Customer reviews for Alienware X51

Alienware X51

Alienware X51
4.161 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 397 reviews
5 Stars
258
4 Stars
52
3 Stars
23
2 Stars
21
1 Star
43
4.2
 / 
5
(397 reviews) 391
324 out of 39782%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Alienware X51
Review 1 for Alienware X51
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DijonCyanide
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Casual Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

X51

PostedJune 28, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I purchased (2) Alienware X51s since they were on sale & I thought it was a good value. I'm still learning the OS it came with, but I can tell this is a splendid system. Just a couple of weeks after I purchased my X51s Alienware upgraded the video-cards for this particular system so I felt a little snookered, but I read a benchmarking of the video-cards & there wasn't too much of a disparity. I'm still learning the potential of the X51. My biggest gripe is the lack of direct options for the AlienFX. I concede I'm still learning my system though. I still ponder about whether or not I should've bought a laptop too LOL. Oh well, wait till another sale.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Alienware X51
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:djs79
(Georgia, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Hardcore Gaming
Title:

alienware x51

PostedMay 28, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
good gaming computer,runs world of warcraft on ultra settings and average around 70-95plus framerate per second.
Pros:good gaming computer
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Alienware X51
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:drslim273
(Georgia, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Design/graphics
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Alienware x51

PostedApril 30, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Lovig my machine. I would recommend for this for anyone who needs a little extra power.
Pros:speed, functionality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Alienware X51
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Shaishen
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Nice machine but noise issues

PostedApril 22, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Compact machine, fits everywhere. That was my main objective, small size and serious performance. The power adapter is surprisingly big/heavy but not an issue.
The issue I have is the fan noise, likely from the vid card. I did not call customer service yet but rather searched discussion boards and other sites. Seems the fan noise is a frequent occurrence.
I found a temporary solution but will get in touch with customer service.
After 3 weeks running it daily it is a great machine.
Pros:compact
Cons:fan noise
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Alienware X51
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:CHUK
(Atlanta, GA)
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Small Powerful, Immutable

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I've been very very happy with this PC so far. Very small, very fast, etc. and so on, praise and happiness. Windows 7 FTW.
Only downside is a trade off for the small size. Don't plan to modify the components in there; there's not room and its open heart surgery to do anything on the inside. You have to take lots of components out just to even see the motherboard. I'm serious, its tight in there.
Pros:small, powerful, good price/performance
Cons:practically no component changes possible
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Alienware X51
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:jeff1954
(Modesto, CA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Casual Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Recent purchase experience

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
The product performs better than expected and I recommend this to my family members & friends. The tech support staff is excellent in helping to resolve any issues. These are the reasons this is my 4th Dell computer purchase. I also plan on future purchases for our Business. .
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Alienware X51
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:bigd1128
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

review from a handicap perspective

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
being handicap some products are harder than others for me to use. this desktop has improved my life a lot with dual monitors and ease of access.
Pros:easy to setup
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Alienware X51
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:scoopsfl
(Newark, OH, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Hardcore Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Alienware

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
So far so GREAT....games run perfect !!! No more lag and they load fast. Has not crashed at all
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Alienware X51
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Pathin
(Vermont)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Hardcore Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

Excellent Hardware

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I needed a desktop replacement that I could bring with me. Battery life wasn't a concern, I fully expected to be plugged in at all times... What I wanted was something I could use both at work and at home for gaming. The x51 was a perfect choice, allowing me desktop graphics without needing to haul a tower to and from my work every day.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Alienware X51
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:SatisfiedwithPrinting
(MS)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Hardcore Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Great Gaming Rig

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I've had my X51 for a little over a month, it runs amazingly well. I'm enjoying playing Skyrim with over a hundred mods on Ultra High Quality. The loading screens take a second or two, my x51 had changed my entire Skyrim experience.
Pros:well-built, quiet, running cool
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Alienware X51
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Michael8668
(Atlanta,GA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Hardcore Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

Alienware X51

PostedJanuary 23, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
We bought this machine as a gift for our 16 year old son for Christmas. He works hard at school and deserves a decent machine when he has downtime. Talk about excited, he went nuts on Christmas day and we lost him for the rest of the holiday. He really enjoys playing WOW and the graphic accelerator was just what he needed to really see all the good stuff in the game. He immediately started texting all his buddies and of course they were green with envy. We have bought a lot of Dell computers for both business and personal us so we were comfortable with going back to Dell for this all important purchase. I highly recommend the X51 for it's fast processing speed, superior graphics and totally cool design. He treats the machine like he it's his best buddy. Thanks again Dell!!
Pros:graphics card, fast processor, cool design
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Alienware X51
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Service 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Operating System 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Pogo785
(Quebec, Canada)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Casual Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Do not live in the past

PostedJanuary 23, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Alienware is no more. The name lives but the passion is gone. Ordered a alienware x51 r2 juste to see what alienware had become.
Features from the alienware programs are useless. The lights on the cumputer do not add much and the alien insigna on the cumputer look extremely cheap. It came in 11 days after original date and wasn't working. Opened the cumputer to realize that the hard drive was not plugged in. Noisy fan. I do like the compact size and not to bad performance.
If you are buying a cumputer for the old alienware experience than dont.
Overall the craftmanship i expected isnt there.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Alienware X51
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:CruelDeeds
(Fort Smith, AR, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Hardcore Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Good for price

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
This PC with gtx 760 ti runs everything on ultra and have no lag issue or performance problems.
Pros:small compact and a lot of ports.
Cons:no room to upgrade
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Alienware X51
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:pMax
(Jeddah Saudi Arabia)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

QC is the issue

PostedJanuary 16, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
To start from, I had ordered the i7 version of the X51, that would provide a good performance in modern games like CoH2 and can serve for everyday computing needs. The internals are good, everything is in place and it has a well build case.
Unfornunately, all pros end here. The computer arrived in a state unusable for gaming. It has the AMD R9 270X video card, but there was no Catalyst driver installed. It turned out later, the graphic card itself does not work properly, and the PC hangs randomly when I have Catalyst on it. After three days, it started displaying sets of two vertical lines of either cyan or red color above any picture.
The graphic card has got replaced yesterday (btw, the request was submitted on Dec 28 - it took almost two weeks), however the system still hangs on shutdown or when idle, and this makes it unusable for any serios work - filesystems are not dismounted
cleanly, open documents are lost in result of these freezes. Will be contacting Alienware Support today again.
I hope this story will be a warning to those considering the Alienware X51 as their next PC.
Pros:small factor pc, good feature set for the money
Cons:good chances it is doa, you have to deal with dell's customer support, the psu unit is somewhat weak, cannot be upgraded easily
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Alienware X51
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Gafred
(Montreal, QC, Canada)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Hardcore Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Good product

PostedJanuary 15, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Perform very well and small. I use it each day since a receivec it and not problem at all.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Alienware X51
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:david33
(california)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Hardcore Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

nice gaming computer

PostedJanuary 10, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
i needed a new computer that would run BF4. this one doesn't take up much space or use much electricity. its almost perfect. the reason i docked it a point on features is because the 2 front usb ports do not work. there are plenty of them on the back (which i actually prefer to use) but sometimes i use a usb flash drive or want to temporarily plug in a controller in the front. but I don't dwell on that minor issue. i really like this computer and would recommend it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Alienware X51
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:SarahH
(Brookfield IL)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Design/graphics
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

great product and price

PostedJanuary 10, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
happy with our purchase, says for gaming but we got for drafting
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Alienware X51
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:bluewiz56
(Texas)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Hardcore Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

this product is worth the money

PostedJanuary 9, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I really enjoy my new product. It makes gaming more fun now and the product does what it says .
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Alienware X51
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Courtney77
(Harrisburg, PA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Hardcore Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

Very satisfied

PostedJanuary 9, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
My son loves this system. Going from an Xbox to a PC gaming system seems to have been a good fit for him. He chose this system over the brand new Xbox. That says a lot in itself.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Alienware X51
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:rachelgolds
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Already Broken

PostedJanuary 8, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this computer for my son for Christmas and by January 5th it was broken. Waiting for repair as I type.
Response from Dell.comBy JohnBforDellCustomer ReviewsJanuary 13, 2014
Hey Rachelgolds,

I am very sorry to hear about your issues with your new Alienware X51 desktop.

Our service and support team will take good care of you. Should you need any additional help, please use the information below to contact us. The team members below will get you taken care of.
Please reach out to our Dell Support Team at:

• Alienware Owners Forum: DM Dell Liaison Chris M
http://dell.to/18zHQrR
• You can contact our Dell Cares Team on Twitter (@DellCares):
http://dell.to/16KU93m
• If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
http://bit.ly/15zzg95
A Facebook account is required to use this option. Please use the message button and provide your Name, service tag, email address and a brief description of the issue.”

Thank you. JGB
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 20