Customer reviews for Western Digital 2 TB My Book Live Personal Cloud External Drive

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Dell.com.

Western Digital 2 TB My Book Live Personal Cloud External Drive

Western Digital 2 TB My Book Live Personal Cloud External Drive
3.958 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 24 reviews
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
3
4
 / 
5
(24 reviews) 22
20 out of 2483%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Western Digital 2 TB My Book Live Personal Cloud External Drive
Review 1 for Western Digital 2 TB My Book Live Personal Cloud External Drive
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Anonymous
(PA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Great network storage solution

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
This drive is basiacally plug and play for the more simple users, or you can really step it up a notch for those of us that like to have more custom setups. The response time on my gigabit connection is amazingly quick (not sure what the other reviewer had on his setup and if it was functioning properly). Speeds are right in-line with what was in documentation. The only thing I would change is maybe have a way to not have the drive 'sleep' when not being accessed. It causes a 'slight' delay when waking up, but after it does - it is perfect. May not be great solution for those who need RAID setups for safety and security. It is the best one I have encountered over the dozens that I did not like.
Pros:pc development, network administration, streaming media, backups
+14points
15of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Western Digital 2 TB My Book Live Personal Cloud External Drive
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Krystra
(chattanooga,tn)
Title:

GREAT DEVICE. DO NOT UPDATE TO THE 2.10.2012 FW!!!

PostedApril 5, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
this is an awesome device & costs way less than the others out there so for the price & capacity of this its great. worked like a charm....until i updated to the latest firmware that is-->it totally fried it! so i called wd & theyre sending me a new one. this time, no updating for me. if you have a ton of stuff to back up or want all your devices to "see" all of your media, this has got the space & ability to do just that.
Pros:streaming media, back up my systems
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Western Digital 2 TB My Book Live Personal Cloud External Drive
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:unixfool
(Gainesville, VA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Great Product

PostedApril 8, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I'm loving this drive. I've not had any issues with the drive so far.
I've used it to back up my Macbook using Time Machine. I'm also using it to archive important files for all the machines in the house. My kids and wife each have a slice to store their data.
One gotcha: if you're a Mac owner, you're going to have issues getting Time Machine to work with this drive, IF you're using the WD knowledgebase. Their data is wrong. I found the correct method on their forums.
Backing up via wireless network was faster than I anticipated. I've yet to back up via a machine that is connected via CAT5.
Pros:personal data storage
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Western Digital 2 TB My Book Live Personal Cloud External Drive
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:BigScreenLover
(Hawaii Kona)
Title:

Nice Start but...

PostedJanuary 26, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Using 2 of these currently as my NAS, connected directly to router. I am NOT seeing the 100mbs it claims, fastest Ive seen (when in network) is about 25mbs. I dont care about redunduncy like most NAS that are 4tb in actuality 2x 2 tb that mirror (when it works), Id rather back up as I go to off line source.
Anyway, Nice drive, but thier speed claims are just NOT there.
+4points
10of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Western Digital 2 TB My Book Live Personal Cloud External Drive
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ChrisTheMeat
Title:

Great Home Hard Drive

PostedJuly 20, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Awesome hard drive! Tons of space! Easy to set up and custom security. Set it up for my iTunes to access it as well as my PS3. Very awesome!
Pros:home/personal
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Western Digital 2 TB My Book Live Personal Cloud External Drive
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Issy
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Firmware Update Killed it

PostedOctober 31, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought the drive a week ago. I got it based on the reviews. I received it last Thursday and began to set it up. The setup took me through a firmware update which apparently was successful. I didn't even get to change the name in the settings.. Right after the upgrade and restart.. the drive stopped working. It gets an IP address, I can get to some of the settings, except the "Utilities" tab, Shares and Safepoint. Server error message come up and the Utilities menu never comes up, it just sits there trying to load.
I have been dealing with WD for days and they claim is the drive. However, there are blogs about this happening to people who ran the latest firmware update. Sending it back for a refund. Good thing i never got to put data on it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Western Digital 2 TB My Book Live Personal Cloud External Drive
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:jortiz
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good

PostedOctober 12, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
It was very easy to set up and so far it has worked without any issues. All the PCs on my network see it and access without any issues. I have my an image backed up and it restored my computer without any issues.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Western Digital 2 TB My Book Live Personal Cloud External Drive
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Cperez
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Good drive but needs work on cloud

PostedSeptember 26, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Drive is good so far.. However, cloud could use some work. Make it more friendly and easier to use such as sharing with others. Hopefully you can provide some software for it in the near future. CD did not work on my macpro nor on my pc. I had to get the files online. Setup only requires minor knowledge. Good product overall. My purpose of 3 stars is that I bought it for cloud to share file with others and I have not been able to use it as I imagine due to limitations.
Pros:developmemt, storage
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Western Digital 2 TB My Book Live Personal Cloud External Drive
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MTG1776
Title:

Just plain doesn't work

PostedJuly 19, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I spent over an hour with WD technical support. Not only did the network gateway not recognize the drive, but even when the computer was directly conected to drive via eithernet cable (bypassing the gateway) it still was not recognized. I've had 3 WD external usb drives previously they are all working after years.
Pros:i don't use it
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Western Digital 2 TB My Book Live Personal Cloud External Drive
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Pilisa
(AZ)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Check modem compatibility before you buy

PostedSeptember 4, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I can't tell you anything about it as a cloud device, since it is apparently incompatible with the modem provided by my ISP. I suggest you check with your ISP before buying a device of this type. As a backup drive, it works fine, but that's all that I can say
Pros:backup drive
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Western Digital 2 TB My Book Live Personal Cloud External Drive
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Adewole
(Chicago IL)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Easy set up

PostedOctober 6, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
If you can make a sandwich, you can set this one up. Easy back up.
Pros:small business network
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Western Digital 2 TB My Book Live Personal Cloud External Drive
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ensomhet
(Las Vegas, NV)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

ensomhet

PostedJune 6, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I like the amount of space available for storing. The setup disk did not work but was able to use the web option. I find the management options very limited and cluncky. Their sales pictch and cool videos make the product's performance the more dissapointing.
Pros:home network
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Western Digital 2 TB My Book Live Personal Cloud External Drive
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:TeckChallenged
Title:

I think it's working

PostedJune 14, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I purchased this to free up space on my laptop. So far, I haven't had the time to transfer as the software isn't simple and I haven't been able to just drag the items I want into the folder for this. Eventually I will spend some time doing this, I just hoped it would be fast and easy!
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Western Digital 2 TB My Book Live Personal Cloud External Drive
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:rdashley
(Illinois)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Newbie
Title:

Awesome Laptop

PostedOctober 28, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Easy to set up and the 2tb ex harddrive the best...love windows 7 better than xp.
Pros:personal use and for school work.
-4points
2of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Western Digital 2 TB My Book Live Personal Cloud External Drive
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:birderlarry
(Hudson Valley, NY)
I use my PC for:Design/graphics
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Excellent cloud capability, great company support!

PostedFebruary 13, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
This drive did not perform well on first install. I called customer support and they helped me reinstall the drive "properly". This worked out well - files transfer to the drive quickly and the remote access has worked perfectly.
One problem - Microsoft Office files don't open directly from the drive, they need to be copied to your desktop, then opened. A minor inconvenience for an otherwise very useful product.
As to using the WD backup software - until bugs are worked out, do not use it!
Pros:good performance, fast data transfers.
Cons:backup software caused computer errors
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Western Digital 2 TB My Book Live Personal Cloud External Drive
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:LNel
(Massachusetts)
Title:

Average

PostedJanuary 3, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I purchased this for the advertised "cloud" capabilities, and have yet to figure out how to set that up. I thought the process would be easier and more intuitive. Instead, it's going to take some time to research how to do this and get it set up.
The first unit I received was defective and had to be sent back for a replacement. I am a bit wary of the hardware failing again due to this experience and don't have the greatest confidence in the product.
For simple storage needs, it's a good device and quite a bit faster than my previous HP HomeServer device.
However, there was not enough information readily available during set-up to guide you in how to set up back-ups and no advice on which method would be best for your needs (there are 3-4 different methods to choose from).
Creating User folders, setting up the permissions, and copying data was easy and straightforward.
I'd recommend it as a good device for basic file sharing and backups, but it's not the most intuitive or user friendly one I've used.
Pros:shared network storage, pc backups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Western Digital 2 TB My Book Live Personal Cloud External Drive
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:lawnboy4536
Title:

good, affordable network storage

PostedDecember 12, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
pros
price, reliability, ease of installation, ease of use, access outside home network.
cons
not raid, not expandable.
I've always had great luck with WD drives, less so with other vendors
Pros:file sharing photos music movies, streaming, backups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Western Digital 2 TB My Book Live Personal Cloud External Drive
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:TXDancer
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Great for storage, but not as wifi friendly

PostedAugust 31, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
The storage functionality is great! Devices such as ipads and smartphones have no trouble finding it, however laptops needed to be direct connected on the first find and then you could go wireless.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Western Digital 2 TB My Book Live Personal Cloud External Drive
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:NoMc
(Houston, Tx)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Best Backup

PostedJuly 11, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
This product adds years & years of backup purpose. I have enjoyed the ease setup & process of device. It can handle any and all of your backup needs.
Prod: Easy to use, quick & lots of space
Cons: n/a
Pros:backup photos, backup videos
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Western Digital 2 TB My Book Live Personal Cloud External Drive
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Wjohnsona
(Dickson, TN)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Does everything I need it to do.

PostedJuly 5, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
This works great. I haven't had any hiccups and seems to respond so much better than the previous models. I love the phone apps and how you can upload videos and photos from your phone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2