Customer reviews for LG 50-inch Plasma TV - 50PA5500 1080p HDTV

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Dell.com.

LG 50-inch Plasma TV - 50PA5500 1080p HDTV

LG 50-inch Plasma TV - 50PA5500 1080p HDTV
4.125 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 16 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
4.1
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 14
12 out of 1675%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for LG 50-inch Plasma TV - 50PA5500 1080p HDTV
Review 1 for LG 50-inch Plasma TV - 50PA5500 1080p HDTV
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:BigD817
(Fort Worth, TX, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Entertainment
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Great PQ! Great Settings!

PostedMarch 1, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
First of all hats off to Pilot Delivery who I've never heard of but they did a great job communicating and deliverying my TV on time and in immaculate condition. Dell was also professional through the transaction and delivery process. Setup was plug and play.... after attaching the stand. After YOU TURN OFF the Energy Saver feature the TV comes to life and after playing with it for a while you WILL find a few settings that are pleasing to YOUR eyes. The picture out of the box is very good...EXCELLENT after you tweek it and experiment. You can find great settings on AVS forum like I did and then adjust to your liking. The TV is truly a solid deal at any price point but $650 after taxes is a great deal for this set!
Pros:realistic colors, swivel stand, many settings for sound and picture
Cons:none yet
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for LG 50-inch Plasma TV - 50PA5500 1080p HDTV
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:dougers
Title:

Great TV

PostedDecember 19, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
This TV has been great for us. Good picture quality and the pricewas just as good as Best Buy but I feel I'm getting a better product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for LG 50-inch Plasma TV - 50PA5500 1080p HDTV
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ER56
(Portland, OR)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Great Product....extremely poor implementation

PostedOctober 26, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this TV after reading reviews and looking for a larger screen to upgrade my very old LCD display. I like the inputs, the size, and the reviews of picture quality.
The TV first arrived at the begining of September, and I set it up, and tested it to make sure everything worked. The picture was really good once energy savings mode was disabled, and I had not even made any adjustments yet. HD-OTA tuner worked well. All the features I tested worked fine, and I was happy. We had just moved into a new house, and the TV packaging got mixed in with the used moving boxes, and as you will learn if you continue reading, unfortunately got recycled.
The TV operated for exactly 9 days of moderate use before the panel (I would later learn) died. I called Dell, they said call LG, and since I did not have packaging for a return, asked for LG service. After many phone calls, and 3 visits from LGs service provider, and changing what had to be every internal part in the TV, I was told the panel needed to be replaced, and they would have to order it. A call to LG to complain about this poor experience fell on deaf ears, they simply did not care and said all they would do is service the TV. I called Dell and they agreed to send me a new TV so I could return the old one in the packaging. Dell was very helpful on this end.
The new TV finally arrived, set it up, and used it for about 6 days, and a vertical line showed up with red and blue backgrounds to the left side of the display. Now I have to decide what to do. Is the third time the charm or do I just give up on this product and look for something else?
This whole thing has been a lifemare. LG seems to have serious quality problems with this model, and their service providers do not appear to have any idea how to efficiently fix LG TVs. My first LG experience, and likely to be my last.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for LG 50-inch Plasma TV - 50PA5500 1080p HDTV
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Andy77
Title:

Great Deal.

PostedAugust 22, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I love this Tv, the picture is really good and very easy to use. It doesnt get to hot. The only thing that i would add will be a nice sound system and will be perfect. The sound is good but i like it better.
Pros:home
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for LG 50-inch Plasma TV - 50PA5500 1080p HDTV
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Ray13
(Citrus Springs , Florida)
Title:

Excellent product

PostedAugust 9, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I read reviews on the LG Plasma , and decided to try the product . Glad I did , I havve cable and just went to my cable company and got an HDMI cord .. plugged it in and what a great picture !
It has a swivel stand , was delivered early that expected ... Dell does it again !!
No Cons
Pros:home
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for LG 50-inch Plasma TV - 50PA5500 1080p HDTV
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DanielBowman
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Good for the price!

PostedAugust 8, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Not the best TV overall but great price fo this size of a TV.
Pros:movies and sports
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for LG 50-inch Plasma TV - 50PA5500 1080p HDTV
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:jpski991
(Las Vegas,NV)
Title:

A great TV

PostedAugust 2, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is my first plasma tv and the picture is so much better than my LCD and LED tv's. Set up was very easy, it took only 10 min. to do. The best feature is changing the input devices. It shows where it is hooked up and with what cable it is. I have no problems with it. It's by far the best tv I've ever owned.
Pros:living room
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for LG 50-inch Plasma TV - 50PA5500 1080p HDTV
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:pecan
Title:

reflects everything

PostedJuly 27, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
picture is fine, but what's the use if you can see everything reflecting in the tv. I covered the windows, but light is still reflecting from kitchen. I would not recommend a plasma tv.
Pros:sports and movies
-12points
7of 26voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for LG 50-inch Plasma TV - 50PA5500 1080p HDTV
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:unclejumbo
Title:

2 out of 3 were bad

PostedJuly 18, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased 3 of these about a month ago. 2 of them have already gone bad, one with no display, the other with lines across the screen. Dell was great with the first one, and replaced it right away. The second has been scheduled for repair(mistake)and still isn't fixed. The tv repair person said that after trying different fixes, they would now have to replace the entire board. I should have insisted that the 2cnd tv be replaced. Overall, it would be very hard for me to reccomend these tv's, although the working one does have a nice picture.
+15points
18of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for LG 50-inch Plasma TV - 50PA5500 1080p HDTV
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:mazdapunk87
(San Antonio, TX)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Love it !!

PostedJuly 14, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
This was my first LG tv and have to say im very happy with this TV
was afraid that maybe it wouldnt be as good as LCD but have to say after a little over 1 month of use am glad i got the plasma!
the only Con i can think of is people complain that the glare is horrible , and i understand what they mean compairing to an LCD it does have a bit more glare but its not bad at all in my opinion
overall im very happy with this LG
Pros:watching hd tv/blu ray movies, play video games / xbox360/ps3
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for LG 50-inch Plasma TV - 50PA5500 1080p HDTV
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:mandd
Title:

Great TV for the price

PostedJuly 13, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
We replaced our old Samsung 42" Plasma with this new LG. Hung it in minutes with our existing wall mount (although it takes 6mm screws instead of the 8mm on our Samsung).
Looks great, runs way cooler. We were concerned at first because the picture was way darker than the Samsung...but then we figured out YOU HAVE TO TURN OFF THE POWER SAVE MODE...then it looked EXCELLENT. And you can definitely customize the picture exactly as you like it.
We have only had it for a couple of weeks, but so far we are very pleased with the purchase and the great value.
Pros:just watching tv!
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for LG 50-inch Plasma TV - 50PA5500 1080p HDTV
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Nosreves
Title:

Bad Pixels

PostedJune 28, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was anticipating the arrival of this TV, I had to wait a bit longer then i wanted but once i got it i was so pleased until further inspection.
The Bad.....In the middle of the screen I easily detected a bright pixel that would go from green to white, this of course bummed me out but i thought i could live with it until a couple weeks later when i detected a new one...agh! Now I have two dead pixels. I have requested an exchange with DELL so I will update once everything is said and done.
The Good.... I found this TV to be beautiful and bright, Blu-ray is just stunning! I would recommend but like i said "Im still waiting for a response from DELL" Once i get another one i will let you know about it.
+10points
13of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for LG 50-inch Plasma TV - 50PA5500 1080p HDTV
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:poblinger
Title:

Great Tv

PostedJune 28, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have purchased 2 TV's from Dell. I recieved two great prices. Both TV's are great. But the last one the plasma tv is fantastic color. I just love it. Thank you dell for giving me the great service.
Pros:liing room, master bedroom
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for LG 50-inch Plasma TV - 50PA5500 1080p HDTV
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:tullamor42
(Philadelphia,Pa)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert

PostedJune 26, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Very nice TV. Very easy to setup. Does not require
a PH.d in cable setup. took it out of the box and hhad the TV setup in under 10 minutes. For those oof you who have never had a plasma, the picture is outstanding. Now LCD pictures will be brighter, but the balck contrast and the background is so much better, than either and LCD or LED. And if your watchiang sports the 600HZ refresh rate is 6 x that of an LCS or LED. For the price, this is an oustanding value. PIcture is great, contrast is excellent, and setup is so easy. Nothing hard about setting up this TV. Picture is better than any LCD I have had to date. Definitely get this 50" LG. Beats anything out there in the market.
Pros:personal tv, movies, football viewing, wildlife shows
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Ratings-only reviews for LG 50-inch Plasma TV - 50PA5500 1080p HDTV
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
2 out of 2 recommend this product