Customer reviews for Alienware X51

Alienware X51

Alienware X51
4.161 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 397 reviews
5 Stars
258
4 Stars
52
3 Stars
23
2 Stars
21
1 Star
43
4.2
 / 
5
(397 reviews) 391
324 out of 39782%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Alienware X51
Review 1 for Alienware X51
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:pMax
(Jeddah Saudi Arabia)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

QC is the issue

PostedJanuary 16, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
To start from, I had ordered the i7 version of the X51, that would provide a good performance in modern games like CoH2 and can serve for everyday computing needs. The internals are good, everything is in place and it has a well build case.
Unfornunately, all pros end here. The computer arrived in a state unusable for gaming. It has the AMD R9 270X video card, but there was no Catalyst driver installed. It turned out later, the graphic card itself does not work properly, and the PC hangs randomly when I have Catalyst on it. After three days, it started displaying sets of two vertical lines of either cyan or red color above any picture.
The graphic card has got replaced yesterday (btw, the request was submitted on Dec 28 - it took almost two weeks), however the system still hangs on shutdown or when idle, and this makes it unusable for any serios work - filesystems are not dismounted
cleanly, open documents are lost in result of these freezes. Will be contacting Alienware Support today again.
I hope this story will be a warning to those considering the Alienware X51 as their next PC.
Pros:small factor pc, good feature set for the money
Cons:good chances it is doa, you have to deal with dell's customer support, the psu unit is somewhat weak, cannot be upgraded easily
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Alienware X51
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:rachelgolds
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Already Broken

PostedJanuary 8, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this computer for my son for Christmas and by January 5th it was broken. Waiting for repair as I type.
Response from Dell.comBy JohnBforDellCustomer ReviewsJanuary 13, 2014
Hey Rachelgolds,

I am very sorry to hear about your issues with your new Alienware X51 desktop.

Our service and support team will take good care of you. Should you need any additional help, please use the information below to contact us. The team members below will get you taken care of.
Please reach out to our Dell Support Team at:

• Alienware Owners Forum: DM Dell Liaison Chris M
http://dell.to/18zHQrR
• You can contact our Dell Cares Team on Twitter (@DellCares):
http://dell.to/16KU93m
• If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
http://bit.ly/15zzg95
A Facebook account is required to use this option. Please use the message button and provide your Name, service tag, email address and a brief description of the issue.”

Thank you. JGB
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Alienware X51
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Christopher592
(Oromocto, NB)
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

This product is pretty good for a small one.

PostedJuly 1, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I just bought a new alienware x51 at the end of march and now they have a brand new one out. Does anyone know if I can upgrade or do something about it?
Response from Dell.comBy JohnBforDellCustomer ReviewsJuly 10, 2013
Hey Christopher592,

Sorry to say, but Dell doesn't have a buyback program for this system.

I am glad to see that it's compact size and power have worked well for you.

If there's anything we can do for you, please use the information below to contact us. The team members below will get you taken care of.
Please reach out to our Dell Support Team at:

• Dell Community Forums – New to the Community:
http://dell.to/GY65Xz
• You can contact our Dell Cares Team on Twitter (@DellCares):
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ
• If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
http://bit.ly/15zzg95
A Facebook account is required to use this option. Please use the message button and provide your Name, service tag, email address and a brief description of the issue.”

Thank you. JGB
-5points
2of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Alienware X51
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Terry123
I use my PC for:Casual Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Don't waste your money

PostedMay 28, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this machine a little over a year ago. Shortly after the warranty expired the motherboard died. Before that I had to turn the res. on my games way down just to make it run smoother. My suggestion is to save your money up a bit and buy yourself a better product.
Response from Dell.comBy JonathanNforDellCustomer ReviewsMay 30, 2013
Hi Terry123,

Thank you for posting your review on the Alienware X51 desktop and I apologize that your overall experience was not an optimal one. This is a gaming desktop designed with a minimal footprint in mind and not all games can be played on a high resolution without some sacrifice in smooth playback. Even the high-end Aurora desktop can struggle with the top graphical games on high resolutions. I recommend reaching out to @AlienwareTech (
http://bit.ly/TLIegs) on Twitter to see if they can help you out with your current situation.

Thanks!
+2points
7of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Alienware X51
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Christopher592
(Oromocto, NB)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

This product made me waste money.

PostedMay 16, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Even though it comes with some pretty good hardware in such a little Desktop. You can easily buy others that are better than this for a better price. I have the alienware x51 for about a month now and the driver crashed already. Im not impressed with this product and company. My next computer will not be Alienware.
Pros:small gaming rig
Cons:can't upgrade, driver crashes, to expensive
Response from Dell.comBy SaraTforDellCustomer ReviewsMay 20, 2013
Hello Christopher592,

I am sorry that your experience has not been a perfect one. If you are having troubles with your system, I would first recommend making sure that your drivers and BIOS are up to date (
http://dell.to/17U5im3 - select the "Drivers & Downloads" tab). If you are still have concerns, please reach out to our Alienware support team. They can help troubleshoot the root cause and try to resolve your issues. Alienware Support is available through many channels including the Dell Community Forums (http://dell.to/12P2VeP) or through Twitter- @AlienwareTech (http://dell.to/10glKcj).

-SaraT
-13points
4of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Alienware X51
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Shmiko
(Richmond, VA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Casual Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

This product only beeps!

PostedMay 7, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
It worked great for two months, however, now it only makes 5 beeps and does nothing else. I am not happy with this product.
Response from Dell.comBy SaraTforDellCustomer ReviewsMay 8, 2013
Hello Shmiko,

I am sorry to hear that you encountered issues with your system. I would advise that you get in contact with technical support. They can help you isolate the issue, trouble shoot the root cause, and find the best resolution for you. Alienware Support is available through many channels including the Dell Community Forums (
http://dell.to/KZBaoK) or through Twitter- @AlienwareTech (http://bit.ly/VAaJvA).

I hope they are able to assist.

-SaraT
-5points
4of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Alienware X51
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Kiba6469
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Hardcore Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Worst gaming desktop ever.

PostedMarch 31, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
This gaming pc was brilliant at first for about two weeks, thats when the problems started, the wifi card broke and had to be replace so i had a gaming computer with no internet after which point the graphics card then decided not to work anymore and shut down the xomputer when ever a game was opened even on the lowest graphics of a low end game. Then you feel this no problem because you have a year warranty but dell support is the worst i have ever seen, their support site navigation is unusable and most of the links lead to unfound pages after which it takes an hour before you even find something that may be of help, but then when you look closer they dont have any support open to you on weekends or bank holidays (not even a phone line) and even when you do get through they are rude and unhelpful and the warranty mean basically nothing. A friend of mine also bought the same desktop a week after mine and is now havingthe same problems. In conclusion the X51 is overpriced for what you recieve has very ittle help, breaks down constanlty, is louder than it should be, and is a waste of money. DONT BUY IT!!!
Pros:nothing
Cons:everything
Response from Dell.comBy DonaldDforDellCustomer ReviewsApril 2, 2013
Hello Kiba6469,

Sorry to hear you had such a trying experience with your Alienware X51. I would suggest contacting our Dellcares team. You can reach them online at:

Social Support Team Contact:-
Twitter - @DellCares (
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ)
Dell Community Forum (
http://dell.to/GY65Xz)
Dell Facebook (
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ)

There is even an Alienware owner's club at:
http://dell.to/YK16Ma

Hope they can help!
-12points
10of 32voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Alienware X51
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Rick222
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Casual Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

DOA

PostedFebruary 26, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Received what appeared to be previously opened item with power cord not packed normally. Protective plastic covering bubbled, not put on properly and tapped down many times on side. 5 Beep on boot, fan not sounding right when spinning, second HDMI port on graphic card obviously recessed/broken. Took hour for tech support to go through CMOS clear and reboot and then said might have to send it back after I told had concerns keeping a system noting the previously assessed issues. It another 45 minutes of being transferred to another 3 persons that kept asking me why I was calling and requiring the same exact information given to the previous person before I could get an RMA. Each acted like they had no idea why I called in first place after transferred from tech support. Two week wait for DOA system, two hours phone time and 30 days before refund and still no system.
Loved the first X51 got through them and been faithful customer for years for personal and business use. Will be headed to different vendor or reconsider self build noting time factor and issues.
Pros:1st time purchase was great, love the x51 form factor
Cons:quality control, time sink if anything is wrong
Response from Dell.comBy SaraTforDellCustomer ReviewFebruary 27, 2013
Hello Rick222,

I am sorry to hear that your experience was not great. This is not experience we want you to have. If you need help tracking the status of a return or refund, you can reach out to DELL -Lorna M (
http://dell.to/TL6Tmc) on the Dell Community Forum Customer Care Board. You will need to sign in first; then click “Start a conversation”. You can also get help on Twitter- @AlienwareTech (http://bit.ly/VAaJvA).

-SaraT
+6points
9of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Alienware X51
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JohnnyRockIt
(New York)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Hardcore Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Lags

PostedFebruary 9, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this computer hoping its the top of the line gaming computer but it runs Starcraft (all settings on ultra) choppy. Dell please contact me and help me resolve.
Response from Dell.comBy JohnBforDellCustomer ReviewsMarch 1, 2013
JohnnyRockIt,

Sorry to hear your Alienware X51 isn't living up to expectations. Use the information below to contact us. The team members below will get you taken care of.
Please reach out to our Dell Support Team at:

• Dell Community Forums – New to the Community:
http://dell.to/GY65Xz
• You can contact our Dell Cares Team on Twitter (@DellCares):
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ
• If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ
A Facebook account is not required to use this form. You will be asked to provide your Name, service tag, email address and a brief description of the issue.

Thank you. JGB
-11points
8of 27voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Alienware X51
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:trogman
(New York)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

X51 is a piece of garbage.

PostedJanuary 26, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
PROS
It's skinny. It's not heavy.
CONS
The nvidia card GTX 555 came already defective. Had to waste a warranty replacement on it.
I cannot even create the recovery discs via the AlienRespawn utility, since Dell created a useless GPT partition and is wasting 8GB of space that AlienRespawn does not recognize.
REVIEW
Don't buy the X51 computers brand new. It's better if you buy it refurbished, since it actually gets fixed before being resold.
Utter Junk.
Response from Dell.comBy SaraTforDellCustomer ReviewsMarch 19, 2013
Hello trogman,

I am sorry that your out of the box experience was not exceptional. I hope that after your graphics card was replaced, everything is running smoothly and you are able to have the dominating performance offered by this system. I hope you will not need it again, but please keep in mind that the hardware warranties on this system are for a time frame such as 1 year, not do not have an incident limit.

Also, if you are having trouble getting your AlienRespawn to create a recovery disc, I recommend that you reach out to our Alienware Support team. They are available through many channels including the Dell Community Forums (
http://dell.to/KZBaoK) or through Twitter- @AlienwareTech (http://bit.ly/VAaJvA).

They may be able to assist.

-Sara
-12points
11of 34voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Alienware X51
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JohnMaine
(Maine)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Alienware X51 Dissappointment

PostedJanuary 18, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
After waiting for a year I ordered the Alienware X51 (i5 processor, 8 gb RAM, 1tb HD, NVIDIA GT640)on 11/26/12 to replace my old XPS 400. Out of the box the system would not boot up Windows. . . just three attempts to boot and then blue screen and error code. Dell tech support was good but after two hours of testing, etc. decided to send a service rep to replace the motherboard, HD and memory. Instead of going through an easter egg hunt I requested and got an exchange for an exact replacement. Out of the box the second system did exactly the same thing. Self diagnostic tests on both systems showed all components OK. During the tests I noticed the system build date was August 2012. Since I had ordered the free upgrade to Windows 8 (and since Windows 8 was just launched in October 2012) I have to wonder if the problem was a bad upgrade process on these units from the original Windows 7 to 8.
In any event, having bought and had good luck with several Dell systems over the past 10 years this was an extremely disappointing experience. Dell technical and customer support was very good but the bottom line was two bad systems in a row which is unacceptable.
I ended up returning both X51's and buying an XPS 8500 (i7 processor, 12 gb RAM, 2tb HD, NVIDIA GT640 with Windows 8) which I am very happy with. Again, Dell sales was very good but even with my bad experience I had to spend quite a bit of time negotiating to get any kind of decent deal on the XPS 8500.
While the Alienware is a nice compact package of decent components, something is not right in a process that delivers products that will not work out of the box.
Pros:home office, Gaming, family photos, online shopping
Response from Dell.comBy AnthonyAforDellCustomer ReviewsJanuary 21, 2013
Hey JohnMaine,

Thank you for reaching out to us to share your experience with the Alienware X51. It is unusual that you experienced two systems that did not work correctly. Typically, the X51 is a great system without many errors.

I am glad to hear that the Dell XPS 8500 was a suitable replacement for you. This system is also great for gaming.

You can always reach out to one of our Online Support Teams for help.

• Dell Community Forums – New to the Community:
http://dell.to/GY65Xz
• You can contact our Dell Cares Team on Twitter (@DellCares):
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ
• If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ
A Facebook account is not required to use this form. You will be asked to provide your Name, service tag, email address and a brief description of the issue.

I hope that you continue to enjoy your XPS 8500.

Thank you for choosing Dell.
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Alienware X51
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:how66
(Racine)
Title:

how66

PostedJanuary 14, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
I am disappointed to say the least, that this was called a gaming PC. I bought it to replace my aging 3.5 year old dell xps studio 1640 laptop. Since I use an external mouse, keyboard, and monitor I figured I could get more for my money by getting the alianware X51. The first shock came when I ran windows experience index and found both rated at 5.9 as lowest subscore. The X51 was higher on all except for the graphics card. specs for the xps are T9550 @ 2.66 Ghz cpu, 6 Gb ram,ati mobility radion HD 4670, with windows 7 pro.
The X51 specs are I7-3770 @3.4 Ghz, 8 Gb ram, nvidia geforce gtx 660 with windows 7 home.
But the bigger problem came when I played Hitman absolution, on the xps it played fine benchtest of min FPS=5.83, ave FPS=14.49, max FPS=21.40, but on the x51 min FPS=2.67, ave FPS=3.49, max FPS=5.57 both tests at lowest settings. At those averages the game is not very fun, It's not that I expected to be blown away but I did expect a step up especially when buying a gaming PC. I've nothing but DEll PC's for the last 10 years, but after this I don't intend to buy another.
Pros:Gaming, work
Response from Dell.comBy AnthonyAforDellCustomer ReviewsJanuary 16, 2013
Hey how66,

Thank you for your feedback.

It sounds like we just need to tweak your drivers or the game settings, but the graphics card on the X51 should be able to outperform the graphics card on your older XPS.

Please reach out to our Alienware Gaming Community Forum (dell.to/eP8kDS) and submit your case to Chris M. He can surely help get your X51 running at top performance.

I hope this helps!
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Alienware X51
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:xcrunnerphs
Title:

Terrible build quality.

PostedJanuary 5, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros:
when It works this computer is unparalleled i can run everything on high on my highest demanding game and enjoy playing it without it lagging.
Cons:
This machine will hardly work i have to unplug it then wait then replug just to get it to display through the discreet graphics card. It will barely play half of my games, i feel like the machine is going to break down at any minute even though ive only owned it fpor just over a week.
Pros:streaming video, video gaming, browsing the web, school related tasks.
Response from Dell.comBy VikramNforDellCustomer ReviewsJanuary 7, 2013
xcrunnerphs,

We apologize that your experience with the Alienware X51 was not perfect. We value your feedback and would like the opportunity to try and correct the issues. Please join the Alienware Dell Community Forum (
http://dell.to/KZBaoK) so we and other Alienware users can assist you in troubleshooting and find the best solutionv. You can also email us at support@alienware.com

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience, have a great day!

+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Alienware X51
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:tjared
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

low Fps driver issues with nvidia video card

PostedJanuary 5, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Would not recommend this computer for someone who wants an out of the box computer for gaming. From what I have encountered there are cooling issues with the video card. When trying to get help all i get told is to make sure i did everything correct. well i have had the computer 2 weeks and all i have done is installed World of Warcraft. While playing the game FPS drops after 10 min to un-playable levels. very disappointed. I dont have hours to sit on the support line and there is no E-mail support available.
Pros:Gaming
Response from Dell.comBy JohnBforDellCustomer ReviewsJanuary 7, 2013
Tjared,

Sorry to hear that your Alienware X51 isn't living up to expectations. We do have support options other than the phone. Use the information below to contact us. The team members below will get you taken care of.
Please reach out to our Dell Support Team at:

• Dell Community Forums – New to the Community:
http://dell.to/GY65Xz
• You can contact our Dell Cares Team on Twitter (@DellCares):
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ
• If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ
A Facebook account is not required to use this form. You will be asked to provide your Name, service tag, email address and a brief description of the issue.

Thanks!! JGB
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Alienware X51
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:rodracir
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Title:

Not good

PostedDecember 26, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
New computer out of the box and it did not work. They wanted to send a tech to change the mother board and the video card. Is a new computer it should not have this issues.
Response from Dell.comBy SaraTforDellCustomer ReviewsDecember 28, 2012
Hello rodracir,

I am sorry that your out of the box experience was not perfect. I hope that the technician was able to get you taken care of so that you can get to enjoy your new Alienware. If you have any questions or concerns in the future, you can also reach out to our Alienware Support through the Dell Community Forums (
http://dell.to/KZBaoK) or through Twitter- @AlienwareTech (http://bit.ly/VAaJvA).

-SaraT
+6points
9of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Alienware X51
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:chad4678
(maine)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

devective out of the box

PostedDecember 12, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
well let me first start by telling u i bought this on black friday and thought i was getting a great deal until i opened the box and attempted to turn it on ....and for the record it did run for about ten minutes and thats where my dell experience went down hill ..i should have learned from the last machine i bought from them ..well i have spent numerous hours on the phone with dell and there so called tech support and customer service.and as of 5 minutes ago they tell me the parts i need are on back order to fix it and this is after they promised me it would be fixed no later then today ..well i kindly asked the rep to send me just the power supply since i am sure thats whats wrong since it wont light up when i plug it in to the wall i would definate3ly not recommend this product to a friend until if and when they fix the bugs with it but one pro is it looks good out of the box lol
Pros:Gaming, web browsing
Response from Dell.comBy JohnBforDellCustomer ReviewsDecember 14, 2012
Chad4678,

Sorry that you had a terrible experience with our customer service. Use the information below if you need to contact us for anything. The team members below will get you taken care of.
Please reach out to our Dell Support Team at:

• Dell Community Forums – New to the Community:
http://dell.to/GY65Xz
• You can contact our Dell Cares Team on Twitter (@DellCares):
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ
• If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ
A Facebook account is not required to use this form. You will be asked to provide your Name, service tag, email address and a brief description of the issue.

Thank you. JGB
+2points
6of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Alienware X51
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:WCC5723
(Hudson NY)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Refurb X51

PostedNovember 13, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought a refurbished X51 and I had a lot of issues. I contacted Dell to return the product and "due to a high volume of emails" it took 6 days for someone to get back to me. In all it took almost one month for a return label. Dell return service is terrible. I suggest steering clear of the reburbed units and save a the extra cash to buy new. This whole process has turned me off from Dell, I have bought 5 laptops from them throughout the years and they were great, but when it came time to return something they forget your name.
I have to say though the size of the console was just what I was looking for but it was plagued with issues, what a shame it looks like I am back to console gaming, I wish I could tell you how it was to play a game on the X51, but the system just didn't like any of my Origin games or Steam games.
Response from Dell.comBy SaraTforDellCustomer ReviewsNovember 14, 2012
Hello WCC5723,

I am sorry to hear that you experienced issues with your system and setting up a return. We want to make your experience as smooth as possible. If you ever need assistance in the future with technical concerns or need help from customer care, we have a variety of ways you can reach us. These include the Tech support and Care Forum boards (
http://dell.to/NjitjY), Twitter: @DellCares (http://dell.to/Tgt5D7), and filling out a Facebook support form (http://dell.to/OO2MDG).

Again, I am sorry your experience was not outstanding.
-SaraT
-1point
8of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Alienware X51
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:BrandonBi
Title:

Not Impressed.

PostedNovember 8, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Ive had my x51 for about 4 days now, ive already had to restore it 4 times, ive gotten blue screened 15+ times so the computer restarts(sometimes, others it has to restore), the wifi is not good, im writing this on my laptop because the computer is restarting again. Overall, not what i expected to get for $1200
Response from Dell.comBy JohnBforDellCustomer ReviewsNovember 12, 2012
BrandonBi,

Sorry to hear you are having issues with your Alienware X51.

Reach out to us one of these ways.
Twitter-@Dellcares
or, the Dell Alienware Owner's Forum(Contact Chris Mixon)-
http://dell.to/q2vRBE

One of these 2 contacts will get you taken care of. Thanks!!

JGB
-7points
9of 25voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Alienware X51
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Seif
(London)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Absolute. Rubbish

PostedOctober 19, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Over heats , games Lag and low Fps and games say not responding. Graphics drivers stop. I WANT A REFUND
Pros:Gaming, streaming, graphics design
Response from Dell.comBy AnthonyAforDellCustomer ReviewsOctober 22, 2012
Hey Seif,

I am sorry that you are not happy with your Alienware X51. The X51 really is a nice system and I am confident that we can improve the performance of your system.

Have you contacted any technical support about these concerns? Here is a link that addresses your concern on the overheating:
http://dell.to/HC0gMa

Dell offers some great support for our Alienware systems, so I encourage you to check it out. We are on Twitter @AlienwareTech, and you can also join the Alienware Dell Community Forum (
http://dell.to/KZBaoK) so we and other Alienware users can assist you in troubleshooting. You can even email us at AWCC-Resolution_Experts@Dell.com

I hope you and other users find this information helpful. We are here to help.

Thank you for choosing Dell.
-16points
4of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Alienware X51
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:GabeMR
(DC)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Don't Waste Your Money

PostedOctober 14, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I ordered 2 for gaming for me and my roommate. They wasn't that customizable to begin with, but I thought Alienware would be a good computer after my terrible prior experiences with Dell. It had pretty decent specs though. Unfortunately, that wasn't the case and this was yet another let down. The 1st had fan issues when it arrived where it sounded louder than my lawn mower requiring 2 technicians over the course of 5 weeks to come and replace all the fans in the computer. I was unable to use it the first 5 weeks because it was overheating and crashing. The second computer's hard drive crashed after only 6 months. I've learned my lesson and will not buy another as they simply didn't stand behind the products and expected me, as a customer, to do all the work and waste days of my time resolving the issues resulting from faulty products. Run, do not walk, away from this computer!
Pros:gaming (world of warcraft)
Response from Dell.comBy GinaVforDellCustomer ReviewsOctober 18, 2012
Hello GabeMR,

Thank you for providing us with your feedback on the Alienware X51. Sorry to hear that you did not have a positive experience with this system. In regards to the fan noise, Dell is aware of this concern as reported by customers when this system first shipped. Certain fans were emitting a loud high pitched noise. In response Dell issued a different fan (part number RR3J2 - AVC CPU fan) which did not emit the noise inside the X51 chassis. If you have not had you issue resolved, I would advise that you reach out to DELL-ChrisM (
http://dell.to/RLaS1L) on the Dell Community Forums to have him look into this matter for you.

Unfortunately, situations like this are not easy to predict when we ship new products. We do try to stay on top of concerns to get fixes, like this one, out to our customers in a timely manner.

In the future, If have technical concerns, please reach out to our Social Support Team directly via the Dell Community Forums (
http://dell.to/GY65Xz); the Support tab on Facebook (http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ); or on Twitter @DellCares (http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ). They will be able to assess, diagnose and resolve your concerns ASAP!

We are here to listen and respond to our customers’ needs and I hope that we can turn this around for you.

Again, thank you for your feedback, and have a great day – Gina
+4points
16of 28voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 20