Customer reviews for Inspiron 14Z 5423

Inspiron 14Z 5423

Inspiron 14Z 5423
3.202 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 178 reviews
5 Stars
46
4 Stars
48
3 Stars
20
2 Stars
24
1 Star
40
3.2
 / 
5
(178 reviews) 177
100 out of 17856%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Inspiron 14Z 5423
Review 1 for Inspiron 14Z 5423
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:TwinsA
(Ottawa, Ontario CANADA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Very Good Laptop- Great Value

PostedAugust 31, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is my second Inspiron 14Z Ultrabook because the first one arrived DOA. Dell promptly replaced it and the second one is perfect. Here's what I've noticed so far:
Pro's: lightweight, compact and nicely styled, fast boot up, bright screen, cool operating & good battery life.
Con's: Un-lighted keyboard, and combination microphone/headphone jack.
Neither con is a deal breaker but a lighted keyboard like my Mom's XPS 14Z would have been nice but I realize that this is good value for the money.
Pros:School, social networking, photo editing, streaming video
+101points
117of 133voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Inspiron 14Z 5423
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Pritam
(New Delhi)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Expected a better quality product

PostedAugust 8, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had been using Dell Laptops for a while, most of them had been either Latitude or Vostro, so much so that I had made Dell as the standard purchase for my organization. I found them very sturdy and good to work with.
This was my first purchase for personal use, and I went on with recommendations by the Sales Rep, but the experience has not been pleasant.
The Good part:
- System is pretty lightweight, and responsive.
- Battery time on full charge is moderate 3:31 Hrs
- The notebook goes from OFF to up and ready to use very quickly.
The Drawbacks:
- Low Windows Experience Index 5.0
- No VGA output port, I think its too early to take them off. One would need to shell out some extra grands to get a HDMI to VGA Converter
- Laptop kinda feels bigger for a 14"(my personal opinion)
- Keyboard Arrow keys are too slim, I find their usage really troublesome. There is enough space available to make them bigger..
- I felt bulge in the right side of my keyboard.. Don't know if that's normal or specific in my case
- So called HD Webcam is no good in room lighting..
- Shared mic/headphone port!!! Idea is to avoid adapters.. and we get that more often with this laptop
- Very Very Limited USB Ports (only 2), I ordered for a Wireless Dell Mouse along with the laptop hoping the mouse would work without the need of an additional dongle...But! There goes my USB port sacrificed to mouse. So for all practical reasons, I am left with only one USB port.
- The three ports on the left side of the computer all have the poor quality annoying covers on them. So much so, that Ethernet cover gave up with-in 10 uses. My point is why place covers if they cannot withstand the usage.
- Placement of speakers not apt for home users, they should have been placed on top for better audio experience.
Wishlist:
- Backlit keyboard
- BluRay instead of DVD Drive
Honestly, I think the laptop design needs to re-looked into and would recommend to look at alternative options.
Its sad, but I personally expected a better product from DELL.
Pros:software development, web surfing, Travel, multimedia, video, music
Response from Dell.comBy VikramNforDellCustomer ReviewsAugust 13, 2012
Pritam,

Thank you for your review. Without your valuable inputs, we will not be able to improve! Our Marketing and engineering teams constantly read customer reviews to consider making necessary changes to the design and performance.

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience!
+42points
49of 56voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Inspiron 14Z 5423
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DeepakS
(Solihull)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Can it get any worse?

PostedDecember 23, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I checked this laptop last month and looked like a good spec with my budget. But then saw quite a few -ve reviews, so chatted with the sales advisor to be told that all those issues have been fixed. I trusted and ordered the laptop.
Laptop arrived, went with Win 8 setup, within a min gave an error advising to re-install. With the 2nd attempt, it wouldn't allow me to use the same email address, so had to create a new one, then all seemed fine. Restarted the laptop, and it just freezes on the Dell logo.
Since I needed a laptop very urgently I went ahead and ordered a vostro this time thinking the normal UK consumer rights would apply. I was then advised by the customer services that returns are not allowed for business customers. I explained the situation and also that I am a single man business and gave the company name only because it was a mandatory field while ordering. Also told that I had ordered a 2nd laptop, but was categorically told that the return will not considered even if the laptop is faulty!!
Luckily (sort of) I had reached my credit card limit and hence the 2nd order failed otherwise I would have had to keep 2 laptops!
After 2 weeks, the same customer services rep called up advised they had decided to waive off and take the laptop without charging me a 15% recharging fee. I was happy that finally Dell decided to understand my situation. But the guy called up again in the next 2 mins and advised they changed mind and decided to levy the restocking fee!! Was told that although the laptop was faulty, it was being considered as "Customer changed mind". The rep kept interrupting when I was speaking, I was just fed up as it increasing my BP. I have asked for a written explanation for charging restocking fee when the laptop is faulty, to which I was told will be sent once the laptop is returned but nothing until today.
Firstly, the quality of the laptop is bad, its just the spec that looks good. Even worse is the customer services, was always told that it is my mistake. Poor chap I told it was not the question of 15% restocking fee but the brand which will take a dent and the much larger loss that dell will incur with negative recommendation, but he was adamant and reminded again that it was my mistake!
good bye dell.
Pros:software development
Response from Dell.comBy VikramNforDellCustomer ReviewsDecember 25, 2012
DeepakS,

It is unfortunate that you did not enjoy a great experience with your recent Inspiron 14z purchase and your contact with our Customer Support team. We value your time and would like the opportunity to try and correct the issues.

I would highly advise that you reach out to our Online Support Teams. We recommend their services because of their success in resolving customer issues. Please reach out to them when you get a chance so that they can gather more details and look into this matter on your behalf.

• Online Support Teams Contact: Twitter - @DellCares (
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ); Dell Community Forum (http://dell.to/GY65Xz); Dell Facebook (http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ)

Again, thank you for your feedback and I hope we can turn this around for you and restore your faith in our products.

Have a great day, Happy Holidays!
+26points
26of 26voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Inspiron 14Z 5423
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:crowe2434
Title:

Hate it and Dell technical support

PostedSeptember 10, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Screen shuts off randomly for some unexplained reason. It won't connect to my iphone hotspot or my home networks. Had to create a special guest network for it so I can use wifi at all. The touchpad is terrible and the pointer gets stuck constantly. So far I have tried the online technical support about 5 times, it says they are busy. I filled out the form to return it 3 days ago, no response. I have been on hold a total of an hour and a half and transferred 5 times so far, with no luck or any start at getting this issue resolved. Oh and the 8 hour battery? No, two hours. You could get more if you darken your screen and use power saver, but 6 hours? I doubt that will be true for any user of this machine, unless you are not actually using it.
Pros:college, personal
Response from Dell.comBy DonaldDforDellCustomer ReviewsSeptember 12, 2012
Hello Crowe2434,

I am terribly sorry to hear you had such a bad experience with your inspiron-14z-(5423). I am escpecially sorry you received such a bad Customer Service experience! This is not indicative of what you should expect from Dell. Please take a moment to reach out to our Dellcares Team on Twitter. (@DellCares), and they can take a look at your order history and offer you some assistance. This team has assistance avenues which conventional support cannot perform.

If you don't have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell's Facebook Support Form:
http://bit.ly/wPdrET

A Facebook account is not required to use this form. You will be asked to provide her name, service tag, email address and a brief description of the issues.

I hope they can help resolve your technical issues,
+23points
24of 25voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Inspiron 14Z 5423
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Ssufi
(Canada)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Very disappointed

PostedOctober 23, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've been a Dell customer for many years, already have a Dell XPS 14z that i bought last year, Inspiron 13z that i bought couple of years ago and also have a Latitude series laptop.
I saw many bad comments about Wifi Card and system hang issues and thought maybe it was one of the batches that Dell manufactured and then called Dell Customer Support and also Spoke to Dell Tech Support, both said oh yes they know the issue and a possible issue with the first batch that was produced and then Dell fixed the issue, ""This was a total in-correct statement" Dell never fixed this issue since i just returned this laptop today back to Dell because since Day-1 th WIFI Card had issues and if you leave laptop idle for a little time you have to reconnect to internet manually which made my life so miserable that i had to reconnect to VPN and other connections that i usually use.
DEFINITELY WILL NOT / WILL NEVER RECOMMEND THIS PRODUCT TO ANYONE.
Response from Dell.comBy VikramNforDellCustomer ReviewsOctober 24, 2012
Ssufi,

Sorry to hear that you have been facing problems with the Inspiron 14z.

First of all, I would like to apologize for the information that was given to you and I also understand how frustrating it could be when you have to connect manually to the Wireless network every single time. Our engineering teams at Dell have received feedback from our customers on this issue and are working towards a reliable fix. I would also suggest you contact one of our Dell Social Media Support teams at the earliest as they will be able to help you further and do the necessary.

Please contact any of Dell's Support Teams at:

• Dell Community Forums – New to the Community:
http://dell.to/GY65Xz
• You can contact our Dell Cares Team on Twitter (@DellCares):
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ
• If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ
A Facebook account is not required to use this form. You will be asked to provide your Name, service tag, email address and a brief description of the issue.

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience!
+34points
42of 50voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Inspiron 14Z 5423
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:TypicalTechJunkie
Title:

Just your average laptop

PostedAugust 6, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this laptop to replace my 4-year-old Acer 4920G and I was expecting quite a bit from the new Inspiron 14z. But after roughly a month of use, I have to say that it is just another your average laptop.
On the bright side, it is thin and light enough to be easily carried around, and its 3rd-Generation i5 processor, 32GB mSATA (for Intel Rapid Storage Caching) along with the 8GB of DDR3 RAM definitely make it very fast and responsive; the keyboard is, in my opinion, quite comfortable to use; and its AMD HD7570M discrete graphic card, though not super powerful, but still ample for everyday use and moderate gaming.
However, there are several major drawbacks:
1. The hard drive and the cooling fans are quite loud: you can easily hear them working in an average environment even when you are only surfing the web or doing simple word editing.
2. The display is the worst I have ever seen: You can easily see almost every single pixel on the screen (especially on a white background)! It is even worse than my 4-year-old Acer 4920G with a 14-inch wide screen and a resolution of 1280*800. Really Dell? I mean I am also a proud owner of your UltraSharp U3011 monitor and I absolutely love it! I know you are capable of making a much better quality screen than the one on the inspiron 14z!
3. The touch pad is a hit-or-miss. I tried very hard to adjust the settings to find the best fit for me, but it seems that the touch pad just could not hit the sweet spot so I have to use a mouse.
4. The three ports on the left side of the computer all have the annoying covers on them.
5. The base of the computer gives me a bit of flimsy feeling... And the edges of the base are quite sharp (need more polishing). It will make your wrists uncomfortable if you decide to sit there and type for a few hours. Better workmanship will be much appreciated.
Overall, I am a little bit disappointed about this computer. After all, It is just another your average laptop computer. Hopefully the details will be addressed in the near future.
Pros:Travel, streaming video, moderate gaming, work, surfing the web
Response from Dell.comBy DonaldDforDellCustomer ReviewsAugust 7, 2012
Hello TypicalTechJunkie,

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinions on the Inspiron 14z (5423). We are happy you are pleased with the performance. Your input on what would make a better system is also appreciated.
+23points
26of 29voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Inspiron 14Z 5423
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Wirehead
(NJ)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Nice looking, but wifi card is junk!

PostedAugust 20, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was impressed with the look and feel of the laptop for the most part, but I spent 2 days with tech support trying to get the laptop to connect and maintain an internet connection. Not a chance, they use a garbage wifi card, which leads me to believe other parts inside are low end. Tech support in India is a nightmare, you get disconnected, and they are unable to problem solve. I returned it which was another hassle, very poor customer support
Response from Dell.comBy SilangchiSforDellCustomer ReviewsAugust 22, 2012
Hi ,

Sorry to hear about the support and issue with the WiFi . Dell is aware of customer feedback regarding wireless performance on the L521x and L421x. We appreciate the information customers have provided us so far, and have been using that information along with our own methods to determine the scope of the problem and potential root causes. Please feel free to continue to let us know about specific feedback regarding wireless performance. We have no updates to share at this time, but when we do, we will update this thread and others we find on the topic. Thank you for your patience.

+23points
28of 33voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Inspiron 14Z 5423
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:cdonoghue
(United Kingdom)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Very good computer - once you sort a few problems

PostedOctober 10, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Received this laptop a couple of weeks ago, and all started well. However, after a few days, some problems started to come to light. When the laptop was put into sleep mode, it would crash every time. I raised this problem with Dell, and they sent out a technician the next day to replace the motherboard free of charge. Can not fault their service. Also, as a few other people have mentioned, there are issues with the wireless connectivity. However, I've been playing around and think I have found a solution. If you go into advanced power settings and change the wireless adapter settings to Maximum Performance for both 'plugged in' and 'battery'. This solved my issues with the wireless. Once these problems were solved I can't really fault this laptop. It looks great, is built well, is really light. The display is bright and crisp. The laptop is also really fast, in fact the boot up takes less than 20 seconds. All in all - a good laptop, even if you do have to do a little troubleshooting.
+19points
21of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Inspiron 14Z 5423
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:KapilV
Title:

Wireless & Sound Problem

PostedOctober 6, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
1. Wireless connection gets disconnect in every few minutes. Even though I tried to reinstall the Antivirus still same problem.
2. Sound doesn't work good gives static sound.
Pros:personal
Response from Dell.comBy AnthonyAforDellCustomer ReviewsOctober 8, 2012
Hey KapilV,

I am sorry to hear that your Inspiron 14z has not been performing as expected. We will do all that we can to improve on this experience.

It is unusual that you are having static sound because this system ships with Skullcandy speakers which are high quality speakers. It sounds like you need some Technical Support for the speakers and for the wireless connection. I am confident that we can find a best solution for you.

• You can contact our Dell Cares Team on Twitter (@DellCares):
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ
• If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ
A Facebook account is not required to use this form. You will be asked to provide your Name, service tag, email address and a brief description of the issue.

Thank for you sharing your experience with us, and thank you for choosing Dell.
+17points
18of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Inspiron 14Z 5423
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:cjohnson10316
Title:

Great value for great hardware

PostedSeptember 16, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:
This laptop is the perfect form factor -- light-weight, slim, and a perfectly balanced keyboard. The trackpad is conveniently positioned, and the buttons are a convenient size. The keyboard itself is a pretty cool design, with space between the keys to enable easy cleaning. The display is average, with 1366x768 resolution, but provides reasonably crisp graphics and decent viewing angles. mSATA SSD and Rapid Storage technology, together with the Ivy Bridge i5, provide super-responsive computing power, along with fast startups and resumes. I personally like still having the optical drive, so getting one on a machine with such a small form-factor is a big bonus.
Cons:
Bloatware. McAfee trial had to be removed immediately after opening. Then there is the support issue. I had to make numerous calls over the course of 14 or more days to finally get a critical issue resolved. The issue brings up my next point, which has been often repeated on this forum. The wireless network adapter on my original machine was awful. After weeks of troubleshooting with and without Dell support, after reinstalling the OS twice and trying numerous driver versions, not to mention download speeds only half what would be expected from a Wireless N device, Dell support finally agreed to replace the Inspiron. The battery life is nowhere near the 7 hours promised. When I asked Dell support about that, and told them I regularly got about 4 hours to a charge, they told me that was to be expected, and that the 7 hour claim is based on an idling system. I commented that the battery would last almost indefinitely if I just never turned the laptop on. If the battery will only last 4.5-5 hours, just put that in your documentation with vendors, so that customers can make educated purchases.
Pros (redeemed):
Dell finally replaced my laptop. The new device is great. No complaints. Wireless is fast and responsive. And so far, it has not crashed once. And the battery life [seems] to be a bit better -- though still not 7 hours. Glad I stuck with this machine rather than going with some other manufacturer. I remain a fan of Dell hardware.
Pros:personal user
+17points
18of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Inspiron 14Z 5423
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:theonion
(minnesota)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Worst battery life and quality for the money

PostedDecember 15, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this new lap top because I needed long life battery power along with something I could take along that didn't weigh a ton. I had an inspiron 15" that used for 2+ years and worked pretty well, I wish I had it back!
Battery life is horrible, from day one a full charge gets me maybe 2-3 hours and that is with the screen dimmed down and on every power saver option in place.
Again, Dell wants to troubleshoot and to no avail and wanting to place blame or cover it up with, The 'potential for the battery is 8 hours'. its rediculous. Now, They want to replace the batteery, if they would ever call me back or respond to my help desk email that they told me to send.
It has issues connecting to my dual band wifi and I have many other wireless items in my home that connect with no issues.
I use this for work, not streaming movies/music/gaming which it would never stand up to with the battery issue.
Pros:work, emails
Response from Dell.comBy SaraTforDellCustomer ReviewDecember 17, 2012
Hello theonion,

I am sorry that this system has not met your expectations. If your issues have not been resolved already, please reach out to our online support team. They are available through many channels, including the Dell Support Forums (
http://dell.to/NjitjY), Twitter: @DellCares (http://dell.to/Tgt5D7), and Dell’s Facebook Support Form (http://dell.to/OO2MDG). They may be able to assist further.

-SaraT
+16points
16of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Inspiron 14Z 5423
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:mjiman
Title:

Inspiron 14z Laptop

PostedAugust 16, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I like the laptop, nice size, weight and style. Screen is great and it boots quickly and runs fast. Unfortunately within 3 weeks, my laptop had a serious software issue with the operating system shutting down on its own (a bluescreen error). Dell support was ok although everytime we called it was if the prior tech made no notes of the previous call and so we ended up starting over. What a waste of time. Oh and by the way have your express service code when you call if you want to navigate through the auto phone menue-there is no option for the case. So far many hours of frustration on the phone and still no resolution. My time is too precious to have these kind of problems. I am told that the solution is to reload the operating system an start from scratch and Dell is mailing me a drive to fix ... Dell would not give me a new computer even though that is what I asked for.
Pros:home use
Response from Dell.comBy VikramNforDellCustomer ReviewsAugust 20, 2012
mjiman,

Sorry to hear about your experience. We value your feedback and most importantly, your time and would like the opportunity to try and correct the issues. We are listening, apart from regular phone support there are other ways to get in touch with us. Please contact any of Dell's Support Teams at:

• Dell Community Forums – New to the Community:
http://dell.to/GY65Xz
• You can contact our Dell Cares Team on Twitter (@DellCares):
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ
• If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ
A Facebook account is not required to use this form. You will be asked to provide your Name, service tag, email address and a brief description of the issue.

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience!
+18points
20of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Inspiron 14Z 5423
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:csp
(Malaysia / New Zealand)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Great disappointment

PostedNovember 26, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I received the laptop today and now I am deeply regretting it. There are so many things that are not working well with this laptop!
After the initial setup and shutting it down, it failed to boot up when I switched it on again. The laptop was just stuck at the DELL logo screen. I did a search on the Web and your website, and it seems like quite a number of people have encountered similar issues. I am disappointed to know that your factory continues to send out such product despite having received so many reports of such issue.
I also noticed that the laptop gets very heated after running for a while - I can even feel the heat on the keyboard. In addition, the cover for the network port at the side does not close off properly. It would just open up when I tilted the laptop to the side.
I have been using Dell laptops for 10 years and have been happy with your products and hence decided to purchase this one to bring it with me to overseas. It is extremely disappointing that the quality and standard of your products have dropped. And now my misplaced trust in your product resulted in my predicament - i am going overseas tomorrow for three years and I now gotta bring a malfunctioned new laptop with me.
For a customer who has been excitedly waiting for a new laptop but only to receive it in such bad quality, this is totally unacceptable especially in such competitive laptop market now.
Pros:personal use
Response from Dell.comBy VikramNforDellCustomer ReviewsNovember 28, 2012
Hi csp,

Sorry to hear that the Inspiron 14Z didn’t live up to all of your expectations. As a return consumer I know what your expectations are. We really do appreciate the comments that you had about this system. It’s a great service to us here at Dell when our customers give us the type of feedback that you have in this review.

There has been a lot of information flowing into us about the problems that you pointed out and our engineers are working on a suitable fix.

I would also encourage you to reach out to one of our Online Support Teams because they can troubleshoot and identify the best solution for you.
• Dell Community Forums – New to the Community:
http://dell.to/GY65Xz
• You can contact our Dell Cares Team on Twitter (@DellCares):
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ
• If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ
A Facebook account is not required to use this form. You will be asked to provide your Name, service tag, email address and a brief description of the issue.

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience!
+16points
17of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Inspiron 14Z 5423
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:RWoofer
Title:

Good, but let down by Wifi

PostedOctober 23, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Ordered this 14Z after returning an XPS 15.
Thin, light, performs well and quiet in use. Given the spec for the price this would have scored 5 stars if it wasn't for the Wifi. Problems with the Wifi include:
- frequently locks up the connection. Only way to solve is to disable/enable wifi adaptor
- v. poor at AP roaming. It seems to hang on to incredibly weak signals to the point of lock up, when a really strong alternative signal on a different channel is only 1 metre away.
Wifi adaptor was replaced by Dell very promptly (one of the bonuses of Dell), but Wifi is still a problem.
If the Wifi issue is solved I would give this 5 stars again, as it really is an unbeatable Laptop for the price.
Dell please hurry up and solve the Wifi issue.
Pros:work
+16points
17of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Inspiron 14Z 5423
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Kitaj
Title:

Does Not Boot Up After First Shutdown

PostedDecember 10, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Great disappointment
After the initial setup and shutting it down, it failed to boot up when I switched it on again. The laptop was just stuck at the DELL logo screen.
Allso generated a lot heat in short time.
And looks like model from early 60th.
Call tech support 2 time 30 minutes on hold...
Stay away from this product.
Pros:Travel
Response from Dell.comBy SaraTforDellCustomer ReviewsDecember 11, 2012
Hello Kitaj,

I am sorry to hear that you are experiencing issues with your laptop.

If your system is hanging at the Dell logo screen, we have loaded the steps to resolve this plus a Microsoft Windows 8 Update download on the Dell Community Forums (
http://dell.to/UwHGIq). Also, if you have concerns about your systems heat, check out this article: http://dell.to/prsyvu. It has tips that may help reduce the heat produced by your system. This should be able to help.

If you need support, and do not want to call in, Support agents are available through the Dell Community Forums (
http://dell.to/NjitjY), Twitter: @DellCares (http://dell.to/Tgt5D7), and Dell’s Facebook Support Form (http://dell.to/OO2MDG). They may also be able to assist.

I hope this information can help. -SaraT
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Inspiron 14Z 5423
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Karl12
(Chicago)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

had to return it

PostedSeptember 1, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had this computer for 4 days before returning it. I was initially excited about how well it specs out for the price but found out quickly that it was too good too be true. As soon as I booted it up it became painfully obvious that the network card was faulty because it kept dropping the wifi signal intermittently. I can connect other laptops, Android cell phones, etc and never drop the signal. After doing some digging online it looks like the 13z is having the same issues with no real solution.-same issues in the reviews.
Do yourself a favor and stop trying to make it work and pretend you have to switch all these settings on your modem/router. I truly was hoping there was a simple fix because you really can't beat the value aspect. Thanks goodness for 'easy returns'.
I gave it 2 stars because without wifi(for me) it was just a $900 paperweight.
Response from Dell.comBy VikramNforDellCustomer ReviewsSeptember 4, 2012
Karl12,

We apologize that your Inspiron 14Z out of box experience was not perfect. We value your feedback, without which we will not be able to improve. Our engineering teams constantly read customer reviews to fix major issues with our products and I'm sure this will be looked into with high importance.

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience!
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Inspiron 14Z 5423
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:LongTimeDellCustomer55
Title:

Mistake made - returning it

PostedDecember 26, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought a Dell Ultrabook 14Z as a Christmas present for my daughter so she could take it with her back to school. She had an old Dell laptop that this was going to be a replacement for. When she opened it on Christmas morning she was very excited. It's a great looking and lightweight laptop, but we quickly realized it wouldn't connect to the internet through our wireless home network. I have several other devices that connect without issue. After spending a few hours trying to fix it myself I spent several more hours on the phone with various Dell support people. Most of them took the same information over and over again and put me on hold to wait for the next person.
I finally was connected to a support person who tried a whole bunch of things, but also couldn't get it to connect. The laptop has to be able to connect wherever my daughter takes it, so I was concerned that even if he got it to work on my home network, that she might have issues with it when she goes back to school. So I'm returning it and will get her something else.
Not sure why Dell would continue to sell a product that has known issues. I'm a long time Dell customer but will not be buying from Dell again.
Pros:school work
+18points
22of 26voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Inspiron 14Z 5423
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:teepee12
(Massachusetts)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

So good I ordered another

PostedMay 25, 2013
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Yes, I would recommend this product
I think it's mostly people who have problems with their computers who write these reviews. Because I got the 14Z for my husband more than a year ago. With Windows 7 installed, NOT Windows 8 (maybe that's the big diference?). It has been so trouble-free there's nothing much to say. We took it out of the box. I set up his Google account, added his other email accounts, installed or downloaded other necessary applications and he's been using it ever since. There hasn't been any reason to call customer service because there haven't been any issues. I don't know how long the battery would last because he plugs it in usually. It must be easy to use because he is NOT computer savvy. He has yet to understand the difference between the OS and an application, or for that matter, the browser or the computer itself. If he were having problems, trust me, I would know about it.
The 14Z is light and bright. The speakers are very good and loud for a laptop. Not as good as my XPS laptop on which they are very very good, but better than any other laptop I've ever listened to. It plays videos without complaint, opens, closes, sleeps, wakes, reboots ... never a hiccup. Remember when you read reviews that people who are happy and have no problems are not as likely to air thier feelings as are those who are having issues.
I have a houseful of Dell computers: literally. Why do I keep coming back? Dell has gone through a lot of changes. For a while, customer service was awful and I actually bought two laptops from someone else but when I needed a new desktop for myself, I came back to Dell. Their machines are well-built and they last. Moreover, they had addressed most of the problems with customer service and it was much better. I had a bad hard drive on the desktop. They sent a guy. He fixed it, set up the whole thing, installed applications and transferred mountains of data from the dying hard drive to the new one -- not part of his contract. I was incredibly grateful. It saved me days of additional work.
Since then, I have bought two more Dell laptops. This 14Z for my husband and a loaded XPS 15" laptop for me. I haven't had any problems with either machine. Now, I'm getting a 14Z for me, because hauling the XPS is hard on my back. It's a great laptop, but it's got a 9 cell battery that weighs like a bowling ball and I want something more portable for traveleing.
So I got another one just like my husband's, also with Windows 7 and I'm very pleased with my choice.
Don't believe every complaint you read. Even when true, it's not necessarily representative of all such computers. Sometimes, you really do get a lemon. It happens. It doesn't mean the entire line is bad.
Pros:light, fast, good speakers, great monitor, full-size keyboard, comfortable to type on
Cons:none
+18points
21of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Inspiron 14Z 5423
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Dellnomore150

PostedNovember 14, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Owned this notebook for 2 weeks, and the battery will no longer hold a charge. There is a flaw in the motherboard, and you can only use it when it is plugged in. Third Inspiron I know of that has had this problem. Dell tech service is a nightmare to deal with.
Response from Dell.comBy DonaldDforDellCustomer ReviewsNovember 16, 2012
Hello Dellnomore150,

Terribly sorry to hear of your battery issue. Do not delay, if your battery is the issue, you have thrity days from purchase to report it. I would recommend trying our Dellcares team for a change. They are not conventional support and are waiting to help you.

Social Support Team Contact:-
Twitter - @DellCares (
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ)
Dell Community Forum (
http://dell.to/GY65Xz)
Dell Facebook (
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ)

Hope they can help!
+17points
20of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Inspiron 14Z 5423
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Srini12
(Chicago)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Does Not Boot Up After First Shutdown

PostedNovember 29, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this computer from local store, started up and configured it for first time use. So far so good. Shut it down and started, only to see that the laptop does not pass the DELL Logo Screen. Looks like the Boot Software is hosed. I returned the product to the store and bought a new one, and ran into the same problem.
I have been a dell loyalist for many many years and I went a head with Dell for this purchase as I was confident of the quality, but looks like Dell has messed it up big time with this line. The laptop was supposed to come with Adobe Elements and Premeire installed, but I have not seen them for the "brief" period I used the laptop.
This has been a biggest dampener of holiday mood as this was bought for the kids use. I see that lot of people have ran into these problems. I am in a fix on to return the system and go for another computer or raise a service desk.
Pros:web, photos and video, office, home
Response from Dell.comBy VikramNforDellCustomer ReviewsDecember 3, 2012
Srini12,

We apologize that your Inspiron out of box experience was not perfect. We value your feedback and would like the opportunity to try and correct the issues. I encourage you to reach out to one of our Online Support Teams as soon as possible because they can troubleshoot and identify the best solution for you.

• Dell Community Forums – New to the Community:
http://dell.to/GY65Xz
• You can contact our Dell Cares Team on Twitter (@DellCares):
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ
• If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ
A Facebook account is not required to use this form. You will be asked to provide your Name, service tag, email address and a brief description of the issue.

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience!
+14points
15of 16voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9