Customer reviews for Dell Venue 8 Pro

Dell Venue 8 Pro

Dell Venue 8 Pro
3.877 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 228 reviews
5 Stars
114
4 Stars
50
3 Stars
14
2 Stars
22
1 Star
28
3.9
 / 
5
(228 reviews) 227
165 out of 22872%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Review 1 for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Oselnuda14
(Clearfield, UT)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:On the go
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

A good product with great features

PostedNovember 13, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I like it because have a good performance and enough memory
Pros:good performance
Cons:there is no manual to learn how to use it
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Sam234
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Entertainment
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Stopped working as soon as it went out of warranty!

PostedJanuary 21, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used this product for a year. Throughout the year, I had some minor issues like suddenly getting disconnected from internet, having trouble in starting etc. When it worked, it was really useful though.
As soon as it went out of warranty, it stopped working. Particularly, the battery is not charging up.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:AKazee
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

PLUG IN PORT SERIOUS FLAW

PostedJanuary 17, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
PLUG IN EVIDENTLY ONLY FITS INTO PORT ONE WAY...AND IF YOU MAKE ERROR, IT DAMAGES PORT AND THEN YOU CANNOT CHARGE YOUR DEVICE. WARRANTY DOESN'T COVER IT. WHO MAKES A PORT LIKE THIS? NEVER AGAIN DELL.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Operating System 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Jbean86
(Connecticut, USA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:On the go
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Very displeased

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
This was my first tablet and at first I enjoyed it but it didn't last long. The touch feature is horrible when using the internet: it doesn't respond, won't let you select from drop-down menu's and scrolling is uncontrollable.
The wireless keyboard that came with mine is useless; it's too small & doesn't attach to the unit so it's a pain to use and it not rechargeable; the batteries for the keyboard lasted about 3 days with minimal use. The Battery life (of tablet) is good and it boots up very quickly, but otherwise I'm not impressed. Now the unit will not accept any charger plug and the battery is completely dead. Need to return under warranty, but wish I could just get my money bad.
Good if you like watching videos or games, but otherwise I found it to be a waste of money.
Pros:boots up quickly
Cons:small screen, touch screen response, difficult to use with internet
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Service 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:realnameistooshort
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

some serious flaws with this device

PostedDecember 30, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I pre-ordered this device late nov 2013 together with the case. This is seriously the first bunch of win8 tablets, and I was placing my bet on this new era of Wintel. In the end the CPU was ok, a lot other things failed miserably. I naïvely thought most problems could be fixed by firmware updates, and stuck with my purchase. Well lets say I ended up reaching for my nexus 5 more when I need some screen time. It has been quite a saga with this venue 8 pro
Where to begin? From the very beginning, the touch detection was atrocious. Single taps very often register as multiple taps, so I end up typing wwwwords. Some taps were detected as swipes. In the first month metro IE was unusable because the back swipe function is triggered about every 4th or 5th tap.
Oh, and here's where win8.1 came in. The win8 metro environment is seriously lacking in terms of apps, I knew and accepted this fact. I thought a full featured browser would be one alternative, and the desktop would be the last resort.
Metro browser: you had three options. Ie, chrome, Firefox. Firefox threw the towel early 2014 (ff has only desktop browser now). Chrome's interface is too small for this screen size and rendering is slow. That leaves metro ie as the only browser option. Metro ie has a very bad design flaw. When you go ''back'', the browser is forced to reload the previous page. There was no caching. For some reason this reload takes quite a bit of time, 2 to 3 seconds for a simple page.
Now, remember the touch detection problem? Where the mis-identified back swipe gets you stuck in limbo for a few seconds every 4 or 5 taps? Yeah, it would drive you crazy.
Then, I tried to fall back onto the desktop. But the desktop is not a viable alternative for several reasons. One, win8.1 desktop does not scale very well to small screens. Two, touch interface adoption on desktop is a joke. Having to manually call virtual keyboard alone was bad enough, then you have to drag, drop, click, and scroll with your finger, on a touchscreen that gets your gesture wrong every 3 seconds. Well, I wasn't sure how I didn't smash the thing. Fyi, there are various proposed workarounds online. Nothing worked in my experience. This seems to be a hardware problem with the touchpanel.
A few firmware updates later things became just tolerable enough I actually can use the tablet. Then all of a sudden the tablet would sleep to death. I.e. the screen would not wake from sleep, even though backlight turned on as I press the physical buttons. This is another well documented issue with dv8p. Again, hard resets and upgrades and tweaks all failed to resolve the problem. This sleep to death thing lasted months until one day I got a new router. Seriously? I have to change my old but perfectly fine router to get this tablet not to kill itself? Seriously?
Now, having tolerated this piece of admirable defect, I found out today that after a year of use, the battery has degraded from the design capacity of 18675mwh to the current state of 12788mwh, roughly a 1/3 cut in battery CAPACITY. This is the battery itself dying out. After just one year. I now have roughly 5 hours of battery life doing light browsing.
Is there any upside to this tablet? The CPU works reasonably well, moving things at good pace when not hindered by the operating system (see ie problem above). The case is a good accessory. I actually like the physical start button that doubles as a dedicated wake up button, and saves some front surface real estate.
All in all, I think I'm going to quit win8 tablets and stay away from dell for a little bit.
Pros:inexpensive
Cons:bad touch detection, battery degrades very fast physically, wifi inconsistent, screen has a lot of ghosting, win8.1, sleep to death
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Anonymous
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Broken micro usb port

PostedDecember 8, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this for my mother. Everything was great and was very happy with this tablet until my mother told me it wouldn't turn on. Took a look at it and found the micro usb port was broken. It seems the micro usb port is a rectagular one that is micro usb a & b compatible and not that trapezoidal shaped micro usb port most people are familiar with from their smart phones and other electronics. This has resulted in my mother plugging the charger in upside down and destroying the micro usb port and since it's the only usb port and the only way to charge the tablet, it basically means the tablet now is an expensive paper weight.
Found a number of people on the internet with the same problem. It was a good device with one small flaw but that flaw now has basically bricked the tablet and thus the negative review.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:SuzyC
(Washington, DC, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

So sorry I have Dell Venue8

PostedDecember 4, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
What a piece of junk. I have had nothing but problems. The apps crash constantly. There have been issues getting the tablet to boot up. The volume on the tablet is so low that, with headphones, it is difficult to hear audiobooks or music. The Chrome browser crashes or freeze over and over. Error messages come up with almost every app. In the two months I have had this product, I spent a fair amount of time with Customer Service on the "Tablet Line." This evening, after doing a factory reset (and deleting personal data), it still won't boot up. I am told it is now up to me to pay freight to ship it to Houston for a factory repair. This can take 10 to 14 business days. Very frustrated and very disappointed in Dell.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Pakhtun
(San Jose, CA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Issues with the Charging Port

PostedDecember 2, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
LOVE this little tablet that could! The size is perfect, no issues with the OS, LOVE the tablet. The only issue I have is with the charging port, its a rectangular AB port that can take the micro B trapezoid but its built for the rectangular Micro-A insert. This can cause easy damage to the port if you decide to mistakenly insert a micro-b insert(provided by Dell) into the port.
Pros:windows 8.1, form, size, office included!!!
Cons:charging port is micro-ab
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:TheEmperor
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

semi mobile device

PostedDecember 1, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
NEED LTE! and if possible, cellphone! then it will be a MOBILE DEVICE.
for business, need 4 gig RAM and 64 bit windows PRO!
otherwise, it is no better than an ipad. just a toy. and of no use for business.
Pros:8 inch & fit in pocket, digitized pen
Cons:need lte!, need 64 bit, need 4 gig ram, cellphone would be priceless!
-5points
0of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MicheleinAustin
(Austin, TX, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Practically useless

PostedNovember 29, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have had my tablet for just a couple of months and it is already practically useless. When I click on any app it automatically closes and goes back to the main screen. I can do nothing with it at all. This is not the first time I've had this problem, but it is the first time that restarting it hasn't solved it. And customer service is a joke. I've been on hold for 30 minutes and counting. I do not recommend this product. I wish I had sent it back when I had problems in the first week.
Cons:unable to get help through customer service, unable to use any of the apps, frequent updates that seem to make things worse
-5points
0of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Operating System 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Mmtck42
(Virginia)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:On the go
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Build quality and OS app availability lacking

PostedNovember 28, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was hoping to use this tablet as a cross between my laptop, desktop and phone. There are some things it does well, but most it does poorly. First the good: it has windows so it interfaces nice with laptops and desktops, especially in using remote wireless connections. And since it is windows, it can access and use my office documents well - a Bluetooth Keyboard makes this a nice feature. But now the bad: That is all it is good for. If you are used to using ANY apps on your Iphone or Android, good luck finding any useful tablet apps for windows OS - they are non-existent. So using this tablet as a tablet was basically useless.
Now the Worst: The biggest problem with this specific tablet is that the battery/charging system lasts only 3-6 months, then it must be replaced by Dell or you'll have to buy a new tablet. Online forums show this to be the number one problem. Luckily I bought from Dell so it had a 1 year warranty, but this seems to be a major problem. The service support was marginal for application/tablet usage. But for repair/replacement the service support is top notch. But I'm not sure if that is a good thing or a bad thing that they took the tablet back for repair so quick and easy. I'm thinking they recognize the problems and are at least standing up to repair them, it's just disappointing the quality was so poor for battery/charging system.
Pros:size and unit quality, windows interface to laptop
Cons:battery/charger failures, zero tablet apps
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Mikfek
(Cleveland, OH, USA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Not happy

PostedNovember 18, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I wish I never would have purchased this product. Very unhappy. It doesn't charge. I have to finagle the cord in port in order for it to charge and when you lay it down it stops charging. Don't waste your money on a product you can't use.
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Disappointed54
(Buffalo NY)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Big Disappointment

PostedNovember 13, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
This tablet is the 4th DELL product we have owned and it is the only one that I can not recommend. After about 7 months, it became difficult to turn on and then the battery would no longer charge.
The connector on the battery charger is very small, about 1/4 inch wide . (When you compare it to a charger for a cell phone which is about 1 inch wide) After awhile the connection becomes loose and the charger falls out. Even when I held it in place, it still wouldn't charge.
So save your money. It may seem like a good deal, especially since it is on sale, but after 6 months you may end up with a DELL paperweight like I now have. :(
PS: if you do buy this make sure you write down the service tag number before it dies. Luckily I did.
Pros:pretty red color
Cons:battery charger poorly designed, battery won't charge after a few months
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MarzeeDoats
(Sacramento, CA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:On the go
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Costco is no longer selling these -- and for good reason

PostedNovember 9, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
My tablet really never worked. It cannot maintain a network connection for anything, and why else does one buy a tablet? The troubleshooting features only want to connect to the internet and the only option left to me since I cannot connect ti the internet is to reset to factory settings, blowing away the Microsoft Office products that came installed on my tablet. This is turning out to be a really expensive doorstop. I bought my tablet through the Costco website over the summer. Today I noticed that Costco is no longer selling any Dell products. Small wonder.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Operating System 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DR33
(Los Angeles, CA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:On the go
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Battery Life

PostedOctober 25, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
The battery life is terrible. My tablet's battery drains even when not in operation, so if I forget to have it charging at night, the tablet is dead in the morning. Aside from this particular problem, the tablet will only run for about one hour straight before the battery drains completely. I've gone through tech help and they down loaded something that helped a little, but this tablet is basically almost worthless. I've owned it about 5 months.
Cons:poor battery life
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Operating System 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:arvida66
(New Brunswick, Canada)
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Trouble with Venue 8

PostedOctober 23, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Please read all of the postings in this link BEFORE you buy either the Venue 8 Pro or the Venue 11. The Wifi/bluetooth connectivity is dreadful :(
http://en.community.dell.com/support-forums/mobile-devices/f/4586/t/19542019?pi239031352=1
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Sagwagon
(Odenton, MD)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:On the go
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Wifi, driver support abysmal

PostedOctober 16, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
What would have garnered between 4 and 5 stars gets a fail because even with completely updated drivers, the Venue 8 Pro network device simply stops functioning, requiring the device be killed and restarted. The problem is compounded by a driver support website that continues to recommend drivers already installed.
I've been supporting networks for 30 years and haven't seen such a poor driver support site in years. I can't run a group update on either my 8 Pro or 11 Pro as previously installed 'recommendations' bring the process to a stop.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Happy123456
(Houston, TX, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Dell Venue 8

PostedOctober 3, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is the tablet I've being waiting for , a true windows computer in a small format allowing me to do both work and personal tasks.
The INTEL chip is very fast!
Good job Dell!
Pros:price, real windows, small format
Cons:none
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:CallMeJess
(Brisbane QLD, Australia)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

FLAWS in the Dell tablet 8 pro

PostedOctober 2, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have purchased a brand new Dell 8 pro tablet and have had this product for just over a month. It is my first Dell product, and I can honestly say it has put me off the Dell brand. I am disappointed in this purchase.
1. Sometimes the touch screen fails (or is very slow) to respond. (I am not sure if this is a fault in my tablet, but I am not about to send it away for warranty repairs, I do understand that some people are unlucky and some faults in products are expected but this has been a big put off for me)
2. Many micro USB charges failed to work which is completely annoying if I forget to take the charger I received with the tablet. (I am aware of the charging power requirements)
3. Connecting to a PC via a USB cable DOES NOT charge the tablet and you cannot view/ transfer the files to and from the device like if you were to connect a mobile phone. You need to do it via the PC's network, which extremely annoying.
I find the last one to be a MAJOR FLAW in the product.
I doubt I will ever purchase a dell product again and if I could return this and get a refund I most likely would.
Good thing is the size, memory space and display
Pros:good size memory and display
Cons:touch screen fails to respond, connecting to pc is a hassle, charging issues
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Nik25
(Chattanooga, TN, USA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Defective USB port

PostedOctober 1, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
We were using these for data collection at work, but the USB ports are faulty and break very easily. We have had three of them break after regular use. The tablet is useless after the port breaks and Dell does not consider this a fault in the product and does not cover it under warranty.
Pros:cheap, full windows support
Cons:poorly made, faulty usb port
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 12