Customer reviews for Inspiron 14R 5437

Inspiron 14R 5437

Inspiron 14R 5437
3.44 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 25 reviews
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
4
1 Star
2
3.4
 / 
5
(25 reviews) 25
18 out of 2572%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Inspiron 14R 5437
Review 1 for Inspiron 14R 5437
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

Battery Problem

PostedJanuary 28, 2016
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought it one year ago and battery is gone already.
Hope they have better battery and the built in camera
never worked. The retailer won't take responsibility of it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Inspiron 14R 5437
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

No review

PostedDecember 30, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
I like DELL.DELL products excellent
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Inspiron 14R 5437
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

Very sad

PostedDecember 22, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was looking for a speed notebook for video programs. I thouht the i7 were what i was looking for and buy the ultimate dell notebook. I was totally wrong.
I had a lot of error messages and blue screens. The word has taking 30s to start at first time and the message" is not work often occurr in all other programs.
It came with a small defect in the corner, but it don`t bother me. Now i know that was caused by a hit. may be at a package process.
I am feeling cheated and no basis to ask for replacement of the product after the elapsed time of purchase, even though the warranty.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Inspiron 14R 5437
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

Bad experience

PostedDecember 18, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Already i have wasted 50000 and then after one year my motherboard gets damaged and sometime its show black screen and again i have to remove battery and again i have to start
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Inspiron 14R 5437
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

Poor battery

PostedDecember 14, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
With one year of usage i had to buy a new battery for the notebook
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Inspiron 14R 5437
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

Factory Reset

PostedSeptember 22, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
Your applications SHOULD INCLUDE FACTORY RESET within
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Inspiron 14R 5437
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

Best Product From Dell

PostedSeptember 22, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
It Is Very Nice
But Touch Connection Will Lost
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Inspiron 14R 5437
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

Good Hardware, Poor Software

PostedSeptember 8, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
Laptop itself is nice, but included Dell software such as backup and recovery is clunky and hard to work if it works at all. In particular I could never get the driver updates to work, and the backup software refused to complete.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Inspiron 14R 5437
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

INSPIRON 5437 SO POOR

PostedSeptember 7, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
I PURCHASE A DELL LAPTOP ONLY AFTER ONE YEAR I CHANGE MY DISPLAY BECOZ IT GOT DESTRUCT ND IN GAMING SO POOR GRAPHICS ALTHOUGH I HAVE NVIDIA 740GT ND SO SLOW IN ANY WORKING OFFICIAL WORKS...SO THATS WHY I GAVE THEM A POOR RATING STARS ....
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Inspiron 14R 5437
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

Good or Bad

PostedJuly 29, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
this is very good product
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Inspiron 14R 5437
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

Worst Laptop

PostedJuly 7, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this a year ago and exactly after 15 months, harddisk failed with no reasons it's worst , worst laptop
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Inspiron 14R 5437
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(PA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Nice machine, until the motherboard fails

PostedJune 6, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
This machine was a great deal when I bought it, and it has done everything I've needed it to do. The processor was fast enough for everything but graphics-demanding video games, the screen had a usable resolution, the keyboard was comfortable to use, the touchpad was a far cry better than many other models on the market, and, above all, it ran for nearly nine hours on a charge. Windows 8 boots much more quickly than Windows 7, even on the 1TB mechanical drive.
However, over the past four months, my machine became increasingly erratic on startup. Sometimes it would wake up from sleep, other times it wouldn't. Sometimes it would boot from power off, sometimes not. Most of the time, just trying again would yield success (i.e., close the lid or power off, then re-open or power on). However, "not waking up" and "not booting" became more and more common until the machine wouldn't wake up at all any longer. The screen would show the Dell logo, and nothing more. (No POST, no signs of OS booting.) The machine is out of warranty, so my only option from Dell Support is to send it in. A failed motherboard appears to be the most likely cause, so I'm facing a repair bill that's half the cost of the computer.
In all the Dell machines I've owned and used, I've NEVER seen a motherboard failure, even after years of daily use. In contrast, this 14R is dead after only 15 months of moderate adult use with careful handling. However, eBay has plenty of 14R-5437 motherboards that either don't power up or fail to recognize the hard drive. It looks like a real reliability issue.
I'm disappointed, to say the least. I bought Dell because they've never let me down, but, truly, this Inspiron just isn't built as well as other Dells I've used.
Pros:inexpensive, battery life, performance
Cons:reliability
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Inspiron 14R 5437
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Touch Screen Does Not Work Well

PostedAugust 9, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
After about 6 months of use my touchscreen stopped working completely, also about 1 month after getting the laptop it began to lag and slow down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Inspiron 14R 5437
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

New improved Dell + Great value

PostedApril 18, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I am impressed with the quality of the laptop, built solid, more like a Sony. Get the win 8.1 update, it makes it very usable.
Although there are some cons, they reflect the affordable pricing of the laptop, it is not an indication of poor quality.
I would buy an dell again instead of a sony or an hp.
Pros:great battery life, light, solid construction, great screen, incredible price
Cons:no keyboard backlight, low end sound, low speed disk
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Inspiron 14R 5437
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Arizona)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Great laptop but WIFI issues

PostedMarch 2, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have purchased two of these the past 3 months. The first was the model with the 500 MB hard drive with 4 MB memory. It had to be returned to the seller because the WIFI kept dropping. Figuring it was a lemon, I was excited to buy the newer model with this current configuration of 1 TB and 8 MB memory from another seller. It also had to be returned because it kept dropping the WIFI (but not as often), had the curser resize my internet screen, and pulled up the right charm bar unexpectedly on occasions. I really like the styling and feature of this laptop. The fellow at the retail store indicated it was a driver issue with Windows 8.1, I worked with Dell for hours the first time on first laptop driver issue and it was never resolved. Dell...what is happening? I have owned 3 prior Dells which worked just fine which is why I keep returning to Dell. I just returned the second laptop to the seller today.
Pros:styling, keyboard, solid feel, dell quality, features, dell support
Cons:wifi kept dropping
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Inspiron 14R 5437
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Bayamón, Puerto Rico)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

It's the best!!!

PostedDecember 15, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought a Dell Inspiron 2 years ago when the latest operating system was Windows 7 and I love it so much that I bought another one 2 months ago (with Windows 8) and pass the older one to my kids...and it is still working! At first I couldn't quite understand the new one but every time I needed any help the customer service department was ready to help and now I'm a pro (almost) well what I'm trying to say is that if your looking for a good product with great customer service Dell is the place to go
-2points
7of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Inspiron 14R 5437
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(PA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Starts fast, nice speed

PostedNovember 20, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I was very pleasantly surprised at how fast the computer goes through startup. Power on and using within 10 seconds. Easy setup, quick in doing calulations. Having a hard time getting away from my wife as she also likes how light it is.
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Inspiron 14R 5437
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Hagerstown, MD, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Great product

PostedNovember 20, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have had my laptop for about a month and I love the performance and the battery life
-1point
5of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Inspiron 14R 5437
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Guelph, ON, Canada)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

I like most features with Windows 8

PostedNovember 2, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
This device was purchased as a replacement for my Dell Inspiron N4110 laptop...very reliable. I will add more RAM and possibly an SSD in lieu of the current HDD
Pros:reliable, good sound, good video card
Cons:miss having the spkr. port on the right side, bom arrived in french instead of english
0points
10of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Inspiron 14R 5437
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Edmonton, AB)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Design/graphics
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Great Value but...

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Bought this laptop during Dell's week of sales, got it priced down $125. Great value for the specs inside!
Although not as compact as an ultrabook, it is still slimmer than my 6 year old HP. Battery lasts an impressive 9 hours with moderate brightness and surfing the internet. Extremely quiet - the cooling fan is off unless needed (even then a barely audible whim).
My only gripe is the hard drive: Dell equipped mine with a 1 TB Western Digital Blue drive. Nothing wrong with the storage factor but these drives are slow! A quick upgrade to a 500 GB hybrid drive failed. Dell's recovery software kept on giving me errors stating "software must be installed on a hard drive 960 GB or larger in size." A pittance as if you wanted to install a solid state drive instead, you'd have to fork over money for a new OS (no recovery for you) :(. In the end, I ended up spending more for a Segate 1 TB hybrid drive and it completes this computer. Starts up like a rocket in 20 some secs and operates like a charm.
If you want performance, would recommend you do the same! Or if you want a solid state, just be aware that you will have to buy a new OS. :( But overall, a good buy.
Pros:thin profile, touchscreen, solid performance specs, queit, long battery life (9 hrs)
Cons:finicky recovery software, unable to swap out to a smaller solid state hdd
+39points
40of 41voted this as helpful.
1 2