Customer reviews for Inspiron 15 3520

Inspiron 15 3520

Inspiron 15 3520
3.432 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 44 reviews
5 Stars
15
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
5
1 Star
8
3.4
 / 
5
(44 reviews) 40
28 out of 4464%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Inspiron 15 3520
Review 1 for Inspiron 15 3520
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Chan Yonng Kok
Title:

Great value and good performance

PostedAugust 27, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
My son was using a 4 years old lap top with AMD Turion X2 Ultra dual-core mobile technology. Although he is studying ACCA, he normally used this laptop to play online Warcraft Dota.
One day on 8th Aug 2012 while reading "The Star" paper a flyer fell out showing Dell offering RM999 for a 15.6" laptop. The first thing that strikes me was, " why not i replace a bigger screen for my son? "
I have 4 desktop pc at home using big monitors ranging from 24" to 42". I told myself, i want this 15.6"! and not 14" laptop anymore. But sigh.... It is only using Celeron B820 1.7Ghz processor!
Never give up, i google around and found that Gateway NE56R13U using this processor earned 4 stars rating in Amazon with 4GB memory. I immediately rang up Dell and spoke to a representative by the name Keith. He told me that 2Gb mem is good enough and i do need to upgrade. Then concluded that Gateway product and Dell are not related. I therefore emailed my particulars to him to confirmed one unit as i am pleased with his tactfulness.
He called up and told me that his technical support says that this laptop cannot play Dota. Oh My God. I said how can this probably be !???
A latest laptop can't play an old game? He said "so sorry". Was touched by his honesty of not afraid that i cancell the order, i therefore proceed with the transaction and told him " never mind la, if cannot play i will use it for other purpose".
Goods arrived after several days later. Not familiar using Ubuntu operating system. I immediately convert it to Window 7 Ultimate and update existing W7 Drivers with a driver software. My son waited impatiently to try out his Dota but ended up disappointment.
Just right after i finished installed the new Hd driver. DOTA started. My son played a few days and said " Dad, this laptop got no lag when i play Dota comparing the older ones which lag quite oftenly".
My son is now a happy boy but not me. I would have merely save RM40 if waited a bit longer as today price has dropped to RM959. Was told that offer valid until Hari Raya. Sigh.....
I am now eyeing the Red Inspiron 15 and hope it will drop further so that i can buy one as a gift my wife coming birthday.
Pros:browsing and games
-10points
21of 52voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Inspiron 15 3520
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:plynn
Title:

junk

PostedSeptember 6, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
When this computer arrived after waiting weeks to get it there was a bad pixel so i called and they sent a replacement. Believe it or not it had two bad pixels and a bad hard drive. I ended up reordering a new model.Hoping i have better luck with that one.Crossing my fingers and toes.I would pay a little extra and get the next model up. Stay away from this one.
Pros:personal use
Response from Dell.comBy SilangchiSforDellCustomer ReviewsNovember 13, 2012
Hi plynn,

Sorry for the trouble and have had a bad experience with this machine . We value your feedback and see that we will work to make a better products in the future .I am sure that you will have a better luck with the new model. And if you need any assistance in the future please feel free to reach our Dell support in-

Twitter@Dellcares -
http://bitly.com/P5W1OT
Facebook -
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ


Thank you for choosing Dell !
+28points
35of 42voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Inspiron 15 3520
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:omshree
Title:

Chip set information is missing in details

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Need Chip set Information for this laptop (Inspiron 15 3520)
Pros:software development
Response from Dell.comBy JohnBforDellCustomer ReviewsNovember 13, 2012
Omshree,

The Chipset for this system is Mobile Intel® HM75 Express Chipset. You can typically find this information by clicking on the "Tech Specs" tab which is usually around mid-way on a product page.

Thank you.

JGB
-14points
3of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Inspiron 15 3520
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:LeslieJanet
Title:

Grreat machine unexpectedly powerful

PostedOctober 25, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:
Very fast; search function was amazingly quick
3 USB ports make for a lot of connect ability
Runs cool--can keep on lap for extended time--don't need a fan
Dell thorough online support
Connections for headphones, microphones, HDMI lacking on many comparable notebooks
Screen with less glare than many
Cons:
usb ports on right side near front where I like to use cordless mouse (1 is on the left)
keyboard takes getting used to; normal size but key shape is more flat than usual
This is a very powerful machine that seems to do it all as long as the standard configuration provided meets your needs. I found it to have plenty of computer power (RAM) and storage (hard drive at 500 GB). Windows 7 seems to be a very user friendly operating system and even seems to work with a cranky HP 4-in-1 scanner that XP always seemed to struggle to connect to.
Pros:email and internet, genealogy research and data storage, microsoft office applications
+34points
37of 40voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Inspiron 15 3520
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:phasingaway
(houston texas)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Does what it says

PostedOctober 28, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have bought dell products for the past 9 years. This is not the best computer that i've purchased from Dell.
The only con is the keyboard isnt as smooth and quiet as they use to be.
Pros:bill pay, creating work documents, music streaming
+23points
29of 35voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Inspiron 15 3520
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:John182
Title:

Thanks dell for making such an amazing artifact

PostedNovember 3, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Thanks dell for making such an affordable artifact, looks awesome, and the best of all it has windows 8 all for 430 bucks. If you are a college student think twice before spending 2000 dolars on a Mac computer.
Thanks dell for not letting me down.
Pros:school music and vids
+21points
28of 35voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Inspiron 15 3520
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:SarahNYC
Title:

This computer has caused nothing but headaches!

PostedNovember 4, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this computer for my mother a couple of weeks since I had previously owned a Dell and was relatively happy with it. Unfortunately, this computer has been nothing but a headache for her. From the start, she has had issues with sending emails (via Outlook) and accessing the internet. When she called Dell support, they told her that she would have to purchase a 1 year software warranty for $239 before they could help her (even though we had purchased the extended warranty.) Buyer beware- Dell's extended warranty does not cover software problems (including the operating system). If you do a quick google search, you will see that there are already 68 registered complaints about Dell's warranty system with Consumer Affairs. What gives, Dell? Why have you gone so downhill??
Response from Dell.comBy GinaVforDellCustomer ReviewsNovember 13, 2012
Hello SarahNYC,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Inspiron 15 (3520). I recognize and understand that technical support can be a challenging experience, especially over the phone. I am actually part of Dell’s Social Media team and I would like to inform you and other readers that we do have a group of experts that can look into these types of specific concerns in a professional and timely manner.

Please reach out to our Social Support Team directly via the Dell Community Forums (
http://dell.to/GY65Xz); the Support tab on Facebook (http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ); or on Twitter @DellCares (http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ).

I apologize that your experience with calling into our technical support was not a good one. This should not have happened. We hope that you will give us another chance to show you our great customer service! We are here to listen and respond to our customers’ needs and I hope that we can turn this around for you.

Again, thank you for your feedback, and have a great day – Gina.
+125points
143of 161voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Inspiron 15 3520
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Aashwi
(Mumbai)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Great Combination With Better Price

PostedNovember 9, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Great Laptop Better Price with all feature.
Thanks TO Dell
Pros:for study
+9points
22of 35voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Inspiron 15 3520
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:RakeshSonawane
Title:

My Smart-Friend

PostedNovember 10, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
It's a really amazing product for new generation.
I really inspired by Inspiron 15.
Thank's Dell! To introduce great model.
Pros:it's a useful & very comfortable in travel., it's useful in social networkinng., i used inspiron 15 for my professional achievement, it's useful as a entertainment
+11points
30of 49voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Inspiron 15 3520
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:rodi53
Title:

Dissapointing

PostedNovember 17, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used to really like Dell products. However, if this laptop is an indication of their current level of quality then those days may be over. The hard drive crashed after just a few months. Fortunately, it was still under warranty. The keyboard on this laptop is just plain terrible. It is flimsy and the keys have a vague, mushy feel. It often omits characters when I'm typing. Very annoying! Perhaps at this price point I shouldn't expect much, but to me this laptop typifies a trend exhibited by many manufactures of building things as cheaply as possible. In Dell's defense, I used to have an HP laptop that was just as bad. I won't buy an HP again either.
Pros:email, music recording, web browsing
Response from Dell.comBy SaraTforDellCustomer ReviewsNovember 19, 2012
Hello Rodi53,

Thank you for taking the time to submit your feedback. I am sorry to hear that this system did not match your expectations. The chiclet keyboard is a very different style and can take some getting use to. If it is omitting characters, I reccomend first trying to re-install the keyboard driver. This is often the easiest solution. You can download drivers here,
http://dell.to/pK6KSP, either by entering your service tag or by selecting it from a list of Dell products.

If you still have concerns about your keyboard, feel free to reach out to one of our technical support agents. They are available over a variety of mediums including:
• Dell Tech Support Forums:
http://dell.to/NjitjY
• Twitter (@DellCares):
http://dell.to/Tgt5D7
• Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
http://dell.to/OO2MDG

They may be able to assist.
-SaraT
+60points
69of 78voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Inspiron 15 3520
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:spd1989
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

everything but the screen

PostedNovember 23, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Almost everything about this computer is pretty decent, and the price is great too. The only thing that I was disappointed with would be the screen. I am not sure if it is just my particular unit, or if it occurs with all Inspiron 15's but I experience what is called the "screen door effect" with this laptop, which is unfortunate because the screen is extremely bright with great colors. Other than the screen issue, this computer is great. I will say that I have decided to return it and purchase the Inspiron 14z because I am hoping that the reduced screen size with the same resolution will remedy this problem. But if you can look past the this, then the Inspiron 15 is a great buy.
Pros:School, games
Response from Dell.comBy SilangchiSforDellCustomer ReviewsNovember 26, 2012
Hi spd1989,


Sorry about the issue with your screen, however i’m glad that you liked the laptop.

Your feedback is valuable and if you have any unresolved issues or concerns , feel free to reach out to our Dell support team in:-

Facebook -
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ
Twitter @ DellCares -
http://bitly.com/P5W1OT

They will be able to check and see the best they can do to help you . Thank you for choosing Dell!



+15points
19of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Inspiron 15 3520
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Beena
Title:

The hard drive crashed in 4 months!!

PostedNovember 25, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I thought dell was a quality product. The hard drive was not working in 4 months!! I am told that I might need to pay additional money depending on what the technician finds. What??
I bought this thinking it would last for at least 3-4 yrs. What total garbage. Please don't buy. Now I have to reinstall everything...not to mention all the data and homework I lost in the process. Thankfully, I email myself a copy of everything. So I am safe.
But , I do have to install Microsoft office again. And other downloads which I probably have to buy again.
Pros:homework
Response from Dell.comBy SaraTforDellCustomer ReviewsNovember 27, 2012
Hello Beena,

I sorry to hear that you are experiencing issues with your hard drive. Sometimes, extra costs exist if the issue is outside your warranty coverage. For example, if there was an issue caused by the hardware, your warranty should cover it. If the issue was caused by software or a virus, it may cost extra to fix.

If your system had software installed on it, you should be able to re-download it through the My Dell Downloads page (
http://bit.ly/bnD3yh). If you need any further assistance, you can also get help through the Dell Tech Support Forums (http://dell.to/NjitjY), Twitter: @DellCares (http://dell.to/Tgt5D7), and Dell’s Facebook Support Form (http://dell.to/OO2MDG).

I hope this can help. -SaraT
+35points
42of 49voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Inspiron 15 3520
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:tt1212345
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Not the best Dell Product

PostedNovember 26, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is my second laptop from Dell, my Inspiron 1545 was great and i got 3 years out of my battery, then i decided to get a new laptop and thought going with the same inspiron 15 would have been a good idea, but the quality is lacking. The keyboard is terrible and my screen has a dead pixel (which is now factory standard). I am very happy with customer service though because they are sending me a replacement since the screen can't be repared! Just be careful when buying, it may be worth sending a little more money on another type of dell laptop.
Pros:home use
Response from Dell.comBy SaraTforDellCustomer ReviewsNovember 28, 2012
Hello Tt1212345,

Thank you for taking the time to submit your feedback. I am sorry to hear that this system was not perfect for you out of the box. I hope the new system that Tech got you set up with will alleviate any concerns you have so that you can love your computer like you did your last one.

-SaraT
+35points
35of 35voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Inspiron 15 3520
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Jay2429
(Pune)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Hard Drive & Compact Drive not working Properly

PostedNovember 27, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I Have Buy a Product Before 10 Days, after 2-3 days HARD Drive and CD Drive start Making Noise I called to Replace the Parts but still dell is telling the parts are not available, I was having lots of trust on dell but loose it at all.
Pros:software
Response from Dell.comBy GinaVforDellCustomer ReviewsNovember 29, 2012
Hello Jay2429,

Thank you for reviewing the Inspiron 15-3520. Sorry to hear that you are experiencing concerns with the hard drive/ optical drive. I understand that it can be frustrating to receive a new system only to have it not preform properly.

Regarding your technical support experience, I would like to offer you an alternative route for tech support via our Social Media Outreach Team so that they can check into the status of your hardware replacement. We work directly with them and we recommend their services because of their success in resolving customer issues. They are also a global support team, so no matter what region you are from; they can find the right folks to assist.

• Social Media Outreach Team Contact: Twitter - @DellCares (
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ); Dell Community Forum (http://dell.to/GY65Xz); Dell Facebook (http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ)

I hope that we can restore your faith in Dell. Again, thank you for your feedback, and have a great day – Gina.
+17points
31of 45voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Inspiron 15 3520
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Jinnifah
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Nice machine

PostedNovember 27, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Just received this laptop a few days ago and so far am pleasantly surprised.
It's nice and light, and the shell itself is quite pleasing to the eye
The keys have a good solid feel (although it is one of those flat keyboards so it can take some getting used to if you're not accustomed to them)
The screen is nice and wide and quite clear.
Good performance playing videos and pc games (bought the 8gb ram version). Have had it running for a couple hours straight and so far it hasn't gotten overheated like some previous laptops I've used
Good quality for the price. It's not the most powerful machine but for "average use" it's been up to the task so far
No complaints yet
Pros:work, web surfing, Gaming, movies
+108points
115of 122voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Inspiron 15 3520
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:0723
Title:

WORST BUY EVER

PostedNovember 30, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is the second laptop i bought from dell. The 1st one lasted 8yrs and still running. This one, however started to have trouble with the ear phone jack piece after 2 days. Dell tech tried to fix it over the phone, but was a huge waste of time. The only thing I like more about this laptop than my old inspiron 640m is that it starts up in about 30 seconds. Its a shame that no one really knows how poorly built the inspiron 3520 is until you buy it.
Pros:Travel, School, streaming movies
Response from Dell.comBy JohnBforDellCustomer ReviewsDecember 3, 2012
0723,

Sorry about your issues with the Dell Inspiron 15.
Use the information below to contact us. The team members below will get you taken care of.
Please reach out to our Dell Support Team at:

• Dell Community Forums – New to the Community:
http://dell.to/GY65Xz
• You can contact our Dell Cares Team on Twitter (@DellCares):
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ
• If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ
A Facebook account is not required to use this form. You will be asked to provide your Name, service tag, email address and a brief description of the issue.

Hope this helps.

JGB
+26points
31of 36voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Inspiron 15 3520
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Victoria17
Title:

jumpy mouse pad annoying

PostedDecember 3, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
The mouse pad is tooo sensitive, and its really annoying. They need to fix this, last Dell
Pros:internet, School
Response from Dell.comBy DonaldDforDellCustomer ReviewsDecember 5, 2012
Hello Victoria17,

Thank you for taking time to share your opinion of the Inspiron 15 (3520). I understand the touch pad can be sensitive as it is shipped from the factory. If you open the Dell Touchpad controls center on the taskbar, you can adjust the sensitivity to your liking. The majority of touch pad issues have been resolved this way.

I hope that helps!
+7points
10of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Inspiron 15 3520
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MELT5
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Dell can't be trusted/customer service is terrible

PostedDecember 3, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchase a Dell laptop last week. I was fortunate enough to use points to purchase a Dell gift certificate from my American Express Card. These are points we accumulate all year and use to buy Christmas gifts for our children. We purchased a gift certificate using points and used it to purchase a computer last week online. We followed the gift certificate instructions to a tee. I received an order acknowledgement from Dell last week but nothing else so tried to follow up today only to find out they would not honor the gift certificate! Customer service was rude. I was on the phone for over two hours and they told me their hands were tied and I should try to get my points back! We have used these points countless times and never have encountered a problem. Dell is not honoring a gift certificate they endorsed. This is a terrible policy for a company long term. I will never buy a Dell product again and I will make sure that everyone I know understands that Dell does not horn their commitments and they should not do business with them!
Pros:student use
Response from Dell.comBy JohnBforDellCustomer ReviewsDecember 5, 2012
MELT5,

Sorry that you had a terrible experience with our customer service. Use the information below to contact us. The team members below will get you taken care of.
Please reach out to our Dell Support Team at:

• Dell Community Forums – New to the Community:
http://dell.to/GY65Xz
• You can contact our Dell Cares Team on Twitter (@DellCares):
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ
• If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ
A Facebook account is not required to use this form. You will be asked to provide your Name, service tag, email address and a brief description of the issue.

Please reach out to us. JGB
+9points
48of 87voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Inspiron 15 3520
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ChandraThota
(Orlando)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

good value for the buy

PostedDecember 4, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Whats amazing about this laptop is its weight. Till date I have lenovo laptops both are T61, but when ever I work on them I feel I was doing weight lifting as well. But this laptop is low on weight. The only complaint I have for now is the sound. It s making really odd sound when its running high on memory or process, some time big enough to wake up my kids
Pros:home and work
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Inspiron 15 3520
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Dellfan12
Title:

Happy happy happy with Dell!!!!

PostedDecember 4, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have had a dell for almost six years and not once had any problem at all.Recently decided to upgrade and stay with dell. Went for the inspiron 3520 due to the sale. Windows 8 and a camera, 500gb of storage and a faster processor were all in my favor.I am enjoying it a lot.Dell's customer service is excellent and they every effort to address any issue I had. I noticed a slight problem with the left click on the palm rest and they replaced it instantly.I still think it is different than my older dell....may be that's the way its built up, looks lose.So far so good, whenever I called customer service, even they were outsourced, they were very helpful.I am happy with Dell and am planning to stick with it for a long time.Thank you for making great computers.Also the desktop is getting old and guess what is replacing it whenever....Dell.Have a good one every one.
+14points
15of 16voted this as helpful.
1 2 3