Customer reviews for Alienware M14X R2

Alienware M14X R2

Alienware M14X R2
4.403 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 241 reviews
5 Stars
163
4 Stars
45
3 Stars
14
2 Stars
5
1 Star
14
4.4
 / 
5
(241 reviews) 232
211 out of 24188%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Alienware M14X R2
Review 1 for Alienware M14X R2
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Ali24
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Alienware's shame

PostedFebruary 3, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have been an alienware user for a while and have seen the quality and reliabilty gradually go down. The sytem i am using now i.e. the M14x r2 started off with being a pretty decent system but after a few months its marred by lack of quality components. I have had to replace the charger couple of times as they fail to charge the battery after a while. The screen has developed a bright patch, the speakers crackle even at 30% volume. The keyboard automatically starts to capitalize the letter unless i strike the shift button to get it back to normal. The laptop produces immense heat even when its idle and the fan never turns off. There are frequent BSODs because of some hardware issues. Worse of them all is the trottling during gameplay which is bizzare for a gaming laptop, after that i feel like i am gaming on a netbook.
Overall my latest experience with alienware has been a really expensive nightmare and i would now never ever venture to opt for an Alienware product ever again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Alienware M14X R2
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:hatchibomitar
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Hardcore Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

everything i wanted

PostedJanuary 20, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought the m14x May of last year, and had been saving for at least 6 months. A lot of people say it's too expensive, but I feel as though I paid for exactly what I got.
I use this laptop every day for anything I have to do. I game, do schoolwork, surf the internet, watch movies, tv, YouTube, and Netflix and it handles it all perfectly. The framerate for games is incredible, 60+ for taxing games and 120 for simple ones. The display looks great. I love changing the keyboard colors. It's a shame they discontinued this model, but I'm sure the 14 is just as good (it isn't customizable but shh).
Overall very happy with Alienware. Haven't had any technical problems at all over these 8 months. I've traveled with it quite a few times; perfect size for using on planes. Battery life is pretty good, though I leave it plugged in most of the time. Speakers are good too. Everything is good really
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Alienware M14X R2
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:CSH5564
(Hustisford, WI)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Design/graphics
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Alienware M14X

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
This PC is performing as expected. The Solid State Drive is wonderful. Loads fast and processes fast
Pros:solid state drive
Cons:higher than normal size makes it harder to type
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Alienware M14X R2
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Eyrie659
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Hardcore Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Stable & powerful

PostedNovember 10, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
In a nutshell, my standard build for my M14x was pretty solid. As far as I can tell, my rig was built 2011 and I bought it Christmas of 2012. A year later, and I haven't had to make any upgrades yet, but I probably will fairly soon. Most games get 50+ fps, except newer titles like Crysis 3 or BF 4, are nearly unplayable. I don't care though, I did after all make the choice not to upgade my GPU or hard drive when I bought it. To anyone buying one, that is a must, especially if you have lots of games. I have 150 GB of 500 left and I've used it for about 11 months.
The fan is pretty loud, and I've had one problem where it started screeching like nails on a chalkboard though and I couldn't get the system off, I was pretty sure it was broken. Its fine though: a solid computer. Battery life is about 3 hours when gaming, but if I'm gaming I'm not going to play while travelling so that doesn't matter. One major con is the wireless card, which seems to work great most the time. A while ago when I first started playing League of Legends I would have a latency of 400+ms, which was needless to say unbearable. It acts up occasionally, but for the most part it works pretty well.
All in all, while you could build a better computer yourself, an M14x is pretty amazing.
Pros:powerful enough for most games, alienfx is amazing, sleek and easy to clean feel, 3 usb ports, an hdmi (never needed two some might)
Cons:short battery life, can't upgrade gpu after buying, wireless card can have problems, takes 5+ minutes to log onto my user (no idea why), trackpads pretty much useless for gaming, fan gets loud if you don't have a headset
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Alienware M14X R2
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Gramaru
(Ontario, Canada)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Hardcore Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

This Product has a lot of Problems.

PostedNovember 9, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Unfortunately, the M14X has a lot of problems in my time of using it.
First things first, the first thing I noticed when using my M14x was that the fan is insanely loud and annoying. Secondly, there has been a lot of hardware failures such as having broken ram cards installed and I needed to return the laptop and get a new one. Next there is the problem with blue screens, these laptops tend to have issues and blue screen not frequently, but within the first year of purchase. Finally, they seem to deteriorate quickly, with the FPS when you first get the laptop and first start to play games being really really something else, but however into the year of owning it, the performance deteriorates. Overall, the price may be a bit high for the service from Alienware you recieve, and the contents in the machine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Alienware M14X R2
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:AwesomeEric
(Dallas, TX)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Hardcore Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Excellent features, and not a bad price.

PostedNovember 6, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I'll start this off by saying this: I have an Alienware Laptop, an M14XR2. I got it around a year ago for Christmas. My Dad got it for me, and of course I've added a mouse/keyboard/laptop fan etc but it was still a very good price even with adding those parts on. When I first looked at Alienware computers almost a decade ago, it was like a fantasy, because of how expensive they were. This laptop I am currently using is a great price - because it's not so much a laptop, it's more like a PC in a laptop body (this laptop is very close to as fast as my desktop... which has every piece of hardware upgraded). I don't feel there is any difference playing the newest games on my PC or Alienware laptop, they run about the same. The graphics on the laptop are incredible, just as good as a desktop. And I cannot forget to mention one of the coolest things Alienware has done- the Alienware Command Center. Now, it is way cool to be able to customize all those things you can customize. But the coolest part of it by far is being able to change the light color/speed/gradiance/etc; there are so many ways to customize the light color on the backlit keyboard as well as the logo and mouse pad. I must admit, when I first got this laptop, I spent about two days just playing with the backlit keyboard, making all sorts of different patterns in the Alienware Command Center. This laptop is one of the best gifts I have ever recieved. And it sure is nice to have a computer in college that I can entertain myself with between classes.
Pros:fast processor, customizable backlit keyboard, 6 gb of ram, runs video games smoothly, good size - 15 inch screen, alienware command center, universal - school games work etc., not excessively expensive
Cons:not enough usb ports, alienware should include a virus/spyware program, sound is very quiet
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Alienware M14X R2
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Emmerick
(North Carolina)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Hardcore Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Pint Sized Powerhouse

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Overall the computer is excellent. You would be hard pressed to find a laptop of this size with the performance that the M14X R2 has. Easily keeps up with other, larger gaming laptops. The downside to the super fast game play is the amount of heat generated by this system. I can't use this laptop unless I have an external fan for fear of overheating and crashing. Other than that, I give this computer a solid five stars.
Pros:fast, cool design, portability
Cons:excessive heat
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Alienware M14X R2
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ZigZagWanderer
(Australia)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Very nice machine with the specs I chose

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I wanted a specific build, and that was 16 GB RAM, a 512 GB SSD, and a fast processor, but overall not too heavy. The MX14x R2 really does deliver, and the graphics card is pretty good too (a bonus for me).
The weight is way down from my last Alienware (15Mx?), and it has a nice rubberised feel instead of smooth metal. With the SSD, it runs silent except when gaming. Under load, it blasts the fan, but not enough to cause issues.
Battery life is extremely good for such a powerful laptop, too, although gaming off power will not last long, of course.
Pros:not too heavy, battery pretty good, processor pretty good
Cons:a bit pricey but worth it for what i selected
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Alienware M14X R2
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Wan_Weinhofen
(Ipoh, Perak, Malaysia)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Hardcore Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Awesome gaming platform, but with slight issues.

PostedJuly 19, 2013
User submitted photo
Yes, I would recommend this product
It looks awesome enough, it oozes awesomeness and there's no game that it can handle. But, I had my fair shares of slight lags when playing games. Its not something that is too serious but needs to be dealt with, because sometimes the lag can pop-up at the worst time possible. Haha, I had my fair shares of that. Hope that this issue can be resolved. Besides that, I highly recommend the M14X model for its sheer performance and ultra-portability. RED is the colour you should seek for.
Pros:bleeding-edge graphics, cool customizable led keyboard, f-22-ish design
Cons:slight lag when playing games.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Alienware M14X R2
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ThatGuy1
(Australia)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

All-round great machine

PostedJuly 17, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I've had my Alienware m14x laptop for almost 8 months now and am still blown away by the performance it offers. I have the laptop in a 'break away' setup with 2 monitors and surround audio. I mainly use it for graphical design and gaming. When rendering my old pc would take 15mins on a 'medium' setting, the Alienware can do an 'ultra' render in under a minute. As for gaming it can play every game I've thrown at it on the highest settings without a noticeable drop in frame rate.
I've also had the laptop running 3 monitors at once to test the system. Each monitor had a different game running on it, the frame rate did drop but was still at a playable level. Unfortunately, as far as I can tell the graphics card doesn't support 3 monitor gaming, this isn't very surprising though.
As for noise, which from what I'd read was quite poor, is non existent for everyday tasks, and will only become noticeable after a few good hours playing a game. And even then isn't an issue because it is easily over powered by the high quality audio being pumped out by the integrated speakers.
The weight also isn't much of an issue either, however carrying it in a shoulder bag for more than an hour gets a big sore.
I only have two issues with the laptop:
1 - The screen is too reflective and is hard to use outside or opposite a window.
2 - That dell didn't bring out the sweet new Alienware 14 design (that I now really want) earlier.
It truely is a great all-round machine
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Alienware M14X R2
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:PeterJR
(Pompano Beach, FL, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Hardcore Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

R.I.P M14x R2 2012-2013

PostedJuly 14, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
When i say "R.I.P" i mean that the item will never be for sale on the dell site again brand new and not that my alienware died, Now what can i say about this bad boy, Well it exceeded my expectations in just about every way, On BF3 on high setting i get 42-55fps on Farcry 3 on the ultra setting i get 30-35fps On Tombraider on high i get 35-40fps,
This thing is a boss, Its really awesome i have owned about 7 laptops in my life (Including a macbook) And this one sweeps them all away, Now to address peoples concerns,
(Hinge problem) I have had my m14x r2 for about 2/ months,
And there has been no problems with the hinge's,
(Noisy) Not noisy at all when doing something like web browsing or running less demanding games like mw2, When running GPU intense games like the ones i have mentioned my benchmarks with, It gets loud, But not noticeably loud, the speakers are so good i can't really hear it,
(Heat) Same as the noisy thing, Not hot when surfing the web, But it gets about 70c when gaming.
CONS: If you see the con "FX Lighting" I will explain in detail, Well when i set all the colors the same on
Alienware command center, The colors are completely different, I will set dark blue and the grills and keyboard will be cyan, I will set cyan and the grills the alien head and keyboard will be light green(The alienhead is dark blue though), So in order for me to fix this i have to mess around with the lighting and basically set the keyboard and grills different colors to match the mouse and the alienhead
That is the only con, Other than that i would recommend the M14x R2 (If it still existed) to anyone in a heartbeat.
Pros:looks awesome, performs like a boss, keyboard is nice, rubberized feel, long battery life
Cons:fx lighting
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Alienware M14X R2
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Alphawolf
(Southwest Michigan)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Hardcore Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

M14X

PostedJuly 10, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
i7-3630 3rd Gen CPU
8 GB 1600Mhz RAM
650m with Optimus
256 SSD
This laptop works extremely well. I have only used my desktop once for gaming since I bought this laptop. I connect to my wireless and game over the wirless without any lag with the Intel Centrino Wireless adapter. It boots quickly and runs everything with good graphic displays, not lagging and I have connected it to my tv (40" Phillips flat screen LED) and it had no latency issues as well.
My only issues was the time it took to ship me the product. It should not have taken as long as it did for the price that was paid. Once I did get it, I was and am still happy with the product.
Pros:fastgraphics are awesome alienfx is neat
Cons:small screen size
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Alienware M14X R2
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:mikmosue24
(springfield, MO)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Casual Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

4 months/8 hours a day like a BOSS

PostedJuly 10, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I got my 14x R2 (i5, 1gb ram) basic package in march- I have it on all day at work. Love it, graphics, sound, connections, WIN7 (woot)
It handles everything I throw at it.
It's a little heavy, but that is a sign of good stuff inside :)
one minor issue is win media player will not play any REDBOX dvd's for the life of me! oh well, downloaded VLC media player- all is right in the world.
Thanks Alienware for making a good laptop.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Alienware M14X R2
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Navyguy
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Casual Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Poor value for cost

PostedJuly 5, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this computer 14 months ago and now all it will do is beep. I am 2 months out of warranty and based on the beep code it is a motherboard issue which means I need to get a new computer. For the price I would expected it to last longer than 14 months but if you do purchase this computer make sure to pay the extra money for the extended warranty.
Pros:over all works well (when it works)
Cons:stoped working after 14 months
Response from Dell.comBy SaraTforDellCustomer ReviewsJuly 9, 2013
Hello Navyguy,

I am sorry to hear that your experiencing issues with your laptop. Please feel free to reach out to our DellCares team. They may be able to help isolate the root cause and advise on the best solution. DellCares Alienware support is available through the Dell Community Forums (
http://dell.to/KZBaoK) or through Twitter- @AlienwareTech (http://bit.ly/VAaJvA) and @DellCares (http://dell.to/Tgt5D7).

-SaraT
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Alienware M14X R2
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Danny04
(Sangli, Maharashtra, India)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Problems with microphone and speakers!

PostedJune 23, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I got my alienware m14x laptop on june 4th & i was really happy with it.but as the time elapsed,problems started to arise;
1.microphone is not working properly and irritating sound is coming from my speakes
2.speaker quality has been degraded.
3.problem in alienware command centre software and alien fx
4.fan is a little bit damaged
Response from Dell.comBy JohnBforDellCustomer ReviewsJune 26, 2013
Hey Danny04,

Sorry to hear about the issue you are having with your Alienware laptop.
Please, use the information below to contact us. The team members below will get you taken care of.
Please reach out to our Dell Support Team at:

• Dell Community Forums – New to the Community:
http://dell.to/GY65Xz
Dell Alienware Owners Club (look for Chris M)-
http://dell.to/165pulf
• You can contact our Dell Cares Team on Twitter (@DellCares):
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ
• If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
http://bit.ly/15zzg95
A Facebook account is required to use this option. Please use the message button and provide your Name, service tag, email address and a brief description of the issue.”

Thank you. JGB
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Alienware M14X R2
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Hridheek
(Buffalo, NY, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Hardcore Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Game Victorious

PostedJune 15, 2013
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Yes, I would recommend this product
It delivers exactly what it claims. Can go into a lot of details and explain everything but lets keep it short.
This a machine built to offer performance while still making it portable. The Nvidia 650M GT @ 2GB is more than capable at running the games you love at a good framerate. There has been no game as of now that showed a sign of deep stutter or lag (occasional frame rate drops were observable few time but very marginal). The games I tried are (Crysis 1,2,3, Battlfield 3, GTA 4, COD series, NFS series, Asassin's Creed Series, Batman Arkham series, Farcry 3, Tomb Raider and few more). All were run on high settings. A friend of mine wanted to play on my system while i was away and when i returned he was running 3 games at once (Arkham City, 2012 NFS Most Wanted and Dead Space 3) and yup, no lag! All 3 games were running without any hiccups. Leaving the more inept details aside, it is clear of this systems potential.
The next thing to talk about is the portability. Yes it is an alienware so it is not light. But it makes up with its compatibility in terms of fitting snugly into laptop bags. The dual GPU setup is extremely power efficient. As suggested by Dell, you do get 6 hrs of battery life provided you keep things to a minimum (enabling power saver to operate the i7 clock speed to 1196MHz, brightness low and use less intensive apps (no gaming or CPU or GPU intensive apps like Photoshop and other editing software)). All in all it is one of the best laptops out there which offers you the power with portability and I am very satisfied with my M14XR2.
Specs:
Core i7 @2.30 Ghz (turbo boost to 3.40 Ghz)
8 GB 1333 Mhz
Nvidia 2GB 650M GT
500 GB 7200 RPM HDD
Pros:Gaming, performance, long battery life, awesome design, build quality
Cons:reflective screen
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Alienware M14X R2
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Damian95
(United Kingdom)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Great gaming laptop

PostedJune 15, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Best laptop I ever used and seen, runs all games with no problem, looks nice (different than other laptops).
Pros:screen, performance, keyboard, nice design
Cons:little loud fan sometimes, low battery (pulsing alienware head)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Alienware M14X R2
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ICONJIMMY
(Houston, TX, USA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

THIS IS THE BEST OF THE BEST FOR DJS AND GAMERS ALIKE

PostedJune 13, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I HAVEN'T BEEN THIS BLOWN AWAY BY A PRODUCT SINCE MY FIRST SONY STEREO 20 YEARS AGO!
Pros:best
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Alienware M14X R2
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Max90
(Ashland, VA 23005, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Hardcore Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Alienware M14X R2 review

PostedJune 13, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I use to own the dell inspiron before this one that had an I7processor, 6gb ram, and a 1gb nvidia card that I purchased spring 2012. A decent computer that has enough to run most games on modern graphics but no powerhouse. I recently purchased the M14X R2 in May 2013. Here are the specs
-3rd Generation Intel Core i7-3630QM (6MB Cache, up to 3.4GHz w/ Turbo Boost 2.0)
-16GB Dual Channel DDR3 at 1600MHz
-2 GB DDR5 NVIDIA GeForceGT 650M using NVIDIA Optimus technology
- 32G mSATA caching SSD and 750GB 7200RPM SATA 3Gb/s
-Killer Wireless-N 1202 a/g/n 2x2 MIMO for Gaming and Video and Bluetooth 4.0
So far I have had ZERO issues with the machine and my only major complaint is the fan can be a little loud. But I use a Targus laptop cooler with 2 fans built in. That way its raised a little off the work surface and gets great airflow. The internal fan rarely has to kick in even when running full graphics on games.
I currently am Running Starcraft 2: Heart of the Swarm and wings of Liberty, World of Tanks, Metro Last Light, Left 4 Dead 2, Killing Floor. I can run all of these with ZERO lag issues, high FPS rates, and the graphics are phenomenal. Also loaded these through digital downloads EXTREMELY fast. I have never had a computer that was this fast and capable
Plus use skype, Itunes and Netflix.
Last notes: The only reason it did not get 5 stars is because of the Fan. I normally would since its just a small issue but I dont want to make it TOO easy for you guys.
Pros:fast gaming on high graphics and fps, compact size compared to other gaming systems, the alienware command center and alienfx are great
Cons:fan is a little loud, heavy compared to other 14in none gaming laptops
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Alienware M14X R2
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Ripple
(California, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Casual Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Amazing Laptop

PostedJune 4, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought the cheapest Alienware M14x gaming laptop, and I have to say, I had my doubts. But when I opened up the package and started gaming I was amazed. This laptop has tons of cool features, and it is amazing for gaming, even the cheapest one can run games on high settings with 40 fps+. Playing with the alienware fx has been a very fun experience, and I couldn't be happier with my order. So far I have run Smite, League Of Legends, and Blacklight Retribution on the highest setting with at least 40 fps on each game, League getting all the way up to 60. Then, there's Minecraft, in which I can run with 220 fps +. With shaders mod, runs at about 100 +. Quite an amzing laptop, I would recommend this to everyone. You get what you ask for for the price, and it is an amzing experience. From now on, I will never buy any laptop that isn't from Dell, and more specifically Alienware.
Pros:excellent for gaming, very fun to play around with, amazing cooling system, defiantly worth the price
Cons:nothing
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 12