Customer reviews for Alienware Aurora R4

Alienware Aurora R4

Alienware Aurora R4
4.349 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 387 reviews
5 Stars
262
4 Stars
68
3 Stars
15
2 Stars
14
1 Star
28
4.3
 / 
5
(387 reviews) 383
333 out of 38786%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Alienware Aurora R4
Review 1 for Alienware Aurora R4
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MyloLothian
(Stygia)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

sizzle vs sausage...

PostedMarch 9, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I want to begin this review by stating that the Aurora r4 certainly looks sharp... and that may be ultimately it's downfall. The customization for look and feel is wonderful,you have great personalization with case lighting features. now, since I opted for standard instead of the alx, I do not have the heat-louvers, but just an open grate. I think that is better serving, because it allows heat to rise unchecked... but airflow for the case seems stifled. the cpu is liquid cooled, with no maintenance. I think it is an h2c, but like many things associated with the product, the specifics are limited.
the case design itself seems VERY user-friendly for maintenance and component alteration. but despite the ease of access and reaching components... there isn't alot of room. it is VERY compact.
the 6 core processor options do not actually come factory overclocked, as I was informed they consider the turbo option to be "overclocking" despite the 3.2 base only reaching 3.8 / 3800 max, as compared to the two options for 3.9 and 4.1. so, I found that misleading, and unhappily so, because while it does have 2 OC options in the bios(which also seems very limited) they do not seem to really do anything. and since there is no option to edit those settings to see what is different, it is impossible to know if it actually does anything.
due to the tight case area, when running a dual-SLI , the gpu's range from 60-90 C, (single card is 45-65 with no SLI) depending on the length of the load. and those are stock gpu's, with no modifications. a little warm for my taste, but... it is within operational margins.
to summarize:
Pro:
Aesthetics,
case lighting customization,
default maintenanceless liquid-cooling system for cpu,
Con:
Airflow issues,
Standard Dell restrictions on motherboard memory,
BIOS option restrictions/ settings lockdowns,
Many of the component parts are non-cfru for warranty purposes!!!
In closing, for someone who is a semi-enthusiast, who doesn't like to tinker, doesn't care about specs, and just wants a good machine that works great, well, this is certainly that.
however, as they are promoting this with misleading options such as the "factory overclocking" and "unlocked BIOS", for the price point, it is on par with a digital storm or maingear offering, if not more economical... but more restricted in options.
Overall, I look forward to the next few years of seeing how it plays out. Thanks for reading my "Wall Of Text" review.
Pros:Gaming, general usage
+82points
90of 98voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Alienware Aurora R4
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:TWGAMER666
Title:

Unacceptable

PostedJuly 14, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
The product I am reviewing is the Aurora R4 with the following specification:
GTX680 (Single card)
16GB 1600MHZ RAM
Win 7 Home premium
Soundblaster SFX titanium sound card
3820 Intel i7 3.60 Ghz stock speed
ALX thermal tower
The system itself, looks wise is awesome, the alien FX, the design, the vents, cooling etc, is great. No issues here.
As far as speed and performance, the system is also great, it's quick and can run *almost* every game I have on ultra settings without any issue what so ever. The system runs quiet and oozes quality.
So, why the negative review and score for this system...
Well, there is an unresolved and very common blue screen of death that occurs on this system and others like it running the GTX680 graphics cards, In the short space of time I have had the system I have had 5 BSOD with the same error with no appernt solution. The problem is common and has been made known on the alienware owners club forums.
However, after over a month of this problem been reported there has been no official response from Dell.
These R4 systems are defective, and I would reccommend that anyone planning on buying one with a similar specification, put off doing so until the problem is properly addressed!
The error causing the blue screen is known as "116 nvlddmkm.sys" I would reccommend looking on the alienware owners club forum or the alienware arena forum for further information.
The error seems most common when using the internet, which tells me that there is a hardware & software conflict going on here with reference to the graphics card and other components and software. Updating drivers doesn't make much difference and can at times intensify the issue.
Other than this problem, the system is excellent.
If Alienware addressed this issue, and fixed it, or at least offered a working solution, then this system would get a 5 star review, and I would be happy to alter the review should this be the case.
Pros:Gaming, office applications, internet, music & video
Response from Dell.comBy GinaVforDellCustomer ReviewsJuly 16, 2012
Hello TWGAMER666,

Sorry to hear that you are not having a great out-of-box experience with the Aurora R4. While there is not an official response yet, this is something that has been reported to us and is being investigated by Engineering.

You can follow the conversation on the Dell Community Forum to stay up to date and interact with the community as well as Dell-Chris M who will be providing updates. Once a resolution is available, I will post the response in here as well.

DCF -
http://dell.to/NMyjoB
+64points
69of 74voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Alienware Aurora R4
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:d2dcb
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Faulty right out of the box, and still on sale

PostedJuly 27, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I too have purchased an Aurora R4 with the Nvidia GTX 680, received earlier this week (July 23). Rarely have I had such a quick transition from excitement of a new gaming PC to utter frustration. With this configuration I have experienced repeated intermittent blue screen crashes during gaming and internet use, both right out of the box and after a number of attempted solutions suggested on the Dell community forum. I`m puzzled why it remains for sale despite the fact this forum discussion reporting the problem has been open for a number of weeks and Dell being aware of the problem. I`ve been a loyal Dell customer along with my family for a number of years, and find this quite disappointing. I`m giving the Dell and Alienware crew a bit more time, but given the lack of results to date I expect to take my money and future business elsewhere. Beware!
Response from Dell.comBy JonathanNforDellCustomer ReviewsJuly 30, 2012
@d2dcb

I am sorry to hear that you are having troubles with your Aurora R4 system. Your symptoms sound similar to a support article I recently read about power connections on the video cards. If you haven't seen this before, maybe this will be of some help:

http://dell.to/Q66hpq

I appreciate you being patient with out support staff, since intermittent issues can sometimes be tricky to replicate and diagnose immediately. Chris M on the Alienware Club Support Forum is very knowledgeable as well if you want to reach out to him.

Technical Support -
http://dell.to/rjrUf3
Dell Forums -
http://dell.to/NQLx30

Take care!
+54points
57of 60voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Alienware Aurora R4
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:dvela3048
(VA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Aurora R4 is McAwesome

PostedMay 14, 2012
User submitted photo
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is my second Alienware system I've purchased. My first one was the M15x laptop, which is a beast. So I decided to purchase the R4 as my desktop since I've had really good experiences with Alienware.
Upon arrival Seeing the box that the system shipped in had me totally excited. The system was easy to setup, that was completed within a few minutes. Right away I was online and playing games with no issues. A lot of people say that Crysis is the benchmark for performance. If your system can run Crysis, it can run anything. Well this Aurora R4 chewed Crysis up and spit it out (Crysis advanced settings were configured to all HIGH settings). As if saying, "Is that all you got?"
Amazing System, I've already recommended it to two of my friends and they will be purchasing theirs soon.
Aurora R4
Quad Core 4.1GHz
16 GIG RAM
Dual 2GIG Radeon 7970
Hybrid Drive (500gig SS with 1TB Data Drive)
Pros:Gaming, geospatial information systems (gis), streaming, python programming
+58points
67of 76voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Alienware Aurora R4
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:TheOfficialRedsean
(U.S.A.)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Alienware Aurora is more than I wanted!

PostedJune 5, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Hey there!
This PC works GREAT! I can run all my games (BF3, Tribes: Ascend, Crysis 2 and more) at the max settings on my flatscreen TV. God, it's amazing. I used to only buy my PC's from Gateway, now I'm pretty loyal to Alienware. It's just an amazing PC, glad to have bought it. I recommend this PC to anyone. Though I do warn you that you shouldn't expect a PC this powerful to be small and lightweight.
The free keyboard and mouse are nice additions too.
Glad to be an Alienware customer, and I recommend you become one too.
Sean
Pros:streaming video, software development, Gaming, social, school work
+53points
61of 69voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Alienware Aurora R4
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MACH
Title:

Aurora R4

PostedMay 27, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
This particular unit includes the ALX chassis, dual AMD 7950 GPUs in Crossfire, and the Intel i7-3960x at 4.2 Ghz. Before ordering I did weeks of research, and as far as pricing for comparable preassembled systems found the R4, as configured, priced about average or perhaps just below. Several of the other manufacture’s systems with like components were more, in a few cases much more. I also considered building a system, but after pricing the individual components found that while less costly, it’s not allot less costly and you won’t have the warranty, Alien FX, or ALX chassis.
Build quality is world-class. I work as manufacturing and quality engineer so I know to be objective here, -very nice. You won’t be disappointed, and this is one of the reasons I've stayed with Alienware products. I read a review where the door covering the DVD drives was referred to as “cheap feeling”, and so it’s the first place I looked. I have to disagree; it opens smoothly and closes with a satisfying “click”. “Very trick” would be my comment. The top motorized vents and their internal lights are worth the admission price for the ALX chassis, not to mention increased cooling. Again, all very trick. The FX & internal lighting, removable covers, thermal controls, etc. are also as advertised and very cool. Only one criticism here, the top vent cover that a slides back to reveal the USB ports is a bit touchy. You have to press carefully in the center to keep it aligned and sliding smoothly, at least this is the case with my unit. Not a deal breaker, but I would have expected a better design considering what they did with the rest of the ALX chassis.
Gaming performance is tops. Crysis2 is the benchmark I use because I know the real-life demands it can place on a system. My past experience has been that a midrange high-end system will return about 30 FPS with a high of under 40 FPS at max settings, high-res textures, and DX11. The R4 is returning about 100 FPS with a high of 150+ FPS in some cases, (158 is the highest I’ve seen so far.) I wouldn’t have believed it if I had been told that before buying. I was hoping for 60+, Crysis2 is that demanding with maxed-out settings. Rage, again all settings at maximum, returns a steady 60+ FPS. Apparently, this limit was designed into the game. Diablo III is running at 250 to 280 FPS with an occasional 300+ FPS, again all settings at max. All frames rates were at 1080P on a 27” 2ms Asus monitor in AMD Cross-Fire. Fan speeds and noise have been minimal during the above game play which surprised me; this system pulls some wattage and your power provider will forever love you.
Now that I’ve had some time with the system, would I purchase it again given the need? Absolutely, -can you get it here in a week again?
-MACH
+44points
49of 54voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Alienware Aurora R4
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:wafflehousehashbrowns
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

meh

PostedJuly 2, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros- No bloatware, looks cool, fairly quiet, liquid cooling works pretty well keeps cpu temps below 70C when at full load, fastest desktop cpu on the market (i7-3960x), 16gbs of quad channel memory pretty much future proof, cool lighting effects
Cons- At the time of purchase the only available gpu options were a gtx 560ti or dual gtx 555. I could not find any benchmarks on the gtx 555 anywhere but assumed it would be similar in performance to a 560 and that two of them would be good enough, but i was wrong. It cost an additional $400 over the single 560 and these cards are far below the performance of a $400 card. I have to turn off AA completely in battlefield 3 to get playable frame rates if i want other settings on high in 1080p resolution. This was the biggest disappointment but is mostly my fault because i should have done the research and waited for some decent cards to be available. I plan on getting a gtx 670 or 680 for this computer and will probably get double the performance than both the cards it came with put together. The other big disappointment is that the so called factory overclock to 4.2 GHz only overclocks one core. $150 for an extra 300mhz in one core is ridiculous and isn't gonna give any noticeable performance boost, and the alienware bios doesn't give you any options for overclocking yourself.
other cons
-875w power supply is enough for now, but doesn't leave much room for future upgrades.
-only two pci-express slots so no room for expansion if you have two video cards
-computer screen turns purple and freezes occationally, fans get really loud and then computer shuts off, however i suspect this is a video card driver issue and am waiting for the next update to see if this problem gets resolved.
-airflow is bad even with alx chassis, even these underpowered gpu's can reach 80C easliy.
-cable management inside the case is bad
-memory does not have heatsinks
-the bios is very restricted (unlocked bios? really???)
its not a terrible build, but for the price i expected more. I give it two stars because the "4.2 ghz factory overclock" and "unlocked bios" claims aren't just misleading but complete bs (an extra 300mhz turbo boost in one core is hardly an overclock) and it is not as upgradable as they would make it seem. I don't hate this computer (once i get a better video card and an ssd this will be a pretty awesome gaming rig), but next time i need a gaming rig I'm gonna take the time to research how to build my own.
Also this wasn't a big deal but i thought i would mention it in case someone else has this problem. If you bought this computer with dual gpu's and don't get a startup sceen to get into bios, you have to take the cover off the display connectors in the back and plug your monitor into the other gpu. For some reason they covered the primary gpu display connectors and left the other one open so i plugged my monitor into the wrong one.
Pros:Gaming
Response from Dell.comBy DonaldDforDellCustomer ReviewsJuly 3, 2012
wafflehousehashbrowns,

Thank you for sharing your experiences with the Aurrora R4. Engineers and marketing read these reviews and have been aprised of your input. Thank you for your time.
+36points
38of 40voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Alienware Aurora R4
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:BigRedBulldog
(Maple Valley WA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Computer is fast when it is working...

PostedFebruary 23, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
So we purchased the Aurora desktop as a personal computer a little over a year ago, and have had a cascade of issues. When the computer is working it is great super-fast, quiet, everything we could ask for... Then when Windows 7 asked to run updates we of course said yes we should run those updates. It seemed logical why would a computer manufacture make a computer that could not run the basic updates for the operating system. We could not be more wrong...
Come to find out the Aurora's hardware is configured differently than a "normal" PC (I'm not a computer super genius, that's why I paid Dell to put the computer together). Essentially if Windows 7 updates and resets all of the hardware configurations to the factory settings the computer will not start up. The first time this happened I called dell and after going around and around with service personal we finally reset the "bios" (again not a computer super-genius) and got the computer working again.
So it just happened again and I called Dell to help me fix the problem and what do they inform me... My warranty has expired... So after spending close to $4000 for the computer when new, I have to continue the shell out cash to Dell to keep this unstable system, that they created, working.
Deeply frustrated to say the least!
Pros:video production, internet, office products
+83points
103of 123voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Alienware Aurora R4
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Kermetee
Title:

Very exensive failure

PostedAugust 4, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have purchased the Aurora R4 and have had no end of difficulties so far. It is the top of the line machine - 32 gig RAM, supposed overclocked 4.2ZGHz processor (a lie), with 2 Nvidia 680s SLI.
After one complete system failure (which included a month waiting for parts, technicians and then 2 separate visits before Dell would agree to send a new unit), I have now received said new unit only to fall foul of the GTX 680 BSOD and regular crashes problem.
Tech support and Dell Finance dept have been friendly, but stubbornly refuse to offer any sort of compensation or apology for what is now 2 months without a working system. They are also very stubbornly sticking to original parts when it seems from all the errors reported widely on Dell's own site that these do not work (eg, I am now waiting for 2 new GTX 680s - why not give me an alternative or an upgrade instead of potentially wasting several hundred of their own dollars?).
Unlike others I do feel the system is a bit bloated. And sadly the processor speed and supposed ability to overclock is an appalling lie. In the few days the first machine actually worked performance was very underwhelming and not worth the extra expense.
Even if the problems are eventually fixed, I cannot see myself ever wasting my time and money with Dell again. Two months and no sense of any offer of compensation, free upgrades or alternative parts - sorry, just not good enough. Meanwhile, I now have 2 $7000 paperweights in my house, with costs (to me AND Dell) growing by the day.
I do not recommend anyone buy this from Dell.
Pros:home use
Response from Dell.comBy GinaVforDellCustomer ReviewsAugust 6, 2012
Hello Kermetee,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Aurora R4. While there is not an official response yet, engineering is aware of the BSOD concern. They have captured an R4 and it is enroute to NVidia to help classify and debug the issue. As far as compensation is concerned, I cannot speak to any matters of compensation, refunds, etc. You can follow the conversation on the Dell Community Forum to stay up to date and interact with the community as well as Dell-Chris M who will be providing updates. Once a resolution is available, I will post the response in here as well.

DCF -
http://dell.to/NMyjoB

Again, thank you for your feedback, and have a great day – Gina.
Response from Dell.comBy GinaVforDellCustomer ReviewsAugust 6, 2012
Hello Kermetee,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Aurora R4. While there is not an official response yet, engineering is aware of the BSOD concern. They have captured an R4 and it is enroute to NVidia to help classify and debug the issue. As far as compensation is concerned, I cannot speak to any matters of compensation, refunds, etc. You can follow the conversation on the Dell Community Forum to stay up to date and interact with the community as well as Dell-Chris M who will be providing updates. Once a resolution is available, I will post the response in here as well.

DCF -
http://dell.to/NMyjoB

Again, thank you for your feedback, and have a great day – Gina.
+49points
57of 65voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Alienware Aurora R4
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:VinKin
(Phoenix, AZ, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

The High-Performance Goliath

PostedMarch 20, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
i7-3820 Quad Core @ 4.1
16gb RAM @ 1600
Blu-Ray +DVD/CD RW
GTX 690 4gb Video
Baseline HDD 1TB
ATX Chassis
Huge. Not gonna lie. At 25" long, be prepared for a massive unveiling when it arrives. A sturdy, rugged, multi-media goliath arrives, with the packaging to prove it. First impression: Oh My.
I care not to mention shipping, back-ordered parts happen and Dell does not run the carrier service.
Quick setup, wiring and hookup takes only the time you're willing to commit to it. I bought the Logitec 5.1 speaker option so tucking the wiring away took some time.
So... noise? Minimal. Not completely stealthy, but not enough to warrant recognition. LED ATX chassis? Neat. I can pulse colorations, morph from one to another or choose to have a solid consistent color. The automated thermal vents are intuitive as well.
Performance. Windows Experience Index :
Processor: 7.7
Memory (RAM): 7.9
Graphics: 7.9
Gaming Graphics: 7.9
Primary Hard Disk: 5.9
If you know what the WEI is, you know that the maximum score for Win7(HP) is a 7.9.
Get yourself a Solid State Drive. I'm positive a SSD will boost that last score, or a performance RAID.
Benchmarks:
Diablo 3 = 200+ FPS all maximum settings, zero complaints.
Final Fantasy XIV = Scored 7249 out of a "possible" 7000. Can't wait for ARR.
I have no other software to test or use at this time, but seeing as how the WEI rated the machine so high, I am confident that it can handle anything you throw at it.
Cons: Alienware, you cost a coin or two. I went with Dell because I work for a company who offers an Employee Discount with Dell which helped me save more than switching car insurance. When compared to a DIY build from a local retailer, the price was so insignificant that I decided to plunge in and go for the Aurora.
I regret nothing.
Pros:sleek design, impressive performance, liquid cooling, quiet thermal controls, custom led lighting, intuitive chassis access, easy hookup, "wow" factor
Cons:heavy? yes. heavy., price is high but you get what you pay for.
+26points
26of 26voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Alienware Aurora R4
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Shoang
(USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Aurora-R4

PostedNovember 3, 2012
User submitted photo
Yes, I would recommend this product
THE BUILD:
Intel i7-3820
16GB DDR3 Memory
Dual 3GB AMD 7950 CrossfireX mode
1TB Serial ATA 3 Hard Drive
Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit w/Media
Single Dual Layer Blu-ray /DVD-RW/CD-RW drive
X79 ALX Chassis
Alienware TactX keyboard
Also purchased three 27” monitors from Dell
The build time of my system was as promised when ordered; “Deliver by the 26th”
Placed order on the 11th, Processed same day using Dell preferred account..
Build Time from 11th to 22nd, shipped on the 22nd delivered 25th.
I must admit; I feel the prices on the upgrades are a bit on the high side. I went with the AMD 7950 card because I wanted to set up three monitors using Eyefinity technology this time around.. I have always gone NVIDA graphics in past builds.
I was asked by friends could I build a gaming system like the Aurora-R4 for less, My answer was; if you are asking about parts, “yes I could get the parts for less but when looking at Shipping charges of each part, The quality build in the ALX Chassis, Alienware Command Center with Alien Adrenaline, Alien Fusion, Alien FX Controller and last but not least the FX Editor and Dell standing behind the entire system.. I had to answer No, I could not build a System like the Aurora-R4 for less.
THE PROS:
Awesome experience from order tracking to delivery, the Aurora came well packaged to prevent damage in transit, I ran it through as many tests I could think of before writing a review, the build looks awesome across the three monitors.
Easy of over clocking the AMD cards, although I never had to at this point, ran all game on Highest settings without a problem with speed, graphics or heat.
The Aurora is not only a Gaming Powerhouse but also productive workhorse.. no matter what your pleasure is, I’m sure this Tower of Power will please you.
CONS:
The MicroATX in the ALX chassis don’t leave room for adding a Soundcard when running Dual graphics cards. The price per upgrade is a bit on the steep side, all the parts in the basic Aurora are great but out perform the hard drive.. Should come standard with a SSD main + SATA drive.
CONCLUSION;
Awesome System a true powerhouse, The Aurora-R4 and the new monitors took gaming and productivity to an entire new level….Would recommend to friends!
Pros:Gaming, productivity, Video Editing
+25points
26of 27voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Alienware Aurora R4
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:EcleticGuy1
Title:

Awsome machine!

PostedDecember 27, 2011
User submitted photo
Yes, I would recommend this product
I wanted to get into a state-of-the-art machine.
As I compared models and specifications, I found nothing could compare to Alienware! It had everything I wanted, and none of the spamware I didn't want.
From the unique and highly protective packaging, to the style-forward case design, I was intrigued.
The TactX keyboard has a tactile feeling I have never seen in a keyboard. The spring-back of the keys is just right. I lkke that the left hand keys are programable.
When we first turned on the computer, I was not disappointed! This is one, awsome, warp-speed, ma'am-a-jama computer! The unique and programmable lights are fun! On the keyboard, the back-lit feature serves a true function.
There are only a couple of negatives. The spring-lock compartment at the top of the case that covers the additional ports needs to be a tad deeper and wider. I wanted to put the little transmitter for my cordless mouse in one of those USB ports in there and close the cover. The cover would not close. I bought a Dell 21.5" Monitor with 4 USB ports to connect the cordless mouse transmitter.
The owners manual disappointed! It should be a unique style book befitting Alienware, not a simple little booklet.
+186points
262of 338voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Alienware Aurora R4
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:LaShoto
Title:

Good, but not great.

PostedApril 19, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
This computer is good, but most certainly not great.
Before I ordered anything I looked at a few options. Falcon-NW & Maingear were considered, but for less I could either build my own rig or order an Alienware for a fair price. I've always wanted an Alienware, so I ordered one.
I really like the case and I didn't get the ALX chassis with the fins on top either, just the standard R4(*chassis story). The case is solid, but heavy! The interior is nicely laid out and the cabling was well done. I didn't have to go fishing to find the SATA or power cables for the extra hdd's I put in.
As a CS and BIS graduate and general nerd I use this computer for a variety of purposes, both work and play. The i7-3820 with 16gb ram is plenty and can handle all the programs and VM's and such I need, with the hd6870 allowing me to play any game I want.
There are a few things things I really don't like about this rig either. I don't know if the fan controls are broken or something but for the first 5~10 seconds when the pc is booting it sounds like it's going to take off. When gaming the rear exhaust can get loud, but not like booting up...
Other things I don't like, in list form...
- The upgrade-ability talked about is simply non-existent. Good computer to Crossfire/SLi with seeing there are two 16x PCI-e slots. I correct myself, it's good if you can get Crossfire/SLi to run properly(**upgrading).
- HDD bays are super convenient but the plastic tray that you put the hdd's in don't secure the drive well.
- The front optical drive protector that slides up and down works but is a bit slow, nothing a little wd40 won't fix.
- The protector thing for the front usb and headphone/mic jacks on top is bound to break.
Sorry for the novel but I had a lot to say about this computer, in fact I would like to ramble on and on but it's bed time! So... I really wanted to give this computer 3 stars but one or two of the things I don't like I can't really blame on Alienware, so I gave it 4 stars.
* - I actually tried to change my original order but the sales rep I was connected with said that the ALX chassis is no longer being offered, so I ended up keeping my original order and nothing was changed. Saved me 200 bucks, but I was as confused as everyone else is after reading this? But yeah, I like the standard Aurora-R4 chassis that I ended up with, it sleek and sexy.
** - From my old pc I took a hd6870 to Crossfire with the hd6870 that I ordered in my Alienware, but it simply is not working properly. Most likely not Alienware's fault but none the less a bit frustrating. After testing both cards and even running "AlienAutopsy" that said both GPU's were recognized and working, I just ended up taking one out and it's all gravy. Also there isn't even one regular PCI slot for my Creative SoundBlaster, weeeeak!
Pros:work, play
+29points
33of 37voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Alienware Aurora R4
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Deadstick
(Pickerington, OH, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

4+ Years Later My Alienware Still Going Strong

PostedApril 29, 2013
User submitted photo
Yes, I would recommend this product
Although most of my components are outdated today (4/13) this bad boy has been providing reliable service to me since April of 2008. I have used my machine daily for web development and graphic design as well as occasional gaming. (ok, a lot of gaming)
In 2012 I began working from home using my Alienware as my primary work station and it still runs all the adobe creative suite with ease.
I just purchased the Aurora R4 PC this month to replace my 2008 Area 51 but will still keep this machine in the family. After 5 years of service it's now part of our family. Keep up the good work!!!
Pros:reliable never let's me down
+24points
26of 28voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Alienware Aurora R4
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Krusty77
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Epic but flawed

PostedJuly 27, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
To say the Aurora R4 has a commanding presence is an understatement. It looks unique and with the AlienFX and vents in full flow gets a lot of attention. It's certainly not 'just another desktop'.
Another positive is the absence of bloatware. Just plug it in, power up and you're good to go. No silly apps that consume resources and clog your desktop.
In performance terms the R4 as I have it configured is amazing...when it works.
And here's the problem. I too am afflicted by the BSOD 116 'nvlddmkm.sys' problem as reported in another review. My computer crashes daily while gaming since I received it in May. That's 2 months and despite the efforts of tech support on the Alienware forum there is no solution in sight. Neither has there been an official apology or valid alternative offered. This appears to be a condition exclusive to the GTX680 setup (regardless whether single GPU or SLI) according to those reporting the issue in the forum. There is clearly a serious defect here which Alienware should acknowledge and respond to as a matter of urgency.
I could be vindictive and only award a one star rating in this review but, being honest, outside of the BSOD incidents the R4 excels. It rips through any game I run and 'normal' use (Video, browsers, office apps) is a revelation compared to previous machines I've owned.
I should also state that I've received an excellent response from Alienware tech support regarding an SSD upgrade inquiry.
But I bought the R4 for gaming and it's not performing reliably at that task. Therefore, unfortunately, I can't recommend this machine.
I really hope that Alienware solve this problem ASAP and then I'll be happy to edit this review to the level it deserves.
Specs:
Aurora R4 ALX
Core i7-3960X CPU
16GB RAM
GTX680 SLI
500GB SSHybrid + 1TB HDD
Windows 7 Home Premium
Pros:Gaming, internet & video, office apps
Response from Dell.comBy JohnBforDellCustomer ReviewsJuly 30, 2012
Krusty77,

Very sorry to hear that your system is also experiencing the BSOD. This is an issue that we are currently investigating and attempting to keep from happening so that everyone will have the best experience with their Aurora R4. Keep checking into the Forums. This is probably the best place to stay caught up on the R4.
• Dell Community Forums – New to the Community:
http://dell.to/GY65Xz
+24points
26of 28voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Alienware Aurora R4
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:mdfredparanormghst
Title:

Poor Alienware system and support

PostedJuly 11, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Please do not buy this system, it has third party parts or refurished parts in the system. After I got the system the first day I hooked up my alienware system it frooze on me twice on Saturday and then once on Sunday. Then I experienced CheckDisc scans upon boot up of the system every time I turned it on or rebooted the system. The system would not install two software programs that I had on my old system. Called customer service they were not every friendly or even cared to resolve the issue, kept transferring me or putting me on hold. Their customer care dept is just as bad. Again recommend don't buying this system or spending what they want you to pay for it cause it not worth it. Sorry I spent the amount for the system was worth only to have alot of headaches with it and it wouldn't work correctly.
Response from Dell.comBy VikramNforDellCustomer ReviewsJuly 12, 2012
mdfredparanormghst,

We apologize that your Alienware out of box experience was not perfect. We value your feedback and would like the opportunity to try and correct the issues. I do understand that you have already spoken to customer care,there are other ways to get in touch with us, we are listening. Please join the Alienware Dell Community Forum (
http://dell.to/KZBaoK) so we and other Alienware users can assist you in troubleshooting. You can also email us at support@alienware.com
+37points
51of 65voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Alienware Aurora R4
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:CarlosE
(Boulder, CO, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Design/graphics
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Work Machine--

PostedFebruary 21, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Purchased this machine last summer and have yet to be disappointed in any way. I use this primarily for work--Full Adobe CS6 on very large files, almost all applications open simultaneously--and have yet to even have a hiccup on this machine. 100% reliable. 100% smooth. 100% FAST.
I was initially worried about using this as a work machine as I had concerns about long-term reliability when compared to my previous machines (both dual Xeon processor workstations) but have only been able to max this box out a few times. I added a few post-purchase upgrades (running 3 SSD total now and 32GB RAM) boot times are unreal, applications seemingly start instantly...I never even hear this machine running it is so quiet.
Access to all the ports, cables, drives is very easy and efficient once you open this box up. I am also really surprised at how clean this machine stays--not a lot of dust build up inside at all when compared to my other computers.
A nice feature to this machine are the LED lights on the back of the machine to illuminate the back cable/ports panel. Small thing, but really nice.
The overall box design isn't very practical, I suppose that is part of the compromise for getting a gaming box...but I think these are issues that will frustrate anyone (and are actually really minor). The front panel/door, when closed, blocks access to the CD tray. I usually keep it closed up and when I open the CD tray the front panel blocks it and it makes an awful noise--sounds like it is breaking. Would be nice if the front panel automatically opened when the CD tray opened. The USB connections and headphone jack on the top, front of the box are kind of awkward to access as they are backwards facing.
The overall size of the box is pretty big and it is very heavy. But those are small trade-offs when compared to how quiet this machine runs.
These are all REALLY minor issues, but I had to try to find something to be negative about.
One of my main reasons to purchase this was the flexibility in customizing the configuration to meet my needs.
If you are even thinking about it...stop, and just buy it now. You will not be disappointed.
Pros:speed, boot time, quiet, efficient, lights on back are excellent for managing cables, easy access to inside components, configuration
Cons:opening cd with front panel cover is poor design, very heavy, large footprint, front usb ports are awkward
+21points
24of 27voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Alienware Aurora R4
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Anagami
Title:

Nice machine, but arrived w/corrupted RAID 0

PostedApril 15, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Hi. This review is for an Aurora R4 w/ALX chassis, 16GB RAM, and GTX 560 Ti graphics card that I recently purchased. The machine arrived w/a corrupted RAID 0 (2x1TB drives w/striping) and would not boot, had to reseat HD0, recreate the RAID array and reinstall the OS! Tech support was a bit clueless as to how to help me, kept ignoring my comments that the raid controller was reporting errors w/HD0. Anyways I got it all figured out. Tech support promised to call me back the next day to see how I was doing, but never did :/
Pros:
1) Nice looking machine.
2) Well organized components on the inside.
3) Impressive thermal management.
4) Room for a second dual-slot video card.
5) 4 easily-accessible hotswap hard drive bays.
Cons:
1) Very heavy and *long* case.
2) Space for second video card appears somewhat cramped.
3) Memory has no heat sinks.
4) Tech support seems apathetic :/
Pros:Gaming, software development, audio editing
Response from Dell.comBy SaraTforDellCustomer ReviewsMay 29, 2012
Anagami,

I am sorry to hear your out of the box experience was not perfect. If you have any concerns in the future, I recommend reaching out to out tech support through on of these two avenues:

• You can contact our Dell Cares Team on Twitter (@DellCares):
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ
• If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ
A Facebook account is not required to use this form. You will be asked to provide your Name, service tag, email address and a brief description of the issue.

I am glad you like the style, design, and upgradeable aspects of this system. Thank you for taking the time to review your system!
+24points
31of 38voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Alienware Aurora R4
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Jodome
(Ireland)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Aurora R4

PostedNovember 16, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I always shop around for new products but somehow I always end up coming back to Dell. You've always delivered quality machines in my buget and on time. In this case when my "old" XPS720H2C began to show signs of age, I've gone for the Aurora R4.
On paper it looked a very good system and hands on the experience is even better. You know you've made the right choice from the start when even the delivery folks are impressed. The packaging isn't something you're going to spend long looking at but its comforting to see a bit of time and effort being taken by Alienware to ensure the quality in the box shows right down to how its packed.
Opening the box, you are greeted by a long sleek and moderately heavy machine (its a fair deal lighter than the 720H2C).
In terms of setup, it was very simple: plug in, turn on and enjoy. The variety of controls and personalisations available is great. This is a very fast, powerful system that perfectly suits my needs. It doesn't just look great, it feels great.
Only complaint I would have is it wasn't immediately clear just how to open the case (in the end I resorted to google and almost kicked myself how simple it actually is).
Once inside the case, the ability to easily slot in hard drives was very convenient and I soon had all my old data available without cables or downloading from backups.
Beautiful machine, kudos for a job well done from another happy customer.
Pros:photo editing, Gaming, remote access, grid computing
+86points
139of 192voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Alienware Aurora R4
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:soberdude05
(seattle, wa)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Second Aurora

PostedFebruary 10, 2013
User submitted photo
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought my second Alienware Aurora (R4), because I was so satisified with my first one (about 3 years ago), that I bought the new R4 Aurora. Paired with the Nvidea GTX 690, and 16 GB of ram, this new Aurora rocks.I am a CAD professional, and gaming enthusiast, and this system does both very well. (Great actually)
I would recommend getting Solid State drive for the front end, and a TB for the back end. I bought the Hybrid 500 GB drive for my OS, it does really good, but an SSD would be faster.
I hope this helps, for those of you considering spending premium dollors for your next system.
Pros:everything works great out of the box.
Cons:none really buy the ssd front drive for maximum p
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 20