Customer reviews for Sharp 46-inch LC-46SV49U 1080p HD LCD TV

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Dell.com.

Sharp 46-inch LC-46SV49U 1080p HD LCD TV

Sharp 46-inch LC-46SV49U 1080p HD LCD TV
4.574 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 68 reviews
5 Stars
51
4 Stars
11
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
3
4.6
 / 
5
(68 reviews) 61
64 out of 6894%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Sharp 46-inch LC-46SV49U 1080p HD LCD TV
Review 1 for Sharp 46-inch LC-46SV49U 1080p HD LCD TV
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:spraytherm
(Chatham NJ)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Fine for a week and then it gave up

PostedJanuary 21, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Of course this is the TV I chose to ship to Costa Rica, in it's original packing surrounded by other items on a pallet to protect it from damage. It arrived in perfect condition. Was very happy until about a week into service it started not seeing any inputs after about an hour after powering up. If allowed to "cool down" it would then "see" the input and run about 20 minutes before giving up again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sharp 46-inch LC-46SV49U 1080p HD LCD TV
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:HAMMHOC
Title:

Just Buy It!

PostedAugust 21, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Skeptical at first due to the "give away" price; however, it's a nice TV. Very close to our Samsung as far as picture quality and sound. Nice features and easy to use. ONLY ONE complaint - if your Lazy Boy is farther than 14ft away from the TV dead on, the remote has trouble finding the sensor. Somewhat irritating but for the price, I'll move the chair up a few feet.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sharp 46-inch LC-46SV49U 1080p HD LCD TV
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Bobsnsane
(Plymouth, MI)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

A stunning picture @ an AMAZING price

PostedAugust 9, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I was gonna do the rabbit-ears thing but
I CAVED & ordered Direct TV just in time 4 the Olympics and FOOTBALL!!!!
I sit in front of this & drool - duuuhh
the picture is breathtaking
in an unambiguous, non-Seinfield sorta way.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sharp 46-inch LC-46SV49U 1080p HD LCD TV
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:CrazyAV1
(Dallas)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Good for the money

PostedAugust 8, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
At first I thought this TV was golden. Colors looked great, it had all the connections I wanted, and everything just worked.
Then as I watched more and more content, I realized that dark scenes look terrible compared to other LCDs. It's either so dark that you can't see what you're supposed to see or you have to raise the brightness/contrast so high that blacks become overly gray and bright colors are WAY too bright. I'm no expert at calibrating LCDs, but I'm pretty sure that there are no settings that will correct this.
I'm still happy with this purchase though, it's a 46in LCD for $500!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sharp 46-inch LC-46SV49U 1080p HD LCD TV
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:RCWarneck
(Florida)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Sharp 46 LCD 1080p HD TV

PostedAugust 2, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Great tv for the price. I bought a 52 inch one 5 years ago for $2500. Now this one is a bit smaller but for $500, you can't beat the price and the picture is excellant. Btw, the older tv still has a beautiful picture also. Now they make a 90 inch one and I saw it on display. Wish I had the space for another one. Anyway, you can't go wrong with Sharp.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sharp 46-inch LC-46SV49U 1080p HD LCD TV
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:joejoe35897
Title:

this is a graet tv and it was easy to hook

PostedJuly 27, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
tis is a great tv the picture is great and the sound is very good . it was easy to hook up took about 5 mins .and we were off and running .
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sharp 46-inch LC-46SV49U 1080p HD LCD TV
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:PugUglyy
Title:

Not What I Expected

PostedJuly 27, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I am very unhappy with the picture quality. It is on the dark side and after considerable adjusting I have accepeted the fact that it is not going to get any better. Also there "customer service" is..... well lets just say they need to work on it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sharp 46-inch LC-46SV49U 1080p HD LCD TV
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:comglaze
(logan, utah)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average

PostedJuly 21, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
i purchased a sharp 46" lcd television model lc-46sv49u it was shipped to my residence on time as promised i really like the style and appearance of the television it has extemely vivid color and a very sharp picture i am very happy with the television and i am also very happy with the service from dell when i purchased it it was very reasonably priced and i would recomend that people check out dell before purchasing a new television
Pros:home entertainment
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sharp 46-inch LC-46SV49U 1080p HD LCD TV
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:kyguy1961
Title:

Awesome TV

PostedJuly 13, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Very happy with the 46" Sharp TV. Awesome price, Great picture, Easy to get up and running.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sharp 46-inch LC-46SV49U 1080p HD LCD TV
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:NewReviewerTV
Title:

Good TV

PostedJuly 12, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
The TV is great for the price. I have 2 minor problems, 1. I had a difficult time attaching the base and 2. After programming the Comcast remote to control the TV functions - there is a delay when using the remote after turning on the TV.
Pros:home use
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sharp 46-inch LC-46SV49U 1080p HD LCD TV
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:CPinNC
(NC)
Title:

The perfect TV for our new den!

PostedJuly 11, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I had previously ordered another TV and received a notice it was back ordered. We did not want to wait the additional days and this was in the same price range-only a lot bigger! I was skeptical but placed the order. It arrived within 2 days. I set it up and hooked up the bluray player and was amazed. It has great picture and the sound is good. I am really pleased with the TV in all areas. I thought it would be way too big, but now I can't imagine a smaller one! I have watched quite a few action and scifi movies on it and it keeps up just fine. Great deal if you are looking to make a tv room or a 2nd family area to hang out.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Sharp 46-inch LC-46SV49U 1080p HD LCD TV
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:TVFan1
Title:

Tremendous Bargain for a Fine TV

PostedJuly 11, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I was hooked by the low price and decided to take a chance based on the existing reviews. I had to compromise on the 60 Hz refresh rate but since 90 percent of our viewing is AT&T U-Verse, that uses that rate, it made sense.
The picture and sound are fine. I have had a little trouble getting the color settings I like but that's probably my ignorance and not the TV's fault.
I changed from a 42-inch Sony rear-projection HDTV (1080i) and prefer this Sharp product for improved speed turning on (no lamp to warm up) and brightness during the day.
I have had the TV for only two weeks but I have faith that it will continue to perform as needed.
Blue-Ray looks great on it. I haven't noticed any limitation resulting from the 60-Hz refresh rate.
I would recommend this TV to anyone.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Sharp 46-inch LC-46SV49U 1080p HD LCD TV
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Sharpbuyer
Title:

Great TV for the price

PostedJuly 11, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Great deal, quick shipping, TV works great!
Pros:watching tv
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Sharp 46-inch LC-46SV49U 1080p HD LCD TV
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:KioG
(New York)
Title:

My first flat screen

PostedJuly 8, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Three words, I love it! Perfect size. Crystal clear HD pictures. Easy set up. I'm noone's AV expert. If I can put this together, anyone can. Absolutely loving this TV!
Pros:personal entertainment
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Sharp 46-inch LC-46SV49U 1080p HD LCD TV
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Stlrmike
Title:

Great TV & value - remote tip

PostedJuly 7, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have had my tv for several weeks and have been very happy with the picture and overall quality of the unit. One issue I ran into was using my DirecTV remote as a universal remote for the TV. I had a lot of interference type issues like having to push the buttons multiple times for it to respond or the TV not turning on. At night the issue seemed less prominent but was still there. I switched off the ALS - Ambient Light Sensor on the TV and presto! no more issues. Just a heads up in case anyone else experiences similar issues
Pros:living room tv
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Sharp 46-inch LC-46SV49U 1080p HD LCD TV
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:amy45
Title:

great for games

PostedJuly 7, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
It was easy to put on the stand and looks great with the game systems which is the main reason it was purchased
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Sharp 46-inch LC-46SV49U 1080p HD LCD TV
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ZDLL
Title:

Excellent TV

PostedJuly 6, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have seen this TV for two months and I like it. The image is bright and clear, and sound are very good. I am very happy for buying this TV and I will recommand it to everyone. Although the remoter looks a little cheaper, it is not a problem for me.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Sharp 46-inch LC-46SV49U 1080p HD LCD TV
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:BKNY
Title:

Defective Product

PostedJuly 6, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros:
Backlighting gives ample control in adjusting the lighting.
Cons:
Black level (brightness)impossible to adjust when watching dark scenes.
defective power source issues rendered TV useless in less the 30 days.
I purchased a LC-46SV49U on the 25th of may 2012 and it was delivered on the 6th of June 2012. Right of the bat i should have know there was something off about he product as the packaging was missing plastic handle/sealer. I figured it was lost in transport (first mistake). I unpacked the TV and set it up, this part was a breeze with exception to assembling the stand, which by the way came of as cheap. I get that the TV is meant to be mounted on a wall but in my opinion that's not an excuse.
I calibrated the TV and watched a movie everything looked fantastic in daytime and well lit scenes but when it came to dark scenes it was hard to watch. I had to dive in too the controls and had to settle for washed out dark scenes which i could live with.
Ten days after I received the TV, I came back from work and could not turn TV on with the remote or the main power button. I had to unplug the TV and plug it back in again to power it on. I didn't think much of it with a teenage daughter and a 6 yr old in the house i assumed they had done something(2nd mistake). A week later my wife called me at work with the same problem. I gave her the simple instruction on how to get it back on. took family vacation came back TV to a TV that no longer stays powered on for more then 15 min. i trusted that Dell would Take care of me (3rd and final mistake).
I called the returns Department and was told they had a strict policy of no returns after 21 days from the purchase date on 3rd party items, and i would have to take it up with the manufacture. they did not offer any assistance there after. i bought the TV on the 25th of May it was delivered 12 days later on the 6th of June and the began on the 16th of June 22 days after the purchase date and already inelagable for return.
I am now dealing with Sharp and have scheduled service for Saturday July 7th. having had the TV for 4 weeks in my possession i cant belive it.
if you encounter a problem no matter how small return
+17points
17of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Sharp 46-inch LC-46SV49U 1080p HD LCD TV
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:TLCALHO38
Title:

ON MY SHARP 46-inch LC HD LCD TV

PostedJuly 5, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
i love my new 46-inch sharp lc hd tv. it is everything i inspected and more. i would highly recommend this product to anyone wanting a great buy and will be very satisfied with ther purchase.
Pros:ps3 online gaming, home use
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Sharp 46-inch LC-46SV49U 1080p HD LCD TV
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:LaVerne
(home)
Title:

satisfied customer

PostedJuly 4, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I was very satisfied with my 46 inch Tv. The only problem I had was with the shipping method. The waiting for a time when they had an opening for delivery was a little frustrating. The overall experience was fine.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4