Customer reviews for PCmover Ultimate

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Dell.com.

PCmover Ultimate

PCmover Ultimate
2.579 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 57 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
5
1 Star
27
2.6
 / 
5
(57 reviews) 56
24 out of 5742%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for PCmover Ultimate
Review 1 for PCmover Ultimate
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ALTY
Title:

PC Mover Ultimate

PostedMay 24, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
PROS
Easy to use, fast, and finished in less than 30 minutes.
This was so simple to use and it transfered all data in less than 35 minutes from start to finish.
CONS
Don't get a paper cut opening the box.
Review
For my business use this product exceded all needs.
Pros:medical training videos
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for PCmover Ultimate
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:uhd2
(Texas)
Title:

bad

PostedMay 10, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
The software did not preform. I FINALLY HAD TO get out & have the dell tech help me transfer files and programs. I wasted 4 full days trying to complete a job that only took 4 hours with dell help.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for PCmover Ultimate
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Chris49
Title:

Perfect

PostedMarch 21, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Made switching to new computer extremely easy. Transfered everything I wanted.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for PCmover Ultimate
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:emkr
Title:

Loved this software!

PostedMarch 12, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Very Very easy to use. had to load on both the new computer and the old computer - it was extremely easy!
I was worried about it capturing all of my old software and licenses, it is a very informative product and will tell exactly what it can and cannot move and why. It made the new computer experience so much easier than it could have been. It even brought over all of the wireless router settings and allowed me to be online instantly - required no configuration of ip address or anything! Love it!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for PCmover Ultimate
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:asldkjflasjflasfjl
Title:

didn't work for me

PostedFebruary 15, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I tried to follow the directions and never did get it to recognize either computer when finally attached with their cable. I could not find either USB port in the device manager so ended up transferring all data via a flashdrive. I did not attempt to contact support. The tech person a work said it normally works fairly well but that no product is great when transferring applications from XP to 7. Wasted my $.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for PCmover Ultimate
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:AStieber
Title:

Decent, but not great

PostedFebruary 8, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Easy to install, but a bit kludgy when it comes to getting the two machines to recognize each other. The settings migrated very well, but not all the applications did. I had to remove and reinstall several programs. I still ended up spending a whole weekend getting up and running.
Pros:Finances, graphics, music, web surfing
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for PCmover Ultimate
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:zerstoerer19
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Easy!

PostedFebruary 2, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
This software made it so easy to transfer my files from my old XPS laptop to my new XPS desktop.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for PCmover Ultimate
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:teabone
Title:

Laplink PC Mover

PostedJanuary 21, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
This software takes some time to complete the migration, if you have a lot of programs to move, as in do it overnight, but it works. Even sophisticated secure software like Microsoft Office landed on my new Dell Laptop fully functional right down to the icon. It also remains fully functional on my older Dell laptop. Bottom line? Well worth the price! Highly recommend it!
Pros:set up new computer
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for PCmover Ultimate
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Techno02
Title:

PCMover Ultimate letdown

PostedJanuary 6, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Followed all directions ATLEAST three times to move data and software to my new Dell(great computer!) and each time it failed. It ended up being faster to reload each program from the original disks and then copy the data files across the network oldstyle.
Pros:personal/small business
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for PCmover Ultimate
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Unbelieveable
Title:

Lap Link

PostedDecember 20, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
DELL recommended Lap Link to easily transfer files & folders when I purchased my new XPS system. After carefully following all of the instructions, and after nearly 4 hours of data transfer, the program stopped and told me that the data transfer was unsuccessful and to try again or undo. Frustrated, I tried again and it hung up again. I then tried undo and it stopped shortly after starting. My registry & files & folders on the new system were messed up. I then resorted to DELL's easy transfer which allowed me to transfer files & folders. My registry is still a mess and I now have to buy a registry cleaner. Lap Link responded to my email the next day but by then it was too late. I would not recommend this product for file transfer.
Pros:home business use
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for PCmover Ultimate
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:lakehouse
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

unable to use

PostedDecember 18, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
old computer to messed up and could not use, only found out after install and could not use it or send it back,laplink offerd a fix for more money,ended up useing the transfer wizard in windows 7 and worked fine
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for PCmover Ultimate
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:paperman
Title:

Easy to use and transferred easily

PostedDecember 5, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Has no problems in transferring. Moved from Vista to 7 and no probs
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for PCmover Ultimate
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JimboDC
(Washington, DC)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

More problems than benefits

PostedNovember 9, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
I installed this product because with the Dell discount it was equal to the price of the easy transfer cable.
After transferring only files from my old computer, it corrupted my registry file and I was unable to install other programs. After running several registry cleaners the issue still existed, so I used the Undo feature built into the program. It undid the transfer, however this created even more registry issues and I again used several different registry cleaners to try and resolve the issue but these attempts were not successful.
Eventually I restored my computer to before the PCmover program was installed and I have not had any future problems. Of course the included cable was not compatible with the Windows utility.
My Advice: DON'T buy this product, instead invest in the easy transfer cable and use the Windows utility.
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for PCmover Ultimate
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Etaro
(Valley Stream NY)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

PCmover Ultimate

PostedNovember 6, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
I attempted to use this software and the included Laplink transfer cable to move programs and files from a PC with Windows XP to a computer with Windows 7. The transfer could not be made. Either the cable was the wrong kind or there was a compatibility issue between the two systems.This software was suggested by Dell when I ordered the new computer.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for PCmover Ultimate
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:rjs52
(Seattle, WA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Transfer went well

PostedOctober 26, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:@ work
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for PCmover Ultimate
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:RodgerP
(Arizona)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Be careful using PCMover

PostedOctober 13, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Moved from a 32 bit XP computer to a new Windows 7 64 bit computer. Most programs worked properly. As stated in other reviews, I got way more than I bargained for. Even though I carefully looked through the list of programs on my old machine, I got system files that were not compatible. I am now going through and cleaning out files from the new computer that keep popping up whenver I boot up.
The documentation for this program makes you feel like it is automatic. Don't believe it!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for PCmover Ultimate
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DavidSfromMA
(MA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

It worked better than expected

PostedSeptember 14, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I was transfering from XP to 7 and it brought over far more than I ever expected. After the transfer, only iTunes didn't come over due to the 64-bit version needed, but after that was downloaded and installed, it worked as though it had come from my old machine!
It took a while, which wasn't an issue, and it performed beyond my expectations.
Pros:home transfer
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for PCmover Ultimate
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Experienced
Title:

Be Careful/save your money

PostedSeptember 13, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Windows XP to Windows 7 (64bit) migration extremely frustrating. If all you want to move is user profile data then use Windows Easy Transfer. If you want to move programs you will get maybe 50%. You will transfer lots of system files that are not appropriate for Windows 7 and just clog up that directory. Many programs will not uninstall from the Program and Features utility after transfer and programs fail. If you undo, it removes everything not just certain programs. You then have to start all over. Whatever you do, do not stop or interrupt a transfer. Undo will not undo itself leaving you partially copied and no easy way to remove all the files. You will end up reloading Windows 7 to relieve your frustration! Whoever designed Start It at Laplink should be fired. That feature is annoying. You can disable it but you wouldn't know to do it from reading anything. Make sure you have all your original software CDs to re-install some activation keys. But wasn't this the point of this software?
Maybe it works better with 32 bit migration? I have used this product in the past and have never had the urge to grab a hammer....
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for PCmover Ultimate
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:TEN4
(CA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Waste of $$$

PostedSeptember 9, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought the PC Mover when I purchased a new PC from Dell. Followed instructions and it did nothing, & when I tried to return it Dell said it was over the return date. which was not the case, it was shipped 2 weeks prior to me receiving the new PC to use it on. Now I have an exspensive coaster. Debating on my new PC purschase after this experience. However stay away from the PC Mover.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for PCmover Ultimate
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:dizzy4dishes
(Detroit)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Don't waste your money

PostedSeptember 8, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was upgrading to a new pc, this is wasteful. The system I bought already had the functionality. Dell tells you what you need to add to a system, they should also tell you how to save money on things you don't need. That would encourage me to put my money on other software instead.
Pros:not - in the box never used
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3