Customer reviews for Targus USB 3.0 SuperSpeed Dual Video Docking Station

Targus USB 3.0 SuperSpeed Dual Video Docking Station

Targus USB 3.0 SuperSpeed Dual Video Docking Station
2.889 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 18 reviews
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
5
1 Star
4
2.9
 / 
5
(18 reviews) 17
7 out of 1839%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Targus USB 3.0 SuperSpeed Dual Video Docking Station
Review 1 for Targus USB 3.0 SuperSpeed Dual Video Docking Station
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:TargusBuyer
Title:

Technical problems

PostedDecember 12, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was excited to receive my docking station; however, after following the directions to install drivers five or six times, the docking station didn't communicate with my Dell monitor. Tech support finally is sending me a return package and are going to send me a new one. I hope the first one was just a lemon.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Targus USB 3.0 SuperSpeed Dual Video Docking Station
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Birkinator
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Other reviews

PostedNovember 28, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I want to point out the fact that is states that it is compatible with only Dell's Vostro line of laptops. Every review for this item states the use of an XPS. No wonder it didn't work properly?
Pros:i don't
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Targus USB 3.0 SuperSpeed Dual Video Docking Station
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Joseph319
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Does not work well with Windows 8

PostedNovember 19, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this product with the new XPS 12. Even after downloading the drivers for Windows 8, I continued to have display and connectivity issues with this device.
DO NOT PURCHASE IF YOU HAVE WINDOWS 8
Pros:work
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Targus USB 3.0 SuperSpeed Dual Video Docking Station
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Sneeko
(Ronaoke Rapids, NC)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Great... when/if it works.

PostedOctober 19, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this dock at the same time I purchased my XPS 17. This was intended to be a complete desktop replacement, as I also bought a 22" 1080P Dell monitor to act as my secondary display. For the first couple of months, the dock worked flawlessly. However... once the problems started, they came on full force. Now, every single day I have to go through the same hour long routine to get the dock to work - unplug everything from the dock to "reset" it, remove and re-install all drivers on the laptop, and then HOPE it gets recognized on the 3rd or 4th reboot. If not, remove and reinstall the drivers again and repeat the cycle. I know right away its not going to work in the morning when I plug everything in, and turn on the laptop only to find that BIOS wont even book correctly - if I unplug the laptop from the dock, it boots correctly every time. This is unacceptable, I dont want to waste this much time every morning just to be able to use my dock.
Don't buy this dock.
Pros:desktop replacement, it management
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Targus USB 3.0 SuperSpeed Dual Video Docking Station
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Engineering101
(Morgantown, WV)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Docking Station Never Worked.

PostedAugust 27, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
We tried to connect a new Dell laptop and monitor to this docking station. We took it out of the box and tried to set it up. Nothing happened. The power supply showed it had power but the docking station never did anything. After an hour of working with it we finally gove up. I sent a return request to Dell over a week ago. NO RESPONSE. Not real happy with the Dell products or service.
Pros:college dorm
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Targus USB 3.0 SuperSpeed Dual Video Docking Station
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:FLewitt
(Atlanta, Georgia)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Mistake

PostedAugust 14, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
The pairing of a great laptop and this docking station was a complete mistake. The hours spent attempting to get the docking station to work would have been better spent plugging and unplugging each of the items intended for the docking station into and out of the laptop over the lifetime of the laptop.
Do not purchase this product.
Pros:i don't as it won't work correctly
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Targus USB 3.0 SuperSpeed Dual Video Docking Station
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Ytrewq
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Not Ready for Prime Time

PostedAugust 10, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased this along with an XPS 14 laptop. I have encountered multiple issues installing the software. Followed the Targus website guidance of re-loading the software from their site. After many hours loading/re-loading the software, finally achieved video and audio functionality. However, I've never been able to get wired internet access to work. At this point the product is of no use... Very disappointed in Dell for pairing a not ready for prime time product with a great laptop, first time you've let me down.
Pros:college
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Targus USB 3.0 SuperSpeed Dual Video Docking Station
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:strongster
(Santa Rosa, CA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Works as advertised

PostedJuly 18, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Set this up for a client of mine with an external IPS 24" Dell monitor, external wireless mouse and keyboard with an X13 laptop. Based on some other reviews I was concerned about reliability or driver issues, but so far everything has worked perfectly, not a single problem.
-2points
3of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Targus USB 3.0 SuperSpeed Dual Video Docking Station
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:CliffH
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

A rocky experience

PostedJune 20, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this to accompany an XPS 13 ultrabook. I experienced driver issues when installing but was able to resolve them on my own. However, the speaker port on the docking station has never worked. Targus support gave me the usual advice to reinstall software, which didn't work. When I finally suggested that this might be a hardware problem, they authorized a warranty exchange. However, they don't do advance exchange: you have to send the old one back before they'll send the replacement. Since the laptop is my primary computer, having to use it without a docking station for weeks will represent a considerable inconvenience.
In addition, my Logitech webcam does not work at all well through the docking station. When used with Google+ video chats, the microphone connection causes major echoes and distortion for the other chat members. This webcam always worked fine using another USB hub.
I don't recommend this item if you will be using it with speakers or a webcam.
Pros:it management
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Targus USB 3.0 SuperSpeed Dual Video Docking Station
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:madllc
(Fort Worth, TX)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Great product

PostedMay 30, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I am really enjoying the docking station for my ultra book so that I may use a full size keyboard, mouse, and a 24" screen at the office.
-4points
1of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Targus USB 3.0 SuperSpeed Dual Video Docking Station
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:dkath
Title:

Over rated product

PostedMay 16, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this docking station to accommodate a number of peripherals including an extra monitor. Unfortunately, the docking station frequently freezes up and the extra monitor stops working. The solution has been to shut down and then restart the docking station. Efforts to find a solution thus far with Targus have been fruitless and Dell has been of no help either. I will update this review if Targus should actually resolve the issue.
+17points
17of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Targus USB 3.0 SuperSpeed Dual Video Docking Station
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Schmooplot
Title:

Turns XPS13 into a desktop workstation

PostedApril 12, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
While the xps13 is perfect for on the go, and a tiny southwest airline seat. when sitting at my desk, the screen seems puny. so i got the expander to hook up a big monitor. it was bit clunky to set up, but it works like a dream. i have multiple periphs plugged into the usb expansion ports, and a huge dvi monitor connected in expanded desktop mode. i also added an external mouse to compensate for the xps13's sometimes infuriatinly unpredictable touchpad.
+8points
10of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Targus USB 3.0 SuperSpeed Dual Video Docking Station
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:cbfaulc
(Virginia)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Good Product with one exception

PostedApril 11, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Nice Docking unit, convenient, easy to install, good optional input/output ports for peripherals. The one exception is that it will from time to time give me a message that the unit could perform faster if it was connected to a high speed USB port ... which I have connected it to the USB 3.0 port on my XPS 17. Saw this similar comment on another review ... so hope that is a software glitch that will be corrected. Otherwise, really like the unit. I have a Planar 27 inch High Def Monitor connected and the unit functions just fine. Also have a Logitech Wireless Wave Combo mk550 keyboard and mouse connected using a miniature unifying USB receiver. So all in all is a very convenient set up utilizing the Docking Station.
Pros:home office
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Targus USB 3.0 SuperSpeed Dual Video Docking Station
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:landarchitect
(San Antonio, Texas)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

USB Docking Station

PostedMarch 21, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have used a dell docking station with my Latitude for several years. My new xps laptop did not fit my existing docking station. I would not recommend the cost of the usb docking station. The cable connection is easily disconnected and I have issues with the second monitor I use losing its drivers at restarts.
Pros:architecture
+7points
10of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Targus USB 3.0 SuperSpeed Dual Video Docking Station
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:LAH4
(California)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Did not meet expectations

PostedMarch 14, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased the docking station to support add-on devices, because it was to interface using USB-3.0, and upon recommendation by Dell. First the good news: it does indeed support all my external devices nicely, although cabling need control and cleanup. Now the bad news, the USB-3.0 port does not work properly and shuts down, but I have been able to make the unit work using the USB-2.0 port. This is most depressing, especially when the system boots and tells me that it will run faster at 3.0, when it won't work at all. The fix has been requested from Dell and I am waiting. When the they get it fixed I will write another review.
Pros:consulting support
+26points
29of 32voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Targus USB 3.0 SuperSpeed Dual Video Docking Station
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:AWSMaestro
Title:

SuperSpeed USB 3.0 Docking Station Does the Job

PostedMarch 7, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
The SuperSpeed USB 3.0 Docking Station does just what it needs to do - works as a port replicator for my laptop and connects to a 24-inch Dell monitor.
Pros:software development, video playback with dell monitor
+1point
7of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Targus USB 3.0 SuperSpeed Dual Video Docking Station
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:alt0n
Title:

It's ok

PostedFebruary 22, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
The docking station works, but it's not worth $200 in my opinion. I only selected this product because it was listed as supported by my Dell 14z.
I wouldn't recommend this to anyone who's just looking for a regular docking station.
+11points
16of 21voted this as helpful.
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Ratings-only reviews for Targus USB 3.0 SuperSpeed Dual Video Docking Station
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
1 out of 1 recommend this product