Customer reviews for Alienware X51

Alienware X51

Alienware X51
4.164 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 403 reviews
5 Stars
262
4 Stars
53
3 Stars
23
2 Stars
22
1 Star
43
4.2
 / 
5
(403 reviews) 397
329 out of 40382%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Alienware X51
Review 1 for Alienware X51
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:R95AND4MORE
(CLINTON, MS.)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

THE GOOD STUFF

PostedJuly 19, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
ALIENWARE BUILDS EQUIPMENT THE WAY IT SHOULD BE. THEY HAVE GIVEN IT A PERSONALITY, SO YOU HAVE AN"ALIEN" FOR A FRIEND THAT WILL DO EVERY THING IT CAN TO HELP YOU.
Pros:100% happy
Cons:nothing i can't live with.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Alienware X51
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:KaraAnn
(Fort Lauderdale, FL, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Casual Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

X51 i7-4770

PostedJuly 10, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I purchased the X51 with all of the upgrades (i7-4770, SSD, GTX 760 Ti, BluRay drive, etc.) that were available to upgrade. I received my new computer in about a week from the day I ordered it. I have been incredibly happy with the performance of the X51. The system shines when playing newer games like Wildstar, ESO, and Watchdogs. Playing epic 8-player Forged Alliance battles don't slow to a chug. My framerates are fantastic and the graphics look amazing. When there's a big processor load or graphics load and the fans kick in - the loudness of the X51 is that of a PS3, not bad. I haven't had any overheating issues as mentioned in other reviews. It's a solid gaming rig that's built right.
As far as value goes based on performance, I think this computer will be relevant for the next few game generations and won't need a video card upgrade for a few years. I think the money is well spent.
Two things that I wish I had known about before purchasing:
1. The USB ports on the front of the X51 are USB 3.0 but are NOT backwards compatible which makes them essentially useless because there aren't many USB 3.0 peripherals currently on the market. I plugged in headphones, controllers, a camera, and nothing worked. I thought it the ports were defective until I did some research online and found out this is a known "feature." Be prepared to use a USB hub for easy access to more USB ports than the few on the back of the X51 that do work with everything.
2. The color change case LEDs on the x51 do not shift or morph like they do on the laptops and Aurora models. The X51 will only display static colors. While this may not be a big deal to some users, I was excited about having a rainbow color shift. The website does not mention that the X51 doesn't possess the same LED functionality as the other computers in the Alienware line.
Pros:small size, hardware relevance lifespan, great performance
Cons:front usb is 3.0 only - not backwards compatible, leds don't color shift/morph
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Alienware X51
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:virginia1269
(Anderson, CA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Great game player

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I replaced my old computer with this Alienware X51 because I like to play the games on facebook, my old computer would just drag through them, this alienware computer has great graphics and quick to play games, even League of Legends, I'm now enjoying my game play.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Alienware X51
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Earthbound
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

The Alien needs better communication skills

PostedJuly 7, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Although I ordered the computer and monitor as a package on the web site, they were billed and shipped separately, and apparently Dell has not bothered to consider their compatibility despite "packaging" them together. The monitor came with four cables, NONE of which would connect with the computer! It required a technician to make a house call a week later and to jury-rig a cable that is not secure but can be accidentally disconnected. Tech service was good, and both products are good, but product coordination is poor. Also, I wish I'd ordered Windows 7 instead of 8. That's not Dell's fault, but it is something potential buyers should know. Windows 8 is very awkward to use for most normal things like word processing. Everything starts with the assumption that you want to post or download or upload or do something on the net, and it takes multiple steps just to find and open a saved document.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Alienware X51
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:o0Vir0os0o
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Awsome PC

PostedJuly 5, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Runs every single game i have played at max graphs, the only thing i didnt like was the shipping since it took pretty long but the product its amazing
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Alienware X51
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Service 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Operating System 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:lg13
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Casual Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Overpriced and overstated.

PostedJuly 5, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
For what you pay, you don't get a lot. Not a prime GPU, and no fan control. A few weeks after I got it my keyboard and mouse started losing connection. CS had no idea, but I eventually found out myself it was the GPU overheating, going up to 90C, because there was no preinstalled fan control. I had no idea, I was new to this. My main qualm is what you get for what you pay. Build your own for less. And I don't care that I should REFRAIN from posting about price.
Pros:nice design, compact, lighting
Cons:price, cooling, performance
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Alienware X51
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DijonCyanide
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Casual Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

X51

PostedJune 28, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I purchased (2) Alienware X51s since they were on sale & I thought it was a good value. I'm still learning the OS it came with, but I can tell this is a splendid system. Just a couple of weeks after I purchased my X51s Alienware upgraded the video-cards for this particular system so I felt a little snookered, but I read a benchmarking of the video-cards & there wasn't too much of a disparity. I'm still learning the potential of the X51. My biggest gripe is the lack of direct options for the AlienFX. I concede I'm still learning my system though. I still ponder about whether or not I should've bought a laptop too LOL. Oh well, wait till another sale.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Alienware X51
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:djs79
(Georgia, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Hardcore Gaming
Title:

alienware x51

PostedMay 28, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
good gaming computer,runs world of warcraft on ultra settings and average around 70-95plus framerate per second.
Pros:good gaming computer
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Alienware X51
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:drslim273
(Georgia, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Design/graphics
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Alienware x51

PostedApril 30, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Lovig my machine. I would recommend for this for anyone who needs a little extra power.
Pros:speed, functionality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Alienware X51
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Shaishen
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Nice machine but noise issues

PostedApril 22, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Compact machine, fits everywhere. That was my main objective, small size and serious performance. The power adapter is surprisingly big/heavy but not an issue.
The issue I have is the fan noise, likely from the vid card. I did not call customer service yet but rather searched discussion boards and other sites. Seems the fan noise is a frequent occurrence.
I found a temporary solution but will get in touch with customer service.
After 3 weeks running it daily it is a great machine.
Pros:compact
Cons:fan noise
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Alienware X51
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:CHUK
(Atlanta, GA)
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Small Powerful, Immutable

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I've been very very happy with this PC so far. Very small, very fast, etc. and so on, praise and happiness. Windows 7 FTW.
Only downside is a trade off for the small size. Don't plan to modify the components in there; there's not room and its open heart surgery to do anything on the inside. You have to take lots of components out just to even see the motherboard. I'm serious, its tight in there.
Pros:small, powerful, good price/performance
Cons:practically no component changes possible
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Alienware X51
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:jeff1954
(Modesto, CA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Casual Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Recent purchase experience

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
The product performs better than expected and I recommend this to my family members & friends. The tech support staff is excellent in helping to resolve any issues. These are the reasons this is my 4th Dell computer purchase. I also plan on future purchases for our Business. .
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Alienware X51
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:bigd1128
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

review from a handicap perspective

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
being handicap some products are harder than others for me to use. this desktop has improved my life a lot with dual monitors and ease of access.
Pros:easy to setup
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Alienware X51
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:scoopsfl
(Newark, OH, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Hardcore Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Alienware

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
So far so GREAT....games run perfect !!! No more lag and they load fast. Has not crashed at all
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Alienware X51
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Pathin
(Vermont)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Hardcore Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

Excellent Hardware

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I needed a desktop replacement that I could bring with me. Battery life wasn't a concern, I fully expected to be plugged in at all times... What I wanted was something I could use both at work and at home for gaming. The x51 was a perfect choice, allowing me desktop graphics without needing to haul a tower to and from my work every day.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Alienware X51
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:SatisfiedwithPrinting
(MS)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Hardcore Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Great Gaming Rig

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I've had my X51 for a little over a month, it runs amazingly well. I'm enjoying playing Skyrim with over a hundred mods on Ultra High Quality. The loading screens take a second or two, my x51 had changed my entire Skyrim experience.
Pros:well-built, quiet, running cool
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Alienware X51
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Michael8668
(Atlanta,GA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Hardcore Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

Alienware X51

PostedJanuary 23, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
We bought this machine as a gift for our 16 year old son for Christmas. He works hard at school and deserves a decent machine when he has downtime. Talk about excited, he went nuts on Christmas day and we lost him for the rest of the holiday. He really enjoys playing WOW and the graphic accelerator was just what he needed to really see all the good stuff in the game. He immediately started texting all his buddies and of course they were green with envy. We have bought a lot of Dell computers for both business and personal us so we were comfortable with going back to Dell for this all important purchase. I highly recommend the X51 for it's fast processing speed, superior graphics and totally cool design. He treats the machine like he it's his best buddy. Thanks again Dell!!
Pros:graphics card, fast processor, cool design
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Alienware X51
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Service 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Operating System 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Pogo785
(Quebec, Canada)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Casual Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Do not live in the past

PostedJanuary 23, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Alienware is no more. The name lives but the passion is gone. Ordered a alienware x51 r2 juste to see what alienware had become.
Features from the alienware programs are useless. The lights on the cumputer do not add much and the alien insigna on the cumputer look extremely cheap. It came in 11 days after original date and wasn't working. Opened the cumputer to realize that the hard drive was not plugged in. Noisy fan. I do like the compact size and not to bad performance.
If you are buying a cumputer for the old alienware experience than dont.
Overall the craftmanship i expected isnt there.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Alienware X51
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:CruelDeeds
(Fort Smith, AR, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Hardcore Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Good for price

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
This PC with gtx 760 ti runs everything on ultra and have no lag issue or performance problems.
Pros:small compact and a lot of ports.
Cons:no room to upgrade
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Alienware X51
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:pMax
(Jeddah Saudi Arabia)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

QC is the issue

PostedJanuary 16, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
To start from, I had ordered the i7 version of the X51, that would provide a good performance in modern games like CoH2 and can serve for everyday computing needs. The internals are good, everything is in place and it has a well build case.
Unfornunately, all pros end here. The computer arrived in a state unusable for gaming. It has the AMD R9 270X video card, but there was no Catalyst driver installed. It turned out later, the graphic card itself does not work properly, and the PC hangs randomly when I have Catalyst on it. After three days, it started displaying sets of two vertical lines of either cyan or red color above any picture.
The graphic card has got replaced yesterday (btw, the request was submitted on Dec 28 - it took almost two weeks), however the system still hangs on shutdown or when idle, and this makes it unusable for any serios work - filesystems are not dismounted
cleanly, open documents are lost in result of these freezes. Will be contacting Alienware Support today again.
I hope this story will be a warning to those considering the Alienware X51 as their next PC.
Pros:small factor pc, good feature set for the money
Cons:good chances it is doa, you have to deal with dell's customer support, the psu unit is somewhat weak, cannot be upgraded easily
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 20