Customer reviews for Sony - Google TV NSX40GT1 40-inch 1080p Internet LCD HDTV

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Dell.com.

Sony - Google TV NSX40GT1 40-inch 1080p Internet LCD HDTV

Sony - Google TV NSX40GT1 40-inch 1080p Internet LCD HDTV
4.65 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 20 reviews
5 Stars
15
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
4.7
 / 
5
(20 reviews) 19
20 out of 20100%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Sony - Google TV NSX40GT1 40-inch 1080p Internet LCD HDTV
Review 1 for Sony - Google TV NSX40GT1 40-inch 1080p Internet LCD HDTV
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Batman0204
Title:

Dell has a customer for life.

PostedOctober 26, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
When it came time to buy a new TV, we wanted one that would be more than just a TV. Sony's internet LCD TV was just that. It gives your family te ability to surf the web, Facebook, watch movies on Netflix, listen to Pandora or just watch regular TV. The picture is outstanding and the interactive remote is so easy that our 4year old can use it. Our only complaint is that the TV has only one set of RCA plug ins. Not knowing this we had to go out and buy an HI cord. We would recommend this TV to anyone who wants more than just a TV. Sony has hit a home run with this TV, thanks Sony.
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sony - Google TV NSX40GT1 40-inch 1080p Internet LCD HDTV
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Broknbird2
(Florida)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Sony TV, one of the best for the price!

PostedOctober 12, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have had the Sony Google TV for about 1 month now and it is the coolest TV I have ever had. First off the cons: every once in a while the pandora app will freeze up and not play, then you have to turn the TV off then on to reset. Other than that the TV works fine. User friendly, awesome remote, and fun for the whole family. My 8 year old child plays on it with the games it makes available and it makes finding shows easier. You can also watch the new movies with one app and listen to music while playing games. Great TV.
Pros:video and music streaming
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sony - Google TV NSX40GT1 40-inch 1080p Internet LCD HDTV
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:TVLOVER99
(Walnut Hill, Fl)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Not all it says to be........

PostedSeptember 17, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I love this TV. It has a beautiful picture, surfing is very easy. BUT one of the features that it promised has been taken away by the networks. I bought this TV to watch tv shows on my schedule. I called Sony today when I couldnot view tv shows that I have been viewing on my computer. I was told by Sony that the networks have blocked Google TV from viewing them. I could not believe that the main reason for my purchase had been taken away.
Pros:pleasure
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sony - Google TV NSX40GT1 40-inch 1080p Internet LCD HDTV
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:gege1988

PostedSeptember 2, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
My old TV died after many years. It was the only TV in the house left that needed to be upgraded. I wanted a Web/TV that would allow me to do other things. The apps is a plus. Definitely, pleased with my purchase, and highly recommend it to anyone. Installation was not difficult. Love the TV!
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sony - Google TV NSX40GT1 40-inch 1080p Internet LCD HDTV
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:TheReviewGuy
(Arlington Va.)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Super Kewl!!!

PostedJuly 23, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Just as every consumer should I made sure to check out a ton of different HD tvs before finding this lil gem.
I use this tv for all of my entertainment needs. I have a PS3 and the picture is awesome. That being said I do not spend a great deal of time playing online so I cannot speak much on the refresh rate in regards to this tv. I do however watch all major sports and I have not had any issues with blurring of the picture.
This tv is all about the bells and whistles. It has streamlined online and tv entertainment to allow you to find what you want to watch fast. The “what’s on” function searches your cable provider and online to find your favorite movies and shows. That is what makes this tv great.
Be sure to buy the tv for how you use it. This tv is great for surfing the web and watching your favorite shows and blue rays. There might be better options for your gaming needs but for streamlining online and cable this tv is awesome.
Keep in mind that you can always buy the tv that you want and add the internet to it via Apple or Google tv.
Pros:blue rays, internet, cable, ps3
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sony - Google TV NSX40GT1 40-inch 1080p Internet LCD HDTV
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Gaynel
Title:

Great invention!

PostedJuly 20, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is the first TV I've owned over 19 inches and it's great! Pro - It arrived quickly with limited hassle (the only glitch was that Dell sent the shipper an old phone nr but it worked out). It was easy to set up and easy to connect to the internet. Con - and this probably only applies to me is that I needed to buy an antenna in order to get digital channels. I'm probably the only one on the planet who does not have cable or satellite but why would I want it?
Pros:streaming vido, listening to music, watching tv, surfing internet
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sony - Google TV NSX40GT1 40-inch 1080p Internet LCD HDTV
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MDHarding
(Florida)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

WOW! ! ! Great TV and more

PostedJuly 6, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros
I almost bought the Sharp HDTV 42" since I have ordered them from Dell for work. However, Internet HDTV intrigued me. I am amazed at the clairity, internet abilities, and many more things. This TV was easy to setup and WiFi connetions is a breeze. Worth the extra money!!
Cons
Could use more android apps.
Pros:home office
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sony - Google TV NSX40GT1 40-inch 1080p Internet LCD HDTV
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Morralan
Title:

Sony Internet TV

PostedJune 22, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I would recommend this product to anyone. Easily assembled and no hiccups with TV and internet setup. Only small gripe is instructions needed to setup more applications for the T.V. Picture is very clear and brightly with no adjustment. Internet searching is no problem. Had this product for a month and still loving it. Just wish it had better instructions. Shipping was very fast. Shipped standard and received it within 2 days. Nicely done Sony.
+1point
5of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sony - Google TV NSX40GT1 40-inch 1080p Internet LCD HDTV
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:kempster
(Atlanta)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

So Far So Good!

PostedJune 22, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have had this product for a month and learning more and more each day. contrary to popular beleive you can access Netflix. There are numerous apps you can use to watch old tv shows and movies. Music(pandora)and video apps are also available. Or you can just go to the web like you would on your desktop/laptop. Very versatile product. Clarity and sound are also excellent. do not have anything negative to say. The price and features are a great match.
Pros:home
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sony - Google TV NSX40GT1 40-inch 1080p Internet LCD HDTV
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:WhyShop
Title:

Nice Sony LCD TV - S&H was bad!

PostedMay 21, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
The product is good, and working as promised. Setup was easy; the remote is a little funky.
I am a little disappointed with the overall shipping experience; Dell shipped it through some unknown shipping company called Pilot. They called a day before the shipping and fixed a time of delivery for 2:00 PM. The next day they showed up at my door at 10:00 AM, without even calling me; and more interestingly it was a U-Haul truck!. The original package had a little damage too.
Pros:as tv with google tv
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sony - Google TV NSX40GT1 40-inch 1080p Internet LCD HDTV
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:chiyan
Title:

i like it...

PostedMay 18, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
it does what it says...
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Sony - Google TV NSX40GT1 40-inch 1080p Internet LCD HDTV
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:KanwarSethi
(Edison NJ)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Just Love it !!

PostedMay 18, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Have been using Google TV for almost 2 months. Just seem to love it more and more, every day
Awesome colors, contrast, sound .. and above all, web browsing makes it an unbeatable star.
So much to explore. Couldn't have asked for more.
Netflix runs great in HD, Cartoon Channel, CNN, and so many other applications
Pros:as tv
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Sony - Google TV NSX40GT1 40-inch 1080p Internet LCD HDTV
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:soumen
(Tampa, FL)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Excellent Purchase

PostedMay 18, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
This TV is awesome in terms of application is concerned. Dell shipping is good and shipment came in time. Using the Google Chrome browser, I can virtually go anywhere. The color and picture management is great for this TV. Sound clarity is OK but not that bad. It should be better if the refresh rate would be 120 Hz instead of 60Hz. Sound and the refresh rates are the points behind of 4 star instead of 5 star. Dual functionality either as a TV or Internet applicability make it great choice for all kind of applications. I am very happy with my purchase. Looking forward to see more updates in future from Google.
Pros:internet streaming, netflix, youtube
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Sony - Google TV NSX40GT1 40-inch 1080p Internet LCD HDTV
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:cesiano
(Englewood, New Jersey)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

excellent internet HDTV

PostedMay 12, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
This internet HDTV exceeded our expectations: the images are very clear, the colors vivid, the sound better than OK and the Internet access is flawless. Highly recommended!
Pros:entertainment
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Sony - Google TV NSX40GT1 40-inch 1080p Internet LCD HDTV
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:usreddy
Title:

Awesome TV with Internet

PostedMay 11, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
It was like love at first sight. when I saw the Sony Internet TV in a local store. I was waiting for this TV for good deal
Pros
Great design , Awesome picture quality , nice full qwerty keyboard , good usable apps
Cons
GUI needs more refinement,
Need more apps , sound quality should have been better
Pros:home, lite browsing, netflix, youtube
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Sony - Google TV NSX40GT1 40-inch 1080p Internet LCD HDTV
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:js15
Title:

Great Internet TV

PostedMay 11, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
SONY and Google did an excellent job at integrating over the air TV experience with the IP TV. I really enjoy the interface that let's me seamlessly switch between Internet and the traditional TV. Google IO announced next version of Google TV update with Market (downloadable Applications), which is a cherry on the cake. I would think 60Hz refresh rate is definitely low (as I can compare my 120Hz LCD with this one, I notice the difference in rendering), and Sony should have at least thought about 120Hz and that is the only reason I am giving 4 stars.
Definitely a very good buy for people who are looking for enhanced Internet TV application. Unlike LG and Samsung, the Google TV runs Android, which is much more mature Operating System, and with Market Support, the user can enjoy plethora of applications. This is indeed a 40inch wifi tablet for me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Sony - Google TV NSX40GT1 40-inch 1080p Internet LCD HDTV
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Chau85
(Atlanta)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Great Price

PostedMay 11, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I order this when item was on sale and free shipping. Item came really quick- hand deliver to my door and the guy open up to make sure it was not broken- tv is perfect , i love the picuture, the apps work great--it also have two option for boot- a standard boot and a quick boot which will consume more powers- i prefer the standard since it under 45 second for tv to be ready to viewing.
Pros:home, streaming, game, laptop connect
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Sony - Google TV NSX40GT1 40-inch 1080p Internet LCD HDTV
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JDSAustin
Title:

Incredible Sony

PostedMay 11, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
This has proven to be an incredible TV with every feature I could hope for. And, it was at a great price! The wireless internet connection works perfectly, setup was easy, and the Google TV features are exceptional. The picture is bright and clear and really couldn't be better. What more can I say except BUY ONE!!!
Pros:home entertainment
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Sony - Google TV NSX40GT1 40-inch 1080p Internet LCD HDTV
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:anderpup
Title:

Great TV/Computer

PostedApril 25, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
My wife and I got rid of cable afters years of spending $100 plus on the service. With simple setup through WiFi we use all the apps that come with the TV.
Downside of this is lack of live sports.
Upside HD streaming through websites.
Pros:tv, computer
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Ratings-only reviews for Sony - Google TV NSX40GT1 40-inch 1080p Internet LCD HDTV
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
1 out of 1 recommend this product