Customer reviews for Dell V515w Printer

Dell V515w Printer

Dell V515w Printer
1.952 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 21 reviews
5 Stars
1
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
14
2
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 20
7 out of 2133%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Dell V515w Printer
Review 1 for Dell V515w Printer
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Seafoamunicorn
(Arizona)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Dell Printer

PostedApril 19, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
This Printer was just what we needed & arrived sooner than expected. When our old printer died (not a dell) we needed a replacement quickly & since we live in a small town out in the middle of no where, having one shipped was perfect. The set up was easy & has plenty of manuels & instructions so you can set it up to do anything. It even comes with templates in other languages so you can personalize the printer if you prefer another language. Within just a short time I was printing & faxing. We are thoroughly enjoying the new printer.
Pros:home office
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dell V515w Printer
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:luckyspirit3
(Ft Lupton, CO)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Best Printer

PostedApril 19, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
We bought a new printer because our old one would not sync to any of our computers. With me being in college I needed a reliable printer/fax machine with wifi capabilities.
It took me about a week to decide on the one I wanted. I always read the reviews of other customer's to help me determine if this is the product I want. This printer had great reviews and everything we needed.
So far it's been great. Prints when I ask it to. It has great color and is easy to use. I recommend this product for anyone who needs to print large quantities of information at one time and for those who only need it for the little things. Prints great photos as well.
I give this printer 4 stars.
Thank You
Pros:School, photos, work
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dell V515w Printer
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:lpsrn
Title:

Works intermittently

PostedMarch 8, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Have had multiple issues with this particular printer since about the time when you can't return it anymore.
Printer disconnects from wireless ALL the time... and it is not my internet or wireless server. The only way to get this printer to operate is to uninstall and reinstall software when it acts up or just primarily use the USB port. And that even has problems at times.
I would not recommend this product as there is too much effort that is needed to maintain it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dell V515w Printer
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:jmk4982
Title:

Software and Driver problems

PostedFebruary 11, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
On the plus side, if you're lucky enough to get the printer printing, it isn't bad. Its performance isn't spectacular in either speed or clarity, but it's not bad.
On the down side, I can't install USB drivers on my main desktop (a Dell) because it's running Windows 8, and the WiFi configuration crashes out. Even with the drivers installed on my secondary desktop (also a Dell) running Windows 7, and even after configuring the WiFi, the printer won't print through WiFi, and turning the printer off (or when it falls asleep) requires the drivers to be reinstalled to print via USB. Under no circumstances do the drivers work from my laptop (again, a Dell).
Owning this printer is like having a giant ugly paperweight, taking up space on your desk, and ruining your day every time you try to use it. Main difference being that the paper goes in the top rather than underneath.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dell V515w Printer
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:gbriggs
Title:

Room for improvement

PostedFebruary 8, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I am an IT professional with 15 years of hands on experience and I have never had this many problems setting up a simple consumer based printer. The drivers fail to register with Windows 7 64-bit properly and after spending over an hour I am unable to get the wireless printing feature to work.
I have owned over 20 printers in the last 10 years many of which were all in one models similiar to this Dell V515W, this has by far been the most disappointing product setup I've experienced.
Pros:general purpose printing
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dell V515w Printer
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:av8o1
(Wisconsin)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Works Great

PostedJanuary 25, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Set up was straight forward using supplied DVD. The wireless feaature allows positioning anywhere. It's fast. Scanning multiple documents is easy. The software is excellent.
Pros:home office use
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dell V515w Printer
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:leyons1
Title:

worst printer and I have ever seen

PostedJanuary 21, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I got the printer thought set up was easy and everythign was good. Was low on ink in no time and I cannot find anywhere to get more. After a short period of time the wiresless just stopped working and would not print at all. I called support and was told even though printer was brand new and not even 2 months old if I did not spend $150 I would not get any help since it was a software issue and not a broken pinter. I still have not gotten wireless to work but somehow got it to work if I connect by cord but cant print anyway I have no ink.
Pros:personl and schooling
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dell V515w Printer
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Duality240
Title:

I got a dud.

PostedDecember 29, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros:
When it works, it prints pretty good.
Cons:
In order to print wirelessly, you have to first restart the printer.
I am on my second set of print cartridges in less than a year and I very rarely print.
If ink is below 50%, the print heads have to be cleaned before each use.
Review:
This is, by far, the worst printer I have ever owned. After spending several hours trying to get this thing to print wirelessly, I contacted customer support and had them walk me through it. It worked while I was on the phone, but as soon as it went into sleep mode I had to reset the printer to get it to print. This is the first bad product I have ever gotten from Dell. I normally buy HP printers, but this one came as part of the bundle.
Pros:black and white document printing and copying.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Dell V515w Printer
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:sftl99
(Austin)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

No updated drivers for Mac OS Lion

PostedNovember 27, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Title says it all. I DID like this printer just fine, now I can't use it. I'm pretty late to upgrading the OS so it's not like I'm complaining right as a new OS is out. It's been months and months now - Dell should support printers that are still being actively sold and are under warranty.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Dell V515w Printer
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:BridgeD
(Wisconsin)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

What a disappointment

PostedNovember 25, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have never had issues with a printer like I have with this one. I am still struggling to get the wiresless working. Everything else went so smoothly in hooking up my computer, it seemed too easy. Then I got to the printer. For now, I gave up on the wireless feature just so I could use it.
This printer is not easy to use, and has very poor quality. Worst of all, I printed nothing more than a few online coupons, and it's already low on ink. I lowered the settings so that the printer used the minimum amount of ink, so I hate to think how much I will go through if I attempt a high quality print. Save yourself the money and avoid this printer.
Pros:home use
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Dell V515w Printer
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:gstuck
Title:

What a mess...

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Still trying to get wirelwss set up three days now...have to lift the lid everytime I start PC to get printer avail and clear faults. Clairty is less than expected. But I am not totally giving up I like a good challenge...so I figure about another 5 to 7 days I will have it working
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Dell V515w Printer
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:jdeaton
Title:

v515w printer

PostedMarch 27, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Terrible printer. Every time we have to print somehting for the first time aftyer starting computer, we get PROBLEM WITH PRINTHEAD message, we then have to restart computer or open cover and then shut cover to get something printed. would not recomend this to anyone
Pros:personal
+20points
21of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Dell V515w Printer
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Len1211
Title:

Great

PostedMarch 24, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I had a Cannon printer and the Dell V515w all-in-one printer makes a world of difference. I am so pleased with this product. It does more than I was expecting and it operation was easy; the finish product of a print or photo has been the best.
Pros:home & school
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Dell V515w Printer
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:NewPrinter
Title:

No

PostedMarch 13, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
This printer was way too complicated to set up, and even then it left huge smudge marks all over the page. I really wish Dell would stop automatically including printers with its computers because I don't want a Dell printer.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Dell V515w Printer
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:aliceperry
Title:

Relatively Happy

PostedJanuary 31, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I was rather happy with it, the only down side being the specialised ink cartridges. There were a few original teething problems however i have been very happy with the product. Some links from the dell central printer program are incorrect however I am not too worried about that. The one annoying thing is that the power save doesn't come off when you click print so you have to physically go and turn it on if it goes into power save.
Pros:for university
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Dell V515w Printer
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:masterreader
Title:

It will not work

PostedJanuary 23, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
I spent 3.5 hrs trying to load this to my new Inspiron 2305. I still getting printer cannot talk to computer error meessage. I suspect that there is a driver problem; but It is in it's box going back to dell. HP here I come. Very complicated to use.
Pros:home
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Dell V515w Printer
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:v515w
Title:

worth less printer

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have a DELL V515W abd its worthless.
When I try to print on my DELL Studio I get error message " printer not connected computer".
I then have to shut down the computer disconnect
the cables and restart the computer. I am not willing to put up with this longer and I am buying a new computer from a different manufacture.
The Dell Studio is pretty good.
O/S Window 7 Intel dual core.
I have called Dell and they say their driver
upgrade and my warranty has expired and was trying to sell me a new one.
That will not happen!
Pros:personal home use
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Dell V515w Printer
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:plsangels

PostedJanuary 19, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
the dell all in one printer v515w is no good.the ink cartridges do not last long at all,and i use them for simple things such as printing labels, and the ink only last a few prints. and then you cannot find a generic compatiable brand,so you can only order from dell and they are very expensive.i dont not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Dell V515w Printer
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:GaryRLINDSEY
(Medford, Oregon)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Useless Printer

PostedDecember 31, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
Was talked into this printer by salesman and have gone through several tech sessions to reload drivers. That is not the only problem, though. The printer requires a 4 minute wake-up/crunch/grind/pause if not used for a week. The cartridges DO NOT LAST LONG! I am NOT talking about the demo ones that come with the printer, but the ones ordered from Dell. Furthermore, cartridges cannot be found locally and must be ordered from Dell and they are mondo expensive. I am discontinueing the use of this thing and will buy a good old HP.
Pros:educator
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Dell V515w Printer
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:mwn560
Title:

Better than the last one

PostedJune 12, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros
The wireless features are amazing, all the kids laptops have been setup to print wirelessly, I switched to this all in one because the ink on the old dell all in one was so expensive.
Cons
Now the ink is cheaper than before although I seem to have to buy it very often. I'm not exactly sure how much the kids printed things but one cartrige or the other is always low or out, and I have not had to buy paper. I'll track it better but I think it's not been cheaper ink wise, and that was the jist of the sales pitch when I bought it.
Review
You will like the printer, however, Check out a few more comment pertaining to ink usage. It's very important cost wise.
+102points
111of 120voted this as helpful.
1 2