Customer reviews for Alienware M18X R2

Alienware M18X R2

Alienware M18X R2
4.21 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 76 reviews
5 Stars
53
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
2
1 Star
10
4.2
 / 
5
(76 reviews) 74
62 out of 7682%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Alienware M18X R2
Review 1 for Alienware M18X R2
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Dchase85
(Peoria IL)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Hardcore Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Never resolved my issues

PostedJune 30, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
My HDMI output has not worked since day one. They sent a tech to look at it. Tech broke mother board. Replaced MOBO, sound when out, and wiped hard drive. New computer sent out. HDMI output not working. Offered to send a tech to destroy my computer again. Succededed. replaced more parts. Still didnt work. Then dell gave up.every time they tried to fix the unit it destroyed my hard drive that had all of my work files on it. I spent more time on techsupport trying to get them to fix it then dell spent actually trying to fix it. Wouldnt buy again at this point. Very dissapointed. I love the brand but nothing seems to be cared about.
Pros:big screen, 2 video cards work nice for games
Cons:dell support, dell built it, hdmi doesnt work, computer does not come with updated drivers, about 50lbs in bag with power brick and work paper
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Alienware M18X R2
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:HumanityXM
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Hardcore Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Beware

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased an Alienware MX18 in December 2013 and have enjoyed gaming on it for the last year. However, in January of 2014 one month out of my warranty the laptop motherboard goes up in smoke with no indication of an issue before hand. With the cost of this laptop you would hope they could insure parts would last inside of it for more than a year. Contacting customer service to discuss the issue with them has been a chore and not helpful in the least. The guidance provided by the Alienware tech was as follows: "I guess you could sell if for parts... we are offering some great deals on new laptops now". Until I decide to dump even more money into this product I am now stuck with an oversized paperweight. I would not recommend purchasing this product due to the high cost and the short time the laptop remained functional as well as the difficulties you will have with customer service.
Pros:high performance
Cons:costly, faulty parts
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Alienware M18X R2
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:EricE1
(Sioux Falls, SD)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Casual Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

M18x

PostedNovember 21, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Overall the laptop works great. A little heavy so the m17 might have been a little better choice if you are moving it around much. Only complaint so far is the speakers dont seem to be the best. The left front speaker seems to overpower the right front speaker by a long shot. I am not sure if this is normal or if I have a bad right front speaker.
Pros:big display
Cons:front speaker balance
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Alienware M18X R2
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MariuszS
(Brisbane QLD, Australia)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Casual Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

heat m18x

PostedJuly 29, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
i7-2820QM
2 x AMD 6970M
Nothing to complain, except overheating issue, playing FarCry3, Crysis or Civ5 temperatures are easily reaching 80C +.
During summer even more, I recorded few times 100C.
After two services which helps shortly, laptop is overheating again after as short as a few weeks. Cooling pad helps, cleaning fans helps but did not solved the problem.
But, anyway it is great machine. Just be aware about cooling problem, at least in my configuration (or equivalent as mine is ancient).
Pros:looks, performance, screen
Cons:overheating
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Alienware M18X R2
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:xXxFearlessxXx
(Bowden)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Casual Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Worth the Wait

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Extremely well built, with No Lack in performance!! Built with 32GB or Ram and dual SLI Nvidia Geforce GTX 680M gaming cards ...who could go wrong! Oh and don't forget the 18.4 inch 1080P Display...WOW talk about clear!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Alienware M18X R2
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JImmy812
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Great computer

PostedMay 16, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Great computer for overall use -- home,work, gaming, etc.
+3points
7of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Alienware M18X R2
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Waqzzz
(Dubai)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Hardcore Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Awesome system!!!

PostedMay 16, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Love the machine! Its the perfect gaming system with the portability needed to travel.
Pros:dual graphics
Cons:weight
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Alienware M18X R2
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:RedDevil1200
(Mesquite, TX, USA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Hardcore Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Best Gaming Laptop ever

PostedMay 8, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
This has to be the best high end gaming laptop I have ever owned. At first I was leary of spending as much as I did on a laptop for gaming. Now that I have had it for a few months I can say with all honesty that it was very well worth the money. The graphics in games like Skyrim are simply astonishing. The color depth and all around graphic capability can't be beat.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Alienware M18X R2
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:RoyM
(Fort Worth, TX, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Hardcore Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Great Machine

PostedMay 6, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I recently bought an MX18 pretty much fully loaded. The ordering process was easy and it arrived 3 days early. I've had the computer for about a month and couldn't be happier with it. I'd buy another Alienware in a minute. I read many reviews that questioned the value of Alienware but I have to say I didn't find anything else with close to the same specs for the same price. My advice to you is make your life easy, buy Alienware - you won't regret it.
Pros:screaming fast, great screen
Cons:none
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Alienware M18X R2
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Anonymous
(Kiev, Kyiv city, Ukraine)
I use my PC for:Design/graphics
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

A Masterpiece from the Outer Space ;)

PostedMay 5, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I am 3d character animator, besides my work in the office I also participate in different projects as a freelancer. Last years I began to feel that average usual 'good laptop' is not good enough for me, (I also own Dell XPS17) as animation tasks become more and more complex, number of polygons increase and 3d software becomes 'heavier'. Yes, you can say - 'hey, man, buy a desktop, laptops are not meant to be professionally used with 3d graphics!' But due to several reasons desktop is not suitable for me, it is LAPTOP I needed. It is great that now I can have all the power or professional desktop in form-factor of a laptop! (Well... a laptop with almost 6 kilo of weight, but STILL it is a LAPTOP ;))
I got Alienware m18x r2 with Intel® Core™ i7-3840QM, Windows® 7 Ultimate, 32GB (4 X 8GB) Dual Channel DDR3 at 1600MHz, 256GB SSD SATA 6Gb/s, Dual 2GB GDDR5 AMD Radeon™ HD 7970M. This machine is a real crazy beast, it tears apart any complex task I throw at it. My animation work process was never flowing as smooth and as fast as now.
So there is only one thing I can say: If you can afford it - buy it! That's it. Really.
+1point
8of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Alienware M18X R2
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Phill67
(Australia)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Alienware M18x in a Business Role

PostedApril 10, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I upgraded to the M18x R2 from an M17x that I had for 3 years prior.
I use my Alienware exclusively in a business situation where I commonly model large 3D spatial datasets (with hundreds of thousands of data points and 3D model facets), work with high resolution satellite imagery files up to 2Gb in a GIS environment, produce high resolution large-scale maps and plans, and also produce large high resolution graphic designs in Photoshop with PSD file sizes up to 1.5Gb in size.
When purchasing a computer, I've seen again and again over the years businesses buy a computer at the cheapest possible price then within a year or so begin to complain more and more about how it's getting slow and useless - mainly due to being overloaded with dozens of new memory-hungry programs and having the increasing requirement for program multi-tasking.
No problems with this at all with my M18x R2 (or my old M17x R1 for that matter either).
When purchasing the system I customised my M18x to the highest specs so that I wouldn't have to worry about memory or graphic time-lag problems.
Whilst upspeccing the Alienware to the max does add to the base system price, the business benefits were astounding for me! The extra cost of customising my M18x to the top specs was repaid in productivity benefits probably within a month of purchase, and it continues to benefit my business every day.
Whilst the Nebula Red M18x does raise the occasional eyebrow at the boardroom table, all my business clients know that I can work with massive amounts of data and graphics to produce high quality work on time every time!
I highly recommend the M18x, and I don't consider the extra couple of kilos in weight to be an issue as the system benefits far outweigh this.
The specs of my M18x system are: M18x R2, Win7 64-Bit Ultimate, 3rd Gen Intel i7-3940XM, 3.00GHz (up to 3.90GHz with turbo boost), 4Core, 32Gb RAM, 64Gb total virtual memory, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 680M graphics (x2), 2Tb HDD (2x1Tb in Raid0).
+16points
22of 28voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Alienware M18X R2
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Neodarkus
(Alpine TX)
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Hardcore Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Impressive Machine!

PostedApril 6, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
This M18X R2 sure is an impressive machine. Right out of the box will only take a few minutes to set up. All Hardware and software works perfect. A few updates to GPUs and Network cards may be needed but are not difficult to apply. Tec support thus far has been excellent, no complains there. To provide an idea of the power of this machine It can run Crysis 3 maxed out. It is stylish and a powerhouse for gaming!
Pros:amazing all around!
Cons:price but its to be expected due to awesome specs
+2points
8of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Alienware M18X R2
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:1Grandmothergamer
(Nashville, TN, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Hardcore Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Worth Every Penny

PostedApril 1, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
It is now about a year since I bought my computer after being so frustrated with the Asus I had. I would tell anyone who likes to game and likes to use their computer for whatever other uses, that you will never find any computer - desktop or laptop - better than this one. I added some extras and spent about $4,000.00 to get what I really wanted. It may sound like a lot, but let me tell you, this computer is fast, gameplay on it blows everyone away when they see it. No lagging, no crashing. I have no telling how many mods on Skyrim and never have problems like everyone else complains about. I could go on and on about this computer, but I listen to music on it, have family photos on it, but really game on it the most. The smartest purchase I have made was investing in an Alienware computer that is geared to last a long time. I have no regrets and would advise anyone that is tired of being aggravated by their computer to choose Alienware.
Pros:everything
Cons:have not had any
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Alienware M18X R2
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Stuabear
(Flag Pond, TN 37657, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Mighty Alienware

PostedMarch 12, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have used Macs for most of my career but always keep a PC around for the many benefits offered that are generally not available on the Mac.
This is especially true in Astrnomy .
Alienware laptops seem to last me almost double the time I get from a basic systems, and are running my software software at reasonable speeds several years after purchase.
Of course getting the newest model, is always a pleasure when one sees the capabilities of the latest and greatests. The M18 is no exception and it's performance is well worth the price.
Pros:reliable, smooth operation
Cons:a little heavy on battery power
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Alienware M18X R2
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Utd8799
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Pretty disappointed to be honest.

PostedMarch 9, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have had my laptop for nearly 3 months now and I really am very disappointed with it.
I have had trouble with laptops ever since my first one years ago. I don't know why, I don't download anything dodgey or things like that and always have top anti-virus software. I literally surf the web and play games mainly.
What always happens is the performance get's slower and slower over a period of months, then little niggly problems start to pop up and then after 6-12 months I end with the blue screen of death and have to keep sending it in to get fixed or buy a new one. The performance is still never the same even after getting them mended either.
I even went over to the dark side for a bit and got myself a Macbook, it was actually almost flawless for nearly a year then suddenly, same thing started to happen. I may one of the first people i the world to get a Macbook blue screen of death! It actually happened!
I'd heard about Alienware for ages and finally decided, after my Macbook failure, to splash out good and proper on a serious piece of kit that surely couldn't fail me. Yet, here I sit, only 3 months on, typing away on nearly two thousand pounds worth of laptop and already suffering from the same problems, in record time no less!
Performance has declined tremendously, there is a lot of watching that spinning blue thing while waiting, for what feels like hours, for this high performance machine to complete the simplest of tasks. Video play back is jerky 95% of the time, games can be slow and jerky too. Booting up and then signing in takes an absolute age. It basically feels and acts exactly the same as a four/five hundred thing I could pick up at PC World except it weighs more than a metric tonne and looks pretty. And that is it's only redeeming feature, it looks nice, but for the experience I have had it's like the computer equivalent of putting a Lamborghini body kit on a Peugeot 206.
I'm not what you would call "tech savvy" so I can't properly understand everything that is in this machine, I'm just commenting on the experience I have personally had with it and, like I have said, it really feels no different to any normal laptop I've had in the past. Just waiting for the inevitable, full-on crash now, better start backing up!
Response from Dell.comBy DonaldDforDellCustomer ReviewsMarch 19, 2013
Hello Utd8799,

I am sorry to hear you are having so many issues with different systems. The best thing I can recommend, is look at the pattern. If every system you have does the same slow down and crash, it is either virus, or downloaded software. Especially "freeware", games you can download and play for free. These programs come with additional, little pieces of software. These programs can be very invasive and damaging to your OS. Too many running in the background can use up your memory and crash the system. I am going to recommend you reach out on the Alieware forums. There are many technical users out there that will be willing to help. (If you call Dell, we will call this software support and charge you) Checkout the Alienware owner's forum here:

http://en.community.dell.com/owners...

I hope they can help!
-40points
6of 52voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Alienware M18X R2
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Anonymous
(Hailsham, East Sussex, UK)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Casual Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Best computer i have owned

PostedMarch 6, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
first of all i'll start with the only problem ive had with my m18x so for and its not really a problem its just a QC thing the four screws that hold the bottom cover on, on two of them they were put in too tight and split the plastic tabs, but like i say not really a problem more of an observation, actually i was wrong there is one other thing, you have to be careful which hdmi cable you use as if its a chunky connector it might not work on the output side but works fine on the input side so a small error when building maybe, or i should stop buying cheapy cables :)
Now the good stuff for starters the laptop is stunning to look at the design of the computer is perfect. the keyboard is very nice to use especially when compared to some of the others on the market. the screen is B E A UTIFUL to look at, it does get some glare but so do all glossy screens and the sacrifice is worth it.
As far as playing games ive not found one yet that i cant play on full graphics even those that dont support crossfire have no problems on this beasty. and the laptops features all together make for a better gaming experience for me. the great cpu and gpu create the best image for the screen and then the sound system this thing has is great ive never heard sound like it on a laptop before, infact i'd go as far as saying its better than some of the speaker sets you can get for pc.
all in all im sure you can tell im happy with my purchase and i could go on for hours singing its praises. however id like to take a moment to compliment the service i have received from dell. before purchasing this laptop the only worry i had was all the reviews on poor service that dell gives, i think its a case of getting the right person, and i certainly did they helped me from start to finish with my pruchase no problems. I'd also like to mention that for me my expected delivery was 4 weeks and i got mine in 2 very impressive.
and to all those of you thinking about getting one i would SERIOUSLY recommend getting the m18x
Luke
Pros:fx lights, hd screen, sound, design, number of ports, packaged software, graphics, processor, upgradable
Cons:battery ;)
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Alienware M18X R2
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ChrisNBelinda
(Owensboro, KY, USA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Hardcore Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

What a Beast!

PostedFebruary 18, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
First off, I want to say that I've come to use this for a multitude of activities other than gaming. I find myself using it for pretty much anything from casually surfing the web, to watching BR movies.
The game I'm going to talk about in this review is Skyrim. I originally bought a copy of this game for my PS3. It was a painful experience over the 300+ hours I put into that game on the between the console freezing, to corrupted saves, to the DLC not being available. So Skyrim is pretty much the reason I started looking into a more mobile gaming platform that could handle a massive game.
Enter the m18x. I wanted a PC that would be able to handle pretty much anything as far as playing games went, so I chose every top option I could when ordering this. I bought Skyrim and it's DLC from the preinstalled Steam Store. There is just a night/day difference between playing on a PS3 and using this laptop. Second-long to completely absent load times, no freezing, no glitching up graphics. It surpasses my wants and expectations as a gamer. I also downloaded Skyrim on my 360 later on and I've put about 50 hours into so far with the gaming freezing up on me twice already and I'm instantly reminded of the long load times. I love the m18x and how it performs.
The customization on the backlights is pretty cool, but not a necessity of course. I use a controller when gaming so I don't need the backlit keyboard but I suppose it would be great for others who do use the keyboard. While the trackpad is spacious and there are settings to adjust, I still find it interfering when typing so I use an external mouse. The operations buttons along the top row are also nice, but I'd probably prefer touch-sensitive ones vs pressing firmly on these. With the row being at the top of the keyboard, even if they were touch-sensitive, it wouldn't interfere when using the laptop.
The speakers could be a bit louder. When gaming or watching a movie, I find I prefer to use headphones or earbuds because the speakers just aren't loud enough if there is background noise in the same room. If you're in a quiet room, the sound is great. I hooked up the laptop to a resort TV and while no sound was coming through the TV speakers, I was still able to hear just fine from the laptop's across the quiet room.
Weight. So this machine is just shy of 15lbs on a bathroom weight scale. It's tiresome moving it. I suppose this technically isn't a laptop, but a portable desktop. It does get to be a hassle moving it and the charger from room to room. With the TSA friendly backpack from Alienware, I was able to take my m18x with me to Hawaii, but it was fatiguing carrying that weight in the terminals.
I will mention on here that the m18x gets VERY hot when in use. A chillmat is a necessity with this laptop or you're going to burn your lap or risk overheating it. You probably won't find a big enough chillmat for it. This site has a Targus one mentioned that still is too small for the m18x.
Pros:performance, customization
Cons:weight, heats up
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Alienware M18X R2
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Irakandji
(Ottawa, ON, Canada)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

After 6 months - I am still happy

PostedFebruary 11, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
The primary reason I selected the M18 R2 over competitors were:
1) Nvidia 680m Sli (some have it, but most don't).
2) HDMI in - this is a big bonus since I have a number of devices that output HDMI. Now when I am on the road / water I have an excellent platform for all of my visual needs. HandyCam, Camera, Tablets and even some console(s).
3) The programmable gaming keys, I use these for macros in various programs and find them to be a big time saver.
4) Keyboard lighting, I do NOT use the fancy effects, but the brighter solid colors are great for working in the dark, something I tend to do frequently.
5) Internal SATA capacity, Having a notebook with 4 Sata Drives is great. I have the mSata as a boot drive, a very large Raid0 drive on the Sata 3 ports and an enterprise SSD drive for reliable storage. Bottom line my drive capacity is excellent.
6) Card Reader, in addition to the main storage the SDXC slot provides an easy 64 gb (plus) removable capability for my music / picture libraries.
7) Did I mention 90 plus fps in many games <grins>
8) Warranty, I have had great luck overall with electronic devices. But, the assurance of a 4 year warranty is comforting.
9) Sound .. I have some high end headphones that I like to use with an external amp, the optical digital output is a big bonus here.
10) I regularly use 3 screens when developing software. Having the HDMI (out), DVI (out) and Laptop screen allows me to completely replace my desktop in this regard. I only wish Nvidia Surround was supported.
In addition, once the laptop arrived I came to appreciate the build quality, the screen and my overall appreciation of a high quality instrument.
Thanks, Alienware
Pros:power, capability
Cons:no nvidia surround
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Alienware M18X R2
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Ninjadawg
(Northern California)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Best Laptop I have owned yet

PostedFebruary 10, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is the first time I have ordered a laptop with one of the primary reasons being to be able to play high end games on it.
I have used it daily to play games that I have not been able to play before. I also am using it for everyday use and it passes all tests with flying colors.
I wish I had bought this computer sooner
Pros:excellent customer service, customer service had new ram to me with in 2 days, tech installed ram
Cons:had issue with bad ram when i recieved the laptop
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Alienware M18X R2
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MANollette
Title:

Flashy lights with no real substance

PostedFebruary 7, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased my M18x because I had bought from Alienware before. I was impressed with my old M17, and it lasted me for quite sometime. Apparently, Dell's buyout changed that - I've had my new Alienware M18x for just two months now, and I've managed to get the following:
-Three (!) blue screen errors
-One catastrophic system error while attempting system restore
-One instance of failed hardware recognition (no audio devices detected upon startup)
-One failed video card error
-Several game crashes
The system itself looks cool, and when it actually runs the way I want it to, it runs well (two current gen games on high setting simultaneously without issue). But this is a rarity.
Overall, it's not the *worst* system ever. But for the price tag they put on it, you're so far from getting your money's worth, it's not even funny.
Pros:Gaming, work
Response from Dell.comBy AnthonyAforDellCustomer ReviewsFebruary 26, 2013
Hey MANollette,

I am sorry to hear that you had a poor experience with the Dell Alienware M18x. It is unusual that customers report having the types of concerns you have shared.

We value your feedback and would like the opportunity to try and correct the issues.

Please join the Alienware Dell Community Forum (
http://dell.to/KZBaoK) so we and other Alienware users can assist you in troubleshooting. You can also email us at AWCC-Resolution_Experts@Dell.com

I am confident that we can help improve this experience.

Thank you for choosing Dell.

-2points
8of 18voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4