Customer reviews for Alienware M17x R3

Alienware M17x R3

Alienware M17x R3
4.046 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 174 reviews
5 Stars
112
4 Stars
20
3 Stars
8
2 Stars
6
1 Star
28
4
 / 
5
(174 reviews) 168
134 out of 17477%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Alienware M17x R3
Review 1 for Alienware M17x R3
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Bikkerdave
(So Cal)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Avoid R3s!

PostedNovember 19, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was "given" a M17x R3 as a replacement for my M1730 last month. Since that time I've experienced BSODs (9f) at least 25 times. Dell is aware of this common issue and has a nice long support article concerning this on these machines (which did not resolve the issue btw. Additionally I have to use AlienRespawn 10 times to resolve various app crashes. Don't get these rev threes and don't let dell use these as replacements.
Why haven't I contacted Dell? Dell canceled my warranty I had remaining on my M1730 and the replacement can't be registered. I refuse to pay for support for this machine.
Pros:looks nice
Cons:multiple bsods, app crashes
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Alienware M17x R3
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Besitos9901
(Los Angeles, CA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Casual Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Bad Buy.

PostedMarch 11, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this Computer in 2011. I've had to replace the Graphics Card 5 times (6th starting today.) Reinstall the OS at least 6 times with support (Windows Errors) tons of blue screens, overheating issues (Still gets extremely hot with a cooling pad.) Terrible customer service support so far (Best they've been able to do is fix the computer piece by piece) When something broke under the complete care warranty I was charged money for it. I would not recommend an alienware, sadly I'm stuck with mine until someone decides to buy this horrible thing.
Pros:powerful
Cons:overheats, customer service, graphics card, warranty, support
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Alienware M17x R3
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:bigmac644
(PA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Hardcore Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Doesn't age well... Heat dissipation is a serious issue.

PostedFebruary 21, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased my unit in Sept. of 2011 and wrote a glowing review at that time. It bricked in Oct. of 2012. $250 for an open ended repair order resulted in the replacement of my video card (580M). Worked well from Nov' 12 until last night. Once again, bricked. Blue light in adapter ring extinguishes when it's plugged into the laptop. Internet search indicates that the Motherboard is now shot. Another $250.... Soooo, it looks like my annual "maintenance upkeep" costs for using this laptop will be at least $500/yr. Dell/Alienware has done nothing to address the obvious heat dissipation issues with this unit. Meanwhile, consumers will continue to throw cash at them to repair their multiple K$ until, I guess, we get tired of it and purchase a new NON-Alienware/Dell gaming laptop. Thanks Alienware/Dell
Pros:fantastic when it works, makes a pretty doorstop once you tire of repairs, you'll learn how to replace hi end components, i know alienware tech support number by memory
Cons:keeping it working is gonna cost ya..., the value of this unit is terrible, uber gaming rig that doesn't power up, heat dissipation engineering is a joke
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Alienware M17x R3
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:CMac76
Title:

Great while it lasted...

PostedSeptember 24, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
System was great while I worked - 2 months off warranty and the power cable needed to be replaced and the screen went black.
Pros:Gaming
-4points
8of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Alienware M17x R3
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Nomorealienware
Title:

Worst laptop ever. Never been treated so poorly.

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Don't buy this laptop.I've got an alienware m17x and in less than a year I've had 4 motherboard , 1 graphic card, 1 pair of speakers and 1 set of alienfx LEDs changed by Dell's technicians because of hardware problems. Everytime I ask dell for a replacement laptop they'll denie the request and send me another motherboard replacement. I've already sent a complain to the consumer's office and still, DELL won't provide any Solution to the problem. I can't work/play like this!!! I've never been treated so poorly in my life!
Pros:can't use it
+23points
31of 39voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Alienware M17x R3
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:CMac76
Title:

Great while it lasted

PostedSeptember 21, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought a M17X about a year ago. It was a great machine while it worked - of course 2 months after the warranty expired, the power cable broke, bricking my laptop for a week while I ordered another one ($100+). Worked for another week, and now the screen is dead. For a $3k laptop, I was hoping for better reliability.
Pros:Gaming
+7points
10of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Alienware M17x R3
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Anonymous
(Allendale Michigan)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Extremely Regret Purchase, Now stuck with it.

PostedSeptember 6, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
This was a complete mistake to purchase an M17x R3 and have the 580M. When I first ordered this laptop I was so excited. After playing no games, getting a non repaired repair, struggling to get all my parts back from the repair, then having to call for a new issue and the old issue only to have the tech not want to deal with the old issue. Now not so much.
I have no use for this laptop and will probably have to sell it as parts on ebay just to get rid of it and recoup some of its costs.
I really wanted this laptop to work out that I resisted sending it back. I assumed it could just be fixed.
I had blue screens right out of the box. Fixed those. Then the throttling started. I tried everything to fix the throttling ended up sending it in for repair.
I received my laptop back with a new gpu and motherboard but missing parts. To get all my parts back from the repair I had to call customer service TWICE.
A week after getting my repaired laptop I could finally check the repair. Only to find the throttling still there and a new problem with the power adapter.
After spending a good hour and a half with a disinterested Tech, the power Adapter was fixed. I am unsure why all tests were done if it was a simple BIOS flash.
After the power adapter issue was fixed I tried to go into the throttling issue. He wanted no part of it. Said it was my game settings and said I would have to be transferred to Alienarena and they charge 100 dollars.
After seeing I was going no where I hung up.
Pros:listen to music?, type basic word documents, can't game on it, check email, i don't use it that much at all
+11points
14of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Alienware M17x R3
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:shaf11
(london)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Newbie

PostedMay 17, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought the mx17 r3 two months ago, it stopped working after 4 days. someone came to change the memory at first but then he ended up changing the motherboard! Called technical support and told them I don't want the lap top it is like buying a refurbished one for the price of a new one. It has been more than a month since I asked them to come pick up the lap top and it still didn't happen.
I've never experienced such a bad service in my life.
+8points
14of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Alienware M17x R3
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:radiotete1e2
(Philadelphia, PA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Nothing but problems.

PostedMarch 26, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is my second Alienware laptop. I had my first one for 6 years and purchased it before Dell took over. The day I got this laptop, it blue screened due to graphics card errors/driver errors. Dell never updated the driver for the card I got and would offer me no help to resolve this issue. After blue screening for months and not having the money to get a new card, I finally found a bandaid for the problem, but still has choppy video/audio when watching videos or listening to music. Now, the recovery drive has malfunctioned and the laptop runs slowly and freezes often. The drive has been replaced and it still has errors. I have had nothing but frustrations with this laptop and will never purchase another Dell or Alienware laptop again.
Pros:Gaming, School
+14points
31of 48voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Alienware M17x R3
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Boyskout
(Mobile, AL)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Poor Qaulity

PostedMarch 17, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this laptop a few days ago and have been plagued with BSOD errors. The first i received an hour after unboxing it called support and the was told it was a graphics card issue and it is easily fixed with a replacement. Which i was fine with but the technician wouldnt send the card i had and tried to offer a amd 6970 saying it was an upgrade to my 580m. After arguing me down about it decided to send the lesser card anyway and a tech showed up at my house with the 6970. He then called them and was argued down by the same people saying it was a better card and the other card will not be sent out. So i just sent the computer back for a refund due to their poor customer service and build quality. Most expensive paper weight i have ever owned.
Pros:Gaming, music, movies
+9points
19of 29voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Alienware M17x R3
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:cjam
(NSW)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Absolute trash

PostedMarch 14, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
We originally purchased three units. All were DOA. The replacements were horribly misconfigured and were also immediately replaced. The units that finally arrived were not even close to the original specifications ordered.
12 months in, one unit has been disposed of as unserviceable and one unit has had more replacement parts than I can actually recall. This includes all hard disks, the LCD panel several times, the video card several times and the motherboard several times. Due to being stripped and rebuilt so many times the casing does not fit together correctly making the unit unstable on a flat surface. Intermittent issues with USB ports have also started to occur.
The one unit that is still in service performs well below expectation.
All up, over NINE individual AlienWare M17x notebooks to get ONE that works uninspiringly. Very dissapointed.
Pros:systems administration, Gaming, virtualisation, Travel
+6points
17of 28voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Alienware M17x R3
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:techreviewer
Title:

most troublesome laptop

PostedMarch 4, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
this system is one of the most troublesome laptop
Pros:Gaming, music, office
-42points
5of 52voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Alienware M17x R3
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Mistake123
(Sacramento, CA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Poorly functioning computer

PostedFebruary 25, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Computer arrived with non functioning Internet Explorer and non functioning disk eject button. More non functioning components suspect. No basic mouse controller included. No new user card instructions. Equipment does not have adequate ventilation.
Pros:my 10 year old automation class
-16points
7of 30voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Alienware M17x R3
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:B45H
Title:

Worst Customer Service1

PostedFebruary 3, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
If you're lucky and get a good product you are lucky, but if you're like me and get a defective one, there's absolutely no hope for you. Having spent close to $3000 on my M17xR3, I expect nothing but top class customer service, but all I've got for spending so much and being a hardcore fan all my life is frustration and hopelessness. Called tech support to fix my problem related to the HDMI out and in ports not functioning, but they couldn't do anything about it expect tell me that they'd have to charge me even to find out if the problem is with the hardware or software. They had the nerve to tell me the warranty does not cover third party components! What a ridiculous statement - My computer does not detect any fully functioning device connected to it nor does it display images when connected to a fully functioning TV and this is a 3rd party problem? Spoke to a Manager who's name was Eddy, he was of absolutely no help and had no empathy. I would never ever buy an Alienware system nor would I recommend it to anyone else. Worst experience ever.
+4points
7of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Alienware M17x R3
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:TroubledPCguy
(Traveling)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

M17x not so great out of the box

PostedNovember 27, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
This was my second alienware laptop and I was excited. I got the m17x loaded and it was also loaded with issues. Yes, it is fast and great looking but it comes with bugs and if you don't have time to spend waiting and on the phone I say good luck. I am not sure who tests the machines before they ship but they need a little more time in testing. First graphics driver problems, then power management issues, now no speaker audio. All within 20 days of unboxing. Dell did offer to try and fix it so I will give them that but I travel to much to have to send it in and wait on my machine to get better for who knows how long. I guess this means back to the consoles for me:( Just to much of my own time to get a very pricey machine to work when it sould be ready to run out of the box. I would not recommend the M17x R-3 to any one and I will be returning the one I purchased.
Pros:Gaming, Travel
+19points
34of 49voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Alienware M17x R3
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:page305
Title:

Decent Computer, HORRIBLE SERVICE AND SUPPORT!!!

PostedNovember 24, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was lied to so I'd buy this PC. I would not buy thus PC with the 460m GPU so I was told they would sent me the 580m within 2 weeks (I agreed to buy it with the 460m). It is now 7 months later and I still do not have the 580m. All calls to customer support and tech support yield different results. Can't find me in their systems, the part "has been shipped", the part "is back ordered"... it's been, "I promise it is scheduled to ship NEXT WEEK sir"... When I call a week later, I'm told "NEXT WEEK", "NEXT WEEK", "NEXT WEEK". They will not give me the phone number to anyone in America and they say they DON't HAVE a number to the Miami headquarters. They won't let me talk to a supervisor, there is ZERO driver support for the GPU's... you have to hack your system to install driver updates. It's soooo sad. I was also promised I could hook this up to my 3D TV and game. Another lie. They shipped me a 3DPlay laptop (the reason I didn't want the cheaper and higher powered ATI card)screen with an HDMI out that is not able to send a 3D signal!!!! A drinking cup with a hole in the bottom. Cool looking computer, but that's it. I will never do business with any DELL company again.
Pros:Gaming, movies, internet
+35points
50of 65voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Alienware M17x R3
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:RajaK
(Omaha)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Fail System

PostedNovember 17, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
I am having issues:
1. Watching Embedded videos, the green screen will show up and in the status bar "Display drivers were successfully recovered".
2. Videos will be lagging eventhough the video is fully buffered and having issues playing Divx videos from hard drive they lag pretty badly too.
3. I play Wow and it lags heavily and becomes unresponsive. I have checked my FPS and Network speed all were good. my Realm population is moderate.
My humble suggestion DO NOT buy this laptop.
Pros:games
-29points
11of 51voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Alienware M17x R3
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Anonymous
(new waverly indiana)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good

PostedOctober 5, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is by far the worst laptop I've ever owned. Alienware claims to be the best in the business for gaming laptops and I've had nothing but issues since I've owned the machine. I had better experiences buying cheap machines at Best Buy. Over roughly a 4 month period I've on average called at least every other week on a problem. The biggest being a video issue where the entire screen goes blank and the machine has to be powered off then back on. They've replaced the internal components and still no fix. They refuse to replace the laptop with a new machine with the same configuration or refund me 100% of the money. I personally don't like buying something new, having problems from opening the box, then having it replaced with used product
Pros:Gaming
+24points
57of 90voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Alienware M17x R3
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:kinggabey
(Boston)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Piece of junk. Do not buy!!!

PostedSeptember 14, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought my laptop. Within a few days 2nd hard drive failed. Eventually primary failed too.
I had replacement drives sent. 2nd hard drive failed within a few days. Tech support came and my machine wouldn't get to the bios check. Got sent for repair and came back, and windows won't install. Called over 6 times for tech support and got put on hold 1/2 hr 3 of them.
When the power cord gets pulled the machine freezes. Also when gets put to sleep and comes back awake, screen is black although machine is active.
Now I have a machine that won't install windows. I've been heavily involved with computers for over 25 years and have never been more disappointed with a computer purchase.
Pros:everything but work
+16points
32of 48voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Alienware M17x R3
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Tkeller
(Pennsylvania)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

went through 4 of these and the 4th one is broke

PostedSeptember 8, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
I ordered this computer when it first came out, it arrived after a month and right out of the box it was broken. It had a faulty motherboard. They sent another but didnt include any of the programs i purchases i.e. Microsoft home and student. Again they sent another and this time they cancelled it. I finally got it after much battling with dell and they sent a fourth one. This one seemed to be fine but when i came to school it crashed. My college's IT department said it was a preexisting problem with the harddrive. Dell assured me that it was a "normal" problem and easy to fix. They were sussposed to send a TECH to my residence with a new hard drive to replace it. It has been over a week and after phone call after phone call to dell they always respond with he will be there tomorrow. The next day no one shows. This has been going on for 5 days. I am extremely dissapointed with this laptop and the technical support. I hate it.
Pros:School, games, personal
+33points
38of 43voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9