Customer reviews for Laptop Chill Mat Back Gray Supports up to 17 Targus

Laptop Chill Mat Back Gray Supports up to 17 Targus

Laptop Chill Mat Back Gray Supports up to 17 Targus
3.5 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 52 reviews
5 Stars
23
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
7
1 Star
10
3.5
 / 
5
(52 reviews) 52
30 out of 5258%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Laptop Chill Mat Back Gray Supports up to 17 Targus
Review 1 for Laptop Chill Mat Back Gray Supports up to 17 Targus
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Cheryl1947
(Bensalem, PA 19020, USA)
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Don't waste your money

PostedJuly 16, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
It is worthless. It does nothing to cool my laptop. The temperature is the same with or without it (I have gauges that measure temperature).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Laptop Chill Mat Back Gray Supports up to 17 Targus
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:lee51
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

good coice for the price you pay

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
no problems would buy again when I need another one like this
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Laptop Chill Mat Back Gray Supports up to 17 Targus
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Edging1
(Central PA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Weak fans, poor quality

PostedApril 13, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Had this product for about a year. Quit working little less than a year. While the fans were quiet, they were also very weak and do not circulate the air very efficiently. I am not expecting gusts of wind mind you, but a steady flow of air to cool the laptop. It is perfect sized for a 15" laptop. A 17" might hang over a little bit, but not too noticeable. Quality is an issue, since the fans stopped working in less than a year, and the rubber feet to keep your laptop from sliding off did not stay in place after 6 months or so. Eventually, the laptop keeps sliding off of the rubber feet and I find myself pushing the laptop back into place more often than not. The feet have little pegs on their bottom side that plug into the top of the unit, and after awhile they get weak and start popping out. It is powered by plugging into a USB port on your laptop, so make sure you have a port to spare. It doesn't drain a lot of power from your laptops battery, but it is noticeable. It angles downwards toward the user which makes it a little awkward if you are used to typing on a level surface, but seems to be convenient once you get used to it. I use my laptop for web browsing, occasional shows/movies online, light gaming. While it did help cool the base of my laptop to some degree, the air flow (with 2 fans even) just was not strong enough to cool to an acceptable level to maintain laptop performance. I really feel the fan speed is just too slow to make a justifiable difference for what you pay.
Pros:good overall size & weight, open air flow if it had better fans
Cons:poor quality, weak air flow, underpowered fans, rubber feet do not last
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Laptop Chill Mat Back Gray Supports up to 17 Targus
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Keneileen29
Title:

Excellent Chill Matt

PostedJanuary 6, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Works great with 17" laptop great for when on your lap and WOW! The price you can`t beat it .
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Laptop Chill Mat Back Gray Supports up to 17 Targus
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:magicmom
(Kansas, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

great product

PostedOctober 11, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
The laptop chill mat is a great, affordable product that helps keep my laptop cooler since I use my laptop all day long. It's the second mat of this type that I've gotten, and I've had better luck with the longevity than with any other brand of chill mat. It's open design keeps the fans from overheating and burning out, which is a BIG plus as I've used other brands of chill mats that didn't have the same design, and the fans burned out within a couple months. I would highly recommend this particular brand of chill mat over any others that I've tried.
Pros:anytime my laptop is turned on
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Laptop Chill Mat Back Gray Supports up to 17 Targus
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Alesha945
(Nebraska)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Awesome Product!

PostedJuly 22, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros-
I have now used my chill mat every day for a year. It works well with my Dell Inspiron and has never failed me. It is fairly quite and very is easy to use. I use compressed air to keep it clean and it works perfect! Wonderful product for the low price!
Cons- None
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Laptop Chill Mat Back Gray Supports up to 17 Targus
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Devastar
Title:

USB Cable Shorted Out

PostedMarch 21, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I received the Chill Mat as a gift; to go with my Dell Inspiron 1525, and it worked great until the USB cable which connects it to the laptop shorted out. This was not the only issue I discovered that the fans cannot be cleaned as they are encased and inaccessible. A redesign where the cable is less likely to be stressed to the point of breaking and the fans can be cleaned would greatly improve this product.
Pros:to cool my dell inspiron 1525 on my lap.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Laptop Chill Mat Back Gray Supports up to 17 Targus
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:rabgrandma1
(Penna.)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Average

PostedJanuary 25, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Last year my daughter bought me this for a birthday gift. I had gone through 3 other brands of chill pads and none lasted more than a few weeks. Still using this one more than a year now. Bought each of three grandchildren one for Christmas. Definitely a good deal.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Laptop Chill Mat Back Gray Supports up to 17 Targus
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:tangus

PostedDecember 9, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
MY Cooling pad is 6 months old, and it has died 2 months ago....so it was only 4 months old....a big surprise.....now i have to buy another one...its the pits....
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Laptop Chill Mat Back Gray Supports up to 17 Targus
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:unhappymeV
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Broken easily

PostedNovember 13, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
The overall design is very comfortable; however, you can't clean out the fan. It is completely sealed off. Had it for about 4 months and it now has a short in the wire that powers it from the laptop. Have to push the wire in to get it to work and then if I move or put the laptop down to go do something else, it ususally stops working at all. Entirely would not recommend this because of the short in the wire. If I could get my money back, I would.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Laptop Chill Mat Back Gray Supports up to 17 Targus
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:AltoonaPA
(Altoona, PA)
Title:

Good Accessory

PostedNovember 10, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros: Fans are very quiet and the product does exactly what it advertises. I have noticed the bottom of my laptop does not get nearly as warm as it used to and the laptops fans come on much less oftne than they did before.
Cons: My laptop has a 17.3" screen and it hangs over the edges of the mat about half an inch on either side.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Laptop Chill Mat Back Gray Supports up to 17 Targus
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:oahu60
(Oklahoma)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Chill mat

PostedNovember 5, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Great for the price - so much better than using your lap
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Laptop Chill Mat Back Gray Supports up to 17 Targus
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:kforehand
(San Jose, CA)
Title:

Cool

PostedNovember 3, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Literally its cool! Hubby uses it for my old 14" Inspirion because it seemed to get hot often.
Its super quite and angled perfect for your lap.
Pros:personal use travel
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Laptop Chill Mat Back Gray Supports up to 17 Targus
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:kormathaw

PostedOctober 9, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is a very comfortable product for keeping your lap cool from the laptop with a little bit of additional cooling for the laptop. It does not have the fanspeed to keep up with the necessary cooling of dell laptops on high end video games.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Laptop Chill Mat Back Gray Supports up to 17 Targus
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:jjry
Title:

laptop cooling fan

PostedJune 2, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I purchased this cooling fan base on the reviews and they were right this is a great product
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Laptop Chill Mat Back Gray Supports up to 17 Targus
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:elafnts
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Newbie
Title:

best ever

PostedMay 4, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have tried 4 different lap top fans and this is the best EVER! It is very quiet and comfortable. I recommend it to all.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Laptop Chill Mat Back Gray Supports up to 17 Targus
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:latisha4o8o
(Missouri - USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Newbie
Title:

I liked this product so much I purchased 2

PostedJanuary 18, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I chose this chill mat for my son because I was looking for something to accomodate his 17" Inspiron laptop. Based on the reviews, product description and reasonable price... I purchased this model. He loves it.
Then I was jealous and wanted a chill mat for my 14" Inspiron and decided to use his for a few days to see if it would accomodate the smaller laptop.
I loved it and after reluctantly giving my son's back to him, I immediately purchased my own. The advantages are that its USB cord plugs directly into your laptop which powers it without the need for a wall outlet. This makes it as portable as your laptop. The cord was a little longer than I needed it to be so I left it in the original cord wrapping and pulled out the USB to plug in. If I ever need to change this to something else a small black twist would work and still look nice.
The fans are super quiet to the point that you can barely hear them and wonder if they are even working at all, but they ARE and doing a great job as well. Now that I have this laptop chill mat those heat lag days are all in the past!
I am an online student and use my computer constantly. I normally run numerous programs at once and stream videos and music. I don't run gaming programs on my laptop but sometimes my kids get on heavily loaded servers to play stuff like Club penguin and the computer never gets hot or bogs down at all with the chill mat.
This chill mat has an open center which makes it extremely easy to pick up with your laptop almost like it was part of it.
The grips hold the laptop in place really well on top and it never slides even with quite a bit of tilting and movement while it is sitting on my lap.
It sits at an incline which makes it even more comfortable to work with your laptop. Since my laptop was 14" I had to keep my knees together while it was on my lap to keep it sitting at a working capacity. The 17" chill mat allows me a little more freedom to move around because it is wider across my legs and grips the laptop fairly well.
The comfort level of this product is amazing. The bottom has a soft material with a gel like interior which ups the comfort level to plus 10. Since it doesn't have a slick bottom it stays on your lap even with adjusting your legs around quite a bit.
I always like to state any cons I have about the product but I honestly just don't have any with this one. I don't mind that it only comes in black and although it seems a bit pricey at about 35 bucks it was a purchase I would certainly repeat. This is one of those items that is nice enough to give to a good friend who has a laptop and they will adore you for it. It has been my favorite accessory to my laptop next to my Logitech nano chip mouse. I don't have any idea of the length of time that this product will endure since I just purchased mine and my son has only had his for a few months but I don't foresee this product going to the trash bin any time soon.
Pros:college and online classes, Travel, personal use (chair bed desk floor counter...., business, streaming videos and music, online shopping
+17points
17of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Laptop Chill Mat Back Gray Supports up to 17 Targus
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Tat8er
(Massachusetts)
Title:

does nothing

PostedNovember 26, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
The fans move air so slowly that my 13 inch XPS laptop gets no cooling effect that I can notice. I had high hopes for this product after seeing positive reviews; now I wish I could give it a half star, it is that bad.
The ergonomic design is good -- it makes a comfortable lap desk for the computer. That said, the little rubber feet that are intended to help keep your notebook from slipping come out easily and mine got lost within the first couple of weeks.
I find myself having to balance a regular desk fan under the laptop at times just to cool the surface down so my fingers don't burn on the track pad. I'm now back to reading reviews for chill pads and hoping I can find one that actually works...
Don't waste your money on this one.
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Laptop Chill Mat Back Gray Supports up to 17 Targus
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Handy4563
Title:

Chill Mat

PostedNovember 10, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
The mat works good. It is for my wife's laptop. She keeps the laptop on it and keeps the cord short and bundled up behind the Dell laptop. Keeps her lap cool and the laptop too.
Pros:home and email
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Laptop Chill Mat Back Gray Supports up to 17 Targus
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:jlgo
Title:

It broke within 60 days

PostedSeptember 25, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
Waste of money. The cord got week and the electricity stopped. I had to bend the cord to get it work. That helped for another week, now it quit all together. Don't waste your money.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2