Customer reviews for Alienware M11x R3

Alienware M11x R3

Alienware M11x R3
4.385 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 148 reviews
5 Stars
98
4 Stars
32
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
3
1 Star
10
4.4
 / 
5
(148 reviews) 145
131 out of 14889%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Alienware M11x R3
Review 1 for Alienware M11x R3
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Joshunator
(Oklahoma)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

My first Alienware

PostedSeptember 6, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
So after years of looking at the Alienware product I finally decided to pull the trigger on a M11x Laptop since I wanted a very portable computer (11" monitor) but with a lot of horsepower under the hood.
Shipping and handling was fast and proper, packaging was good. then I turn it on...
I encountered the first issue 5 minutes after I turned on the laptop, to my surprise I realized that even though I bought the most expensive M11x and threw a lot of options in, it did not come with a bluetooth adapter (I was never asked or told about the laptop not having a BT adapter) so the bluetooth mouse that I have bought with the laptop (recommended by alienware while configuring my PC) would not work, after several calls to customer services I made then understand this was unacceptable and not my fault. I couldn't believe that an "Alienware" computer which I just paid top dollar for it wouldn't come with a simple bluetooth adapter... anyway -- they end up sending somebody in with the adapter, laptop was taken apart and adapter was installed. end of the problem right? well... now after about a month of use the right speaker quit working, it just did... so no more stereo sound for me (unless I use headphones)... so I haven't have time but I guess I need to call Alienware again to deal with the speaker issue now. I also notice that the application that controls the LED colors and fade sequences can become unresponsive some times and very slow, sometimes I try to change the color or simply turn it on/off and would not do it, it's just very buggy, don't know if the issue is in the hardware or software but it is very annoying... the finish inside (keyboard and mouse pad) looks a tad 80's and dated to me. I was just hoping that I was getting something that is above your average laptop (it terms of quality and design) but that was not the case.
Pros:Gaming, audio editing, music recording
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Alienware M11x R3
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Anupam
(Bangalore, India)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Powerful Specs.

PostedAugust 30, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Excellent specs for a inspiron model. Good solid build and finish. Good skullcandy speakers and but lacks bass
Pros:Gaming, movies, development
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Alienware M11x R3
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:snow123
(Anchorage)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Alienware M11xR3 Incomplete

PostedAugust 26, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Everything that is on my new computer runs great. Unfortunately not everything I asked for was included. sush as Bluetooth connectivity is not included like I asked for. Also some of the software was not on there. Then there was the purchasing of my laptop, when selecting shipping I was unable to submit the purchase with any other shipping option then the most expensive 2 day shipping. I tried many times and was told that the order could not go through as done.
Pros:home, work
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Alienware M11x R3
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:GentlemanLion
Title:

Amazing for its mobility

PostedAugust 16, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
What needs to be said? Its a winner
Pros:Gaming
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Alienware M11x R3
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Winthrop
Title:

Great laptop with a few flaws

PostedAugust 10, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
To start off, this is an amazing laptop. Yeah, the performance may not be as good as other $1000+ laptops, but the fact that they fit so much into its 11 inch frame is unbelievable. Even though it is very small, it is still very usable. The keyboard is almost full sized, and is very easy to type on. The screen is a little small at first, but I got used to it within an hour of using it. The stealth black finish limits fingerprints, and looks awesome. The AlienFX lighting is one of the reasons I bought this laptop, and I'm very impressed with it. The battery life is excellent, although it doesn't last nearly as long when gaming. There are only a few cons with this laptop, the first being the gloss screen finish. This laptop is nearly impossible to use outside, or even in a very well lit area, the glare is unbearable. Also, when gaming, the fan gets very loud and sounds like a hairdryer. A good way I've found to be to prevent this is to prob the bottom up if its sitting on a table, or when its in your lap try not to cover the fan. When the fan isn't covered, it's much quieter. Overall this is an awesome computer.
Pros:Gaming, School
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Alienware M11x R3
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Anonymous
(Colorado)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Small Yet Powerful

PostedAugust 9, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Had an R1 for a long time, until I got tired of constantly messing with the hinges. Got the R3 for school. The very basic M11x (which is what my R1 was) is alright, but won't hold everything you want and still perform optimally. Splurged and got the best of most everything for the R3, including 1TB hard drive (though had to cut back to 8GB RAM due to funds). It's a fantastic laptop for people who like to move around (and game). Only down side I see is that it required an external dvd drive, but that's not a huge problem. I notice the fan tends to come on a lot whenever I'm gaming or have been on for longer than 30 minutes, but tilting the computer up (put a pen or a small rectangular block of something towards the back to lean it forwards) greatly helps keep it cool due to the fresh air. I do wish they had kept Alien Sense, but the Alien FX is as awesome as ever (was malfunctioning on my R1). You'll definitely want to get the neoprene case or travel portfolio (I got both through a special deal, and I tend to use the neoprene more, but the portfolio is awesome for school). Also, don't cheap out on coverage. But that's just common sense for a computer. So if you can get use to a smaller screen (which I went from a 17in Dell lappy to the 11in Alien) it's definitely worth it. (I also recommend the screen protector if you have enough patience to get it on right otherwise the screen of the M11x can be a bit blinding in brighter rooms)
Pros:Travel, School, Gaming
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Alienware M11x R3
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:StRyKeR17
(Chicago, IL)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Great portable gaming laptop

PostedJuly 8, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I wanted a gaming laptop that would be extremely easy to carry around.
The M11x R3 fills that role gracefully. I am a hardcore Starcraft 2 gamer and I am typically going to LAN parties and such where the monitors are already at the location. I just needed a fast laptop to plug them into, and the M11x R3 is perfect for that. The keyboard is not good for gaming, but who uses their laptop keyboard for gaming anyway.
People complain about the screen, but it's not been that bad. Again, I usually have access to separate monitor anyway.
You cannot overclock the CPU by much at all (hardware locked) but you can get some benefits out of overclocking the video card. I can run Starcraft 2 with medium settings and some on high with very good FPS. I can run higher settings I maximize for performance, and I can make out everything at medium.
Because of NVIDIA optimus, low-intensity tasks such as web surfing on dim lighting can make the battery last 6 hours, which is great.
Pros:Gaming, software development, web surfing
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Alienware M11x R3
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:kimgrinn
(Melbourne, FL)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Newbie
Title:

LOVE IT!!!

PostedJuly 5, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I love my Alienware... I haven't had a chance to use it to it's full potential yet, but I am excited to. Also, Dell Customer Service was phenomenal throughout the entire process
Pros:home
-4points
1of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Alienware M11x R3
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:KuroSame
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Recommendation

PostedJuly 3, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I was recommended this lovely little laptop by a friend because he knew I was looking for a new Laptop. With its ultra portability I can just put it in my bag and be able to go were ever. Has great battery life. The Graphics are incredible and that is key when gaming or if your editing videos. I am going to give my current one to a friend for his birthday so I have an excuse to buy a new one.
Pros:video edditing, Travel, Gaming
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Alienware M11x R3
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Hallz
(Duluth Minnesota)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Very Happy!

PostedJune 28, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought the m11x because I wanted a laptop that was portable and powerful and I have found this laptop to be both. I am able to find a place to set up no matter where I am, and it fits nicely on my lap if there are no surfaces available. It is very sleek and has a quality feel to it. I would highly recommend this to anyone looking for a smaller laptop.
If you have fears about the screen size, just know that the screen is high res and you won't even notice! Also it can be hooked up to a larger monitor if you are sitting down for a longer session.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Alienware M11x R3
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:KenYoudiggit
(Long Island)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Good not Great

PostedJune 25, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
M11x is the alienware netbook. If you're looking for mobility, 11 1/2 inch screen, and a good gaming computer, look no further. However, if you want mobility, a large screen, and an expert gaming computer, you may want to try something else. As this computer does what it's required to do, I am an avid gamer, and there are multiple games that I play that have such great graphics and for some reason, the M11x has issues with keeping up. My buddies have alienwares both the M14 and this issue doesn't occur, if you're going to spend $1000 then this is your laptop for for $200 more I'd get the next one.
Pros:Gaming, streaming, forums, paper weight, pillow, flashlight
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Alienware M11x R3
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:BigBadBubba
(Toronto)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Awesome, always wanted an Alienware rig

PostedJune 24, 2012
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Yes, I would recommend this product
I'm so impressed with this little monster. Owned it for around 8 months, loved every minute of it. I had a behemoth 17" gaming laptop from Toshiba for a long time. I loved it, but the thing weighed in at a crazy 10 lbs. Been waiting for years for something small enough and powerful enough for me. I'm a big gamer, Skyrim, Borderlands and Duke Nukem run flawlessly on high settings. Been playing Deus Ex lately (10/10, highly recommended) runs beautifully no hick-ups or lags, friggin awesome while playing most games it hits around 90 deg after an hour or so, not Deus Ex though 65-70. I modified an angled tray with a hole cut out were the fan is, mounted 2 more on the back to blow and funnel more air in there cuts down 15-20 deg. If your handy I recommend trying this out. Get one!
Pros:games, 3d modelling/animation, video/photo editing, everything.....
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Alienware M11x R3
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DonnieFromRichmond
(Richmond VA USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Dearly Departed Wonder M11x R3

PostedJune 23, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Thoroughly pleased with my discontinued M11x R3. Pros: Performance is like butter, it's just small enough to fit in my Fossil bag, battery lasts 5.5 hours, fans are quiet, Fedora 17 runs great on it, screen is brilliant, flawless suspend/resume in Linux and keyboard is usable (I came from a small netbook). Cons: Super high gloss screen and nvidia's ridiculous lack of Linux support for Optimus (see Torvald's Millenium prize rant).
Pros:fedora 17/win7 dual boot, reading books and blogs, virtualization, music, working remotely
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Alienware M11x R3
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:publicbussystem
Title:

M11X R3- THE NETBOOK THAT GOD CREATED.

PostedJune 22, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have recently ordered the Alienware M11X R3. It was my first Alienware. It has an extremely large hardrive for a laptop(680GB is standard) and comes with 4GB RAM(Which is also very good). I would call it to a laptop with the features of a hardrive. The color-changing lights really improve the experience when I stay up late. With the M11X, I can game on TF2 and COD with absolutely no lag.
I am a highschool student, which means that I have to write many papers and create presentations. The M11X is perfect for doing those tasks with fast web brosing and amazing graphics, that help me research easily. The cons to the M11X are that it is 4 lbs.(which ia to be expexted for such a powerful machine).
Another con is that it isn't metallic, which I guess is okay or else it would overheat. I wish stat would have a disk drive, but if it did, the M11X would have to be larger. Overall the M11X is a splendid netbook and I will definately choose Alienware again in the future.
Pros:Gaming, presentations, streaming video, hosting servers
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Alienware M11x R3
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:CHRISFOTA
Title:

excellent

PostedJune 20, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have owned two of the m11x systems. Overall, I'm actually mot much of a gamer. But, I do program computers. Overall, I love this system. A quick 6gb ram Intel i3 processor with 750gb hdd. A few pros of the machine are that the warranty is amazing, the graphics are really good, and also the synergy of all of the parts inside could make for a great gaming experience. Though I don't game a lot. I do play world of Warcraft and I don't experience any game time lag at all. The only con with the last system is the hinge problem with the laptop but with the newer m11x r3 this problem has been fixed
Pros:software programming, web programming, Gaming
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Alienware M11x R3
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Anonymous
Title:

Abducted by Alienware

PostedJune 17, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
What I want from a laptop has changed dramatically in the last few months. I'm currently at university and need to have the portability and longevity of a netbook and its battery, but at the same time be able to sit at home,stream videos and play games all on a 22" screen. The M11X R3 ticks all these boxes, and has personally redefined what it is I want out of any laptop I purchase in the future.
I was sceptical at first by choosing to buy the i3 version, but now it's sitting next to me and blasting through tasks I had my old i5 laptop doing I feel silly for even worrying about it.
The graphics card really delivers on high end games, and the Intel HD graphics chip on its own is able to play games quite happily with a little bit of lag.
I personally think the biggest problem with this brilliant machine is that it's being discontinued. I'm sure Dell have their reasons, but personally I know from talking to a few people and showing them the M11x, that they'd be far more likely to buy this than any other Alienware laptop or rig.
Needless to say my new M11x R3 is a joy to own. From the moment I took it out of the box and its custom Alienware sleeve I knew was in for something special.
Well done Team Alienware, you definitely have yourself a new lifelong customer.
Pros:Travel, Gaming, university
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Alienware M11x R3
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Traysa
(Panama City Beach, Florida)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Love this laptop!!!

PostedJune 13, 2012
User submitted photo
Yes, I would recommend this product
This laptop is amazing! I love the how compact it is and the screen resolution is absolutely beautiful!! The pros are the following: High quality screen resolution, runs fast and efficiently, the Dell Stage with all the apps/games/websites on the home screen makes for a great handy shortcut, playing games is easy and without lag/glitching or freezing, the two headphone jacks is convenient when watching a movie or listening to music with a friend, and last but not least the battery life lasts all day! The only con I have for this laptop is that there is no CD drive, I was extremely dissapointed when I recieved the laptop, but the computer is overall a great computer and buying an external CD drive is no big deal. I LOVE my laptop and Alienware!!!
Pros:movies, writing, homework, gameing, streaming
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Alienware M11x R3
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:kchezem87
(Clarksville, TN)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

My M11x

PostedJune 13, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I recently purchased an Alienware M11x. It goes beyond what I expected in portability and power. It is truly one of the better pieces of equipment I have ever picked up. I use it for work and play and with it being so compact it's easy to take with me anywhere.
Pros:work, Travel, Gaming
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Alienware M11x R3
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Rob2skyy
(Bothell)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Good Laptop

PostedJune 7, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Good laptop for its intended purposes. Definitely a good size and portable. Excellent speed. Very pleased with this laptop!
Pros:work, pleasure
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Alienware M11x R3
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Borrachoso
(Atlanta)
Title:

Best little laptop

PostedJune 6, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Super fast. Easy. Beautiful. Sturdy. Screen looks incredible.
Pros:home
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8