Customer reviews for Inspiron 14R

Inspiron 14R

Inspiron 14R
4.31 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 429 reviews
5 Stars
233
4 Stars
140
3 Stars
32
2 Stars
4
1 Star
20
4.3
 / 
5
(429 reviews) 396
390 out of 42991%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Inspiron 14R
Review 1 for Inspiron 14R
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:SusanLe
(HoChiMinh City, VietNam)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

My battery

PostedOctober 22, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
My Laptop performs very well but the battery life is about 1 hour and designed capacity percentage is 52%. I bought about 1 year
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Inspiron 14R
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:fletch123
Title:

Inspiron 14R

PostedOctober 5, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Overall a very good laptop. Size, design and display are excellent. I5 processor is fast enough and runs win 7 with no problems. However the DVD drive (TSST corp DVD+-RW TS-L633J) is not able to read every DVD. I have tested the DVD's and they work fine in my other computers and with an external RW DVD attached to this Dell laptop. So - I don't know why - the driver is up to date - but I'll have deal with it later.
Pros:home and multimedia use
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Inspiron 14R
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:vimal
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Newbie
Title:

take this product light

PostedOctober 5, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
this is a primary model not even amature.
Pros:software development, personal use
-10points
2of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Inspiron 14R
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DfromHouston
Title:

Excellent

PostedSeptember 22, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Ordered this laptop for my 10th grade daughter. Everything shipped ontime and the laptop has been running trouble-free so far.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Inspiron 14R
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:AKHILESH
(cochin , India)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

NOT TO TTHE MARK

PostedSeptember 16, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
The inspiron seeries of dell is not performing well as the old series. I do have complaints with in the 4 months of purchase
Pros:data processing, music, movies
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Inspiron 14R
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:kittybubba
Title:

Nice Dell Laptop for the Price!

PostedSeptember 12, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
This Dell laptop is very nice for the price, fast speed, clear screen, easy to use mouse, overall I'm very satisfied.
Pros:personal use
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Inspiron 14R
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:samu
Title:

cheap! shipping fast! nice computer!

PostedAugust 19, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
cheap! shipping fast! nice computer!
Pros:news, movie, music
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Inspiron 14R
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:fishystuff00
(CA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

14R - oh my no

PostedAugust 17, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought my 14R at Best Buy about 4.5 months ago, seemed to be adequate for what I wanted to do. Came with some perks, which was cool.
The computer worked alright for the first few months, actually I didn't have any problems with it but one, which was the DVD drive.
The drive appeared to be completely defective, would not read or write about 90% of the time. But I did ignore this problem for a while as the drive wasn't super important.
Recently, however, the computer I just want to throw against the wall.
I have been taking advantage of the rich graphics on the computer through the HD screen and the included HDMI port. Very cool to have these options coming from my old computer. The screen is very nice, but the problem lies somewhere else, perhaps with the graphics card? HD is a no no for this computer, it just won't play correctly, freezes or loops a one second clip over and over.
Upon review of the system, both the CPU and physical memory are within normal perimeters. I have 4 GB of DDR3 and a Core i3. The odd part is that running other, more simple tasks, shows a huge lag as well.
I've attempted to contact Dell for customer support, however as I'm sure you all know, they charge a very large fee for this.
Other functions appear to be working well which is nice.
All in all, if you're looking for basic functionality out of your laptop, this one is probably good for you. If you're looking for just a bit more, perhaps think twice, as apparently Dell sure didn't before releasing this computer. Because of Dell's refusal to back such a new computer for support, I would not recommend this product to anybody. For the price I paid, I expect somebody from the company would be more than happy to help when a problem arises, granted I'm not calling five years after purchase.
Pros:streaming/watching video, internet, student, burning/watching cd/dvds, streaming to tv/audio device (music)
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
+20points
23of 26voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Inspiron 14R
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:NorCalBecky
(Northern CA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Great find for the money

PostedAugust 16, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros: lightweight, easy to use, easy to start, reliable connectivity (wireless was my option), easy to uninstall unwanted delivered programs
Cons: came with some things that I never use so I uninstalled them - other than that, I've had this a month without a problem!
Pros:home use, internet connection
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Inspiron 14R
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Dotdotcalm
(Toronto Ontario)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good

PostedAugust 15, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Inspiron 14R was a gift for my granddaughter who is 11. She is very pleased with it - no complaints. "Free" laptop bag was very cumbersome - didn't like it at all and have replaced it with a smaller streamlined bag. Also, the reps need to learn the paypal system - I was double charged - once through Dell and once through paypal. If you are paying through paypal, it takes 1 or 2 days for your purchase to confirm so don't give your credit card # to dell and to paypal or you will be double charged.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Inspiron 14R
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:HappyBoy63
(Columbus, OH)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Good Unit

PostedAugust 15, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
The unit is really good. I wish that it was a little thinner, but overall I would buy this unit again.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Inspiron 14R
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Jamolas
(Austin)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Awesome laptop

PostedAugust 12, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I love my Dell Inspiron. I purchased a few weeks ago and it arrived in only a couple of days after purchase which exceeded my expectations. I had previously purchased an expensive laptop for my wife and I only like looking at it. Using it doesn't feel the same as Windows 7. I love this Dell Inspiron and I would only buy Dell. I use to own an Adamo XPS, but I am perfectly happy with the Inspiron. Its so responsive, reliable, fast and slick.
Pros:streaming video, emailing, reading news, easy excel and word docs
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Inspiron 14R
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Techone
(WestCoast)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Solid System

PostedAugust 11, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
This laptop is a good entry level system for college students and the price is attractive to. I picked it up for $399 which was a base configuration but I know that I can increase the memory on the system up to 8gb which is more than a home user needs at this time.
Pros:college, leisure surfing
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Inspiron 14R
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:snowwis62
(Alabama)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Jakes puter

PostedAugust 10, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
This was our fourth laptop purchased from Dell within the last three years. I have had nothing but good things to say about Dell computers. This one was purchased for a 10 year old grandson.
Pros. small enough for him to handle
tough enough to not worry about a 10 year old using it by himself. Was impressed with the Dell stage software for him.
cons: out of four computers purchased this was the first to have a problem. However Dell sent a repairman to our home to correct the problem the day after it was delivered. We have had no problems with it since.
I will continue to be a Dell computer user.
Pros:streaming video, internet browser, music
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Inspiron 14R
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:drkmyth93
(New Orleans)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

AWESOME

PostedAugust 10, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
It is an amazing computar, does what it says it would!
When buying you would want to opt for that second battery though because it doesn't last very long maybe 5 hours max!
Pros:college, internet surfing, writing and projects
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Inspiron 14R
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:inspiron14r
Title:

Great computer-like new!

PostedAugust 9, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Just got this refurbished dell inspiron and it is just like new! The computer was in perfect condition and works really great. The processor is fast and I like the new features in windows 7. The size of computer is great, small and sleek and it weighs much less than my old inspiron making it much more portable!
The only cons about the computer is the battery does not last as long as my old inspiron and the power cord is much smaller than my old one as well as my parents inspiron and therefore I can only use my own charger.
Other than that it works great! If it lasts as long as my old dell I will never buy a new computer again!
Pros:personal home use, school work
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Inspiron 14R
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:angelajeff
Title:

battery

PostedAugust 8, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
the computer performs very well but the battery life is sub par
Pros:internet, School, music, Travel
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Inspiron 14R
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:nana70
Title:

Great Service and Product

PostedAugust 5, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
I am really enjoying my new computrt. I twas delivered on time, easy to set up and any service I needed was timely. We buy all out major electronics form Dell and will continue doing so.
Pros:personal use
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Inspiron 14R
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Homebody12
Title:

Dependable

PostedAugust 4, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:home
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Inspiron 14R
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:prakashchandra
(concord nc usa)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

realy light weight & comfurtable

PostedAugust 3, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I am looking for ecconomical & faster one note book, which I got in Inspiron 14R (N4010) Laptop, It is sleek & light wt,also help to browse quikly.it helps me lot in travelling.I must say it owsume!
Pros:agri prices, whether travel, developement reasurch, personal development, wold news sport event
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 20