Customer reviews for Inspiron 14Z 5423

Inspiron 14Z 5423

Inspiron 14Z 5423
3.202 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 178 reviews
5 Stars
46
4 Stars
48
3 Stars
20
2 Stars
24
1 Star
40
3.2
 / 
5
(178 reviews) 177
100 out of 17856%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Inspiron 14Z 5423
Review 1 for Inspiron 14Z 5423
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:semikh
(Dublin, Ireland)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Good value for money

PostedMarch 17, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Very nice and quiet machine.
You can even put 3 HDDs in this lightweight notebook: original mSATA and HDD plus you can replace CD-DVD with external drive bay.
Screen quality is poor and PgUp/PgDn/Home/End keys require use of Fn key. There is no gigabit ethernet (only 10/100) but no problems with wireless, it is fast. I have no complains about performance and SSD makes booting time fast. Machine never gets too warm even under load.
You can obtain XP/7/8 drivers for this model with no problem, both 32 and 64.
Having used this easy to carry and lightweight notebook for cople of months I think I won't be getting back to 15" or 17" heavy monsters :-)
Pros:lightweight, msata ssd, swappable bay, very quiet
Cons:screen, keyboard, 10/100 ethernet controller
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Inspiron 14Z 5423
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Operating System 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:jmiller20
(UK)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Design/graphics
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Constantly breaking down, worst laptop I have ever had.

PostedFebruary 27, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have had this laptop for about 2 years now and have had any number of problems with it.
First of I should say that I have taken good care of this laptop (in a case, regular virus scans, never dropped or spilled on etc)
Firstly the OS froze and I had to spend hours on the phone and give remote access to my computer in order to get it fixed.
Secondly the fan broke, I then arranged for an engineer from dell to come round and fix it which he did. However, it wasn't until after he had gone I realized that in doing so he had broken the battery.
Now it won't boot to windows at all, it wont let me re-install windows either because it either cant find the hard drive anymore or claims that I have locked it.
I thought about checking for a lose connection inside the laptop or even taking the battery out and replacing it. However, the laptop is designed in such a stupid way so that, even when you take out all of the screws it doesn't come apart and you cannot access the battery or any of the internal components.
On top of all this, I have had issues with the screen. There is a strange ring in which it is lighter on the center of the screen. Also, the metal used on the exterior is so easily scratched a light breeze would probably scratch it.
Never buying from Dell again. Avoid.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Inspiron 14Z 5423
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Service 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:happyhippo777
(Derby, UK)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

POOR HARDWARE AND NOT READY FOR WINDOWS 8!

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Thought this would be an ideal laptop for taking to university and work but unfortunately not. Dell have released this on Windows 8 without even checking that the drivers work properly! So far had issues with network adapters, the touchpad because of driver issues, and there has been no fix after trying various updates and downgrades, its simply because the drivers are not fully compatible/de-bugged for this hardware.
As for the quality of the build, within the 1 year of having it, it has been through 3 motherboards (luckily covered by the warranty), 1 new screen and cable, and a new webcam (all broke when this laptop has been properly cared for - just a bad build) and Dell has just told me to pay and extend my warranty (but its not my fault,the build is clearly so bad for it to need this many hardware repairs over the period of a year).
On the plus side the performance is good, fast boot up with SSD cache, quiet, Windows 8 is good, but this is down to the spec of the laptop.
I originally thought that this laptop would be convenient and make my life easier but I was wrong, instead I have spent my life waiting for hardware repairs and frustrated by the lack of driver compatibility. The sleep light makes a high pitched screech noise which is annoying, the keyboard wobbles when you use it and it is just generally poor quality in comparison to rival products. Don't bother.
Pros:intel core i5 good performance, intel rapid storage technology, quiet, windows 8 is good once used to it, portability
Cons:drivers not fully compatible, extremely poor build, sleep light makes a high pitched screech, wobbly keyboard, dancing cursor - lack of working touchpad drivers, needed 3 motherboards over the year, bloated with dell software
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Inspiron 14Z 5423
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Jim88
(Mumbai)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Dell Inspiron 14Z

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
The product is not good within a year had problems with the Ram and now with the battery. My laptop does not start at all.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Inspiron 14Z 5423
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Hazard21
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:School
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Multiple problems with price and value

PostedFebruary 3, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
While using this computer I have used it for about a year because I didn't have another option and I still don't. The keys recently have decided to only work when they feel like it, in fact I'm using a separate keyboard to type this. After a day of using it I had received a constant reminder to use McAfee even though I already own webroot and a giant circle of dents from the thinness of the screen. If you buy this treat it like a baby.
Pros:thinness
Cons:price to value, giant dents in the screen, key stickiness
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Inspiron 14Z 5423
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Jackson1111
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Inspiron 14 Z

PostedJanuary 26, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
The computer is great. It's light, quick, and fast. Windows 8.1 is not user friendly. I'm going back to Windows 7.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Inspiron 14Z 5423
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Zenny09
(Harrisonburg, VA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

This laptop has great

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I like My new laptop this so beautifull. My recomended family and friends.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Inspiron 14Z 5423
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:NiallS
(Ireland)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

Excellent price for an ultrabook

PostedJanuary 15, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Bought to replace an inspiron 15 and very happy with the choice. The laptop boots up quickly, has impressive performance (i5 chipset) excellent battery life and most importantly is lightweight ..alot lighter than the inspiron 15.
I noticed that some of the reviews mentioned issues with the wifi however it seems that these have been resolved with the standard image that is currently being supplied (Dec 2013) as I have had no issues.
My only gripe is that it has only 2 USB ports and it does not have a dedicated Page Up/Page Down buttons. Instead you use a combination of the Fn Key and the Up/Down arrow.
Pros:lightweight, fast boot, great price
Cons:only 2 usb ports with 1 behind a flap
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Inspiron 14Z 5423
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Carson414
(Virginia, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Casual Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Great Value

PostedJanuary 10, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
The Ultrabook has great power and features for the price. I have recommended it to others looking for an everyday value pc.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Inspiron 14Z 5423
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:mhkural
(Shrewsbury, MA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Windows 8 killes me

PostedJanuary 9, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
32 GB solid state drive was great, especially for fast start up and shut down.
Shortcuts in the keyboard was handy.
Mine was a certified refurbished. So I got some problems with USB ports.
Another problem is that I think it was opening webpages a bit slowly.
And finally: I hate Windows 8. I believe that technology should make life easier, it shouldn't torture people. With Windows 8, life is a torture. I cursed every feature of it. But of course it is not Dell's fault.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Inspiron 14Z 5423
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:soujanya
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

Value for price product.

PostedJanuary 9, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
All features are good in this product. The only thing i observed while i was working on it is sometimes i get a sound from the fan in the machine and the sound puts off automatically..I do not know why this is happening but did not find any issues with that.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Inspiron 14Z 5423
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Dave73
(Richmond, VA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Nice laptop

PostedJanuary 8, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought this laptop to replace a Dell which was about 2 years old and was stolen. I paid less for this computer than I did for the other one and this one is far better than the other one. Faster, more memory, better graphics.
Pros:fast
Cons:weak speakers
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Inspiron 14Z 5423
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:BJ1945
(Northport, AL, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Excellent laptop

PostedJanuary 8, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I really enjoy using this laptop. The only thing I would change is maybe having a number pad on it. I would also like a slide, or what ever you call it, on the touch pad to move the pointer.
Pros:very fast
Cons:no number pad
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Inspiron 14Z 5423
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Steezo
(Bklyn)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

THe inspiron 14Z

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I own about 6 dell Pcs from the xps 8700 Desktop as well as the XPS13 l322. Its fair to say I know Dells products.
THe 14Z is by far the best value of anything in their inventory. Great features and speed and ease of use.
Only one con. There is no option for a backlit keyboard.
Otherwise get the 14z and use the extra change on the MRs.
Steve A.
Pros:light weight, price, sd card slot, hdmi slot, great keyboard and track pad
Cons:no backlit keyboard
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Inspiron 14Z 5423
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Klyn
(Ireland)
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

disappointing

PostedDecember 4, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought from Dell, twice before and my recent purchase was a Dell inspiron 14z ultrabook and my experience has been a huge disappointment. One of the usb 3.0 ports didn't work. The tracking pad stuttered and eventually the keyboard went. Dell sent a technician to replace everything and still the keyboard didn't work. On the positive, the boot-time is very quick, the trackpad comfortable and the chicklet keyboard fine to type on. I would recommend going with the higher spec graphics.
I am currently waiting on a replacement product for the faulty one I received. I can only hope that it functions and I can offer a better review. I cannot recommend buying it at this time.
Pros:sleek, nice keyboard, dvd r/w, quick boot-up
Cons:questions around build, win8 os, poor graphics
Response from Dell.comBy JohnBforDellCustomer ReviewsDecember 16, 2013
Hey Klyn,

Sorry to hear that your Inspiron 14z hasn't been great yet. Should you need any future help, please use the information below to contact us. The team members below will get you taken care of.
Please reach out to our Dell Support Team at:

• Dell Community Forums – Laptops-
http://dell.to/1bGj9uO
• You can contact our Dell Cares Team on Twitter (@DellCares):
http://dell.to/16KU93m
• If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
http://bit.ly/15zzg95
A Facebook account is required to use this option. Please use the message button and provide your Name, service tag, email address and a brief description of the issue.”

Thank you. JGB
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Inspiron 14Z 5423
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Steveconk1
(New Orleans, LA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

ultra light with a CD drive

PostedDecember 3, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I love the fact that this computer is an ultra light but still has a CD drive. The speed of the on and off feature is also helpful.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Inspiron 14Z 5423
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:james54
(Peoria, IL, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:On the go
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Good Laptop for Travel

PostedNovember 21, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Bought this laptop to replace my old one. Its light wait, compact yet comes with an excellent screen size.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Inspiron 14Z 5423
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Traveltheworld
(Portland, OR, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Everything I need in a nice compact laptop

PostedNovember 21, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Fast, efficient, easy to order and set-up. From the online order to the delivery and set-up and not daily use. Excellent choice.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Inspiron 14Z 5423
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:East561
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Better than average

PostedNovember 21, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Everything is great, except Window 8. This laptop is well-designed and looks modern. It will suit you if you are looking for a lightweight, slim laptop with decent battery life. Note that you must have an email address prior you turn this laptop on, otherwise it won't let you continue (one of the many annoying features from Win8).
Pros:slim, lightweight, decent battery life, great design
Cons:window 8
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Inspiron 14Z 5423
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:bl45
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

excellent choice

PostedNovember 20, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
great, lightweight 14-inch ultrabook for travel. and it comes with a dvd player.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9