Customer reviews for Inspiron 15 3520

Inspiron 15 3520

Inspiron 15 3520
3.35 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 60 reviews
5 Stars
16
4 Stars
16
3 Stars
10
2 Stars
9
1 Star
9
3.3
 / 
5
(60 reviews) 56
37 out of 6062%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Inspiron 15 3520
Review 21 for Inspiron 15 3520
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Sacramento, CA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Sons Gift But love the quality & support

PostedMarch 14, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought this for my sons 19th birthday. I love the laptop and all the dell support it has. I got me a new laptop but not a dell. I Love dell products
Cons:small memory in it
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Inspiron 15 3520
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Reading, UK)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Good performance but fan noise

PostedMarch 11, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
I ordered a refurbished Inspiron 15 3520, with Intel Core i5 3210M and 6 GB Ram. It took 11 days for the device to be delivered. It looks OK. I switched the pc on and enjoyed the personalisation of Windows 8. There was an application from Dell to teach you how to use Windows 8 but the application froze after few minutes. Very disappointing when you run a new pc for the first time but I didn't have any problem again. The performance is really good with i5 processor. Windows 8 takes few minutes to get used to. It may take few days to be able to access things you used to see in Windows 7 but you will love Windows 8 unless you don't like change.
One of the biggest concerns for me was noise. After running the pc for 5 mins the fan started to produce noise although no porgrammes were running. The fan noise is annoying and rarely stops. The keyboard looks very cheap and the surface underneath bends when I press on key on the right hand side of the keyboard which don't me you feel comfortable when typing but the keys themselves were OK. Another disappointing point was the webcam. The webcam of my 3 years old Toshiba was better. The sound is good unless it's turned up to more than 60%.
In general it's a good PC, fast, not really heavy but the features make it undesirable for me, especially the fan noise and I think Dell should invest more to make the noise as less as possible. I've read some good reviews about fan noise for Dell PCs in general but I don't why mine wasn't the case. Unfortunately, I had to return the product due to noise issue.
Pros:fast, windows 8
Cons:fan noise, web cam, speakers, keyboard
Response from Dell.comBy AnthonyAforDellCustomer ReviewsMarch 12, 2013
Hey ReadingMan,

I am sorry that you did not enjoy the Inspiron 15 and decided to return it. I am confident that we could have improved the fan noise on your system if we had the opportunity to troubleshoot.

Here is an article where you can troubleshoot your fan noise yourself. dell.to/Y7RuOY

Thank you for choosing Dell.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Inspiron 15 3520
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Kerala, India)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

nice laptop

PostedFebruary 23, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
i bought a Inspiron 3520 intel core i 3 15 " 500 gb hdd 4 gb ram last week. i am very much impressed by this laptop. my previous lap was toshiba satellite (same config). i admit that dell laptop are superior in built quality and ease of use. Keyboard and mouse pad is gives a nice feel.
video quality of webcam is not bad. far better than toshiba. i think the main advantage of this lapy is . it is not a heat generator. its battery compartment and other parts are very cool. heat sink portion only produces mild heat. i can even place it on my chest or lap if required. another advantage is sound quality. it delivers good quality of sound. performance is also superb . ragarding battery backup. it is really q WOOOWWWW. it is giving 4.5 battery backup in power saver mode and 3+ hours in performance mode. i never deep drained tha battery. ( i hope regular deep drains is not good for lilon batteries. once in a month is good for battery). i have ordered a dell synergy backpack from dell online. i feel totally is nice experience. Online purchase facility if awesome. we are able to figure out the prices of all original consumables. toshiba exp was horrible. Nobody is aware about the price and warranty of toshiba original battery (service center even).
Pros:low heat, better build quality, great sound quality, superb keyboard, good battery backup, compact design, descent perfomance, good support from dell
Cons:looks are not good, dell website wont provide correct drivers, driver installation is not easy
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Inspiron 15 3520
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Indiana, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Title:

Great For Everyday Use

PostedFebruary 11, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I received my laptop as a Christmas gift from my parents but they allowed me to choose what I wanted.When I began my search, I was familiar with the Dell brand and their excellent reputation, however I was on a budget, so I did not think I could afford one.I am a average, everyday user, so I wasn't looking for any special features, except I did want a CD/DVD drive. Like most people, I just wanted to get the most bang for my buck.The Inspiron 15 kept popping up on line as a recommendation for what I was looking for.I also had a friend who had owned one and he gave a big thumbs up. That was enough to convince me and I have not regretted my decision. If your looking for a laptop that's simple to use but has power you can't go wrong with the Inspiron 15.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Inspiron 15 3520
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(New York, NY, USA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Great Laptop

PostedFebruary 10, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I recently purchased this laptop & am very happy with its performance & am enjoying it. Great laptop for web surfing, games & emails.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Inspiron 15 3520
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

first time buyer

PostedJanuary 29, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
pros like the simplicity of the use of the apps and like the weight of it. am a first time buyer and the helpful dell support center is a plus. still learning how to use all of the capabilities of a laptop and dell resources is very helpful in learning how. as far as cons I haven't come across any
Pros:personal everyday use
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Inspiron 15 3520
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

Excellent machine! :-)

PostedJanuary 28, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
This laptop is EXCELLENT.
FAST, reliable, HIGH QUALITY.
Windows 8 took some getting used to.
THIN, powerful, long battery life QUICK battery recharge. Nice features. Nice BIG HIGH RES screen.
Dell makes high quality hardware at an affordable price! :-)
I am one happy camper!
Pros:web surfing, word processing, playing music, e-mail, research, ebay activity
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Inspiron 15 3520
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Karachi, Pakistab)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

A Good Laptop for Students

PostedJanuary 17, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
This laptop is a Good PC especially for students. I have Intel Celeron (1.7 GHz), 4 GB RAM and 320 GB H.D.D. It is a great product for my daily uses and especially college projects, web surfing, and for normal gaming. It's bright screen and great resolution has really earned me great benefits. I would happily recommend all students this product. Thanks Dell !
Pros:college work, games
Response from Dell.comBy AnthonyAforDellCustomer ReviewsJanuary 21, 2013
Hey Ahsan320,

Thank you for recommending the Dell Inspiron 15. I am thrilled to hear that you have been enjoying this laptop.

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, and thanks for choosing Dell.
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Inspiron 15 3520
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Whee)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Laptop itself is ok.

PostedJanuary 9, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Nice vivid colors in display. Like the keyboard although the touch pad is jumpy. I will be adding a mouse. Hate Windows 8 (am an older user and don't need all glitz) and this will be the reason why I will be selling this laptop soon. I don't have the original packaging and can't return it to the store.
Pros:internet surfing, email, word processing
Response from Dell.comBy SaraTforDellCustomer ReviewsJanuary 10, 2013
Hello mtaicsich,

Thank you for submitting your feedback. I am glad to hear that you like the system itself. I know the switch to Windows 8 can take some time to adjust to. If you are still getting used to Windows 8, you might want to check out the Support information that we have on it. You can find helpful videos, tutorials and even a "Free Windows 8 for Dummies E-Book" that you can download to help you with the new User Experience with Windows 8.

• Windows 8 Tutorial Videos:
http://dell.to/TlrIBo
• Windows 8 FAQ's:
http://dell.to/10Sd6Qk

Thank you again for your feedback. -SaraT
+1point
6of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Inspiron 15 3520
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Euless, Tx)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Great Laptop!

PostedJanuary 8, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought the Inspiron 3520 with 6 GB RAM, the 500 GB hard drive, and the Intel Core i3 2350m running @ 2.3 GHz. Let me tell you this is one awesome machine. It does everything I want it to and more! I love the fact that it comes with Windows 8, and the Core i3 processor makes this machine very fluid. The 6 GB RAM lets you have a large amount of programs open at once. The graphics are awesome! I play World of Warcraft and on my old 1545 I had to keep all the settings as low a possible, but now I can set them to "high" with no lag! The audio is simply amazing! This laptop can pump out some serious sound. I like the fact that it includes two options for an external monitor/T.V. (HDMI, VGA) The WiFi is great and the built in Bluetooh came in handy. The webcam is nice and the resolution is great. The screen is very bright and has plenty of color. All in all I would totally recommend this to all my friends and all the people who read this! :D
Pros:Gaming, School, video-chatting, youtube, e-mail, listening to music, pretty much everything
+17points
17of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Inspiron 15 3520
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

Wifi Capability Problems

PostedJanuary 5, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
I use dell products for most all my computers, my two desktop computers are both dell, and i have a Toshiba laptop with windows 7 and just got this Dell Inspiron 15 one with windows 8, and when I try to connect to my Wifi i have to be in the same room with the acess point or the connection is limited, and even being in the same room with the access point i still have problems, every 5 to 10 minutes, no matter what browser or program i'm using the internet completely quits and i dont get it back for about 5 minutes, and being a laptop you probably need internet.
Pros:personal use
Response from Dell.comBy SilangchiSforDellCustomer ReviewsJanuary 7, 2013
Hi randomname20,


Sorry if your system have an issue connecting to the Wi-Fi.

I understand that it could be due to various reasons, however as to check the root cause for this issue , I would suggest you to reach out with our Dell Support team through any one of the contacts given below:-

Facebook-
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ
Twitter @DellCares –
http://bitly.com/P5W1OT
Dell community forum –
http://dell.to/GY65Xz


Hope that would help.
Thank you for choosing Dell !
+2points
7of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Inspiron 15 3520
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(SC)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Great computer and super fast shipping!

PostedJanuary 1, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I purchased the Inspiron 15 for my 13 year old son for Christmas. He absolutely loves his new Dell laptop computer. The processor and speed of this computer is awesome for its affordable price. The customer service person at Dell was very helpful and knowledgeable. I was also very impressed on how fast my computer was made and shipped (almost two weeks before I was expecting it). All I can say is if you are looking to purchase a great computer with great value, you need to look at a Dell.
Pros:homework/ surfing internet
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Inspiron 15 3520
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(columbia,mo.)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

great laptop for the price

PostedDecember 20, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Hi, I have 2 other dell computers as well as this laptop, they are older ones so I upgraded my laptop to inspiron. things about this laptop is that it seems to be better built, than my other one. The i3 processor is pretty fast & makes multitasking then I can type. I like the design of this laptop its the 3520 model. I haven't use all the whistle on here yet but im sure it will be fine for me.
cons cant think of any at the moment.
Pros:recording my owm music, webpage design, research/
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Inspiron 15 3520
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Home)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Newbie
Title:

Inspiron 15 (3520) Laptop

PostedDecember 14, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Really excited of having a dependable laptop like this one. Enjoying windows 8.Great laptop. Strongly recommend this item
Pros:for personal, for business
+6points
14of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Inspiron 15 3520
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Ohio)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Works Great

PostedDecember 12, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Works great for everyday use. Light weight enough to replace a netbook we were using. Fast enough for Youtube and Netflix. Touch pad can be jumpy sometimes.
Pros:home, School
+11points
14of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Inspiron 15 3520
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(west bengal,kolkata)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

nice and cool machine

PostedDecember 6, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
everything about the product is nice except the built quality,i am still confuse that it will last as my vostro 1014..please reply is this laptop is as strong as vostro 1014...
Pros:internate browsing
+4points
8of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Inspiron 15 3520
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

Happy happy happy with Dell!!!!

PostedDecember 4, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have had a dell for almost six years and not once had any problem at all.Recently decided to upgrade and stay with dell. Went for the inspiron 3520 due to the sale. Windows 8 and a camera, 500gb of storage and a faster processor were all in my favor.I am enjoying it a lot.Dell's customer service is excellent and they every effort to address any issue I had. I noticed a slight problem with the left click on the palm rest and they replaced it instantly.I still think it is different than my older dell....may be that's the way its built up, looks lose.So far so good, whenever I called customer service, even they were outsourced, they were very helpful.I am happy with Dell and am planning to stick with it for a long time.Thank you for making great computers.Also the desktop is getting old and guess what is replacing it whenever....Dell.Have a good one every one.
+14points
15of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for Inspiron 15 3520
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Orlando)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

good value for the buy

PostedDecember 4, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Whats amazing about this laptop is its weight. Till date I have lenovo laptops both are T61, but when ever I work on them I feel I was doing weight lifting as well. But this laptop is low on weight. The only complaint I have for now is the sound. It s making really odd sound when its running high on memory or process, some time big enough to wake up my kids
Pros:home and work
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for Inspiron 15 3520
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Dell can't be trusted/customer service is terrible

PostedDecember 3, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchase a Dell laptop last week. I was fortunate enough to use points to purchase a Dell gift certificate from my American Express Card. These are points we accumulate all year and use to buy Christmas gifts for our children. We purchased a gift certificate using points and used it to purchase a computer last week online. We followed the gift certificate instructions to a tee. I received an order acknowledgement from Dell last week but nothing else so tried to follow up today only to find out they would not honor the gift certificate! Customer service was rude. I was on the phone for over two hours and they told me their hands were tied and I should try to get my points back! We have used these points countless times and never have encountered a problem. Dell is not honoring a gift certificate they endorsed. This is a terrible policy for a company long term. I will never buy a Dell product again and I will make sure that everyone I know understands that Dell does not horn their commitments and they should not do business with them!
Pros:student use
Response from Dell.comBy JohnBforDellCustomer ReviewsDecember 5, 2012
MELT5,

Sorry that you had a terrible experience with our customer service. Use the information below to contact us. The team members below will get you taken care of.
Please reach out to our Dell Support Team at:

• Dell Community Forums – New to the Community:
http://dell.to/GY65Xz
• You can contact our Dell Cares Team on Twitter (@DellCares):
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ
• If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ
A Facebook account is not required to use this form. You will be asked to provide your Name, service tag, email address and a brief description of the issue.

Please reach out to us. JGB
+9points
48of 87voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for Inspiron 15 3520
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

jumpy mouse pad annoying

PostedDecember 3, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
The mouse pad is tooo sensitive, and its really annoying. They need to fix this, last Dell
Pros:internet, School
Response from Dell.comBy DonaldDforDellCustomer ReviewsDecember 5, 2012
Hello Victoria17,

Thank you for taking time to share your opinion of the Inspiron 15 (3520). I understand the touch pad can be sensitive as it is shipped from the factory. If you open the Dell Touchpad controls center on the taskbar, you can adjust the sensitivity to your liking. The majority of touch pad issues have been resolved this way.

I hope that helps!
+8points
11of 14voted this as helpful.
  1 2 3