Customer reviews for Alienware M17x

Alienware M17x

Alienware M17x
4.338 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 376 reviews
5 Stars
256
4 Stars
64
3 Stars
13
2 Stars
13
1 Star
30
4.3
 / 
5
(376 reviews) 361
324 out of 37686%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Alienware M17x
Review 1 for Alienware M17x
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:TCvancouver
(Vancouver, Canada)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

One problem after another...

PostedAugust 8, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros
Great hardware and performance, when it's working...
Cons
I bought this computer for my wife about 6 months ago.
The problems started one month later when her keyboard LED light burned off. Simple thing to repair or so I thought... A technician came home and tinkered with it, resulting in even worse problems: the computer wouldn't start at all afterwards. He had damaged other internal parts while doing the repair...
So Dell send a box and we shipped the laptop to have it repaired. They changed the motherboard and graphics cards.
A few weeks later, the laptop was acting up again, glitching and freezing randomly. We phoned Dell and after hours on the phone they figured McAfee antivirus was causing problems with Windows 7. So we ended up to buy another antivirus (Iolo mechanics) which had his own bunch or issues but was not locking up the laptop at least. Dell rep said this was really a Windows problem, not Dell's. But why would Dell offer McAfee in their laptop customization if it's not working properly? We were puzzled.
Then last month, another problem came up. A horizontal white line appeared on her screen. Call Dell again, diagnose LCD screen is defective this time, ship back for replacement.
Phew! After spending all this time and energy, her laptop is functioning more or less as it should be now. But we come out of the experience extremely disappointed with Dell. We were expected top notch quality after paying almost 5,000$ for Alienware.
We felt a critical lack of accountability when dealing with Dell, and serious flaws in their Quality Management System.
Hope this helps new buyers to make an enlightened decision with their hard earned money!
Cheers
+5points
12of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Alienware M17x
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:BrianD1111
Title:

Power Adapter and MB issues

PostedJuly 7, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this laptop because of the quality name. Big mistake! I have had the Motherboard Replaced 4 times with a 5th on its way. My problem is constantly loosing a power connection. Search "Alienware m17 power adapter issues", you will see the same complaints. I was told Dell's Policy is 3 complaints in 30 days then maybe they will refund or replace. Unfortunately for me the replacement last about 3 Months. BEWARE this buyer has remorse. Strongly recommend spending your hard earn money somewhere else.
Pros:business
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Alienware M17x
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:RyanMO
(kansas city)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

never has worked

PostedMay 21, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought the alienware M17X a while back to use for work and to do some gaming online. I have had nothing but trouble specifically with the graphics displaying and the computer not coming out of sleep mode without forcing a hard boot which results in a blue screen. I paid big $$$ for this laptop and bought the comprehensive warranty. The computer is so bad that I have been using it as a paper weight and had written it off. Now my PC has stopped working and I have been forced to use it and I remember why I hate it so much. I have not had any luck with customer support or with my warranty. This is a piece of junk and I will not be buying any more Dells in the future do to this experience. I am responsible for purchasing all the computer equipment at my business and bought 10 all in one Dell computers (I actually like those- good machine) unfortunately they are not made for gaming but oh well. Next business purchase will be elsewhere as well because after dealing with product support I realized how big of an issue it would be for my business if a computer went down and it took this much time and effort to get it fixed. Buyer beware of anything Dell or Alienware!!
Pros:work, Gaming
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Alienware M17x
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MirelaConstantin
(Edmonton, Alberta, Canada)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Not for people who don't know software

PostedApril 28, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Order # 295797864 a Studio 17 (1531.95 CAD), Order # 301106407 an Allienware M17X (4204.20 CAD) and Order # 339481400 an Alienware M15X (2366.70 CAD).Order # 293617031 an Alienware M17X (2965.20 CAD).Personally i had the most expensive of our purchases and it was the most frustrating experience because since i got it it didn't work, i was talking with a customer service person and they sent a guy from other company to change the mother board or something like that. I was very upset even after the laptop finally started because of many other issues. First, windows explorer kept freezing and working slow. I had a preorder installation of World of Warcraft game and it didn't work also. I kept my patience and I was trying to solve the problem, I also call the Dell support technician and i told him that my game doesn't work and he told me that Alienware laptops are not good for playing games, even if my order was based on that idea, to play WoW without any graphic or other issues. This way I found that the laptop graphic card has 2 card, not as I did understand during my order to be one card. I am not so familiar with the caracteristics of a laptop, but i was thinking if i take the best options found at that time it will be ok, but the guy from Dell told me it is a bad configuration. I am not sure why I was still hopping this laptop will be good and also we ordered 2 more laptops from Dell after all my frustrations. The game doesn't work well even now, i still get the blue screen during the play because the graphic card doesn't work properly and if i am trying to update it my laptop doesn't work at all and i have to go back to the old version of it. This is the same for all our Alienware laptops we have. It is very frustrating and i am repeting that because i am really upset how people can sell expensive laptops without any advices. I have more than a basic knowledge in software, but i am not an expert to fix all our laptops issues and in my opinion these isssues shouldn't appear. For example, i had to do a recover image for the M15X Alienware and i was very surprised how complicated it was. For sure a basic knowledge about computers wouldn't help to do it. The most bothering problem for our laptop is updating the graphic cards and also the Bios. If i am doing it the laptop wouldn't work. All the time whenever the power cord is not plugged it happens that in Bios the integrated graphic card is going to be enabled and WoW is crashing my laptop if I am not going to check in Bios and enable the other card. Do you think a basic knowledge about computers would help? I am very sorry we spent that much on laptops issues.In conclusion, we paid 11068.05 CAD for our laptops, only to be frustrated using them and waste our time fixing issues, getting nervous everytime searching for solutions.
Pros:playing world of warcraft
-5points
1of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Alienware M17x
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:zmaxz
(Aberdeen UK)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Unreliable, overpriced.

PostedFebruary 26, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
This high spec. laptop wasn't cheap so I expected good performance. I have used Dell products for several years and have never had cause for complaint but the Alienware has been very troublesome. OK it looks great, but what's the point? Half the time editing software won't work, videos keep hesitating and some games won't work. I'm not talking about high spec games either. Get a Dell.
Pros:film editing & programming
-22points
6of 34voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Alienware M17x
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:heatherhundoble

PostedFebruary 23, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros:Gaming
-54points
2of 58voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Alienware M17x
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:huiming
Title:

pretty bad

PostedFebruary 9, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
I could not use it since there is problem and there is no warranty info available online for it. I have to wait!!!!
-9points
3of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Alienware M17x
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Paul Black
(Melbourne, Australia)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Dell / Alienware M17x - R2 !

PostedJanuary 21, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Alienware M17x is a shiny apple, rotten inside.
Pros:games, movies
-75points
12of 99voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Alienware M17x
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:VGord
(Virginia)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Alienware M17X Laptop

PostedDecember 28, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
Unless you just want to spend countless hours on the phone with a Tech, I would suggest in not purchasing an Alienware Laptop. You'd get more game time from something alot cheaper. This is supposed to be Dell's flagship line and my old XPS runs flawlessly and this one has to have something done to it continuously. Take the time to research this line, the Alienware forum is full of unhappy gamers.
Pros:i can't use it for anything!!!!!!
-2points
13of 28voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Alienware M17x
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:TracyWhitaker1101
(Alabama USA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Alienware M17x sucks

PostedDecember 7, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchase this laptop about a year ago. It has been the worst laptop I have ever had!!! I have contacted technical support several times over the issue of the laptop freezing up in the middle of me surfing the web, playing a game or reading my e-mail. Until this day the issue still remains unresolved. I can even deal with the low battery life but the fact that it crashes about every day is what bothers me. I had heard all kinds of great reviews about this laptop, but perhaps they sent me a dud. Don't get me wrong, the technical support guys have tried their best to be helpful but nothing has been resolved. Based on this experience, I can only give the Alienware M17x a poor rating.
Pros:surfingchatting online games remote desktop
+5points
17of 29voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Alienware M17x
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:jarjar
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

not a great purchase

PostedDecember 2, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
At first glance its a nice machine and then we ran the battery low. And thats when the problems started. I've had to disconnect the battery from the laptop and reconnect it so it would recognize the charger. Talked with dell and they updated the bios and said that should fix the issue. Still no change, problem not solved. Thats two thumbs down in my book. For the price of 3k there are to many glitches. Sorry dell/alienware
Pros:work
+1point
10of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Alienware M17x
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Coryja
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Don't buy refurbished M17x

PostedNovember 24, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
I received a certified refurbished M17x Laptop with non-functioning Command Center and Alien Effects. I placed multiple online service and return requests and calls before I got a response from Dell.
Dell sent out a technician and the result was a completely non-functioning computer.
After several weeks and multiple phone calls, I'm till trying to get a refund or replacement out of Dell.
+22points
25of 28voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Alienware M17x
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:TerryFelter
(Houston, Texas)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Alienware M17x

PostedNovember 23, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
I ordered this product over a month ago and have finally returned from an extended business trip.
First the battery is dead(probably normal), but the AC adapter isn't recognized by the BIOS. After conferring with technical support, I find that this problem is ongoing and has been identified by the software programmers. However, nothing has benn posted about this problem or an advisory to that problem.
I find this a very POOR business practice continued selling of products that are known to have defect. Both Alienware and DELL should pull this product imeediately and discontinue sales until the problem is fixed.
+23points
30of 37voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Alienware M17x
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:NDFATKID
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

An exercise in futility

PostedOctober 27, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros
Cons
The graphics card drives have to come from dell in order for your computer and the video card to work. I found this out through five blue screens and six hours with teck support. I had to update the bios, diver and CCC just to run Eyefinity. All the bell and whistles are nice/impressive but all the bells and whistles are like spaying a can of air freshener on a pile of manure. If you are a serious gamer you should probably rethink buying this laptop. Battery life and size are poor. Alien FX is bugy and alien sense never works for me.
Review
The entire process of buying and using this laptop was and is undesirable. I bought it at 15% off but was charged full price, which was resolved after one week with a credit to my account. I expected a lot more for 5k. If you woke up this morning and decided that the life was just not hard enough, this is the computer for you.
Pros:Gaming
+1point
20of 39voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Alienware M17x
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:draieta
(Connecticut)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Don't buy an alienware computer!!!

PostedSeptember 23, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought an Alienware M17x about a month ago and only used it about a dozen times. I built the computer with the best of the best components with a final price of $4,500. I bought this computer striictly for gaming, specifically for World of Warcraft. When I recieved the computer the first thing that struck me was wieght of the labtop, this thing feels like it weighs close to 20 pounds so forget about using it on your lap. This could have been my fault for order such a beefed up machine. I loaded up my game and the first huge turn off was the mouse touch pad - first off the right and Left mouse buttens are extremely stiff and require a great amount of pressure to click. Secondly there was no scroll on the mouse pad at all- which I found to be very odd. My next biggest complaint was that when I loaded up the game I had tremendous lag issues. My old laptop which was 6 years old had less lag. I even decreased the settings to improve performance and still there was lag. I just couldnt figure it out- you would expect that a $4,500 computer would be lightning fast but its was a dog.
So my $4,500 computer just sits there as I continue to use my old computer. I know I can always add another mouse to the computer but I'm very used to using the touch pad and it should work better than it does.
Don't make the same mistake I did, try the thing out before you buy if you can.
Pros:Gaming
-42points
38of 118voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Alienware M17x
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:M17xR2
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Alienware with xfire 5870s

PostedAugust 31, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
In one word USELESS and here is why.
Right now the drivers are not up to date for the graphic card so you can hardly play any games without some display problem. This gets even worse for newer games like Starcraft 2 as they require the newer drivers from the ATI website. There is also many other games I have tried all with different type of display errors. So why not use the drivers from the ATI website? Well they do not work on the system unless Dell makes some changes to them.
If Dell does put out new drivers(that work) or allow the ATI drivers to work then the laptop would perfect.
Pros:games
+33points
39of 45voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Alienware M17x
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:YourxDisplayxName
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Things are going downhill...

PostedAugust 27, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
The computer has a lot of power, looks good, and comes in very nice packaging.
My issues are with the basics. While configuring the product, the estimated ship date is displayed, and I made choices to speed the ship date where possible. After clicking submit, the expected date moved out by a week and a half. No one at Dell's call center could offer anything of use about this, but that it had something to do with the manufacturer.
When the machine shipped, there was no email even saying it had shipped. I like to be on the lookout for expensive hardware, especially when I pay for faster shipping options. Dell had no problem sending me promotional materials but can't tell me when my new computer has shipped.
The power plug doesn't fit reliably with the laptop, so the plug falls out probably every 30 minutes or so. I have not had this problem with other Dell products, or laptops from Lenovo, IBM, Toshiba, or Apple.
This problem is super annoying, as the machine slows to a crawl when the power cord comes loose, and it can take a few minutes for the machine to recover to full speed.
When you plug in the power adapter, you are greeted with warnings that your AC Adapter is not made by Dell and that you may have problems. This one takes the cake. For a tester to find this problem, they had to do two things -- plug it in, and then turn it on.
I have always wanted an Alienware machine, and it looks cool, but the Dell experience and the silly power cord problem really take away from the satisfaction I would otherwise have.
I have purchased probably 10 other dells over the past 15 years, and this was the weakest experience ever.
+25points
38of 51voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Alienware M17x
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Paul Weyland
Title:

Alienware M17x Battery Life

PostedAugust 12, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
The Alienware M17x core i7 series notebook has several failures and drawbacks. Notebooks are portable systems and can be taken anywhere and used anywhere, even in locations where there is no power with the help of battery power. But this notebooks battery charge drains out very fast, you will lose your battery charge when your working during travelling in less than half way. Where will you go and search for power socket to charge the notebook inside the trains and buses and in any other public transport ???
-62points
15of 92voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Alienware M17x
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MitchM
(Manchester, U.K.)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Too advanced for its own good?

PostedMay 26, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
Having had my M17X for nearly three months I can only say that I am saddened by how things have turned out since the day it came into my life. I was massively excited about the thought of my new uber-laptop as I have been an extreme laptop user for the last decade, always updating my machines every 18 months or so. The M17X was supposed to trump them all and having paid well in excess of 3000GBP for it I was expecting something pretty special.
The overall build quality of the M17X is exceedingly good and even though it must be the heaviest laptop on the planet, that just added the sense of being built to last, for me. Sadly it wasn't long before I discovered the problem that has plagued this machine ever since. After booting it up for the first time I unplugged my ac adaptor to carry the laptop across the room, only to discover it had crashed. In fact every time I unplug the ac adaptor this laptop crashes. If I start it on battery power and then reconnect the ac adaptor, it crashes. If I put it into 'sleep' mode it won't restart. A poor situation for a laptop in any price range, let alone an extremely expensive one which prides itself on being at the cutting edge of mobile technology.
At first Alienware tech support were helpful but after a couple of hours on the phone no solution was uncovered and I was told they would get in touch soon with the next step. Several weeks later I got an e-mail with some other tests, none of which worked and after reporting back to Alienware tech support I was informed that the matter would be referred back to the US and I would hear back from them soon. Sadly I didn't and I have been chasing ever since. A month ago I made a request for a replacement machine and I haven't received any contact since. All in all I have had this laptop for three months and I scared to use it for my work due to its unreliability.
I had such high hopes for this machine and Alienware's customer service but sadly both have been a dismal let down. I couldn't recommend this machine or Alienware's back up to anyone based on my experiences. It is hard to fathom how an issue like this could be left to spiral so far out of control.
Pros:Gaming, business, Travel
+150points
161of 172voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Alienware M17x
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Killfoot
(North Carolina)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

3rd Alienware Purchase. 1st Time Unhappy

PostedMarch 26, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this Alien ware laptop with no other bells or whistles. I bought it stock as-is, and added nothing. When it arrived I felt like a kid in a candy store just like when I got the other two (desktops).
Now I knew it wouldn't play Call Of Duty MW2 at max settings, and this was pretty much a World Of War craft and internet PC. With other low level games. So my expectations weren't high really. I just like the Alien ware brand, and have never had issues before. So here they are.
PC freezes all the time, this is an out of the box issue. Not something that happened later on. It freezes during World Of War craft, and when I first turned it on, would freeze during browsing the web! That's insane! Sometimes it freezes so bad I get loop sound (over and over) and i have to hold the power button. I have to do the "hold the power button" trick at least twice a day. Especially if Im gaming! Its nice. I feel like this is poorly put together. I do like the design, and everything else, other then those technical problems. When it's not freezing, or looping sound, or cutting my internet time short by freezing, World of War craft and my games look great!
I am also into PC Programming, and have a lot of Game Engines, Tools, and such, this is not the computer for that. I have thousands of dollars in game development software, and this PC is not having any of it. Some work, some don't. Hit or miss on this lap top. I will for sure be going elsewhere. To top it all off I paid Alien ware CASH, right away, so they got paid, and got a expensive net book. Another thing, it took me about 4 months in Afghanistan saving my money to be able to just pay it off like I did. /Fail computer. <shakes fist>
Pros:3d modeling, gaming programming, internet, Gaming
+42points
57of 72voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 19