Customer reviews for Alienware M17x R3

Alienware M17x R3

Alienware M17x R3
4.051 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 175 reviews
5 Stars
113
4 Stars
20
3 Stars
8
2 Stars
6
1 Star
28
4.1
 / 
5
(175 reviews) 169
135 out of 17577%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Alienware M17x R3
Review 61 for Alienware M17x R3
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:IronWizard
(Somewhere where you are not)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Great Machine, when it works.

PostedDecember 13, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've got an older model, the R2 I believe, had it for a little over a year and a half. To sum up my experience with it: when it works, it's awesome. When it works. I've had several minor problems with this machine. I've had software not install or run properly even though I'v done everything correctly. My video card drivers crashed a few months ago and the only way to resurrect the machine was a clean install, but it came at the cost of the backlit keyboard, which I have not been able to fix despite hours online searching for solutions,
The machine is also incredibly heavy (~15lb I think), this is a desktop machine, that just happens to be mobile, not a mobile machine with the power of a desktop.
My recommendation comes with a caveat: Be aware that you are paying through the nose for this machine, and be aware that it may have little quirks that range from mildly annoying to infuriating.
Pros:Gaming, schoolwork
+2points
10of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 62 for Alienware M17x R3
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:VampiricHoshi

PostedDecember 3, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
For all those complaining about getting constant blue screens of death (BSOD) crashes:
These are caused by the Killer Wireless N driver software (Killer Network Manager).
You can resolve the issue by insuring you download the latest version of the Killer Network Manager and then disable "Application Control" from within the software.
Since I have done that, I have not had a BSOD (fingers crossed).
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 63 for Alienware M17x R3
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Caitlin666
Title:

awesome ^_^

PostedDecember 2, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
This computer is awesome (and looks awesome)! It's everything I was hoping for!
Pros:Gaming, animation, 3d modeling, graphic design
-7points
3of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 64 for Alienware M17x R3
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:TroubledPCguy
(Traveling)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

M17x not so great out of the box

PostedNovember 27, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
This was my second alienware laptop and I was excited. I got the m17x loaded and it was also loaded with issues. Yes, it is fast and great looking but it comes with bugs and if you don't have time to spend waiting and on the phone I say good luck. I am not sure who tests the machines before they ship but they need a little more time in testing. First graphics driver problems, then power management issues, now no speaker audio. All within 20 days of unboxing. Dell did offer to try and fix it so I will give them that but I travel to much to have to send it in and wait on my machine to get better for who knows how long. I guess this means back to the consoles for me:( Just to much of my own time to get a very pricey machine to work when it sould be ready to run out of the box. I would not recommend the M17x R-3 to any one and I will be returning the one I purchased.
Pros:Gaming, Travel
+19points
34of 49voted this as helpful.
Review 65 for Alienware M17x R3
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:page305
Title:

Decent Computer, HORRIBLE SERVICE AND SUPPORT!!!

PostedNovember 24, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was lied to so I'd buy this PC. I would not buy thus PC with the 460m GPU so I was told they would sent me the 580m within 2 weeks (I agreed to buy it with the 460m). It is now 7 months later and I still do not have the 580m. All calls to customer support and tech support yield different results. Can't find me in their systems, the part "has been shipped", the part "is back ordered"... it's been, "I promise it is scheduled to ship NEXT WEEK sir"... When I call a week later, I'm told "NEXT WEEK", "NEXT WEEK", "NEXT WEEK". They will not give me the phone number to anyone in America and they say they DON't HAVE a number to the Miami headquarters. They won't let me talk to a supervisor, there is ZERO driver support for the GPU's... you have to hack your system to install driver updates. It's soooo sad. I was also promised I could hook this up to my 3D TV and game. Another lie. They shipped me a 3DPlay laptop (the reason I didn't want the cheaper and higher powered ATI card)screen with an HDMI out that is not able to send a 3D signal!!!! A drinking cup with a hole in the bottom. Cool looking computer, but that's it. I will never do business with any DELL company again.
Pros:Gaming, movies, internet
+35points
50of 65voted this as helpful.
Review 66 for Alienware M17x R3
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:bigmac644
Title:

Loaded Alienware M17x R3 w/ 3D gaming package

PostedNovember 22, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I purchased this laptop at the end of August '11. The sole purpose for this (and any computer I own, actually), is to play todays games in all of their maxed out visual glory. I had held off purchasing a gaming laptop for years, thinking that my desktop that I built would satisfy all of my gaming needs... I was wrong, and didn't even know it! Initially, I was a bit hesitant because I had purchased an Alienware desktop back in 2000 and was somewhat underwhelmed. This is certainly not the case circa 2011. I have been using this laptop as my primary gaming machine since its delivery. Over the last three months of runtime, I have experienced ZERO problems. This laptop has eaten up every game I've thrown at it, with visual settings maxed. Examples of display hungry gaming series that I've used this with so far include: Crysis, S.T.A.L.K.E.R., Dead Space, Elder Scrolls and Fallout, to name a few. The 3D effect is stunning on the majority of games right out of the box, and when I hook the laptop to my 58" Plasma HDTV with a HDMI cable, the excitement gets ramped up to 11! The amazing thing is that the value I realized in purchasing this laptop at this time was shocking. I expected to pay twice what I did to gain a gaming machine this powerful. Not sure where some of the negative reviews are coming from, but I certainly can not relate. Some of them certaily caused me hesitation in making my purchase. I ended up overlooking them as novice computer users that didn't realize what they had, or expecting excellent gaming results with the least expensive components available. Thankfully, I persevered and pulled the trigger. The geek cred you get with this is pretty much over the top as well (if you're into that sort of thing). Anyone that knows computers will instantly recognize you as someone that is serious about gaming. Anyway, buy one, you won't regret it. For comparison sake, here are my spec's (other than standard):
-i7 2820QM 2.3GHz (3.4GHz Turbo Mode, 8MB Cache)
-16GM Dual Channel DDR3 @ 1333MHz (4DIMMS)
-2GB GDDR5 Nvidia GeForce GTX 580M
-1.5TB Raid 0 (2x 750GB 7,200RPM
-Killer Wireless-N 1103 a/g/n 3x3 MIMO
Con's:
- It wasn't free
- I'm a 50yr old father of 4 gaming sons that are suddenly concerned about my will.
- If I think of any more, I'll let you know.
Pros:Gaming
+68points
73of 78voted this as helpful.
Review 67 for Alienware M17x R3
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JD1492
(US)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

A great laptop

PostedNovember 22, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought my M17x R3 with I7-2630m and HD6990M back in July. Actually the only reason I bought it was because the HD6990M and Alienware was the only computers that had them. I was unsure of my purchase at first but it turns out to be a very good one.
Pros: I have used it everyday and there hasn't been any major issues from this laptop. It runs everything I've tried on it. From Skyrim to BF3,Crysis 2,Metro 2033,Dirt 3 and etc.
Con: The fan does get REALLY LOUD, I know it's a gaming laptop and that's what it suppose to do, but if you are wondering how much noise those 2 fans can make? They sound like 2 overclocked GTX-480s. But they do get the job done.
Be sure to get someone that knows about these hardware before you buy, make them customize it first then you can get the best deal, it does get pricey if you don't choose the right hardware.
Pros:Gaming, Video Editing, movies
+5points
8of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 68 for Alienware M17x R3
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:RajaK
(Omaha)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Fail System

PostedNovember 17, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
I am having issues:
1. Watching Embedded videos, the green screen will show up and in the status bar "Display drivers were successfully recovered".
2. Videos will be lagging eventhough the video is fully buffered and having issues playing Divx videos from hard drive they lag pretty badly too.
3. I play Wow and it lags heavily and becomes unresponsive. I have checked my FPS and Network speed all were good. my Realm population is moderate.
My humble suggestion DO NOT buy this laptop.
Pros:games
-29points
11of 51voted this as helpful.
Review 69 for Alienware M17x R3
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:GTO2
(St. Jose)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

So Powerful~~

PostedNovember 17, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is the most powerful notebook I never see before. It is a little too heavy but I love it badly.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 70 for Alienware M17x R3
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Harry12345
Title:

Best Laptop I've owned. Would be 5 star if...

PostedNovember 11, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought this laptop fully loaded when it first came out. It is by far the best performance laptop on the market, and i can just imagine how much better the newer ones are with the i7 processors and 3D graphics (did not have these options when i bought mine). Run every game on full settings and never had crashes or any graphics lag at all. However, would be 5 stars if the customer service and warranty services were better. I WOULD NOT CONSIDER BUYING THIS LAPTOP WITHOUT 4 YEAR WARRANTY!!! I made the mistake of only getting the 1 year warranty, and after 2.5 years of use and no problems it would not let me log in because of "operating system changes". After many system restores and extensively trying to get this resolved, I hate to say it, but the dell/alienware customer service was absolutely no help whatsoever. Even though my warranty had expired, they would not help me at all in trying to fix the issue. So all-in-all 3/5 stars is what I rate it simply because of the customer service not being of any help. Other than that I highly recommend to the extreme gamer, just make sure you pay the extra bucks for the warranty!!
+11points
17of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 71 for Alienware M17x R3
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Darbs
Title:

Serious Bit Of Kit

PostedNovember 6, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I brought this system 1 month ago now this machine has it all looks, performance and well made. I went with the 2760qm chip 1600mhz mem and 6990m graphics and put a ssd into it which was very easy to upgrade plays all the latest games with everything turned up. Super stable cant recommend it enough to people spend the extra bit of cash and invest ;-)
Pros:Gaming, films, music
+4points
8of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 72 for Alienware M17x R3
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:dingebre
Title:

Best I've owned.

PostedNovember 5, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I've owned many computers over the years, and used/programmed even more. This is by far the best overall system I've ever owned or used.
It has enough computing power and audio/graphics quality to run my business from email and word processing to computationaly intensive tasks such as vehicle impact simulation, and other scientific software, 3D animation/rendering, Camera MatchMoving, photogrammetry, and video/photo photo editing software and does so with exceptional speed and ease.
There is enough capability leftover for my hobbies in electronics and music including auido circuit design and simulation, audio editing, and recording.
The construction is solid and the overall look and feel is excellent.
It is big and heavy, but the Alienware courier bag is a great accessory. I've run it through a half dozen airports in the last couple of months and the check point friendy feature is very convenient. I don't mind the heft as this is a rugged and solid laptop.
I have the GTX 560m video which works well with the newest graphics intensive games using the highest quality settings and full resolution, as well as the productivity graphics software I use. The feature where the GPU controls which appications use it is a clever and useful feature and works seamlessly for me.
I highly recommed the Alienware systems, in particular the M17x R3 like mine.
My only complaint is I have to use Windows...
Pros:vehicle dynamics simulation, 3d animation, circuit design and simulation, video/photo editing, general scientific computation
+4points
11of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 73 for Alienware M17x R3
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JoelB
(Brisbane)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Best Laptop Ever Owned

PostedOctober 29, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Bought an M17x R3 about 3 months ago, i7-2760 CPU, 8 GB RAM, Radeon HD 6990M GPU and 1.5 TB HDD. Honestly has been the best laptop I've ever owned or ever used and 5 time more powerful than anything in stores for same price. It is extremely reliable, good quality and powerful, playing anything ever I've thrown at it on ultra without any hassle. The battery life is awesome with the power saving GPU and easy to switch to. Also very quick postage, got here a week earlier then expected.
Pros:Gaming, university
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 74 for Alienware M17x R3
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Syned
Title:

Best laptop i have ever owned

PostedOctober 29, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I am sold on alienware! play all my games high graphics like a boss! Best laptop i have ever owned.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 75 for Alienware M17x R3
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Krunch
Title:

New M17x

PostedOctober 24, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Overall laptop is still new to me have only had it for going on about a week at this point, but so far what I can tell thrown a few higher graphical games at it ie.(cod blackops/mw2,crysis and so on) only problem is that the charger that came with it seems to have a short in it, but that wasn't much of a problem I called in, within 20 minutes a new one was ordered free of charge on 1-2 day delivery so overall very satisfied.
Pros:Gaming, Video Editing, School
0points
5of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 76 for Alienware M17x R3
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Chuzpah
(California)
Title:

Best laptop I've owned

PostedOctober 18, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Ordered a new M17x R3, this is my fourth Alienware laptop and is possibly the best laptop I've ever owned. I ordered it with a 2.5 Ghz i7 2nd Gen Sandy Bridge processor, Nvidia 580M Graphics card, duel 500GB SSD hybrid HDs (RAID 0), 16GB of memory, Bigfoot Wireless Adapter, 1920x180 HD screen and Blu-Ray reader. I did not get the 3D or wireless HD stuff because I will never use it! I play all my games at Full HD generally with no problems, however, I did have a minor issue with RAGE but a developer patch fixed it! The video card in this laptop ROCKs the house and is highly recommended if you want to spend the extra cash. I run Starcraft II with Extreme graphics quality and Ultra graphics shader settings. I average around 65 FPS at these settings during intense battles. I have seen the FPS as high as 85 when I'm just starting the game. I also have not noticed as much lag as as a result of having the Bigfoot wireless card installed. Other games such as WoW, Fallout 3, Batman Arkham Asylum run smooth at max settings as well.
Overall the build quality on this machine is one of the highest of any laptop I've owned (which has been over 10 in the past 12 years). The keyboard is solid (no flex anywhere), I type about 80 words per minute and it keeps up really well. The keys are spaced perfectly, like it better than the island Macbook style keyboards that laptops seem to have these days. I can easily run 8 to 10 virtual machines with VMware Workstation. The only disappointment is the lack of Extreme processor and duel graphics support. The M18x is too big for travel but this laptop travels well in my Briggs and Riley laptop backpack which even fits in the overhead of small regional airplanes. Love this machine, design and power, keep up the good work Alienware!
Pros:Gaming, virtualization, Travel, adobe apps
+11points
12of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 77 for Alienware M17x R3
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Anonymous
(new waverly indiana)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good

PostedOctober 5, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is by far the worst laptop I've ever owned. Alienware claims to be the best in the business for gaming laptops and I've had nothing but issues since I've owned the machine. I had better experiences buying cheap machines at Best Buy. Over roughly a 4 month period I've on average called at least every other week on a problem. The biggest being a video issue where the entire screen goes blank and the machine has to be powered off then back on. They've replaced the internal components and still no fix. They refuse to replace the laptop with a new machine with the same configuration or refund me 100% of the money. I personally don't like buying something new, having problems from opening the box, then having it replaced with used product
Pros:Gaming
+24points
57of 90voted this as helpful.
Review 78 for Alienware M17x R3
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ghiles
(Dallas,TX)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Great Computer!

PostedOctober 2, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
The Alienware M17X has went far beyond my expectations. Its aesthetics are amazing and it runs all of my games on ultra graphics. It does get pretty hot sometimes but just make shure it has space to vent and it will be ok.
Pros:Gaming, streaming video
+8points
10of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 79 for Alienware M17x R3
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Anonymous
(NY)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

The best laptop ever.

PostedSeptember 24, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I was using different types of MacBook Pros over the last few years and now I decided to buy this awesome looking Alienware. Since I am working as a web designer and have to decode videos with x264 they requested me buying a good quality laptop, of course they didn't mention it has to be using Apple OS and I had to install the leopard OS on it using some advanced software. I didn't have a single problem since then and the Apple OS is working really quick on this monster.
Pros:web design, decoding, programming, hd videos, music
0points
5of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 80 for Alienware M17x R3
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Anks
Title:

Please do read

PostedSeptember 23, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Received my First Alienware m17x r3.
Problems:
-Loose battery
-Hardrive remains 50 degree celcius on ideal mode
-Unstable drivers. If you install any games or softwares we need to be careful for Win 7 64x as the nvidia drivers become unstable.
-After 9 weeks my Secondary hardrive segate raising till temprature 59 degree celcius on load. The segate official data sheet mentions max 60 degree temprature range. Got this hard drive replaced in next business day. Good service by dell.
-On 11 th week my primary hard drive Western digtal was underperforming. Problem faced was i was not able to play game or video if some file transfer is going in background. Major glitches were coming. Called techagent,one told its hard drive issue, one told its ram issue and another told its video card issue. Now it seemed every one was guessing what the issue was. After that the primary hard drive which was having OS i made hectic task and decision to replace this hardrive. Got this replaced too in next business day. Again good service for replacement.
-After receiving new primary HDD i called tech agent to install new OS and drivers. As soon as he was installing the drivers and restarted. Boom i got Blue screen (BSOD).
-These error were frequent and i was not able to use this laptop more then 5 min everytime i turn on my machine.
-Called tech support again to install the drivers. But still same problem.
-Then they told to send my laptop to Dell Service Depot stating that i will receive the laptop in 5 days with all issues corrected. I had also sent the printout to the dell service team with my laptop stating all the above mentioned issues. But to my nightmare when they sent me the laptop back it was all covered with white dust and when i started my system i got blue screen again. I dont know what they did and what they corrected. But to be frank the service was really not reliable. There were even scratches on my laptop.
-With all these nightmares on my first Alienware laptop. I decided to ask for a replacement of a New laptop and not refurbished. First they told that since i had already used this laptop 11 weeks i am not eligible for a new one. But then i explained him that i am facing all above issues since 1.5 months and its a loong time where i had not used my laptop and was just resolving all these issues now and then.
-Followed up with tech agent and repeateadly every day and asked for a replacement of new laptop.
-He said that he will get an approval from his manager and so he got the same.
-Order was placed for a new laptop and i got it in 15 working days.
-Well to be frank the machine is ausm and is a beast. But if you are lucky to get a good system this machine is worth to have.
-Till date its been 2 months now my 2nd replaced alienware system is working up to mark with no issues (Touch wood).
-Well just one thing i am worried about is if we are spending thousands of USD on this beast we expect no issues from a new laptop. But again its an individual choice.
+51points
56of 61voted this as helpful.
  1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 9