Customer reviews for Dell Venue 8 Pro

Dell Venue 8 Pro

Dell Venue 8 Pro
3.751 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 253 reviews
5 Stars
120
4 Stars
53
3 Stars
16
2 Stars
25
1 Star
39
3.8
 / 
5
(253 reviews) 252
175 out of 25369%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Review 1 for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Excellent unit

PostedJune 9, 2016
Yes, I would recommend this product
It make me sad when someone buys a device like this expecting it to perform like a $2500 laptop and are mad when they cant play Far Cry 4 at max FPS. This is a solid, reliable device that has taken some harsh punishment and continues to shine for me. I have a work laptop for work, a desktop for gaming, and this device for anything else. Web surfing, online shopping, Fiddle Games, this thing does it all. I have taken this thing to 5 countries globally in the last year alone and this has acted as everything from a portable music and movie unit to a net device to an emergency backup work device when my work laptop fried its RAM. Pair this with a Bluetooth keyboard and mouse and this got me through a week in Ireland running Excel, Word, and even SSMS for DB admin work. It runs Windows 8 or Windows 10 like a pro. I love this tablet.
Pros:small form factor, excellent battery life, expandable storage, great wireless range, runs windows 10, runs ubuntu if needed, can dual boot of os is small enough, amazing screen brightness
Cons:does not support 64bit windows.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Tons of bugs, never works

PostedMarch 24, 2016
No, I do not recommend this product.
I won this in a raffle and it is not even worth that. There must be so many bugs. I basically only need it as an e-book and atleast half of the time there is something wrong: glitch with wifi connection where you have to delete it and then totally reset; battery dies quickly without any use; more than a handful of times I download a book and get all ready to read it on a plane or somewhere and then when I try to open the book there is an error; requires tons of updates at the worst times. I cannot say enough how frustrated I have been with this device. I would never spend money on it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Charlotte, NC, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:On the go
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Charging Issue

PostedMarch 16, 2016
User submitted photo
No, I do not recommend this product.
The Micro USB port used for every thing including charging especially is very weak. Wears out due to the flimsy construction. The fine wire that makes the connection wear out and now after a little over a year, it can not be recharged and to repair would cost almost $300.00.
Cons:not durable for charging
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

hdmi is missing

PostedMarch 16, 2016
Yes, I would recommend this product
the 5830 is great. i love the digitizer, size and everything.
but i miss a digital video output very much!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Bowling Green, KY)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:On the go
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Don't buy this model.

PostedMarch 10, 2016
No, I do not recommend this product.
As reported by a multitude of users of the product, the single USB communications & power port is a major hassle. Due to the excessive use of the port, it is easily broken. I've purchased several Dell products, including laptops and 18" tablet. In addition, the most attractive feature, the active stylus, did not perform well. After the hassle of dealing the poorly designed single USB power and communication port, I've purchased many other laptops & tablets without considering Dell in order to not take a chance on repeating the product. Advised peers across the US of the experience.
Pros:can't think of any.
Cons:poor design., active stylus performance
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(London, UK)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Good product with wifi issue

PostedDecember 21, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Overall impression about the item is positive: solid build, slim, good battery life. From the first weeks though I have been experiencing problems with connectivity: mainly wifi but 3G and bluetooth were playing up as well. The only solution was to regularly restart it which was not convenient at all. After contacting technical support I've spent hours on the phone trying to solve the issue. Still no solution, even after on-site visit from the authorised engineer who actually broke it completely. Waiting...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Entertainment
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Great Functionality if you don't get a lemon

PostedNovember 26, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
I loved my tablet. Performance was superb and the features had everything I could want. However, the usb power port constantly became unstable resulting in the tablet discharging and eventually draining the battery. When this occurs, nothing can be done but send it back to Dell for service. I did this twice after many hours on the phone and being without the unit for weeks. Finally, this last (third) time I was told it would cost the price of the unit to repair as the warranty had expired. There should be a lemon law applying here as with new cars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(North Liberty, IA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Strike 2

PostedOctober 28, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Owning this tablet has been frustrating. It has already been returned for service once due to a corrupt version of windows 10 following an attempt to upgrade. Now it does turn on and will likely once again be returned to 8.1 and factory settings. What a pain! It was originally advertised as window 10 compatible but now Dell's tablet technicians recommend against it.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Nashville, TN, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:On the go
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

No sound volume

PostedOctober 21, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
You need tiny fingers to work this tablet. The volume is the worst of any tablet on the market for the price. A waste of money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(United States)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

The USB plug on top of tablet is faulty

PostedSeptember 4, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have had this tablet in for repair 5 times as the USB plug on the top of the tablet gets loose and then when the power cord is plugged it, there is no connection to charge it. SO FREAKING AGGREVATING! Each time they replace the motherboard, which has the USB plug attached to it, but the plug itself has no anchor to the sides of the plastic opening on the tablet so it's basically free floating and comes loose and the connection breaks so it won't charge. Why they have not reinforced the USB plug is beyond me. If I could give this review 0 stars I would.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Dallas, Texas)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

The product has great features

PostedAugust 25, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
I wanted a tablet that would work like my Windows Dell Laptop. I have Wifi and use it anywhere in the house. Very convenient; I like that it has Microsoft Windows as I have been using Windows since it first was introduced in the 90s. The size is perfect for me; I use it in the portrait position. I have spent about 2 weeks getting acquainted and setting it up for my convenience. I am very happy with the tablet and would recommend it to anyone who like using windows and that it works like my laptop. Excellent value and price.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Derby, Kansas)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:On the go
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Venue 8 Pro

PostedJune 27, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
The tablet is dead after 3 weeks, it will not power up. This is the second time its done it, it recovered on its own the first time but now its just dead.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Poor Experience

PostedJune 22, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have always been a fan of Dell products and support, but the quality of the hardware and subsequent service is lacking. To repair an issue that failed less than 3 months (days after warranty expired) ago would have cost me more than a new tablet. A response like this does not instill much confidence, and makes me question my next tablet/PC purchases. Otherwise I think this is a great value tablet with nice Windows OS, but concerns about hardware quality.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Newcastle)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Pretty good when it works

PostedJune 10, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Had one of these since November 2014. I like it a lot. Unfortunately it frequently won't turn on. It's been for repair twice: had a new power supply, two new batteries, and a new motherboard.
Problem is still occuring so I submitted an online service request; no reponse in 7 days.
Pros:good design, good performance, flexible
Cons:hardware reliablity
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

My experience

PostedJune 8, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
well its good, but i think the you need to increase the memory ram for best speed in the job, and change the 32 bit architecture to 64 bit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

Dell Venue 8 Pro

PostedJune 7, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
My Dell Venue 8 Pro was cheaper than I thought it would be, so that's nice. It can also do more than I thought. The problem, however, is that every once in awhile it will have a hiccup, or forget to update certain components, which leaves me with having to reset it. Other than that it is good.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Pittsburgh, PA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Entertainment
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Breaks Down with awful battery life

PostedMay 2, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had this tablet for a few months, then the motherboard failed me. Up to this, performance wasn't great, I couldnt even run windows movie maker on it. Also, my networking chip as broken, so I can't even use the networking features on it anymore. If you decide to buy it, it is really only usable with windows 8 apps (which are EXTREMELY unuseful)
Pros:cheap, display, quad core intel processor
Cons:battery life, longevity, display, wi-fi / bluetooth chip, storage space, features
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Watertown, CT, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

A great tablet for my needs

PostedApril 15, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought one of these for my son for Christmas and was so impressed with it that I bought one for myself to replace an Android tablet I had bee using. It has been everything I needed and then some. I use it for work as well as play. The included Office works great for me. I have not had any issues finding apps to meet my requirements although I admit I don't use Twitter or Facebook much. To me it is a nearly perfect 8 inch tablet.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Texas)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Terrible

PostedApril 2, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've had it less than 2 hours and already hate it. The set up was extremely irritating with the narration guide taking over and keeping me from doing anything. I had to hard reboot twice just to get through registration. FINALLY it's set up and then I discover I can't sync the thing to my laptop to transfer files. That was the whole reason I got it.
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:On the go
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Glad i got the last generation Dell Venue 8 Pro

PostedFebruary 13, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
I am very glad I got the 1st generation, it has more memory and a bigger hard-drive compare to the 3000 series. It also comes with the Home and student edition of Office instead of office 360 where you have to renew your subscription.
The tablet itself is very thing and light and perfect for the commute to work. I usually use it as a kindle reader on the subway but also use it to play games once in a while. The screen seems to be calibrated well. I have used other tablets both windows and android and compared to the Dell Venue 8 Pro it seems glitchy.
The OS itself, works well with touch screen. The metro style works best with the touch screen and is better than using it on a pc without touch. However the ecosystem compared to android or ios does seem lacking. However the 32GB version leaves very little room, and you can't load apps onto a sd card
Pros:value, lightweight, battery life
Cons:windows 8 ecosyste, 32gb version leaves very little free space, can't upload apps to sd card
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 13