Customer reviews for Dell Venue 8 Pro

Dell Venue 8 Pro

Dell Venue 8 Pro
4.122 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 196 reviews
5 Stars
109
4 Stars
45
3 Stars
12
2 Stars
17
1 Star
13
4.1
 / 
5
(196 reviews) 195
155 out of 19679%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Review 1 for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Maranga6
(New York, NY, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Excellent Product

PostedJune 24, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
It provides all the solutions that you need if you are a Remote user. You can have all you need off line and online. Work remotely, then plug to a Port Replicator and you will be working again very easy.
The key of the future executives... less amount of devices good performance.
Pros:operating system, you can add micro sd 128
Cons:32 gb not enough, do not have 3g for now
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:reportered
(Norwich, Norfolk, UK)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Fantastic tablet

PostedMay 31, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Recently upgraded from original Surface RT to Venue Pro 8
Venue Pro 8 is fantastic piece of kit, great screen, very fast to use and great for email, Facebook, internet and running apps from the Windows Store.
Also comes with Office although this is a bit fiddle to use on a small screen.
Also use Xbox Music and it seamlessly sync music with my Windows phone, also works greater with my Xbox one using SmartGlass.
Build quality is superb and I would suggest rivals iPad. Very thin and light.
Storage is limited, although I have added a SD card, apps are still installed to main storage.
Pros:screen, office included, speed, build feel and quality
Cons:should be priced at £199, limited storage
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:accho
(New York, NY)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Great little tablet!

PostedJuly 25, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought this tablet mostly for college. What a great investment! It supports flash player and this was a must for me as most of my online projects for school require flash. I also like that it comes with Microsoft Office. Big plus as i heavily use Word. The On-Screen keyboard is easy to use. Good idea to get the tablet folio and the active stylus. Makes things even more manageable. On the cons side i wish the usb port was bigger. The screen can get too glossy outdoors. The stylus pen freezes sometimes. Overall very happy!
Pros:windows based, price, versatility
Cons:glossy screen, stylus sometimes freezes
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:RJ01
(Twin Cities, MN, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:School
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

unhappy loyal dell buyer

PostedJuly 24, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased the venue 8 pro for my daughter to use in school. 10 minutes out of the box and trying to register and set it up and the wifi wont connect. I tried all the fixes with no luck. Spent 1 hour on the phone with tech support who I could barely understand ( how about tech support here in the good ol USA instead of outsourcing ) and still wont work. Very disappointed in the quality control of this product.
Pros:light weight
Cons:tech support, wifi
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Stevers
(Vernon, BC, Canada)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Frustration at a whole new level

PostedJuly 20, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Appears to be well built and I really like the rubber grip back . The people at dell have made a nice product .
Packed with features , but unfortunately implementing , Navigating through , and utilizing them is nothing short of a lesson in frustration . Window font , navigation buttons , and menu buttons are minuscule and grouped way to close together. Icons on menu bars and task bars and drop down menus are tiny and pretty well useless .You open up a window that has maybe has 5 lines of text on it and the text is so small and close together that it is eligible and trying to tap on a certain link without tapping a different one is next to impossible . You can set it up to alleviate some of these problems but this leads to other problems (Like not all the stuff on the page fitting on the screen ) and the magnifier can be used but this is very awkward and time consuming.Unless you are doing nothing but checking your email I would not recommend buying this tablet as the windows 8 OS is ill suited for use on a tablet of this size.I wish Microsoft would have made a slimmed down OS that is actually usable on a tablet , instead of wasting their time on a useless desktop version (8.1 OS ).
As for customer service, in the technical area , there is none after you buy the product unless you want to pay more??
Pros:nice build
Cons:frustrating to use, bloated os, menus task bars fonts wayy to small
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Robert22
(Trxas)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Best tablet i have ever owned

PostedJuly 18, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I am an IT guy and I use computers every day. I have to say this tablet has fulfilled everything I have ask of it. I have had several tablets and they have been good products but they always fall short when doing business projects. That is why this tablet Is the best for me because whatever I can do on a PC I can do on this tablet and with the keyboard and active pen it is even better. And I don't feel like folks give Windows 8.1 the chance it deserves I started using Win 8when it first came out and at first I hated it but the more o used it the better I liked it so give it a chance.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:rsm1951
(Indiana)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Entertainment
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

I really want to like this tablet.....but

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I am really enjoying my Venue 8 Pro and really want to like it a lot, but the one thing that's holding me back is the difficulty it seems to have connecting to weaker wi-fi networks. I called Customer Service, and as I suspected, they checked my drivers and admitted that the Venue 8 pro is not as good at pulling in a wifi signal as the big competitor. This is frustrating when I'm in any number of places where the signal is less than perfect. I can't figure out why you would design a product that depends so much on the Internet and not be sure this piece would perform.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:PomDogRun
(Uxbridge, MA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Dell Venue Pro 8 Tablet Is A Hit

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I purchased this tablet for my wife. After learning Windows 8.1 and the touch screen, plus the somewhat different "desktop" than earlier Windows versions, I mastered Windows 8.1 and so has my wife. This Dell tablet is the cat's meow. Love the weather app! The touch screen is very responsive & quick. And the tablet itself is very fast.
Pros:kudos to dell for a superb tablet
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Clifswin
(Seattle, WA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:On the go
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

My inseperable companion

PostedJuly 12, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
My Venue Pro 8 was a Christmas gift and has rarely been out of reach since. It runs almost everything my laptop will (a couple games need either more storage or faster graphics), including some improbably demanding things like Second Life. At first I had some issues with limited memory, but the combination of Windows' 8.1 update and a 64GB memory card solved that. There were also some system errors in the first weeks, but updates from Dell have stopped that, too.
The camera is no more than adequate, but my phone makes a more manageable tool for photography, anyway; I've never understood why someone would use a tablet as a camera (other than as a backup) in any case. The speaker is functional but unimpressive, but with either corded or Bluetooth headphones the sound is quite good.
A few weeks ago I dropped it, hard, and cracked the case. It kept working. I sent it back to Dell for repair (covered by my warranty protection) and it came back in days in flawless shape, after which Windows took care of most of the work of restoring my baby to its pre-fall state.
I use it at work, I use it to watch videos, I use it to read books and listen to music and play games and surf the web. With a Bluetooth keyboard and mouse, I use it to write and edit and all the other office tasks I use my desktop and laptop to do. With those extra gadgets I travel with it and never miss my bigger computers. My Venue Pro 8 is actually faster than my office computer for managing and communicating with my clients.
This little gem is my toy, my tool, and my companion. Except for when I just want a bigger screen, it's my first choice for almost everything I do.
Pros:size, speed, versatility, dependability
Cons:camera and speaker are only adequate, i wish i had the larger memory version sometimes
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Over40
(Chicago, IL)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Really Nice Tablet

PostedJuly 11, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Nice features, large display, long battery life and easy to move around in.
Pros:long battery life
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Naturallyhapy
(Dallas, TX, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Great tablet awesome value

PostedJuly 10, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have nothing but great things to say about my Pro 8 - it is just right for traveling and has MS Office already installed which is a plus for working documents. Takes great pictures and having the cloud frees up memory on the tab (got the 64gb) I can also store music on an external SD and listen worry free without paying the cost for streaming bandwith.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:IHdez
(Tampa, FL, USA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Title:

The Aquilles heel of an excellent device

PostedJuly 4, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
All you may wish comes with this device, except its USB connectivity which is badly engineered. If you are charging the device, you won't be able to connect it to any other USB device, and viceversa. Do not expect to connect it to external devices that are high energy consumers like a DVD drive or to an external hard disk for long periods of time.
I have -unsuccessfully- bought all sort of devices (from microUSBs to Y usb cables to adapters) trying to find a remedy to this design gap, and all I have done is waste more than $100 plus the extra time.
Yet, Dell customer service is excellent, and at least I have been provided with a free-of-charge recovery USB key (Dell Product # US-08D6H5-74287-45M-001H) that will allow me to recover the tablet in case that the internal recovery partition is damaged.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:mikeindc
(Washington DC)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Junk

PostedJuly 4, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
This tablet shows everything that is wrong with Windows and Dell. You have the two faced O/S that doesn't know what it wants to be, you have the hardware that doesn't like the O/S. I have attempted to do Windows updates on this device multiple times, even going so far as to reinstall the O/S (following Dell's cryptic instructions) and most Windows updates fail to install (including the Windows 8.1 update). Dell support has been non existent and pushes it off on Windows. Fortunately I bought this device only because there are some web sites that require Internet Explorer and I occasionally need to open MS Project files. I've given up on Microsoft and moved to a Mac and never regretted it.
Pros:none
Cons:everything, o/s is terrible, hardware doesn't like o/s
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Brian410
(Georgia, USA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:On the go
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Best Tablet I have Ever owned/Used

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I did a lot of Research when I was shopping for a tablet and it took me a while to find this tablet. I had been using Android or Apple products for these type of products but boy all I can say is most of these people have no idea what they are missing.
Windows 8 for tablet/phone is amazing and with auto sync I have an exact copy of my home/office computer in the palm of my hand.
The screen is beautiful and doesn't glare The speed of the hardware is fast and responsive. The power of windows 8 in your hand means no more terrible apps but fully featured software with a flash enabled web browser so I can watch HBO online while in my hotel room.
I could truthfully talk about this tablet for hours but let me just sum up this review for you..
If you are looking for a great tablet for work or school or just entertainment then look no further,, I will say I got the 64GB version and I would recommend it over the 32 GB.
Pros:price, windows is best, very fast, fully featured software
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Remnra
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

has great features

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I've been away from windows a long time last time I had windows was Windows xp and I got really upset with it so I got an Android tablet can't really do a lot of things with a Android tablet so now I want to get that Windows 8.1 tablet and I really love this product
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:rebelliii
(Texas, USA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Entertainment
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Dell Venue 8

PostedJune 30, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Dell Venue 8 I received does not work correctly, after a month of use it would not charge and does not come on when you press the power button. Just shows Dell Logo, I had to send it to the Dell service depot, it was supposed to be repaired. I received it back and still does not work wright. I have contacted Dell service center and now I have to send it back again. I Have purchased Computers and Lap Tops from Dell and never had a problem, but would not recommend the Dell Venue 8.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:jchaffin2
(Dallas, GA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Entertainment
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Hard to get used to

PostedJune 28, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
After using an iPad for almost 2 years I bought a dell venue pro 8 just for me. Big mistake much harder to navigate and harder to handle. I will probably bite the bullet and go back to iPad.
Pros:fast from a sytem standpoint
Cons:so hard to read constantly trying to adjust
Response from Dell.comBy DonaldDforDellCustomer ReviewsJuly 15, 2014
Hello jchaffin2,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review of the Venue 8 Pro. It sounds like your biggest concerns were with learning the Windows 8 environment. Learning a new operating system can be quite a daunting task. Visiting the Microsoft website, you can find help and support. I also recommend these sources for shortcuts and tips.

http://dell.to/ZPkDOK

PC mag 15 Win8 tips
http://dell.to/11ECTMU

These few tips can make you more comfortable with Windows 8 and hopefully happier with your Dell tablet.

Regards,

-Don

Dell | Voice of the Customer Team
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Copymech
(Little Rock, AR, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Wow!!! I'm Pleased....

PostedJune 23, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
This thing really works. I'm pleased. I read all the negative reviews and made the purchase anyway. The case design is stylish and feels durable. I work in the copier repair industry and I wanted a small computer that was fast to boot, light weight and runs a windows operating system. With Windows 8.1 I can view all the latest training videos. And use all the features of web sites. I can install any print driver I need to test a copier. So it has performed like a full sized laptop. I also purchased the Dell key board/case. And a dongle allowing me to use the mini port as a regular usb port. I can go on and on about how useful the Dell venue 8 pro is.
Pros:battery life is very good., handles large pdf files with ease., can install real print drivers., can print with a usb cable and dongle.
Cons:still learning win8
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:makerbot82
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Not bad, but leaves a lot left to desire

PostedJune 18, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Good: Battery Life is really decent, full windows 8.1, not bad CPU speed, will display 1080p media pretty well with only minimal stutter.
The Bad: Value. Yes it has full 8.1, but on this tiny screen it makes you squint a lot because unlike android and other tablet OS types, it doesn't change zoom or know to focus the screen on active parts of the screen. The 8 also, to that point, has no output to connect to larger screens other than somewhat useless Miracast which has so far been completely unusable.
The Pro11 has all the ports you could want. The Pro 8 doesn't even offer a USB port that can both charge the tablet and allow accessory device usage at the same time. So USB powered hubs are not an option. You can get super nerdy and solder together you're own custom cable to somewhat help with this but there are no retail options.
On the subject of options, this tablet has nearly none. The folio case and a screen protector are all you can get. Meanwhile, the Pro11 was setup to connect to a docking station, allowing you to dock the tablet and use it like a PC. The 8 does not, making this even further a mysteriously tedious device to use for more than fullscreen apps with a folio keyboard.
HDD space is so limited that after 3 months of windows updates the HDD is full. I have removed all bloatware, removed all programs except the Office 2013 it came with...I have 1.75GB free, which is only still free because I turned off auto-updates. I have already gone so far as to backup and delete the recovery partition on the OS drive that free'd up 5GB and windows promptly ate it all as soon as it was reallocated in disk management.
With almost no accessories to extend it's convenience and functionality, no mini or full size media output ports, no optional USB port that allows you to connect peripherals and still charge the device for extended use.. WHAT IS THIS FOR? I can't install applications to the internal drive because windows ate all the free space. So this tablet is in essence a websurfing tablet only..and on this screen I am going to go blind before it becomes useful. So what's the point of full Windows 8.1 if it is going to provide less function than a generation 1 surface RT?
I hope others find ways of justifying this tablet purchase but I'm selling mine and getting a table that works in the real world. Business or personal this one falls completely short.
Pros:small size full pc
Cons:everything else
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:dofzin
(Seattle, WA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:On the go
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Excellent "always with you" device

PostedJune 11, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Dell has done a great job of trading off portability and features. I used this device primarily to consume content rather than create it, save for a few emails and a few document edits, and the size, weight, and performance meet that requirement perfectly. The battery life is excellent, and I can use it throughout the day without worrying about needing to charge. It's small enough to carry around together with an 8 x 11 paper folio. The case allows the tablet to be positioned at a variety of angles in landscape orientation (but not in portrait orientation).
The availability of Nook, Kindle, Next Issue and other e-reader apps for Windows 8 has caused me to get rid of every e-reader I owned and use the Dell Venue 8 Pro instead. For this use alone it is an excellent purchase and if I never used it for anything else I'd still be very satisfied for the price relative to limited-purpose e-readers.
The memory and processor speed are OK but you won't do heavy computing on this. The optional stylus, for example, can be used for handwriting in OneNote and other apps, but the ink tracking is not as smooth as on more powerful tablets.
Pros:form factor, battery life and charge time, great e-reader replacement
Cons:performance, wireless display support
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 10