Customer reviews for Dell Venue 8 Pro

Dell Venue 8 Pro

Dell Venue 8 Pro
3.86 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 236 reviews
5 Stars
117
4 Stars
52
3 Stars
14
2 Stars
23
1 Star
30
3.9
 / 
5
(236 reviews) 235
170 out of 23672%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Review 1 for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:woodhound55
(Long Island, New York, USA)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Perfect for me

PostedFebruary 8, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
I really enjoy the speed and ease at which I get from this tablet. I love it! There is nothing I cant do with the Venue pro 8 that I cant do on my desktop computer.
Pros:long battery life, comfort grip, good camera, expansion for memory
Cons:back does get a little hot.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:bobpinct
(Watertown, CT, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

A great tablet for my needs

PostedApril 15, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought one of these for my son for Christmas and was so impressed with it that I bought one for myself to replace an Android tablet I had bee using. It has been everything I needed and then some. I use it for work as well as play. The included Office works great for me. I have not had any issues finding apps to meet my requirements although I admit I don't use Twitter or Facebook much. To me it is a nearly perfect 8 inch tablet.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:KJ46
(Texas)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Terrible

PostedApril 2, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've had it less than 2 hours and already hate it. The set up was extremely irritating with the narration guide taking over and keeping me from doing anything. I had to hard reboot twice just to get through registration. FINALLY it's set up and then I discover I can't sync the thing to my laptop to transfer files. That was the whole reason I got it.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Scotch1882
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:On the go
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Glad i got the last generation Dell Venue 8 Pro

PostedFebruary 13, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
I am very glad I got the 1st generation, it has more memory and a bigger hard-drive compare to the 3000 series. It also comes with the Home and student edition of Office instead of office 360 where you have to renew your subscription.
The tablet itself is very thing and light and perfect for the commute to work. I usually use it as a kindle reader on the subway but also use it to play games once in a while. The screen seems to be calibrated well. I have used other tablets both windows and android and compared to the Dell Venue 8 Pro it seems glitchy.
The OS itself, works well with touch screen. The metro style works best with the touch screen and is better than using it on a pc without touch. However the ecosystem compared to android or ios does seem lacking. However the 32GB version leaves very little room, and you can't load apps onto a sd card
Pros:value, lightweight, battery life
Cons:windows 8 ecosyste, 32gb version leaves very little free space, can't upload apps to sd card
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:jedd
(edmonton)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

venue 8 pro

PostedFebruary 9, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have had this since august 2014. Once I got familiar with the keyboard I loved it. No issues, great screen, great responses and quick. Love being able to bring screen up to face, light too. I have not used my laptop since I got this. Has 32gb hard drive plus a 32gb sd card. Shame it has no USB port but I can live with that.
Had one episode of overcharging easily fixed by holding the on button to disperse extra power for 20 seconds, plugged it in, restarted it and it worked fine. Now works fine as before, great battery life too
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:WayneF
(Mead, Washington)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Great little Tablet

PostedFebruary 9, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
After reading some of the negative remarks. I almost didn't buy this tablet. Glad I didn't go by my first impression.
Have had the unit for about 6 months and have not had one problem, works great.
Have never used Windows 8.1 so that took a little time to get used to, but after a couple weeks had that down pat.
I really like the micro SD card because I travel and like to watch movies and listen to music on the plane.
Got a 32 GIG micro SD card and have 6 movies and a couple hundred songs on it so never run out of entertainment.
My only complaint is, the OS uses too much memory. If I would have know that, I would have bought the 64 GIG tablet.
Documentation could also be better.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Service 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Operating System 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:jmc421
(Carlisle, PA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Usability

PostedJanuary 22, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Came with a 32 GB drive. The Win 8.1 OS left 10 GB available. After installing Win updates, there was only 5.5 GB left. This extremely limits the apps that can be installed and the usefulness of the tablet. I installed a micro SD card for storage (pictures, etc.) but tis does not help with installing apps.
Not a good choice for productivity.
Pros:good display
Cons:limited ability to install apps.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Sam234
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Entertainment
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Stopped working as soon as it went out of warranty!

PostedJanuary 21, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used this product for a year. Throughout the year, I had some minor issues like suddenly getting disconnected from internet, having trouble in starting etc. When it worked, it was really useful though.
As soon as it went out of warranty, it stopped working. Particularly, the battery is not charging up.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Operating System 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Kkelly
(Indiana)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

product has issues

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have owned this tablet for 6 months now and had to sent it back twice already, because it stopped charging, plus couldn't get it to turn on, there have replaced the mother boards twice and last time gave me a new adapter. Dell is great both times I had to send it back for repairs.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:AKazee
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

PLUG IN PORT SERIOUS FLAW

PostedJanuary 17, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
PLUG IN EVIDENTLY ONLY FITS INTO PORT ONE WAY...AND IF YOU MAKE ERROR, IT DAMAGES PORT AND THEN YOU CANNOT CHARGE YOUR DEVICE. WARRANTY DOESN'T COVER IT. WHO MAKES A PORT LIKE THIS? NEVER AGAIN DELL.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Operating System 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Jbean86
(Connecticut, USA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:On the go
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Very displeased

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
This was my first tablet and at first I enjoyed it but it didn't last long. The touch feature is horrible when using the internet: it doesn't respond, won't let you select from drop-down menu's and scrolling is uncontrollable.
The wireless keyboard that came with mine is useless; it's too small & doesn't attach to the unit so it's a pain to use and it not rechargeable; the batteries for the keyboard lasted about 3 days with minimal use. The Battery life (of tablet) is good and it boots up very quickly, but otherwise I'm not impressed. Now the unit will not accept any charger plug and the battery is completely dead. Need to return under warranty, but wish I could just get my money bad.
Good if you like watching videos or games, but otherwise I found it to be a waste of money.
Pros:boots up quickly
Cons:small screen, touch screen response, difficult to use with internet
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Service 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:realnameistooshort
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

some serious flaws with this device

PostedDecember 30, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I pre-ordered this device late nov 2013 together with the case. This is seriously the first bunch of win8 tablets, and I was placing my bet on this new era of Wintel. In the end the CPU was ok, a lot other things failed miserably. I naïvely thought most problems could be fixed by firmware updates, and stuck with my purchase. Well lets say I ended up reaching for my nexus 5 more when I need some screen time. It has been quite a saga with this venue 8 pro
Where to begin? From the very beginning, the touch detection was atrocious. Single taps very often register as multiple taps, so I end up typing wwwwords. Some taps were detected as swipes. In the first month metro IE was unusable because the back swipe function is triggered about every 4th or 5th tap.
Oh, and here's where win8.1 came in. The win8 metro environment is seriously lacking in terms of apps, I knew and accepted this fact. I thought a full featured browser would be one alternative, and the desktop would be the last resort.
Metro browser: you had three options. Ie, chrome, Firefox. Firefox threw the towel early 2014 (ff has only desktop browser now). Chrome's interface is too small for this screen size and rendering is slow. That leaves metro ie as the only browser option. Metro ie has a very bad design flaw. When you go ''back'', the browser is forced to reload the previous page. There was no caching. For some reason this reload takes quite a bit of time, 2 to 3 seconds for a simple page.
Now, remember the touch detection problem? Where the mis-identified back swipe gets you stuck in limbo for a few seconds every 4 or 5 taps? Yeah, it would drive you crazy.
Then, I tried to fall back onto the desktop. But the desktop is not a viable alternative for several reasons. One, win8.1 desktop does not scale very well to small screens. Two, touch interface adoption on desktop is a joke. Having to manually call virtual keyboard alone was bad enough, then you have to drag, drop, click, and scroll with your finger, on a touchscreen that gets your gesture wrong every 3 seconds. Well, I wasn't sure how I didn't smash the thing. Fyi, there are various proposed workarounds online. Nothing worked in my experience. This seems to be a hardware problem with the touchpanel.
A few firmware updates later things became just tolerable enough I actually can use the tablet. Then all of a sudden the tablet would sleep to death. I.e. the screen would not wake from sleep, even though backlight turned on as I press the physical buttons. This is another well documented issue with dv8p. Again, hard resets and upgrades and tweaks all failed to resolve the problem. This sleep to death thing lasted months until one day I got a new router. Seriously? I have to change my old but perfectly fine router to get this tablet not to kill itself? Seriously?
Now, having tolerated this piece of admirable defect, I found out today that after a year of use, the battery has degraded from the design capacity of 18675mwh to the current state of 12788mwh, roughly a 1/3 cut in battery CAPACITY. This is the battery itself dying out. After just one year. I now have roughly 5 hours of battery life doing light browsing.
Is there any upside to this tablet? The CPU works reasonably well, moving things at good pace when not hindered by the operating system (see ie problem above). The case is a good accessory. I actually like the physical start button that doubles as a dedicated wake up button, and saves some front surface real estate.
All in all, I think I'm going to quit win8 tablets and stay away from dell for a little bit.
Pros:inexpensive
Cons:bad touch detection, battery degrades very fast physically, wifi inconsistent, screen has a lot of ghosting, win8.1, sleep to death
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Anonymous
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Broken micro usb port

PostedDecember 8, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this for my mother. Everything was great and was very happy with this tablet until my mother told me it wouldn't turn on. Took a look at it and found the micro usb port was broken. It seems the micro usb port is a rectagular one that is micro usb a & b compatible and not that trapezoidal shaped micro usb port most people are familiar with from their smart phones and other electronics. This has resulted in my mother plugging the charger in upside down and destroying the micro usb port and since it's the only usb port and the only way to charge the tablet, it basically means the tablet now is an expensive paper weight.
Found a number of people on the internet with the same problem. It was a good device with one small flaw but that flaw now has basically bricked the tablet and thus the negative review.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:SuzyC
(Washington, DC, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

So sorry I have Dell Venue8

PostedDecember 4, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
What a piece of junk. I have had nothing but problems. The apps crash constantly. There have been issues getting the tablet to boot up. The volume on the tablet is so low that, with headphones, it is difficult to hear audiobooks or music. The Chrome browser crashes or freeze over and over. Error messages come up with almost every app. In the two months I have had this product, I spent a fair amount of time with Customer Service on the "Tablet Line." This evening, after doing a factory reset (and deleting personal data), it still won't boot up. I am told it is now up to me to pay freight to ship it to Houston for a factory repair. This can take 10 to 14 business days. Very frustrated and very disappointed in Dell.
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Pakhtun
(San Jose, CA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Issues with the Charging Port

PostedDecember 2, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
LOVE this little tablet that could! The size is perfect, no issues with the OS, LOVE the tablet. The only issue I have is with the charging port, its a rectangular AB port that can take the micro B trapezoid but its built for the rectangular Micro-A insert. This can cause easy damage to the port if you decide to mistakenly insert a micro-b insert(provided by Dell) into the port.
Pros:windows 8.1, form, size, office included!!!
Cons:charging port is micro-ab
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:TheEmperor
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

semi mobile device

PostedDecember 1, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
NEED LTE! and if possible, cellphone! then it will be a MOBILE DEVICE.
for business, need 4 gig RAM and 64 bit windows PRO!
otherwise, it is no better than an ipad. just a toy. and of no use for business.
Pros:8 inch & fit in pocket, digitized pen
Cons:need lte!, need 64 bit, need 4 gig ram, cellphone would be priceless!
-5points
0of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MicheleinAustin
(Austin, TX, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Practically useless

PostedNovember 29, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have had my tablet for just a couple of months and it is already practically useless. When I click on any app it automatically closes and goes back to the main screen. I can do nothing with it at all. This is not the first time I've had this problem, but it is the first time that restarting it hasn't solved it. And customer service is a joke. I've been on hold for 30 minutes and counting. I do not recommend this product. I wish I had sent it back when I had problems in the first week.
Cons:unable to get help through customer service, unable to use any of the apps, frequent updates that seem to make things worse
-4points
1of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Operating System 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Mmtck42
(Virginia)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:On the go
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Build quality and OS app availability lacking

PostedNovember 28, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was hoping to use this tablet as a cross between my laptop, desktop and phone. There are some things it does well, but most it does poorly. First the good: it has windows so it interfaces nice with laptops and desktops, especially in using remote wireless connections. And since it is windows, it can access and use my office documents well - a Bluetooth Keyboard makes this a nice feature. But now the bad: That is all it is good for. If you are used to using ANY apps on your Iphone or Android, good luck finding any useful tablet apps for windows OS - they are non-existent. So using this tablet as a tablet was basically useless.
Now the Worst: The biggest problem with this specific tablet is that the battery/charging system lasts only 3-6 months, then it must be replaced by Dell or you'll have to buy a new tablet. Online forums show this to be the number one problem. Luckily I bought from Dell so it had a 1 year warranty, but this seems to be a major problem. The service support was marginal for application/tablet usage. But for repair/replacement the service support is top notch. But I'm not sure if that is a good thing or a bad thing that they took the tablet back for repair so quick and easy. I'm thinking they recognize the problems and are at least standing up to repair them, it's just disappointing the quality was so poor for battery/charging system.
Pros:size and unit quality, windows interface to laptop
Cons:battery/charger failures, zero tablet apps
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Mikfek
(Cleveland, OH, USA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Not happy

PostedNovember 18, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I wish I never would have purchased this product. Very unhappy. It doesn't charge. I have to finagle the cord in port in order for it to charge and when you lay it down it stops charging. Don't waste your money on a product you can't use.
-5points
0of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Disappointed54
(Buffalo NY)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Big Disappointment

PostedNovember 13, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
This tablet is the 4th DELL product we have owned and it is the only one that I can not recommend. After about 7 months, it became difficult to turn on and then the battery would no longer charge.
The connector on the battery charger is very small, about 1/4 inch wide . (When you compare it to a charger for a cell phone which is about 1 inch wide) After awhile the connection becomes loose and the charger falls out. Even when I held it in place, it still wouldn't charge.
So save your money. It may seem like a good deal, especially since it is on sale, but after 6 months you may end up with a DELL paperweight like I now have. :(
PS: if you do buy this make sure you write down the service tag number before it dies. Luckily I did.
Pros:pretty red color
Cons:battery charger poorly designed, battery won't charge after a few months
-4points
1of 6voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 12