Customer reviews for Alienware X51

Alienware X51

Alienware X51
4.16 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 394 reviews
5 Stars
257
4 Stars
50
3 Stars
23
2 Stars
21
1 Star
43
4.2
 / 
5
(394 reviews) 388
321 out of 39481%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Alienware X51
Review 1 for Alienware X51
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Tridious
(Boston, MA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Well worth the buy

PostedJune 1, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I took alot of consideration into buying this x51, I had seen the numerous complaints of bugs, BSODs and DOAs, so I was taking a gamble. The x51 was going to be replacing my M11x laptop, which did last a good 2 years until the hinges literally crumbled due to flawed design, but I wanted to stick with Alienware, after a heap of trouble with just getting the thing to ship, I booted it up, immediately installed all the updates and graphics drivers before even touching anything. Works beautifully I'm incredibly relieved. I recommend anyone buying the product to do the same to avoid issues. I haven't even had a random restart, wireless card works perfectly and pulls in a fantastic signal. And gameplay is phenomenal. I have SC2 on extreme, diablo 3 on max, I was even playing diablo and downloading starcraft 2 at the same time, it was running incredibly smooth. Even while gaming this rig is reallly quiet, contrary to other customer complaints. No high pitch or anything. Maybe I got as lucky as I can possibly be, but to me this is an incredible product. I highly recommend.
Pros:Gaming, multitasking, web browsing.
+196points
204of 212voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Alienware X51
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Gary343
Title:

Very Good, and Very Compact

PostedJanuary 20, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Hi I am Gary, this is one of the best micro ATXs i have bought on the market,it is very well priced for the parts you get. What I think is best about this product is size this is very small yet does not over heat so it has very good air flow management. Second this is very good for people who want a powerful machine that's still very powerful with out buying an expensive Lap Top. Over all i found this best for using as a home theater/gaming setup because i its size and graphic capabilities...
Pros:Gaming
+183points
200of 217voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Alienware X51
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DavidR2012
Title:

Worth Every Penny

PostedAugust 19, 2012
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Yes, I would recommend this product
My Alienware X51 Specs are:
Operating system: Windows 7 Home Premium, 64 Bit
Processor: 3rd Generation Intel Core i7-3770 (8M Cache, up to 3.4 GHz)
Memory: 16GB Dual Channel DDR3 at 1600MHz (2 DIMMS)
Video Card: 1GB GDDR5 NVIDIA GeForce GTX 555
Hard Drive: 2TB Serial ATA 3
Optical Drive: Slot-Loading Dual Layer Blu-ray Reader (BD-ROM, DVD+-RW, CD-RW)
Monitor: Samsung S20B350, 20" Widescreen LED HD display (ordered from another website) and is connected using an HDMI cable.
Music, Movies, Web Surfing
Using the pre installed Realtek High Definition Audio (MAXXAudio) setting options you can really enhance your listening experence. Everything from the subtle background noises to the deep bass sound so crisp and clean. I read several other reviews saying how bad the Wi-Fi is, even those who had their router in the same room. My router is a good 30ft away from the computer in another room and 90% of the time I'll have full signal strength. Web Surfing is blazing fast. You can easily have multiple tabs open each loading a video with no major lag, HD videos (ex YouTube) will take a few minutes for the entire video to load, but still pretty fast. Bluray movies look clearer than ever.
Gaming
Now, I have been a console only gamer for the longest time, never had a PC that could handle HD games so I'm very new to PC gaming. Picked up a few games from Steam (Crysis Maximum Edition, Alan Wake's American Nightmare, Just Cause 2, Batman Arkham City) while they were having the summer sale. I haven't played a game/demo yet that I couldn't run with max graphics settings. Visually everything looks great from the footprints in the sand, reflections, sunlight, water running down my screen to dust particles in the air, almost photo realistic. I was having some framerate issues early on (Crysis, Batman) but found that I needed to turn off anti-aliasing from the game settings menu. I couldn't tell any difference visually but they run lag free now. Feeling confident that the X51 can handle the upcoming games this holiday season I'm sure I will be back for more. I wouldn't say it will replace my Xbox360 or PS3 but it also provides a very enjoyable HD gaming experience.
Design and Value
I have had my X51 close to a month now and am very impressed with the capabilities and performance for it's size. It's not much bigger than an original Xbox. I like the custimization options for the lighting colors using AlienFX, all the colors pop without being too dull or bright regardless of lighting conditions in the room. The system is very quiet, even when the fans are on during games I don't find it destracting. The only negative I would say about the X51 would be the high sticker price. I was looking for something that was compact, fast, stylish, user friendly, name brand and that could handle HD games old and new. I have been wanting an Alienware for a few years now, decided to go for it and I'm glad I did. At the end of the day I would say it's worth every penny.
Pros:internet, streaming video, Gaming, movies
+76points
78of 80voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Alienware X51
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Link
(Malaysia)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Awesome, but could be better

PostedFebruary 2, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
for a small desktop system aficionado and an intermediate but quite experienced system builder n modder, this is my list of pros n cons:
PROS
- really small footprint, and looks snazzy beside your big-screen TV
- very, very powerful for its size.
- external power brick. makes the unit more compact and lighter.
- build-in wifi.
- uses desktop components, open path for cheaper upgradeability is always a plus.
- alienware. nuff said.
CONS
- weedy power supply, Dell does not specify that this unit comes with a 240w or 330w psu.
- proprietary pico psu makes repairs (if need be) expensive. do opt for extended warranty and make it clear to dell you intend to upgrade, especially when ivy bridge, kepler and HD7xxx series in almost released. or just wait for R2.
- non-exchangeable i/o plate. makes swapping the motherboard a hassle. nothing a quick dremel job cant fix, but not a job for the weak of heart.
- no option to change the graphics card. gt545 is kinda weaksauce nowadays. and gtx555 is only available on the more expensive model. and Y U NO USE RADEON???
- no option (or space without removing the HDD) for an SSD. come on Dell, on this day and age, SSD is a must for a system of this caliber. or at least provide an eSATA slot.
- as always, with alienware products, Price. but that's subjective. if you dont have money, don't buy alienware. but at least you can be smug while telling other ppl you paid an arm and a leg for an alienware pc.
honestly what cons i mentioned will only be bothersome for a really small group of potential buyer (me included), but still a point need to be considered by Dell.
(here's wishing for a revision with ivy and radeon.)
+102points
111of 120voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Alienware X51
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:X51Owner
Title:

Good, but GTX 555 DOA

PostedFebruary 4, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Just got it yesterday - I bought the upgrade with the 555, blu ray, etc. Amazing looking little machine. Looks fantastic on my media cabinet. Pretty darn powerful too - played Skyrim, Crysis, Crysis Warhead, etc on high to max settings at 1080p at totally acceptable framerates. But, I got 5 Blue Screen Crashes day 1. Tech support was helpful - reinstalled drivers for me, eventually declared the graphics card dead on arrival. Dell's sending out a local tech some time this week to fix. Hopefully this fixes it. Its definitely a good product - the quality control makes me nervous though. I hope it gets fixed this week.
Pros:Gaming, media center
+37points
40of 43voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Alienware X51
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Sacraty
(NY)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Considerations

PostedJanuary 21, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
First of all, I would like to tell everyone that this is not something that would replace your previous alienware desktops or custom built system. This is a portable desktop which is more powerful than laptops and can be carried around very easily. Another thing is, people love comparing this to other machine without knowing the advantage of it being an ITX computer. If you need the power, the portability and its size, This thing tops em all. For the price, feel free to customize one of your own and end up on a more expensive custom unit not mentioning the hassle of building it since its a small size unit.
Pros:end user gaming, streaming, surfing
+45points
53of 61voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Alienware X51
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:TylerK
(Cleveland, OH)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Amazing - performance, design, price!

PostedOctober 13, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Specs:
Intel Core i7-3770 @ 3.40GHz
Windows 7 64-bit
2TB HHD
nVidia GTX660
8GB RAM
A07 Bios
Latest nVidia Drivers
Absolutely amazing machine. I've owned one other Alienware before (M17 laptop), three different Mac's, and the rest have been custom builds. This is by far my favorite and best performing computer yet.
With this configuration, I paid a good price too considering all it's got. And the performance is fantastic.
Running Half-Life 2 Lost Coast stress test - 1920x1080, completely Maxed settings I get 260FPS!
Battlefield 3 runs at 1080P on Ultra settings at a very comfortable FPS (around 30FPS - I noticed no slow downs at all).
General performance is good too - that's web surfing, homework, working in Unreal Development Kit. It's all smooth as silk.
I was aware of some issues people were having with the GTX660 but I haven't had any issues with the A07 bios and latest nVidia drivers.
Regardless, Dell's support is simply the best. I've already gotten a few calls from them checking up to make sure I'm happy with everything, that I'm satisfied, and all is functioning properly (and one call about buying a warranty... but.. that's alright).
And I'm confident if I have any issues, they'll be there to help and there's plenty of ways to reach out to them.
Design is awesome too. I love AlienFX!! The nice design touches like the rotating Alien and LED's in the eyes and on either are great. Slot loading DVD drive looks super slick as well.
It's a tiny PC for all that's packed into it and while I'm playing games it amazes me that it's coming from that small and gorgeous package.
So to summarize we've got; great price, great performance, great service, great design. This is all around one stellar machine.
I love it! You won't be disappointed with one!
+213points
291of 369voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Alienware X51
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:13yearoldreviewer
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Simply Grand

PostedFebruary 26, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is just the greatest computer I have ever used!!!
To replace my 5 year old Studio Hybrid Desktop (for more info please read my review of this machine) I decided to go with this xbox sized machine, complete with iprocessors and a gtx555 graphics card.
To be honest this a more than a excellent machine.
It features a sexy glossy chassis roughly the size of a 2006 Xbox, a one terabyte HDD, a i7 intel processor that is really, really fast! And an irreplaceable gtx555.
It is perfect for photoshopping, movie making and sketchup.
In terms of raw gaming performance, it cranked up 70 frames per second on ultra settings in Red Orchestra Ostfront, 40-30 frames per second in Red Orchestra Heroes of Stalingrad on high settings, 50-69 frames per second on ultra settings in Call of Duty World at War. As you can see, this is no regular machine, especially for it's size.
Unfortunately, this Comp is not upgradeable at all ! So do not buy this machine for upgrading, simply because the power requirements are a pain to match and there is no space, not even fir a gtx570.
I will definitely recommend this computer to casual to heavy gamers.
Thank you Dell for this wonderful product.
Summary: a excellent entertainment powerhouse, capable of playing the latest of games at high to medium settings.
Pros:Gaming, homework
+38points
44of 50voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Alienware X51
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:kielon1
Title:

Problem Resolved

PostedFebruary 25, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I am writing this review to confirm that my problem has now been fixed. I posted a review earlier 'Disappointed' stating my problem. Well I can now confirm the issue! after 3 attempt to fixed my NEW alienware replacing many part on the 3rd and final attempt we discovered that it was in fact the POWERBOARD within the machine. This has now made the fan to start working as that was the problem, as the machine kept over heating and shutting down etc.. So hopefully dell see this and fixes the problem for future customers.
Pros:Gaming, general use
+29points
31of 33voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Alienware X51
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:RemingtonSteele
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Great when it works

PostedApril 17, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros
Fast computer for the size.
Lots of ports for HDMI and DVI.
Very quiet.
Cons
BSOD(Blue screen of death) constantly.
Review
Bought this a week after it released and got it almost a month later only to open it up to BSOD(blue screen of death). This happens constantly and the funny thing is never when your gaming. Tech support replaced video card once and still BSOD. Now they want to replace it again saying i got a bad video card again. When it works it works great crysis runs great The Witcher 2 runs awesome. Running virtualization software without a hiccup. Just wish the BSOD issue was resolved and until then only a 1 star review.
Pros:Gaming, virtualization, homework, surfing the interwebs
+25points
27of 29voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Alienware X51
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:LukeC
(Singapore)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Bumpy start but all smiles in the end!

PostedJune 4, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
When I first received my X51 I was super excited and couldn't wait to get home and have a play. It was the top of the range model with all the fruit. However after setting it up it soon became apparent there was something wrong.
After installing Diablo 3 the PC would crash frequently, even when not playing graphic intensive games - just watching youtube or browsing. Turns out, it was a faulty GTX 555.
Had to wait a few days for the tech to come and replace it but once it was replaced and the machine was working as intended the smile on my face was literally from ear to ear!
I was considering swapping out the 555 for a beefier card however having played Diablo 3 and StarCraft 2 now on the highest setting at high frame rates I can say unquestionably that this was so worth the money and I won't be changing anything in the foreseeable future.
All in all it was either this or the m14x laptop. Boy am I happy I got the X51 - the laptop would have been a complete waste of money (Would've been at least an extra 1.4k!!!). Great, powerful, affordable little PC.
Pros: Looks Ace, Powerful enough to play the games I want, Work stuff will be no problem (Creative Suite 5/6, Aftereffects, some 3D), Small!
Cons: Gets a bit loud under full load. Optional SSD would've been handy.
Pros:Gaming, work, personal
+24points
25of 26voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Alienware X51
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:SharonNY
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Big Let Down

PostedFebruary 22, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have wanted an Alienware and recently started gaming again and decided to buy the computer I wanted. I was a bit put off seeing they are sold by Dell as I have had an experience that I don't want to repeat but purchased anyway.
Well, 2 hours out of the box, it constantly reboots itself and when it does my monitor doesn't come back with it. I have to reboot the machine again to get the monitor to work then windows wants to open in safe mode. Basically the same exact problem in a couple of the reviews. Seriously? This kind of cash for a disappointing product? My second purchase with Dell was a leap of faith... I am not pleased.
I really did not want to have to do this tech thing and have issues, I wanted to load and go.
+51points
67of 83voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Alienware X51
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:SamWW
Title:

It's more than enough for me

PostedJanuary 20, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I am a casual gamer, I have no time or patience to assemble my own PC and besides, I've always wanted to have an Alienware. This Alienware X51 is perfect for what I want and need, and it is upgradable. Thanks for this new model!
Pros:games, video, design, photos, music, miscellaneous
+31points
36of 41voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Alienware X51
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:zjrocks03
(Wisconsin)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Extremely impressed with my first Alienware

PostedMay 3, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
This was my first Alienware computer and I couldn't be happier. I chose to go with the baseline version as I don't need every game to run on ultra (come on..there isn't a huge difference), and am amazed by how fast this computer is. After reading many reviews I was cautious about potential problems some of you have been getting (bsod and more), so I made sure to update everything right after hooking it up. I only experienced 1 random restart. The computer is dazzling (love the lights), and runs whisper quiet!
Pros: Pretty much everything! As for shipping, I ordered it on a Monday and received it the following week Tuesday (with basic 7-day shipping), which is far faster than what I expected (some said up to or over a month!)
Cons: I have yet to honestly find any problems, as so far it's held up with everything. Oh I guess I did have to buy a DVI-VGA adapter (as there is no VGA port), but that's not really a problem.
Extremely impressed so far and hope that this computer will last me for many years.
Pros:Gaming
+29points
33of 37voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Alienware X51
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DavMeyer
(Seattle)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Love it!

PostedApril 3, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
While writing some tools for work on my all purpose 'stay at home laptop', I realized after 5 good years, the machine was just not able to keep up all the new software I was running. As a replacement, I wanted the smallest form factor yet most powerful machine available.
Many manufacturers (including Apple) produce small form factor machines but they all lack discrete graphics and frequently come with an underwhemling processor or other undesireable tradeoff. I found the Alienware machine from Dell, read a tomb of reviews and then went ahead and ordered it.
Don't let the small size fool you, you get a lot of processing power!
Pros:
1. Core i7 chip is fast.
2. Solid case design. Machine looks great and feels solid.
3. Grahics card easily handles the game titles I am interested in playing at the highest settings (Start Craft 2, Portal 2, etc).
4. Small size is fantastic. I can put it on my desk next to my monitors.
5. Supports multimon out of the box. I have two widescreen displays connected.
Cons:
1. For such an elegant machine, the box it arrives in makes it feel cheap. Apple has a great box opening experience. I wish Dell would adopt this for their premium products.
2. Ability to add more than 8gb of RAM while ordering the machine.
3. A wee bit more fan noise than I expected (about the same as an Xbox).
4. SSD option would also be a plus.
Conclusion:
The cons are a nit for what I do. I love the machine and would order it again!
Pros:software development, Gaming, web browsing
+26points
29of 32voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Alienware X51
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:AlienKH
Title:

Small - Fast - and Sweet

PostedMay 2, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
My experience started with a good review for the X51 in MaximumPC magazine. I respect their opinion and checked it out further online. I've always wanted a small but fast computer and the X51 was exactly what I was looking for.
Of course the reviews on this very site made me nervous about my purchase but I feel somewhat capable where computers are concerned so taking it apart wouldn't be a problem. I bought the $950 model with an additional 2g ram (8g total).
I love this computer. Really. It's incredibly small and I like the look of it. I've been able to play a ton of games with graphics setting maxed. Another cool thing is that it uses such a small amount of power. I have a UPS that monitors power usage and where my older computer could only be on battery for about 5 minutes - the X51 can run for an hour! Amazing. And it's quiet - super quiet. Really doesn't make a sound when just surfing the INet and a quiet hum while playing games. I'm used to building my own rigs so having Dell to support me seems kind of nice too. They include back up CD's and a separate partition with supporting software given catastrophic Win failure.
In regards to issues I did get some BSOD's. Two to be exact and both the same. Another reviewer here had the same and it's a graphic driver issue. I tried using the Alienware utility (aka Dell) to get new drivers but that's when it would lock up. So I went straight to Nvidia and downloaded/installed their latest driver and haven't had a hiccup since. And - another reviewer said the WiFi is weak and I'd have to agree. The computer sits right next to my router and I've seen 4 out of 5 bars sometimes and that's unacceptable. So now I use a cable. Oh - and one more thing. My youngest son says he hears a high-pitch noise from the fan when it's on during gaming but I don't hear it. So if you're a teen with awesome hearing it could affect you.
I would really recommend this computer. The power brick idea alone is worth the money imo. Lastly - the ability to change lights could be called kind of silly but I like it. Makes my computer unique with the changing colors and the little Alien. In a world where not much separates the look of computers it's pretty cool. Oh - and it's not an Apple. :)
Get one.
Pros:Gaming, streaming music, surfing the web
+24points
26of 28voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Alienware X51
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MusoStu
(UK)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Upgradability Suspect!

PostedFebruary 17, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased the top of the line X51 with a view of upgrading the GPU to an off the shelf 560Ti, something which Alienware show themselves doing on the YouTube videos.
However, it may work as a desktop but not as a gaming system if you do - which makes the whole purchase redundant. Simply because, the system is unable to cope with heat generated when playing games. It will play them for about 10 - 20 minutes before shutting down and restarting. The front system fan will spool to max as soon as games are running too which makes for an awful wining noise.
Given that Dell state you can upgrade anything on the machine, I fail to believe this. The 560Ti is the next step up from a 555GTX, what anyone would look to purchase next. Yet, the system can't cope with the amount of heat and shuts down.
I also had untold problems installing games to being with by DVD. With constant inability to either have the PC take the disk without it ejecting it straight away (these are new games) or receiving CRC error messages.
I have contacted DELL about these issues, but sadly my experiences with DELL in the past have not been positive. Perhaps they can redeem themselves by sorting out this issue?
+32points
39of 46voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Alienware X51
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Luce
(Singapore)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

PC Gaming is not dead (my version)

PostedMay 29, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
There was once a campaign from one of gaming company saying: "PC Gaming is not dead" and few weeks after, came out a Laptop, I was like: "Huh? Ok, so how am I gonna put this side by side with my X360 and PS3, I thought it suppose to be a desktop-console-like? Furthermore there is no DVD/CD Drive" the campaign should say "PC Gaming is getting more mobile" instead,
This is my own version of PC Gaming is not dead: 9:00pm, right after I reach home from office, I received my Alienware x51, soon I unboxing it and put it on the left side of my PS3 and X360 on right side,
PS3: X dude, seems like we've got a new comer here?
X360: Ya mate, Hey! Sexy, care to intro yourself?
Ax51: Oh Hi, yah sorry, I'm Alienware x51, nice to meet you guys,
PS3: You got a pretty good stuff inside huh?
Ax51: I'am, 3rd Gen Intel Core i7 3770 3.4GHz, 8GB RAM, 1GB Nvidia GTX 555, 1TB HDD, DVD Drive and HDMI out, I'm very sure I can run nowadays game at the same quality like you guys, maybe even better,
PS3: I see and from all those stuff you had mention, you still look sexy almost the same size like us!
Ax51: Precisely,
X360: That's cool welcome to the Club,
Ax51: My Pleasure :)
I'm testing it play StarCraft II, Diablo 3, World of Warcraft, COD: Black Ops, most of them are running smoothly with Max setting (a little bit tweak here and there)
This is an amazing Console replacement, this is what I call PC Gaming is not dead,
Pros:Gaming, browsing, entertainment
+20points
21of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Alienware X51
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:VADellGamer
Title:

X51 A Great Idea that needs to cook longer

PostedMay 29, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've worked in IT for 20 years so know my way around SW/HW. Still I don't like to build my own systems. I have owned Dimension/XPS systems for over 10 years and was excited to get an Alienware. I'm a casual gamer that nonetheless loves brilliant graphics, so getting great graphics in a compact system and from Alienware was the draw to the X51.
The X51 has well-documented blue screen BSOD errors which can becaused by driver issues, hardware or basic architecture (i.e. heat-related shutdown or underpowered from 330W PSU). I'd hoped with appropriate precautions (i.e. ensuring it was well ventilated, no overclocking, etc) I would avoid these. However, I had intermittent BSOD errors within the first week, and by the third week (i.e. after trying to install games, photoshop, etc) could only boot into Safe Mode unless I removed the Geforce 555. Alienware techs confirmed after a few calls and remote sessions that it was a hardware problem.
I accept that sometimes things happen, and have been lucky that none of my previous XPS/Dimensions had HW issues. I'm less impressed by the lack of return options (I've had the system less than 21 days but they start counting when it's invoiced, not delivered). Furthermore, I'm troubled with the prevalence of GPU relates issues reported on the system and believe Alienware should have performed addition QC in both system design and burn-in on each unit to avoid this. Maybe go with a 7870 based on techpowerup chart (lower power and heat needs).
The X51 is a great idea for consumers like me who are willing to sacrifice expandability and face-melting performance for a compact machine that doesn't dominate a room but will dominate most of your friends PCs. However, the idea needs better planning and execution. Finally, Dell needs to provide better support and return/exchange options for those loyal customers that bought into this promising but still buggy product early.
Pros:Gaming, office productivity, graphics design
Response from Dell.comBy GinaVforDellCustomer ReviewsMay 31, 2012
Hello VADellGamer,

First, I want to thank you for being a longtime and loyal customer of Dell as well as an early adopter of the new Alienware X51 desktop. We strive to provide our customers with the most up to date and innovative technology available, while still providing the assurance that your system is well tested prior to production. We understand that new releases can have unexpected hiccups once they are outside of the testing environment and we appreciate your feedback to help improve our products and services!

We also appreciate your feedback with the 21-day return policy. I was able to locate that there is an exchange that was setup and is on the way for you. If you have any further concerns, please reach out to our Social Support Team either on Twitter - @DellCares (
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ); the Dell Community Forum (http://dell.to/GY65Xz); or the Dell Facebook page (http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ).

I hope to hear a better experience with your new X51 and again, thank you for your valuable feedback!
+24points
28of 32voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Alienware X51
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Anonymous
Title:

Excellent computer

PostedJune 16, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Well! I was a little apprehensive ordering this computer, what with all the wireless issues I kept hearing about. However, after only three days after ordering, my new Alienware x51 arrived. I had absolutely no problems setting it up and connecting to the internet. I get 4 bars consistently, so no issue for me.
Forget Battlefield 3. This computer runs Firefall on Ultra. It can render 9 million particles using Krakatoa in under 5 minutes. I highly recommend this computer.
My only complaint is the monitor ports. Unfortunately, my HDMI monitor doesn't get booted up until after the BIOS has finished and you get to the login screen, and I don't have whatever other cable it supports. So, it would be nice to set the HDMI cable as the default in the bios before you ship it, because I cannot access the bios at all. :|
Besides that one issue, this computer has been excellent, and I highly recommend it.
Pros:Gaming, 3d modeling and rendering, programming, video compositing and compiling
+17points
17of 17voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 20