Customer reviews for Inspiron 14 3420

Inspiron 14 3420

Inspiron 14 3420
4 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 6 reviews
5 Stars
0
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
4
 / 
5
(6 reviews) 6
6 out of 6100%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Inspiron 14 3420
Review 1 for Inspiron 14 3420
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:sz94
(Serbia)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Great performance and affordable price

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
i bought the i5-3210 with nvidia gt620m version a month ago. i'm satisfied except a few things. the housing feels very cheap, and it hardly collects the fingerprints at the glossy surfaces. but it's the smaller problem. the bigger problem is that my battery wear level increased 6% in the first week!!! now it's on 7%. also, my screen have 1 dead pixel (it's completly dead, it turned black).
otherwise everything is okay, it's a very good machine,i can play newer games, and do music mixing, mastering. :) built in speakers are very powerful.
Pros:very good performance, powerful internal speakers, good screen the colors are beautiful, classy design
Cons:housing feels cheap
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Inspiron 14 3420
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:SHIBILI
(Bangalore, Karnataka, India)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

this producT HAS GREAT FEATURES

PostedFebruary 26, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I USE THIS PRODUCT . THIS PRODUCT IS GOOD BUT SPEAKER PROBLEM IS THERE . INSPIRON HAVE SPEAKER PROBLEM . WHAT IS THE MATTER PLEASE GIVE CORRECT ANSWER FOR THAT ?
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Inspiron 14 3420
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:AMITRMODI
(NAVI MUBAI)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

DELL INSPIRON 14R

PostedJanuary 22, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Its awesome experience using dell..
keypad is good and light weight with clear display..
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Inspiron 14 3420
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:McMick
(Malaysia)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Good laptop but 1 downside for me

PostedNovember 28, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
It's an overall great laptop. With the intel core i3 (3rd generation) it gets even better with a very good price but.. my only problem with this laptop is it has only 1, i repeat 1 USB port :(. This really made me think twice about buying it because for playing games, i usually use a mouse and a pendrive and for school projects it could be really usefull if it has at least 2 usb ports.
Pros:playing games, school projects, surfing the web
+22points
28of 34voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Inspiron 14 3420
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Pritham
(Bangalore)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Great laptop few cons, definitely bang for a buck!

PostedNovember 15, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Recently purchased Dell for its good builds and excellent post sale service. About time for a long overdue review.
Recently purchased a base model of Inspiron 14 loaded with Win8, also have the Inspiron 14 with 1st gen Core i3 processor.
PROS:
1.Excellent performance on just 2gb of Ram and Win8. The 3rd gen Core i3
2. Keyboard seems to have been improved with some sort of chicklet keyboard, wish it were backlit unfortunately isn't.
3. Build quality is much better compared to the older inspiron 14.
CONS:
1. Replacement of the previously Synaptics touchpad to the Dell custom touchpad, the new dell touchpad is PATHETIC when it comes to scrolling sideways & vertical even after increasing senstivity, rest seems fine.
2. Speaker output has been toned down a notch compared to the old speakers on the Inspiron14 (1st gen Corei3/5) which were much better, I think they were knowm as "SRS Premium Sound".
3. Reduced number of heat vents compared to older models.
Definitely recommended for daily use purposes.
Pros:browsing, documentation, entertainment, photo editing
+30points
37of 44voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Inspiron 14 3420
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Ksoft
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Inspirion 14 - Good Buy..but little short of best

PostedNovember 11, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Folks thought to share my quick experience of initial ownership on factors that would help
1. Heating & performance:- i5-3210M is decent chip under the hood for regular programing and occasional games ..I guess it is adequate. From prior experience with Dell and HP ...for all know dell has batteled around the heating problems. The laptop manages to remain cool while even when processor clocks 3.1ghz at present
2. Build quality - there is still a feel of plastic on the shell, I feel HP does a good job around here. However I would be happy if underlying components last at least 3 years without repairs...I will be watching on that area. I had bad experiences with HP dv4 and dv5 while my friends had similar experiences with dell...I hope my gamble is right this time around.
3.Battery life - This is one area I expected more from the current generation laptops than the one 3 years ago...anyways it revolves around 3-4 hrs with Wifi in a new laptop..I was hoping an improvement to 5-6hrs'
4.Display and keyboard - Good enough for regular use. I always felt a white keyboard with black font would improve the experience in mid segment laptops only few vendors are doing it though.
5.Speakers- For individual user there is nothing to complain
====================================
Buying Tips:
====================================
I would recommend Dell online store. I bought from a dealer since I traded my crashed dv4 for 2.5k...however spend another 700 bucks on windows 8 upgrade.
Pricing on Dell online store is decent...the dealers tend to sell a lower ram model for the same cost as on online store. Ignore the goodies that dealer promises... they are not worth it. (Now I am planning to upgrade the ram)
I would recommend windows 8 as boot time is better.
What would have made me happier in Current Laptop? ( for same price :-) )
1. Instead of 500Gb drive.. a 200GB Fusion dive with 32Gb flash ...Preinstalled ram DDR 1600 instead of 1300...
2. Lesser plastic feel on the body
Pros:software development, youtube and movies, Travel
+39points
46of 53voted this as helpful.