including shipping, and it took less than 2 weeks to get my laptop back. It's worked like a charm ever since.
In conclusion, this is a great laptop for the price. It does what you want it to do, and has cause little to no errors. I expect this laptop, given the hardware specs, to last until at least 2015 until it becomes outdated.
Pros:price, hardware specs, longevity
Cons:battery life (2.5 hours)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Inspiron 15 Intel N5040
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Constant Hard Drive Problem

PostedMarch 15, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've always loved Dell ever since I bought my XPS M1210 four years ago and I've been recommending it to all my friends and family. That is until I bought this laptop. Two months after I bought it the hard drive started making a loud clicking sound and the computer would freeze up completely. Usually a restart would fix it but it is really disappointing to see my favorite brand making a PC that's so unreliable.
Pros:great value
Cons:unreliable
Response from Dell.comBy DonaldDforDellCustomer ReviewsMarch 18, 2013
Hello Al2012,

Thank you for being a long time Dell customer. Hard drive failures are never fun but, they do happen from time to time. It does not matter who you buy the computer from. We all use the same drives from the same manufacturers. Please contact Dell Technical Support to enact service and get that system up and running in no time. Make sure you tell them you will need a factory image.

Thank you for sharing, let's get you working again!

For Tech Support Virtual Agent, Chat, Phone, Email:-

http://dell.to/nKRY0q

Social Support Team Contact:-
Twitter - @DellCares (
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ)
Dell Community Forum (
http://dell.to/GY65Xz)
Dell Facebook (
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Inspiron 15 Intel N5040
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(North Carolina)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

disapointing

PostedJanuary 17, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is the 3rd Dell I have purchased. It has crashed 3 times now in a year. The hard drive was replaced twice. Now they tell me it is a corrupt windows file. Of course the warrenty is out. It seems they would back a product that has crashed twice already. This has been a lemon from the start. Our other tower and laptop have been super. I would not recommend the N5040.
Pros:surfing internet and entertainment
Response from Dell.comBy JohnBforDellCustomer ReviewsJanuary 21, 2013
Ducky49,

Sorry that you had a terrible experience with our customer service. Use the information below if you need to contact us for anything. The team members below will get you taken care of.
Please reach out to our Dell Support Team at:

• Dell Community Forums – New to the Community:
http://dell.to/GY65Xz
• You can contact our Dell Cares Team on Twitter (@DellCares):
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ
• If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ
A Facebook account is not required to use this form. You will be asked to provide your Name, service tag, email address and a brief description of the issue.

Thank you. JGB
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Inspiron 15 Intel N5040
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Glenbrohane Ireland)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Best Computer Ever

PostedDecember 25, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Got this laptop today it is absolutely faultless
Easy to start super fast great design great keyboard and great design
Pros:
Suuper fast
Great Design
Great HD Screen
Great Sound
Good Batterlife
Cons:
None so far
Pros:email, music, video, homeuse
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Inspiron 15 Intel N5040
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Christmas Gift

PostedDecember 9, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I purchased this Laptop last year as a Christmas present for my son. We had problems right out of the gate loading new software. Through out the Year I made a total of 4 calls to tech support and was told over and over that it was a software problem. One tech even told me it was a Virus. Finally 1 week before the warrenty expired the HD completly failed. Dell Fixed it under warrenty and now its running great! This is a solid little laptop and you cant beet the price, but the internal hardware is cheap and tech support is just some guys reading from a script. Very poor service and support Techs. This is my 4th Dell and I will still buy dell, but recomend you get an extended warrenty and be aware you get what you pay for.
Pros:software, online, School
Response from Dell.comBy VikramNforDellCustomer ReviewsDecember 11, 2012
JLClark,

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with the Dell Inspiron 15!

Sorry to hear that this machine didn’t live up to all of your expectations. As a return consumer I know what your expectations are. We really do appreciate the comments that you had about this system. It’s a great service to us here at Dell when our customers give us the type of feedback that you have in this review.

Do remember, we are listening and apart from regular phone support there are other ways to get in touch with us. I encourage you to reach out to one of our online Social Media Support Teams because they can troubleshoot and identify the best solution for you.

• Dell Community Forums – New to the Community:
http://dell.to/GY65Xz
• You can contact our Dell Cares Team on Twitter (@DellCares):
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ
• If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ
A Facebook account is not required to use this form. You will be asked to provide your Name, service tag, email address and a brief description of the issue.

Hopefully we can continue to have a great relationship with you like we have had previously.

Thanks again, hope you have a great day ahead!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Inspiron 15 Intel N5040
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:

PostedSeptember 26, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Good one
Pros:it proffesional
+6points
9of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Inspiron 15 Intel N5040
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:

PostedSeptember 4, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
An excellent every day laptop that I enjoy using more and more. The screen is big, bright and clear, There is plenty of memory, disc storage, and ports.
This laptop is very responsive opening and running programs, and surfing the net. It would make a great affordable present for any student or for the whole family to enjoy.
Pros:browsing internet, watching movies, email, listening to music
+20points
21of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Inspiron 15 Intel N5040
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:

PostedSeptember 3, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I've had the Dell N5040 for a week now, and so far it is running smoothly. I purchased this product after reading many specs that claimed that the battery lasts up to 6 hours, wheras my laptop barely lasts 2 hours. I am a little annoyed as I chose this laptop because I thought it would have a long battery life. Why is my laptop only lasting 2 hours?
Response from Dell.comBy VikramNforDellCustomer ReviewsSeptember 4, 2012
Mistry,

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with the Inspiron 15.

Sorry to hear that the battery back up has not been up to the mark. Many factors affect the amount of time that a portable computer battery can deliver power before it must be recharged. These factors include the configuration (processor, memory, etc.), types of applications being run and display brightness. Additionally there are several battery configurations available which will have different life times as well. There are certain updates that may also be required for this system. I would advise that you contact technical support team via phone/chat, or reach out to our Social Support Team directly via Facebook/Twitter or the Dell Community Forums. I have attached the relevant links below.

For Tech Support Virtual Agent, Chat, Phone, Email:-
http://dell.to/nKRY0q

Social Support Team Contact:-
Twitter - @DellCares (
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ)
Dell Community Forum (
http://dell.to/GY65Xz)
Dell Facebook (
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ)

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience!
+1point
5of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Inspiron 15 Intel N5040
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

Operating System Crashed

PostedSeptember 2, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased the Dell Inspiron on 8/15/12. On 8/31/12 the operating system crashed. I am waiting to receive a flash drive in the mail to re-boot the operating system. The majority of the people I talk to find this unacceptable in a brand new product. The jury is still out on the repair.
Pros:web, e-mail
Response from Dell.comBy GinaVforDellCustomer ReviewsSeptember 4, 2012
Hello msftran,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with your recent Dell purchase. While we do perform numerous tests on a system to ensure that it is up to standards, there are bound to be hiccups once they leave our testing environment and are used in real-life situations, some of which we can’t predict. While this is not a typical occurrence for this system, we are glad to know that our Tech Support Team was able to assist you promptly in this situation.

Should you continue to need assistance, please reach out to our Social Support Team directly via Facebook (
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ); Twitter - @DellCares (http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ); or the Dell Community Forums (http://dell.to/GY65Xz). They will be able to assess, diagnose and resolve your concerns ASAP!

We are here to listen and respond to our customers’ needs and to help provide you with a positive Dell experience.

Again, thank you for your feedback, and have a great day – Gina.
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Inspiron 15 Intel N5040
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

I will always perfer Dell products.

PostedAugust 27, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
reliability and customer service of Dell is better than HP. Both of these companies are similar when we compare their designs. However, Dell has won two more categories than HP and it's enough to conclude that Dell is the favorable option when it comes to laptops.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Inspiron 15 Intel N5040
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(palm bay, fla.)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

worth it

PostedAugust 23, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I enjoy DELL products, the ability to make payments, & receive support are great. thanks DELL!!!
Pros:class lessons online, games etc
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Inspiron 15 Intel N5040
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

Poor Quality of Screen Lid

PostedAugust 14, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I do not recommend to buy this model without buying the 3-Year Accidental Damage Service at the same time. The screen lid is flimsy and may easily get damaged during travel. When I received the laptop from Dell and realized how weak the lid is, I immediately tried to buy the Accidental Damage Service but Dell wanted to charge me a much higher price for it than in the original offer.(To my knowledge, this policy is not indicated on the Dell website).
Pros:Travel
Response from Dell.comBy SaraTforDellCustomer ReviewsAugust 16, 2012
NKKT,

I am sorry to hear this system has not lived up to your expectations. As it turns out, warranties generally do cost more after you have received the system versus purchasing at the point of sale. If you have an issue with the system, please feel free to contact our technical support agents, they may be able to help.

• Tech support Forums:
http://dell.to/NjitjY
• Twitter (@DellCares):
http://dell.to/Tgt5D7
• Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
http://dell.to/OO2MDG
+10points
11of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Inspiron 15 Intel N5040
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

Delete Key not working

PostedAugust 9, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have purchased this laptop 18 days back.now delete key is not working.Key board is not so good.
I would prefer other laptop models
Pros:personel use
Response from Dell.comBy VikramNforDellCustomer ReviewsAugust 13, 2012
venkatabasu,

Sorry to hear about your experience with the keyboard. We are listening and would like a chance to try and correct this problem for you. Please contact any of Dell's Support Teams at:

• Dell Community Forums – New to the Community:
http://dell.to/GY65Xz
• You can contact our Dell Cares Team on Twitter (@DellCares):
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ
• If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ
A Facebook account is not required to use this form. You will be asked to provide your Name, service tag, email address and a brief description of the issue.

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience!
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7