Customer reviews for Western Digital 1TB Elements SE Portable External Drive - Black (USB 2.0)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Dell.com.

Western Digital 1TB Elements SE Portable External Drive - Black (USB 2.0)

Western Digital 1TB Elements SE Portable External Drive - Black (USB 2.0)
4.815 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 27 reviews
5 Stars
22
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
4.8
 / 
5
(27 reviews) 24
27 out of 27100%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Western Digital 1TB Elements SE Portable External Drive - Black (USB 2.0)
Review 1 for Western Digital 1TB Elements SE Portable External Drive - Black (USB 2.0)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:GeeWisko
(Seattle, WA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

A Great Portable Drive

PostedFebruary 22, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
When the package containing the Western Digital 1TB Elements SE Portable External Drive showed up, I was expecting a bigger package. The drive is very compact, and it gets power via the USB connection. No wall wart needed!
It works great as a backup drive! When a friend saw it, he ordered one.
Pros:backup
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Western Digital 1TB Elements SE Portable External Drive - Black (USB 2.0)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Susanashleigh
(Dallas, TX)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good

PostedFebruary 15, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:business, personal
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Western Digital 1TB Elements SE Portable External Drive - Black (USB 2.0)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Stoobs
Title:

Good drive

PostedAugust 24, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Nice drive. It's small, quiet, cool, and lots of capacity.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Western Digital 1TB Elements SE Portable External Drive - Black (USB 2.0)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Dawncad
Title:

Easy to Use!

PostedJuly 13, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have so many pictures and music sitting on my hard drive. I like the portability of the hard drive and the ease to use it...Thank you Dell!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Western Digital 1TB Elements SE Portable External Drive - Black (USB 2.0)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:r1trav
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Easy to use and reliable

PostedJune 10, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Easy to use and reliable right out of the box. I use it to backup my internal hard drives and to store movies and mp3's on.
Pros:backup drive storing movies and music
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Western Digital 1TB Elements SE Portable External Drive - Black (USB 2.0)
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:vineetsahu87
Title:

Simply Awesome

PostedMay 25, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
The Hard drive is very compact and is very easy to carry. It is also very easy to use as well. If you are looking for a compact and reliable Hard Drive then buy this one.
Pros:storing pics, storing movies, software backup, data backup
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Western Digital 1TB Elements SE Portable External Drive - Black (USB 2.0)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:smoooth
Title:

W/D super product

PostedJanuary 26, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I never thought it would be so easy to use. I brought as gift for my wife because she likes to take pictures. It is a very small and portable device that can go along vacations to capture and safely store all your memories. Her laptop hard drive got fried and she had all her important information on the portable hard drive and easily was able to copy onto new hard drive with no problem. Great product I must say.
Pros:Travel, music, photos
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Western Digital 1TB Elements SE Portable External Drive - Black (USB 2.0)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:sugarbear
(Cleveland, OH)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

1 tb portable hard drive

PostedDecember 27, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Excellent product at a great price. Dell had black friday pricing on this product and I purchased 2. Both work perfectly and delivery was within 5 days.
Pros:to transport data between computers, data storage, to synch several computers
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Western Digital 1TB Elements SE Portable External Drive - Black (USB 2.0)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:chesswizard
Title:

Nice

PostedDecember 23, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
It is time to upgrade your backup solution. This is a great drive. Quiet, lots of space. I got it on Black Friday for a good price. A win, win for me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Western Digital 1TB Elements SE Portable External Drive - Black (USB 2.0)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:lcbunting
(Utah)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Nice and compact

PostedDecember 23, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
This portable hard drive is ideal for any situation, being just a tad bigger than my I-phone it can go anywhere and you dont even notice it. Besides being compact, it holds all my movies, music and important files I want to backup and keep.
Pros:file storage, music storage, movie storage
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Western Digital 1TB Elements SE Portable External Drive - Black (USB 2.0)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:HonoluluLi
(Hawaii)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Small, large and easy to use

PostedDecember 22, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought WD 1 TB external hard drive during Thanksgiving promotions. It is small (easy to carry) and simple to use. It is just meet my need for large data storage.
Pros:data storage
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Western Digital 1TB Elements SE Portable External Drive - Black (USB 2.0)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JosephFernandes
Title:

Great and portable

PostedDecember 22, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
The thing worked right out of the box. No installation required. I was also able to use it as a backup drive.
Offers great transfer speeds for sharing holiday photos and videos.
Great bargain
Pros:computer backup, transfering photos and videos
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Western Digital 1TB Elements SE Portable External Drive - Black (USB 2.0)
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:mhenderson360
(Washington)
Title:

Happy

PostedAugust 26, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Great price for a lot of memory. I had some trouble finding the Quick Start PDF but found out it wasn't necessary to read it. I'm glad I bought it.
Pros:back up music
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Western Digital 1TB Elements SE Portable External Drive - Black (USB 2.0)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Lou14
Title:

Need Space?

PostedAugust 18, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Easy as pie. Works great.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Western Digital 1TB Elements SE Portable External Drive - Black (USB 2.0)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:crosscourtsmash
(Boston, MA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

WD 1TB Elements SE Portable HD

PostedJuly 31, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Simple easy to use, I took it out of the box, plugged it in to my computer with its USB connector and was able to immediately start moving files. Speed was average, 1 gb files took approximately 2 minutes, files 100mb or less move practically instantaneously.
I am using this HD as backup and storage and thus do not have it plugged into the computer at all times. When it is plugged in, it is very quiet, after transferring ~ 50 gb for backup this unit did heat up a little which was expected, about the same amount as an iomega hd storage unit that i also have. This unit has a smaller footprint than the iomega 500 gb HD unit
One thing to note that I've read on other reviews is that this HD uses a microUSB to USB connector which some people think is a hassle as microUSB is less common than mini USB (the type you would connect phones to computers). However, this unit comes with the appropriate USB cable and I imagine that in the near future, with the shrinkage of electronic components, miniUSB will become more common.
Pros:file storage
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Western Digital 1TB Elements SE Portable External Drive - Black (USB 2.0)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:hallmen0601
(Middle Georgia)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

smaller is larger

PostedJune 9, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
1Terabyte seems soo big! Download is super fast with plenty of room for all the programming you would need far into the future. As the physical size keeps decreasing te internal size increasing.
What a bargain...
Pros:cadd, college structures, medical videos
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Western Digital 1TB Elements SE Portable External Drive - Black (USB 2.0)
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:SriG
(Cincinnati, OH)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Good Product

PostedJune 4, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
As I am using it for home videos and personal purposes I felt happy about this product
Pros:home vedios, photos, personnal documents
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Western Digital 1TB Elements SE Portable External Drive - Black (USB 2.0)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Sanvc
(New Jersey)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Excellent Hard Drive for the price

PostedJune 4, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Compared to other portable 1TB Hard Drive this much cheaper. The product arived on the date mentioned on the Dell.Com shipping info. So far there is no issue with the drive.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Western Digital 1TB Elements SE Portable External Drive - Black (USB 2.0)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Alara533
Title:

Good Buy, Awesome service

PostedJune 2, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I ordered the product on Saturday and received it on Monday. Great service by Dell.
The hard disk is small and cute. It fits your shirt pocket. Its that small!
Light weight and simple operation.
Doesnt come with the SmartWare that normally comes with WD hard disks!
Pros:backup
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Western Digital 1TB Elements SE Portable External Drive - Black (USB 2.0)
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:stran
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

gets the job done

PostedJune 2, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
It's ultra portable, which is something I was looking for since I'm a student that works from multiple computers (home, office, lab). It would help if the USB cord that it comes with were a few inches longer. I have to position the hard drive right at the edge of the desk I'm working at to get it to reach the computer.
Pros:data storage
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2