Customer reviews for HD3 Gaming Chill Mat - Black

HD3 Gaming Chill Mat - Black

HD3 Gaming Chill Mat - Black
4.259 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 54 reviews
5 Stars
35
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
1
1 Star
5
4.3
 / 
5
(54 reviews) 51
47 out of 5487%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for HD3 Gaming Chill Mat - Black
Review 1 for HD3 Gaming Chill Mat - Black
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:bob321
(Florida, USA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

DO NO BUY

PostedFebruary 3, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
It worked well for awhile then the plug started acting up not the usb to the computer but the plug that goes into the pad. It started becoming loose ending in the wire actually breaking not worth it for the price the wire for the plug is far to thin and broke easy.
Pros:works great
Cons:wire breaks easy rendering useless
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HD3 Gaming Chill Mat - Black
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:KED1
(Ohio)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Hardcore Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Excellent Chill Mat

PostedJanuary 23, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I've been using it for a few weeks now and no complaints. It's keeping my Alienware nice and cool when running those graphic intensive MMOs.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HD3 Gaming Chill Mat - Black
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Benjaiole
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
I use my PC for:Casual Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Pretty good but...

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
When I first got his product I loved it. My computer would always overheat when gaming and this cooling pad did a phenomenal job of fixing that problem. However, I ran into multiple problems - all of which are outlined below - that make this excellent product - pros of which are also mentioned below - average.
The USB cord that connects the pad with the laptop is weak. If any pressure is applied (say, leaning against your leg or knocked into something solid) the connection will bend and may break (mine is bent).
The fans in the pad decided to stop working one day, so I had to open it up and electrical tape & reset a wire that had torn and come loose. This has happened several times.
Most recently, the fan speed control broke. The wheel spins indefinitely without controlling the speed of the fans. Although this is not a huge problem it is most definitely annoying. Further, the fan only has two speeds: high, when turned up 100%, and low, below 100%. In other words, despite the range of the speed wheel you only have two speeds.
Aside from these problems this is actually a decent product. The three fans ensure that your laptop will be cooled (as long as it is on a surface that allows it to "breathe"). The noise from the fans is not nearly as bad as other reviews make it out to be. Although I have experienced the aforementioned difficulties, I would recommend the product and I will continue to use it. However, because of the aforementioned faults, I strongly disagree with the price and would not buy this again.
Pros:effective
Cons:delicate, prone to internal breaks, weak cord/connection, overpriced
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HD3 Gaming Chill Mat - Black
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Paul5671
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Cheap plastic plug. Manufacturer won't replace when broken.

PostedAugust 6, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
The cord that powers this mat receives its power via 2 USB ports and passes it to the mat via a very flimsy, cheap, plastic plug. Without handling this end of the cord extremely carefully, it will break.
It broke for me. Targus' customer service was very responsive and sent me a replacement. However, it was a single USB -> Mini USB cord not the Dual USB -> proprietary, flimsy, cheap, plastic cord that was required. Upon contacting them again, they offered to send a cord that would work but the no longer carried the dual USB cord and would only send a single. This means the cooling pad will only run in a lower power state (according to Targus).
So 5 months after purchasing this mat, I *might* have a device that partially works with a warranty the manufacturer will not fully honor.
Pros:nice concept, fairly easy to contact support.
Cons:needs legs to prop it up at an angle., manufacturer won't honor the warranty for cord., flimsy component is a weak link.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HD3 Gaming Chill Mat - Black
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:rdools
(NY NY)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

Been through 2 of these in past 12 months

PostedApril 21, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
This coolpad lasts as long as the on off switch does not give in and stop working. Have been through 2 of these in past 12 months. For the price they should last longer than that.
Pros:fans work
Cons:on off switch does not last
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HD3 Gaming Chill Mat - Black
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:StormRayge
(United States)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Casual Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Noisy fans???

PostedApril 12, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I was puzzled by the mixed reviews on the noise level. This product is designed to provide noticeable air-flow, and that is never entirely silent, but it is remarkably quiet. So, why all the negative reviews calling it noisy?
When I left it on one quiet morning, and just barely NOTICED the almost subliminal sound from another room in an otherwise silent moment, I understood. If your life is your own and you use your computer when you wish, with no one to tell you not to, then you will find this product remarkably quiet - you will seldom notice the sound. If, however, your life is subject to the whims and complaints of a spouse or parents and you frequently find yourself 'sneaking' time on your computer, then you will find this product to be treacherously noisy. It is not stealth-tech. Your antagonist will sometimes notice the sound, and you will resent it each time you get caught.
Personally, I'm quite pleased with mine. It is functional, stylish, and not loud enough to be a distraction. My only complaint is that it requires TWO USB PORTS for power. That is problematic for use on the road, adding just enough time and hassle to set-up to be annoying.
Pros:slim, quiet, works well, looks nice
Cons:requires 2 usb ports
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HD3 Gaming Chill Mat - Black
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Razorsight
(Pembroke Pines, Florida)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Nice But!!!! You lose to USB ports..

PostedJanuary 10, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Nice pad!! I it would have been nice if they would have made it so you don't require 2 usb ports to power it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HD3 Gaming Chill Mat - Black
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Shoeboy
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Great cooling device!!!

PostedDecember 27, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:Gaming
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HD3 Gaming Chill Mat - Black
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:studentshopper
(NYC, NY)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Great chill mat!

PostedNovember 4, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:
Large mat area - I have a 15.6 and its still has 1/2 inch to 1 inch all around of space left.
Sturdy aluminum top.
LED power light.
Elevation provided by small feet underneath.
Cons:
On/Off switch is very stiff.
The feet are not really non-slip. (They are not rubberized)
Two USB port are needed.
Bottom line:
This chill mat get the job done! My laptop is significantly cooler. I thought the USB connection to power the unit wouldn't be a problem, but it sometimes annoys me. I forget it is attached at times and end up pulling the whole unit.
On the upside, even using the mat by itself without power still works great, providing efficient ventilation to my laptop.
Recommended.
Pros:everyday, Gaming, home office, editing, extended surfing, extended video streaming
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HD3 Gaming Chill Mat - Black
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:TontoJ
Title:

Overall it's good

PostedOctober 11, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought this chill mat to go along with a new Inspiron 17R purchase. Still waiting on the laptop, but had to plug this in to see how it performs.
Cooling is great. The three fan setup is keeping my current laptop far cooler than my other fan ever did. The design is great, although a slight incline would have been nice. Even just having a couple of collapsible would make a huge difference, but I'm sure I'll get used to the flatter surface with time.
It is a little annoying that it takes two USB ports to run fully, but thankfully I don't usually have too many things needing the ports at one time. The fan speed control is a nice feature, but this brings me to my only true complaint. If using on medium or high speed the fans are pretty quiet, certainly quieter than my previous fan. However, if on low setting the bearings are extremely loud and annoying. This is a minor annoyance to me, but can see how that would really drive someone crazy. I might consider requesting a replacement, but I don't feel like shipping it back and waiting for a new one. For me having two quiet speeds is plenty, but there is definitely a part of me that's irked with not being able to use all three.
Overall it's a great mat. The purpose is to keep the laptop cool which is does a fantastic job of.
Pros:Gaming, work, School
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HD3 Gaming Chill Mat - Black
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Wulfgar01
Title:

Awsome product and service

PostedSeptember 12, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
This chill mat keeps my laptop cool even when playing the harshest games. Awesome product.
Pros:video games, all laptop uses, video streaming
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HD3 Gaming Chill Mat - Black
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Merdoc89
(Maui, Hawaii)
Title:

Thick but COOL

PostedAugust 9, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Originally bought this for my New Alienware MX17 but due to it's thickness found it awkward to use with this laptop... however it works perfect with my HP laptop that used to run HOT until I hooked this in... running both fans is quieter than the fan was on my HP... and since hooking it up the HP's fan hasn't needed to run at all... If I could say one bad thing about this it's the lack of slant..but that was remedy with the old plastic bottle cap trick.. :) Would highly recomend this system for cooling as long as you have a slim profile laptop.
Pros:home / gaming
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HD3 Gaming Chill Mat - Black
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:dan2012
(USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Good Chill Mat

PostedAugust 2, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:
Quiet,
High air volume capacity to cool.
Cons:
Takes up 2 USB ports to use at high speed.
The only downside to this chill mat is the fact it needs 2 USB ports to draw sufficient power to run fans at high speed. I wished it only needed 1. I do like the fact it has a small LED light to let me know it is on because it can run nearly silent.
Pros:home use
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HD3 Gaming Chill Mat - Black
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Alex30327
Title:

HD3 Gaming Chill Mat

PostedJuly 22, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Very sturdy and works great for me. Fans don't make much noise either.
Pros:lapdesk
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HD3 Gaming Chill Mat - Black
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Bobby54
(Austin, Texas)
Title:

Chill Mat the greatest for cooling my studio xps

PostedJuly 18, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I noticed my laptop temperature was 156F and when I purchased my chill mat for cooling down my laptop and was playing my A-10 flight simulator. My temperature was 110F witrh my chill mat turned up all the way. So no more problems with my game play slowing down. It's the best thing I have bought for my Studio XPS Laptop 1645! It's real hot where I live in Texas and with my Air Condition on I was getting the high temperature reading of 154F. So the Chill Mat did the job of cooling down my laptop. I highly recommend this chill mat for any one's laptop gamer or not!
Pros:Gaming, my webcam, paying bills
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HD3 Gaming Chill Mat - Black
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:EHNewYork
Title:

Great Product!

PostedJuly 14, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
My Dell laptop is already seven years old. It was designed as a desktop replacement. Recently, when I surfed online while running several applications at the same time, my laptop could run fairly hot. My friend told me to buy a cooling pad to cool it down, if I wanted to keep my laptop a little longer. I was skeptical because a lot of people mentioned about the noise cooling pads made, but I was glad that I bought this cooling pad. There was a little noise, but it didn't bother me at all. My aging laptop is now nice and cool and is very comfortable to use during hot summer days :D
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HD3 Gaming Chill Mat - Black
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:BenGoesToCollege
Title:

Great pad, went bad, fixed it, 5 stars

PostedJuly 13, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
This cooling pad is excellent. It efficiently cools down my laptop during gaming (WoW and Skyrim) - I was having trouble gaming because of overheating. It's easy to use and comfortably cools your legs while gaming :P The three fan design ensures maximum air flow.
I have read reviews that complain about the noise, but the sound is not nearly as obnoxious as others make it seem. I did, however, experience technical difficulties with it.
The "on" light was extremely dim and the fans were not working. To fix this, take off the plastic feet and remove the screws underneath, then remove the metal top (with the holes). Inside you will see the wire that runs from the USB connection to the power switch and light. Pop this wire out of the plastic setting it is in (it should come right out)and the pad should continue working like new! :D
Overall, I am very pleased by this product. It's effective, easy to carry and use, and a great buy! I highly recommend it for anyone who needs a cooling pad.
Pros: Works great, 3 fan design is ingenious.
Easy to use and transport
Cons: Requires 2 USB outlets (but will run with one)
Internal wiring caused the product to stop working, but is fixable.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HD3 Gaming Chill Mat - Black
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ToddMcFearson
(South Haven)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Good chill mat, bad bearings.

PostedJune 14, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros: Constructed well,Fits perfectly underneath my Alienware M17x R3, and has kept it cool for 6+ months.
Cons: Bearing went bad, and middle fan is missing teeth after alot of use. :(
I'd rate it 5/5 stars, but the bearings shouldn't go bad this soon.
Pros:Gaming, School
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HD3 Gaming Chill Mat - Black
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Jcscibet
(Tonawanda)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Great product

PostedJune 14, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
This product works great at cooling my new laptop. It is a little loud at times but nothing annoying. It is great that you can adjust the fan speed!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HD3 Gaming Chill Mat - Black
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JSHIPP
(Colorado)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Average

PostedMay 16, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
The overall construction seems solid, and I definitely like the variable speed control. The usb connection is a bit flimsy, and oddly designed...not even sure exactly how the odd USB connection is intended to be used. Fans also seem, by the sound alone, like old-school bearing failure is in their future.
Pros:work at home
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
1 2 3