Customer reviews for Alienware X51

Alienware X51

Alienware X51
4.164 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 403 reviews
5 Stars
262
4 Stars
53
3 Stars
23
2 Stars
22
1 Star
43
4.2
 / 
5
(403 reviews) 397
329 out of 40382%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Alienware X51
Review 281 for Alienware X51
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:enigmadesign
(Santa Fe, NM)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Quiet and powerful

PostedDecember 6, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
The base unit is small and quiet as a church mouse. BUT, looks are deceiving. It ranks 7.9 for video and 6.7 for system performance in Windows performance tests. It plays COD and MOH like a machine you would expect to be twice the footprint. The only CON is the SATAII drive it came with. I immediately upgraded this to a Hybrid drive and enjoyed a boost in disk performance.
Pros:Gaming, general pc use
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 282 for Alienware X51
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:TanseyJ
(Baltimore)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Newbie
Title:

Flawed but awsome

PostedDecember 1, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
This thing is very powerful, I'm able to run all my games on ultra without lags.
But, the thing that bothers me is the sudden internet disconnection. The wireless card is just incapable of picking up a signal consistently. Every few hours the wireless just stops and I have to wait a few minutes or restart the computer to reconnect. This is very disappointing.
Pros:Gaming, normal college work
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 283 for Alienware X51
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:HFlyer
(Eire)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Title:

Excellent machine, overall very happy!

PostedNovember 22, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I was apprehensive of buying this PC after reading a number of problems customers have encountered. However (apart from one snag) everything is running very smoothly. So far the X51 has exceeded my expectations. I went with the i7, GTX660, 8gb Ram, 2tb Hdd, Win 7, 23’’optx monitor. The wifi is fine, 4 bars, (the computer is located a quite distance from the router). I initially updated the Bios and graphics drivers and have found no performance issues or glitches. It runs very quietly, the Alienware monitor is superb. I would say that it was a little bigger than I expected but there is no reason why I can’t recommend this machine. As for the snag; when I was unboxing it I noticed something large and metallic rattling around inside. Assuming Dell haven’t started making PC’s with internal moving parts I had to inspect what it was before turning the machine on. Removing the graphics card I discovered that the Hard drive was unseated! It had never been fixed into position and was minus a screw. I borrowed one from the two that secure the GTX660. Mr. Dell, you owe me 1/8’’ screw for my X51! Final rating, 4 Stars, almost 5*, but for the want of a nail.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 284 for Alienware X51
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Mis.Judged
(Singapore)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Alienware X51 (i5 model)

PostedNovember 12, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
When I first got my X51... it was a total wreck. The PC would crash once so often due to an overheated GPU and I searched the web like many looking for solutions, updated the drivers and BIOS, and got frustrated when it fixed nothing.
However, after contacting Dell and them having sent someone to repair it (replace motherboard) within 3-5 days, the X51 has been great.
I believe the X51 hits exactly where it aimed. To me that means it is relatively more affordable, has a great form factor design and so far has been handling all the games I throw at it superbly.
So despite the first few road bumps, which was unfortunate, my overall experience has been great. This is in no small part given the quick response of Dell to rectify my problem. I was glad I did not have to verbally wrestle customer service to fix it and that is why I am writing this.
I look forward to seeing how I can upgrade it in a years time.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 285 for Alienware X51
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:jhouk00
(Boston, MA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Speedy and small, but flawed wireless

PostedNovember 4, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
For the most part, we're very happy with our X51. I'm still in the middle of Skyrim, and the game looks gorgeous on this box, running great even with full graphics and the HD textures installed. The fans run pretty loud when the graphics card is being used to full effect, but as far as I can tell, that's just a necessary evil of those hot cards. I don't fault Alienware for the fan volume, just something for prospective buyers to be aware of. Since the X51 has such a small form factor (not much larger than a 1st ed XBox 360), we tuck it into our media center cabinet. The heat definitely builds up in there, but so far we've never had any issues with the box resetting due to the heat, so again, we've been happy with the way the box handles.
Our only serious complaint is one you've seen in other reviews: something is not right about the X51's wireless card. I've tried plugging it in right next to our wireless hub and it still only gets two or three bars. Low internet connectivity can be pretty frustrating when we're trying to download large games or use video conferencing on the box. The connectivity has been good enough for MMO play.
Pros:Gaming
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 286 for Alienware X51
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Triblade
Title:

Good stuff, but software....

PostedOctober 23, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
It's good by feeling and appearance, but the 64 bit software is not so compatible with most of the software that I am using. So this makes it a bit annoying, Other than that, it's good and I do recommend you to have it!!
Pros:daily usage, play tiny games
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 287 for Alienware X51
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Tralala1
(Buffalo)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Great for basic Gaming

PostedOctober 7, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I've always heard that Alienware products were great for gaming, so I decided to buy one rather than building my own. I'm amazed at how smooth games such as World or Warcraft, Minecraft, and other games run with this PC. I also love how the x51 is a smaller sized PC, gives your more space, and less clutter at your desk. It may not be as powerful as the other models Alienware has to offer but its perfect for my all day gaming needs.
Pros:Gaming
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 288 for Alienware X51
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Forcedexile
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Good computer for the price, not very up-gradable.

PostedSeptember 22, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
So I bought this computer almost 6 months ago and since I've bought it, it has been nothing but exceptional. I have never had any screen of death as other people have complained of. I have never had any problems with the optical drive as I've seen other people say.
Pros:
-small, about the size of and Xbox 360.
-a lot of power for the price
-quiet most of the time
Cons:
-not very up-gradable
-very tightly packed components inside the case
-no SSD option when purchasing
-mini-motherboard
When I first opened the case I was amazed by how well the Alienware techs managed to fit a full computer in such a small case. However given that it is such a small case there is almost no room to upgrade. This computer is good for someone looking for a small but powerful machine for gaming. The reason for the missing star is the fact that there's literally no room in the case.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 289 for Alienware X51
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Anonymous
Title:

A compact but powerful machine.

PostedSeptember 6, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
i bought the machine with a gtx 555 and brilliant i7 processor, its ran everything i could throw at it. But the most impressive thing about it is the size and upgradability,i was expecting it to be as powerful as it is small.(which is about as powerful as a potato).
Pros.
.Small size, blends in to any space.
.Powerful components
.Astounding upgradability
.Very agreeable price.
Cons.
.Poor ventalation (basically unavoidable because of its size)
Generally a great buy and i would recommend it to any casual gamer.
Pros:Gaming, multimedia
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 290 for Alienware X51
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Garrett63
(Huntington Beach, CA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Top of the line, not for long.

PostedAugust 23, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Overall I'm pleased with the system. I purchased the top of the line(at the time) with the i7, 2TB HD, 16GB RAM, and it came with a GTX555(top of the line for AW) after using it for a little under a week and a half, I get this email about the graphics card updates to an advertised 2x better than GTX555. I expect hardware upgrades, but not a week and a half after receiving the most expensive system. I wrote an email and will update this review once a response is received.
All in all the system runs fast. I notice NO noise from the fans even while playing Empire Total War in 3D at top quality graphics.
The WiFi adapter is a little weak as reported, but its on the low end of average compared to all which is liveable.
My review would be 5 stars if Dell works with me on the outdated graphics card that I have only had for a week.
I have 2 Alienware systems. An M11x R2 and my X51.
Pros:Gaming, 3d video
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 291 for Alienware X51
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:zach1992
(australia)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

sound issues

PostedAugust 19, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
a great pc, only really two issues tho, the wifi card isnt the greatest, and i have a sound issue.
i get no sound at all, not from the monitor, nor from headphones or headsets i plug in, all the drivers are up to date, all the settings are on what they should be, mute isnt on, ive restarted the computer over and over, dont troubleshooting, but nothing, this is a real down fall, i am not happy at all with this
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 292 for Alienware X51
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:NecroMorphic
(Portland)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Wonderful machine.

PostedAugust 11, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I was excited to be able to buy my Alienware finally, I talked with some of my friends and they said Alienware was the best way to go. I took a gamble, and after hearing all the bugs, I was worried. When it got here, I started freaking, unfortunately, I had to work, so I had my mom and dad install it for me, I got home and installed Starcraft II, ran it on extreme graphics, ran it amazingly. Well I had to quit playing for sometime, and came back, well Starcraft had stopped working (probably a bad patch). Well I looked online and it told to me to boot it in safe mode, and I did so, but now my only complaint is that it won't boot up again, it sits there, and the t.v. does nothing. I would totally recommend this to everyone, just not putting into safe mode though.
Pros:Gaming
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 293 for Alienware X51
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:beener13
(Arizona)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Love it so far, but doesn't connect wirelessly.

PostedAugust 6, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought this for my son and he loves it so far. I spent 2 hours trying to get it to connect wirelessly, but it wouldn't stay connected. I was very frustrated. I finally connected it directly to the modem so my son could use it. I then read some reviews where users said that the wireless connectivity problem was a known issue. I wish I would have known. There were two incidents where the screen turned pink and the computer shut down while browsing the internet. I haven't wanted to deal with Dell phone support about this issue. It's not enjoyable. I tried sending an email, but have had no response. My son loves how it runs all of his games with no problem. He had a Dell laptop 1720 for several years, so this was an exciting upgrade!
Pros:Gaming
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 294 for Alienware X51
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Haku
(Singapore)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Awesome!

PostedAugust 3, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I Was The First Few Customers To Buy Alienware x51. At That Time The Performance Wasnt Very Good As I Encounted Blue Screens And Fan Noise. I Email Them Regarding About These Issues And They Send A Technician To Solve These Issues For Me. No More Blue Screens But Fan Noise Still Ongoing. I Dont Blame Dell For That Because At That Time They Dont Have Any Solution For It As x51 Was New At That Time. Right Now, By Searching Through Alienware Club Website, http://en.community.dell.com/owners-club/alienware/f/3746.aspx , Seems Like Dell Managed To Find A New Fan Solution For It And Im Going To Change It Soon. As Well As The Wireless Issue Which Most Of Us Encountered As Well. Currently , I Would Rate Alienware x51 5/5 As Well For Their Online Assistance Service.
Btw, I Have One Issue About Alienware x51.I Bought The Most Expensive Bundle For Alienware x51. From What I See Here , It Says Intel Core i7 2600 @ 3.40GHz While The Website Saying 3rd Generation Intel® Core™ i7-3770 Processor (3.4GHz, 8MB Cache, with Turbo Boost Technology 2.0). Seems Like Mine is 2600 While Website Showing 3770. I Didnt Notice Till Today. Anyone From Dell Could Tell Me Why Is There A Difference For The CPU?
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 295 for Alienware X51
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Cribbs
Title:

Alienware X51

PostedJuly 28, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Good product. Runs well most of the time.
Pro: Comes with keyboard and mouse.
pro: High performance.
pro: small size.
pro: led lights!!!!!!!
con: wireless is appalling,constantly dropping out. You need a wireless booster to get it to even slightly work well. I recommend a direct ethernet connection.
con: mouse is really cheap, would have expected a gaming mouse with such an expensive desktop.
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 296 for Alienware X51
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Willinjapan
(New Jersey)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

A Must have

PostedJuly 28, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I recently purchased the x51 for a better gaming experience, and I definitely got it. I chose the i5 model with the nvidia 545 graphics card and 6gb rams. And I have to tell you it plays games flawlessly. This system is able to play most games on high settings, dont ultra settings will lagg to much. Only issue I have with this system, is that it gets disconected from my router wirelessly. aside from that one issue this computer is definitely what i expected it to be, and will definitely purchase from Alienware again!!
Pros:Gaming, School
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 297 for Alienware X51
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:joshuapete
Title:

Great pc but cpu fan is crazy super loud

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Got the x51 in on July 19th 2012. My only complaint is that the cpu on 1st boot up was loud, where you can here it all through the house. Hopefully it is the cpu fan that i should be recieving today, if it is not the cpu fan then must be the motherboard which i hope they can send off and have a tech install it. Wish Dell( Alienware) will test their computers before shipping them of. They can fix any problems right away and the the customer recieve a great product instead of calling in and waiting for the pc to run like it should. That should be an easy fix instead of waiting for the customer to call in to complain about whats going on. Im attaching a video of what the cpu fan sounds like.
(click to see the video)
-1point
6of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 298 for Alienware X51
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Vigilante02
(United States)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Beastly Machine in a Small Package

PostedJuly 9, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Ah yes, the Alienware X51, one of the most affordable gaming systems out there. Because of this I purchased the top end model which included:
Intel Core i7-3770 Quad CPU @ 3.40GHz
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 555
16 GB DDR3 RAM @ 1600 MHz
2 TB SATA Hard Drive
Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
This is my first gaming system, and I hopped right on it because of the price and the hardware included.
Pros:
*Fast
*Fluid
*Boots in Seconds
*Great Gaming Performance (BF3, GTAIV, Crysis, AC: Revelations)
(Pretty Much Anything You Throw At It)
*Great Video Encoding Performance
(With Dedicated Card and CPU)
Con:
I love this system, however I am having some issues with the system's power. This is something I noticed after I put the computer to sleep. This seems to be a recent issue as well. When I try to power off the system it shuts down the operating system successfully, but the hardware doesn't completely power off. I don't see the hard drive activity light, or really hear any fans spinning at all, it stays on and the power switch shows that the system is on even though the OS is off. I have tried everything: checking the software, processes, hardware, startup, events through event viewer, as well as safe mode and it doesn't power off completely. You have to hold the power button to get it to completely shut down. It doesn't seem like a hardware issue because I have run benchmark tests as well as analyzers, and the system is not overheating because I have put the system under load and have had no issues. It doesn't seem like a software issue because even with the most minimum driver set the system doesn't power off. The power options do say shut down, and I have tried system restore to a point where this hasn't happened, and still nothing. It is pretty odd, even though I have had no issues using the system; it is only when I go to power it off, maybe the power switch doesn't notice the command sent by the OS to shut down or maybe it's the power supply itself. It can't be a BIOS issue either because I tried to reset that to defaults and that didn't work.
Another thing is I can't figure out how to dual boot, not really a con, but this is the first time I have used GPT disks, and I know it requires three partitions because of its protection features, but I'd like to test Windows 8 out on this system without removing Windows 7 completely. Has anybody done this on a hard drive with this format (step by step would be awesome), rather than good old MBR? I would like to take advantage of this new format. And maybe this will help me center the problem to whether or not it is software or hardware that is preventing it from powering off.
I know this is a long, but to summarize no real big issues with the system overall; the system is great, the con is the only thing preventing me from giving it 5 stars.
Pros:Gaming, streaming video, rendering video, general use
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 299 for Alienware X51
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Dwarvenmithril82
(USA, Maryland)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Great System

PostedJuly 5, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Got the pc about a week ago. Turned it on with no problems, set it up, downloaded a game which to test this new epic system on. On the highest settings of this game (diablo 3) I was getting about 120 fps! I got the one with 16gb of RAM and everything just works beautifully. Size is also a big plus; stays ventilated well; and is very quiet, unless im doing very demanding work. Only drawback i could mention is that the wifi card is pitifully weak. I got about 2 bars on my normal wifi while my laptop (which is right next to the computer) gets 4/5 bars. Going to just switch to a wired connection hopefully and/or get a new wifi card. Otherwise great pc and i am greatly satisfied.
Pros:Gaming, work at home, web browsing
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 300 for Alienware X51
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:BrandonJM
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

My X51 has been great, but...

PostedJune 21, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I purchased and received my Alienware X51 in April (Core i7, 8gb ram, GTX555). It has been a great machine overall, however it has been a bumpy ride.
Pros: Runs any newer game like a champ. Excellent value. The top model can go toe to toe with more expensive machines, for a much smaller cost. I play Diablo 3, BF3, Skyrim, Arkham City, and SW:TOR all on settings that put my consoles to shame.
Cons: My X51 was handled poorly by the shipper, I had to re-seat the hard drive, and now the case buzzes from time to time. Also, the sales staff failed to mention that the full-sized HDMI port doesn't really work. If you want this machine (and you should, it's a great value) then you also want a mini-HDMI cable, because the full sized one will eventually stop working.
Overall yes, I'd recommend this to a friend or family member, however with the caveat that you should have someone who is tech savvy around to give it a once over when you get it.
Pros:Gaming
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
  1 ... 13 14 15 16 17 ... 20