Customer reviews for Elements 2 TB USB 2.0 Desktop External Hard Drive WDBAAU0020HBK-NESN

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Dell.com.

Elements 2 TB USB 2.0 Desktop External Hard Drive WDBAAU0020HBK-NESN

Elements 2 TB USB 2.0 Desktop External Hard Drive WDBAAU0020HBK-NESN
4.75 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 8 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
4.8
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 7
8 out of 8100%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Elements 2 TB USB 2.0 Desktop External Hard Drive WDBAAU0020HBK-NESN
Review 1 for Elements 2 TB USB 2.0 Desktop External Hard Drive WDBAAU0020HBK-NESN
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:BTPhoneGuy
(Manitoba)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Works with Bell 6131 Sat Receiver

PostedDecember 13, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Bought this drive about a year ago to use with a Bell 6131 sat receiver. It's been chugging away every day for over a year and still keeps on going. Is able to hold 240hrs of HD video. Currently has only 80 hours of time left (time to delete some programs).
Is able to watch a recorded program and record another one at the same time. On rare occasion it hesitates while doing both.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Elements 2 TB USB 2.0 Desktop External Hard Drive WDBAAU0020HBK-NESN
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:dypsoman
(Tillsonburg, Ontario)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Happy customer

PostedOctober 5, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Excellent price and an excellent product. Plug and play - just that simple.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Elements 2 TB USB 2.0 Desktop External Hard Drive WDBAAU0020HBK-NESN
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DJx3
(Seaforth)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Title:

elements 2TB USB 2.0

PostedAugust 31, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
This external drive works easy straight out of the box just plug in and backup your material. Its quiet and fast. I've never used one before and this was so easy and anyone could do it. also was large enough to backup two laptops with plenty of room left
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Elements 2 TB USB 2.0 Desktop External Hard Drive WDBAAU0020HBK-NESN
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:robert2
(Canada)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average

PostedMay 18, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
This hard drive works great right out of the box. There was no formatting required, just plug and play. It's fast and quiet and works great as a hard drive expansion unit.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Elements 2 TB USB 2.0 Desktop External Hard Drive WDBAAU0020HBK-NESN
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Kokebeh
(Edmonton)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Fast shipping; easy to use product

PostedDecember 23, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
The Hard Drive arrived in less than 48 hours. I picked it up, plugged it in, and it worked--no installs, no connection issues, just silently does it's job. Also got it at a great price--matches the best boxing day deals I've seen in flyers.
Pros:store movies, backup important documents, backup pictures
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Elements 2 TB USB 2.0 Desktop External Hard Drive WDBAAU0020HBK-NESN
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:finefine
(Toronto, Ontario, Canada)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Great storage drive for a great (sale!) price

PostedNovember 3, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Bought this drive as a means to backup my main PC - got it from Dell for under $120 on sale, and at the time, this was cheaper than buying an external drive case + a 2TB drive. In the long run, using a hard drive is cheaper and more convenient than using blank DVDs or tapes to do backups at home.
Pros:
- lots of space for not a lot of money
- drive runs cool (compared to a Hitachi or old Seagate drive that can singe your fingers, the enclosure feels very slightly warm to the touch after extended use)
- very compact form factor, and drive can sit very inconspicuously on your desk to perform backups.
- works fine with Ubuntu, Windows XP, Windows 7 and Mac OS
- very, very quiet drive operation and non-intrusive white led light at the back of the unit
Cons:
- slow USB2 connection - I maxed it out at 10-11 MB/s on several different systems, but I knew this going in
- no eSATA port, but again, I knew this before I bought the drive.
If you want sheer storage space for storing your files, this can't be beat. Just do not expect this to be a blistering fast drive because those do cost more. Also, drive can be removed from the case (would void your warranty I'd think) for use inside your desktop. I expect the SATA speeds to be a little better than what I got using the external USB connector if you did that.
Regrets:
That I didn't buy two of them at that price.
Pros:file backup
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Elements 2 TB USB 2.0 Desktop External Hard Drive WDBAAU0020HBK-NESN
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Surjit
(Canada)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Great Solid Drive with Optimal Amount of Storage

PostedSeptember 23, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
4th drive purchased within a yr, always tried to find the best, then the best price. I purchased 2 previous models WD HDs this yr, they look nice and do the job, but are flimbsy, eaily scratchable and breakable if accidently dropped! VERY disapointed with them because of this.
I needed more storage, wanted all my drives to look the same so i thought i ordered another model, got this model by accident - and glad i did!!
Pros:
-Fairly small and compressed with a hard durable shell that has a semi-nonscratchable material & design, thiner and sits firm & low compared to previous models. It is even fully portable due to the success of this design. For 2TB it's lighter than expected!
-Price is excellent as date of writting this. In Canada, when u compare this model with the box-store price u are getting a whole TB for free! 1TB in the box stores is the same price as this 2TB drive.
Cons:
-Slow transfer rate, would love it if they would include a technology to increase transfer rate even tho i have a brand new 8G laptop Intel i3 laptop.
-Weight on the heavier side.
Verdict:
-Fully recommend this model - infact im going to buy a second! The pros outweigh the cons for the buyer.
Pros:data transfering & storage, Travel
+8points
10of 12voted this as helpful.
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Ratings-only reviews for Elements 2 TB USB 2.0 Desktop External Hard Drive WDBAAU0020HBK-NESN
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
1 out of 1 recommend this product