Customer reviews for Alienware Aurora R4

Alienware Aurora R4

Alienware Aurora R4
4.349 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 387 reviews
5 Stars
262
4 Stars
68
3 Stars
15
2 Stars
14
1 Star
28
4.3
 / 
5
(387 reviews) 383
333 out of 38786%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Alienware Aurora R4
Review 1 for Alienware Aurora R4
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MLGamer
(Wentzville, MO, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Design/graphics
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Blasting the competition

PostedOctober 15, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Hello,
I have been an R4 owner for over two years. In deciding on a "fun" desktop, my criteria included power, speed, platinum level hardware, no flicker, tools, applications specific to the desktop and more importantly than some already mentioned, outward appearance.
For my money, Alienware had everything covered and at a very detailed level. I love the sleek design and lighting placements. In addition, going with a pretty much maxed out version on options, the computer is lightening fast with very few if any bottlenecks.
Two upgrades I would like to see available are colored cases and automatic "up" for the DVD drive cover. Other than that, I am a happy cat!
Matthew
Pros:speed, power, aesthetics, purchase options, dual everything (at least), easy hardware access, dragon scale vents!, plenty of ram with room to grow, great hard drive options, great hard drive configuration options
Cons:upper usb ports can be tricky to use, no case color choices, dvd up drive cover, fully expandable hardware optionos
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Alienware Aurora R4
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:TheRealMaRS
(St. Louis, MO, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

One of the best purchases I have ever made period!

PostedOctober 4, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I purchased the Alienware Aurora R4 desktop PC back in April of 2013. It has been absolutely amazing. My benchmark scores routinely score in the above "High End Gaming PC" at 3dMark. Every single game I play is on Ultra at the highest possible settings and my Aurora has always been 100% reliable. If you are looking for that center piece for your game room or your computer room then the Alienware Aurora R4 is it.
I use my PC mostly for gaming, content creation and web browsing and this beast might be overkill but who cares. I absolutely love my Aurora and if I had to recommend the PC to someone I absolutely would.
Alienware PC's aren't cheap, and they aren't for the economy gamer, they are built for the enthusiast. So if you are on a budget then an Alienware Aurora might not be for you although they do offer some interesting alternatives. But if you are in the same boat as me where it didn't matter and you wanted the Ferrari of pre-built PC's then Alienware is the way to go.
Here is what I recommend, go with the very best GPU and CPU you can get as well as grab 32GB Memory. Remember everything about the Aurora is upgradable but you want to start out with as much future proofing as you can so go big on the GPU, CPU and Memory.
Also make sure to get more than 1 year of warranty service. It is vital, PC's are like all electronics. Things go wrong, parts go bad and we, the user, create issues. Having more than 1 year will save you dearly. I went with the duration because I break things and having someone to call to fix them gives me piece of mind.
Anyway, I went with the ALX Chassis because, well it looks like a freaking monster and arguably the best looking chassis on the market. The vents and lighting is second to none especially when you turn it on and hear the Transformer sound. Absolutely epic sounding. Not to mention that it's polished aluminum with a matte black finish so it just looks so ridiculously sick.
I also picked up the TactX Keyboard and TacX Mouse to set the tone for my game room, but you don't have to, although I do recommend it because when you see all 3 parts in unison it's crazy good looking.
Lastly don't believe the hate you see online about Alienware. 99% of from people who never owned one or had any experience with one. There are "horror stories" out there from former owners but you have to remember for every one "horror story" there are 50 satisfied customers. Not to mention most of those "horror stories" are one sided and you don't know what was involved. Do your on research, and be objective and you'll clearly see that Alienware is an excellent way to go if you choose the pre-built PC way.
I certainly did and I haven't regretted a single solitary thing.
Pros:power, looks, reliability, quiet, its an alienware!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Alienware Aurora R4
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:RaYnR1
(Fort Lauderdale, FL, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Best you can get for a good price!

PostedSeptember 10, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I was thinking on building myself a nice computer and save a couple of bucks, but when I read all the reviews from people that did the same and how many problems they had with parts being bad and all the hassle to return, etc. I totally gave up and decided to buy an excellent and well known product which is Alienware and I was right! It exceeded my expectations! Alienware is the best option for those who like gaming like me! Loving my new pc! should've done that years ago!
Pros:reliable, well known brand, good price
Cons:no cons
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Alienware Aurora R4
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Wiseaxe
(South Carolina, USA)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Casual Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

Aurora R4

PostedAugust 12, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased my Aurora back in Feb. 2104 and since then I have had my video card replaced 3 times, I still am kicking myself for going with the recommended ati radeon (sits on a desk). I would give customer service top grades but you have to go through 2-3 operators asking you the same questions to get to the tech that will help you diagnose the problem, but once you do reach them they are spot on and quick with a solution.
Cons:poor quality control
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Alienware Aurora R4
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:LINKTOTRIFORCE
(South Carolina, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Hardcore Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Alienware Aurora

PostedJuly 31, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I love my new desktop.The games play on it great and I can take all of my games to ULTRA setting.This is truly an amazing system.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Alienware Aurora R4
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Joe1776
(Derwood Md)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Design/graphics
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Alienwareware Product Exchange

PostedJuly 19, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
The exchange PC exceed my expectations in all the areas I specified: Speed, expandability, new technology. I am confident that if components begin to fail, as they always do, Dell will have the replacement parts to restore the PC.
This is very important to me and interfacing with Dells' Support was very quick and focused, which is important in my line of work.
Pros:excennent system
Cons:decision to repplace the pcexchange took too long
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Alienware Aurora R4
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:kibokichi
(Houston, TX, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Casual Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Auroa R4 Awesome!

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I was looking to build my own performance PC to run games and Adobe Creative Suite. After spending a few months pricing and reviewing parts, I found that it was just a few dollars more to buy an Alienware Auroa R4.
The machine arrived in just a week, and it blew me away. The speed and performance is exceptional. And I was impressed that a clean copy of Windows 8.1 with no bloatware was all that was installed on my computer.
Thank you Alienware for exceeding my needs and expectations!
Pros:no bloatware, solid construction, awesome value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Alienware Aurora R4
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:GamerGuy93
(Glenpool, OK)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Casual Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Fantastic Gaming Powerhouse

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought my new Alienware PC about a year ago and have had no problems with any hardware or software related issues. I am extremely satisfied with the performance and customization of this PC.
Pros:great pc, graphic powerhouse
Cons:none
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Alienware Aurora R4
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:victormiranda
(Kissimmee, FL, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Hardcore Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Dont buy Aurora R4

PostedJuly 4, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
so this is my 3rd week with this headache and its headache after headache. thinking bout returning it soon if this keeps up. first the LED lights wouldn't change color and I had to reinstall and uninstall the program that controls it a few times. then it kept restarting unexpectedly when playing the game space engineers. now it wont let me record gameplay, tested on my laptop and its working fine but not on this computer. every time I use the action software it flickers a couple time then it sends me to the login screen. ughhhhhhh.. I wont change review until I find no problem with the computer which I doubt itll happen
Pros:looks cool
Cons:too expensive for a problematic computer, some fans on the alx dont open all the way, the led lights sometimes dont sync, led sometimes turn off and have to restart, u have to call tech support too many times
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Alienware Aurora R4
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:BigRome63
(Philadelphia,PA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

Great System

PostedJune 27, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Love this system. Run fast and cool at the same time
Pros:n/a
Cons:cost too much
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Alienware Aurora R4
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Saunders80
(Bronx, NY)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Hardcore Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Aurora R4 ALX

PostedJune 27, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
This system has strong performace. The standard liquid cooling helps to extended the overclocking ceiling without a great deal of noise. It has been stable in near 24/7 use, with the only crashes being linked to unstable stoftware that I installed. With the 875 Watt PSU, no graphics or CPU option is not attainable. I also like the design of the standard mATX chassis and I hope to do a full system upgrade in 3-4 years reusing the chassis. By the far the best PC I've ever seen. Little things like recharcgeable battery powered lights that allows me to see inside without fumbling with a flashlight makes a huge difference.
Pros:value, attention to detail, quality feel, extreme reliability, strong performace, easily upgradable design
Cons:requires frequent cleaning to avoid dust issues
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Alienware Aurora R4
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:scotland303
(Selah,WA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Hardcore Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Excellent job.

PostedJune 23, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Love your P.C. and the graphics card that was provided. Good service and packing, plus price, would reconmend this to all my friends who are huge gamers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Alienware Aurora R4
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:walker1356
(grande prairie ab)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Hardcore Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

fast

PostedJune 19, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
i have used other systems but this one is just all around smother and the case look amazing lights all over the place and internal lights make working on it so easy
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Alienware Aurora R4
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:billyd1000
(Southern Ohio)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Hardcore Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Graphic Powerhouse

PostedJune 18, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I am very happy with my purchase. I couldn't believe my luck in finding this Aurora in the Outlet. GTX 690/4Gb GDDR5 Memory. What a remarkable card. Six-Core 4930K I7 Intel Processor, 16 Gb 1600 Quad Channel Ram. Topped off with Windows 7 HP, and I have a game playing machine.
Pros:windows 7, perhaps the best nvidia gtx card to date., water cooled processor., case fans work very well on other cooling.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Alienware Aurora R4
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Service 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MiLoLaMb
(Sydney NSW, Australia)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Top Computer

PostedJune 14, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
This product is a little bit over priced, but it is ascetically pleasing.
I had an issue with the first bios that it shipped with for BSOD but this was patched the day after. So I'm happy with that.
The system hasn't failed once, I haven't had to swap anything out or in at all, except I broke the cable and they sent me a new one.
Pros:fast and amazing, great warranty, looks awesome
Cons:mostly paying for brand name, might have issues on arrival
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Alienware Aurora R4
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Fixguy
(Tilbury, Ontario)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Design/graphics
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

It's simply the best of the best

PostedJune 12, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
This computer performs well and the only trouble I had was with changing the colour scheme and understanding the cooling system. I have trouble with the k key needing to be pressed a little harder than the rest but I purchased this after the initial keyboard dissapointed me.
Pros:fast, decorative, state of the art
Cons:support links
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Alienware Aurora R4
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Zander2
(Minnesota, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Hardcore Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

Love My Alienware Aurora

PostedJune 12, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
From the packaging to the playing, this machine Rocks. Un packed it and fired it up. Smooth. I love the ability to set the unit as to how I play. I don't care for Windows 8 but that really doesn't matter. Took me a little while to figure it out but no big deal. It is very quiet and I will say, it looks very cool with the colors it puts out on the tower. Im a geek for that kinda stuff.
I have yet to contact customer support so I cant comment on that.
Bottom line, I am very satisfied with my AlienWare.
Pros:fast, quiet, programable
Cons:pricey
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Alienware Aurora R4
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Aera
(Victoria, BC, Canada)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Hardcore Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

A Glorious Beast

PostedJune 11, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
The Alienware Aurora is a magnificent monstrosity of a computer, and you will not be able to wipe the smile off of your face when you receive this at your door. Being able to customize almost every component allows you to craft one perfectly suiting your budget, and if hardcore gaming is your thing, you will never be more satisfied. Not only is it aesthetically beautiful, but it runs with incredible performance at dead silence with the liquid cooling unit.
10/10 - Your foes will be slaughtered before they even see what happened.
Pros:unmatched power, beautiful
Cons:will cause you to take a week off of work to drool
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Alienware Aurora R4
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Keith2222
(Nova Scotia)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
I use my PC for:Hardcore Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Excellent Aurora System

PostedJune 10, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have had mine system for a few weeks now , the system is operating excellent, runs mine games easily at extremegraphics, had a minor issue after unpacking the system but alienware service had me up and running in no time (very good support by the way)This is mine second system and if you are reading this and are on the fence about buying one just go do it even at the price of the system you will not be disapointed. Put an SSD drive in it!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Alienware Aurora R4
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Clayton1
(Iowa)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Hardcore Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

6 month review

PostedJune 7, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Just amazing!! Love playing COD: Ghost on this! Sooo QUIET!! NO LAG during game play! - look at my youtube video on this!!
Pros:fast - quiet - love it!
Cons:cant find one yet!!
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 20