Customer reviews for Inspiron 14 Intel n4020

Inspiron 14 Intel n4020

Inspiron 14 Intel n4020
3.706 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 17 reviews
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
3.7
 / 
5
(17 reviews) 17
14 out of 1782%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Inspiron 14 Intel n4020
Review 1 for Inspiron 14 Intel n4020
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Nimbuz
(Sri Lanka)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Disgin issues

PostedSeptember 27, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Im using Dell Inspiron 4030 over a one year. still its working perfectly. Apart from few design issues this laptop is perfect.
1. Does not have HDMI port
2. Does not have USB 3.0 port
3. Does not have eSATA port ( it is ok if its have USB/eSATA combo port)
4. Heat-sink exhaust is block by the display. therefore, the screen gets heated by the host air coming out of from the heat-sink.
Overall performance wise the laptop performing well.
Pros:sw development, audio/video editing, documentation, browsing internet
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Inspiron 14 Intel n4020
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ragana
Title:

Excellent

PostedJanuary 26, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Inspiron 14 Intel n4020
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Girish
(Pune)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Issues with Audio & Build Chassis

PostedAugust 3, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
My company issued me a Dell Inspiron N4030 a month ago. Looks attractive & I was excited to use my first Dell system. After extensive use I have 3 main issues with this particular model & pretty serious ones. I am focusing more on the cons than pros as that is what I look for before buying anything to avoid regrets later.
1) Plastic Chassis: Even though it looks shiny & attractive the plastic build chassis feels low quality & is very very delicate . In fact on lifting it you can here squeaks & it feels like it can crack any moment.
2) Function keys: I use F5 key a lot to periodically refresh the memory, but since Dell designers have altered the key arrangement one needs to press Function key along with F5 every time you need to refresh. Whats more surprising is F5 key is replaced with brightness key. Even if one changes display brightness often it should have been placed on the adjacent F6 key which is left unused.
3) For me however the most disappointing aspect is the speaker output quality. The Audio output is horrible to say the least & they squeak even at low volumes. The headphone output is good but the speakers used are of the lowest quality & remind you of those china made radios sold along roadsides. Never expected such low quality from Dell.
System is very fast though & battery life is also very good. But for me the cons definitely outweigh the pros. I will not recommend this particular model N4030 to anyone due to its plastic build & super low quality speakers.
Pros:Travel, work
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Inspiron 14 Intel n4020
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JimboHK
(Hong Kong)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

pretty good but a little room for improvement

PostedApril 25, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
OK first up, my Inspiron 14 spec is an Intel Core i5 2.53GHz with 4GB RAM, 1GB Graphics and 7,200RPM HDD.
I bought this recently to replace my 4 year old Inspiron which I had spent something like HK$8,000 when I bought it.
I paid about HK$7,300 for the new one, which was a bit over the wife's "approved" budget but I figured the extra was worth it to future-proof it by going Core i5 rather than Core i3, since the Intel Acceleration technology can give you a decent boost when you need it. Also a word of advice, if you can afford it, ALWAYS get a 7,200RPM HDD over a 5,400RPM HDD, the former is 33% faster and you WILL notice the difference.
Upon receving my new Inspiron a couple of things disappointed me initially. Firstly, my old Inspiron had 4 USB ports, the new one only has 3 and one is a combo USB/E-SATA. Secondly (and it seems this is the way of all laptops these days) the screen has been stretched wider but is less tall. Now I fully understand that if you want to watch a DVD this is great, but honestly, how much of your time do you spend watching DVDs on your laptop VS surfing the Internet? In case you hadn't noticed, web pages are vertically oriented, and the less tall the screen is the more scrolling you have to do. I now have to vertically scroll even to see a portrait-oriented photo on Facebook!
Another irritation was the fact that the laptop did not come with any recovery media or recent Windows Updates. So when you get your shiny new laptop you need to spend the first few hours burning the recovery media (assuming you already had a few blank DVDs lying around) and installing a whole bunch of updates.
Note that if you're not planning on taking this out of the house get a 15" model instead (I recently bought a 15" model for a friend and it really made me wish I had the bigger screen). Not only will you appreciate the bigger screen of the 15" model but it also has a full numeric keypad which is a nice touch, whilst the keyboard layout on the 14" model is a bit quirky and took me a little while to get used to.
Others on here have commented how the speakers are poor, and before I bought it I read the reviews and thought "it's a laptop for goodness sake, you can't expect great speakers!". However, they were not wrong, and was quite shocked how distorted the sound is. The iPhone's internal speakers are considerably better, which gives you an idea how poor the Inspiron's ones are.
Anyway, all that said, this laptop is pretty fast and I'm pretty pleased with it. Boot up time of Win 7 is < 1 minute. For the price its not a bad machine and I'm pretty confident this machine will keep me going for another 3-4 years.
Pros:internet browsing, a bit of home working
+22points
23of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Inspiron 14 Intel n4020
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Poulina
(Klang, Malaysia)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

I'm lovin' it!

PostedApril 10, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
My previous Dell laptop has been used for 6 years with no major problem except that some of the keyboard keys are spoilt... This prompts me to purchase my current new Inspiron 14 Dell laptop, and I find myself am loving this new one even more! I bought a i5-, 4GB one for a very reasonable price. Functionality wise no problem, the speaker is fine for me too. Perhaps what disturbs me a little is the black color of the inner part of the laptop; black color makes the dusts gathered on top of it pretty obvious... but this does not require major concern anyways. :)
Pros:streaming video, browsing websites, do homework/projects, play computer online games
+16points
17of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Inspiron 14 Intel n4020
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MANOJ
(INDIA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

NICE EXPRIENCE

PostedApril 8, 2011
User submitted photo
Yes, I would recommend this product
ITS AMAZING
-5points
1of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Inspiron 14 Intel n4020
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Subhankar Chowdhury

PostedMarch 26, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
-4points
1of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Inspiron 14 Intel n4020
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:john stua
Title:

my new notebook.

PostedMarch 20, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
i love this notebook. even the color is black, it is elegant-looking. just buy this with core i3, don't buy with the pentium cpu. it has only one problem. when i bought this laptop, the idt software(sound) make the speaker noisy and carcky when we play song. just uninstall that software and use the windows default sound driver. then, the sound is brilliant. hehe. perhaps there is something wrong with idt software and i hope they can upgrade the software.
+8points
10of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Inspiron 14 Intel n4020
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:eattan
(Kuala Lumpur)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Dell Insipiron 1420

PostedFebruary 28, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
i got a problem with the above model.I have been loyal customer for years,bought few laptops for myself and few PC for office use.
my laptop hanged while I was watching video, the screen gone green and totally hanged, not even ctrl+shift+del worked. I have to force it off by pressing power button. After I restarted, I could see there is light from LCD, but totally nothing shown, even until I heard the sound of windows started, not even BIOS could be shown. I still could adjust the brightness of the LCD.
I guess this will be my last purchase with dell.
Pros:work, movie, Gaming
+23points
26of 29voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Inspiron 14 Intel n4020
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Santosh Metrani
(Hubli)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Feedback

PostedFebruary 26, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
While I am delighted at the quality of the Inspiron 14R laptop, there is one practical feature that is missing and which hinders my work to a great extent. The keybord doesnot have a backlight which results in straining your eyes in a dim-lit enviornment.I hope dell engineers are reading this.
+16points
17of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Inspiron 14 Intel n4020
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:subhrajit
Title:

dell inspiron

PostedDecember 6, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
stylist graphic design lappy 4 youngster the lAPPY IS SLIM HAVING AWESOME CONFIGURATION
Pros:i use it 4 gaming, studing, surfing, multimedia
+13points
17of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Inspiron 14 Intel n4020
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:inspiration 14 R
Title:

this is best product....

PostedNovember 19, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
this is best product and features ...........and lot's of functional area ..........u do work any thing ...................
Pros:neelam sharma
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Inspiron 14 Intel n4020
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Durga Prasad Vempali
(Mysore)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

No second thought......u can buy it.........

PostedNovember 4, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
it was really good, I am using since from 6months and I had never faced any problem in any aspect.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Inspiron 14 Intel n4020
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:yaya toure
Title:

bad

PostedOctober 17, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
bad laptop
-31points
14of 59voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Inspiron 14 Intel n4020
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:sredhar
Title:

This is recent good one

PostedOctober 3, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Exceellent look and good configured laptop..recommend to buy this
+6points
10of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Inspiron 14 Intel n4020
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JinEnYou
(Penang, Malaysia.)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

It's way too perfect for me.

PostedSeptember 19, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
So far, I bought it because it is cheap and I never expect that it is so nice. I love the design. It's perfect compare to the colourful one. I like mate surface for the colourful one but not shiny surface so that I've chosen this. It's black in colour and it's just perfect with the shiny black cover. Then, I would love to say, the operating system is fast. Online is also awesome with the speed. Sound system is good too. Just choose this if you are trying to get good stuff with just a little money. Hehehe
Pros:online, Travel
+33points
37of 41voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Inspiron 14 Intel n4020
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:TinaJaneen
(New Jersey)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Awsome Laptop!!

PostedJuly 18, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I love this laptop!! I had an Acer netbook 1gb and 250gb hard drive, it was just too slow. I have tons of music, photos, school reports, games and I also have Rossetta Stone. The computer just couldn't handle it. This laptop works great with Rossetta Stone. Its fast and never slows down when I use Rossetta Stone or open many websites. Hasn't froze either when I'm using both. I love the look and its really light and the perfect size, not to big but not to small.
Pros:rossetta stone, music, School, games
+84points
113of 142voted this as helpful.