Customer reviews for Inspiron 14R 5437

Inspiron 14R 5437

Inspiron 14R 5437
3.923 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
3.9
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 13
10 out of 1377%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Inspiron 14R 5437
Review 1 for Inspiron 14R 5437
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:lunears
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Touch Screen Does Not Work Well

PostedAugust 9, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
After about 6 months of use my touchscreen stopped working completely, also about 1 month after getting the laptop it began to lag and slow down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Inspiron 14R 5437
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:dave435
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

New improved Dell + Great value

PostedApril 18, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I am impressed with the quality of the laptop, built solid, more like a Sony. Get the win 8.1 update, it makes it very usable.
Although there are some cons, they reflect the affordable pricing of the laptop, it is not an indication of poor quality.
I would buy an dell again instead of a sony or an hp.
Pros:great battery life, light, solid construction, great screen, incredible price
Cons:no keyboard backlight, low end sound, low speed disk
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Inspiron 14R 5437
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Michael12345678
(Arizona)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Great laptop but WIFI issues

PostedMarch 2, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have purchased two of these the past 3 months. The first was the model with the 500 MB hard drive with 4 MB memory. It had to be returned to the seller because the WIFI kept dropping. Figuring it was a lemon, I was excited to buy the newer model with this current configuration of 1 TB and 8 MB memory from another seller. It also had to be returned because it kept dropping the WIFI (but not as often), had the curser resize my internet screen, and pulled up the right charm bar unexpectedly on occasions. I really like the styling and feature of this laptop. The fellow at the retail store indicated it was a driver issue with Windows 8.1, I worked with Dell for hours the first time on first laptop driver issue and it was never resolved. Dell...what is happening? I have owned 3 prior Dells which worked just fine which is why I keep returning to Dell. I just returned the second laptop to the seller today.
Pros:styling, keyboard, solid feel, dell quality, features, dell support
Cons:wifi kept dropping
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Inspiron 14R 5437
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:AKY9611
(Bayamón, Puerto Rico)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

It's the best!!!

PostedDecember 15, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought a Dell Inspiron 2 years ago when the latest operating system was Windows 7 and I love it so much that I bought another one 2 months ago (with Windows 8) and pass the older one to my kids...and it is still working! At first I couldn't quite understand the new one but every time I needed any help the customer service department was ready to help and now I'm a pro (almost) well what I'm trying to say is that if your looking for a good product with great customer service Dell is the place to go
-1point
7of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Inspiron 14R 5437
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Fred39
(PA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Starts fast, nice speed

PostedNovember 20, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I was very pleasantly surprised at how fast the computer goes through startup. Power on and using within 10 seconds. Easy setup, quick in doing calulations. Having a hard time getting away from my wife as she also likes how light it is.
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Inspiron 14R 5437
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:PASTORALAN
(Hagerstown, MD, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Great product

PostedNovember 20, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have had my laptop for about a month and I love the performance and the battery life
0points
5of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Inspiron 14R 5437
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Hizzoner1940
(Guelph, ON, Canada)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

I like most features with Windows 8

PostedNovember 2, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
This device was purchased as a replacement for my Dell Inspiron N4110 laptop...very reliable. I will add more RAM and possibly an SSD in lieu of the current HDD
Pros:reliable, good sound, good video card
Cons:miss having the spkr. port on the right side, bom arrived in french instead of english
0points
9of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Inspiron 14R 5437
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:eela
(Edmonton, AB)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Design/graphics
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Great Value but...

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Bought this laptop during Dell's week of sales, got it priced down $125. Great value for the specs inside!
Although not as compact as an ultrabook, it is still slimmer than my 6 year old HP. Battery lasts an impressive 9 hours with moderate brightness and surfing the internet. Extremely quiet - the cooling fan is off unless needed (even then a barely audible whim).
My only gripe is the hard drive: Dell equipped mine with a 1 TB Western Digital Blue drive. Nothing wrong with the storage factor but these drives are slow! A quick upgrade to a 500 GB hybrid drive failed. Dell's recovery software kept on giving me errors stating "software must be installed on a hard drive 960 GB or larger in size." A pittance as if you wanted to install a solid state drive instead, you'd have to fork over money for a new OS (no recovery for you) :(. In the end, I ended up spending more for a Segate 1 TB hybrid drive and it completes this computer. Starts up like a rocket in 20 some secs and operates like a charm.
If you want performance, would recommend you do the same! Or if you want a solid state, just be aware that you will have to buy a new OS. :( But overall, a good buy.
Pros:thin profile, touchscreen, solid performance specs, queit, long battery life (9 hrs)
Cons:finicky recovery software, unable to swap out to a smaller solid state hdd
+39points
39of 39voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Inspiron 14R 5437
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:AJIT385
(Bharatpur, Rajasthan, India)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

TOP ONE LAPTOP

PostedOctober 21, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
It is really very good laptop for networking and personal use and commercial use also.
-9points
15of 39voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Inspiron 14R 5437
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MarceloB37
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Good product

PostedOctober 14, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Good product, Good product, Good product, Good product, Good product, Good product, Good product Good product
-29points
1of 31voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Inspiron 14R 5437
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Craxy4x4
(New Mexico, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Entertainment
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Fair computer

PostedSeptember 27, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I first bought the 15r touch which I returned it on the first day due to super poor sound quality. I then went for the 15z touch with the Skull Candy speakers. The sound quailty is better but still no where close to what my 10 year old Toshiba A105 was. I am no audio nut by any means but Dell doesn't know how to put decent speakers in their products, they went cheap. So if anyone wants average speakers quailty get the Skull Candy speakers like the 15z comes with, you will still have to adjust the setings to optimize the quailty, but don't expect much out of these speakers. They do get loud but at times can sound poor like a quailty cell phone speaker.
Pros:fair performance over all
Cons:fair but not great speaker qualityfor a name brand
Response from Dell.comBy JohnBforDellCustomer ReviewsOctober 2, 2013
Hey Craxy4x4,

I hope everything is continuing to work out well for you on your Inspiron 14R.

If there is anything else we can do to help you out, please use the information below to contact us. The team members below will get you taken care of.
Please reach out to our Dell Support Team at:

• Dell Community Forums – New to the Community:
http://dell.to/19hQ1Ky
• You can contact our Dell Cares Team on Twitter (@DellCares):
http://dell.to/16KU93m
• If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
http://bit.ly/15zzg95
A Facebook account is required to use this option. Please use the message button and provide your Name, service tag, email address and a brief description of the issue.”

Thank you. JGB
-1point
6of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Inspiron 14R 5437
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Elena
(Malaysia)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Loud Machine Working Sound upon Starting

PostedSeptember 25, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I got my new Inspiron 14R last two weeks. Everything is fine and I really love this laptop's outlook. One thing I quite mind about is, every time when I woke my laptop up from sleep or screen saver mode, there is a loud machine working from the right side. I understand it must be the machine working sound and it only happens for 1 time, but sounds weird because my old DELL appeared this kind of sound only after few years. Now condition getting worse to even during I on my laptop which initially only appeared during wake up. I called technical support, I ran through the diagnosis based on their instruction, everything is fine and there is nothing loose. May I know what's wrong with the sound or it is normal to happen on new device? Thanks.
Response from Dell.comBy JonathanNforDellCustomer ReviewsOctober 31, 2013
Hello Elena,

I want to thank you for taking your time and posting here about your experiences with the Inspiron 14 (3437) laptop. I apologize about the odd sound you are hearing. My first thought is that there is a disk in the optical drive and the drive is spinning up fast to read it each time you come back from sleep. It might be a tight screw causing this and thus would not show up in a software diag. I recommend reaching out to our @DellCares team on Twitter and see if they can help you resolve your issues in a timely and professional manner.

http://dell.to/1f81nkZ

If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell’s Facebook Support Form and reach us there:

http://dell.to/18PGSrH

Hope this helps!
0points
4of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Inspiron 14R 5437
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Panzrwagn
(Bellevue, WA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

The Perfect Compromise

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Sure, I could have gone with a 17" full 1080 screen - If I wanted to lug something that big around, try to fit it on a airline tray table, and generally risk carpal tunnel syndrome just from handling it. Or I could have gone the other way with a virtually unreadable tablet-sized display. I could have paid for a quad-core CPU, and a 2 GB video display, but neither my job nor my aspirations include gamer or video editor. I will keep the 8GB RAM and 1TB disk, however.
No, I ordered exactly what I wanted, in the size I wanted, and with the one key feature that's a must have for Windows 8 - a touch screen. I just spent a few hours use 'moving in' from the luxury of a recliner in my living room, and didn't miss having a mouse once. Without a touch screen, I would have been at my desk or the dining room table, hunched over, cursing the Win8 GUI. It is intended for touchscreens. Period.
Everything else is fine, the WiFi hooked up without a problem and I'm getting ~20Mb/Sec, the Bluetooth is fine, the USBs are fast 3.0, and the SD card reader is nice and central on the front.
I have to note that the display hinges are very solid - a must for touchscreen use, and not everybody has figured that out yet. In fact the whole package seems solid, a bit thicker than an Ultrabook, but slimmer than my 2 yr old work laptop.
So yeah, it's a compromise. But it's one I can live with and strongly recommend.
Pros:good performance, touchscreen, features, size and weight
Cons:it wasnt free
+52points
57of 62voted this as helpful.