Customer reviews for Inspiron 15 3521

Inspiron 15 3521

Inspiron 15 3521
4.016 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 670 reviews
5 Stars
293
4 Stars
232
3 Stars
59
2 Stars
35
1 Star
51
4
 / 
5
(670 reviews) 665
545 out of 67081%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Inspiron 15 3521
Review 1 for Inspiron 15 3521
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Ellis115
(England, UK)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Inspiron 15 (3521) Hd Graphics 4000, Intel i3. 6 years of purchasing dell products review.

PostedMay 20, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have had this laptop a good few weeks now, tested it fully and know the positives and negatives. I have been purchasing systems only from Dell for 6 years, hopefully my review will help you out.
Look and design:
Nice sleek, thin and comfortable designed laptop- the casing is a very nice ridged texture that looks and feels brilliant. It does accumulate finger prints but nowhere near the level other systems do. It's also light weight.
Screen is nice and wide, perfect for work, gaming and browsing the web. It has a glossy glare which is really nice, easy to clean and good quality. Bright and details are great.
The Keyboard is perfect, easy to clean, stylish, nice quality feel and durable. Remember, black absorbs heat and makes it fade. Unfortunately I left mine in the sun and the keys have faded (that is my fault not the product) I'm still looking to find a replacement, would be great if I could be directed.
Trackpad feels great, very responsive and easy to use. Left and right clickers (I made that word up) are very nice and feel like they're built with quality. However, sometimes the mouse freezes for anywhere up to 40 seconds when opening numerous programs or running scans. This does get a little bit frustrating especially knowing it's an i3 processor. The palm rest has a sharp-ish edge on it, but I'm sure that will wear down with use.
Performance; I would say it lacks a bit of performance as it should load easy tasks in seconds, it does not always respond when I ask it to and some applications fail to load as quick as they should. Most of the time it works perfectly, it laggs very rarely.
Gaming; Intel HD Graphics is an integrated graphics card that is basic but still very good. I play a standard browser based MMO that runs at 40-45 out of 50 Frames Per Second, for me that is very good. It also handles some games well such as Skyrim, Dirt and Farcry at medium graphics.
Audio is great, very loud and clear.
Webcam is very nice, perfect for streaming, very high detailed with no 'jittering.
Ports are good, the HDMI works perfectly and looks great with my TV.
AC adapter (power supply): Standard yet very durable and lightweight.
Windows 8: Easy to use, quickly able to adapt from taking a first time leap from XP all the way to the newest OS. At first I was a bit pessimistic, but I'm very happy with it's design, features and ease of use.
Service and delivery was great from Dell as usual. A very satisfied customer and I won't fail to recommend this product.
Cons:
Disk tray is flimsy and not very well built when open, it still performs well. The casing on the front of the screen (trim where the webcam is) feels 'plasticy, weak and cheap, the back is ridged and a nice design though.
Overall rating from me, 8/10. Some mildly rough patches but still a great system, the price is very decent for what you're getting. Remember to look up coupons! - I might get a telling off for that...
Thanks for reading. Good luck with your future purchase.
+66points
72of 78voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Inspiron 15 3521
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Melissa11
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Amazing little computer

PostedNovember 8, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I got the Inspiron 15 back in March 2013 a few months after it came out and have had it now for about eight months. It's a really nice computer. It's the most thin and lightweight computer I've ever had. Windows 8 took a while to figure out but eventually you get used to it. I also had an issue with it always showing fingerprints on the outside and on the mouse pad every time someone touched the laptop when it was new, but I don't really notice anymore the longer I've had it. It is packed full of features. Everything I wanted in a laptop, this laptop has. It has a nice webcam, a big enough screen, nice graphics, tons of apps, large hard drive, nice speakers, spaced out keyboard, numeric pad, several USB ports & external drives, media card reader, long battery life, fast processor, a CD/DVD Drive, doesn't have a loud fan, doesn't heat up that much, smaller/durable computer charger, is very portable, easy to travel with, and has a nice exterior design. I got it for a reasonable price with a discount. After having the Inspiron 15, it's the exact same thing as more expensive and popular laptop brands except way cheaper and very affordable. I definitely don't regret purchasing this laptop and would buy it again any day.
+34points
34of 34voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Inspiron 15 3521
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Khuyen
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Good value for the price

PostedMarch 25, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I like this laptop because it is cheap, light weight, and seems to have a good performance, except one problem that I am considering to return. The first time I turned it, there was a loud sound of the fan or the hard driver ( I am not sure). I hoped it would stop after few minutes, but it didn't. Now every time I turn this laptop on, this sound bothers me, especially when I use the laptop in a quiet place. Can someone help me to fix this problem so I don't have to return it? Thanks.
Cons:there is a loud sound.
+36points
39of 42voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Inspiron 15 3521
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:KMfromNJ
(New Jersey)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Just OKAY.

PostedFebruary 2, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I had a Dell XPS for the past 2.5 years, which I LOVED. Unfortunately, I spilled some liquid in it and had to purchase a new laptop. I was pretty short on money, so I decided that since I had such good experiences with Dell, I'd get another one that wasn't as pricey.
It was very easy to set up out of the box. On the slip it said that there was a DVD included, which I did not see; it was just the laptop, manual and power adapter.
The laptop itself is okay.
PROS:
-It's light, and I'll be able carry it around easily (my XPS was super heavy).
-It's pretty fast for the most part.
-Decent battery life.
-4 USB ports
CONS:
-I really don't like the 'texture' of the laptop. It has this ridged-looking and matte texture. Unfortunately, fingerprints and such is very visible and makes the laptop look dirty.
-Although it's light, it does feel a little cheap. I feel as though it could break any time now. I'm sure it's durable, but just doesn't feel like it.
-For some reason, the text on the browser (both Explorer and Firefox) is a bit off at times; it will look fuzzy for a few seconds, then it will look fine. I'm guessing this is a laptop issue? If so, hopefully it can be resolved somehow.
-The space bar is constantly sticking, which makes typing difficult and annoying. Again, I'm hoping there is a solution to this.
-The cd drive is an actual tray that you need to press on the side to eject. I'm used to the drives where you just slide in the cd. This is pretty old school, and it feels very flimsy when I have to put in a cd and actually press it down so it can fit, then push the driver back in. This is very annoying as well.
-If you're not used to a numerical keypad on your laptop, it may take getting used to. I basically have to remember to shift my hands a bit to the left, or I end up typing gibberish.
-Nothing really lights up. If you press the power button, you don't know if it's actually on until you hear little sounds. There is no light on the power button, around the keys, etc.
I think I was spoiled by my XPS; I went from fairly high end, to very basic. I'm a graphic designer, so I need a pretty heavy duty laptop; I haven't used it that much for designing yet, so hopefully it will hold up alright. If you need a very basic laptop without the bells and whistles, this would be a good one to purchase.
Pros:graphic design, internet, word processing
Response from Dell.comBy SaraTforDellCustomer ReviewsMarch 22, 2013
Hello KMfromNJ,

Thank you for providing your feedback on this system. Feedback like this really does help us to learn what features our customers find most important. If you have any concerns or questions, feel free to reach out us. We are available online through the following methods:

• Twitter (@DellCares):
http://dell.to/Tgt5D7
• Dell Community Forums:
http://dell.to/pwws14
• Facebook Support Form:
http://dell.to/VFvcjv

I hope this system will work well for all your designing needs. Thank you again for sharing.

-SaraT
+53points
64of 75voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Inspiron 15 3521
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ChuckieT
Title:

Cheaply made

PostedJanuary 25, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
The lid is cheap plastic. The screen is bendy. Seriously. i could bend it in half vertically if i didn't want to waste the money i. Spent 3 days ago when I ordered this. For the sake of thinness it seems Dell has sacrificed quality. I was absolutely shocked when I opened the computer for the first time. I never would have thought something so bad would come from Dell. This is the 4th Dell I've purchased since Dell entered the PC market.
Then the base cover is more of the same cheap, thin plastic. Some time it lines up seamlessly, sometimes there is a bit of a ridge.
The only way I'd recommend this is if a person never intends to take the PC out of the house, never let's small children use it, or if they just need a simple "get by" computer.
Pros:home
Response from Dell.comBy SaraTforDellCustomer ReviewsMarch 19, 2013
Hello ChuckieT,

Thank you for submitting your feedback. I am sorry that this system is not meeting and exceeding your expectations. This system is designed to be a light-weight value system for basic home use and for students. If you are looking for something with a metal chassis, I recommend looking at the Inspiron 15R 5521 which features a brushed aluminum finish.

-SaraT
+46points
59of 72voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Inspiron 15 3521
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:charliem
(Oakland Park, Florida)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

My Favorite Laptop

PostedNovember 21, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Over the years I have purchased a number of laptops and Pcs from Dell. Being a long-time Dell customer I keep my eyes open or their new products.
This is my second series 15 I've purchased this year.I liked the first so much that I gave it as a gift to a good friend(WHO IS NOT REALLY COMPUTER LITERATE)) She is so happy that she has signed up for computer lessons.
Missed my gift so much I had to buy another 15.
Pros:fast with verizons 4g
Cons:could use 2 usbs on left side
+19points
19of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Inspiron 15 3521
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Emma001
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Great laptop, for all uses and all ages

PostedApril 17, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Given this laptop for my birthday and exceedingly pleased, windows 8 is fantastic as I gives you the option to go to normal view and the new layout.
The laptop itself is excellent, having used my old dell desktop for the last 10 years, couldn't have hoped for a better laptop
Nice for me to use as a student as I can do everything that I want to do and for my mum who uses it as well, so good to use for all people as you can do a variety of things.
Only thing I would say is that the charge does not last for 7 hours on the go, but other than that fantastic, nice to be able to do tings quickly rather than wait an age to get anything done.
Pros:quickness to do everything, easy to use, lots of support form dell when you need to update
Cons:charge is good but could be better
+26points
32of 38voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Inspiron 15 3521
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Vel0811
Title:

Good value

PostedJanuary 15, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I've had the Inspiron 15 since right before Christmas and so far it's ok. It was easy to set up but if you're not familiar with Windows 8 best of luck to you. It comes with no instructions on anything at all except a very brief quick start type of thing (remember the days when a new computer came with a booklet? not anymore). I had no idea how to shut the computer off (thank you Microsoft!!) and I really don't like having to watch a video to learn how to use a new operating system. Yuck!
What I like about the computer is that booting is pretty fast, as is powering off. I like that quite a few things are intuitive. I like that it doesn't get too terribly hot when I have it on all day like my old Dell Inspiron did. But I have some complaints as well. 1) I have an external monitor but didn't have a usb to vga cable. You can't connect a monitor to this laptop unless you have one (I ordered mine through a big box company online). 2) The textured exterior and surface of this laptop is actually painful on my wrists. Seems like a little thing but since I work from home and this is it, it's actually a pretty big deal. The texture also means you can't use it as a writing surface at all. 3) My P513w all-in-one printer is having BIG issues communicating with this laptop despite having updated drivers etc. I've installed and uninstalled it twice and have to keep restarting the laptop to get it to work throughout the day. It will work for a little bit but then they decide they don't want to communicate anymore. Of course, my printer never, ever worked properly with the wi-fi (as I've heard from numerous people) so that could be part of it. Seriously, if you're going to sell a laptop you might want to mention in the description what printers aren't very compatible with it. 4) Some games are not working well in Windows 8. This is not a Dell problem but worth mentioning. I'm not a huge gamer but my Sims 3 is having compatibility issues. I've heard older games won't work with the new system but I'm not sure how true that is. If you plan to use this for gaming do some research on compatibility with Windows 8 first.
Overall it's a good little laptop for the money. I just wish they'd work out the bugs before offering a product to the public. But then, everyone does that, right?
Pros:internet, Gaming, work
+69points
106of 143voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Inspiron 15 3521
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:FlossAtWork
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Casual Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

Digging it

PostedApril 8, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I had been running a 5/6 year old Inspiron 1520 into the ground - it was so broken that I had the lid gorilla-glued to box lid hinges to keep it open - so my requirements for a new laptop weren't super high just to give you a frame of reference.
I got the i3-3227U version and this little bugger seems pretty nice for the price for me. I am liking the ribbed (haha - or whatever) material on the outside and the light weight. Seems pretty fast for just about everything I need - a little web development as well as common usage.
I am a casual gamer, but I am usually playing stuff about 3-5 years behind its release, and this thing is pretty much smoking for that. Fallout 3 is running nicely on high settings. The Intel HD 4000 card did not disappoint (for me as a behind-the-times gamer). And I have had it on my lap while playing and not gotten any lapburn or even felt much of a temperature rise
Gripes are that the keyboard will need some getting used to - the arrow keys are pretty small and home, delete, etc are also. My little touchpad looks like it has greasemarks on it already (I am not that greasy of a guy), but nbd! Oh and I really will have to get a wireless mouse because I am a righty and the USB port on the right side is toward the front for a wired mouse because the wire gets rolled over by the mouse.
Pros:fast, light, cover material, cool
Cons:usb port location, keyboard, greasy touchpad!
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Inspiron 15 3521
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Chakan
Title:

Great Laptop But...

PostedJanuary 25, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is one great laptop and a great deal. I got a small discount besides the already pretty low price. BUT, Windows 8 is a disaster. It's a desktop operating system that wants to be the next Android/iPhone, but it's a desktop. Windows 8 would work on something that has touch screen, but on a desktop... It just doesn't work.
I ditched Windows 8 the same day it arrived and went back to Windows 7 and I'm never looking back, or forward I guess. Windows without the start button? What a complete joke. Wake me up when Microsoft gets their priorities straight.
So to make this short... Laptop is great, price is great, Windows 8? Bad. Make sure to ditch Windows 8 and go back to Windows 7, or switch to Ubuntu, if you can.
Pros:internet browsing, editing/creating documents, hulu/youtube streaming
+139points
230of 321voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Inspiron 15 3521
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:SJChurch
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Unimpressed

PostedApril 25, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
If you're considering purchasing this system, I really recommend getting the touch screen, otherwise Windows 8 can be frustrating. The laptop itself feels cheap and I've encountered many of performance issues just attempting to use basic tasks of a pc.
Response from Dell.comBy SaraTforDellCustomer ReviewsApril 29, 2013
Hello SJChurch,

Thank you for providing your feedback. I am sorry to hear that this system has not surpassed your expectations. If you haven't already, you might want to check out the Support information that we have on Windows 8 for more information. You can find helpful videos, tutorials and even a "Free Windows 8 for Dummies E-Book" that you can download to help you with the new User Experience with Windows 8. There may be some tips or tricks in here that make your Windows 8 experience smoother.

• Windows 8 Tutorial Videos:
http://dell.to/X8D4hD
• Windows 8 FAQ's:
http://dell.to/10Sd6Qk

Hope this can help.

-SaraT
+17points
20of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Inspiron 15 3521
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:jryoungster
(San Francisco, Tepic, Nayarit, Mexico)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Dell... in 25 years, they haven't disappointed yer!!!

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Since I bought my first Kaypro back in '84 (MS-DOS!!!), it's been a steady stream of computers through my life, towers to begin with and then the lap tops. I was reluctant about my first lap top (that would have been about '88), and started reading up.
Dell's brand name came up quite often, and usually in glowing terms. The fact that you had to buy direct from Dell and wait, however, was a drawback (I'm not the world's most patient person), but, on the other hand, the fact that you could choose from a myriad of options was a big plus. In the end, I went with Dell. That was the first laptop. Over the years, I've tried other brands. A certain product's Beats sold me at one point (I listen to a lot of music), but what a disaster that was. Beats was a total joke... as other computers have been. And in the end, I always end up saying, "never again", and eventually return to Dell. As I did earlier this year. This year, I wanted to stick to Windows 7, and was more than pleased that Dell still offered that choice in lieu of Windows 8. And even now, as I contemplate buying yet another computer (this time for the bedroom... movie time!!!), I don't even have to give it a second thought as to what I'll be buying. And, yes, it will be a direct sale, a computer built to my specs... a Dell! They haven't disappointed me yet!
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Inspiron 15 3521
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Italy5050
(Miami, FL, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

Disappointing Experience

PostedMay 13, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
I use a Dell dekstop at the office, as the company I work at buys only Dell and the IT Dept. swears by the product. I then decided to replace my 2005 HP desktop at home for a Dell laptop. I did not want to spend a lot of money and found a very reasonable bundle package at a local store featuring Dell Inspiron 15, with Windows 8. I'm now on my 3rd equipment within 15 days, and it has been an absolute nightmare. The first laptop came with a sticking left mouse key. I tried to download Java and it failed multiple times before it worked. After a couple of days, it disappeared. I did a recovery and the whole system crashed. I went back to the store and exchanged the product. This second laptop seemed fine, as there were no sticky keys and I was able to download Java without a problem; however, the following day, it kept prompting me to update applications as well as Bios. I proceeded to accept and afterwards it started giving me an error message. I contacted Dell Tech support and at the end of the day, I was told that the hard drive had to be replaced. I had this laptop for less than 24 hours! I went back to the store for another exchange. I was able to download Java without a problem; however, I've noticed that the number 5 in the numbers keypad does not go all the way down as the other keys do. I don't want to take it back, but I'm not 100% satisfied. I'm pretty disappointed at Dell...If I have to take this one back, I don't think I'll exchange it, I'm just going to return it and select a different brand. I never had any of these issues with my 2 previous desktops of a different brand.
Pros:appears to be a good value, fast internet access/wireless access, visually attractive
Cons:faulty keys, faulty hard drive issues
Response from Dell.comBy JonathanNforDellCustomer ReviewsMay 14, 2013
Hello Italy5050,

The keyboard is certainly one of the most important tactile feedback devices that a computer has to offer. Having this part not functioning on an optimum level would certainly bother me as well! I apologize for the trouble you have experienced so far with the Inspiron 15 and I recommend reaching out to our @DellCares team to see if they can help you out in this case!

Twitter @DellCares -
http://dell.to/Tgt5D8
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Inspiron 15 3521
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Ihalas11
(Galle, Sri Lanka)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

This Laptop is Awesome!

PostedOctober 26, 2013
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Yes, I would recommend this product
I love this laptop.This is my second laptop, and this is awesome the Intel Core i3 Processor provides very fast and powerful performance for my Inspiron 15.My laptop is ideal for students like me and i would recommend this laptop to anyone
And this laptop is selling out very fastly in my country,Sri Lanka.It is the most-selling laptop in my country.The Quality of the Display is very bright and vivid.The Touchpad is very responsive and the Sound Quality is Superb!Overall the best Value for the Money.You will never go wrong with this laptop.Inspiron 15 is a Spectacular Laptop.Thank you Dell For making a very good laptop like this,Thank You Dell.
Pros:very good sound quality, very fast processor, high-quality display, very good touchpad and keyboard, overallvery good performance, best ever value for the money
Cons:heats a little but if you a cool pad it is fixed, nothing more to say
+16points
19of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Inspiron 15 3521
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Majoros
(Hungary)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Good machine for the price

PostedMay 26, 2013
User submitted photo
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have the cheap model of Inspiron 3521. After I installed the newest drivers very satisfied with it, it is a good machine for the price. I connected it to my 24" Dell monitor with an HDMI cable, so I can use it for photo editing too. Latest Photoshop is running perfectly on it. If you have not much money and aren't a gamer, I can recommend this notebook for you.
Pros:good value, easy to use
+13points
14of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Inspiron 15 3521
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ltowndrow
(Derbyshire, UK)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Awesome Dell notebook!!

PostedFebruary 28, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
When looking around for a new laptop it's often easy to get lost in the confusion of Gigabytes, MB's, Core's and HDD's. There are so many variations different suppliers and operating systems.Its hard to know where to start.
I found Dell's website helpful in helping me select the right product.
I choose Dell because of past experience. I've used them at work in an IT role and find them well made and reasonable priced. I know their support is excellent and if needed it will fix my problem.
With any electronics device there will be faults and your more likely to hear the negative side of things from unhappy customers than the positive aspects from happier customers.
Therefore I wanted a laptop with support I can trust.
I've tried HP and Samsung laptops, but always feel the build quality is better with a Dell. The new Inspiron is thin but sturdy.
This notebook was purchased as a family laptop to replace our broken Desktop (not Dell).
We went for an I3 processor and 4GB of Ram and a Dell Laser printer.
Delivery was fantastic and we received ahead of the eta on Dells site. To say it came all the way from China is a credit to Dell and UPS.
The notebook comes well packages and there was no damage to the box.
As a family this was our first time with Windows 8.
We found Windows 8 takes a little of getting used to, especially if you are familiar with Windows 7.
However for new users we feel Windows 8 is easy to use. Its also faster and more responsive than Windows 7.
The battery life is amazing, we get around six hours out of it, before plugging it in to charge.
The performance in applications and media is really quick.Wireless performs flawlessly and its range is surprising. We can surf the Internet and print wirelessly for at the bottom of the garden.
There is a limited number of Pre-installed applications. It isn't bloat-ware and the fact that it comes with a years subscription to McAfee is a welcome addition. It saves us paying £25.00 for another AV product.
We didn't buy it as a gaming laptop and the Dell Inspiron series is not intended to be used for games due to the onboard Intel 4000 chip. It will play older games from Steam but don't expect it to play the latest game releases. You should look elsewhere (Alienware) or at least buy a Core I3 or I5.
If you are wanting a notebook computer to use office applications, Internet and movies look no further.
For the price the lightweight and slimness design is amazing. The pictures don't do this notebook justice. Just remember to look for Dell's discount codes. You can save 10%.
For the price its a steal. I wouldn't hesitate buy it!
+64points
117of 170voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Inspiron 15 3521
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:David619
(Evansville, IN, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Contemplated for a long time. Chose Dell over others!

PostedMarch 16, 2013
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Yes, I would recommend this product
Many weeks of watching deals pass me by of touchscreen laptops. I didn't want to spend lot (didn't need financing). I chose the Inspiron 15. So far so good! Windows 8 was really not that hard, BUT different.
I ordered on Monday 3/11 and arrived 3/14, now that is fast delivery.
I have watched several movies and the screen was excellent.
I am attaching some pictures of what is not so great and maybe not a big deal, but I have only used it for 3 days and fingerprints on the touch pad and the outside cover show!
Other than the fingerprints (yes I always wash my hands before I use the laptop), the laptop speed is great. I will upgrade the RAM at a later date.
The only question I am waiting on Dell to answer for me:
Should I get a screen protector for the touch screen? Is the outside cover replaceable (to something that doesn't show a lot of fingerprints)?
Pros:number keypad, boots up quickly
Cons:fingerprints on touchpad, fingerprints on outside case
+47points
84of 121voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Inspiron 15 3521
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:quinny68
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Design/graphics
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Very pleased with this computer

PostedOctober 29, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I received my computer back in april and im really surprised by its performance. i have the i3 3rd gen. with 6gb of ram. its very responsive. i read other reviews, i have no clue what others are talking about, my computer boots up exceptionally quick. i do a lot of media editing, student work and i put the processor and graphics to the test. they are standing strong. im running programs very heavy on the processor such as ableton live and adobe photoshop and im not disappointed. if someone will tell you otherwise about this processor's abilities, theyre not the "expert" they're claiming to be.
+22points
34of 46voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Inspiron 15 3521
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:TouchTypist
(Toronto, ON, Canada)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Lots to love about this laptop but, sadly, I may have to return it ...

PostedAugust 23, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
... because of the keyboard. It has a Canadian bilingual keyboard. I didn't realize such a thing existed prior to my purchase. It is significantly different from the standard US keyboard.
I'm a touch typist. I have been using the standard US keyboard layout (with minor variations) for 35 years. The first sentence I typed began with a backslash, followed by a lowercase letter, and ended with another backslash. That's when I put on my reading glasses and examined the keyboard more closely.
Beside the letter Z, where the wide left-shift once stood, is a new key (\ |) followed by a narrow left-shift. A similar problem exists on the right-hand side of the keyboard. Beside the quotation-marks key, there is another new key (\ |) -- yes, it's a second backslash key -- followed by a narrow enter key.
If you're not a touch typist, the keyboard layout will probably not bother you. If you are a touch typist and, like me, have small hands, you may find it very difficult to reach the left-shift and enter keys. After the first week, I was still unable to do so.
I have since remapped the keyboard, restoring the shift key to the left of Z and the enter key to the right of the quotation marks. That left me without a backlash, so I moved the backslash to the upper left-hand corner of the keyboard. Now I am without a tilde. Sigh.
I'm always reluctant to return a purchase, so I'm trying to adjust to the remapped keyboard. So far, my pinkie fingers seem to land in the space between two keys, where the centre of the left-shift and enter keys would be on a standard US keyboard.
I'll give it another week before I throw in the towel and purchase a different laptop with a standard US keyboard. Unfortunately, I didn't see anything on the Dell website with US standard keyboard and Win 8 in my price range, but I've since found other options. I was hoping for a Dell though. My husband has an old Inspiron 1150 (2004) which is still in use. A few of its parts have been upgraded or replaced over the years, but it's still going. It will certainly outlive its usefulness.
Aside from my keyboard woes, there is lots to love about this laptop and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it . It's been a pleasure to use. I like the abundance of USB ports (2 x 2.0, 2 x 3.0). Fast data transfer on 3.0. Combined with the DVD burner, I've finally felt motivated to organize and archive the files I have stored on external drives.
It's been fun to explore Windows 8. Very fast boot and excellent search function. I missed having a start button and easy access to programs from the desktop, so I installed Classic Shell (free).
I do not have a touch screen, so I disabled the lock screen and boot directly to the desktop. Win 8 is easily customized. No need to be intimidated by its new features.
Pros:budget friendly, good value, good performance, good user experience
Cons:mui keyboard not suitable for touch typing
+14points
18of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Inspiron 15 3521
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:jklvmunda
(Burnsville, NC 28714, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

love the new inspiron

PostedMarch 25, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
This product is lightweight, easy to use, awesome laptop!!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 34