Customer reviews for Dell 3115cn Multifunction Color Laser Printer

Dell 3115cn Multifunction Color Laser Printer

Dell 3115cn Multifunction Color Laser Printer
2.857 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 14 reviews
5 Stars
2
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
1
1 Star
4
2.9
 / 
5
(14 reviews) 14
5 out of 1242%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Dell 3115cn Multifunction Color Laser Printer
Review 1 for Dell 3115cn Multifunction Color Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ITLawyer
Title:

STAY CLEAR IF A MAC USER!!!!! YOU WILL REGRET IT

PostedNovember 20, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Whilst this is a cheap printer to run and produces averagely but not spectacularly good prints, if you have a MAC computer you may bitterly regret the purchase.
There is no way (short of buying a windows computer) to turn this into a wireless printer despite listing it as Apple Compatible and wireless compatible and listing the card.
There is no way to set the SSID and wireless password via the screen on the printer or via the menu accessed remotely that lives in the printer - so yes you can use it wirelessly as long as you're not using MOuntain Lion (as Dell admit there are not yet any drivers for Mountain Lion and they don't know then they will produce them) - and unfortunately there is no way to set the SSID and wireless password via Apple as the Apple installer failed to insert that step (although notably the windows installer did have that step) ... and to add injury to everything else, the Dell support people are completely clueless about macs. If you don't believe me, give them access to your screen and watch them root around the wireless network settings on your Mac as they try in vain to understand what a mac is!!!!
Pros:office
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dell 3115cn Multifunction Color Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MegC
(Dallas)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Disappointing Printer

PostedMay 21, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
We bought the Dell 3115 cn 18 months ago. For the first 14 months it was great. Two months ago the lamp for the scanner/copier started malfunctioning. We now can't use the machine for copies or scans as you get a double image. When we contacted Dell they said the lamp is built in and can't be replaced. They recommended we buy a new machine...........
Pros:small business
+16points
18of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dell 3115cn Multifunction Color Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Okieprepper
(Oklahoma)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Good Product

PostedSeptember 7, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have been using this printer for about 4 years now. I love everything about it and I have only had issues with printing envelopes and card stock paper.
Pros:homeschooling, church printing needs, business
+1point
6of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dell 3115cn Multifunction Color Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:jawb
Title:

Awesome Printer

PostedAugust 31, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Awesome Printer
-6points
3of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dell 3115cn Multifunction Color Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Fred1222
Title:

Impossible to get repair part

PostedAugust 11, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
I like the printer/fax/scan easy to use a we get good print quality but I still waiting a part since more than a month and it will probably take over 2 months and a half before getting my part to repair the printer.
That simply not make sense when you use it for buisness!!!
The dell sale team ask me to purchase another one to solve my problem. that starnge that they continue to sale the product but they can't supply the part!!!
Pros:buisness
+7points
15of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dell 3115cn Multifunction Color Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:BrentMont
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

3115 CN VERY BAD Envelops

PostedJune 29, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
This printer is great for business printing
I had to purchase another printer just to print envelopes.That Is The Big Problem Here.
You cant have professional wrinkled Envelopes.
After the purchase dell customer service says that wrinkling the envelopes is accepetable.
I am very dedicated to dell in the sense that they have great support except this printer.
I Am Still using this printer it just cant print envelopes without wrinkling them.
Pros:bussiness
+18points
21of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dell 3115cn Multifunction Color Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:SmokeyMike
Title:

Great printer

PostedMarch 3, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is an awesome printer. Excellent quality output, good speed, flexible. A few minor issues when feeding mulitple pages into fax/scanner, but only when I use it, so I must be doing something wrong.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dell 3115cn Multifunction Color Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Sarmad
(Detroit, MI)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Great device, fast, Network ready, good quality pr

PostedMay 15, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
This printer was setup at a pharmacy. It was added to the network. the pharmacy has multiple server including a Linux fax server and several Ubuntu Linux, Win-xp clients. The network scan feature is great, after you set it up correctly you can virtually scan to any network attached device, and the same goes for printing. as far as fax go when it was bought we had a little bit of trouble sending faxes b/c some of the feature were a bit advanced for the receiving machines, so we had to dumb down a bit.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Dell 3115cn Multifunction Color Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:netengineer
(Alberta)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Good value, functionality and reliability.

PostedJanuary 13, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
We have been using this printer in our office for a few years now. It's very conservative on toner usage and it has been super reliable and fast.
The network scanning functionality is great. The setup of network scanning isn't entirely intuitive and the user manuals could be a little better but we were able to get everything working without reading the manuals.
Pros:fax, copy, scan, print, network faxing, network scanning
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Dell 3115cn Multifunction Color Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JCinMT
(Montana)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Close, but with a few changes could be better

PostedDecember 18, 2009
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've been reviewing the 3115cn for a couple of weeks now.
I set up MFP on a small network. Changing the IP address through the front panel was easy enough to do. The workstation I'm using is running Windows 7. Dell has the Windows 7 driver(s) which I immediately downloaded and installed before "adding" the printer via Windows Control Panel. This was a painless process and both the PS and PCL printers added fine. The print quality is excellent!
The installation manual doesn't mention this (if it does - I didn't see it) - if you want to be able to scan documents with a product such as PaperPort (which comes with the MFP) you have to connect the USB cable. You cannot simply use a TCP/IP network. Once I connected the USB cable, Windows 7 discovered the scanner and installed it with no problems. PaperPort was able to see the scanner and worked fine. I was impressed with the quality of a scanned object. I did find the glass on the scanner bed to be very dirty "underneath" which took a couple of hours of disassembly/reassembly to remedy. To set up scanning to the network - well let's just say you better have someone on hand who is tech savvy. Oh yes – you cannot do duplex scanning – you have to manually feed the sheet twice.
Cosmetically, the 3115cn needs a facelift. In order to use the front control panel to copy, fax or scan takes a bit of skill. The HP4345MFP got this right by using an LCD touch panel with clear graphics to navigate around with. On the 3115cn however, you have to peer into this very tiny LCD display and read which "text" commands to execute. If Dell can get away from this design and adopt a more user-friendly interface, this will go a long way. Remember your target audience is the office worker.
I’m still working on the Scanning to Email and Faxing. But I’ve been playing with the 3115cn long enough to see it has the potential for a great home or office device. My recommendations would be:
(1) Redesign the front control panel so it’s geared for the office worker and not an IT geek like myself
(2) Fire your documentation staff and have someone write the user manual so the common every-day Joe can understand it (better yet have a CBT or tutorial on hand so the end-user can watch a video to see how it’s done). A video can get the information across easier that trying to extract what you need by reading.
(3) Have your installation media assist in setting up scanning to the network. This could also be enhanced if Dell would go with Recommendation #1 and redesign the front panel user interface.
I look forward to seeing what Dell does with this product line and would enjoy reviewing the next generation of MFP’s.
Pros:documentation and office automation
+55points
56of 57voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Dell 3115cn Multifunction Color Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:SMBuser
(Toronto)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Fairly good performance

PostedAugust 28, 2009
No, I do not recommend this product.
We purchased this multi-function printer at the beginning of this year (2009).
Printing and copying speed, quality, paper capacity are good.
A bit poor toner management, and the most bothering function is scanning.
We CANNOT SCAN both sides of a single document in one try, you have to scan them separately and merge two different files.
If anyone knows a solution to this, please comment.
Also, configuring Scan to Network can be tricky, need to pay attention and read the manual. If someone who is not tech savvy tried to set it up, it could be very frustrating.
And feeder on top doesn’t work well with large number of papers at once.
I wouldn’t recommend it to be mainly used as scanner, but printing and copying performances are good.
+27points
29of 31voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Dell 3115cn Multifunction Color Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:3115cn
Title:

scanning on the 3115cn all in one laser

PostedAugust 23, 2009
No, I do not recommend this product.
This device is virtually impossible to scan from on to a network without tech support.
There is nothing obvious in the menu structure to follow, and it cannot be done from just using the printer, has to be setup on computer first every time.
+20points
35of 50voted this as helpful.
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Ratings-only reviews for Dell 3115cn Multifunction Color Laser Printer
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5