Customer reviews for Dell Venue 8 Pro

Dell Venue 8 Pro

Dell Venue 8 Pro
3.778 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 248 reviews
5 Stars
119
4 Stars
52
3 Stars
16
2 Stars
25
1 Star
36
3.8
 / 
5
(248 reviews) 247
173 out of 24870%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Review 1 for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(London, UK)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Good product with wifi issue

PostedDecember 21, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Overall impression about the item is positive: solid build, slim, good battery life. From the first weeks though I have been experiencing problems with connectivity: mainly wifi but 3G and bluetooth were playing up as well. The only solution was to regularly restart it which was not convenient at all. After contacting technical support I've spent hours on the phone trying to solve the issue. Still no solution, even after on-site visit from the authorised engineer who actually broke it completely. Waiting...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Entertainment
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Great Functionality if you don't get a lemon

PostedNovember 26, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
I loved my tablet. Performance was superb and the features had everything I could want. However, the usb power port constantly became unstable resulting in the tablet discharging and eventually draining the battery. When this occurs, nothing can be done but send it back to Dell for service. I did this twice after many hours on the phone and being without the unit for weeks. Finally, this last (third) time I was told it would cost the price of the unit to repair as the warranty had expired. There should be a lemon law applying here as with new cars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(North Liberty, IA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Strike 2

PostedOctober 28, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Owning this tablet has been frustrating. It has already been returned for service once due to a corrupt version of windows 10 following an attempt to upgrade. Now it does turn on and will likely once again be returned to 8.1 and factory settings. What a pain! It was originally advertised as window 10 compatible but now Dell's tablet technicians recommend against it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Nashville, TN, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:On the go
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

No sound volume

PostedOctober 21, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
You need tiny fingers to work this tablet. The volume is the worst of any tablet on the market for the price. A waste of money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(United States)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

The USB plug on top of tablet is faulty

PostedSeptember 4, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have had this tablet in for repair 5 times as the USB plug on the top of the tablet gets loose and then when the power cord is plugged it, there is no connection to charge it. SO FREAKING AGGREVATING! Each time they replace the motherboard, which has the USB plug attached to it, but the plug itself has no anchor to the sides of the plastic opening on the tablet so it's basically free floating and comes loose and the connection breaks so it won't charge. Why they have not reinforced the USB plug is beyond me. If I could give this review 0 stars I would.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Dallas, Texas)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

The product has great features

PostedAugust 25, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
I wanted a tablet that would work like my Windows Dell Laptop. I have Wifi and use it anywhere in the house. Very convenient; I like that it has Microsoft Windows as I have been using Windows since it first was introduced in the 90s. The size is perfect for me; I use it in the portrait position. I have spent about 2 weeks getting acquainted and setting it up for my convenience. I am very happy with the tablet and would recommend it to anyone who like using windows and that it works like my laptop. Excellent value and price.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Derby, Kansas)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:On the go
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Venue 8 Pro

PostedJune 27, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
The tablet is dead after 3 weeks, it will not power up. This is the second time its done it, it recovered on its own the first time but now its just dead.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Poor Experience

PostedJune 22, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have always been a fan of Dell products and support, but the quality of the hardware and subsequent service is lacking. To repair an issue that failed less than 3 months (days after warranty expired) ago would have cost me more than a new tablet. A response like this does not instill much confidence, and makes me question my next tablet/PC purchases. Otherwise I think this is a great value tablet with nice Windows OS, but concerns about hardware quality.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Newcastle)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Pretty good when it works

PostedJune 10, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Had one of these since November 2014. I like it a lot. Unfortunately it frequently won't turn on. It's been for repair twice: had a new power supply, two new batteries, and a new motherboard.
Problem is still occuring so I submitted an online service request; no reponse in 7 days.
Pros:good design, good performance, flexible
Cons:hardware reliablity
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

My experience

PostedJune 8, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
well its good, but i think the you need to increase the memory ram for best speed in the job, and change the 32 bit architecture to 64 bit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

Dell Venue 8 Pro

PostedJune 7, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
My Dell Venue 8 Pro was cheaper than I thought it would be, so that's nice. It can also do more than I thought. The problem, however, is that every once in awhile it will have a hiccup, or forget to update certain components, which leaves me with having to reset it. Other than that it is good.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Pittsburgh, PA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Entertainment
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Breaks Down with awful battery life

PostedMay 2, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had this tablet for a few months, then the motherboard failed me. Up to this, performance wasn't great, I couldnt even run windows movie maker on it. Also, my networking chip as broken, so I can't even use the networking features on it anymore. If you decide to buy it, it is really only usable with windows 8 apps (which are EXTREMELY unuseful)
Pros:cheap, display, quad core intel processor
Cons:battery life, longevity, display, wi-fi / bluetooth chip, storage space, features
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Watertown, CT, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

A great tablet for my needs

PostedApril 15, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought one of these for my son for Christmas and was so impressed with it that I bought one for myself to replace an Android tablet I had bee using. It has been everything I needed and then some. I use it for work as well as play. The included Office works great for me. I have not had any issues finding apps to meet my requirements although I admit I don't use Twitter or Facebook much. To me it is a nearly perfect 8 inch tablet.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Texas)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Terrible

PostedApril 2, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've had it less than 2 hours and already hate it. The set up was extremely irritating with the narration guide taking over and keeping me from doing anything. I had to hard reboot twice just to get through registration. FINALLY it's set up and then I discover I can't sync the thing to my laptop to transfer files. That was the whole reason I got it.
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:On the go
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Glad i got the last generation Dell Venue 8 Pro

PostedFebruary 13, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
I am very glad I got the 1st generation, it has more memory and a bigger hard-drive compare to the 3000 series. It also comes with the Home and student edition of Office instead of office 360 where you have to renew your subscription.
The tablet itself is very thing and light and perfect for the commute to work. I usually use it as a kindle reader on the subway but also use it to play games once in a while. The screen seems to be calibrated well. I have used other tablets both windows and android and compared to the Dell Venue 8 Pro it seems glitchy.
The OS itself, works well with touch screen. The metro style works best with the touch screen and is better than using it on a pc without touch. However the ecosystem compared to android or ios does seem lacking. However the 32GB version leaves very little room, and you can't load apps onto a sd card
Pros:value, lightweight, battery life
Cons:windows 8 ecosyste, 32gb version leaves very little free space, can't upload apps to sd card
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(edmonton)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

venue 8 pro

PostedFebruary 9, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have had this since august 2014. Once I got familiar with the keyboard I loved it. No issues, great screen, great responses and quick. Love being able to bring screen up to face, light too. I have not used my laptop since I got this. Has 32gb hard drive plus a 32gb sd card. Shame it has no USB port but I can live with that.
Had one episode of overcharging easily fixed by holding the on button to disperse extra power for 20 seconds, plugged it in, restarted it and it worked fine. Now works fine as before, great battery life too
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Mead, Washington)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Great little Tablet

PostedFebruary 9, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
After reading some of the negative remarks. I almost didn't buy this tablet. Glad I didn't go by my first impression.
Have had the unit for about 6 months and have not had one problem, works great.
Have never used Windows 8.1 so that took a little time to get used to, but after a couple weeks had that down pat.
I really like the micro SD card because I travel and like to watch movies and listen to music on the plane.
Got a 32 GIG micro SD card and have 6 movies and a couple hundred songs on it so never run out of entertainment.
My only complaint is, the OS uses too much memory. If I would have know that, I would have bought the 64 GIG tablet.
Documentation could also be better.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Long Island, New York, USA)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Perfect for me

PostedFebruary 8, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
I really enjoy the speed and ease at which I get from this tablet. I love it! There is nothing I cant do with the Venue pro 8 that I cant do on my desktop computer.
Pros:long battery life, comfort grip, good camera, expansion for memory
Cons:back does get a little hot.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Service 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Operating System 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Carlisle, PA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Usability

PostedJanuary 22, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Came with a 32 GB drive. The Win 8.1 OS left 10 GB available. After installing Win updates, there was only 5.5 GB left. This extremely limits the apps that can be installed and the usefulness of the tablet. I installed a micro SD card for storage (pictures, etc.) but tis does not help with installing apps.
Not a good choice for productivity.
Pros:good display
Cons:limited ability to install apps.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Entertainment
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Stopped working as soon as it went out of warranty!

PostedJanuary 21, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used this product for a year. Throughout the year, I had some minor issues like suddenly getting disconnected from internet, having trouble in starting etc. When it worked, it was really useful though.
As soon as it went out of warranty, it stopped working. Particularly, the battery is not charging up.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 13