Customer reviews for Alienware Aurora R4

Alienware Aurora R4

Alienware Aurora R4
4.324 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 315 reviews
5 Stars
209
4 Stars
58
3 Stars
13
2 Stars
11
1 Star
24
4.3
 / 
5
(315 reviews) 311
270 out of 31586%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Alienware Aurora R4
Review 1 for Alienware Aurora R4
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Kenneth1
(Windsor, ON, Canada)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Entertainment
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

I like the title assigned to my beautiful and powerful new P.C..

PostedMarch 20, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I'm slowly learning the new O.S. I ordered which ultimately we all have too.A manual on this keyboard would be greatly appreciated.Although Alienware support would help me I wouldn't want to divert their attention away from giving out their valeuable,courteous and very capable Technical Support.They're the Best! I'm so pleased with this purchase and your support that turning in at night has Me wanting another day with my P.C.
Pros:everything!!
Cons:no keyboard manual.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Alienware Aurora R4
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:CarrieHubbard
(Aberdeen, WA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Hardcore Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Expensive, but worth it.

PostedApril 14, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Alienware is expensive, no getting around it. But the performance and speed of this machine is excellent, so that price tag is what comes along with that level of performance. I've had a few minor issues, the occasional windows lockup for no reason, but nothing I couldn't diagnose and deal with on my own. I love my Aurora and will likely buy another one when this one needs replacing. I do think, however, that you pay for the name as much as the machine. And as expensive as this machine is, it really should come with a longer warranty at no extra charge and a better support system.
Pros:speed, performance, appearance
Cons:expensive, base warranty, hard to contact support
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Alienware Aurora R4
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Caliwags
(Sunnyvale, CA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Hardcore Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

3rd DOA in a row

PostedApril 10, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Just received my latest system after 2 prior DOAs and lengthy fight for a refund. Latest system is DOA. The graphics card (AMD R9 290X) GPU reaches temp threshold and powers down the entire system. Worked with the Support team who easily replicated the issue. Sent me a new card and exact same thing. The stock fan on the AMD R9 290X is not capable of cooling the GPU with even modest loads. Dell is unwilling to exchange the graphics card for another model so looks like I'll be fighting for my 2nd and final refund.
Cons:poor design, video card overheating, doa x3
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Alienware Aurora R4
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:wilburforce
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Alienware Aurora-R4

PostedApril 3, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Product was easy to configure. I added more RAM and an upgrade to the video card.
The product shipped and arrived by the promised date.
Pros:not a single bsod yet while using windows 8
Cons:can sometimes be a bit sluggish when rebooting
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Alienware Aurora R4
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:RGThree
(Pinehurst, NC, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Alienware Aurora-R4

PostedMarch 31, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
The Alienware Aurora-R4 is the fastest computer I've ever owned. I bought mine with Windows 8 and I love it. It is the quietest desktop I ever used. The liquid cooling on the CPU is awesome and really keeps it quiet. I really love the way the inside of the chassis is compartmentalized for maximum cooling. Boots Windows in about 6 seconds and you're ready to game! A computer you will be happy to show off.
Pros:comes standard with liquid cooling., has a button to light up the back ports, easily upgradable, supports two video cards pci express x16
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Alienware Aurora R4
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:wsparhawk
(Spokane, WA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

AlienwareR4

PostedMarch 28, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I am very happy with my new computer. It operates flawlessly and is fast.I had a problem with my optical drive, talked to Customer Service
and had two days later, a new optical drive delivered to my door by a computer technician.
He completed the swap out of the drives in a matter of minutes, the optical drive and computer now work fantastically.
Bill
Pros:very fast, construction of computer is perfect, very well put together pretty and awesome.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Alienware Aurora R4
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Tracks
(Little Falls, NY 13365, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Excellent Replacement

PostedMarch 8, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I needed to replace my 10-year-old XPS Dell unit and decided on Alienware due to the reliability and excellent reviews...and so far, glad I did.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Alienware Aurora R4
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Longbow4570
(Whitestone Queens)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Hardcore Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Excellent Machine

PostedMarch 1, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
This machine is one of the best I ever purchased.It plays all the games I have and even more I could not play on my older machine.I would recommend this machine to all who love to gameplay.So keep up the good work Alienware you got a big 10 from me in excellence .Joseph L.
Pros:great graphics
Cons:none
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Alienware Aurora R4
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Louis2014
(Kentucky, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Taking Business Beyond The Horizon

PostedFebruary 27, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I actually purchased this strictly for business use and do not do any gaming at all. I edit audio, pictures and video while working in documents via excel, outlook, publisher and word, sometimes doing several of these simultaneously. This is the first computer to handle this workload without struggling and slowing down to a level of performance that is untenable. Hence, at least for me, this Alienware computer has taken my business beyond the usual limit of my workload and I can do more than ever before!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Alienware Aurora R4
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:fireman4403
(Rincon Georgia)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Casual Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

This computer is great.

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have had this computer 1 year now and have had no issues with it. I love all the cool features and it is very quiet and stays cool under extreme Gaming. I will buy from Alienware.
Pros:quiet, fast, user friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Alienware Aurora R4
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:BeatNugget
(South Carolina)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Hardcore Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Great Gaming Rig

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Great CPU!!!! I would not get any other computer then an alienware!!!! I can now run all of my games on ultra high.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Alienware Aurora R4
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:NSiXX
(NJ)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Hardcore Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

On the fence with this one.

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
So of course, for about 10 years I've wanted a alienware computer and I finally decided to take the plunge. As far as the computer runs great with a few glitches, every once and a while it seems like the graphics card is cutting out due to heat. The AlienFX did not work and the first guy I talked to did not know exactly what he was doing and kind of rushed me. I reinstalled rebooted and called back spoke to another gentleman there who was great. Still didn't work and came out to be defective and there sending someone to fix it, which is great but is going to take some time. So I'll give the customer service an A+ but the rest of the product is about a b-.
Pros:fast, great fps, visual effects are great
Cons:glitchy, price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Alienware Aurora R4
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Juvi
(Pomona, CA.)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

If You Can't Build Your Own, This Is The Next Best Thing

PostedFebruary 23, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Yes, the price is pretty up there as far as computers go, but it truly is a top-of-line machine. I have a few friends that told me I was better off building my own from great parts, but I am by no means a tech person beyond using it on a regular basis. The performance, visuals, and parts are all top notch, and it is the quitest computer I'v ever owned. Add to that the customization of just about every aspect of the hardware and software, itself, and this sexy piece of machinery might just be the last one you ever need to buy. You can even change the color of the tower's backglow. And if you're a gamer, you're going to love Alienware. I just recently converted to PC gaming myself, and I am not disappointed. If you can't/won't build your own, then save your pennies for this one, because it's totally worth it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Alienware Aurora R4
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:BPT3238
(El Paos, TX)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Design/graphics
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

keeps shutting down

PostedFebruary 23, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Eveything is great except that I dont trust it. I get up in the
morning to find it has recovered from unexpected shutdown
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Alienware Aurora R4
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MorphitIRL
(AL)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Hardcore Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Runs like a beast

PostedFebruary 20, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Handles any game I throw at it on ultra settings, dependable system, looks good and all the friends get their hands slapped trying to mess with my case, great cooling system.
Pros:ultra settings are not an issue, great cooling setup with multiple monitors
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Alienware Aurora R4
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DaleSims
(Davenport Ia)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Bad performance

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
This system has lots of complication issues with bios cannot run some programs and has had an issue since the day I took it out of the box very dissatisfied a big waste of money I will never buy another
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Alienware Aurora R4
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:David29
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Hardcore Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Excellent Product

PostedFebruary 17, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Ease of use. I had been looking for a computer that had the power for gaming graphics. I did not want the hassle of building my own computer. My Computer is super quiet I heard people say this product was loud it is not. The overall performance is great to be able to run games at max settings with no lag. I have had my Computer for about 6 months now and would highly reccomend this system to anyone.
Pros:power, quality graphics, quiet, no hassle at all
Cons:im still working on this
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Alienware Aurora R4
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Kat69
(Australia)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Can't go wrong with Alienware!

PostedFebruary 17, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I own two Alienware desktops, one three years old and the other less than 2 months old, and they are both fantastic machines. Powerful and unique looking towers, they are top grade systems. I didn't hesitate when it came time to purchase a second computer for a network - there was only one choice: Alienware. I have had experience with many different brands of computers, desktop and laptop, and hands down, the Alienware systems blow the competition out of the water.
The unique looking machines add some real aesthetics to my workstation, and the power that is packed into them, whatever I throw at the Auroras with 3D, modelling, Photoshop or gaming, they don't skip a beat with the RAM heavy programs.
I highly recommend Alienware for people who are after powerful computers, that look great and handle whatever their owners can throw at them. For people who want the power of a customised computer with their requirements, you can't go wrong with Alienware. They might be expensive at first glance, but I can guarantee the pricetag will be quickly forgotten in the euphoria of no-stress computing. These computers are a definite long term investment, meaning you won't need to look for a more powerful replacement 6 months down the track.
Pros:excellent quality
Cons:towers can be a bit bulky in small spaces
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Alienware Aurora R4
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:GualalaBarbara
(Mendocino Coast)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Design/graphics
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Not just for gamers

PostedFebruary 12, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Although at 70 years old I get a kick out of all the lights etc., this computer is not just for gamers. It is an excellent machine for graphics and photographers. My salesman found out what my graphic and camera programs would be expecting from a computer in the next five years and guided me to get the basics and have the ability to expand.
Pros:fast, made my older monitor look really good, makes you feel 14 without the pimples
Cons:heavy, large case
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Alienware Aurora R4
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:SkorneTetZu
(Los Angeles, CA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Hardcore Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

A MUST have for serious Gamers

PostedFebruary 7, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
No review in complete (IMO) without something negative being noted; and for that, all I can say is I was very disappointed that the AlienWare Computer didn't include the AlienWare Mouse and Keyboard. I feel that was in very poor taste, especially since they go well, physically with the system.
But that being said... I can't express enough just how satisfied I am with the AlienWare Aurora. I'm not as big a Tech Guy as I use to be, some many many years ago; however, though my interst in Computers has somewhat deminished, my enthusiam and love for gaming has continued to grow. And as a gamer, I have not had such perfect (and I do many PERFECT) experiences with games in an extremely long time.
With any new computer, the first couple of games you purchase and play normally run fine with no real issues, but by the 3rd or 4th, you have to start tweaking this and that to get the game running at 'Possible' optimum level. Since purchasing this system, I have experienced roughly 7 new releases (several months apart from each other) and the only tweaking I've had to do, was to set everything on High, because this system can soooo Take it.
For a gamer, I would venture to say that it's never really been about the system... it's about the Game. You buy a Game, Install it and Play. But so often it's more about: Buy a Game, Install it, Tweak it, look for on-line help to resolve an issue, call a friend or two, contact support, re-install the game, rinse, repeat, and maybe finally play the game on a lower setting a couple of days later. Eventually I'm sure this will happen even with this computer (it's inevitable); however... this computer has already surpassed my last 5 or 6 computers in comparison. (Or possibility, every computer I've ever had).
Sadly, things come and go; and believe it or not, my greatest fear is that, by the time this system is due for an upgrade (replacement) AlienWare has disappeared and I won't be able to get another one (hey, so I can be paranoid sometimes); but this is now my only gaming system, until it's not :).
So.. Final word is: Buy this system if you just want to Game - High End, No Problem Gaming!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 16