Customer reviews for Inspiron 15 3521

Inspiron 15 3521

Inspiron 15 3521
4.049 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 629 reviews
5 Stars
278
4 Stars
221
3 Stars
55
2 Stars
33
1 Star
42
4
 / 
5
(629 reviews) 626
518 out of 62982%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Inspiron 15 3521
Review 1 for Inspiron 15 3521
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:RobertDenis
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Easier to use now that Windows 8.1 update is available

PostedApril 13, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
My Dell 3521 non touch has been used for four months now as an every day household computer. The computer has been flawless and meets my needs. Dell Tech support was able to help me with an issue regarding the 8.1 upgrade not being available in the Windows store. I have since installed the additional Windows 8.1 update which eliminated a lot of annoyances inherent in Windows 8.I. I can now click to close apps (yeah).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Inspiron 15 3521
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ZaydensMomma20
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Great Laptop

PostedApril 10, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I had to go out on a wim and buy a new laptop after my old laptop's hinges and casing broke. I decided to buy this one after looking at how the hinges and case was assembled. I'm so so glad that I went with this one instead of the others. It came with Windows 8.1 and although the operating system has had some bugs, it was easy to fix. Bugs with new operating systems are the norm. So I wasn't too concerned. The laptop is sturdy and semi-fast. Like some of the other reviewers I would probably upgrade the Ram to 8gb. But it is great for student and home use. I don't play games on it so I'm not sure how it does gaming wise. Overall, I'm very happy with the value and the laptop! Great buy!
Pros:great for students, great for home use, sturdy
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Inspiron 15 3521
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:John64
(Walker, LA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

disappointment

PostedApril 9, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have purchased several dell products over the years including 3 laptops and a desktop computer.
I must say that this purchase was not what I expected from a dell product and I was very disappointed.
The computer was very slow. Had pop ups every time we went to use it. Over all unhappy experience. I ended up returning the product and I am a little wary of purchasing another. I have always had favorable reviews for dell products I purchased in the past and was very sad that I had to resort to returning it.
Pros:overall nice design, had side # key pad
Cons:very slow, tons of pop ups, needed lots of updates
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Inspiron 15 3521
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MKay20
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Screen broke within 2 months

PostedApril 9, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is the first laptop I ever purchased and I has such high hopes. I only had it for two months and already the screen is broken. I used it for school and did not have any problems except for it being slow sometimes or not being able to connect to my wifi. But recently my 9 month old simply grabbed on the screen and it cracked just that easily. I find this ridiculous that the parts are so cheaply made that a baby can crack the screen. Then it turns out the warranty does not cover the screen so I would have to pay 258 to fix the screen. Almost as much as I payed for the laptop in the first place.
Cons:poorly made, breaks easily
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Inspiron 15 3521
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Steve119
(Centreville, MD 21617, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

My first Dell

PostedApril 9, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is my first Dell laptop after many years with another company. Very pleased with the performance and features, despite having to adjust to Windows 8. Had to replace the hard drive, but as it was under the warranty, Dell sent me a new one by overnight express. Tech support was excellent and helped me with both the diagnostics and the installation.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Inspiron 15 3521
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:jschoenh
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

Unreliable

PostedApril 9, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
The touch pad does not work or works intermittently. Pay a bit more for a lap top and get an i/o device that has been design validated and is reliable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Inspiron 15 3521
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:jimmysox
(Anamosa, Iowa)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

XP upgrade

PostedApril 9, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Needed to upgrade from XP. Choose to change from a desktop to a good laptop with Windows 7 as opposed to Windows 8 and a touch screen technology at this time. Transferring my information from one platform to the other went very smoothly. Like the size and clarity of the screen and the number pad is invaluable to me. Good value. Overall very pleased.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Inspiron 15 3521
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Bonniejo
(Weymouth, MA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Great for the price

PostedApril 7, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Wanted a new laptop for a while, but didn't want Windows 8 as I hadn't heard anything great about it. Was able to get Windows 7, and I'm satisfied with this product. It's light weight is nice and the screen size is great.
Pros:light weight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Inspiron 15 3521
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JoeB13
(Freehold Township, NJ, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Awesome Laptop

PostedApril 5, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Awesome Laptop, but can't seem to figure out where the Run feature is in the Start menu.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Inspiron 15 3521
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:jhitz09
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Good Laptop

PostedApril 2, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
No surprises ... like Windows 7.
The keyboard is very nice and the OS works smoothly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Inspiron 15 3521
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:CynthiaZ
(California)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Ethernet Disconnect Issue

PostedApril 2, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have used Dell products for many years, and have been very satisfied - UNTIL now. Within 5 days of using my new Dell laptop, I encountered a problem where my Ethernet keeps disconnecting from my wired modem. I called my internet service provider first, and they gave me a work-around to reconnect the Ethernet to the network. The modem was not the problem as it works fine with the Dell desktop computer (with XP) that I still have. Dell Support told me that due to having Windows 8 now, I have to keep temp and cookie files from accumulating on my hard drive. Support was very good in walking me through the procedures for cleaning out these garbage files. However, I have been doing this every day and the problem still persists. The only way that I can reconnect the internet to the Ethernet is to disable and then enable the Ethernet through the Adapter Settings. This is becoming a persistent problem, as I have to use this disable/enable process about twice a day now.
Dell Support did send me a follow-up email and I was also called asking me how things were going. I must say, I have never had such good support from a computer company, so I am glad I still have a Dell product.
I have sent an email to Dell, advising them that the problem still persists. Support called me again and I will be working with them to resolve this problem.
BTW, my internet provider thinks the problem may be solved when I go to a wireless modem, but in the meantime, I would like to find out why the Ethernet keeps disconnecting. Is it a hardware or software problem?
Pros:great support
Cons:inability to get ethernet issue resolved
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Inspiron 15 3521
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Service 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:shakzub
(Singapore)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Entertainment
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Inspiron 15 (3537)

PostedMarch 31, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Generelly satisfied with the product. Have been using it for more than 5 months now, and did not face any noticeable performance related issues yet.
However I had to replace the track pad as the right click stopped fuctioning. I also had to replace the built in mic, as it was not capturing audio properly when not using headsets. Both parts functioning properly after the replacement.
These were hasslefree stuff as I had pro support purchased.
Now I have issue connecting to LAN. WiFi works just fine, but with a cable it keeps disconnecting. Opened a ticket a week back nad yet to hear back from customer care (bit annoying even after having a prosupport under your contract).
My rating 3.5/5
Pros:good configuration for the money you pay, good looking nice texture
Cons:difficult to adjust with the keyboard layout, trackpad very slippery, built in camera not too good
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Inspiron 15 3521
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Rex4587
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Decent Laptop

PostedMarch 27, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
The computer is decent, and considering how affordable it is I am satisfied with it. I just wish the fit and finish was a little better. Keyboard and touch pad buttons are kind of cheap. I had an older dell that was from a much higher price point, and you can just feel how much better the build quality is in the better laptops. All things considered I would buy this one again, it does everything I need it to.
Pros:price
Cons:low build quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Inspiron 15 3521
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JBLADY
(Clarksville, TN, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

AWESOME

PostedMarch 27, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I just love my new laptop it's fast , light weight and comes packed with a lot of features the battery life is pretty good and my kids love the graphics and very wide screen to play and watch movies on. I work and write a lot on it and surf the web has everything I need and want on here and my husband actually likes it even though is not a gaming computer. Thanks Dell
Pros:great price, light weight, windows 8 awesome, battery life
Cons:none
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Inspiron 15 3521
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:EpSato
(Washington, DC)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Garbage

PostedMarch 26, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought an Inspiron 15 with a touch screen and Windows 8.1 about 47 days ago. I regret this decision.
Unfortunately, it's too late to return this piece of garbage. Don't make the same mistake I did, don't buy this computer.
Where can I start? How about construction? It's made entirely of cheap feeling plastic parts that are poorly put together. It scratches my arm every time I type because the modular pieces were put together poorly.
Features? What Features? There's a 1 month trial of Mcaffee, which seems to be impossible to completely uninstall. There's all this bloatware that's not needed (seriously 3 programs for music, and the stupid DVD player's software takes 35 minutes to load!).
The touchscreen is overly sensitive, so sometimes while moving the mouse it'll close programs. The only other included feature is a 1 month trial of Microsoft office. Anyone else remember when the program just came as part of Windows?
Regarding performance, this thing makes a turtle look like a Ferrari. It's slow, requires a sign in EVERY TIME, its not user friendly, and it can't seem to open up apps or run tasks without going out for coffee and having lunch first. SLOOOOW.
Oh man, and forget being able to receive a wifi signal. I don't know what junk card is in this for wifi but I can only use wifi from 2 feet away from my router. With all the wireless devices in my house, this has never happened before.
On value: Sure it's cheap, but after 30 days it can't be returned. I can guarantee you'll want to return this computer. Just don't be an idiot like I was and wait to long. I've ordered a new computer and have plans to just toss this one in the dumpster where it belongs. I can't justify giving it to poor kids, because they deserve something better than this.
Customer Service? What's that? I called for several issues with this computer and could get nothing. When I got sick of this awful computer and asked to return it, the rep said it had to be within 30 Calendar days. This is without exception.
As if things weren't bad enough, the computer runs on Windows 8.1. If a worse operating system's ever been invented, I haven't seen it yet. Just try uninstalling the bloatware with 8.1 Just try to get rid of the worthless MaCafee app from your desktop. Right click literally won't permit it!
Cons:poor construction, poor value, bad service, questionable return policy, horrendous operating system, wifi is spotty at best, no way to remove bloatware
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Inspiron 15 3521
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:sjtrue52
(United States)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

My dell computer

PostedMarch 26, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I love the computer but I have a little problem with the battery it keeps falling out. I bought 2 of them and the other one does not have that problem. I would recommend these computers there fast
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Inspiron 15 3521
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Countrydesign71
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Great Product

PostedMarch 26, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Love this computer, great product and easy to use.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Inspiron 15 3521
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:BetsyK72
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

laptop

PostedMarch 26, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I found this laptop to be worth the value I paid for it. It is a little slow, but otherwise I have not had many problems with it (for the 1-2 months).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Inspiron 15 3521
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Krishno
(India)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

This product has minimum features

PostedMarch 25, 2014
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
No, I do not recommend this product.
This laptop has a very big drawback it doesn't have HDMI port which is necessary in many place for presentation. The touch pad produces lot of noise, it is very hard to press the buttons. It's appearance is also not that good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Inspiron 15 3521
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:FallenAngyl
(Dexter, MO 63841, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

Awesome

PostedMarch 21, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is mt 2nd Inspiron 15.The first one I spilled coffee on and it fried the hard drive.I was so in love with the 1st one I bought it again.I love the features,ease of use and op. system.I have recomended this product to several ppl.I was set on a Dell for my 1st computer and because of the excelence of dell products I will never own any other brand.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 32