Customer reviews for Dell Venue 8 Pro

Dell Venue 8 Pro

Dell Venue 8 Pro
3.823 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 243 reviews
5 Stars
119
4 Stars
52
3 Stars
15
2 Stars
24
1 Star
33
3.8
 / 
5
(243 reviews) 242
173 out of 24371%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Review 1 for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Dallas, Texas)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

The product has great features

PostedAugust 25, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
I wanted a tablet that would work like my Windows Dell Laptop. I have Wifi and use it anywhere in the house. Very convenient; I like that it has Microsoft Windows as I have been using Windows since it first was introduced in the 90s. The size is perfect for me; I use it in the portrait position. I have spent about 2 weeks getting acquainted and setting it up for my convenience. I am very happy with the tablet and would recommend it to anyone who like using windows and that it works like my laptop. Excellent value and price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Derby, Kansas)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:On the go
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Venue 8 Pro

PostedJune 27, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
The tablet is dead after 3 weeks, it will not power up. This is the second time its done it, it recovered on its own the first time but now its just dead.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Poor Experience

PostedJune 22, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have always been a fan of Dell products and support, but the quality of the hardware and subsequent service is lacking. To repair an issue that failed less than 3 months (days after warranty expired) ago would have cost me more than a new tablet. A response like this does not instill much confidence, and makes me question my next tablet/PC purchases. Otherwise I think this is a great value tablet with nice Windows OS, but concerns about hardware quality.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Newcastle)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Pretty good when it works

PostedJune 10, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Had one of these since November 2014. I like it a lot. Unfortunately it frequently won't turn on. It's been for repair twice: had a new power supply, two new batteries, and a new motherboard.
Problem is still occuring so I submitted an online service request; no reponse in 7 days.
Pros:good design, good performance, flexible
Cons:hardware reliablity
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

My experience

PostedJune 8, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
well its good, but i think the you need to increase the memory ram for best speed in the job, and change the 32 bit architecture to 64 bit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

Dell Venue 8 Pro

PostedJune 7, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
My Dell Venue 8 Pro was cheaper than I thought it would be, so that's nice. It can also do more than I thought. The problem, however, is that every once in awhile it will have a hiccup, or forget to update certain components, which leaves me with having to reset it. Other than that it is good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Pittsburgh, PA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Entertainment
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Breaks Down with awful battery life

PostedMay 2, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had this tablet for a few months, then the motherboard failed me. Up to this, performance wasn't great, I couldnt even run windows movie maker on it. Also, my networking chip as broken, so I can't even use the networking features on it anymore. If you decide to buy it, it is really only usable with windows 8 apps (which are EXTREMELY unuseful)
Pros:cheap, display, quad core intel processor
Cons:battery life, longevity, display, wi-fi / bluetooth chip, storage space, features
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Watertown, CT, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

A great tablet for my needs

PostedApril 15, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought one of these for my son for Christmas and was so impressed with it that I bought one for myself to replace an Android tablet I had bee using. It has been everything I needed and then some. I use it for work as well as play. The included Office works great for me. I have not had any issues finding apps to meet my requirements although I admit I don't use Twitter or Facebook much. To me it is a nearly perfect 8 inch tablet.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Texas)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Terrible

PostedApril 2, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've had it less than 2 hours and already hate it. The set up was extremely irritating with the narration guide taking over and keeping me from doing anything. I had to hard reboot twice just to get through registration. FINALLY it's set up and then I discover I can't sync the thing to my laptop to transfer files. That was the whole reason I got it.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:On the go
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Glad i got the last generation Dell Venue 8 Pro

PostedFebruary 13, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
I am very glad I got the 1st generation, it has more memory and a bigger hard-drive compare to the 3000 series. It also comes with the Home and student edition of Office instead of office 360 where you have to renew your subscription.
The tablet itself is very thing and light and perfect for the commute to work. I usually use it as a kindle reader on the subway but also use it to play games once in a while. The screen seems to be calibrated well. I have used other tablets both windows and android and compared to the Dell Venue 8 Pro it seems glitchy.
The OS itself, works well with touch screen. The metro style works best with the touch screen and is better than using it on a pc without touch. However the ecosystem compared to android or ios does seem lacking. However the 32GB version leaves very little room, and you can't load apps onto a sd card
Pros:value, lightweight, battery life
Cons:windows 8 ecosyste, 32gb version leaves very little free space, can't upload apps to sd card
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(edmonton)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

venue 8 pro

PostedFebruary 9, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have had this since august 2014. Once I got familiar with the keyboard I loved it. No issues, great screen, great responses and quick. Love being able to bring screen up to face, light too. I have not used my laptop since I got this. Has 32gb hard drive plus a 32gb sd card. Shame it has no USB port but I can live with that.
Had one episode of overcharging easily fixed by holding the on button to disperse extra power for 20 seconds, plugged it in, restarted it and it worked fine. Now works fine as before, great battery life too
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Mead, Washington)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Great little Tablet

PostedFebruary 9, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
After reading some of the negative remarks. I almost didn't buy this tablet. Glad I didn't go by my first impression.
Have had the unit for about 6 months and have not had one problem, works great.
Have never used Windows 8.1 so that took a little time to get used to, but after a couple weeks had that down pat.
I really like the micro SD card because I travel and like to watch movies and listen to music on the plane.
Got a 32 GIG micro SD card and have 6 movies and a couple hundred songs on it so never run out of entertainment.
My only complaint is, the OS uses too much memory. If I would have know that, I would have bought the 64 GIG tablet.
Documentation could also be better.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Long Island, New York, USA)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Perfect for me

PostedFebruary 8, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
I really enjoy the speed and ease at which I get from this tablet. I love it! There is nothing I cant do with the Venue pro 8 that I cant do on my desktop computer.
Pros:long battery life, comfort grip, good camera, expansion for memory
Cons:back does get a little hot.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Service 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Operating System 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Carlisle, PA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Usability

PostedJanuary 22, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Came with a 32 GB drive. The Win 8.1 OS left 10 GB available. After installing Win updates, there was only 5.5 GB left. This extremely limits the apps that can be installed and the usefulness of the tablet. I installed a micro SD card for storage (pictures, etc.) but tis does not help with installing apps.
Not a good choice for productivity.
Pros:good display
Cons:limited ability to install apps.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Entertainment
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Stopped working as soon as it went out of warranty!

PostedJanuary 21, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used this product for a year. Throughout the year, I had some minor issues like suddenly getting disconnected from internet, having trouble in starting etc. When it worked, it was really useful though.
As soon as it went out of warranty, it stopped working. Particularly, the battery is not charging up.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Operating System 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Indiana)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

product has issues

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have owned this tablet for 6 months now and had to sent it back twice already, because it stopped charging, plus couldn't get it to turn on, there have replaced the mother boards twice and last time gave me a new adapter. Dell is great both times I had to send it back for repairs.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

PLUG IN PORT SERIOUS FLAW

PostedJanuary 17, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
PLUG IN EVIDENTLY ONLY FITS INTO PORT ONE WAY...AND IF YOU MAKE ERROR, IT DAMAGES PORT AND THEN YOU CANNOT CHARGE YOUR DEVICE. WARRANTY DOESN'T COVER IT. WHO MAKES A PORT LIKE THIS? NEVER AGAIN DELL.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Operating System 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Connecticut, USA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:On the go
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Very displeased

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
This was my first tablet and at first I enjoyed it but it didn't last long. The touch feature is horrible when using the internet: it doesn't respond, won't let you select from drop-down menu's and scrolling is uncontrollable.
The wireless keyboard that came with mine is useless; it's too small & doesn't attach to the unit so it's a pain to use and it not rechargeable; the batteries for the keyboard lasted about 3 days with minimal use. The Battery life (of tablet) is good and it boots up very quickly, but otherwise I'm not impressed. Now the unit will not accept any charger plug and the battery is completely dead. Need to return under warranty, but wish I could just get my money bad.
Good if you like watching videos or games, but otherwise I found it to be a waste of money.
Pros:boots up quickly
Cons:small screen, touch screen response, difficult to use with internet
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Service 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

some serious flaws with this device

PostedDecember 30, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I pre-ordered this device late nov 2013 together with the case. This is seriously the first bunch of win8 tablets, and I was placing my bet on this new era of Wintel. In the end the CPU was ok, a lot other things failed miserably. I naïvely thought most problems could be fixed by firmware updates, and stuck with my purchase. Well lets say I ended up reaching for my nexus 5 more when I need some screen time. It has been quite a saga with this venue 8 pro
Where to begin? From the very beginning, the touch detection was atrocious. Single taps very often register as multiple taps, so I end up typing wwwwords. Some taps were detected as swipes. In the first month metro IE was unusable because the back swipe function is triggered about every 4th or 5th tap.
Oh, and here's where win8.1 came in. The win8 metro environment is seriously lacking in terms of apps, I knew and accepted this fact. I thought a full featured browser would be one alternative, and the desktop would be the last resort.
Metro browser: you had three options. Ie, chrome, Firefox. Firefox threw the towel early 2014 (ff has only desktop browser now). Chrome's interface is too small for this screen size and rendering is slow. That leaves metro ie as the only browser option. Metro ie has a very bad design flaw. When you go ''back'', the browser is forced to reload the previous page. There was no caching. For some reason this reload takes quite a bit of time, 2 to 3 seconds for a simple page.
Now, remember the touch detection problem? Where the mis-identified back swipe gets you stuck in limbo for a few seconds every 4 or 5 taps? Yeah, it would drive you crazy.
Then, I tried to fall back onto the desktop. But the desktop is not a viable alternative for several reasons. One, win8.1 desktop does not scale very well to small screens. Two, touch interface adoption on desktop is a joke. Having to manually call virtual keyboard alone was bad enough, then you have to drag, drop, click, and scroll with your finger, on a touchscreen that gets your gesture wrong every 3 seconds. Well, I wasn't sure how I didn't smash the thing. Fyi, there are various proposed workarounds online. Nothing worked in my experience. This seems to be a hardware problem with the touchpanel.
A few firmware updates later things became just tolerable enough I actually can use the tablet. Then all of a sudden the tablet would sleep to death. I.e. the screen would not wake from sleep, even though backlight turned on as I press the physical buttons. This is another well documented issue with dv8p. Again, hard resets and upgrades and tweaks all failed to resolve the problem. This sleep to death thing lasted months until one day I got a new router. Seriously? I have to change my old but perfectly fine router to get this tablet not to kill itself? Seriously?
Now, having tolerated this piece of admirable defect, I found out today that after a year of use, the battery has degraded from the design capacity of 18675mwh to the current state of 12788mwh, roughly a 1/3 cut in battery CAPACITY. This is the battery itself dying out. After just one year. I now have roughly 5 hours of battery life doing light browsing.
Is there any upside to this tablet? The CPU works reasonably well, moving things at good pace when not hindered by the operating system (see ie problem above). The case is a good accessory. I actually like the physical start button that doubles as a dedicated wake up button, and saves some front surface real estate.
All in all, I think I'm going to quit win8 tablets and stay away from dell for a little bit.
Pros:inexpensive
Cons:bad touch detection, battery degrades very fast physically, wifi inconsistent, screen has a lot of ghosting, win8.1, sleep to death
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Dell Venue 8 Pro
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Broken micro usb port

PostedDecember 8, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this for my mother. Everything was great and was very happy with this tablet until my mother told me it wouldn't turn on. Took a look at it and found the micro usb port was broken. It seems the micro usb port is a rectagular one that is micro usb a & b compatible and not that trapezoidal shaped micro usb port most people are familiar with from their smart phones and other electronics. This has resulted in my mother plugging the charger in upside down and destroying the micro usb port and since it's the only usb port and the only way to charge the tablet, it basically means the tablet now is an expensive paper weight.
Found a number of people on the internet with the same problem. It was a good device with one small flaw but that flaw now has basically bricked the tablet and thus the negative review.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 13