Customer reviews for Libre Multimedia eBook Reader with 7-inch Color Display

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Dell.com.

Libre Multimedia eBook Reader with 7-inch Color Display

Libre Multimedia eBook Reader with 7-inch Color Display
3.375 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 8 reviews
5 Stars
3
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
3.4
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
5 out of 862%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Libre Multimedia eBook Reader with 7-inch Color Display
Review 1 for Libre Multimedia eBook Reader with 7-inch Color Display
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:TDDC
Title:

Everything you need in an eBook reader

PostedNovember 13, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
My husband and I have each had a Libre for almost a year now and we can't imagine being without them.
PROS: Very easy to read and adjust settings (brightness, font size), night reading doesn't strain eyes, audio (with headphones) is excellent and video is crystal clear. The biggest pro of all is that the Libre does COLOUR beautifully. No more looking at black and white illustrations only!
Another huge pro is Dell's customer service. I've never had to deal with Aluratek in that area but Dell gets two thumbs up.
CONS: No WiFi (it isn't an issue for us but it's something to be aware of).
Our Libres have proven their reliability and durability so well that we've decided on one for our granddaughter for Christmas.
Pros:Travel, nighttime reading, watch videos, listen to audiobooks and mp3
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Libre Multimedia eBook Reader with 7-inch Color Display
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:CKTan
(Montreal)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

BUYERS' BEWARE

PostedAugust 24, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product is a big LEMON. Used for less than 5 months before it blacked out(died). Had to sent for repairs at own expenses. The replacement was even worse as it would not power-on despite claimed that it was inspected and fully functional before shipping. Now I am still waiting for a new replacement for more than a month. Definitely, I am not recommend to buy Aluratek products as it is waste of time with its RMA for both services and support.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Libre Multimedia eBook Reader with 7-inch Color Display
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Bytown
(Ottawa)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Good value e-reader

PostedApril 30, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Very solid e-reader with some multi-media capabilities. Shows movies and plays music well, but use headphones. The speakers aren't that loud, but it is a small unit.
Best to read books in ePub format, which is very common. It is backlit so you can read in dark places, but that uses power quicker so best to keep it charged up. Out of the box, brightness is set very high. Turn it down to 20% or so makes reading much easier and the battery lasts much longer. Overall a good unit.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Libre Multimedia eBook Reader with 7-inch Color Display
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:TIMOTHY2011
(MONTREAL, QUEBEC)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

IT IS NOT A GOOD READER

PostedApril 2, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
FOR TXT FILE, IT WORKS OK.
BUT FOR PDF FILE, IT WORKS SUCKS AND ALWAYS FREEZES. IF THE TEXT IS SMALL, YOU CAN NOT ENLARGER WITHOUT LOSING PICTURES OR CHARTS.
SO I DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS ONE TO FRIEND. CHOOSE SOME ELSE.
Pros:read books, listening the music
0points
5of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Libre Multimedia eBook Reader with 7-inch Color Display
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:josyannca
(Ontario, Canada)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Newbie
Title:

Aluratek Libre 7" colour ereader

PostedMarch 30, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
The ereader is awesome. Much easier for me to read from the ereader than a paperback novel. I can increase the font which is great. I have to agree with KevyT, service at Aluratek was absolutely terrible.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Libre Multimedia eBook Reader with 7-inch Color Display
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Babak
(Edmonton)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Best trip companion

PostedFebruary 24, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
It is more convenient for me to use an ebook reader than reading paperbacks. This reader might not be as sleek as a kindle, but it has so many features plus when it is on sale it is really economic. The quality of the screen is really good, you can enjoy watching your favorite movies and listening to music while reading your book. The memory is expandable to 16 gigabytes externally which is more than enough. So I put my ebooks on the internal and the music and movies on the external memory. the battery usage is quite high especially when compared to readers with e-ink technology, but on the other hand you are able to read in the dark which is great.
Pros:ebook reader, movies player, mp3 player
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Libre Multimedia eBook Reader with 7-inch Color Display
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:KevyT
(Toronto, ON)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Too Many Problems

PostedFebruary 22, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this ereader for a Christmas gift. Within a day, the unit began to freeze up. Then it started skipping pages after approx 30 seconds even after changing the settings. I ended up having to send this back to Dell, who's customer service was great.
PS: This was to replace a previous Aluratech ereader that died. Aluratech Customer Service is not good. Beware.
+12points
17of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Libre Multimedia eBook Reader with 7-inch Color Display
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:buchaneer
(Newfoundland)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Aluratek Libre Color

PostedJanuary 29, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is a fantastic product. Great as an e Book reader and then has capability to do video, mp3, pictures, and more. It's everything you need in one solid attractive package. I've tried other readers and multimedia units but this one is the "king of the hill".
Pros:e book reader, video player, mp3 player, storing photos
+11points
15of 19voted this as helpful.