Customer reviews for Dell P703w All In One Photo Printer

Dell P703w All In One Photo Printer

Dell P703w All In One Photo Printer
1.556 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 9 reviews
5 Stars
0
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
7
1.6
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
1 out of 911%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Dell P703w All In One Photo Printer
Review 1 for Dell P703w All In One Photo Printer
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:HuntsvilleTX
Title:

I Hate This Printer! No More Dell Printers for Me

PostedJuly 25, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
It started out well. Then the scan function on the printer stopped working. No one at Dell was interested to help me. I have a service contract with a 3rd party and they won't help. I have to use the Dell Imaging Toolbox to scan and it doesn't work like it did when I just pushed the "scan" button on the printer unit. I put the quality all the way up and most times you can't read the document. Scan is basically useless now. I just tried printing a small envelope (4 3/8 x 5 3/4), but it would not print it. Kept saying to load 8.5 x 11 paper, even though I had the paper tray lid up and the envelope loaded properly. Since it uses a lot of ink, I have it set to draft and when I print most documents, I select draft again. About half the time it will do what I tell it. The other half it ignores my choice and prints with full ink. And mostly, I detest having to order the ink only from Dell! I was told by the sales guy that it uses Kodak ink, but that is not exactly true.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dell P703w All In One Photo Printer
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:nothopeful
(Ohio)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Flawless Printing?

PostedMarch 13, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
I ordered my wireless printer when I ordered my laptop so they would communicate. I had to threaten to send it all back before someone would help me get it set up. The wireless aspect USUALLY worked, except for scanning, which had to be hooked up manually. My printer stopped printing black on a regular basis after it was about a year old. SOMETIMES it will print black. It will print color just fine. I have been through many black cartridges, thinking it was bad ink. Now I'm convinced it has something to do with the printer itself. Any possible way to get help from Dell? Only if you want to pay enough for support to buy a couple of printers. I pulled my old Canon PIXMA out of the basement and it printed perfectly the first try, without even putting in new ink cartridges!
Pros:personal and work
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dell P703w All In One Photo Printer
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:AmericaFirst001
(USA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Worst Printer I have ever had!!!!

PostedOctober 28, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
I can back up the problems outlined here by other reviewers about the wireless, software and scanning problems. It is interesting they discontinued this printer. The printer before this one lasted nine years and was an HP. In the defense of dell they did send me a replacement. It had the same problems. I am an advanced computer user and simply am disgusted with this printer and tired of Dell's not wanting to refund my money. AVOID THIS PRNTER!!!
Pros:home use
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dell P703w All In One Photo Printer
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:unhappyinmich
(Michigan)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

dell P703W junk

PostedOctober 23, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product was wonderful the first few months we had it. It was used very little during the first 10 months. in fact we only had to put in new ink cartridges once. After a two week vacation, the black ink and quit printing and the color was way off. I put the printer through the cleaning mode several times to no avail. i put in new ink and cleaned the print head several times with alcohol. this helped slightly every time but the improvement was very small and short lived. I've called Dell to ask for help and they were unwilling to help in any way to solve our problem. The four lap tops, one desk top, three ink jet printers and one laser printer we purchased recently meant nothing....We are done will Dell. If they don't take pride in the products they offer, we don't want them. We will buy our computer equipment elsewhere!!! it is too bad because we really like and enjoy our dell products
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dell P703w All In One Photo Printer
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:oregonprinter
(Oregon)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Very unreliable printer

PostedOctober 23, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is the most frustrating printer I've ever used to try and actually print with. The wireless is fairly difficult to set up, and unfortunately, once you have it set up, it isn't reliable. It requires a sort of voodoo ritual sequence in order to actually get the printer to respond over wireless to the PC. Usually it requires several printer restarts and cancelled/re-printed tries to achieve success. I finally just disabled wireless and plugged it into my computer.
Sadly, the printer will not wake up from standby when you print. You must turn it on or off then start your print job.
Scanning has been the one mostly positive aspect of this printer. For the most part, scanning has been successful and the quality appreciable. The scan interface is a bit clunky , and it has the occasional hiccup where it fails to engage the PC to scan directly to it.
As I write this, I'm watching the printer fail to print off of my router's print server feature with about 10 minutes to read the print job for it to splatter ink in a 2 inch bar and fail.
Pros: Printer looks nice, scanner works fairly well
Cons: poor lcd/user interface, clunky software, clunky print status, atrocious networking, miserable at the one job a printer should excel at...PRINTING
Pros:printing, scanning, wireless
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dell P703w All In One Photo Printer
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:jasin18
(North Carolina)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Good buy, wirless rocks

PostedJanuary 31, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I got this when it was on sale for $100 it is mostly why i bought it, would not pay the $200 but def worth $100
Pros
Prints fast, not laser fast but as soon as you hit print, to when it comes out is around 50sec. color is good, printed out 200 labels before having to add more color. Black ink was only half way used so ink lasts a good while. Its also not to expensive $20 for black and $25 for color. I bought it back in September and i am now about 3/4 through the black ink. In all a good buy.
Cons
wirless is my only issue, when you get it to work, its great, you can have it across the house and your printer will print. The printer can detect the wireless no problem its just the computer to the printer is the trouble. DONT LOSE YOUR CD! its the only way to set up the wireless i have found out.
Review
I do not regret buying this and i hope it will last me many years to come!
Pros:printing lables for cd's/dvd's, printing paper work
+38points
39of 40voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dell P703w All In One Photo Printer
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JakeIL7
(Illnois)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Try something else

PostedDecember 16, 2009
No, I do not recommend this product.
While the product sounds good it, put simply, does not work. *I* can get printing over the wireless system to work but not scanning to either the network or memory cards. Printing quality is also just so-so...not the vibrant colors you would expect from the advertisement. There are plenty of decent printers, if you are looking at this one just move along
Pros:printing documents, printing pictures, scanning documents
+11points
14of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dell P703w All In One Photo Printer
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:sf340
Title:

Looks Nice/Poor WiFi

PostedSeptember 13, 2009
No, I do not recommend this product.
This printer looks nice, but is very user-unfriendly in how to connect to your wireless home network. I would reccomend only buying this is you are very, very comfortable with network setups. The Dell support people are also clueless on this, as the only repsonse you will get from them is an automated generic response about home networks (nothing to do to help with your printer). You are on your own if you buy this, in my opinion.
+33points
33of 33voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Dell P703w All In One Photo Printer
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:xoxoxoxo
(New Hampshire)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Not Fast, Uses Too Much Ink

PostedJuly 25, 2009
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this printer because I needed a wireless printer and liked the idea of the all in one.
It definately is not a very fast printer, even using the computer that is connected to it (as opposed to wireless).
It also takes WAY TOO MUCH ink. I'm not talking about printing photographs, we went through several cartridges just for my son printing his school work. The affordability of this printer is offset by the EXTREME EXPENSE of buying ink.
I've recently had trouble with the wireless connection and needed to reinstall, but I'm not sure if that was an issue with the printer or my router.
Pros:printing pictures, printing documents
+135points
138of 141voted this as helpful.