Customer reviews for Alienware M11x

Alienware M11x

Alienware M11x
4.491 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 515 reviews
5 Stars
365
4 Stars
95
3 Stars
19
2 Stars
15
1 Star
21
4.5
 / 
5
(515 reviews) 495
467 out of 51591%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Alienware M11x
Review 1 for Alienware M11x
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:thewickedjon
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Casual Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Awesome little machine

PostedJune 29, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Laptops are meant to be portable. It does not make sense to carry a 15" plus screen scoliosis inducing behemoth around and call it "portable".
If you want a large display, connect your machine to a TV, or get a desktop.
The M11x is a prime example of engineering at its finest.
A beautiful machine , with above average performance (for its time) I wish dell would not have discontinued this machine.
If a new one came out, I would buy it hands down.
Pros:its an alienware!, backlight keyboard., long battery life., dedicated graphics on an 11.6" portable!!!
Cons:glossy screen useless outdoors
Response from Dell.comBy JohnBforDellCustomer ReviewsJuly 12, 2013
Hey Thewickedjon,

Thanks for the review on the M11x. These were awesome little systems. I'd love to see them come back as well.

Thanks again! JGB
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Alienware M11x
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DP340
(Beverly Hills, CA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

I love the M11x

PostedMarch 21, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I still can't believe Dell discontinued the M11x. I love this machine and will not replace it for a Dell laptop.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Alienware M11x
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Tynarus
(Illinois)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

M11x R1 Review

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought an M11x R1 about a year ago for my birthday. I must say it was amazing out of the box! Quick start-up, fast gaming, the works.
However... About the second day or so my laptop starts freezing up seemingly at random. Freezing up being... Hanging, unable to move the mouse, the last sound that was playing being turned into an annoying buzz sound, though the alien FX lights still did their thing correctly, having to do a forced shut down by holding down the power button... Sometimes it would freeze once every few days, sometimes it would freeze three+ times in a single day. I was very unhappy with this problem and went on the Dell support forums for help, where no one could find out what the problem was. So, the problem persisted for months and months, but the laptop was otherwise amazing.
And then I got fed up with the problem, and went to a Windows 7 support forum for help. This was after my warranty ran out, of course. While they didn't find my problem directly, their suggestions DID lead me to solving the problem myself quite quickly.
Turns out a Dell-installed program was causing the problem. Dell DataSafe backup was conflicting with ANY external HDD/Flash Drive I plugged into the computer and would cause it to freeze and lock-up. Once I stropped the program from running on start up, or running at all, the problem went away completely.
Well, almost completely. Turns out the M11x R1 tends to lock-up like that when it doesn't like something, aka a program conflicting with something. I've had it lock up a few more times for other issues that were much more minor and only caused lock-ups every couple months, if that.
In short, tl;dr: If you have Dell DataSafe Backup running on your laptop, I would disable it immediately. All it does is cause problems. I would suggest Dell simply remove it from all systems completely, as it's pretty much useless and, from what I can tell, only causes computers to lock-up whenever you're using external storage media.
Since then the computer has been running about the same as the time I got it, fairly nicely. The keyboard lights started to dim and go out pretty quickly after I got it though, putting a little more quality into those would go a long way for you guys, I think.
Overall I'd give it an 8.5/10. I'm thinking about getting an M14x soon as well, hope it comes out well like this one, as I've heard cases of very bad craftsmanship right out of the box. My only real concern or annoyance being the pesky Dell DataSafe Backup that caused me great grief and headaches for the better part of a year. Dell, get rid of it!
- Rains
Pros:software development, college, Gaming
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Alienware M11x
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:520ip
Title:

Previous experience

PostedSeptember 3, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I own a MX11 since 2010 and have nearly the whole laptop repaired to date. To be completely honest I am very dissatisfied with the quality of the repair with all parts used being refurbished.
The biggest problem really is that Dell/Alienware repair engineers have left my laptop with a very uneven/not flush keyboard. This does not match the tech spec or description at the time of release.
For this reason I would not recommend any Alienware Service or Alienware Laptops at this time.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Alienware M11x
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:magdalenad
(Santa clara)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Cool Laptop

PostedAugust 15, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
This laptop is great. I am a college student and it is great for school. Everyone oo's and ah's at the changing lights on the laptop. I also enjoy how 3rd party programs can take control over the lights and change them depending on the situation. I highly recommend it to people who want a reliable computer and know how to work windows. Not for the inexperienced.
Pros:personal, School
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Alienware M11x
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:SRCTraveler
(all over)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Small and powerfull

PostedJuly 18, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I got this laptop a year ago so I've had a great amount of time to test it out. I love this laptop. its great for travel and still have power to play most games today. I carry this with me when going to lanparties or when just out on the town.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Alienware M11x
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:jaeyang9
(NJ)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

love it! running 2 years now with no problems

PostedJuly 10, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
my specs:
m11x R2
i7 640UM @ 166 overclock
nvidia gt 335m/stock settings
8mb DDR3
512gb samsung ssd
this was my first alienware purchase and i have not regretted it yet.. except maybe waiting for the R3.
pros:
size & mobility
performance
the "wow" factor
runs all current games on the go (detail level settings may vary, in my opinion, but this is negligible considering the screen size)
cons:
needs a matte screen
cpu/gpu cannot be upgraded.. soldered to mobo
DISCONTINUED BY DELL in favor of the m14x?
that's my 2cents. grab one before they run out! ;D
Pros:Gaming, web browsing, multimedia
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Alienware M11x
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:angrykato
(Palm beach gardens)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Absolute DISAPPOINTMENT

PostedJune 27, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
First off, I think the whole outlook of the product is excellent, mind blowing, and outstanding. I love the whole idea of an "Alienware."
Now my whole perspective changed the first 2 weeks I had the M11x "gaming" laptop. Been having problems from then until now. What I thought was a gaming laptop turn out to be horrible. I wouldn't even have to be playing a game. This laptop freezing constantly and it's driving me insane. I play numerous games on it, play simple youtube videos, and listen to music. Somehow the system still manages to freeze.
As any other normal customer of dell I called for support to see what was going on. I stayed on the phone for 4 hours trying to solve this problem with support and still have not gotten the results I wanted.
$600(Got it on sale on the website) wasted for a prestigious gaming laptop that can barely play runescape. Also it doesn't even have a disc drive! I can't install any games or play movies because it has no where to put any CD's.
Honestly not even worth $600 or the $999.99 it's currently.
I'm completely upset with this product and I don't recommend it to any online gamers.
Thank you.
Pros:Gaming, streaming video
-2points
6of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Alienware M11x
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:WoWAddic
Title:

Total Waste of Money!

PostedApril 22, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
This laptop worked all right for the year ( I was expecting a little more out of this, for the outrageous price). The mx11 has awful hing issues. Myself and many other had to send it in for the repair. Also, the graphics card died, and, Alienware wanted me to pay a $300 fee to fix it. That's so no going to happen! Don't buy this laptop, unless you have the extra money to fix this poorly made machine.
Pros:Gaming, personal use
-4points
5of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Alienware M11x
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:julstride
Title:

Excellent Customer Service and Product

PostedApril 20, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I purchased this laptop 2 years ago and recently extended my warranty. The keyboard then malfunctioned, I suppose it just happens, no laptop is infallible. However, I want to vouch 100% for their customer service in how they took care of it. I mailed out my laptop 4-1/2 days ago to somewhere on the opposite side of this country. They updated me on the phone when they received it, updated me on the phone when they were done and now, the same week, 4-1/2 days ago, its back in my living room. How can you explain that? NOBODY does it like DELL and I was skeptical believe me. Alienware M11x? How is this little champ, you ask? Its perfect. Power in a small hard package, anti "Frail, Thin", and the look of it just beats everything else out there in this size (most of them small, useless, not powerful silver purse pretenders). A+++
Pros:showcasing my design work
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Alienware M11x
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Moe1988
(Fresno, ca)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Highly recommended system

PostedMarch 15, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
PROS:
11" powerhouse
Head spinner wherever i go
Runs everything i throw at it
CONS:
The screws on the bottom look a bit worn as if i tried to unscrew them myself thats why i have a 9
Pros:games, video rendering, programming
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Alienware M11x
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:moonangel8422
(UK)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Excellent product, price and service

PostedFebruary 5, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
It's difficult to find many laptops with the combination of power and compact dimensions that the M11x has, least of all within the same price area. That was what drew me to this laptop.
The M11x looks great in dark high quality plastic and feels very solid. It's quite light and handles all windows tasks and games I have tried so far with ease.
The alienware software can be a little cumbersome and increases boot up times but is generally useful. The backlit keyboard is a boon in low light and the laptop looks great overall. The screen is clear and well lit with neutral colours.
The only negative I have found so far is that the fans are rather noisy in games, but you get used to it.
Overall I'm very pleased and would recommend the M11x as a compact gaming laptop.
Pros:photo editing, Gaming, streaming music
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Alienware M11x
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Slk877
(Cambridgeshire)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Perfect Christmas gift

PostedJanuary 15, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Purchased as a gift for my fiancé's daughter. Having already owned an Alienware desktop, I was quite confident this M11x would be the ideal bridge for mild gaming, school work and other multimedia requirements. However, this product truly impresses in terms of power from such a small machine. I took the time to setup the laptop before Christmas day, trying a few games. Fallout 3 ran like a dream on max settings @ 720p. Also synced up the Microsoft controller for windows and it was an absolute pleasure to play. The setup included entry level i3 processor, 4gb's RAM and gt540m GPU. Now highly tempted to buy one for myself @ work :)
Pros:
. Build quality is fantastic
. Truly powerful for its size
. Backlit keyboard is very impressive.
Cons
. Screen is quite glare prone
. No internal DVD drive (not really an issue, but some people may find this a turn off). You can pickup super slim external drives for a reasonable
Price if it's truly a problem.
Pros:Gaming, web browsing, school work
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Alienware M11x
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:mkdevereaux
(Arizona)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average

PostedJanuary 13, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I absolutely love my Alienware M11x. It is very light weight, so it is great to carry around my ENORMOUS college campus. But it is still awesome when I want to pop into a chair and start playing WoW!
Pros:Gaming, School
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Alienware M11x
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:shadrak
Title:

Alienware M11X

PostedJanuary 12, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros
Super fast, great graphics, and more memory than I will probably ever need. I love the exterior design.
Cons
The screen is a little floppy, the hinge could use a make over. The screen is also very shiny so any light will cause major glare. The laptop itself is heavy compared to others the same size. This could realy use an interior disk drive.
Pros:every day use, light gaming
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Alienware M11x
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:awm67
Title:

ALIENWARE M11X - small game notebook

PostedJanuary 12, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
All are talking today about tablets and netbooks, bigger screens more resolution. Tablets are a nice addon and a notebook with a 17" display is great for keeping at home, but I bought my system to be able to move it around.
I really took my time until I made my decision. Fast, ready for games, small, light and a good screen have been my needs. And finally all felt out due there have been something missing except the M11X.
Pros
- fast
- good resolution
- good size
Cons
- get's a bit loud when heavily used
- screen shiny
The shiny screen can be solved with a screen protector by dell and it works well. Nevertheless I think it should be non-glare from the beginning.
There are many reviews about this notebook who can tell you better about the facts then I do. From me just this it's a fast and solid product I would buy again for my purpose.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Alienware M11x
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:OliverG
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Alienware

PostedJanuary 12, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
The notebook is OK but I cannot believe that there is no integrated CD/DVD player. How can this be classified as a gaming PC without one? And at no point is the build process are you give the option to add one. Last time I buy a notebook from Dell.
-15points
4of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Alienware M11x
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ChRabbit
Title:

M11x - a fantastic laptop for gaming and business

PostedJanuary 6, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
First let me say that I use my computer for both business and personal fun. I needed something tha I could take with me anywhere but still have the guts to play.
The Alienware M11x hit it right on. It's got surprisingly good battery life, is small and portable but can swing heavy with the games I'm playing. I didn't think that I would play around with the different colored light options but my son saw it and went nuts.
While the screen is small that was part of my purchase criteria and when it is on my desk I've always got it running my 24" monitor and plugged into a 5.1 speaker system.
Money very, very well spent.
Pros:Travel, writing - authoring, Gaming, presentations spreadsheets word
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Alienware M11x
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ConcertCellist
Title:

Hinges broken after 13 months of light use!

PostedDecember 30, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros
I have an i7. Video, gaming, size, battery life, wow factor, all great.
BUT...
CONS
Do not purchase this cheaply designed computer.
There is a design flaw in the hinges.
Mine broke in 13 months.
Utube has many angry customers demonstrating broken hinges.
I had to fix mine with epoxy - isn't that great.
Alienware - there is no excuse for this!
Review:
I will be selling my m11x i7 in mint cond in 2 weeks - I'll give Apple a try.
Pros:work, pleasure
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Alienware M11x
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Jasondef1991
Title:

Couldn't be happier

PostedDecember 22, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Using Dell.co.uk was easy and straight forward, it was clear what was going to be included with my order and explained well what each option was. When I did order my M11x it came within a week with no troubles, which is a very good service compared to other online stores.
Pros:
- Similar size to a netbook, but with twice the power. I went for the i7 Processor which is so fast and smooth it beats any netbook on the market.
- Very good build quality, strong hinge, nice form.
- Very good keyboard with stunning lights
- Good range of different ports including HDMI port, card reader etc.
- More lights! I just love the lighting on the laptop.
- It's an Alienware, you know it is going to be the best.
Cons:
- Although I like the fact the air vent is at the back, the air intake is located underneath. So most times I need to make some room so the laptop can keep cool. However if it is the best place to put it, I honestly don't mind.
- The laptop does get quite hot after a while especially if you are playing a game on it, but if you have it on a desk it is fine.
- The track pad just feels a bit too rough for my taste, but I'll get used to it eventually.
Overall I am very pleased with my M11x, I had a hard decision between this and the Macbook Air, but I went for this for the pure power of it and the lights!
5 Stars!
Pros:streaming videos, Gaming, watching films, work
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 25